Maryland Courts

Announcing the Maryland Access to Justice Commission 2011 Awards

2013 Honorees | 2012 Honorees | 2011 Honorees | Awards

The Maryland Access to Justice Commission is pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s Maryland Access to Justice Awards. The awards recognize individuals, programs and entities in the State that improve the ability of all Marylanders to access the courts or to get legal help in civil legal matters so they can benefit from the rights, protections, services and opportunities that the law provides.

Honorees received their awards at the 2011 Judicial Conference on May 13, 2011, in Annapolis.

2011 Honorees

[Click to Enlarge Images]

Judge of the Year Award

Hon. Ben C. Clyburn
Chief Judge, District Court of Maryland

Judicial Branch Excellence Award

Joan Bellistri, Director
Anne Arundel County Public Law Library
Circuit Court for Anne Arundel County

Outstanding Program of the Year Award

Matt Hill, Project Attorney, accepted the award on behalf of the Public Justice Center

Legislator of the Year Award (Joint Honorees)

Del. Kathleen Dumais (not pictured)
Vice-Chair, House Judiciary Committee
Maryland House of Delegates

Sen. Brian Frosh
Chair, Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee
Maryland Senate

Executive Branch Award

Hon. Martin O'Malley