

# NOTICE OF REVISION Effective 10/01/2024

The Chief Judge of the District Court of Maryland has revised the following District Court of Maryland Administrative Regulation:

# **XIX. Civil Costs**

C. The attached cost schedule is hereby adopted as the costs to be paid for all proceedings in any civil case in the District Court.

By the authority vested in me under Courts and Judicial Proceedings § 1-605, of the Annotated Code of Maryland, Administrative Regulation XIX (C), is revised to reflect the following changes:

• See attached redline draft of the DCA-109 - District Court Cost Schedule, for details of all changes made

DCA-109 - District Court Cost Schedule - Effective 10/01/2024

# DISTRICT COURT OF MARYLAND COST SCHEDULE

<u>I</u>	FILING FEE	SERVICE FEE
	Non-refundable,	(See page 2 for more
e	xcept as provided	information)
Complaint in Small Claims Actions:	by statute)	
Contract - Tort (new suit)	\$44,0034,00 *2	(a)
Counter Claim		(a)
Cross Claim.		(a)
Third Party Claim		(a)
•	Ψ10.00	(11)
Complaint in Large Claims Actions:	<b>\$56.0046.00</b> *2	
Contract - Tort (new suit)		(a)
Counter Claim		(a)
Cross Claim		(a)
Third Party Claim	\$28.00	(a)
Additional Pre Judgment Filings:		
Attachment Before Judgment		(a)
Confessed Judgment		(a)
Detinue		(a)
Grantee Suit for Possession		(a)
Interpleader		(a)
Petition for Show Cause (per defendant)		(a)
Renewal Show Cause	\$5.00	(a)
Renewal Confess Judgment	\$5.00	(a)
Renewal Summons		(a)
Replevin - Show Cause	\$56.00 <del>46.00</del> *2	(a)
Replevin - Writ (final hearing)		(b)
Subpoena (witness)	\$	(a)
Domestic Violence, Extreme Risk, Peace Order Filings:		
Domestic Violence - filing, service, recordation of foreign		
judgment or appeal	\$	
Extreme Risk Protective Order - filing, service, or appeal		
Temporary Peace Order		(d)
Landlord Tenant Filings:		,
Summary Ejectment (Failure to Pay Rent)		
(all counties except Baltimore City)	\$50,0015,00 *2,3,4	\$5.00 for each tenant of record
Summary Ejectment (Failure to Pay Rent) (Baltimore City)		\$5.00 for each location,
Summary Ejectment (Famure to Pay Kent) (Battimore City)	\$00.00 <del>23.00</del> \$ -, 5, 5	additional fee of \$5.00 for
		each tenant for whom
		personal service is requested
Distress & Show Cause	\$46.0036.00 (if rent due is \$500	-
	or less) *2	(c)
	Add \$5.00 for each additional	
	\$500 of rent or fraction of \$500	
Breach of Lease (all counties except Baltimore City)		(c)
Breach of Lease (Baltimore City)	\$66.00 <del>56.00</del> *1, 2	(c)
Distress Order of Levy		(c)
Injunction	\$56.00 <del>46.00</del> *2	(a)
Recording Summary Ejectment Money Judgment	\$10.00	
Reissue Distress & Show Cause Order	\$2.00	
Rent Escrow (not judge ordered)	\$46.00 <del>36.00</del> *2	(a)
Tenant Holding Over (all counties except Baltimore City)	\$56.00 <del>46.00</del> *2	(c)
Tenant Holding Over (Baltimore City)	\$66.00 <del>56.00</del> *1, 2	(c)
Warrant of Restitution (all counties except Baltimore City)	\$	(e)
Warrant of Restitution (Baltimore City)		(e)
Wrongful Entry & Detainer	\$56.004 <del>6.00</del> *2	(c)

# IMPORTANT NOTICE District Court Administrative Regulation XIX – Cost Schedule

In all cases, except those noted below, the required costs in this Cost Schedule, including the fee for service of process, shall be paid at the time the complaint, writ, petition, or request is filed.

#### **Exceptions:**

- (1) The State of Maryland and officers, agencies, and departments thereof shall not be taxed costs in any District Court civil proceeding.
- (2) Advance payment of costs shall not be required in any case in which the plaintiff/petitioner is represented by counsel paid through JUDICARE; provided by Maryland Legal Aid Bureau, Inc.; or retained through a pro bono or legal services program that is recognized by Maryland Legal Services Corporation if the program provides the clerk with a memorandum that names the program, attorney(s) and client(s) and that specifies that representation is being provided for client(s) meeting the financial eligibility criteria of the corporation. If the petitioner is eligible for this exception, payment of costs in a case other than civil are waived.
- (3) Advance payment of costs shall not be required in a civil case filed by a county or municipality of the State of Maryland.

In any civil case in which no advance costs have been paid, the Court shall allow costs in favor of the prevailing party.

If the judgment creditor is the prevailing party, they shall, upon being paid all amounts due, including costs, furnish to the judgment debtor and file with the clerk a written statement (order of satisfaction) that the judgment has been satisfied. The clerk shall not accept the order for filing unless the costs are tendered with it.

If the judgment debtor is the prevailing party, the clerk shall bill the plaintiff for all costs, except no payment is required by the State of Maryland.

The attached schedule is hereby adopted as the costs to be paid for all proceedings in any civil case in the District Court.

### REFUNDS

**Except as provided by statute, a charge, cost, or fee is not refundable.** Overpayment refunds will not be processed unless the individual due the refund makes a request in writing, in person, or by telephone.

#### BAD CHECKS

An additional \$30 service fee will be imposed for each dishonored check.

#### GENERAL INFORMATION

A MAXIMUM OF TWENTY (20) CIVIL CASE FILINGS, PER CHECK, WILL BE ACCEPTED FROM ATTORNEYS AND OTHER INTERESTED PARTIES.

A MAXIMUM OF TWENTY (20) LANDLORD/TENANT FILINGS WILL BE ACCEPTED FROM ATTORNEYS AND OTHER INTERESTED PARTIES PER CREDIT CARD TRANSACTION.

## In correspondence with the court, including inquiries, motions, and pleadings:

Please include the case number and trial date. This information should also appear on the envelope in which papers are mailed to the court, so that priority matters may be expeditiously handled.

The address for service should include apartment number (if there is a number), zip codes as part of the address, and county. "P.O." is not appropriate when requesting service.

Positive identification of all motor vehicles to be seized is required, including make and model. A copy of title must be submitted. All liens must be shown in order that value may be determined.

#### If service of process is to be made on the:

STATE DEPARTMENT OF ASSESSMENTS AND TAXATION, an additional \$50 fee is required. A check or money order should be made payable to the State Department of Assessments and Taxation. All county and Baltimore City governmental agencies are exempt from this fee. (This agency requires two copies of each paper for each defendant to be served);

MARYLAND INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION, an additional \$15 fee is required. A check or money order should be made payable to the Maryland Insurance Administration. (This agency requires two copies of each paper for each defendant to be served.)

(Non-refundable, except as provided by statute)

See Service Fee information below)

### **Post Judgment Filings:**

Appeal	\$10.00 (plus \$165.00 made payable to Circuit Court)	
Assignment of Judgment	\$10.00	
Assignment of Wages		(a) (c)
Modification of Judgment/Lien (per defendant)	\$15.00	
Notice of Lien (per defendant)	\$15.00	
Recordation of Foreign Judgment	\$61.00 <del>51.00</del> *2	
Renewal of Judgment/Lien (per defendant)	\$10.00 (plus \$15.00 per defendant if lien filed)	
Request for Certification of Judgment Under Act of		
Congress (Triple Seal)	\$10.00	
Request for Oral Exam (per defendant)  Oral Exam Renewal (per defendant)		(a)
		(a)
Request for Writ of Execution or Possession	\$10.00	(c)
Request for Writ of Execution (Baltimore City)	\$70.00 <sup>5</sup>	(c)
Request for Writ of Garnishment Other than Wages	\$10.00	(a)
Request for Writ of Garnishment of Wages(Service fee also applies to Garnishment issued in Attachment before Judgment)	\$10.00	(a)
Transmittal of Certified Copy of Judgment	\$10.00	

<sup>\*</sup> Includes MD Legal Services Corporation Fund Surcharge \$2818 - New Civil Filings \$19.358 - Summary Ejectment Cases

#### **SERVICE FEES**

In Baltimore County only, constables serve civil process and checks must be made payable to District Court. In all other counties, the sheriff's office is responsible for service of civil process; unless an exception follows, make check payable to the Sheriff's Office. (Exceptions: In Baltimore City, checks to Sheriff must be made payable to Director of Finance. In Harford County, checks to Sheriff must be made payable to Harford County.)

- (a) Fee if served by Sheriff/Constable is \$60 for each defendant. Fee if mailed by clerk is \$10 for each defendant.
- (b) For service not including an execution/attachment where Sheriff/Constable service is required by law the fee is \$60 for each defendant. (In Baltimore City, Sheriff service required by law. Fee for service by the Baltimore City Sheriff is \$60 for each defendant, plus an additional \$60 surcharge per writ.)
- (c) For service (which includes an execution/attachment) where Sheriff/Constable service is required by law the fee is \$40 for each defendant. (In Baltimore City, Sheriff service required by law. Fee for service by the Baltimore City Sheriff is \$40 for each defendant, plus an additional \$60 surcharge per writ.)
- (d) Fee if served by Sheriff is \$60 for each defendant.
- (e) Fee if served by Sheriff/Constable is \$40 for each case.

Note: Service of paper originating from a foreign court. Fee if served by Sheriff is \$60 for each defendant. (In Baltimore City, service by the Baltimore City Sheriff is \$60 for each defendant, plus an additional \$40 surcharge for each defendant.)

**REFUNDS** - If the Sheriff is unable to serve a paper, 50% of the service fee shall be refunded to the party requesting the service and if the Sheriff is unable to serve Summary Ejectment papers, the full fee shall be refunded to the party requesting the service.

OTHER CHARGES (Clerical)	FILING FEE
Photocopies	\$0.50 per page
Computer printouts	\$0.50 per page
Certification of Copies (DC-033)	\$5.00 per request (plus photocopy fee)
Transcripts	\$75.00 deposit & \$3.00 per page for original & 1 copy
Recordings	\$15.00 per case
Recordings (Electronic)	\$10.00 per case
Petition for Expungement (Guilty Dispositions only)	\$30.00
Petition for Second Chance Shielding	\$
Petition to Extend Time/Strike Bond Forfeiture	\$25.00
Petition to Remit Bond Forfeiture	\$25.00
Motion for Allowance of Expenses after Voluntary Surrender	\$25.00
<b>DCA-109</b> (Rev. 10/2024 <del>03/08/2024</del> ) Page 2	2 of 2 (front)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Includes Baltimore City Sheriff Surcharge - \$10

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Includes Circuit Court Real Property Records Improvement Fund Surcharge \$8 - New Civil Filings (\$6 for Small Claims)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Includes Statewide Rental Assistance Voucher Program Surcharge - \$19.35 \$3 - Summary Ejectment Cases

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Includes Rental Assistance for Community Schools Families Fund Surcharge - \$4.30

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> Includes Baltimore City Sheriff Surcharge - \$60