Circuit Court for Carroll County, Maryland

Heather S. DeWees, Clerk

55 North Court Street
Westminster, Maryland 21157-5155

410-386-8710 ¢ 1-888-786-0039 ¢ FAX: 410-386-8734

www.mdcourts.gov/clerks/carroll

CARROLL COUNTY UPDATED Application Process for COVID-19

We are happy to announce that the Carroll County Clerk’s Office has returned to
processing marriage license applicants in person and by appointment only in the
Land Records & Licensing Department located on the ground floor of the Carroll
County Circuit Courthouse. Our NEW civil wedding ceremony room is also open
and indoor ceremonies can be scheduled by appointment only. Below are the
instructions to apply for a marriage license in ONLY Carroll County.

Congratulations on your upcoming nuptials.

Lsatte. S AeHew

Clerk of the Circuit Court
Carroll County, Maryland

A Maryland Marriage License can only be used, and a marriage ceremony can only
take place in the Maryland county where the marriage license is issued.

e The license must be obtained and presented to the official who will be
performing the marriage ceremony before the ceremony may take place.

e It is the parties’ responsibility to know the Maryland county in which the
ceremony site is located, and to obtain the marriage license from the Clerk
of Circuit Court for that county or, if in Baltimore City, the Clerk of Circuit
Court for Baltimore City.

® Please follow the provided directions on Page 2 &3 for Carroll County
Clerk’s Office as each Clerk’s Office may have different application
processes due to technology, Circuit Court restrictions or county
regulations for the COVID-19 State of Emergency.
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DIRECTIONS FOR MARRIAGES OCCURING IN ONLY CARROLL COUNTY, MD:

1.

APPLICATION: Please complete the COVID Marriage License
application on page 4 of this packet which is also available on a link at:
https://'www.courts.state.md.us/clerks/carroll

UNDER 18: If a party to be married is under the age of 18, and a parent or
guardian is providing consent, the parent must be present to be sworn under
oath.

. FEE AND PAYMENT: The fee for a Marriage License is $35 and is

payable by check or money order to: Heather S. DeWees, Clerk
We cannot process credit cards over the phone.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS: Do NOT include Social Security
numbers on the application. Staff will contact you by phone to request them.

CURRENT MARITAL STATUS: This section must include information
about every previous marriage, including the date (Month/Day/Year) and
the state or foreign country in which the marriage ended and whether each
marriage ended in death or divorce. Attach an additional sheet if there is not
enough room on the form for this information.

SIGNATURE: Sign and date the application and provide a daytime phone
number and email for at least one of the parties.

o Please note: You are signing under penalty of perjury and swearing
or affirming that the information you have provided is true and
accurate.

e SIGN the application in INK: A4n electronic signature will NOT be
accepted.

MAKE AN APPOINTMENT TO RECEIVE YOUR LICENSE: You
must make an appointment with the Land Records & Licensing Department
to submit your completed and signed marriage application, along with any
Consent of Parent or Guardian forms if applicable, to the Clerk.

e To make an appointment, please call 410-386-8760.
e The $35 fee must be paid at the time of appointment.
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e COVID RESTRICTIONS: If you are unable to schedule an appointment
in the Clerk’s Office due to out of state travel restrictions or quarantine
requirements, please call 410-386-8760 to schedule a videoconference by
Z0OOM to be sworn under oath.

* MALIL the application and $35 fee by check or money order to:

Heather DeWees, Clerk
Land Records & Licensing Dept.
55 North Court Street
Westminster, MD 21157
* Once the application is processed, the marriage license and receipt
will be mailed to the applicant.

»  An emailed application will NOT be accepted.

8. In Maryland, marriage licenses do not take effect until 6:00 a.m. on the 2"
day after the license is issued, and licenses remain valid for 6 months.

e During COVID-19 State of Emergency, the 6-month time period is
folled: For any marriage license issued during the State of
Emergency, the license is valid during the period of emergency and
Sfor up to 6 months after the declaration of State of Emergency has
been rescinded by the Governor of Maryland.

9. COURTHOUSE REMOTE CIVIL CEREMONY: The Carroll County
Clerk’s Office is now conducting indoor and outdoor civil ceremonies.

e Parties who wish to have a ceremony must pay on the day of the
ceremony by credit card or check / money order made payable to
Heather S. DeWees, Clerk.

e [n addition to those being married, only 2 additional guests are
permitted for an indoor ceremony for adherence to proper social
distancing guidelines.

e Parties to be wed may also elect to stand on the Circuit Court patio to
be married outdoors. There is no guest limit for an outdoor ceremony.

10. CERTIFIED COPIES OF MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE: Parties who
wish to have a copy of their marriage certificate after the return has been
filed, may prepay an additional $5.50 per certified copy. Military / first
responders may ask for up to 5 for free in advance.
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Marriage License Number

Maryland Circuit Court Clerk’s Office Use Only

Local Number

STATE OF MARYLAND
MARRIAGE LICENSE APPLICATION

(For Use During COVID-19 Emergency Only)

Maryland county in which marriage ceremony is to take place:

Date of ceremony, if known:

O County or [J Baltimore City
I/We apply for a marriage license under Maryland law, and state under oath:
Party 1:
First Name Middle Name Last Name Sr./Jr./etc.
Age State/Country of Birth Social Security No. - -
Residential Address: s
Street Number and Street Name City State and Zip Code

Current Marital Status:
[] Single
[J Widowed — Date(s) and Location of Spouse’s Death(s):

[J Divorced — Date(s) and Location of Divorce Decree(s):

Method of Consent:
[J Party 1 is 18 years of age or older
[J Party 1 is under 18 years of age and

consents to this marriage. This consenting person is

my (check one) L] Parent or [ Legal Guardian.

Party 2:
First Name Middle Name Last Name Sr./Jr./etc.
Age State/Country of Birth Social Security No. - -
Residential Address: 2

Street Number and Street Name City State and Zip Code

Current Marital Status:
[J Single
[J Widowed — Date(s) and Location of Spouse’s Death(s):

[J Divorced — Date(s) and Location of Divorce Decree(s):

Method of Consent:
L] Party 2 is 18 years of age or older
[ Party 2 is under 18 years of age and

consents to this marriage. This consenting person is

my (check one) [J Parent or _] Legal Guardian.

I/WE SOLEMNLY AFFIRM UNDER THE PENALTIES OF PERJURY AND UPON PERSONAL

KNOWLEDGE THAT THE INFORMATION PROVIDED IN THIS APPLICATION IS TRUE.
(This may be signed by one or both parties.)

Signature of Party |

Phone:

Signature of Party 2

Phone:

Printed Name:

Date/Time:

Maryland Clerk’s Office Use Only

SWORN AND SUBSCRIBED (check one) [ in person [ by videoconference [ by affidavit

Signature:




