Juvenile Record Expungement Information for Victims and Family Members
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What is Juvenile Record Expungement?
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Maryland law permits a juvenile delinquency record to be
expunged under certain circumstances.
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What are the grounds for juvenile record expungement?
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There are several factors that a judge must consider before
granting an expungement petition (a request to the court to
expunge a juvenile record).
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These factors include that:
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e The person requesting expungement must be at least
18 years old, and
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e Atleast two (2) years must have passed since the last official
action in the person’s juvenile case.
71 AbRFo] 23 AFel ek nhx| st g4 23] o] % 2 4

o] (2)1o] Ztaliof it
The grounds for juvenile record expungement are on the next
page.
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What are my rights as a victim or a family member?
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Service of the petition. The court is required to have the
expungement petition served on (given to) each victim and family
member.

Helo) $2 ML 7} wjsia @ 745 A olA 2
FANE 52 (7

Aehshof LTt

CC-JRE-013BLK (Rev. 01/2022) (TR 02/2024)

If a record is expunged, it will be:
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e Moved to a separate and secured area from
which those without a legitimate reason for
access are denied access; or
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e [faccess to the record can be obtained only
by reference to another court record or police
record, by the expungement of it or the part of it
that provides access.
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The juvenile record expungement statute is
Maryland Code, Courts and Judicial Proceedings,
§ 3-8A-27.1.
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§ 3-8A-27.14Ych.
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The juvenile record expungement Rule is Maryland
Rule 11-506.
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Objection. Any victim or family member who objects to the A “victim” is a person against whom a delinquent
granting of an expungement petition may file an objection to the | act has been committed or attempted.
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A “family member” is an individual who is: (1)

Hearing. The court must hold a hearing on the expungement a family member of a victim, and (2) listed in the

petition if a victim or family member files the objection within (':ourt _f;lle as having attended the adjudication for the
30 days after the petition is served. juventie case.” .
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How will I be notified if an expungement petition is filed in this case?
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If a juvenile record expungement petition is filed, the court will notify each victim and family member.
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If you want to be notified that an expungement petition is filed, please make sure that the State’s Attorney has your full
name, address and contact information.
S o] W4H T SAS W] S sk, F ZAIA Astel AT, T4 2 A RS 2T e
RISt A L.

Please notify the court and the State’s Attorney of any changes to your information.
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Contact the clerk at:
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Contact the State’s Attorney at:
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Grounds for Juvenile Record Expungement
AW 715 e 27

Before a court can order a juvenile record expungement, the judge must:
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Find that ANY ONE (1) of the factors listed below in (A) has occurred; and
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Find that EACH of the factors listed below in (B) has occurred; and
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Consider each of the factors listed below in (C).
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A. Did ANY one (1) of the following occur in the juvenile case?
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1. The State’s Attorney entered a nolle prosequi;
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2. The delinquency or child in need of supervision (CINS) petition was dismissed;
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3. The court held an adjudicatory hearing and in that hearing, did not find that the allegations in the delinquency
petition, CINS petition, or citation were true;
M2 w2 AEE Al O AP ollM H3 A A, o] Boet obF (CINS) FeAM Eve 28740
wef Q1 @el7h ARalo] ofd 7o 2 Wil
4.  An adjudicatory hearing was not held within two (2) years after the delinquency petition, CINS petition, or
citation was filed;
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5. The court held a disposition hearing and in that hearing, found that the juvenile did not require guidance,
treatment or rehabilitation; or
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6.  The court held a disposition hearing and in that hearing, found that the juvenile did require guidance, treatment
or rehabilitation.
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B. Is EACH of the following true about the person who filed the juvenile record expungement petition
(petitioner)?
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1. The petitioner is at least 18 years old;
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2. Atleast two (2) years have passed since the last official action in the petitioner’s juvenile record,
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3. The petitioner has never been adjudicated delinquent or was only adjudicated delinquent one (1) time;
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4.  The petitioner has not subsequently been convicted of any offense;
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5. No delinquency petition or criminal charge is pending against the petitioner;
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6.  The petitioner has not been adjudicated delinquent for an offense that, if committed by an adult, would
constitute:
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a. A crime of violence;
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b. A fourth degree sexual offense; or
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c. A felony;
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7. The petitioner has not been required to register as a sex offender under Maryland;
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8. The petitioner has not been adjudicated delinquent for an offense involving the use of a firearm in the
commission of a crime of violence; and
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9.  The petitioner has fully paid any monetary restitution ordered by the court in the delinquency proceeding.
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C. The court must consider EACH of the following:
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1. The petitioner’s best interests;
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2. The petitioner’s stability in the community; and
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3. The safety of the public.
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There is more information about juvenile record expungement on-line at the People’s Law Library
peoples-law.org/introduction-juvenile-record-expungement
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