NOTICE OF ADVICE OF RIGHT TO COUNSEL FOR ALL JUDICIAL PROCEEDINGS

TO THE PERSON CHARGED:

- 1. This paper charges you with committing a crime.
- 2. If you have been arrested and remain in custody, you have the right to have a judicial officer decide whether you should be released from jail until your trial.
- 3. If you have been served with a citation or summons directing you to appear before a judicial officer for a preliminary inquiry at a date and time designated or within five days of service if no time is designated, a judicial officer will advise you of your rights, the charges against you, and penalties. The preliminary inquiry will be cancelled if a lawyer has entered an appearance to represent you.
- 4. You have the right to have a lawyer.
- 5. A lawyer can be helpful to you by:
 - (A) explaining the charges in this paper;
 - (B) telling you the possible penalties;
 - (C) explaining any potential collateral consequences of a conviction, including immigration consequences;
 - (D) helping you at trial;
 - (E) helping you protect your constitutional rights; and
 - (F) helping you to get a fair penalty if convicted.
- 6. Even if you plan to plead guilty, a lawyer can be helpful.
- 7. If you are eligible, the Public Defender or a court-appointed attorney will represent you at any initial appearance before a judicial officer and at any proceeding under Rule 4-216.2 to review an order of a District Court commissioner regarding pretrial release. If you want a lawyer for any further proceeding, including trial, but do not have the money to hire one, the Public Defender may provide a lawyer for you. To apply for Public Defender representation, contact a District Court commissioner.
- 8. If you want a lawyer but you cannot get one and the Public Defender will not provide one for you, contact the court clerk as soon as possible.
- 9. DO NOT WAIT UNTIL THE DATE OF YOUR TRIAL TO GET A LAWYER. If you do not have a lawyer before the trial date, you may have to go to trial without one.

Contact information for District Court Commissioner's Offices can be found at: http://www.mdcourts.gov/district/directories/commissionermap.html If you require further information about qualifying for a Public Defender, call 1-833-453-9799.

NOTICE TO DEFENDANT

- MUST APPEAR If the offense with which you are charged is a 'MUST APPEAR' offense, you may not waive trial but are required to appear in court when notified. PLEASE NOTE THAT FAILURE TO APPEAR MAY RESULT IN A WARRANT FOR YOUR ARREST.
- 2. **PRESET FINE -** You must either pay the preset fine, request a waiver hearing, or request a trial date within 30 days after receipt of the citation/summons/warrant.

NOTE: If charged by citation, follow instruction on the citation. IF CHARGED BY STATEMENT OF CHARGES (SUMMONS OR WARRANT), CHECK ONE OF THE FOLLOWING OPTIONS, SIGN AND DATE, AND MAIL THIS FORM, ALONG WITH A COPY OF THE STATEMENT OF CHARGES (SUMMONS OR WARRANT) TO THE ADDRESS SHOWN BELOW:

OPTION #1:

Pay the full amount of the preset fine at any District Court of Maryland location, or with a credit card at the Maryland Judiciary Website or by phone (see below) or by mail to the address shown below.

To pay by mail:

- Make your check or money order payable to the District Court of Maryland. Include citation number(s) you wish to pay on check.
- An additional \$10 service fee will be imposed for each dishonored check.

OPTION #2:

Request a Waiver Hearing: I admit I committed the violation in this Statement of Charges, and I request a waiver hearing to explain the circumstances to a judge. I understand this is not a trial, the officer and witnesses will not be present, and my appearance in court is for sentencing only.

OPTION #3:

Request a trial date: I request a trial date for the violation(s) charged.

Date

Signature

District Court Traffic Processing Center District Court of Maryland P.O. Box 6676 Annapolis, Maryland 21401-0676

Please note that payment in full of the preset fine will close the violation and result in the entry of a conviction for the violation(s). Please note further that points will be assessed by Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) on your driving record after conviction of a violation of the Motor Vehicle Laws of this State. If you fail to comply with one of the above options within 30 days of receipt of a citation/summons/warrant, MVA will be notified and may take actions to suspend your license. Driving on a suspended license is a criminal offense for which you could be incarcerated.

FOR MORE INFORMATION AND TO PAY CITATIONS:

Visit the MD Judiciary Website at <u>www.mdcourts.gov/district</u> or call the Interactive Voice Response (IVR) System for trial dates, court locations, and directions.

From all areas including out-of-state calls: 1-800-492-2656 TTY users call Maryland RELAY: 711

I have read or have had read to me the contents of the above notice and acknowledge receipt of a copy thereof.

Date

AOV-SOC (Rev. 10/2017)

Defendant