MARYLAND OUT-OF-STATE ATTORNEY'S EXAMINATION NOTICE TO UNSUCCESSFUL CANDIDATES

<u>**Passing Standard**</u> – Pursuant to former Board Rule 6^* , the minimum passing score on the Out-of-State Attorney's Exam is 70% of the total points available. There were ten (10) questions worth a total of 100 points on the July 2018 exam.

<u>Policy on Regrading</u> – There is no re-grade or appeal available on the Out-of-State Attorney Exam.

<u>**Review of Examination Answers**</u> – Pursuant to Board 8, the State Board of Law Examiners ("SBLE") offers candidates who were unsuccessful on the Out-of-State Attorney's Examination the opportunity to review their examination answers. Copies of the exam questions and representative good answers written by successful applicants will be posted on the Board's website approximately 3 weeks after the release of exam results. <u>All</u> requests for review of examination answers must be made within 60 days of the date results are released, which is the date printed on your results letter. There are two (2) ways to review your answers:

(1) send by mail a written, signed request for a copy of your answers (<u>http://www.mdcourts.gov/ble/pdfs/requestreviewofexamanswers.pdf</u>) along with a check or money order for \$10 payable to "State Board of Law Examiners," and SBLE will mail complete copies of your answers to you; or

(2) call SBLE at 410-260-3640 to schedule an appointment to review your answers in person at SBLE's offices. Candidates reviewing in person may also request copies of their answers for \$10, payable by check only (NO CASH). <u>Please note – the in-person review process is not an interview and SBLE staff</u> cannot provide any advice or commentary on what you did right or wrong on the Out-of-State Attorney's Exam or on how to improve your chances of success on future exams.

<u>Admission Without Examination</u> – On March 1, 2019 new Maryland Rules 19-215 and 19-216 took effect, which provide a mechanism for admission without examination for experienced Out-of-State Attorneys. Unsuccessful candidates should carefully review Rules 19-215 and 19-216 and the Admission Without Examination page of SBLE's website to determine whether they might qualify under these new Rules. The procedures for admission without examination will become available on July 1, 2019. https://www.mdcourts.gov/ble/admissionwithoutexam

<u>Retaking the Attorney's Examination</u> – Due to the rule changes that became effective on March 1, 2019 and are addressed above, there will be no Attorneys Exam in July 2019 or beyond.

For more information – Complete information on Maryland's Bar Admission Rules, and use of the eBar electronic Bar application is available online at <u>www.mdcourts.gov/ble</u>. You may contact SBLE's administrative office with questions regarding the answer review procedure, Retake Petition procedure, and for any other information regarding the Out Of State Attorney's Examination by email at <u>sble@mdcourts.gov</u>, or by telephone at 410-260-3640 during SBLE's normal business hours – Monday through Friday 8:30am to 4:30pm, except Court holidays.

^{*}Pursuant to the Court's Rules Order of December 4, 2018, amendments to Title 19, Chapters 100 and 200, governing the State Board of Law Examiners and admission to the bar, which became effective on March 1, 2019, apply to individuals seeking admission to the Bar of this State who had not passed a Maryland General Bar Examination or attorney examination administered prior to March 1, 2019. The former Rules apply to the individuals who passed the February 2019 attorney examination.