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Unless otherwise indicated, all statutory references are to Maryland Code (1957, 1996 Repl.1

Vol.), Article 27.

Maryland Code (1957, 1996 Repl. Vol.), Article 27, § 464B in relevant part provides:

"(a) A person is guilty of a sexual offense in the third degree if the person
engages in:

....

"(5) Vaginal intercourse with another person who is 14 or 15 years of age and
the person performing the act is at least 21 years of age."

In Garnett v. State, 332 Md. 571, 632 A.2d 797 (1993), we held that the second degree rape statute,

§ 463(a)(3) (victim under fourteen years of age and defendant at least four years older), did not recognize

a reasonable mistake of age defense.   In Owens v. State, 352 Md. 663, 724 A.2d 43, cert. denied,1

527 U.S. 1012, 119 S. Ct. 2354, 144 L. Ed. 2d 250 (1999), we held that § 463(a)(3) did not violate the

right to due process of law under the federal or Maryland constitutions.  We granted certiorari in the instant

matter, prior to its consideration by the Court of Special Appeals, in order to determine whether the third

degree sexual offense proscribed by § 464B(a)(5) is distinguishable, with respect to a reasonable mistake

of age defense, from § 463(a)(3).  As explained below, we conclude that § 464B(a)(5) is not

distinguishable as to that putative defense.  

The petitioner, William Walker (Walker), was charged in the Circuit Court for Baltimore County

with violating § 464B(a)(5).  The case was tried non-jury on an agreed statement of facts presented by the

State, as follows:

"It [is] agreed between the State and the Defense that on September 16, 1999, at
approximately twelve in the afternoon, Officer Brennan of the Baltimore County Police
Department was dispatched to 4519 Old Court Road as a result of a rape report that had
been called in by Detective Fox of Family Crimes.  At that time he spoke with the victim,
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who was 15-year-old Carla Peterkin.  Her date of birth was February 27, 1984.  Her
father was also present, Mr. Craig Peterkin.

"They both advised the officer that the victim, Carla, had run away from home, was
brought back September 16th by Detective Fox.  During this time the Defendant had been
living with 29-year-old William Walker, whose date of birth is September 15, 1970.  They
had been living at Deer Lodge Court in Baltimore County.

"At that time the victim stated she had [consensual] sexual intercourse with the
Defendant approximately seventy-five times.  She also believed that she was pregnant and
the Defendant was the father of her child.

"The Defendant was then interviewed and read his rights pursuant to Miranda.  He
did agree to speak with the officer.

"He advised he had intercourse with the victim approximately seventy-five times,
he did not know she was 15.  He advised that she told him she was 19.

"And I did speak with the victim and they did indicate that was true.

"She also then--later when she was questioned about it, she said her real age was
17.  He did admit that if she was pregnant, he was the father.  And the victim worked at
the time at Weis supermarket.  Her job application was fraudulent.  It stated that she was
17 years old.

"The Defendant did not see the job application, however he knows it [is] the policy
of Weis to hire no one under 17.  That would be the agreed statement of facts."

Without objection defense counsel added that Ms. Peterkin and Walker met while both were employed

at Weis Market.

Walker then moved for a judgment of acquittal based on reading into the statute, as a matter of

statutory construction, a defense of reasonable mistake as to the victim's age.  Alternatively, the defense

argued that recognition of the defense was required under the due process clause of the fifth and fourteenth

amendments to the Constitution of the United States and under Articles 20 and 24 of the Maryland
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Declaration of Rights.  Walker submitted that Garnett, 332 Md. 571, 632 A.2d 797, was distinguishable

because the statute there involved dealt with victims age thirteen and younger.

The circuit court denied the defendant's motion, concluding that the defense was not available but

stating that "perhaps it should be, especially in situations such as this."  The court found the defendant

"technically" guilty of a third degree sexual offense, but did not require him to register as a sex offender.

Walker was sentenced to six months, service of the sentence was suspended, and Walker was placed on

unsupervised probation for one year.  This appeal followed. 

I

Walker's statutory construction argument faces the same obstacle that the defendant in Garnett

was unable to overcome.  There this Court fully recognized that criminal statutes containing no express

mens rea element, other than certain regulations "respond[ing] to the demands of public health and

welfare," ordinarily are not construed to impose "strict" criminal liability.  Garnett, 332 Md. at 578, 632

A.2d at 800-01.  Nevertheless, the legislative history of § 463(a)(3), the statutory rape enactment involved

in Garnett, precluded reading into that statute a reasonable mistake of age defense. 

The statute that was involved in Garnett was enacted by Chapter 573 of the Acts of 1976.  As

introduced by Senate Bill 358, statutory rape contained no express scienter requirement.  The bill was

amended in the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee to provide that if a person engages in a "sexual act,"

which by definition in that version of the bill included vaginal intercourse, with a person "under 14 years of

age which age the person performing the sexual act knows or should know, and the person performing the

sexual act  is 4 or more years older than the other person," the crime was a sexual offense in the second

degree punishable by up to twenty years imprisonment.  1976 Maryland Laws ch. 573 at 1532-33.



- 4 -

Thereafter further amendments were made to Senate Bill 358 including removal of vaginal intercourse from

the definition of "sexual act," the addition of the crimes of rape in the first and second degrees, and placing

statutory rape within the definition of rape in the first degree, carrying up to a life sentence.  See Md. Code

(1957, 1976 Cum. Supp.), Art. 27, § 462(a)(2).  Statutory rape was reduced to second degree rape,

carrying a maximum sentence of twenty years, by Chapter 292 of the Acts of 1977.

Significant in Garnett was that, before final enactment in 1976, the General Assembly deleted the

proposed requirement that the defendant "knows or should know" that the victim was under the age of

fourteen years.  We concluded that we could not read back into § 463(a)(3) the defense of a reasonable

but mistaken belief, based on appearances or representations, that the victim was of an age at which

consent validly could be given.  Garnett, 332 Md. at 587, 632 A.2d at 804-05.

Section 464B(a)(5), with which we are concerned in the instant matter, similarly has its modern

origins in Chapter 573 of the Acts of 1976.  Historically, § 464B(a)(5) traces to the carnal knowledge

statute enacted by Chapter 218 of the Acts of 1898.  That statute was repealed in 1976 by Chapter 573.

From 1898 to 1976 the carnal knowledge statute in relevant part read:

"If any person shall carnally know any female not his wife, between the ages of
fourteen and sixteen years, such carnal knowledge shall be deemed a misdemeanor and
the offender ... shall be punished by imprisonment ... for a term not exceeding two years,
or be fined in a sum not exceeding five hundred dollars, or [both;] and provided further,
that this section shall not apply to male persons under the age of eighteen years."

Maryland Code (1957, 1971 Repl. Vol.), Art. 27, § 464.  Under the carnal knowledge statute, the victim

was legally incapable of consenting to the act.  Foxwell v. State, 146 Md. 90, 92, 125 A. 893, 894

(1924).  We have not been directed to, nor has our research disclosed, any Maryland case or commentary

directly addressing whether a reasonable mistake of age was defensive to carnal knowledge.
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The introductory version of Senate Bill 358 of the 1976 General Assembly Session would have

decriminalized carnal knowledge.  The amendments by the Judicial Proceedings Committee restored it.

The offense was made a part of a new section, creating a fourth degree sex offense, a misdemeanor

punishable by imprisonment for up to one year.  As then proposed, that section read:

"(a) ... A person is guilty of a sexual offense in the fourth degree if the person
engages:

"(1) In sexual contact with another person against the will and without the
consent of the other person; or

"(2) In a sexual act [including vaginal intercourse] with another person who is
14 or 15 years of age which age the person performing the sexual act knows or
should know and the person performing the sexual act is 4 or more years older than the
other person."

(Emphasis added).

Further amendments before final passage removed vaginal intercourse from the definition of "sexual

act," added as a fourth degree sexual offense vaginal intercourse with a fourteen or fifteen year old, and

deleted the requirement that the defendant "knows or should know" the age of the victim.  

Then codified as Md. Code (1957, 1976 Repl. Vol., 1976 Cum. Supp.), Article 27, § 464C, the

statute read:

"(a) What constitutes. — A person is guilty of a sexual offense in the fourth
degree if the person engages:

"(1) In sexual contact with another person against the will and without the
consent of the other person; or 

"(2) In a sexual act with another person who is 15 years of age and the person
performing the sexual act is four or more years older than the other person; or

"(3) In vaginal intercourse with another person who is 14 or 15 years of age
and the person performing the sexual act is four or more years older than the other person.

"(b) Penalty. — Any person violating the provisions of this section is guilty of
a misdemeanor and upon conviction is subject to imprisonment for a period of not more
than one year, or a fine of not more than $1,000, or both fine and imprisonment.
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By Chapter 205 of the Acts of 1978, Md. Code (1957, 1976 Repl. Vol., 1977 Cum. Supp.), Art. 27, §

464C(a)(2) was amended to include a victim age fourteen.

We infer with some confidence that the source of the four year age differential that runs throughout

the 1976 sexual offenses statute was drawn from the 1898 carnal knowledge statute.  In 1965 Governor

J. Millard Tawes had appointed a commission on the criminal law.  See State of Maryland Commission

on Criminal Law, Report and Part I of Proposed Criminal Code at v (June 1, 1972) (the

Commission Report).  The Commission Report proposed that there be a "Part 130:  Sex Offenses" in a

criminal code.  See Commission Report at 185-96.  The draft of Part 130 utilized a four year differential

for sex crimes involving minors.  That decision was based on former Article 27, § 464 in which the

maximum age disparity permitted was just under four years.  Section 464 did "not make it criminal for a

male one day short of being 18 years old to have carnal knowledge of a female on the day when she

becomes 14 years old."  Commission Report at 189.

As in Garnett, the fact that the General Assembly first proposed and then deleted an explicit

requirement that the defendant knew or should have known the age of the victim, would have prevented

reading  a reasonable mistake of age defense into § 464C(a)(3), as enacted. 

The statute under which Walker was prosecuted, § 464B(a)(5), was spun off by the General

Assembly in 1994 from § 464C as enacted in 1976.  As reflected in the bill file of the Department of

Legislative Services on House Bill 96 of the 1994 General Assembly session, the spinoff resulted from the

incident described below.  In the late summer of 1993 Montgomery County police received information

that an adolescent boy had left a roller rink with two sixty-year-old men and that the adolescent was with

the men in a motel room.  When the police learned from the adolescent's parent that the boy was age fifteen
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they were unable to make an immediate arrest because the suspected crime, sexual acts involving a fifteen

year old with defendants four or more years older, was a sex offense in the fourth degree and a

misdemeanor.  Local Montgomery County newspapers carried police criticism of the statute, resulting in

the introduction of House Bill 96 by a Montgomery County delegate.  The bill would have removed from

the fourth degree sexual offense, and inserted in the third degree sexual offense, sexual contact and vaginal

intercourse where the victim was fourteen or fifteen years of age and the defendant was age twenty-five

or older.  The bill was amended by the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee to reduce the age of the

defendant to at least twenty-one, and the bill was enacted in that form as Chapter 523 of the Acts of 1994.

Thus, from the standpoint of a defense of reasonable mistake of age, the third degree sex offense

under § 464B(a)(4) (sexual act) and (5) (vaginal intercourse) is not distinguishable from the same conduct

when it was proscribed by § 464C(a)(2) and (3).  Further reinforcing this conclusion is that § 464B(a)(2),

prohibiting "[s]exual contact with another person who is mentally defective, mentally incapacitated, or

physically helpless," requires that the defendant "knows or should reasonably know [that] the other person

is mentally defective, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless."  Although the General Assembly was

presented with the model of a mistake of fact defense in the provision involving a mentally defective victim,

the General Assembly chose not to follow that model with respect to the age of victims of a sexual act or

vaginal intercourse where the victim was in fact fourteen or fifteen years old and the defendant was at least

age twenty-one.  In Garnett we also relied on a similar knowledge element in the crime of statutory rape

under § 463(a)(2) involving a mentally defective victim.  See Garnett, 332 Md. at 585-86, 632 A.2d at

804.
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For the foregoing reasons we conclude that, as a matter of statutory construction, the availability

of a defense of reasonable mistake of age cannot be read into carnal knowledge  between a fourteen or

fifteen year old victim and a defendant who is age twenty-one or older.  

II

In a combined constitutional/statutory construction argument Walker undertakes to distinguish §

464B(a)(5) from the second degree rape enactment, the constitutionality of which was upheld in Owens

v. State, supra.  Walker points out that second degree rape involves a victim under fourteen years of age

and that, under Maryland law, a sixteen year old person who is not mentally defective, mentally

incapacitated, or physically helpless is competent to consent to vaginal intercourse, sexual acts, and sexual

contact.  Walker sees this structure as affording some protection from a second degree rape charge for a

person who believes a teenage sex partner is sixteen by providing a margin of error of two years between

strict liability and no liability.  The offense proscribed by § 464B(a)(5), Walker submits, makes criminal

a mistake of age of only one day and thereby impermissibly impedes, through fear of mistake, conduct that

is otherwise lawful.  Walker concludes, that a reasonable mistake of age defense should be read into §

464B(a)(5) in order to avoid a substantial question of its validity under the Due Process Clause.

There are a number of fallacies in this argument. In "Chart 1," set forth below, we depict the scheme

of the 1976 and 1977 statutes criminalizing voluntary sexual intercourse as they remained until the 1994

spinoff from the fourth degree sex offense of § 464B(a)(5). 

Chart 1

1976
Consensual Vaginal Intercourse

Defendant's Age
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      15        16          17 18  19 20      21 & Older

Victim's
    Age

   12 NC 2E R 2E R 2E R 2E R 2E R 2E R

   13 NC NC 2E R 2E R 2E R 2E R 2E R

   14 NC NC NC 4E SO 4E SO 4E SO 4E SO  

   15 NC NC NC NC 4E SO 4E SO 4E SO 

16 And NC NC NC NC NC NC NC
Older

NC - No crime

R = Rape. 2E R - felony - maximum sentence 20 years 

SO = Sex Offense. 4E SO - misdemeanor - maximum sentence 1 year

Under the statutory scheme, if consensual vaginal intercourse takes place on the victim's thirteenth

birthday when the defendant is one day short of the defendant's seventeenth birthday, there is no crime.

On the other hand, if the same conduct takes place one day earlier, the defendant commits statutory rape

and is subject to twenty years confinement.  Thus, the statute approved in Garnett and in Owens can be

viewed as also having but a one day margin of error.  

Similarly, if consensual vaginal intercourse takes place on the day before the victim's sixteenth

birthday and on the defendant's nineteenth birthday, the defendant commits a sex offense in the fourth

degree, subject to a maximum sentence of one year.  On the other hand,  if the vaginal intercourse takes

place on the very next day there is no crime.  Thus, from the standpoint of the difference of one day

between criminal and non-criminal conduct, statutory rape and carnal knowledge are not distinguishable

under the statutory scheme.
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More fundamental is that Walker's asserted two year margin of error in statutory rape ignores that

consensual vaginal intercourse with a person fourteen or fifteen years of age by one who is four or more

years older is also criminal.  The "margin of error" of the statutory scheme where one person is under

sixteen years of age is based on the age differential between the two parties and, in that sense, the margin

of error is just under four years.

At oral argument Walker emphasized two decisions, United States v. Ransom, 942 F.2d 775

(10th Cir. 1991), and Perez v. State, 111 N.M. 160, 803 P.2d 249 (1990).  Each of these cases

involved a statutory scheme in which there was an intermediate area, somewhat analogous to Maryland's

carnal knowledge statute, between "strict" liability statutory rape and non-criminal consensual intercourse.

Walker would have us extrapolate  from these cases a requirement that the intermediate offense recognize

a reasonable mistake of age defense.  We are not persuaded.  Ransom was charged with violating 18

U.S.C. § 2241(c) proscribing sexual intercourse with a female minor under the age of twelve.  The

statutory scheme expressly recognized a reasonable mistake of fact defense if the minor was twelve years

or older.  18 U.S.C. § 2243 (1988).  Ransom contended that this difference in the offenses deprived him

of equal protection.  Rejecting this argument the court held that the statute did not result "in a classification

so unrelated to the government's interest in protecting children from sexual abuse as to be irrational."

Ransom, 942 F.2d at 778.  

Perez presented a scheme under which statutory rape involved victims under thirteen and carnal

knowledge involved victims thirteen to sixteen years of age "'when the perpetrator [was] in a position of

authority over the child and used this authority to coerce the child to submit.'"  Id. at 251 (quoting N.M.

Stat. Ann. § 30-9-11(B)(1) (1978)).  A 1987 amendment to the statute criminalized "sexual penetration"
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of a child thirteen to sixteen years of age "when the perpetrator [was] at least 18 years of age and is at least

4 years older than the child."  Id.  The New Mexico court read into the new statute a defense of reasonable

mistake of age, reasoning that "[w]hen the law requires a mathematical formula for its application, we

cannot say that being provided the wrong numbers is immaterial."  Id.  We find no indication in Perez that

this holding was dictated by a concern that the statute otherwise would be unconstitutional.  We read

Perez as a pure statutory construction case, an avenue that we have found to be foreclosed as to

§ 464B(a)(5), as explained in Part I, supra.

Ultimately, the constitutional concern that Walker perceives is one of substantive due process.  He

raises the specter of non-criminal conduct, i.e., vaginal intercourse with a partner sixteen or more years

of age, being restricted by concern that the partner might not yet be sixteen.  Here, however, the precise

statute with which we are concerned can be violated only by a defendant age twenty-one or over, as

reflected in Chart 2 set forth below depicting the effect of the 1994 amendment on the statutory structure

presented in Chart 1. 

 Chart 2

1994
Consensual Vaginal Intercourse

Defendant's Age
      15        16          17 18  19 20      21 & Older

Victim's
    Age

   12 NC 2E R 2E R 2E R 2E R 2E R 2E R

   13 NC NC 2E R 2E R 2E R 2E R 2E R

   14 NC NC NC 4E SO 4E SO 4E SO 3E SO  

   15 NC NC NC NC 4E SO 4E SO 3E SO 
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Phagan is a particularly forceful illustration of the lack of any constitutionally required transition2

and of the minimal weight, if any, afforded to an adult defendant's privacy argument where the victim is age
fifteen.  There, the defendant, age forty-six, had consensual intercourse with a fifteen year old girl on
approximately six occasions beginning at the end of the 1995 school year and prior to the victim's sixteenth
birthday on September 29, 1995.  Prior to July 1, 1995, the age of consent in Georgia was fourteen, but
as of that date the legislature raised the age of consent to sixteen.  The defendant contended that his pre-
July 1 sexual relations with his then validly consenting partner created a right of privacy that could not be
infringed by a law effective after the relationship had begun.  The court held that the defendant did not enjoy
a grandfathered safe haven because of the State's compelling interest in the welfare of children fifteen years
old and under.  Phagan, 486 S.E.2d at 879.

16 And NC NC NC NC NC NC NC
Older

3E SO - felony - maximum sentence 10 years

The offense under § 464B(a)(5) cannot be committed unless the defendant is at least five years

older than the victim.  Other than in the context of marriage, there would seem to be no fundamental

constitutional right for a person twenty-one years or older to engage in consensual vaginal intercourse with

a person sixteen years of age.  To the extent that there may be any such privacy interest on the part of

consenting parties, one of whom is sixteen, the State's interest in protecting persons under age sixteen

outweighs that assumed privacy interest.

The foregoing conclusion is demonstrated by the cases holding that there is no reasonable mistake

of age defense under statutory rape and carnal knowledge type statutes where the age of consent is sixteen

or seventeen.  See, e.g., United States v. Brooks, 841 F.2d 268, 269 (9th Cir.) (carnal knowledge:

under age sixteen), cert. denied, 487 U.S. 1227, 108 S. Ct. 2887, 101 L. Ed. 2d 922 (1988); Phagan

v. State, 268 Ga. 117, 486 S.E.2d 876, 878 (1997) (statutory rape:  under age sixteen), cert. denied,

522 U.S. 1128, 118 S. Ct. 1079, 140 L. Ed. 2d 136 (1998);  State v. Drake, 219 N.W.2d 492, 4932
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(Iowa 1974) (statutory rape:  under age seventeen); State v. Campbell, 239 Neb. 14, 473 N.W.2d 420,

424 (1991) (first degree sexual assault:  under age sixteen); Jenkins v. State, 110 Nev. 865, 877 P.2d

1063, 1065 (1994) (statutory sexual seduction:  under age sixteen); Commonwealth v. Miller, 385

Mass. 521, 432 N.E.2d 463, 464 (1982) (statutory rape:  under age sixteen); Goodrow v. Perrin, 119

N.H. 483, 403 A.2d 864, 865 (1979) (statutory rape:  under age sixteen); Johnson v. State, 967

S.W.2d 848, 849 (Tex. Crim. App. 1998) (indecency with a child:  under age seventeen); State v.

Barlow, 160 Vt. 527, 630 A.2d 1299, 1299 (1993) (statutory rape:  under age sixteen); State v.

Fisher, 211 Wis. 2d 665, 565 N.W.2d 565, 567 n.1 (Ct. App.) (sexual assault of a child:  under age

sixteen), rev. denied, 211 Wis. 2d 532, 568 N.W.2d 299 (1997). 

Accordingly, we shall affirm.

JUDGMENT OF THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR

BALTIMORE COUNTY AFFIRMED.  COSTS TO

BE PAID BY THE APPELLANT. 

Concurring and Dissenting Opinions follow:
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Eldridge, J., concurring:

I concur in the result only.  See Owens v. State, 352 Md. 663, 691-693, 724 A.2d 43,

57-58 (Eldridge, J., concurring), cert. denied, 527 U.S. 1012, 119 S.Ct. 2354, 144 L.Ed.2d 250

(1999); Garnett v. State, 332 Md. 571, 588-592, 632 A.2d 797, 805-807 (1993) (Eldridge, J.,

dissenting).

Dissenting Opinion follows:



- 1 -

Dissenting Opinion by Cathell, J.:

For the reasons generally stated in Judge Bell’s (now Chief Judge Bell’s) dissent in Garnett v.

State, 332 Md. 571, 632 A.2d 797 (1993), and for the reasons stated in Chief Judge Bell’s dissent in

Owens v. State, 352 Md. 663, 724 A.2d 43 (1999), in which I joined, I respectfully dissent.

Chief Judge Bell joins in this dissent.


