Marriage License Information
Marriage License Department of the Circuit Court for Howard County
do I get a marriage license?
requires that a marriage license be obtained from the Circuit Court Clerk's
Office in the county where the marriage is to take place.
Marriage licenses can be obtained at The Thomas Dorsey Building, 9250 Bendix Road, Columbia, Maryland 21045. The telephone number is 410-313-5850. Applications for marriage licenses are not accepted after 4:00 p.m. The application process takes about 15 minutes.
If you are not a resident of Howard County, AND it is not convenient for you to visit the Clerk's Office, you may apply for a marriage license using a Non-Resident Application.
The Non-Resident Marriage Application is available in fillable PDF (right-click on the link to save the form
to your PC). If you come to the Clerk's Office, then the marriage application must be completed on-site at the Clerk's Office.
Period: After application, the license, which is not effective
until 6:00 a.m. on the second calendar day, will be issued. (i.e. 48 hour
waiting period) The license must be used within 6 months (you must marry within 6 months or the license will be void).
recommended that you contact the Circuit Court Clerk's Office in the county
you plan to marry as each county has different fees. The requirements
for Howard County are as follows:
one of the parties needs to appear to apply for the marriage license, however, you must bring ID for both parties and have all of the information listed below.
parties must be over 18 years of age. Forms of identification for each
person: driver's license, birth certificate or a passport (Applicants
17 and younger are required to call the License Department prior to applying.)
- The fee is $50.00 - CASH only
a blood test nor witnesses are required in Maryland.
following information is to be provided for both parties:
Security Numbers (mandatory) This information is required by State Law
and will not be displayed on the marriage license.
- the day, month and year of the divorce, and the county and state in
which the divorce was granted. If divorced within the last year at the
time of application, a copy of the divorce decree must be presented.
- the day, month and year of the death, and the county and state in which
the death occurred.
application must be signed by the applicant(s) under oath indicating the
truthfulness of the information under penalty of perjury.
Ceremonies are performed at the Circuit Court for Howard County. The address
Court Avenue, Ellicott City, Maryland 21043
are held from 8:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. and from 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
BY APPOINTMENT ONLY.
cost is $25.00 CASH only - payable the day of the ceremony
Certified copies must be obtained from the Marriage License department located at:
may request a certified copy by mail. Please include in your request:
addressed stamped envelope
or Money Order
cost for each certified copy is $5.50. The check or money order should be made payable to the Clerk, Circuit Court for Howard County. For your convenience, you may complete the Application for Certified Copy.
further information on obtaining a marriage license or civil ceremonies,
please call 410-313-5850.