FRED S. HECKER
CIRCUIT ADMINISTRATIVE JUDGE
FIFTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
CHAIR
(410) 386-2837



YOLANDA L. CURTIN
CIRCUIT ADMINISTRATIVE JUDGE
THIRD JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
VICE-CHAIR
(410) 638-4655

# Conference of Circuit Judges

MARYLAND JUDICIAL CENTER 187 HARRY S. TRUMAN PARKWAY ANNAPOLIS, MD 21401

### **Meeting of the Conference of Circuit Judges**

A meeting of the Conference of Circuit Judges was held Monday, November 18, 2024, via Zoom for Government, beginning at 9:30 a.m.

### **Members Present**

Hon. Audrey J. S. Carrión, Chair Hon. Fred S. Hecker, Vice Chair

Hon. James A. Bonifant	Hon. Stacy A. Mayer	Hon. Brenda A. Sexton
Hon. Donine M. Carrington Martin	Stephanie Medina	Hon. Brian D. Shockley
Hon. DaNeeka V. Cotton	Hon. Dana M. Middleton	Hon. Richard R. Trunnell
Hon. Yolanda L. Curtin	Hon. Vicki M. Pauler	Hon. Kevin R. Tucker
Hon. William W. Davis, Jr.	Hon. Richard J. Sandy	

Hon. S. James Sarbanes

### Also, Present:

Hon. Jeffrey S. Getty

Melissa Canada (staff) Suzanne Pelz Nancy Faulkner Amanda Purnell Kelley O'Connor Will Vormelker

## 1. Welcome and Approval of Minutes - Hon. Audrey J.S. Carrión

Judge Audrey J.S. Carrión opened with a reminder that the meeting was being livestreamed for the public to view. She moved for approval of the meeting minutes from September 23, 2024. Judge Jeffrey S. Getty made a motion to approve the minutes, with a second from Judge Brian D. Shockley. After hearing no objections, the amended minutes were approved.

### 2. Brief Discussion of Expanded Voir Dire Pilot Project – Hon. Audrey J. S. Carrión

A meeting was held with Chief Justice Matthew J. Fader, Hon. Laura S. Ripken, and judges

Conference of Circuit Judges November 18, Meeting Page 2

from the eight circuits who will participate in a pilot voir dire program. An advisory board is developing 4-5 different options on how to conduct expanded voir dire, to include how the data will be collected for analysis. Judges who are not participating in the pilot program will continue to be involved in the evaluations comparing traditional courtroom procedure with those of the pilots.

### 3. 2025 Conference Elections – Hon. Audrey J. S. Carrión

The two-year term for elected members from each circuit on the Conference of Circuit Judges will end on December 31, 2024. Please notify Nancy Faulkner of your newly elected circuit representative.

#### 4. For the Good of the Order

Having no further items to discuss, the meeting ended at 9:38 am. The next meeting will be on Monday, January 27, 2025, via Zoom, beginning at 9:30 a.m.