Maryland Courts

About

The Access to Justice Department was created to develop, consolidate, coordinate and implement initiatives to expand access to and enhance the quality of justice in civil legal matters.  The Department supports and advances access to justice innovations within the Judiciary. 

The Access to Justice Department provides language access services for court users.  The Department manages the Court Interpreter Program, oversees the translation of forms and critical public resources, and aids the Judiciary in serving persons with Limited English Proficiency. Staff conduct training workshops, testing, and continuing education for court interpreters.  For additional information about the Court Interpreter Program, see our one-page Maryland Court Interpreter Program Fact Sheet

The Access to Justice Department develops resources to aid court users who are unable to secure the help of an attorney.  The Department develops written brochures, videos and other media to aid the self-represented to more effectively use the courts.  The Department aids the Judiciary in developing other resources to help those without counsel by developing self-help centers, providing training to aid court staff in better serving the public, and aiding the courts in effectively responding to the self-represented.

The Department fields complaints and concerns from the public about the Maryland courts.  The Department also oversees the mandatory pro bono and IOLTA (Interest on Lawyers Trust Accounts) reporting process for all Maryland lawyers.

Ksenia A. Boitsova, Program Administrator, Court Interpreter Program
410-260-3569
ksenia.boitsova@mdcourts.gov

Iris Joiner, Administrative Assistant
410-260-3606
iris.joiner@mdcourts.gov

Pamela Cardullo Ortiz, Esq., Director
410-260-1258
pamela.ortiz@mdcourts.gov

Lorena Sevilla Somoza, Court Interpreter Program Specialist
410-260-1576
lorena.sevilla.somoza@mdcourts.gov

Vicki Stevenson, Program Specialist
410-260-1291
vicki.stevenson@mdcourts.gov

Lonni Kyhos Summers, Esq., Manager, Maryland Court Services Center
410-260-1256
lonni.summers@mdcourts.gov

Karen Thomas, Esq., Public Policy Analyst / Staff Attorney
410-260-2508
karen.thomas@mdcourts.gov