Chief Judge Robert M. Bell of the Court of Appeals has been inducted into the Warren E.
Burger Society, which honors individuals who have demonstrated an exemplary commitment
to improving the administration of justice through extraordinary contributions of service
and support to the National Center for State Courts. Judge Bell and other new members were
inducted into the Burger Society at the NCSC Annual Recognition Luncheon in Washington,
D.C. Barbara Bowman, lead worker and a clerk in the civil division of the Baltimore City
Circuit Court, was named by the Conference of Circuit Judges to receive the first annual
Distinguished Service Award for the Circuit Courts of Maryland. Bowman also celebrated
her 30th anniversary with the court in February. Ramona Buck, MACRO public policy director,
received the Chief Judge Robert M. Bell Award for outstanding contributions to the conflict
resolution field from the ADR Section of the Maryland State Bar Association.
Baltimore City District Judge Charlotte Cooksey received the first annual District Court of
Maryland Distinguished Service Award. Judge Cooksey was chosen by the District Court
Admininistrative Judges Committee to receive the honor. Howard County Circuit Judge
Diane O. Leasure
was elected chair of the Maryland Conference of Circuit Judges. Baltimore
City Circuit Judge Marcella A. Holland
was elected vice-chair of the Conference. Judge
Holland succeeds Judge Leasure, who, in turn, succeeds Prince George’s County Circuit Judge
William D. Missouri, who had served as chair of the conference since 2004. Prince George’s
County Circuit Judge Cathy Hollenberg Serrette
and retired Prince George’s County Circuit
Judge Stephen I. Platt
participated with other judges from the United States and South
America in the Fourth Sir Richard May Seminar on International Law and International
Courts in The Hague, Netherlands. Retired Washington County Circuit Judge Frederick
C. Wright, III
, was named “Person of the Year” for 2008 by the Hagerstown Herald-Mail. In
November, the Maryland Daily Record honored 24 recipients of its Leadership in Law award,
including: Hon. Ellen Hollander, Court of Special Appeals; Hon. Michele Hotten, Prince
George’s County Circuit Court; Hon. Barbara Kerr Howe, Baltimore County Circuit Court,
retired; and Hon. John Philip Miller, Baltimore City Circuit Court.
Each recipient was profiled
in a special publication of the Daily Record. The Maryland Daily Record named
Harford County Circuit Judge Angela M. Eaves; Baltimore County Circuit Judge Judith C.
Ensor; Prince George’s County Circuit Court Master Althea R. Stewart Jones; and Howard
County Circuit Judge Diane O. Leasure
to its 2009 list of Maryland’s Top 100 Women.