MARYLAND OUT OF STATE ATTORNEY'S EXAMINATION NOTICE TO SUCCESSFUL CANDIDATES

Congratulations on passing the Maryland Out-of-State Attorney's Examination! Please review the following information outlining the remaining steps prior to your admission to the Maryland Bar.

AFFIRMATION: You must complete the linked Affirmation form [http://www.mdcourts.gov/ble/pdfs/osaaffirmationform.pdf] and return it to the State Board of Law Examiners ("SBLE"), 2011-F Commerce Park Drive, Annapolis, MD 21401 OR SBLE@mdcourts.gov, within seven (7) days of the date of your results notice. You must clearly print or type your entire address with zip code on the Affirmation even if your address has not changed. You must include your Social Security number (last 4) on the Affirmation.

ONLINE ORIENTATION: Before taking the oath of admission, every person recommended for admission to the Maryland Bar must complete an online program on legal professionalism, which is offered by the Court of Appeals of Maryland. *See* former Maryland Rules 19-210(c) and 19-213(1)*. Approximately 10 days after the date of your exam results notice, SBLE will send email correspondence containing a URL and registration key to participate in the online orientation.

ADMISSIONS INFORMATION: The Court of Appeals of Maryland will mail you the instructions and forms for admission once SBLE certifies to the Court that you possess the requisite character and fitness and professional qualifications. In the normal course, you can expect to receive the mailing from the Court about eight weeks after the release of exam results, but if SBLE requires additional information or documents to complete your Character Investigation, that notification may be later.

24-MONTH RULE: A candidate who passes the Maryland Bar Examination may not take the oath of admission to the Bar later than 24 months after the date that the Court of Appeals ratified the Board's report for that examination, absent waiver by SBLE or excusal by the Court of Appeals. *See* former Maryland Rules 19-211 and 19-213(m)*. SBLE regularly grants waivers to applicants who remain active in the Character & Fitness process beyond the 24-month deadline.

LAW PRACTICE: You are not authorized to hold yourself out as a Maryland attorney or practice law in Maryland until you have taken the prescribed oath in the Court of Appeals of Maryland.

NAME CHANGE: If you officially change your name, for any reason prior to your admission, you MUST send SBLE a **certified copy** of the legal document which effected the change with an **original seal or stamp of the issuing authority**. Example: If you change your name by marriage, you must supply a **sealed** copy of your Marriage Certificate. If you have divorced and have had your maiden name restored by the Court, you must supply a **sealed** copy of the divorce papers restoring your maiden name.

UPDATE OF APPLICATION: All information on your application is of a continuing nature through the date of your admission. Any changes in the information on your application, including contact information, must be made in writing and mailed to the SBLE at 2011-F Commerce Park Drive, Annapolis, MD 21401.

FOR MORE INFORMATION: The full text of Maryland's Bar Admission Rules is available online at www.mdcourts.gov/ble. You may contact SBLE's administrative office with any other questions regarding the Out Of State Attorney's Examination by email at sble@mdcourts.gov, or by telephone at 410-260-3640 during SBLE's normal business hours – Monday through Friday 8:30am to 4:30pm, except Court holidays.

*Pursuant to the Court's Rules Order of December 4, 2018, amendments to Title 19, Chapters 100 and 200, governing the State Board of Law Examiners and admission to the bar, which became effective on March 1, 2019, apply to individuals seeking admission to the Bar of this State who had not passed a Maryland General Bar Examination or attorney examination administered prior to March 1, 2019. The former Rules apply to the individuals who passed the February 2019 attorney examination.