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13. 

 

COMMON LAW 

  MISDEMEANOR 

ANY SENTENCE THAT IS 

NOT CRUEL OR 

UNUSUAL PUNISHMENT 

*3_5399* **AFFRAY ** 

 … did willfully engage in a fight with ________(name) in a 

public place to the disturbance of others in violation of the 

common law. 
 

 

  MISDEMEANOR 

ANY SENTENCE THAT IS 

NOT CRUEL OR 

UNUSUAL PUNISHMENT 

*1_0042* **FALSE IMPRISONMENT** 

 ...did unlawfully and intentionally detain _____ (victim), in 

violation of the common law. 

  MISDEMEANOR 

ANY SENTENANCE THAT 

IS NOT CRUEL OR 

UNUSUAL PUNISHMENT 

*1_0043* **OBSTRUCTING & HINDERING** 

 …did intentionally and knowingly obstruct and hinder a police 

officer, ___ (victim), in the performance of [his/her] lawful 

duties, in violation of the common law. 

  MISDEMEANOR 

ANY SENTENCE THAT IS 

NOT CRUEL OR 

UNUSUAL PUNISHMENT 

*6_1313* **FORGERY ** 

 … did commit common law forgery to wit: _____(describe). 

 

Note: This charge may be used when a forgery not covered by a 

statute is involved (Criminal Law, Agriculture, Health General, 

etc).  Forgery is the fraudulent making of a false writing having 

apparent legal significance Smith v. State, 7 Md. App. 457, 256 

A.2d 357 (1969). 
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  MISDEMEANOR 

ANY SENTENCE THAT IS 

NOT CRUEL OR 

UNUSUAL PUNISHMENT 

*3_1314* 
**RIOT** 

 ...on or about (date) ________ at (location) in __________ 

county, Maryland, did, together with at least two other persons, 

unlawfully assemble to carryout a common purpose in such 

violent or turbulent manner as to terrify others, in violation of 

the common law of the State of Maryland, and against the 

peace, government, and dignity of the State. 

 ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 
  
  AB 6-304 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_1644* 
**SELL ALC BEV UNDER 21** 

 … did as [a license holder under the Alcohol Bevereges 

Article/employee of a license holder under the Alcohol 

Beverages Article], [sell/provide] alcoholic beverages to 

______(name), an individual under the age of 21 years. 

NOTE: See Alcoholic Beverages Article Title XX (Your 

County’s Title), Subsection 2702 (EX.  AB 18-2702 for Charles 

County, AB 31-2702 for Washington County) for local 

requirements where defendant must be charged by summons 

and may not be required to post bail pending trial). 

  AB 6-307 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_1645* 
**SELL ALC BEV UNDER INFLUENCE** 

 … did as [a license holder under the Alcohol Bevereges 

Article/employee of a license holder under the Alcohol 

Beverages Article], [sell/provide] alcoholic beverages to 

______(name), who was visibly under the influence of an 

alcoholic beverage at the time of the [sale/delivery]. 
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  AB 6-308 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_1646* 
**ALLOW CONSUME ALC-LIC PREM** 

 … did as a license holder under the Alcoholic Bevereges 

Article allow ______(name), to consume an alcoholic beverage 

on {his/her] licensed premises that was not purchased on the 

premises and otherwise not allowed under the Alcoholic 

Beverages Article. 

  AB 6-309 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,050.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_1647* 
**ALLOW CONSUM ALC-LIC PREM UND 21 ** 

 … did as [a license holder under the Alcoholic Bevereges 

Article /a proprietor of an establishment that provides alcoholic 

beverages/an operator of an establishment that provides 

alcoholic beverages] allow ______(name), a person under the 

age of 21 years, to [consume/possess] alcoholic beveragse on 

{his/her] licensed premises.. 

  

  AB 6-310 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10.00 

*1_1648* 
**ALC BEV LIC HOLD - FREE FOOD** 

 … did as a license holder under the Alcoholic Bevereges 

Article [give/offer without charge] food to _______(name) to 

induce said person to purchase alcoholic beverages for on-

premises consumption. 

NOTE: This charge does not apply to hors d’oerves, pretzels, 

cheese, or crackers that are placed on a counter in the licensed 

premises for customers to consumer without charge. 
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  AB 6-311 (b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_1649* 
** ALC RTL DEALR ILL PURCHASE ** 

 … did as retail dealer, purchase alcoholic beverages from 

______(describe person or company), [who/which] was not a 

licensed manufacturer, licensed wholesaler, private bulk sale 

permit holder, or nonresident windery permit holder. 

NOTE: See AB 6-311(a) for exceptions. 

  AB 6-311 (b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_1650* 
** ALC RTL DEALR ILL SALE ** 

 … did as retail dealer, sell alcoholic beverages to _______ , 

another retail dealer that does not hold a Class C per diem beer, 

beer and wine, or beer, wine, and liquor license. 

NOTE: See AB 6-311(a) for exceptions.  

  

  AB 6-311 (b)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_1651* 
** ALC RTL DEALR KEEP ILL ALC ** 

 … did as retail dealer, keep alcoholic beverages on [his/her] 

licensed premises that were not purchased by [him/her]. 

NOTE: See AB 6-311(a) for exceptions.  

  AB 6-312(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1652* 
** MISREP ALC BEV ** 

 … did ________(choose from below) a beverage as [malt 

extract/beer] and the beverage was not brewed and fermented as 

such. 

1.  [manufacture/sell/offer for sale] 

2. order ______, [an employee/other person] to  

[manufacture/sell/offer for sale] 
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  AB 6-312(a)(2)(i) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1653* 
** MISREP BEER COLOR ** 

 … did ________(choose from below) beer to which 

[coloring/porterine] was added to represent the beer to be [malt 

extract/porter/another beverage to wit: ____] 

 

1.  [sell/offer for sale] 

2. order ______, [an employee/other person] to  [sell/offer 

for sale] 

 

  AB 6-312(a)(2)(i) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1654* 
** MISREP MALT/LIQUOR** 

 … did ________(choose from below) [malt/liquor] that was not 

identified by proper name. 

 

1.  [sell/offer for sale] 

2. order ______, [an employee/other person] to  [sell/offer 

for sale] 

  AB 6-313 (a)(1)(i) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_1655* 
** TAMPER WITH ALCOHOLIC BEV** 

 … did as [a/an] [retail dealer/agent of a retail dealer/employee 

of a retail dealer] [tamper with/change the quantity/change the 

quality] the contents of a container of an alcoholic beverage 

after said alcoholic beverage had been lawfully sealed and the 

contents remained in the container. 

  AB 6-313 (a)(1)(ii) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_1656* 
** REFILL ALC BEV CONTAINR** 

 … did as [a/an] [retail dealer/agent of a retail dealer/employee 

of a retail dealer] refill a container of an alcoholic beverage 

with a substance to wit: ______(describe), after the container 

had been emptied of its original contents. 
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  AB 6-313 (a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_1657* 
** DEALR POSS TAMPER ALC BEV** 

 … did as a retail dealer possess a container of alcoholic 

beverage that had been [tampered with/refilled] . 

  AB 6-314 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 – 90 DAYS 

*1_1658* 
** SELL ALC BEV  MTL CONTAINR** 

 … did [sell/offer for sale] an alcoholic beverage container that 

was made from [metal/composite material] and was designed 

and constructed with an all-metal tab opening device that 

detaches from the container when the container is opened in a 

manner that is normally used to empty the contents of the 

container. 

NOTE: See AB 6-314 (a)(2) for exceptions. 

  

  AB 6-316 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1000.00  

*1_1659* 
**SELL ALC BEV-MAX ALC CONTENT ** 

 … did sell at retail, an alcoholic beverage with an alcohol 

content by volume of 95%/190 proof or more to wit: 

______(alcohol volume). 

 

 

  AB 6-317 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEARS 

 

*1_1073* 
**UNLAW REQ COND OF SALE ** 

 ... did as a [license holder/employee of a license holder] require, as a 

condition of sale of an alcoholic beverage for on-premises 

consumption, that _____(name of consumer), buy more than one 

[bottle/container/serving] of an alcoholic beverage at a time. 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

19. 
 

  AB 6-319 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_1660* 
**CONSUME ALC BEV LIC PREMISES** 

 … did consume an alcoholic beverage  on the licensed premises  

of _______(license holder), located at _________(address), that 

was not purchased on said premises and not allowed to be 

consumed on the premises under the Alcoholic Beverages 

Article. 

NOTE: See AB 6-319(a) for exceptions. 

 

 

  AB 6-320(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 – 90 DAYS 

*1_1661* 
**INTOXICATED ENDANGER** 

 … did endanger the safety of ______(name or property) while 

being intoxicated. 

 

  AB 6-320(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 – 90 DAYS 

*1_1662* 
**INTOXICATED PUBLIC DISTURB** 

 … did [being intoxicated/consume an alcoholic beverage] in a 

public place, and cause a public disturbance. 

 

 

 

  AB 6-323(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1000.00  

*1_1666* 
**USE AWOL MACHINE** 

 …did use an AWOL machine to [inhale alcohol 

vapor/introduce alcohol in any form] into the human body. 

NOTE: See AB 6-232(a) for definition of “AWOL”. 
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  AB 6-323(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1000.00  

*1_1667* 
**POSS/BUY/SELL AWOL MACHINE** 

 …did with intent to introduce alcohol into the human body, 

[possess/purchase/transfer/offer for sale/use] an AWOL 

machine. 

NOTE: See AB 6-232(a) for definition of “AWOL”. 

 

  AB 6-327(a) 

FELONY 

$1000.00 – 2 YEARS 

*1_1668* 
**UNLIC OUT OF STATE ALC SALE** 

 …did being a person in the business of [selling/distributing] 

alcoholic beverages [in/from] _________(State other than 

Maryland), [ship/cause to be shipped/deliver] alcoholic 

beverages directly to a recipient in the State without holding the 

required [license/permit]. 

 

 

  AB 6-328(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10000.00 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1669* 
**ALC BEV TAX-WILLFULLY NOT PAID** 

 …did [knowingly/willfully] [possess/transport/sell/offer for 

sale/store on own property/authorize storage on own property], 

an alcoholic beverage on which the tax imposed by the Tax-

General Article was not paid. Effe
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  AB 6-328(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10000.00 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1670* 
**ALC BEV TAX EVASION** 

 …did evade a tax imposed on an alcoholic beverage under the 

Tax-General Article. 

  AB 6-328(a)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10000.00 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1671* 
**ALC BEV COUNTERFEIT TAX STAMP** 

 …did counterfeit a [stamp/certificate] required under the 

[Alcoholic Beverages/Tax-General Article]. 

 

  AB 6-328(a)(4) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10000.00 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1672* 
**VIOL ALC BEV TAX REG** 

 … did violate a regulation that the [Comptroller of 

Maryland/Executive Director of the Alcohol and Tobacco 

Commission] adopted under the [Alcoholic Beverages/Tax-

General Article] to wit: _______(describe regulation). 

  AB 6-329(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1000.00 – 2 YEARS 

*1_1673* 
**ALC BEV REMOVE/DESTROY PROP** 

 …did [remove/destroy/cause to be removed/cause to be 

destroyed] property that had been seized under the [Alcoholic 

Beverages/Tax-General Article relating to the tax on alcoholic 

beverages], to wit: _________(describe property). 
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  AB 6-329(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1000.00 – 2 YEARS 

*1_1674* 
**ALC BEV-PREVENT SEIZE PROP** 

 …did [prevent/attempt to prevent] the seizure of property to 

wit: _______(describe property),  by ____________(choose 

from below). 

1. pouring out the contents of said property; 

2. [breaking/destroying]  said property; 

3. removing said property from the premises; 

4. disposing of said property 

 

  AB 36-1102(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00  
 

*1_1778* ** SELL TETRAHYDROCANNABINOL W/O LIC ** 

 ... did [sell/distribute] a product intended for human 

consumption or inhalation that contains more than [.5 

milligrams of tetrahydrocannabinol per serving/2.5 milligrams 

of tetrahydrocannabinol per package] without having a license 

or the product complying with manufacturing, laboratory 

testing, packaging, and labeling standards under AB 36-203. 

 

  AB 36-1102(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00  
 

*1_1779* ** SELL TETRAHYDROCANNABINOL TO UND 21 ** 

 …did [sell/distribute] a product intended for human 

consumption or inhalation that contains more than [.5 

milligrams of tetrahydrocannabinol/2.5 milligrams of 

tetrahydrocannabinol per package] to _______, an individual 

under 21 years of age. 

  AB 36-1102(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00  
 

*1_1780* ** SELL CANNABINOID NOT NATURAL ** 

 … did [sell/distribute] a cannabinoid product that is not derived 

from naturally occurring biologically active chemical 

constituents. 
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AGRICULTURE ARTICLE 

 Opening Gate of Another's Pasture, etc. 

  AG 3-701 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_2900* **MAL/DEST-OPEN FIELD GATE** 

 ...did wilfully and maliciously open the gate of a 

[field/pasture/enclosure] enclosing ______ (describe livestock) 

and belonging to ______ (owner/lessee, etc.). 

 

BUSINESS OCCUPATIONS & PROFESSIONS 

ARTICLE 

 Lawyers - Written Solicitation of Clients 

  BOP 10-605.1 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_0500* **ATTY SOLICIT CIVIL CASE** 

 ______, a lawyer, did, within 30 days after the incident giving 

rise thereto, send a communication to ______, the victim and 

relative of the victim, concerning an action for personal injury 

and wrongful death and otherwise related to an accident or 

disaster involving the said victim, for the purpose of obtaining 

professional employment. 

NOTE: The 1998 Legislature, recognizing the new, hi-tech 

methods of communication, struck the word "written," and 

listed the types of "communication" for which this statute is 

applicable. They include: Audio recording, computer on-line 

transmission, facsimile transmission, letter, or other form of 

written communication, telegraphic, telephone, and video 

recording. At the same time, they made the law applicable only 

to civil cases and struck the section involving solicitation in 

criminal cases. 

NOTE:  See section for time requirements. 
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BUSINESS REGULATIONS ARTICLE 

  BR 5-610(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_0980* **CEMETERY ESTABLISH/OP SALE PROP ** 

 … did [establish/operate/allow the operation of] a cemetery as 

[a sole proprietor registered cemeterian/a permit holder/a 

person subject to the (permit/registration) in violation of the 

requirements of the Business Regulation Article]. 

NOTE: Cemetery defined in BR-602. 

NOTE: Second violation: $10,000 – 2 YEARS 

             Third or subsequent violation:  $20,000 – 3 YEARS 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  BR 5-610(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_0981* **CEMETERY ESTAB/OP CORP** 

 ...did as an officer of a corporation [establish/operate/allow the 

operation of] a cemetery in violation of the requirements of the 

Business Regulation Article.  

NOTE: Cemetery defined in BR-602. 

NOTE: Second violation: $10,000 – 2 YEARS 

             Third or subsequent violation:  $20,000 – 3 YEARS 
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  BR 5-610(c) 

FELONY 

PRELMINARY HEARING 

$25,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_0982* **PERPETUAL CARE TRUST FUND FRAUD** 

 ...did [willfully misappropriate/intentionally and fraudulently 

convert] perpetual care trust funds in excess of $100.00 to their 

own use. 

 

 

 

  BR 5-712(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_0983* **BURIAL NEED CONTRACT-DEPOSIT** 

 ... did sell a preneed burial contract and failed to deposit money 

received [under/in connection with] the preneed burial contract. 

NOTE: Second violation: $15,000 – 2 YEARS 

             Third or subsequent violation:  $20,000 – 3 YEARS 

 

 

 

 

 

  BR 5-712(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_0984* **BURIAL NEED CONTRACT-DEPOSIT** 

 ... did as an officer of a corporation responsible for selling a 

pre-need burial contract, fail to deposit money received 

[under/in connection with] the preneed burial contract. 

NOTE: Second violation: $15,000 – 2 YEARS 

             Third or subsequent violation:  $20,000 – 3 YEARS 
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  BR 5-712(c) 

FELONY 

PRELMINARY HEARING 

$25,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_0985* **BURIAL NEED CONTRACT FRAUD** 

 ...did [willfully misappropriate/intentionally and fraudulently 

convert] preneed trust funds in excess of $100.00 to their own 

use. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  BR 5-903 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 1 YEARS 

*1_0986* **REP CEMETARIAN/CREM W/O REG ** 

 … did without being authorized as a registrant, represented to 

the public by use of [a title/a description of services/a 

description of methods/a description of procedures]to wit: 

__________, that they were authorized to [engage in the 

operation of a cemetery/provide burial goods].  
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 Acting/Selling W/O License 

  BR 8-601 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 – 6 MONTHS 

*1_1597* **ACT AS CONTRCTOR W/O LICNS** 

 ...did [act/offer to act] as a [contractor/ subcontractor] in the 

state without having the license therefore required by law. 

NOTE: See BR 8-601(d) regarding subsequent offense penalty 

of 2Y-$5,000. 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  BR 8-601 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 – 6 MONTHS 

*1_1598* **SELL HOME IMPRV W/O LICENS** 

 ...did [sell/offer to sell] a home improvement without having a 

license to do so, as required by law. 

NOTE: See BR 8-601(d) regarding subsequent offense penalty 

of 2Y-$5,000. 

 

 

 

 

 

  BR 8-605 

PENALTY SEC. 8-623 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*2_0258* **FAIL TO PERFORM CONTRACT** 

 ...did, as a contractor, knowingly and wilfully abandon and fail 

to perform without justification, a home improvement contract. 

NOTE: Abandonment of a contract implies an intent not to 

perform. Poor work performance and untimely performance do 

not, by themselves, imply an intent to abandon the contract. 

(Shade v. State, 306 Md. 372). 
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 Misc. Prohibited Acts 

  BR 8-605 

PENALTY SEC. 8-623 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*2_0259* **DEVIATE FROM PLANS W/O CON** 

...did, as a contractor, knowingly and willfully deviate from 

plans and specifications without the consent of the owner. 

NOTE: Contractor means a person, other than an employee of an 

owner, who performs or offers or agrees to perform a home 

improvement for an owner. 

NOTE: "Home improvement" is defined as the addition or 

alteration, conversion, improvement, modernization, 

remodeling, repair, or replacement of a building or part of a 

building that is used or designed to be used as a residence or a 

structure adjacent to that building or improvement to land 

adjacent to the building. It includes:  

1. Construction, improvement or replacement, on land adjacent 

to the building of a driveway, fall-out shelter, fence, garage, 

landscaping, porch or swimming pool. 

2. Connection, installation or replacement in the building of a 

dishwasher, disposal or refrigerator with an icemaker to existing 

plumbing lines. 

3. Installation of an awning, fire alarm or storm window. 

4. Work done on individual condominium units. 

NOTE: "Home improvement" does not include:  

1. Construction of a new home. 

2. Work done to comply with a guarantee of completion for a 

new building project. 

3. Connection, installation or replacement of an appliance to 

existing plumbing lines that requires alteration of the plumbing 

lines.  

4. Sale of materials if the seller does not perform or arrange to 

perform any work using the materials. 

5. Work done on apartment buildings with four or more single-

family units. 

6. Work done on the common areas of condominium units. 

7. Shore erosion control projects as defined in 8-1001 of the 

Natural Resources Article. 
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 Traders and Chain Stores 

  BR 17-1803 

PENALTY SEC. 17-2106 

MISDEMEANOR 

$300.00 - 30 DAYS 

*3_5100* **DO BUS W/O TRADERS LICENSE** 

 ...did [business as a trader/business as an exhibitor] in the State 

of Maryland without a Trader's License. 

NOTE: A separate Trader's License is required for each store or 

fixed place of business that a person operates in the State. 

NOTE: This section does not apply to:  

1. A grower, maker or manufacturer of goods. 

2. A non-resident traveling salesperson, sample merchant, or 

representative of a foreign mercantile or manufacturing 

business while selling to or soliciting an order from a licensed 

trader in the State. 

3. A private individual while publicly selling the individual's 

personal effects on the individual's property, if the individual 

holds only one sale not exceeding fourteen [14] consecutive 

days in a calendar year. 

4. An exhibitor, if the show is promoted by: a. A church, 

defined in Sec. 5-301[B] of the Corporations and Associations 

Article; b. A Governmental Unit; c. An amateur radio 

organization; d. An antique vehicle, machine and equipment 

organization; e. A volunteer fire department or rescue squad; or 

f. A model train collector's association. 

 

 

  

  BR 17-2103 

MISDEMEANOR 

$300.00 – 30 DAYS 

*1_0892* **FAIL TO DISPLAY LICENSE ** 

 ...did fail to display a license as required by BR 17-2103. 
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COURTS & JUDICIAL PROCEEDINGS  
  

  CJ 3-1503(d) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_0100* **PEACE ORDER: FALSE INFO.** 

 ...did file a petition under the Annotated Code of 

Maryland,Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article, Sec. 3-1503, 

and knowingly provided false information in said petition. 

 

  CJ 3-1508 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_0105* **PEACE ORDER: FAIL TO COMPLY** 

...did fail to comply with relief granted under an Order dated 

_______________, issued under the Courts & Judicial 

Proceedings Article, by _________(choose ONE violation 

from the list below.  Additional violations may be added 

using the word “and” if violations occurred during same 

event.) 

1. committing an act specified in CJ 3-1503(a) against 

________(name). 

2. threatening to commit an act specified in CJ 3-1503(a) 

against ________(name) 

3. contacting ________(name) 

4. attempting to contact ________(name) 

5.  harassing _______________(name) 

6. entering the residence of _______________(name) 

7. failing to remain away from the place of employment of 

___(name) 

8. failing to remain away from school of ___(name) 

9. failing to remain away from temporary residence of  

_______(name). 

 

 (Note for charge 2-0105 continued on page 31) 
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 NOTE: The acts specified in CJ-3-1503(a) are:  

1. an act that causes serious bodily harm;  

2. an act that places petitioner or petionioner’s employee in fear 

of imminent serious bodily harm;  

3. assault in any degree;  

4. rape or sexual offense under CR 3-303 through CR 3-308 or 

attempted rape or sexual offense in any degree;  

5. false imprisonment;  

6. harassment under CR 3-803;  

7. stalking under CR 3-802;  

8. trespass under Title 6, Subtitle 4 of the Criminal Law Article; 

9. malicious destruction of property under CR 6-301; 

10. misuse of telephone facilities and equipment under           

CR 3-804; 

11. misuse of electronic communication or interactive computer 

service under CR 3-805; 

12. revenge porn under CR 3-809; or 

13. visual surveillance under CR 3-901, CR 3-902, or            

CR 3-903. 

NOTE: For a second or subsequent offense, the maximum 

penalty is $2,500 and/or 1 years imprisonment. 

NOTE:  If the court is closed on the day an  interim order is set 

to expire, the order shall be effective until the next day on 

which the court is open.  For temporary orders, it is effective 

until the second day on which the Court is open. 

NOTE:  The Commissioner must verify the type of order, verify 

the order has been served, verify that the alleged violation 

conditions exist in the issued order; prior to making a probable 

cause decision. 

NOTE: Under CJ 3-1508 (b), a prior conviction under FL 4-509 

for violation of a protective order, shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of second or subsequent offense 

penalties. Sub offenses should be brought by State’s Attorney. 
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  CJ 3-8A-30 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_0238* **CONTRIBUTE TO COND OF CHLD** 

...did, being an adult, wilfully contribute to, encourage, cause, 

or tend to cause [an act/an omission/a condition] which 

rendered _______, a child, [in violation of _____/ delinquent or 

in need of supervision]. 

NOTE: Adult may be charged under the section, even if child 

has not been found to have committed a violation, adjudicated 

delinquent, in need of supervision, or in need of assistance. 

Charge must be filed in the county where the offense occurred 

(C.J Sec. 3-808). Concurrent jurisdiction with Juvenile Court 

and Adult Court (C.J. Sec. 3-804). 

NOTE: There is a presumption that a child is not receiving 

ordinary and proper care and attention under Section 3-

801(E)(1) of C&JP if the child:  

1. was born addicted to or dependent on cocaine, heroin, or a 

derivative thereof; or 

2. was born with a significant presence of cocaine, heroin, or a 

derivative thereof in the child's blood as evidenced by 

toxicology or other appropriate tests. 

NOTE: "Adult" means a person who is 18 years old or older. 

"Child" means a person under the age of 18 years. "Child in 

need of assistance" is a child who requires the assistance of the 

court because:  

1. He is mentally handicapped or is not receiving ordinary and 

proper care and attention, and 

2. His parents, guardian, or custodian are unable or unwilling to 

give proper care and attention to the child and his problems 

provided, however, a child shall not be deemed to be in need of 

assistance for the sole reason he is being furnished non-medical 

remedial care and treatment recognized by State law. 

"Child in need of supervision" is a child who requires guidance, 

treatment, or rehabilitation and:  

1. He is required by law to attend school and is habitually 

truant; or 

2. He is habitually disobedient, ungovernable, and beyond the 

control of the person having custody of him; 

3. He deports himself so as to injure or endanger himself or 

others; or 

4. He has committed an offense applicable only to children. 

"Delinquent child" is a child who has committed a delinquent 

act and requires guidance, treatment, or rehabilitation. 
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COMMERCIAL LAW ARTICLE 

  CL 14-2903 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*5_2607* **FRAUD-FALSE ADV** 

 ...did advertise by means of ____ (describe method of 

advertisement) and offer for sale to the general public ____ 

(item or service) with the intent [not to sell same/not to sell 

same at the advertised price]. 

NOTE: Section applies to firms, corporations and the several 

members, officers, directors, agents and employees who 

knowingly violate this section. Generally referred to as "bait 

and switch". 

  CL 13-303 

MISDEMEANOR                                                                                                                                      

$1,000 – 1 YEAR 

*1_0883* **ENG UNFAIR/ABUS/DEC TRADE PRACT* 

 did engage in an [unfair/abusive/deceptive] trade practice in 

_______(choose from below). 

1. the [sale/lease/rental/loan/bailment] of  [a consumer 

good/consumer realty/a consumer service] to wit: 

_______(describe). 

2. the offer for [sale/lease/rental/loan/bailment] of  [a 

consumer good/consumer realty/a consumer service] to wit: 

_______(describe). 

3. the offer for sale of [course credit/educational service to 

wit: _____(describe) 

4. the extension of consumer credit 

5. The collection of consumer debts 

6. the [purchase/offer for purchase] of [consumer 

goods/consumer realty] from a consumer by a merchant whose 

business includes paying off consumer debt in connection with 

the purchase of [consumer goods/consumer realty] from a 

consumer. 

Note: See Commercial Law Article 13-411(a) for penalty 

section.  

Note:  See Commercial Law Article 13-411(b) for exceptions. 
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34. 

 

CRIMINAL PROCEDURE ARTICLE 

  CP 5-210 

MISDEMEANOR 

1st Off: $2,500 – 30 Day Lic. 

Susp. If Licensed 

2nd Off: $5,000 – 90 Day Lic. 

Susp. If Licensed 

*1_1638* **BAIL BONDSMAN-SOLICITATION** 

 ...did, as [a/an] [bail bondsman/agent of a bail bondsman/ 

employee of the courthouse/employee of a correctional facility], 

solicit business on property and grounds of a 

[courthouse/correctional facility]. 

NOTE: Bail bondsman does not include a person that contracts 

with a public agency to provide bail bonds to persons detained in a 

correctional facility. 

NOTE: "Solicit" includes approaching, enticing, or inviting an 

individual to use the services of a specific bail bondsman; and 

distributing, displaying, or wearing an item that advertises the 

services of a bail bondsman. 

 

  CP 5-211(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1474* **FTA/FELONY DEFENDANT** 

 ...did wilfully fail to surrender within 30 days following ____ 

(date), the date of forfeiture of bail or recognizance, which was 

given in connection with [a felony/a pending appeal/a pending 

certiorari/a pending habeas corpus/a post conviction] in case 

______(case number) in the __________(name court) court for 

[county/city/state]. 

  CP 5-211(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1475* **FTA/MISD- DEF/WITNESS** 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

...did wilfully fail to surrender within 30 days following ________ 

(date), the date of forfeiture of bail or recognizance, which was 

given in connection with [a misdemeanor/the appearance as a 

witness] in case _________ (case number) court for [county/city]. 
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  CP 5-212 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_1476* **FAIL APPEAR-CITATION** 
...did  fail to appear in response to a citation, to wit: _________ (identify citation 

by number and offense). 

NOTE: See CP 5-212(a) for citations not covered under this charge. 
 

  CP 5-213.1(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

90 DAYS 

*1_0636* ** VIOL REL COND – MINOR VIC** 
… did while charged with committing an act against a victim who is a minor, in 

violation of Title 3, Subtitle 3 of the Criminal Law Article, violate a [pretrial 

release/posttrial release/pretrial/posttrial] condition issued on case 

_________(case#) that prohibited [him/her] from 

[contacting/harassing/abusing/going in the residence of/going in the place of 

employment of/going near the residence of/going near the place of employment 

of] the alleged victim, ______(name) in violation of 5-213.1 of the Criminal 

Procedure Article. 

NOTE:  States attorney may request an expedited hearing for a violation before 

the District Court or Circuit Court of the county in which the case is pending. On 

the filing of a request, the court shall issue a bench warrant and schedule an 

expedited hearing. Hearing shall be held no later than 2 days after filing of request. 

NOTE:  This charge applies to an incarcerated person. 

 

  CP 5-213.1(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

90 DAYS 

*1_1464* ** VIOL REL COND – CRIME OF VIOL** 

 
… did after being charged with a crime of violence under PS 5-101 to wit: ___(see 

below), violate a [pretrial release/posttrial release/pretrial/posttrial] condition 

issued on case ____(case#) that prohibited [him/her] from 

[contacting/harassing/abusing/going in the residence of/going in the place of 

employment of/going near the  residence of/going near  the place of employment of] the 

alleged victim,_____(name) in violation of 5-213.1 of the Criminal Procedure Article.  
(1)  abduction; 
(2)  arson in the first degree; 
(3)  assault in the first or second degree; 
(4)  burglary in the first, second, or third degree; 
(5)  carjacking and armed carjacking; 
(6)  escape in the first degree; 
(7)  kidnapping; 
(8)  voluntary manslaughter; 
(9)  maiming as previously proscribed under former Article 27, § 386 of the Code; 
(10)  mayhem as previously proscribed under former Article 27, § 384 of the Code; 
(11)  murder in the first or second degree; 
(12)  rape in the first or second degree; 
(13)  robbery; 
(14)  robbery with a dangerous weapon; 
(15)  sexual offense in the first, second, or third degree; 
(16)  home invasion under § 6-202(b) of the Criminal Law Article; 
(17)  A felony offense under Title 3, Subtitle 11 of the Criminal Law Article. 
(18) an attempt to commit any of the crimes listed in items (1) through (17) of this 
subsection; or 
(19)  assault with intent to commit any of the crimes listed in items (1) through (17) of this 
subsection or a crime punishable by imprisonment for more than 1 year. 

NOTE:  This charge applies to an incarcerated person. 
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  CP 5-213.1(a)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

90 DAYS 

*1_1465* ** VIOL REL COND – PERS ELIG RELIEF** 
… did, after being charged with a crime against ________(name), a person 

eligible for relief (see note), violate a [pretrial release/posttrial 

release/pretrial/posttrial]  condition issued on case ______(case#) that 

prohibited [him/her] from [contacting/harassing/abusing/going in the 

residence of/going in the place of employment of/going near the residence 

of/going near the place of employment of] the alleged victim, _____(name) 

in violation of § 5-213.1 of the Criminal Procedure Article. 
NOTE: See below for definition of person eligible for relief. 

(1)  the current or former spouse of the respondent; 

(2)  a cohabitant of the respondent; 

(3)  a person related to the respondent by blood, marriage, or adoption; 

(4)  a parent, stepparent, child, or stepchild of the respondent or the person eligible 

for relief who resides or resided with the respondent or person eligible for relief for 

at least 90 days within 1 year before the filing of the petition; 

(5)  a vulnerable adult; 

(6)  an individual who has a child in common with the respondent; or 

(7)  an individual who has had a sexual relationship with the respondent within 1 

year before the filing of the petition. 

(8) an individual who alleges that the respondent committed, within 6 months 

before the filing of the petition, a rape or sexual offense under CR 3-303, 3-304, 3-

307, or 3-308; or an attempted rape of sexual offense in any degree. 

NOTE:  This charge applies to an incarcerated person. 

 

  CP 5-213.1(a)(4) 

MISDEMEANOR 

90 DAYS 

*1_1732* **VIOL REL COND - STALKING** 

… did after being charged with a violation of CR 3-802, violate a [pretrial 

release/posttrial release/pretrial/posttrial] condition issued on case ____(case#) 

that prohibited [him/her] from [contacting/harassing/abusing/going in the 

residence of/going in the place of employment of/going near the  residence 

of/going near  the place of employment of] the alleged victim,_____(name) 

in violation of CP 5-213.1. 
NOTE:  This charge applies to an incarcerated person. 

 

  CP 11-721 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1477* **FAIL REG OFFENDER/FALSE INFO** 

 ...did having been required to register under CP 11-704(a), knowingly 

________(choose from below). 

1. fail to register by deadline under CP 11-705 [(b)/(c)/(d)] 

2. fail to register under the terms of 11-707(a) as a [Tier I Sex 

Offender/Tier II Sex Offender/Tier III Sex Offender/Sexually 

Violent Predator] 

3. provide false information of a material fact as required by [CP 11-

705/CP 11-706] to wit: ______(describe false information) 

NOTE: Subsequent offense penalty of 5Y-$10,000 (CP 11-721(b)(2)). 
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  CP 11-721 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1134* **SEX OFF REG-FAIL NOTIFY/INCLD** 

 …did as a registrant, knowingly fail to provide ___(pick below) 

1. a notice required under CP 11-705 for ________(describe 

change/move). 

2. information required to be included in a registration 

statement described in CP 11-706 to wit: ___(describe). 

  CP 11-722 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1478* **REG - ENTER RESTRICTED REAL PROPERTY** 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

…did, being a registrant, knowingly enter onto real property [used for 

public, non-public elementary, or secondary education/on which is 

located a registered family child care home/on which is located a 

licensed child care home or institution] in violation of 11-722 of the 

Criminal Procedure Article. 

NOTE: See CP 11-722(e) for exceptions. 

  CP 11-722 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1479* **CONTRACT - REGISTRANT EMPLOYEE** 

 …did enter into a contract with ______, [a county board/a non-public 

school] while ______ (name of registrant), was employed to perform 

work for said [school/ county board], knowing [he/she] was a 

registrant. 

  CP 11-724(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000 - 5 YEARS 

SUB OFF$10,000 – 10YEARS 

*1_0713* ** VIOL LIFETIME SEX OFF SUP ** 

 …did [knowingly/willfully] violate a condition of the lifetime sexual 

offender supervision imposed under CP 11-723 to wit: ________. 

NOTE: Imprisonment for a lifetime sexual offender supervision 

violation is not subject to dimunition credits. 
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CRIMINAL LAW ARTICLE 

  CR 1-301 (a) 

FELONY 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

5 YEARS (Penalty not to 

exceed the maximum 

penalty provided by law for 

committing the crime.) 

*1_1480* **ACCESS AFTER THE FACT** 

 ...did unlawfully violate statute ___________________ (Article 

& Section), a felony, as an accessory after the fact. 

NOTE: Do not use this charge for accessory after the fact for 

murder 1st or murder 2nd.  

NOTE: The statute violated must be a felony.  

 

 

 

  CR 1-301(b)(1) 

FELONY 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

10 YEARS  

*1_0774* **ACCESS AFTER FACT-MURDER 1ST** 

 ...did unlawfully violate the Annotated Code of Maryland 

Criminal Law Article 1-301 as an accessory after the fact for a 

felony violation of Criminal Law Article 2-201, Murder in the 

First Degree, against the peace, government, and dignity of the 

State. 

 

  CR 1-301(b)(2) 

FELONY 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

10 YEARS  

*1_0776* **ACCESS AFTER FACT-MURDER 2ND** 

 ...did unlawfully violate the Annotated Code of Maryland 

Criminal Law Article 1-301 as an accessory after the fact for a 

felony violation of Criminal Law Article 2-204, Murder in the 

First Degree, against the peace, government, and dignity of the 

State. 
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MURDER 

Note: All first-degree murder should be charged under CR 2-201. The language used is 

authorized by CR 5-202. Felony-murder, as defined by CR 2-201 should be charged under 2-

201. Degrees of the crime were unknown to the common law. Accordingly, these sections do not 

create new offenses, but merely serve the purpose of classifying the acts which they respectively 

proscribe as species of murder in the first degree, and mitigate the punishment in cases of the 

second degree. As to felony-murder, the fact that the accused was committing a felony creates 

proof of malice and premeditation sufficient to sustain a conviction for first-degree murder for 

any killing consequent to the felony.  

There is no requirement that the State charge and convict upon the underlying felony in order to 

sustain a felony-murder conviction. 

CR 2-201 includes as first-degree murder any killing consequent to an arson or attempted arson 

of a dwelling or adjoining building .  

CR 2-201 includes as first-degree felony murder any killing consequent to the burning or 

attempted burning of any barn, tobacco house, stable, warehouse, or other outhouse not parcel of 

any dwelling.   

CR -2-201 includes as first-degree felony murder any killing consequent to the commission or 

attempted commission of any of the following crimes:  

arson in the first degree; burning an outbuilding as described in CR 2-204(a)(ii); 

rape in any degree;  

sexual offense in the first or second degree;  

sodomy;  

mayhem; 

robbery under CR 3-402 & 3-403; 

carjacking or armed carjacking; 

burglary in the first, second, or third degree; 

kidnapping as defined in CR 3-502 & CR 3-503(a)(2);  

Escape in the first degree or attempted escape in the first degree from a State Correctional 

Facility or Local Correctional Facility or Violation of CR 4-503 concerning destructive devices. 

All of these should be charged under CR 2-201. 
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  CR 2-201 

FELONY 

Life W/O Poss Parole 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

Less Inc. Off: 2nd Deg 

Murder ,Manslaughter, 

Assault 

 

*1_0990* 

*1M0990* 
**MURDER-FIRST DEGREE** (ADULT VICTIM)                      

**MURDER-FIRST DEGREE** (MINOR VICTIM) 

 ...did feloniously, willfully and of deliberately premeditated 

malice aforethought, kill and murder _______(name). 

Note: Use 1M0990 for a violation where victim was a minor. 

Note for charging Conspiracy or Solicitation: 

1. If the conspiracy or solicitation DID result in death, use 

the principal charge of 1_0990. 

2. If the conspiracy or solicitation DID NOT result in 

death, use 1C0990 (conspiracy) or 1S0990 (solicitation). 

 

  CR 2-204 

FELONY 

40 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

Less Inc. Off.: 

Manslaughter, Assault 

Sub Con , Enhanced Penalty 

*1_1107* 

*1M1107* 
**MURDER-SECOND DEGREE**  (ADULT VICTIM)                 

**MURDER-SECOND DEGREE**  (MINOR VICTIM)                                        

 ...did feloniously and with malice aforethought, kill and murder 

_____. 

Note: Use 1M1107 for a violation where victim was a minor. 
   

CR 2-205 

FELONY 

LIFE 

Sub con, Enhanced Penalty 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_0910* 

*2M0910* 
**ATT 1ST DEG. MURDER** (ADULT VICTIM)                                    

**ATT 1ST DEG. MURDER** (MINOR VICTIM) 

 ...did feloniously, willfully, and of deliberately premeditated 

malice aforethought, attempt to kill and murder _____(name) in 

the first degree in violation of CR 2-205. 

 Note: Use 2M0910 for a violation where victim was a minor. 
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41. 
  CR 2-206 

FELONY 

30 YEARS 

Sub Con, Enhanced Penalty 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_0920* 

*2M0920* 
**ATT 2ND DEG. MURDER** (ADULT VICTIM)                                     

**ATT 2ND DEG. MURDER** (MINOR VICTIM) 

 ...did feloniously and with malice aforethought, attempt to kill 

and murder _____ (name) in the second degree in violation of 

CR 2-206. 

Note: Use 2M0920 for a violation where victim was a minor. 
 

 

   CR 2-207(a) 

FELONY 

$500.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

Sub Con, Enhanced Penalty 

*1_0911* 

*1M0911* 
**INVOLUNTARY MANSLAUGHTER**(ADULT VICT) 

**INVOLUNTARY MANSLAUGHTER**(MINOR VICT) 

 …did feloniously, without malice aforethought, kill and slay 

____(name of victim), against the peace, government, and 

dignity of the State. 

NOTE: Use this charge for involuntary manslaughter. Involuntary manslaughter is generally defined 

under common law as a killing of another unintentionally and without malice (1) in doing something 

unlawful an act not amounting to a felony, or (2) in negligently doing some act lawful in itself, or (3) by 

the negligent omission to perform a legal duty. 

 

NOTE: Unintentional killing may be involuntary manslaughter if there was gross, or criminal, negligence 

with wanton or reckless disregard for life. 

 

NOTE: Involuntary manslaughter under this charge is not a crime of violence under CR 14-101. 

 

NOTE: This section may not be used when the killing resulted unintentionally from the negligent 

operation of a motor vehicle or boat. 

 

NOTE: Involuntary manslaughter is a common law offense, but penalties are provided in CR 2-207. a 

person convicted of manslaughter is subject to: 

   (1) imprisonment not exceeding 10 years; or 

   (2) imprisonment in a local correctional facility not exceeding 2 years or a fine not exceeding $500 or 

both. 

 

NOTE: Use 1M0911 for a violation where victim was a minor. 
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   CR 2-207(a) 

FELONY 

$500.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

SUB. CONVICTION, 

ENHANCED PENALTY 

*1_0910* 

*1M0910* 
**MANSLAUGHTER** (ADULT VICTIM)                  

**MANSLAUGHTER** (MINOR VICTIM) 

 ...did, feloniously, without malice aforethought, kill and slay 

______. 

NOTE: DO NOT use this charge if killing is covered under" involuntary manslaughter" (CJIS Code 

10911) or resulted unintentionally from the negligent operation of a motor vehicle or boat. However, if 

the allegation is that the death occurred because of the intentional operation of a motor vehicle or boat so 

as to cause injury or impact, such as running over the victim with an automobile, use this charge. 

NOTE: Involuntary manslaughter is generally defined under common law as a killing of another 

unintentionally and without malice (1) in doing something unlawful an act not amounting to a felony, or 

(2)in negligently doing some act lawful in itself, or (3) by the negligent omission to perform a legal duty. 

Also, unintentional killing may be involuntary manslaughter if there was gross, or criminal, negligence 

with wanton or reckless disregard for life. Again, do not use this charge for involuntary manslaughter. See 

CJIS Code 10911. 

NOTE: Spousal adultery is not a mitigating factor and does not constitute legally adequate provocation 

under CR 2-207(b). 

NOTE: Manslaughter is a common law offense, but penalties are provided in CR 2-207. A person 

convicted of manslaughter is subject to: 

   (1) imprisonment not exceeding 10 years; or 

   (2) imprisonment in a local correctional facility not exceeding 2 years or a fine not exceeding $500 or 

both. 

NOTE: Use 1M0910 for a violation where victim was a minor 

 

  CR 2-209 

FELONY/DISTRICT 

COURT 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0909* 

*1M0909* 
**NEG MANSL-AUTO/BOAT, ETC.**(ADULT VICTIM)                      

**NEG MANSL-AUTO/BOAT, ETC.**(MINOR VICTIM) 

 ...did, unlawfully, in a grossly negligent manner, kill and slay 

_____(victim) against the peace, government, and dignity of the 

State. 

NOTE: This section is to be used only when the death results 

unintentionally from the operation of a motor vehicle, boat, or other 

vehicle. If the defendant intended to operate his/her vehicle so as to 

cause impact, see CR 2-207. If the defendant was impaired or under 

the influence of alcohol or drugs, see CR 2-503. 

NOTE: See CR 2-209(d)(2) for subsequent offender penalties. 

NOTE: Use 1M0909 for a violation where victim was a minor. 
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  CR 2-210 (b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000 – 3 YEARS  

*1_1611* 

*1M1611*  
** CRIM NEG MANSLAUGH VEH/VES**(ADULT VIC)        

** CRIM NEG MANSLAUGH VEH/VES**(MINOR VIC)             

 ...did cause the death of ______(name), as the result of 

[driving/operating/controlling] a [vehicle/vessel] in a criminally 

negligent manner. 

Note: See CR 2-210 (c) for definition of “criminally negligent 

manner”. 

Note: It is not a violation under this charge to cause the death of 

another as the result of a person driving, operating, or 

controlling a vehicle or vessel in a negligent manner. 

NOTE: See CR 2-210(f)(2) for subsequent offender penalties. 

NOTE: Use 1M1611 for a violation where victim was a minor. 

 

  CR 2-503 

FELONY/DISTRICT 

COURT 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0900* **NEG AUTO/BOAT HMCD-UNDER INFLU** 

 ...unlawfully, as a result of [his/her] negligent driving, 

operation, and control of a [motor vehicle/vessel] while under 

the influence, did kill _____ (name of victim), against the 

peace, government, and dignity of the state. 

NOTE: See CR 2-503(c)(2) for subsequent offender penalties. 

  

  CR 2-504 

FELONY/DISTRICT 

COURT 

$5,000.00 -3 YEARS 

*1_0693* **HOMICIDE-MV/VESSEL-IMPAIR ALC** 

 ...unlawfully, as a result of [his/her] negligent driving, 

operation, and control of a [motor vehicle/vessel] while 

impaired, did kill ______ (name of victim], against the peace, 

government, and dignity of the state. 

NOTE: See CR 2-504(c)(2) for subsequent offender penalties. 
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 CR 2-505 

FELONY                                                              

DISTRICT COURT 

$5,000.00 -5 YEARS 

*1_1720* **HOMICIDE-MV/VESSEL-DRUGS** 

 ...unlawfully, as a result of [his/her] negligent [driving/ 

operation/control] of a [motor vehicle/vessel] while impaired 

[by a drug/by a combination of drugs/by a combination of one 

or more drugs and alcohol], did kill ______(name of victim), 

against the peace, government, and dignity of the state. 

NOTE: See CR 2-505(c)(2) for subsequent offender penalties. 

 

  CR 2-506 

FELONY/DISTRICT 

COURT 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1436* **HOMICIDE-MV/VESSEL-CDS** 

 ...unlawfully, as a result of [his/her] negligent [driving/ 

operation/control] of a [motor vehicle/vessel] while impaired by 

a controlled dangerous substance, did kill ______ (name of 

victim), against the peace, government, and dignity of the state. 

NOTE: If a breathalyzer, blood chemical, or urine test has been 

done so as to yield a blood/alcohol content, the definitions of 

Under Influence and Impaired are exactly the same as to TR 

Sec. 21-902. If no test was done because a defendant refused or 

the time limit passed, charge Auto/Boat MANSLAUGHTER-

UNDER INFLUENCE, as the IMPAIRED version is a lesser 

included offense. Facts in the statement of probable cause must 

show observations supporting the fact that the defendant was 

under the influence. 

NOTE: See CR 2-506(c)(2) for subsequent offender penalties. 
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45. 
ASSISTED SUICIDE 

NOTE:  The statute provides exceptions for health care providers and family members under 

certain circumstances.  Therefore, it is recommended that the statute be consulted before 

charging in a particular case. 

  

  CR 3-102(1) 

(PENALTY SEC. 3-104) 

FELONY                                                                 

$10,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0175* **ASSISTED SUICIDE: COERCION** 

 ...did, with purpose of assisting _______________(name) to 

[commit/attempt to commit] suicide, knowingly cause, by 

[coercion/duress/deception], ___________ (name) to 

[commit/attempt to commit] suicide. 

  

  CR 3-102(2) 

(PENALTY SEC. 3-104)                                             

FELONY                                                                                 

$10,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0180* **ASST. SUICIDE: PROVIDE MEANS** 

 ...did, with the purpose of assisting _______________(name) to 

[commit/attempt to commit] suicide, knowingly provided the 

physical means to _______________ (name) to 

[commit/attempt to commit] suicide with knowledge of 

____________(name) intent to use said physical means to 

commit suicide. 
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  CR 3-102(3) 

FELONY 

$10,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0185* **ASST. SUICIDE: PARTICIPATION** 

 ...did, with the purpose of assisting _______________(name) to 

[commit/attempt to commit] suicide, knowingly participate in a 

physical act by which __________(name) 

[committed/attempted to commit] suicide. 

 

  CR 3-202 

FELONY 

25 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_1420* **ASSAULT-FIRST DEGREE 

 ...did assault ______ (name) in the first degree in violation of 

CR 3-202, contrary to the form of the act of the assembly in 

such case made and provided and against the peace, 

government and dignity of the state. 

NOTE:  A person committing an assault with a firearm is covered 

under this charge. 

NOTE:  A person intentionally strangling another is covered under 

this charge. (‘Strangulation’ is defined under CR3-202(a))  

 NOTE: A person causing or attempting to cause serious physical 

injury is covered under this charge; (‘Serious physical injury’ is 

defined under CR 3-201(c).) 

NOTE: If the ‘dangerous or deadly weapon’ is perceived to be a 

firearm (as defined), it is Assault First Degree unless the statement 

of probable cause indicates that it was determined to not be an 

actual firearm but instead a toy gun, BB gun, finger in the pocket, 

etc.  If the perceived firearm is identified as not actually being a 

firearm, there is no PC for Assault First Degree - Firearm.   

 

  CR 3-203 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1415* **ASSAULT-SEC DEGREE** 

 ...did assault_______ (name) in the second degree in violation 

of CR 3-203, contrary to the form of the act of the assembly in 

such case made and provided and against the peace, 

government, and dignity of the state. 
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  CR 3-203(c)(2) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1416* **ASSAULT SEC DEG –LE OFFICER, 

PAROLE/PROBATION AGENT, FIRE/EMS** 

 …did intentionally cause physical injury to _____ (name), a 

__________(choose from below), in violation of CR 3-203. 

1. law enforcement officer engaged in the performance of 

[his/her] official duties 

2. [parole agent/probation agent] engaged in the 

performance of [his/her] official duties 

3. [firefighter/emergency medical technician/rescue squad 

member/first responder] engaged in providing 

[emergency medical care/rescue services]  

NOTE:  Law Enforcement Officer includes a correctional 

officer at a correctional facility, and an officer employed by 

WMATA - Metro-transit police, subject to jurisdictional 

limitations.  See CR 3-201 for further information regarding 

eligible parties. 

NOTE: Physical injury is defined as any impairment of physical 

condition, excluding minor injuries. 

NOTE: See CR 3-210 for sentencing information for inmates 

under this section. 

 

 

  CR 3-204(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1425* **RECKLESS ENDANGERMENT** 

 ...did recklessly engage in conduct, to wit: _____, that created a 

substantial risk of death or serious physical injury to ______ 

(name). 

NOTE:  Effective 10/1/97 law enforcement officers and 

security guards are no longer excluded from the provisions of 

section CR 204(a)(1). 
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  CR 3-204(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1430* **RECK ENDANGERMENT FROM CAR** 

 ...did recklessly discharge a firearm from a motor vehicle in 

such a manner as to create a risk of death or serious physical 

injury to ______ (name). 

NOTE: Use of CR 3-204(a)(1) should be made for each 

separate victim in any criminal incident. Every person 

recklessly endangered by the defendant's conduct should be 

named as the victim in a separate charge. 

NOTE: Neither charge under CR 3-204 applies to the use of a 

motor vehicle as defined in TR Sec 11-135. The second charge 

applies only to discharge of firearm from a motor vehicle. 

 

 

  

  CR 3-205 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_0222 **INMATE CAUSE CONT W/BODY FLUID** 

 …did while an inmate maliciously [cause/attempt to cause] an 

employee of  [a state corectional facility/local correctional 

facility/sheriff's office] to come in contact with [seminal 

fluid/urine/feces/blood]. 

NOTE:  The employee may be employed in any capacity of 

said agency.  For blood substance to qualify, it must be blood 

that is NOT the result of a physical injury resulting from 

physical body contact between the employee and inmate. 
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ASSAULT BY INMATES 

 On Division of Correction Employee, etc. 

  CR 3-210 

FELONY 

25 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_1435* **ASSLT 1ST/DOC EMPLOYEE ETC.** 

 ...did assault in the first degree, _________, an 

[inmate/employee] of the [Division of Correction/Patuxent 

Institution/Baltimore City Detention Center/________ County 

Jail/ __________ County Detention Center]. 

 

 

  

  CR 3-210 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1440* **ASSLT 2ND/DOC EMPLOYEE ETC.** 

 ...did assault in the second degree, _________ (name), an 

[inmate/employee] of the [Division of Correction/Patuxtent 

Institution/ Baltimore City Detention Center/________ County 

Jail/ __________ County Detention Center]. 

NOTE: The sentence for the crime of assault by an inmate in  

the first or second degree  may not be suspended. A sentence 

imposed under this section must be served consecutively to any 

sentence  being served at the time of the assault, or had been 

imposed but was not yet being served at the time of sentencing. 
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 Life Threatening Injury by Motor Veh/Boat while 

Under Influence 

  CR 3-211(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0765* **LIFE THRT INJ/VEH-BOAT/UNDER INFLU** 

 ...unlawfully, as a result of [his/her] negligent [driving/ 

operation/control] of a [motor vehicle/vessel] while under the 

influence, did cause life threatening injury to  ______ (name of 

victim), against the peace, government, and dignity of the state. 

NOTE: See CR 3-211(c)(3)(ii) for subsequent offender penalties. 

 

 

 

 

 Life Threatening Injury by Motor Veh/Boat While 

Impaired 

  CR 3-211(d) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$3,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0770* **LIFE THRT INJ/VEH-BOAT/IMPAIRED** 

 ...unlawfully, as a result of [his/her] negligent [driving/ 

operation/control] of a [motor vehicle/vessel] while impaired by 

alcohol, did cause life threatening injury to______ (name of 

victim), against the peace, government, and dignity of the state. 

NOTE: See CR 3-211(d)(3)(ii) for subsequent offender penalties. 
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  CR 3-211(e) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$3,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0775* **LIFE THRT INJ/VEH-BOAT/DRUGS** 

 ...unlawfully, as a result of [his/her] negligent [driving/ 

operation/control] of a [motor vehicle/vessel] while impaired by 

drugs, did cause a life threatening injury to ______ (name of 

victim), against the peace, government, and dignity of the state. 

NOTE: See CR 3-211(e)(3)(ii) for subsequent offender penalties. 

 

 

  CR 3-211(f) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1640* **LIFE THRT INJ/VEH-BOAT/CDS** 

 ...unlawfully, as a result of [his/her] negligent 

[driving/operation/control] of a [motor vehicle/vessel] while 

impaired by a controlled dangerous substance, did cause a life 

threatening injury to ________ (name of victim) against the 

peace, government, and dignity of the state. 

NOTE: See CR 3-211(f)(4)(ii) for subsequent offender penalties. 

 

 

 

 CR 3-212.1 (b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000 – 1 YEAR 

 

*1_1094* 
**CAUSE LIFE THRT INJRY-DRIV/OPER ** 

 ...did cause a life threatening injury to _____(name) as a result 

of [driving/operating/controlling] a [motor vehicle/vessel] in a 

criminally negligent manner. 

Note: See section for definitions of “Vessel” and “Criminally 

Negligent”. 

 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

52. 
POISON 

  

  CR 3-213 

FELONY 

10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0999* **POISON: ATTEMPT** 

 ...did attempt to poison ______ (name). 

NOTE: If the victim ingested some of the poison, the officer 

should be directed to consult the State's Attorney. 

 

 

  CR 3-214(a) 

FELONY 

20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*3_0999* **CONTAMINATE/POISON WATER** 

 …did knowingly and wilfully [contaminate/attempt to 

contaminate/conspire with ____(name) to contaminate] the 

waters of a [well/spring/brook/lake/pond/stream/river/reservoir/ 

source of water supply] [used/usable] for drinking or domestic 

purposes by means of  _______[disease 

germs/bacteria/poision/poisonous matter]. 

 

 

  

  CR 3-215 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_0321* **CAUSE INGEST BODILY FLUID** 

 …did knowlingly and willfully cause another to ingest [seminal 

fluid/blood/urine/feces] [without consent/by force or threat of 

force]. 
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SEXUAL OFFENSES 

NOTE: Spouse against spouse offense under this subheading. 

Where a person is alleged to have committed any offense under this subheading against that 

person's legal spouse, the following rules determine which charges, if any, may be filed. 

(1.) If the elements for CR 3-305 (First Degree Sexual Offense)(Prior to its repeal on 9-30-2017) 

or CR 3-306 (Second Degree Sexual Offense)(Prior to its repeal on 9-30-2017) are present, then 

no restrictions exist to the filing of such charges. 

(2.) If the elements for CR 3-303 (First Degree Rape), CR 3-304 (Second Degree Rape), CR 3-

307 (Third Degree Sexual Offense) or CR 3-308 (Fourth Degree Sexual Offense) are present, 

then any of such charges may be filed if the person and the person's spouse have lived separate 

and apart without cohabitation and without interruption pursuant to a decree of limited divorce. 

(3.) If the elements for CR 3-303 (a), CR 3-304 (a)(1) (Second Degree Rape with use of force), 

CR 3-307(a) are present, then any of such charges may be filed 

RAPE, GENERALLY 

NOTE: All rape is to be charged as second degree rape [CR 3-304] unless raised to the status of 

a first degree rape by the presence of one or more of the following aggravating factors:  

1. Employment or display of a dangerous or deadly weapon or an item that the victim reasonably 

believes to be such a weapon; 

2. The defendant inflicts suffocation, strangulation, disfigurement, or serious physical injury 

upon the victim or another person in the course of committing the offense; 

3. The defendant threatens or places the victim in fear that the victim or any person known to the 

victim will be imminently subjected to death, suffocation, strangulation, disfigurement, serious 

physical injury, or kidnapping; 

4. The defendant is aided and abetted by one or more co-defendants; 

5. The defendant commits the offense in connection with a burglary in the first, second, or third 

degree. 

ENHANCED PENALTIES – FIRST DEGREE RAPE 

1. If the defendant violated CR 3-303(a) while also violating CR 3-503(a)(2) - Child Kidnapping 

involving a victim who is a child under the age of 16, the maximum penalty is life without the 

possibility of parole. 

2. If the defendant  previously convicted of CR 3-305, and then convicted of CR 3-303(a) or (b), 

the maximum penalty is life without the possibibility of parole. 

3. If the defendant is 18 years of age or older and violates CR 3-303(a) involving a victim who is 

a child under the age of 13, the penalty is no less than 25 years imprisonment and not to exceed 

life without the possibility of parole.  The court may not suspend any part of the mandatory 

minimum sentence of 25 years (Subject to State compliance under CR 3-303(e)). 

 

Continued on page 54 
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SECOND DEGREE RAPE 

Second degree rape may be committed without force or threat of force and with the consent of 

the victim if:  

1. The victim is substantially cognitively impaired, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless 

and the defendant knew or reasonably should have known of the victim's condition; or 

2. The victim is under 14 years of age and the defendant is at least four years older than the 

victim. 

ENHANCED PENALTIES – SECOND DEGREE RAPE 

1. If the defendant is 18 years of age or older and violates CR 3-304(a)(1) or (2) involving a child 

under the age of 13, the penalty is no less than 5 years imprisonment and not to exceed 20 years.  

The court may not suspend any part of the mandatory minimum sentence of 5 years (Subject to 

State compliance under CR 3-304(d). 

NOTE: As to both degrees of rape, any degree of penetration, no matter how slight, is sufficient 

to establish the element of vaginal intercourse.  As of October 1, 2017, a sexual act is included in 

both degrees of rape. 

 

LIFETIME SEXUAL OFFENDER SUPERVISION 

Certain defendants under certain circumstances may face a term of lifetime sexual offender 

supervision as provided under CP 11-723.
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 First Degree Rape 

  CR 3-303 

FELONY 

LIFE IMPRISONMENT, 

SUB. CONVICTION, 

ENHANCED PENALTY 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

638B 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_1102* **RAPE FIRST DEGREE** 

...did unlawfully commit a rape in the first degree upon _____ 

(name), in violation of CR 3-303 of the Annotated Code of 

Maryland. 

NOTE: In addition to vaginal intercourse, as of 10-1-2017, a 

sexual act with another by force, or threat of force, without the 

consent of other is covered under rape.  

NOTE: See CR 3-310 for Attempted 2nd Degree Rape. 

NOTE: ENHANCED PENALTY for First and Second Degree 

Rape and First and Second Degree Sexual Offenses under this 

subheading IF THE VICTIM IS UNDER 16 YEARS OF AGE 

or IF THE DEFENDANT IS 18 YEARS OLDER AND THE 

VICTIM IS A CHILD UNDER THE AGE OF 13.* 

NOTE:  Enhanced Penalty CR 3-303(d)(4) if the defendant is 

18 years of age or older and the victim is a child under the age 

of 13.* 

*Upon conviction, subject to the State filing notice of intent 

under CR 3-303(e), the defendant is subject to imprisonment 

for not less than 25 years and not exceeding life without the 

possibility of parole.  The court may not suspend any part of the 

mandatory minimum sentence of 25 years. 

If, under this subheading, the defendant is charged with any of 

the following 

1. Rape First Degree CR 3-303 

2. Rape Second Degree CR 3-304 

 

   (Note for charge 1-1102 continued on page 56)                                                  
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3. First Degree Sex Offense CR 3-305 (As it existed before its 

repeal on 9-30-17. 

4. Second Degree Sex Offense CR 3-306 (As it existed before 

its repeal on 9-30-17). 

AND if:  

1) the victim of the above crime is under the age of 16 years, 

AND if:  

2) the defendant is also charged IN THE SAME 

PROCEEDING with a violation of CR 3-503, Kidnap-Child 

Under 16; the defendant MAY be eligible for the enhanced 

penalty of a life sentence without the possibility of parole. 

The enhanced penalty cannot apply until the State's Attorney 

serves a notice of intent to seek it, which must be done at least 

30 days prior to trial. Therefore, Commissioners are not 

normally presented with this situation at the initial appearance. 

Life without possibility of parole if victim was child under the 

age of 16 or defendant was previously convicted of violation, 

this article with the victim being under the age of 16 or Section 

3-305 of this article (as it existed before its repeal on 9-30-

2017) or  

In addition to the above:  If the defendant is 18 years old or 

older and the victim is a child under the age of 13, the State 

may file intent to seet imposition of mandatory minimum term 

of imprisonment.  A court may no suspend any part of the 

mandatory minimum sentence. 

However, Commissioners should be aware that if the Statement 

of Probable Cause indicates that all of the conditions listed 

above are present, the defendant may face the enhanced penalty 

later in the proceedings. Where appropriate, Commissioners 

may consider this factor in their determination of pre-trial 

release. 

IN THE EVENT that the initial appearance is conducted upon a 

District or Circuit Court Warrant to which a copy of the Notice 

to Defendant of the State's Election to seek a Life Sentence 

Without the Possibility of Parole is attached, or to which other 

indication is attached that shows the State's Attorney has 

decided to seek the enhanced penalty, the Commissioner should 

place the Defendant on NO BAIL pending the bail review, and 

retain a copy of the notice or letter in the Court folder. 

Refer to Part I. 
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 Second Degree Rape 

  CR 3-304 

FELONY 

20 YEARS 

ENHANCED PENALTY 

(IF VICTIM <13, 15 - Life) 

SUB. CONVICTION, 

ENHANCED PENALTY 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_1103* **RAPE SECOND DEGREE** 

 ...did unlawfully commit a rape in the second degree upon 

_____ (name), in violation of CR 3-304 of the Annotated Code 

of Maryland. 

NOTE: In addition to vaginal intercourse, as of 10-1-2017, a 

sexual act with another by force, or threat of force, without the 

consent of other is covered under rape.  

NOTE: See CR 3-313 for subsequent offense penalties. 

NOTE:  If the defendant is 18 years of age or older and the 

victim is a child under the age of 13, enhanced penalties may 

apply.* 

*A defendant who is found guilty of violating CR 3-304(b) is 

subject to imprisonment for not less than 15 years and not 

exceeding life imprisonment.  The court may not suspend any 

part of the mandatory minimum sentence of 15 years. *(Subject 

to State compliance under CR 3-304(d).) 
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 Sexual Offense Third Degree 

  CR 3-307 

FELONY 

10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*3_3600* **SEX OFFENSE THIRD DEGREE** 

 ...did unlawfully commit a sexual offense in the third degree 

upon ____(name) in violation of CR 3-307 of the Annotated 

Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: Probable Cause is established if the defendant engaged 

in sexual CONTACT with another person:  

1. Without the consent of the other person and included one or 

more of the following aggravating factors:  

  a. Defendant employed or displayed a dangerous or deadly 

weapon or an object the victim reasonably believed to be such a 

weapon; or 

  b. Defendant inflicted suffocation, strangulation, 

disfigurement or serious injury upon the victim or another 

person in the course of committing the crime; or 

  c. Defendant threatened or placed the victim in fear that the 

victim or another person known to the victim would be 

immediately subjected to suffocation, strangulation, 

disfigurement, serious physical injury,or kidnapping; or 

  d. Defendant had one or more co-defendants; 

2. Defendant engaged in sexual contact with a victim who is 

substanitally cognitively impaired, mentally incapacitated, or 

physically helpless and the defendant knew or should 

reasonably have known of the victim's condition. 

3. Defendant engaged in a sexual contact with a victim was 

under 14 years of age and the defendant was 4 or more years 

older. 

4. Defendant engaged in sexual ACT or vaginal intercourse 

with another person who was 14 or 15 years of age and the 

defendant is at least 21 years of age. 
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  CR 3-308 (b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

SUB OFFENSE 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*4_3600* ** SEX OFF 4TH DEGREE – SEX CONTACT ** 

 … did engage in sexual contact with ______(name) without 

[his/her] consent. 
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  CR 3-308 (b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

SUB OFFENSE 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1623* ** SEX OFF 4TH DEGREE – SEX ACT 14/15YO** 

 … did engage in a sexual act with ______(name), a person 

[14/15] years old, being 4 years older than said victim. 

NOTE: Do not charge if defendant is 21 years of age or older.  

See Sex Offense Third Degree. 

NOTE: See CR 3-308(d)(2) for subsequent offense penalty.   
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  CR 3-308 (b)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

SUB OFFENSE 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1624* ** SEX OFF 4TH DEGREE – VAG INT 14/15YO** 

 … did engage in vaginal intercourse with ______(name), a 

person [14/15] years old, being 4 years older than said victim. 

NOTE: Do not charge if defendant is 21 years of age or older.  

See Sex Offense Third Degree. 

NOTE: See CR 3-308(d)(2) for subsequent offense penalty.   
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  CR 3-308 (c)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

SUB OFFENSE 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1625* ** SEX OFF 4TH –SEX ACT PERS POS AUTH** 

 … did as a person in a position of authority, engage in [a sexual 

act /sexual contact] with ____(name), a minor, who at the time 

of the [sexual act/sexual contact] ____(choose from below) 

 

1.was a student enrolled at the school where said person of 

authority worked. 

2.was participating in a program for which said person of 

authority worked. 

3. was at least 6 years younger than said person in a position of 

authority. 

 

Note: See CR 3-308(a) for definition of “Person in a position of 

authority” and “Program”. A “person in a position of authority” 

may be a volunteer under CR 3-308( 

 

Note:  See CR 3-307(a)(4) and CR 3-308(b)(2) for exceptions. 

NOTE: See CR 3-308(d)(2) for subsequent offense penalty.   
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  CR 3-308 (c)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

SUB OFFENSE 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1626* ** SEX OFF 4TH –VAG INT PERS POS AUTH** 

 … did as a person in a position of authority, engage in vaginal 

intercourse with ____(name), a minor, who at the time of the 

vaginal intercourse, ____(choose from below) 

1.was a student enrolled at the school where said person of 

authority worked. 

2.was participating in a program for which said person of 

authority worked. 

3. was at least 6 years younger than said person in a position of 

authority. 

 

Note:  See CR 3-308(a) for definition of “Person in a position 

of authority” and “Program”. A “person in a position of 

authority” may be a volunteer under CR 3-308( 

Note:  See CR 3-307(a)(5) and CR 3-308(b)(3) for exceptions. 

NOTE: See CR 3-308(d)(2) for subsequent offense penalty.   
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  CR 3-309 

FELONY 

LIFE 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_1120* **ATT 1ST DEG RAPE** 

 ...did unlawfully attempt to commit a rape in the first degree 

upon _____ (name), in violation of CR 3-309 of the Annotated 

Code of Maryland. 
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  CR 3-310 

FELONY 

20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_1110* **ATT 2ND DEG RAPE** 

 ...did unlawfully attempt to commit a rape in the second degree 

upon _____ (name), in violation of CR 3-310 of the Annotated 

Code of Maryland. 

 

 Sexual Offenses by Correctional Employee 

  CR 3-314(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$3,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1130* **CORRECTIONAL-INMATE/SEX OFFENSE** 

 …did engage in [sexual contact/vaginal intercourse/a sexual 

act] with an inmate. 

  CR 3-314(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$3,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1132* **SEX OFF-JUVENILE DETAINEE** 

 … did engage in [sexual contact/vaginal intercourse/a sexual 

act] with _________ (name), an individual confined in 

____________ (name facility). 

NOTE: The facilities listed under HS 9-226 include:  

1)  The Alfred D. Noyes Children's Center  

2)  The Baltimore City Juvenile Justice Center 

3)  The Charles H. Hickey, Jr. School 

4)  The Cheltenham Youth Facility 

5)  The Lower Eastern Shore Children's Center 

6)  The Thomas J. S. Waxter Children's Center 

7)  The Victor Cullen Center  

8)  The Western Maryland Children's Center  

9) The Youth Centers 
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  CR 3-314(d) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$3,000 – 3 YEARS 

*1_1149* **COURT ORDER PRVDR-ENGAGE SEX ** 

 … did as a court-ordered services provider, engage in [sexual 

contact/vaginal intercourse/sexual act] with _______(name), an 

individual ordered to obtain services while the order was in 

effect. 

 

NOTE: “Court –ordered services provider” means a person who 

provides services to an individual who has been ordered by the 

Court, the Division of Parole and Probation, or the Department 

of Juvenile Services to obtain those services. 

 

  CR 3-314(e) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$3,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1462* **LE OFF-SEX ACT W/PERS IN CUST** 

 … did as a law enforcement officer, engage in [sexual contact/vaginal 

intercourse/a sexual act] with ____ (choose from below) 

1. _____(name), a [victim/witness/suspect] in an open 

investigation the defendant was 

[conducting/supervising/assisting with], and 

[knew/should have known] that said person was a 

[victim/witness/suspect] in the investigation. 

2. _____(name), a person [requesting assistance 

from/responding to]  the defendant in the course of 

[his/her] official law enforcement duties. 

3. ____(name), a person in the custody of the defendant. 

NOTE: See CR 3-314(e)(2) for exceptions. 

NOTE: Charges against law enforcement officers in course of official 

duties must be forwarded to the applicable State’s Attorney for an 

investigation and recommendation of charges under CJ 2-608 before 

charging. 
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  CR 3-315 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

FELONY 

30 YEARS 

*2_1136* **SEX ABUSE MINOR-CONTINUING COURSE OF 

CONDUCT** 

 ...did engage in a continuing course of conduct over a period of 

90 days or more with a victim under the age of 14 years, to wit: 

______(name), which includes three or more acts in violation 

of Section 3-303, 3-304, 3-307, or violations of 3-305 or 3-306 

of the Criminal Law Article as it existed before 10-1-2017. 

NOTE: Separate periods of 90 days or more shall be considered 

separate violations. 

NOTE: Merger of Offenses: A person may not be charged with 

a violation of  Section 3-303, 3-304, 3-307 of the Criminal Law 

Article involving the same victim, whether in the same 

proceeding as a violation of this section or not, unless the other 

violation charged occurred outside the time period charged 

under this section. 

   

  

  CR 3-323 

FELONY 

10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_3604* **INCEST** 

 … did knowingly engage in vaginal intercourse with _____, a 

person whom the defendant may not marry under FL 2-202. 

NOTE: "Carnal Knowledge" means sexual intercourse. The 

relationship between which such activity is prohibited are the 

same as those within which marriage is prohibited. See list of 

such relationships under prohibited marriages under FL 2-202. 
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  CR 3-324 

FELONY 

$25,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1604* **SEXUAL SOLICITION OF A MINOR** 

 …[did/did intend to] knowingly solicit  [a minor/a law 

enforcement officer posing as a minor/consent of a parent of a 

minor/consent of a guardian of a minor/consent of a custodian 

of a minor] to engage in activities that would be unlawful under 

Criminal Law Article [3-304/3-307/11-303/11-304/11-305/11-

306/11-307]. 

NOTE:  A violation is considered committed in this State if it 

originated or is received in this State. 

NOTE:  See article for definition of solicit. 

NOTE: In a prosecution under this charge, the state need only 

prove that a reasonable person based on the totality of the 

circumstances should have known that the minor had not 

attained the age of 18 years. 

NOTE: A second or subsequent offense carries $50,000 – 20 

years. 

 

 

 

 

  CR 3-325 

FELONY 

$25,000- 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_1340* **USE PERS ID INFO SEX CRIME** 

 … did use the [personal identifying information/identity] of 

_____(name), without said person’s consent to 

[invite/encourage/solicit] another to commit a sexual crime 

against ________(name). 

NOTE: See CR 8-301 for definition of “personal identifying 

information”.  See CR 3-325 for definition of “sexual 

crime”. 

NOTE: A prosecution under this charge may be 

commenced in a county in which an element of the crime 

occurred; or the victim resides. 
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ROBBERY 

GENERAL NOTE: To rob is to take something away from a person by force or violence (no 

matter how slight) or by threat of force or violence. The victim must be a person, not a business, 

corporation, institute, or governmental entity, but need not be the owner of the property. The 

victim is the person from whom the property was taken, and there should be a separate charge for 

each victim. 

  CR 3-402 

FELONY 

15 YEARS 

SUB. CONVICTION, 

ENHANCED PENALTY 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_0700* **ROBBERY** 

 ...did unlawfully and feloniously [rob/attempt to rob] [ ______ 

(victim) of ______ (item taken). 

 

  CR 3-403 

FELONY 

20 YEARS 

SUB. CONVICTION, 

ENHANCED PENALTY 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_0705* **ARMED ROBBERY** 

 ...did unlawfully and feloniously, [ with a dangerous weapon/by 

displaying a written instrument claiming that the person had a 

dangerous weapon], [rob/attempt to rob] ______ (victim) and 

violently did [steal/attempt to steal] from said person 

_________ (item(s)). 

NOTE:  The implement for dangerous weapon must be:  

1. ‘anything used or designed to be used in destroying, 

defeating, or injuring an enemy, or as an instrument of 

offensive or defensive combat’; or  

2. under the circumstances of the case, immediately useable to 

inflict serious or deadly harm  (e.g., unloaded gun or starter's 

pistol useable as a bludgeon); or   

3. actually used in a way likely to inflict that sort of harm 

(e.g., microphone cord used as a garrote, beaten with coffee 

mug).  

NOTE: If the implement is perceived to be a "dangerous or deadly 

weapon" it is armed robbery unless the statement of probable cause 

indicates that it was not a dangerous or deadly weapon based on a 

“reasonable person’s” view that the implement would be able to 

cause #1, 2 or 3 above.   
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CARJACKING 

 Carjacking 

  CR 3-405(b)(1) 

FELONY 

30 YEARS 

SUB. CONVICTION, 

ENHANCED PENALTY 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0825* **CARJACKING** 

 ...did obtain unauthorized [possession/control] of a motor 

vehicle, to wit: _____ (describe), from _____ (name of victim) 

who was then and there in actual possession of the motor 

vehicle, by [force/violence/placing said individual in fear 

through intimidation/threat of force/threat of violence]. 

 

 

  

  CR 3-405(c)(1) 

FELONY 

30 YEARS 

SUB. CONVICTION, 

ENHANCED PENALTY 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0826* **ARMED CARJACKING** 

 ...did obtain unauthorized [possession/control] of a motor 

vehicle, to wit: _____ (describe) from _____ (name of victim) 

who was then and there in actual possession of the motor 

vehicle by [force/violence/placing said individual in fear 

through intimidation/threat of force/threat of violence] and 

[employ/display] a dangerous weapon during the commission 

of the carjacking. 
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KIDNAPPING 

 Generally 

  CR 3-502 

FELONY 

30 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

SEE NOTE ENHANCED 

PENALTY 

SUB. CONVICTION 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*3_1005* **KIDNAPPING** 

 …did [forcibly/fraudulently] [carry/cause to be carried] a 

certain person, to wit: _____, with the intent to have the said 

person [carried/concealed] [within/out of] this State. 

NOTE: CR 3-502 makes no distinction between minor and 

adult victims UNLESS the victim was a minor and the 

defendant was the victim's parent. If both of those are true, the 

defendant may not be charged under this section.  

NOTE: If the victim is under 16, see Abduction CR 3-503. 

NOTE: Maryland has jurisdiction over this crime if any portion 

of the kidnap, carrying, or concealment occurred within the 

State. As to the word choice offered in the above language, if 

the final destination or intended destination of the kidnapped 

victim is known to be out of State, use the words "out of", 

otherwise use the word "within." 

NOTE: This section applies to every person having anything to 

do with the kidnap including aiders, abettors and counsellors, 

all of whom are charged as principals. 

NOTE:  See Parental Exception under CR 3-502 (c). 
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  CR 3-503(a) 

FELONY 

30 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

SUB. CONVICTION, 

ENHANCED PENALTY 

*4_1005* **KIDNAP-CHILD UNDER 16** 

...did [forcibly/fraudulently] steal, take, and carry away _____ 

(name of victim), a child under the age of 16. 

NOTE: A parent of the victim may not be charged under this 

section. See CR 3-503. 

NOTE: Aiders, abettors, and counselors are charged as 

principles. 

NOTE: A defendant charged with this crime is eligible for a 

maximum of 30 years, as noted. However, if the defendant is 

also charged in the same proceeding with a violation of CR 3-

303 through CR 3-306 (First and Second Degree Rape and 

Sexual Offense), and if the victim of the sexual charge is also 

under the age of 16, the defendant may be eligible for a penalty 

of a life sentence without the possibility of parole, if the State's 

Attorney so elects. There is no requirement that the victim of 

both crimes be the same, but if not, both victims must be under 

16, and charged against the defendant in the same proceeding. 

If so, the defendant is not eligible for the life sentence without 

parole until the State's Attorney serves written notice upon the 

defendant, at least 30 days prior to trial, that the State is seeking 

that penalty. 

Note to Commissioners: Since the enhanced penalty of life 

without the possibility of parole does not attach as a possibility 

unless both crimes are charged, involving a victim or victims 

under 16, in the same proceeding, the initial appearance should 

be conducted normally. If the Statement of Probable cause 

indicates that the factual situation applies, but the required 

notice from the State's Attorney has not been served, this may 

be a consideration in your determination as to pre-trial release. 

IN THE EVENT that the initial appearance is conducted upon a 

District or Circuit Court Warrant to which a copy of the Notice 

to Defendant of the State's election to seek a Life Sentence 

Without the Possibility of Parole is attached, or to which other 

indication is attached that shows the State's Attorney has 

decided to seek the enhanced penalty, the Commissioner should 

place the Defendant on NO BAIL pending the bail review, and 

retain a copy of the notice or letter in the Court folder. 
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ABDUCTION 

 Child Under 12 

  CR 3-503(a)(i)(ii) 

FELONY 

20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

SUB. CONVICTION, 

ENHANCED PENALTY 

CR 14-101 

*1_1005* **ABDUCT CHILD UNDER 12** 

 did, without the color of right and without the consent of the 

[parent/ lawful guardian]  [persuade/entice] ________, a child 

under the age of 12 from [his/her] [home/ usual place of 

abode/the custody and control of his/her parents/legal 

guardian]. 

 

 

  

  CR 3-503(a)(iii) 

FELONY 

20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0163* **HARBOR/ABDUCTED CHLD UN 12** 

 ... did without color of right and with intent of depriving the 

[parent/legal guardian/person lawfully in possession, custody, 

care and control] of _____(child), knowingly [secrete/harbor] 

said child who is under the age of 12 years old. 

 

 

NOTE: For the purposes of this section, the terms "usual place 

of abode", "home", and "house" include the real property 

appurtenant thereto. 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

74. 
 

CHILD ABUSE 

NOTE: The following notes apply to all Child abuse charges under this heading. 

NOTE:  1. Child means any individual under the age of 18 years. 

2. Abuse means the sustaining of physical injury by a child as a result of cruel or inhumane 

treatment or as a result of a malicious act by any parent or other person who has permanent or 

temporary care or custody or responsibility for supervision of a child, or by any household or 

family member, under circumstances that indicate that the childs health or welfare is harmed or 

threatened by the treatment or act. 

3. Sexual abuse means any act that involves sexual molestation or exploitation of a child; 

whether physical injuries are sustained or not, by a parent or other person who has permanent or 

temporary care or custody or responsibility for supervision of a child, or by any household or 

family member. 

Sexual abuse includes, but is not limited to incest, rape, or sexual offense in any degree; sodomy 

and unnatural or perverted sexual practices. 

4. Family member means a relative of a child by blood, adoption, or marriage. 

5. Household member means a person who lives with, or is a regular presence in, a home of a 

child at the time of the alleged abuse. 

NOTE: A parent should always be charged under Child Abuse: Parent, or Child Abuse: Par-Res 

Death (if the victim died as a result of the abuse) because of the legal responsibilities of a parent 

to his or her child. 

A family or household member other than the parent or legal guardian should always be charged, 

using the appropriate wording, under Child Abuse: Parent,  or Child Abuse: Par-Res Death, 

UNLESS THE FAMILY OR HOUSEHOLD MEMBER HAS BEEN LEFT IN TEMPORARY 

CARE, CUSTODY, AND CONTROL OF THE VICTIM (for instance, as a baby-sitter). In that 

event, Child Abuse: Custodian, or Child Abuse: Cust-Res Death should be used along with the 

word temporary. 

A legal guardian should be charged under the appropriate custodian section using the word 

permanent. 

For purposes of this section, there is no difference between an adoptive parent and a natural 

parent. 

NOTE: For the purposes of this section, judicial construction has defined cruel and inhumane 

treatment by a parent or custodian (but not by a family or household member) to include a failure 

...to provide necessary medical care... if that failure was due to negligence and if it resulted in 

serious physical injury or death. This includes a situation where the child had already suffered 

injury and ...as a result... the child suffered bodily harm additional to that initially sustained as a 

consequence of the injury originally inflicted upon him. (State vs. Fabritz, 276 Md. 416, 424, 

425 -1975) 
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  CR 3-601(b)(i)(1) 

FELONY 

40 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1108* **CHILD ABUSE-1ST DEG: DEATH >13** 

 ...did cause abuse that resulted in the death of ____ (name), a 

child at least 13 years old, the defendant being a [parent/family 

member/ household member/ other person to wit: _____]who 

has [permanent/temporary care/custody/responsibility for the 

supervision] of said child, in violation of CR 3-601(b)(1)(i) of 

the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: See CR 3-601(c) for subsequent offense penalties. 

 

  CR 3-601(b)(i)(1) 

FELONY 

LIFE  

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_1109* **CHILD ABUSE-1ST DEG: DEATH<13** 

 ...did cause abuse that resulted in the death of ____ (name), a 

child under the age of13 years, the defendant being a 

[parent/family member/ household member/ other person to 

wit: _____]who has [permanent/temporary 

care/custody/responsibility for the supervision] of said child, in 

violation of CR 3-601(b)(1)(i) of the Annotated Code of 

Maryland. 

  CR 3-601(b)(i)(2) 

FELONY 

25 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0334* **CHILD ABUSE-1ST SEV PHYS INJURY** 

 ...did cause abuse that resulted in severe physical injury to 

_____ (name), a child under the age of 18, the defendant being 

a [parent/family member/ household member/ other person to 

wit: _____ who has (permanent/temporary) 

(care/custody/responsibility for the supervision)] of said child, 

in violation of CR 3-601(b)(1)(ii) of the Annotated Code of 

Maryland. 
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  CR 3-601(b)(II) 

FELONY 

25 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1079* **CHILD ABUSE-1ST DEG: COURSE COND-CUSTN** 

 ...did commit at least three acts causing abuse to ____, a child 

under 18 years of age, the defendant ______ (choose from 

below) in violation of CR 3-601(d) of the Annotated Code of 

Maryland. 

1. being said child’s parent 

2. having [permanent/temporary] [care/custody/responsibility] 

for the supervision of, said child 
 

  CR 3-601(b)(II) 

FELONY 

25 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_1084* **CHILD ABUSE-1ST DEG: COURSE COND-HOUSE** 

 ...did commit at least three acts causing abuse to  ____ (name), 

a child under 18 years of age, the defendant being a [family 

member of the child/household member] in violation of CR 3-

601(d) of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

  CR 3-601(d) 

FELONY 

15 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0173* **CHILD ABUSE-2ND DEGREE: CUSTODIAN** 

 ...did cause abuse to ____, a child under 18 years of age, the 

defendant ______ (choose from below) in violation of CR 3-

601(d) of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

1.being said child’s parent 

2. having [permanent/temporary] [care/custody/responsibility] 

for the supervision of, said child 

  CR 3-601(d) 

FELONY 

15 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_3802* **CHILD ABUSE- 2ND DEGREE: HOUSE** 

 ...did cause abuse to ____ (name), a child under 18 years of age, 

the defendant being a [family member of the child/household 

member] in violation of CR 3-601(d) of the Annotated Code of 

Maryland. 
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   CR 3-602(b)(1) 

FELONY 

25 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0322* **SEX ABUSE MINOR** 

 ...did cause sexual abuse to ____(name), a minor, the defendant 

____(choose from below). 

1. being said child’s parent 

2. having [permanent/temporary] [care/custody/responsibility 

for the supervision] of said child 

  CR 3-602(b)(2) 

FELONY 

25 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0922* **SEX ABUSE MINOR** 

 ...did cause sexual abuse to ____(name), a minor, the defendant 

being [a household member/a family member] of _____(name). 

  CR 3-602.1 (b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1614* ** NEGLECT OF MINOR  ** 

 ...did neglect ______(name), a minor, having been a 

[parent/family member to wit:____/ household member/ person 

who had (permanent/ temporary) (care/custody/responsibility 

for the supervision)] of said minor. 

NOTE: See CR 3-602.1(a) for definition section. 

  CR 3-602.2 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1725* **FAIL REPORT CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT** 

 ...did as a person required to provide notice or written report of 

suspected abuse or neglect of a child  under FL 5-704, to wit: 

___(describe position), knowingly fail to provide the required 

notice or written report having actual knowledge of the abuse or 

neglect. 

NOTE:  See FL 5-704 for persons required to report child abuse 

or neglect. 

  CR 3-603 

FELONY 

$10,000.00 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1719* **CHILD SELLING** 

 ...did [sell/barter/trade/offer to sell/offer to barter/offer to trade] 

a child, to wit:__ (name), for [money/property/a thing of value]. 
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  CR 3-604(b)(1) 

FELONY 

1ST DEGREE 

$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*2_1138* **VUL ADULT ABUSE PHYSICAL INJURY** 

 ...did cause [abuse to/neglect of] ____(name), a vulnerable 

adult, that  [resulted in the death of ____/caused serious 

physical injury to ____/involved sexual abuse of ___], the 

defendant being a [parent/care giver/other person, to wit, 

____(position)] who has [permanent care/temporary 

care/responsibility for the supervision of _____(name)]. 

NOTE:  Includes abuse that is sexual abuse. 

  CR 3-604(b)(2) 

FELONY 

1ST DEGREE 

$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1138* **VUL ADULT ABUSE-HOUSE/FAMILY MEM** 

 ...did cause [abuse to/neglect of] _____(name), a vulnerable 

adult, that  [resulted in the death of ______/caused serious 

physical injury to ______/involved sexual abuse of _____], the 

defendant being a [household member/family member] 

NOTE:  Includes abuse that is sexual abuse. 

  CR 3-605(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0466* **VUL ADULT ABUSE/CUSTODIAN** 

 ...did  ______(choose from below), a vulnerable adult, and the 

defendant being a [parent/care giver/other person, to wit: ___ 

(position)] who has [permanent care/temporary 

care/responsibility for the supervision] of ____ (name). 

1. cause [abuse to/neglect of] ____(name) 

2. intentionally and maliciously inflict severe emotional distress 

on ____(name) 

NOTE: "Vulnerable adult" means an adult who lacks the 

physical or mental capacity to provide for the adult's daily 

needs. This section does not apply to sexual abuse of a 

vulnerable adult. 
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  CR 3-605(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_0350* **VUL ADULT ABUSE/FAM MEMBER** 

 ...did  _____(choose from below), a vulnerable adult, and the 

defendant being a [household member/family member]. 

1.  cause [abuse to/neglect of] _________(name) 

2. intentionally and maliciously inflict severe emotional 

distress on ____(name) 

NOTE: A prosecution for an offense under this section shall be 

instituted within 2 years after the offense was committed. 

NOTE: "Abuse" means the sustaining of any physical injury by 

a vulnerable adult as a result of cruel or inhumane treatment, or 

as a result of a malicious act by a care giver, a parent or other 

person who has permanent or temporary care or custody or 

responsibility for the supervision of a vulnerable adult, or by 

any household member or family member under circumstances 

that indicate that the vulnerable adult's health or welfare is 

harmed or threatened. 

Does not apply to abuse that is sexual abuse. 

"Neglect" means the wilful deprivation of adequate food, 

clothing, essential medical treatment or habilitative therapy, 

shelter, or supervision. 

"Care Giver" means a person under a duty to care for a 

vulnerable adult because of a contractual undertaking to 

provide care. 

"Household member" means an individual who lives with, or is 

a regular presence in, a home of a vulnerable adult at the time 

of the alleged abuse or neglect. 

"Family member" means a relative of a vulnerable adult by 

blood, marriage, adoption, or the marriage of a child. 
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 Hazing Students Prohibited 

  CR 3-607 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0103* **HAZE-STUDENT-SCH-COLL-UNIV** 

 ...did haze ____(name), a student at ______, (name school, 

college or university), causing said student serious bodily 

injury. 

NOTE: Haze means doing any act or causing any situation 

which recklessly or intentionally subjects a student to the risk 

of serious bodily injury, for the purpose of initiation into a 

student organization of a school, college, or university. 

The implied or expressed consent of a student to hazing may 

not be a defense under this section. 

 

 

  CR 3-608(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

3 YEARS 

 

*1_1002* 
**MISSING CHILD-FAIL TO REPORT ** 

 …did having [permanent care/custody/responsibility for 

supervision] of ___________(minor name/description) age 

________ under the age of 13 years [recklessly/willfully] fail to 

notify the appropriate law enforcement agency that the minor is 

a missing child within 24 hours of the time at which the 

[parent/other person] to wit:_____________ (position)  did 

knowingly or should have known that the minor is a missing 

child. 

 

Note:  This section does not apply if the fact that the minor is a 

missing child has already been reported to the appropriate law 

enforcement agency. Missing child means a child whose 

whereabouts are unknown to the parent or other person who has 

permanent care and custody or responsibility for the 

supervision of the minor. 
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  CR 3-609(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

3 YEARS 

 

*1_1003* 
**FAIL TO REPORT CHILD DEATH ** 

 …did having [permanent care/custody/responsibility for 

supervision] of ___________(minor name/description) age 

________ under the age of 18 years did not report the death of 

the minor to the appropriate [law enforcement/medical 

authority] within 5 hours of becoming aware of the death. 

 

Note: This section does not apply if the death of a minor has 

already been reported to the appropriate law enforcement 

agency or medical authority. 

 

 

  CR 3-701(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000- 18 MOS 

 

*1_1286* 
**EXTORTION: VALUE LESS $1,000** 

 ...did [obtain/attempt to obtain/conspire with ________ (name) 

to obtain] by [actual/threat of] [force/violence/economic 

injury/notification of law enforcement officials of another 

person’s undocumented status/ notification of law enforcement 

officials of another person’s undocumented status illegal 

immigration status], [money/property/labor/services/anything 

of value] having a value of less than $1,000 from ______ 

(victim), in violation of CR 3-701(b) of the Annotated Code of 

Maryland. 

  CR 3-701(b) 

FELONY 

$10,000 - 10 YRS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

 

*1_1204* 
**EXTORTION: VALUE  $1K TO < $10,000** 

 ...did [obtain/attempt to obtain/conspire with _______ (name) 

to obtain] by [actual/threat of] [force/violence/economic 

injury/notification of law enforcement officials of another 

person’s undocumented status/ notification of law enforcement 

officials of another person’s undocumented status illegal 

immigration status], [money/property/labor/services/anything 

of value] having a value of _____(amount), at least $1,000 but 

less than $10,000 from ______ (victim), in violation of CR 3-

701(b) of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 
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  CR 3-701(b) 

FELONY 

$15,000 - 15 YRS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

 

*1_1206* 
**EXTORTION: VALUE $10K TO < $100,000** 

 ...did [obtain/attempt to obtain/conspire with _______ (name) 

to obtain] by [actual/threat of] [force/violence/economic 

injury/notification of law enforcement officials of another 

person’s undocumented status/ notification of law enforcement 

officials of another person’s undocumented status illegal 

immigration status], [money/property/labor/services/anything 

of value] having a value of _____(amount), at least $10,000 but 

less than $100,000 from ______ (victim), in violation of CR 3-

701(b) of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

  CR 3-701(b) 

FELONY 

$25,000 - 25 YRS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

 

*1_1207* 
**EXTORTION: VALUE $100,000 OR MORE** 

 ...did [obtain/attempt to obtain/conspire with _______ (name) 

to obtain] by [actual/threat of] [force/violence/economic 

injury/notification of law enforcement officials of another 

person’s undocumented status/ notification of law enforcement 

officials of another person’s undocumented status illegal 

immigration status], [money/property/labor/services/anything 

of value] having a value of _____(amount), $100,000 or more, 

in violation of CR 3-701(b) of the Annotated Code of 

Maryland. 

  CR 3-701(b)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR                                                                 

$1,000- 18 MOS 

*1_1209* **EXTORTION/ID DOC - LESS THAN $1,000 ** 

 … did [obtain/attempt to obtain/conspire with ______(name) to 

obtain] [money/property/labor/services/anything of value] by 

[destruction of/concealment of/removal of/confiscation 

of/possession of] [immigration/government] identification 

document with the intent to harm the immigration status of 

______(victim) having a value of less than $1,000. 
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  CR 3-701(b)(3) 

FELONY                                                                                

$10,000 - 10 YRS                                                     

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1210* **EXTORTION/ID DOC - $1K TO <$10K** 

 … did [obtain/attempt to obtain/conspire with ______(name) to 

obtain] [money/property/labor/services/anything of value] by 

[destruction of/concealment of/removal of/confiscation 

of/possession of] [immigration/government] identification 

document with the intent to harm the immigration status of 

______(victim) having a value of  _____(amount), at least  

$1,000 but less than $10,000. 

 

 

  CR 3-701(b)(3) 

FELONY                                                                               

$15,000 - 15 YRS                                                     

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1211* **EXTORTION/ID DOC - $10K TO <$100K** 

 … did [obtain/attempt to obtain/conspire with ______(name) to 

obtain] [money/property/labor/services/anything of value] by 

[destruction of/concealment of/removal of/confiscation 

of/possession of] [immigration/government] identification 

document with the intent to harm the immigration status of 

______(victim) having a value of  _____(amount), at least  

$10,000 but less than $100,000. 
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  CR 3-701(b)(3) 

FELONY                                                                               

$25,000 - 25 YRS                                                     

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1213* **EXTORTION/ID DOC - $100K +** 

 … did [obtain/attempt to obtain/conspire with ______(name) to 

obtain] [money/property/labor/services/anything of value] by 

[destruction of/concealment of/removal of/confiscation 

of/possession of] [immigration/government] identification 

document with the intent to harm the immigration status of 

______(victim) having a value of  _____(amount), $100,000 or 

more. 
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 Extortion by State or Local Officer of Employee-Generally 

  CR 3-702 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 -18 MOS 

*1_1214* **EXTORTN GOV EMP: VAL - $1,000** 

 ...did, being ______ (name position, see note) of ______ 

(county or agency, see note) [obtain/attempt to obtain] by 

extortion _____ [money, property, other thing of value], having 

a value of less than $1,000 from ______ (victim). 

NOTE: Prosecution under CR 3-702 must be initiated within 5 

years of the date of the offense. The statute covers officers and 

employees of the State of Maryland, the counties, Baltimore 

City, a municipality, and bi-county and multi-county agencies 

 

  CR 3-702 

FELONY 

$10,000 - 10 YRS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1215* **EXTORTN GOV EMPL VAL $1K TO <$10K** 

 ...did, being ____ (name position, see note) of ______ (county 

or agency, see note) [obtain/attempt to obtain] by extortion 

______ (money, property, other thing of value), having a value 

of ____(amount), at least $1,000.00 but less than $10,000 from 

______ (victim). 

 

 

  CR 3-702 

FELONY 

$15,000 - 15 YRS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1216* **EXTORTN GOV EMPL VAL $10K TO <$100K** 

 ...did, being ____ (name position, see note) of ______ (county 

or agency, see note) [obtain/attempt to obtain] by extortion 

______ (money, property, other thing of value), having a value 

of ____(amount), at least $10,000.00 but less than $100,000 

from ______ (victim). 
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  CR 3-702 

FELONY 

$15,000 - 15 YRS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1217* **EXTORTN GOV EMPL VAL 100K +** 

 ...did, being ____ (name position, see note) of ______ (county 

or agency, see note) [obtain/attempt to obtain] by extortion 

______ (money, property, other thing of value), having a value 

of ____(amount), at least $10,000.00 but less than $100,000 

from ______ (victim). 

 

 

 

 Extortion by State or Local Officer or Employee 

Against Another 

  CR 3-703 

FELONY 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*4_2100* **EXTORTION-BETWEEN GOVT OFF** 

 ...did, being ______ (defendant's position, see note) of _______ 

(defendant's county or agency, see note), by [force/ 

intimidation/threat] , induce ______ (victim) to give up 

$_______, a part of the compensation to which said victim was 

entitled as __________ (victim's position, see note) of 

________ (victim's county or agency, see note). 

NOTE: The defendant under CR 3-703 can be any officer or 

employee of the State of Maryland, any of its counties or 

Baltimore City, a municipality, or any bi county or multi county 

agency. The victim can be any officer or employee of any of 

these, or any person employed in any way in work financed in 

whole or in part by any of these. 
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  CR 3-704(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1701* **EXTORT INT/SLANDER** 

 ...[did/did threaten to] falsely accuse _____ (victim) of ______ 

(brief statement of accusation), which, if true, would tend to 

bring said person into disrepute and contempt, with the intent to 

extort [money/property/labor/services/anything of value] from 

said person. 

  CR 3-705(a)(1) 

FELONY 

10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1702* **VERBAL EXTORTION/THRT SLANDER** 

 ...did verbally threaten to accuse ____ (name) of _____ 

(accusation) which, if true, would bring _____ (name) into 

contempt and disrepute, with the intent to extort and gain 

[money/property/labor/services/anything of value] from said 

person. 

  CR 3-705(a)(2) 

FELONY 

$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1704* **VERBAL EXTORTION/THRT INJURY** 

 ...did verbally threaten _____ (name of victim) with injury to 

the person and property of ______ (name of victim or third 

party) with the intent to extort and gain 

[money/property/labor/services/anything of value] from said 

person. 

  CR 3-706(b)(1) 

FELONY 

$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1706* **PRINT EXTORT THREAT/OF LIBEL** 

 …did , with intent to unlawfully extort [money/property/a thing 

of value to wit: ____] from ____(name), knowingly 

[send/deliver/make for the purpose of being sent/make for the 

purpose of being delivered] and part with the possession of, a 

writing threatening to accuse said person of [a crime/a thing], 

that if true, would bring the person into [contempt/disrepute]. 
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  CR 3-706(b)(2) 

FELONY 

$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1707* **THREATS-SEND/DELIVER-INJURY** 

 … did , with intent to unlawfully extort [money/property/a 

thing of value to wit: ____] from ____(name), knowingly 

[send/deliver/make for the purpose of being sent/make for the 

purpose of being delivered] and part with the possession of, a 

writing threatening to [cause physical injury to/inflict emotional 

distress upon/cause economic damage to/cause damage to the 

property of] said person. 

 

 

 

 

 Coercing/Intimidating Another Contribute/Donate 

  CR 3-707 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_2100* **THREAT OR COERCE TO DONATE** 

 ...did engage in _____ (describe activity) solely to 

[coerce/intimidate] _____ (name) to [contribute/donate] 

[goods/materials/services/ monies] to _____ a 

[social/economic/political] [organization/association]. 

NOTE: For the purpose of this section, "extortion" means the 

wrongful obtaining of the property from another with his 

consent, which consent was obtained under color or pretence of 

office, or under color of official right, or by wrongful use of 

actual or threatened force or violence. 
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 Against State Officials To Injure, Kidnap Kill 

  CR 3-708(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0477* **THREAT/ST OFFICIAL/TO INJURE** 

 ...did knowingly and wilfully make a threat to [take the life of/ 

kidnap/cause bodily injury] to [a State Official/a Local 

Official/a Deputy State’s Attorney/an Assistant State’s 

Attorney/an Assistant Public Defender] to wit: _____(name). 

 

  

  CR 3-708(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0478* **THREAT/ST OFFICIAL/SENT** 

 ...did knowingly [send/deliver/part with/make for the purpose 

of sending/make for the purpose of delivering] a threat to [take 

the life of/kidnap/cause bodily injury] to ____ (name), [a State 

Official/a Local Official/a Deputy State’s Attorney/an Assistant 

State’s Attorney/an Assistant Public Defender]. 

NOTE: "State Official" means a member or member-elect of 

the General Assembly, a judge or judge-elect of a court created 

by Article IV, 1232 or a constitutional officer, District Court 

Commissioner, masters, examiners, auditors, or officer-elect in 

an executive agency of the State government. 

"Local Official" means an individual serving in a publicly 

elected office of a local government unit (county; municipal 

corporation; special district established by State law; special 

district that is established by a county; or an office, board, or 

department that is established by State law). See Section 10-

101(d) of the State Government Article. 

"State Official" includes the Governor, Governor-elect, 

Lieutenant Governor, and Lieutenant Governor-elect. 

NOTE: "Threat" includes a oral threat or a threat in any written 

form, whether or not the writing is signed, or if it is signed 

whether or not the writing is signed with a fictitious name or 

any other mark. 
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  CR 3-709(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1452* **CAUSE ANOTH ENG SEX ACT- THREAT** 

 ...did cause _____(name) to engage in an act of sexual activity 

by threatening to ______________(choose from below) 

1. accuse _____(name, any person), of  [a crime/a thing, if 

true, would bring said person into contempt or disrepute 

to wit: ________(describe)] 

2. cause physical injury to _____(name, any person) 

3. inflict emotional distress on _______(name, any person) 

4. cause economic damage to a person (name, any person) 

5. cause damage to the property of _____(name, any 

person) 

 

NOTE: See CR 3-809 for definitions. 

 

NOTE: “Intimate parts” include naked genitals, pubic area, 

buttocks, or female nipple. 

“Sexual Activity” means 1. sexual intercourse, including 

genital-genital, oral-genital, anal-genital, oral-anal, whether 

between persons of the same or opposite sex. 2.  Sodomy under 

CR 3-321 or an unnatural or perverted sexual practice under CR 

3-322.  3.  Masturbation; or 4. Sadomasochistic abuse. 
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  CR 3-709(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1453* **CAUSE ANOTH ENG SEX PROD-THRT** 

 ...did cause _____(name) to engage as a subject in [a production 

of a visual representation/a performance] that [depicts said 

person intimate parts exposed/engaging in an act of sexual 

activity/simulating an act of sexual activity] by threatening to 

______________(choose from below) 

1. accuse _____(name, any person), of  [a crime/a thing, if 

true, would bring said person into contempt or disrepute 

to wit: ________(describe)] 

2. cause physical injury to _____(name, any person) 

3. inflict emotional distress on _______(name, any person) 

4. cause economic damage to a person (name, any person) 

5. cause damage to the property of _____(name, any 

person) 

 

NOTE: See CR 3-809 for definitions. 

 

NOTE: “Intimate parts” include naked genitals, pubic area, 

buttocks, or female nipple. 

“Sexual Activity” means 1. sexual intercourse, including 

genital-genital, oral-genital, anal-genital, oral-anal, whether 

between persons of the same or opposite sex. 2.  Sodomy under 

CR 3-321 or an unnatural or perverted sexual practice under CR 

3-322.  3.  Masturbation; or 4. Sadomasochistic abuse. 
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  CR 3-802(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_6525* **STALKING** 

...did engage in stalking _____ (name of person). 

NOTE:  See CR 3-802 for conduct that does not apply. 

NOTE: "Course of conduct" means a persistent pattern of 

conduct, composed of a series of acts over a period of time, that 

evidences a continuity of purpose. 

1. "Stalking" means a malicious course of conduct that includes 

approaching or pursuing another person where 

I. a person intends to place or knows or reasonably should have 

known the conduct would place another in reasonable fear of: 

1.A.   serious bodily injury; 

   B.  assault in any degree; 

   C.  rape or sexual offense as defined by CR 3-303    

         through 3-308, or attempted rape or sexual      

         offense in any degree; 

   D.  false imprisonment; or 

   E.  death; or 

2. That a third person likely will suffer any of the acts listed in 

item 1 of this item; or 

(II)  The person intends to cause or knows or reasonably should 

have known that the conduct would cause serious emotional 

distress to another; and 

2. “Stalking” includes conduct described in iterm 1 of this 

subsection that occurs: 

    (I) in person; 

    (II) by electronic commuinication, as defined in CR 3-805; or 

    (III) through the use of a device that can pinpoint or track the 

location of another without the person’s knowledge or consent. 

NOTE: A police officer may arrest a person without a warrant 

if the police officer has probable cause to believe a stalking has 

been committed, the police officer has reason to believe that the 

alleged stalking victim or a third person is in danger of 

imminent bodily harm or death and the probable cause is 

supported by credible evidence other than statements of the 

alleged stalking victim. An officer may also arrest a person 

without a warrant if so authorized by CP 2-202. 

NOTE: Under CP 5-201, if a defendant is charged with 

stalking under CR 3-802(b) and is released pretrial, the court or 

district court commissioner shall consider including as a 

condition of release reasonable protection for the safety of the 

alleged victim. 
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  CR 3-803 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0191* **HARASS; A COURSE OF CONDUCT** 

 ...did without a legal purpose, maliciously engage in a course of 

conduct that [alarmed/seriously annoyed] _____ (victim), with 

intent to [harass/alarm/annoy] _____ (victim), after 

[warning/request] to desist. 

NOTE: In this section, "course of conduct" means a persistent 

pattern of conduct, composed of a series of acts over a period of 

time, that evidences a continuity of purpose. 

This section does not apply to any peaceable activity intended 

to express political views or provide information to others. 

The request to desist can be made by the victim or someone 

acting on behalf of the victim. 

Subsequent offense carries a maximum of 180 days and/or a 

fine not exceeding $1,000. 

  

  CR 3-803 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_5406* **HARASS FOL. ANOTH W/INT TO** 

 ...did without a legal purpose, follow ____ (victim) [in/about] 

_____, a public place, with the intent to [harass/alarm/annoy] 

_____(victim) after [warning/request] to desist. 

NOTE: Subsequent offense carries a maximum of 180 days 

and/or a fine not exceeding $1,000. 

 

  CR 3-804(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_5309* **TEL MISUSE: SINGLE CALL** 

 ...did use telephone [facilities/equipment] for an anonymous 

call in a manner to [annoy/abuse/torment/harass/ embarrass] 

____, (victim). 

NOTE: This language is to be used for a single call (other than 

an obscene call, see below) in which the caller failed or refused 

to identify himself or herself. In order for probable cause to be 

found, the facts must indicate some method by which the caller 

was identified. 
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  CR 3-804(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0340* **TEL MISUSE: REPEAT CALLS** 

 ...did use telephone [facilities/equipment] for repeated calls, 

with intent to [annoy/abuse/torment/harass/embarrass] _____ 

(victim). 

NOTE: This language is to be used for multiple calls (other 

than obscene calls, see below) whether anonymous or 

otherwise. If anonymous, in order for probable casue to be 

found, the facts must indicate some method by which the caller 

was identified. 

  CR 3-804(a)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0341* **TEL MISUSE: OBSCENE** 

 ...did use telephone [facilities/equipment] for 

[comment/request/ suggestion/proposal which]  was 

[obscene/lewd/lascivious/filthy/indecent] to ____ (victim). 

NOTE: This language is to be used for obscene calls, single or 

multiple, whether or not anonymous, If anonymous, in order for 

probable cause to be found, the facts must indicate some 

method by which the caller was identified. 

 

  CR 3-805 (b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000 – 3 YEARS 

*1_1712* **ELEC COMM HARASS** 

 … did without legal purpose, maliciously engage in a course of 

conduct, through the use of electronic communication that 

[alarmed/seriously annoyed] ______ (name) with the intent to 

[harass/alarm/annoy] ____(name), after receiving a reasonable 

[warning/request to stop] by ______(name) [for/ on behalf of] 

[himself/herself/another to wit: _____]. 

 

NOTE:  See CR 3-805 (a)(2) for definition of “Electronic 

communication”  

 

NOTE: See CR 3-805(d) for exceptions. 
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  CR 3-805 (b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000 – 3 YEARS 

*1_1713* ** INTACT COMP SERV: HARASS-MINOR** 

 ...did use an interactive computer service to maliciously engage 

in a course of conduct that [inflicted serious emotional distress 

on a minor_____(name)/placed a minor _____(name) in 

reasonable fear of death/placed a minor _____(name) in 

reasonable fear of serious bodily injury] with the intent to [kill 

the minor/injure the minor/harass the minor/cause serious 

emotional distress to the minor/place the minor in reasonable 

fear of death/place the minor in reasonable fear of serious 

bodily injury].  

NOTE: See CR 3-805(a)(5) for definition of “Interactive 

computer service” .   See CR 3-805(d) for exceptions. 
 

  CR 3-805 (b)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1714* **ELEC COMM: HARASS-MINOR** 

 ...did with intent, maliciously engage in electronic 

communication to wit: ______(describe), that was a part of a 

series of communication and had the effect of 

[intimidating/harassing] ______(name of minor) and causing 

[physical injury/serious emotional distress] to said minor. 

NOTE:  See CR 3-805 (a)(2) for definition of “Electronic 

communication”   See CR 3-805(d) for exceptions. 

 

  CR 3-805 (b)(4) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1715* **ELEC COMM: HARASS-MINOR- SIG ACT** 

 ...did with intent, use electronic communication to maliciously 

engage in ______(choose from below), and had the effect of 

[intimidating/harassing] ______(name of minor) and causing 

[physical injury/serious emotional distress] to said minor. 

1. A single significant act to wit: _____(describe) after 

receiving a reasonable warning or request to stop 

2. A single significant act to wit: _____(describe), that was sent 

with reasonable expectation that the recipient would share the 

communication with a third party 

3. A single significant act to wit: _______(describe), that 

shocks the conscience. 

4. A course of conduct to wit: ______(describe) 

NOTE: See CR 3-805(d) for exceptions 
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  CR 3-805 (b)(5) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1716* **ELEC CONDUCT: HARASS-MINOR** 

 ...did with intent, maliciously engage in electronic conduct to 

wit: ______(describe), that had the effect of 

[intimidating/harassing] ______(name of minor) and causing 

[physical injury/serious emotional distress] to said minor. 

NOTE:  See CR 3-805 (a)(3) for definition of “Electronic 

conduct” . 

NOTE: See CR 3-805(d) for exceptions. 

 

  CR 3-805 (b)(6) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1717* **ELEC HARASS MINOR COMM SUICIDE** 

 ...did violate CR 3-805b [1/2/3/4/5] with the intent to induce a 

minor to commit suicide by ________(describe violation). 

  CR 3-806 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 

*2_0070* **LASER POINTERS - PROHIBITED** 

 ...did knowingly use a laser pointer to illuminate in a public 

place _______________(name) in a manner that 

[harassed/endangered] the said _______________. 

NOTE: Laser pointer is defined as any device that emits light 

amplified by the stimulated emission of radiation that is visible 

to the human eye. 

NOTE: This section does not apply to the use of a laser pointer: 

(1) for educational purposes by individuals engaged in an 

organized meeting or training class; or (2) during the normal 

course of work or trade activities. 

  CR 3-807(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 – 3 YEARS 

*1_1001* **LASER POINTERS - AIRPLANE** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully [shine/point/focus] the beam of a 

laser pointer on an individual operating an aircraft. 

NOTE: Does not apply to the use of a laser pointer by those 

listed in CR 3-806(b). 

NOTE: Laser pointer defined in CR 3-806(a). 
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  CR 3-809 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_1326* **DIST INTIMATE/SEX IMAGE** 

 ... did knowingly distribute a visual representation of 

_______(name), that displays said [person’s intimate parts 

exposed/ person engaged in an act of sexual activity], with the 

intent to [harm/harass/intimidate/threaten/coerce] said person, 

[under circumstances in which he or she knew said person did 

not consent to the distribution/with reckless disregard as to 

whether said person consented to the distribution] and under 

circumstances in which the other person had a reasonable 

expectation that the image would remain private. 

NOTE: “Intimate parts” include naked genitals, pubic area, 

buttocks, or female nipple. 

“Sexual Activity” means 1. sexual intercourse, including 

genital-genital, oral-genital, anal-genital, oral-anal, whether 

between persons of the same or opposite sex. 2.  An unnatural 

or perverted sexual practice under CR 3-322.  3.  Masturbation; 

or 4. Sadomasochistic abuse. 

NOTE: This charge does not apply to: 

1. lawful and common practices of law enforcement, the 

reporting of unlawful conduct, or legal proceedings. 

2. situations involving voluntary exposure in public or 

commercial settings 

  CR 3-901(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0013* **PEEPING TOM.** 

 ...did [conduct/procure ____ (name) to conduct] visual 

surveillance of another person in a private place without the 

consent of that person in that place. 

NOTE: See Section for Definitions. 

NOTE: This section does not require proof of "prurient intent" 

as is required in CR 3-902. 

  CR 3-902(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*3_5715* **PRIV. PL. - PRURIENT INTENT** 

 ...did, with prurient intent, [conduct/procure 

_______________(name) to conduct] visual surveillance of 

another person in a private place without the consent of that 

person in that place. 

NOTE: See Section for definitions and exclusions. 
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  CR 3-902(c)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1760* **VIS SURV – PRIVATE AREA** 

 ...did, with prurient intent, by use of camera, [conduct/procure 

another to conduct, to wit: _____(name)] visual surveillance of 

the private area of _____(name), without [his/her] consent. 

  CR 3-903(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1759* **CAMERA - PRIVATE RESIDENCE** 

 ...did [place/procure _______________(name) to place] a 

camera on real property on which is located a private residence 

for the purpose of conducting deliberate surreptitious 

observations of a person inside said residence. 

NOTE: See Section for exclusions. 

  CR 3-904( c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_5307* **DISTURBANCE DWELLING/PICKET** 

 ...did engage in picketing before and about the residence and 

dwelling of ______(name) at ______(address). 

  CR 3-904(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0345* **DISTURB: DWELLING/ASSEMBLY** 

 ...did intentionally assemble with another person to disrupt the 

right to tranquillity of ______(name) in his home and dwelling. 

NOTE: This section found unconstitutional in State v. Schuller, 

280 Md. 305 (1977), but you should not take this into account 

when determining probable cause. 

  CR 3-905 

MISDEMEANOR 

$15.00 - 6 DAYS 

*1_5706* **LETTERS-OPEN W/O PERM** 

 ...did take and break open a letter addressed to  

______(name), without [his/her] permission. 
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  CR 3-1102 (a)(1)(i)(ii)(iii) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1080* ** SEX TRAFFICKING - TAKE CAUSE** 

 ...did knowingly [take/cause to be taken/place/cause to be 

placed/harbor/persuade/induce/entice/encourage by threat/encourage by 

promise] another person to wit: _____________ (name) to 

__________(location) for prostitution. 

NOTE:  Do not use this charge if the victim is a minor. 

 

 

 

 

 CR 3-1102 (a)(1)(iv) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1082* **SEX TRAFFICKING – COMPENSATION ** 

 …did knowingly receive consideration to [procure for, ______(name)/ place 

in a house of prostitution at _______(location)/ place at 

_________(location)], another person, to wit: ______(name) with the intent 

of causing another to engage in [prostitution/assignation]. 

NOTE:  Do not use this charge if the victim is a minor. 

 

  CR 3-1102 (a)(1)(v) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_0752* ** SEX TRAFFICKING – EXPLICIT PERFORM** 

 …did engage in a [device/scheme/continuing course of conduct] intended to 

cause ______ (victim’s name) to believe that if ______(vicitm’s name) did 

not take part in a sexually explicit performance [he/she/a third person] 

would suffer [physical restraint/serious physical harm]. 

NOTE:  Do not use this charge if the victim is a minor. 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 3-1001 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1335* **THREAT OF MASS VIOLENCE ** 

 
 

 

 

 

…did knowingly [threaten to commit/threaten to cause to be 

committed] a crime of violence under CR 14-101 to wit: 

_____(describe), that placed _________(victims), at least five 

people at a substantial risk of [death/serious physical injury] if 

the threat were carried out. 
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  CR 3-1102 (a)(1)(vi) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_0762* **SEX TRAFFICKING –ANOTHER GOV ID** 

 … did [destroy/conceal/remove/confiscate/possess] [an actual 

passport/purported passport/immigration document/government 

identification document to wit:____] of another while otherwise 

[violating/attempting to violate] CR 3-1102(a) by _____(describe violation). 

NOTE:  Do not use this charge if the victim is a minor. 

  CR 3-1102 (a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1083* **SEX TRAFFICKING –GUARDIAN** 

 …did as [parent/guardian/person] who has [permanent/temporary] 

[care/custody/responsibility for supervision] of another person, to wit: 

______ (name) , consent to the [taking/detention] of, ________ (name) for 

prostitution. 

NOTE:  Do not use this charge if the victim is a minor. 

  CR 3-1102  (b)(1) 

FELONY - DISTRICT COURT                                                                                                                                          

$15,000.00 - 25 YEARS 

*1_0786* 

*1T0786* 

 

** SEX TRAFFICKING - TAKE CAUSE** 

*USE 1T0786 WHEN COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEH USED-SEE NOTE BELOW* 

… did knowingly [take/cause to be taken/place/cause to be 

placed/harbor/persuade/induce/entice/encourage] by [threat/promise] another 

person, to wit:  __(name), a minor, to __(location) for prostitution. 

NOTE:  Use this charge if the victim is a minor. See CR 3-1102(c) for penalty 

section. 

NOTE: Use 1T0786 if defendant used a commercial motor vehicle as defined under 

TA 16-803/49 U.S.C. 31301 in committing offense. A convicted person must be 

disqualified from operating a commercial mv for life under 49 U.S.C. 31310(d)(2). 

 

  CR 3-1102  (b)(1) 

FELONY  - DISTRICT COURT                                                             

$15,000.00 – 25 YEARS 

*1_0788* 

*1T0788* 

**SEX TRAFFICKING – COMPENSATION** 

*USE 1T0788 WHEN COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEH USED-SEE NOTE BELOW* 

… did knowingly receive consideration to [procure for ______(name)/place in a 

house of prostitution ___(location) /place in ___(location)], another person to wit:  

_____ (victim), a minor, with the intent of causing said minor to engage in 

[prostitution/assignation]. 

NOTE:  Use this charge if the victim is a minor. See CR 3-1102(c) for penalty 

section. 

NOTE: Use 1T0788 if defendant used a commercial motor vehicle as defined under 

TA 16-803/49 U.S.C. 31301 in committing offense. A convicted person must be 

disqualified from operating a commercial mv for life under 49 U.S.C. 31310(d)(2). 
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  CR 3-1102 (b)(1) 

FELONY –DISTRICT COURT 

$15,000.00 – 25 YEARS 

*1_0754* 

*1T0754* 

**SEX TRAFFICKING – EXPLICIT PERFORM** 

*USE 1T0754 WHEN COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEH USED-SEE NOTE BELOW* 

…did engage in a [device/scheme/continuing course of conduct] intended to cause 

______ (victim’s name) to believe that if ______(vicitm’s name) did not take part in a 

sexually explicit performance [he/she/a third person] would suffer [physical 

restraint/serious physical harm]. 

NOTE:  Use this charge if the victim is a minor. 

NOTE: Use 1T0754 if defendant used a commercial motor vehicle as defined under 

TA 16-803/49 U.S.C. 31301in committing offense. A convicted person must be 

disqualified from operating a commercial mv for life under 49 U.S.C. 31310(d)(2). 

  CR 3-1102 (b)(1) 

FELONY – DISTRICT COURT 

$15,000.00 – 25 YEARS 

*1_0756* 

*1T0756* 

**SEX TRAFFICKING –ANOTHER GOV ID** 

*USE 1T0756 WHEN COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEH USED-SEE NOTE BELOW* 

… did [destroy/conceal/remove/confiscate/possess] [an actual passport/purported 

passport/immigration document/government identification document to wit:____] of 

another while otherwise [violating/attempting to violate] CR 3-1102(a) by _(describe). 

NOTE:  Use this charge if the victim is a minor. 

NOTE: Use 1T0756 if defendant used a commercial motor vehicle as defined under 

TA 16-803/49 U.S.C. 31301 in committing offense. A convicted person must be 

disqualified from operating a commercial mv for life under 49 U.S.C. 31310(d)(2). 

  CR 3-1102 (b)(1) 

FELONY- DISTRICT COURT                                                                                                                                        

$15,000.00 - 25 YEARS 

*1_0789* 

*1T0789* 

**SEX TRAFFICKING - GUARDIAN** 

*USE 1T0789 WHEN COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEH USED-SEE NOTE BELOW* 

… did as [parent/guardian/person] who has [permanent/temporary] 

[care/custody/responsibility for supervision] of another person, to wit:  _______ 

(name), a minor, consent to the [taking/detention] of _____ (name) for prostitution. 

NOTE:  Use this charge if the victim is a minor. See CR 3-1102(b) for penalty 

section involving minor. 

NOTE: Use 1T0789 if defendant used a commercial motor vehicle as defined under 

TA 16-803/49 U.S.C. 31301 in committing offense. A convicted person must be 

disqualified from operating a commercial mv for life under 49 U.S.C. 31310(d)(2). 

  CR 3-1102 (b)(2) 

FELONY- DISTRICT COURT                                                                                                                                             

$15,000.00 – 25 YEARS 

*1_0787* 

*1T0787* 

 

**SEX TRAFFICKING – FORCE/FRAUD** 

*USE 1T0787 WHEN COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEH USED-SEE NOTE BELOW* 

…did violate CR 3-1102(a) __(paragraph violated) with the [use of/intent to use] 

[force/threat/coercion/fraud]. 

NOTE:  Use this charge whether victim is a minor or not. 

NOTE: Use 1T0787 if defendant used a commercial motor vehicle as defined under 

TA 16-803/49 U.S.C. 31301 in committing offense. A convicted person must be 

disqualified from operating a commercial mv for life under 49 U.S.C. 31310(d)(2). 
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  CR 3-1102 (e)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_0757* **SEX TRAFFICKING –BENEFIT FINANCIALLY** 

 …did knowingly [benefit financially/receive anything of value to wit____] 

from participation in a venture that included an act described in CR 3-

1102(a) to wit: _______(describe violation). 

NOTE:  Do not use this charge if the victim is a minor. 

 

  CR 3-1102 (e)(1) 

FELONY – DISTRICT COURT 

$15,000.00 – 25 YEARS 

*1_0758* 

*1T0758* 

 

**SEX TRAFFICKING –BENEFIT FINANCIALLY** 

*USE 1T0758 WHEN COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEH USED-SEE NOTE BELOW* 

…did knowingly [benefit financially/receive anything of value to wit____] from 

participation in a venture that included an act described in CR 3-1102(b) to 

wit:______(describe violation). 

NOTE:  Use this charge if the victim is a minor or if victim under CR 3-1102(b)(2). 

NOTE: Use 1T0758 if defendant used a commercial motor vehicle as defined under 

TA 16-803/49 U.S.C. 31301 in committing offense. A convicted person must be 

disqualified from operating a commercial mv for life under 49 U.S.C. 31310(d)(2). 
 

  CR 3-1102 (e)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_0759* ** SEX TRAFFICKING –CONSPIRE/AID/ABET** 

 …did knowingly [aid/abet/conspire] with _______(name(s), to violate CR 3-

1102(a) to wit: ________(describe violation). 

NOTE:  Do not use this charge if the victim is a minor. 

 

 

  CR 3-1102 (e)(2) 

FELONY – DISTRICT COURT 

$15,000.00 – 25 YEARS 

*1_0761* 

*1T0761* 

**SEX TRAFFICKING –CONSPIRE/AID/ABET** 

*USE 1T0761 WHEN COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEH USED-SEE NOTE BELOW* 

…did knowingly [aid/abet/conspire] with _______(name(s), to violate CR 3-

1102(b) to wit: ________(describe violation). 

NOTE:  Use this charge if the victim is a minor or if victim under CR 3-1102(b)(2). 

NOTE: Use 1T0761 if defendant used a commercial motor vehicle as defined under 

TA 16-803/49 U.S.C. 31301 in committing offense. A convicted person must be 

disqualified from operating a commercial mv for life under 49 U.S.C. 31310(d)(2). 
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  CR 3-1103 (a)(1) 

FELONY                                                                             

DISTRICT COURT                                                             

$15,000.00 - 25 YEARS 

*1_1726* ** FORCED MARRIAGE** 

 … did _______(choose from below) to compel said person to marry 

another person. 

1.  [take/detain] ____(name), with the intent to use 

[force/threat/coercion/fraud] 

2. receive a [financial benefit/thing of value to wit: ___] in the 

[taking/detaining] of ____(name), in which the intent was to use 

[force/threat/coercion/fraud]  

3. [aid/abet/conspire[take/detain] ____(name), with the intent to use 

[force/threat/coercion/fraud]  

 

  CR 3-1103 (a)(2) 

FELONY                                                                             

DISTRICT COURT                                                             

$15,000.00 - 25 YEARS 

*1_1727* **BENEFIT - FORCED MARRIAGE** 

 … did receive a [financial benefit/thing of value to wit: ___] in the 

[taking/detaining] of ____(name), in which the intent was to use 

[force/threat/coercion/fraud] to compel said person to marry another 

person. 

 

  CR 3-1103 (a)(3) 

FELONY                                                                             

DISTRICT COURT                                                             

$15,000.00 - 25 YEARS 

*1_1728* ** CON-FORCED MARRIAGE** 

 … did [aid/abet/conspire with] _____(name), to [take/detain] ____(name), 

with the intent to use [force/threat/coercion/fraud] to compel said person to 

marry another person. 

 

  CR 3-1103 (a)(3) 

FELONY                                                                             

DISTRICT COURT                                                             

$15,000.00 - 25 YEARS 

*1_1729* **CON-BENEFIT - FORCED MARRIAGE** 

 … did [aid/abet/conspire with_____(name), t receive a [financial 

benefit/thing of value to wit: ___] in the [taking/detaining] of ____(name), 

in which the intent was to use [force/threat/coercion/fraud] to compel said 

person to marry another person. 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

104. 
 

  CR 3-1202(a)(2) 

FELONY 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

$15,000 - 25 YEARS 

*1_1722* 

*1T1722* 

**RECV BENEFT - FORCE/FRAUD LABOR** 

*USE 1T1722 WHEN COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEH USED-SEE NOTE BELOW* 

...did receive a [benefit/thing of value] to wit: ____(describe), from the [provision of 

services/labor] of _______(name of other person), that was induced by 

[force/fraud/coercion]. 

NOTE: Use 1T1721 if defendant used a commercial motor vehicle as defined under 

TA 16-803/49 U.S.C. 31301 in committing offense. A convicted person must be 

disqualified from operating a commercial mv for life under 49 U.S.C. 31310(d)(2). 

 

 

 CR 3-1202(b) 

FELONY 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

$15,000 - 25 YEARS 

*1_1723* 

*1T1723* 

**CON-FORCE/FRAUD SERV/LABOR** 

*USE 1T1723 WHEN COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEH USED-SEE NOTE BELOW* 

...did [aid/conspire with] _______(name) to  

[take/place/harbor/persuade/induce/entice] ____(name), by [force/fraud/coercion] to 

provide [services/labor] to wit: __(describe). 

NOTE: Use 1T1723 if defendant used a commercial motor vehicle as defined under 

TA 16-803/49 U.S.C. 31301 in committing offense. A convicted person must be 

disqualified from operating a commercial mv for life under 49 U.S.C. 31310(d)(2). 

 

  CR 3-1202(b) 

FELONY 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

$15,000 - 25 YEARS 

*1_1724* 

*1T1724* 

**CON-RECV BENEFT - FORCE/FRAUD LABOR** 

*USE 1T1724 WHEN COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEH USED-SEE NOTE BELOW* 

...did [aid/conspire] with _____(name) to receive a [benefit/thing of value] to wit: 

____(describe), from the [provision of services/labor] of _______(name of other 

person), that was induced by [force/fraud/coercion]. 

NOTE: Use 1T1724 if defendant used a commercial motor vehicle as defined under 

TA 16-803/49 U.S.C. 31301 in committing offense. A convicted person must be 

disqualified from operating a commercial mv for life under 49 U.S.C. 31310(d)(2). 

 

 

 

 

 CR 3-1202(a)(1) 

FELONY 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

$15,000 - 25 YEARS 

*1_1721* 

*1T1721* 

**FORCE/FRAUD SERV/LABOR** 
*USE 1T1721  WHEN COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEH USED-SEE NOTE BELOW* 

...did [take/place/harbor/persuade/induce/entice] ____(name), by 

[force/fraud/coercion] to provide [services/labor] to wit: _____(describe). 

NOTE: Use 1T1721 if defendant used a commercial motor vehicle as defined under 

TA 16-803/49 U.S.C. 31301 in committing offense.  A convicted person must be 

disqualified from operating a commercial mv for life under 49 U.S.C. 31310(d)(2). 
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CARRYING OR WEARING WEAPON 

 

NOTE: Included in deadly or dangerous weapons are a dirk knife, bowie knife, switchblade 

knife, star knife, sandclub, metal knuckles, a razor and a nunchaku. Not included are penknives 

without switchblades, or handguns. 

NOTE: As used in this section, a "star knife" is a device used as a throwing weapon, consisting 

of several sharp or pointed blades arrayed as radially disposed arms about a central disk. 

As used in this section, a "nunchaku" is a device consisting of two pieces, wood, metal, plastic, 

or other like substance connected by any chain, rope, leather or other flexible material not 

exceeding 24 inches in length. 

NOTE: Carrying or wearing chemical mace, pepper mace, or a tear gas device concealed is not 

made illegal by this section if the defendant is an adult. Carrying such a device openly with 

intent to injure is charged under CR 4-101. The appropriate choices are provided  below. 

NOTE: The possession of pepper mace by a juvenile is a criminal charge under CR 4-101, but 

does not carry automatic adult jurisdiction. 

  CR 4-101(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_5200* **MACE/CHEM DEVICE-INT/INJURE** 

 ...did openly wear and carry [chemical mace/pepper mace/ a 

tear gas device],with the intent and purpose of causing injury to 

[_______(name)/others] in an unlawful manner. 

 
  CR 4-101(c)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_5202* **DANGEROUS WEAPON-CONCEAL** 

 ...did [wear and carry] _________ (state weapon), a dangerous 

weapon, concealed [on/about] [his/her] person. 

 

  CR 4-101(c)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_5200* **DANGEROUS WEAPON-INT/INJURE** 

 ...did openly wear and carry _____ (state weapon), a dangerous 

weapon, with the intent and purpose of causing injury to 

[____(name/others] in an unlawful manner. 

 

  CR 4-102 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_5203* **DANGEROUS WPN ON SCHOOL PROP** 

 ...did carry and possess ____ (name or describe weapon) upon 

public school property located at _____ (address). 

NOTE: This section applies to all dangerous weapons in CR 4-

101(c) in reference to all firearms, including rifles and handguns. 

See CR 4-102(a) for exceptions. 
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  CR 4-103 

FELONY 

$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1460* **DISARM LAW OFFICER** 

 ...did knowingly [remove/attempt to remove] a firearm from the 

possession of _____ (victim), knowing and having reason to know 

that said victim was acting within the course and scope of 

employment and was employed as: (pick one) 

1. a law enforcement officer who, in an official capacity is 

authorized by law to make arrest; 

2. a sheriff;  

3. a deputy sheriff; 

4. an assistant sheriff; 

5. an employee of the Division of Correction;  

6. an employee of the Patuxtent Institute;  

7. an employee of the Division of Pretrial Detention and Services;    

8. an employee of the Division of Parole and Probation;  

9. an employee of _______ [County Jail/ Detention Center]; 

10. an employee of a booking facility, to wit: _ (name facility). 

  

  CR 4-104 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 

*2_0239* **FIREARMS-ACCESS BY MINORS** 

 ...did store and leave a loaded firearm in a location where ______ 

(name of defendant) [knew/should have known] that an unsupervised 

minor under 16 years of age would gain access to the firearm. 

NOTE: Firearm means pistol, revolver, rifle, shotgun, short-barreled 

rifle, short-barreled shot gun or any firearm except antique firearms as 

defined by Art. 27, Sec. 36F. 

"Minor" means an individual under the age of 16. 

NOTE: Section does not apply if:  

1. Minor's access supervised by person 18 years or older; 

2. Minor's access obtained as result of unlawful entry; 

3. Firearm in possession or control of law enforcement officer engaged 

in official duties; 

4. Minor has certificate of firearm and hunter safety as set forth in 

section 10-301.1 of Natural Resources Article. 

 

  CR 4-105(a)(1)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 12 MONTHS ($50 min) 

*1_5214* **KNIFE SALE ETC SWITCHBLADE** 

 ...did [sell/barter/display/offer to sell/offer to barter] a [switch blade 

knife/shooting knife]. 

NOTE: A switchblade knife is one which opens automatically by hand 

pressure applied to a button, spring or other device in the handle. 

A "shooting knife" is a device designed to propel a knife from a metal 

sheath by means of a high-compression ejector spring. 
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 CR 4-106 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1450* **WEAR BULLETPROOF ARMOR** 

...did wear bulletproof body armor in the commission of a 

[crime of violence/drug trafficking crime] as defined in [CR 14-

101/CR 5-621A], Annotated Code of Maryland, to wit: _____. 
 

  CR 4-107(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1449* **POSS BULLETPROOF ARMOR** 

...did [use/possess/purchase] bulletbroof body armor after a 

previous conviction of a [crime of violence/drug trafficking 

crime] and does not hold a valid permit. 

  CR 4-109(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 – 2 MONTHS 

*1_0595* **POSS ELEC CTRL DEVICE** 

 ...did [possess/use] an electronic control device after being 

convicted of a violation of [CR 5-602/CR 5-603/CR 5-604/CR 

5-605/CR 5-606/CR 5-613/CR 5-614/a crime of violence.] 

 

  CR 4-109(e)(2) 

FELONY 

$5,000.00 – 3 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0596* **USE ELEC CTRL DEVICE – CRIME OF VIOL** 

…did commit a crime of violence to wit: _______, while [in possession 

of/using]  an electronic control device and after being convicted of a 

violation of [CR 5-602/CR 5-603/CR 5-604/CR 5-605/CR 5-606/CR 5-

613/CR 5-614/a crime of violence]. 

  CR 4-110 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1284* **RES FIREARM AMMO–CRM VIOLNCE** 

... did during and in relation to the commission of a crime of violence to 

wit: ____(describe), [possess/use] restricted firearm ammunition. 

NOTE: See CR 4-110(a) for definition of restricted firearm ammunition. 

NOTE: See CR 14-101 for definition of crime of violence. Effe
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  CR 4-111(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1791* **FIREARM CHILD/VUL ADULT AREA” 

...did willfully [wear/carry/transport] a firearm in an area for 

[children/vulnerable adults] to wit: ______(describe)]. 

NOTE: See CR 4-111 (a)(2) for definition of children and 

vulnerable adult areas. 

See CR 4-111 (b) for exceptions. 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 4-111(d) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1792* **FIREARM GOV/PUBLIC AREA” 

...did willfully  [wear/carry/transport] a firearm in a 

[government/public infrastructure] area to wit: 

______(describe). 

NOTE: See CR 4-111 (a)(4) for definition of government and 

public infrastructure area. 

See CR 4-111 (b) for exceptions. 
 

 

 

  CR 4-111(e) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1793* **FIREARM SPECIAL PURP AREA” 

 ...did willfully  [wear/carry/transport] a firearm in a special 

purpose area to wit: ______(describe). 

NOTE: See CR 4-111 (a)(4) for definition of government and 

public infrastructure area. 

See CR 4-111 (b) for exceptions. 
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  CR 4-203 

MISDEMEANOR 

5 YEARS (MIN 30 Days)  

$2,500 (MIN. $250) 

SEE NOTE:  PENALTIES 

*1_1783* **HANDGUN IN VEHICLE** 

...did [wear/carry/knowingly transport] a handgun in a vehicle upon 

the public roads, highways, waterways, airways or parking lots 

generally used by the public. 

NOTE: See 4-203(b) for exceptions. 

NOTE:  Refer to CR 4-203(c) for appropriate penalty, including 

reference for subsequent convictions and minimum penalty for 

violations on school property. 

  

  CR 4-203 (a)(1)(v) 

MISDEMEANOR 

5 YEARS (MIN 30 Days)  

$2,500 (MIN. $250) 

 

*1_1784* **LOADED HANDGUN IN VEHICLE ** 

...did [wear/carry/knowingly transport] a loaded handgun in a 

vehicle upon the public roads, highways, waterways, airways or 

parking lots generally used by the public. 

NOTE: See 4-203(b) for exceptions. 

NOTE:  Refer to CR 4-203(c) for appropriate penalty, including 

reference for subsequent convictions and minimum penalty for 

violations on school property. 

See CJIS Code 1-1456 for 2nd offense and 1-1458 for 3rd offense. 

Subsequent offenses to be brought by State’s Attorney only. 

 

  CR 4-203 

MISDEMEANOR 

5 YEARS (MIN 30 Days)  

$2,500 (MIN. $250) 

SEE NOTE: PENALTIES 

*1_1785* **HANDGUN ON PERSON** 

 ...did [wear/carry/transport] a handgun on or about their person. 

NOTE: See CR 4-203(b) for exceptions. 

NOTE:  Refer to CR 4-203(c) for appropriate penalty, including 

reference for subsequent convictions and minimum penalty for 

violations on school property. 
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  CR 4-203 (a)(1)(v) 

MISDEMEANOR 

 5 YEARS (MIN. 30 Days) 

$2,500 (MIN. $250) 

*1_1786* **LOADED HANDGUN ON PERSON** 

 ...did [wear/carry/transport] a loaded handgun on or about their 

person. 

NOTE: See CR 4-203(b) for exceptions. 

NOTE:  Refer to CR 4-203(c) for appropriate penalty, including 

reference for subsequent convictions and minimum penalty for 

violations on school property. 

 

 

  NOTE: See 1-1457 for 2nd offense  and 1-1459 for 3rd offense. 

Subsequent offenses to be brought by State’s Attorney only. 

  CR 4-204 (b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

SEE NOTE: PENALTIES 

SUB. CONVICTION, 

ENHANCED PENALTY 

*1_5299* **FIREARM USE/FEL-VIOL CRIME** 

...did use a firearm in the commission of a [felony/crime of 

violence]. 

NOTE:  See CR 4-204(a) for definition of “firearm”. 

NOTE: Any felony will suffice to satisfy this statute. A "crime of 

violence" is defined in PS 5-101 or any felony and includes the 

common-law attempts at such crimes, and 1st & 2nd degree assault. 

NOTE:  To find probable cause under this section, the handgun must 

have been used in a felony or crime of violence as defined. 

NOTE:   Use in commission of felony or crime of violence under  

PS 5-101 or any felony whether the firearm is operable or inoperable 

at the time of the crime; 

a. First offense, 5 to 20 years, 5 years mandatory. No parole for 5 

years. 

b. Second or subsequent offense, 5 to 20 years, 5  years minimum 

consecutive sentence with any other sentence imposed for the crime 

of violence or felony. 

 

NOTE: Crimes of violence carrying mandatory sentences are also 

defined in CR 14-101(a). 

 

 

(Note for charge 1-5299 continued on page 111) 
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 NOTE: PS 5-101 defines "crime of violence" as meaning: 

1. Abduction;  

2. Arson in the first degree; 

3. Assault in the first or second degree; 

4. Burglary in the first, second or third degree; 

5. Carjacking and armed carjacking; 

6. Escape in the first degree; 

7. Kidnapping; 

8. Voluntary manslaughter; 

9. Maiming as previously proscribed under Art. 27-386; 

10. Mayhem as previously proscribed under Art. 27-384; 

11. Murder in the first or second degree; 

12. Rape in the first or second degree; 

13. Robbery; 

14. Robbery with a dangerous weapon; 

15. Sexual offense in the first, second or third degree; 

16. An attempt to commit any of the crimes listed in 1-15; 

17. Assault with intent to commit any of the crimes listed in 1-

15; of the sub-section; or 

18. A crime punishable by imprisonment for more than 1 year. 

  

  CR 4-208(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*3_5299* **FIREARM DEMONST PUB PLACE** 

 ...did have on and about [his/her] person a firearm [at a 

demonstration in a public place/in a vehicle within 1000 feet of 

a demonstration in a public place] after being told by a law 

enforcement officer that a demonstration was occurring at the 

public place and being ordered by the law enforcement officer 

to leave the area of the demonstration. 

NOTE: Law enforcement officers excepted. 

 

  CR 4-303 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 4-306)                                             

MISDEMEANOR                                                     

$5,000.00-3 YEARS 

*3_5250* **ASSAULT WEAPON POSS/SELL** 

…did unlawfully [possess in/sell in/offer to sell in/transfer 

in/purchase in/receive in/transport into] Maryland, an assault 

weapon, to wit: ______ (describe weapon). 

Note: See CR 4-303(b) for exceptions. 

Note:  An assault weapon includes an assault long gun, an 

assault pistol, or a copy cat weapon. See CR 4-301 for 

definitions and list of applicable firearms. 
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  CR 4-305 

PENALTY CR 4-306                                                 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*3_5255* **DETACH MAG OVER 10 RNDS** 

 ...did unlawfully [manufacture/sell/offer for sale/purchase/ 

receive/transfer] a detachable magazine with a capacity of more 

than 10 rounds of ammunition. 

Note:  See CR 4-305(a) for exceptions. 

 

  CR 4-305.1 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1448* ** RAPID FIRE TRIGGER ACTIVTR VIOL* 

 … did [transport into the State/manufacture/possess/sell/offer to 

sell/transfer/purchase/receive] a rapid fire trigger activator. 

NOTE:  See CR 4-305.1 for exceptions.  This charge does not apply 

to a person who: 

- Possessed the rapid fire trigger activator before 10-1-2018;  

- Applied to the Federal Bureau of ATFE before 10-1-2018, for 

authorization to possess a rapid fire trigger activator.; AND 

- Is in compliance with all federal requirements for possession 

of a rapid fire trigger activator. 

 
 

  CR 4-306(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

PENALTY - See Notes 

*3_5260* **ASSAULT WEAPON/ MAG. USE** 

 ...did use [an assault weapon/a rapid fire trigger activator/a 

magazine with a capacity of more than 10 rounds of 

ammunition] in the commission of [a felony, to wit: _____/any 

crime of violence as defined in PS 5-101, to wit: _____]. 

NOTE: Subsequent Offense Penalties:  

1. 1st Offense: 5 to 20 years (minimum 5 years, no part 

suspended.) 

2. 2nd or Subsequent Offense: 10 to 20 years (minimum 10 

years served consecutively to any other sentence.) 
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  CR 4-403 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 

*3_5200* **MCHNGUN: FAIL KEEP REGISTER** 

 …did as a manufacturer of machine guns, fail to maintain a 

register of each machine gun [manufactured/handled] 

containing the information required under CR 4-403(a). 

 

  

  CR 4-403(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 

*3_5201* **MCHN GUN: FAIL SHOW REGISTER** 

 …did, after demand by _____ (name and title of Police Officer,  

Marshal, or Sheriff) of _____ (county/city), [refuse/fail]to  

produce for inspection the register of machine guns required to 

be kept under CR 4-403(a) of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: CR 4-403 applies to manufacturers only. 

  CR 4-404 

FELONY 

20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_5299* **MACHINE GUN-USE FOR CRIME** 

 ...did [possess/use] a machine gun in the [perpetration/ 

attempted perpetration] of a crime of violence, to wit: _______. 

NOTE: Machine gun is defined as a weapon, loaded or 

unloaded, from which more than one shot or bullet may be 

automatically discharged from a magazine by a single function 

of the firing device. 

Crimes of Violence under CR 4-401 includes perpetration or 

attempt to perpetrate murder, manslaughter, rape, kidnapping, 

mayhem, assault in the first degree, robbery under CR 3-402 or 

403, burglary in any degree, home invasion, theft, and escape in 

the first degree. 
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  CR 4-405(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

10 YEARS 

*1_1314* **MACH GUN AGGRESSIVE PURPOSE** 

...did possess and use a machine gun, to wit: ____ (describe 

weapon), for an aggressive and offensive purpose (choose 

appropriate wording below): 

1. in that the said machine gun was not registered as required by 

CR 4-403 of the Annotated Code of Maryland; 

2. in that the said machine gun was on premises not owned or 

rented by the defendant; 

3. in that shells for the said machine gun were found in the 

immediate vicinity of the said machine gun (see note below);  

4. in that the said machine gun was in the possession of an 

unnaturalized foreign-born person, to wit: _____ (name); 

5. in that the said machine gun was in the possession of 

defendant, who had been previously convicted of a crime of 

violence, to wit: _____ (name crime); 

NOTE: See CR 4-402(b) for exceptions. 

NOTE: There is no precise definition of "aggressive" or 

"offensive" purpose in the statute. In CR 4-405, a machine gun 

is presumed to be possessed for such a purpose under certain 

circumstances. These are presented in the first five choices in 

the above charge. If the machine gun was possessed or used in a 

crime of violence as defined in CR 4-401, the defendant should 

be charged under CR 4-404. If the machine gun was possessed 

or used in the perpetration of any other crime or attempted 

crime, the defendant should be charged under CR 4-405. 

NOTE: Under CR 4-405, if the machine gun was found in close 

proximity to shells, it does not matter whether the shells were 

empty or loaded as long as they could be used in that machine 

gun. 
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DESTRUCTIVE DEVICES 

NOTE: The Acts of 1997 revised the laws on explosives to consolidate the law on this subject 

and to ensure that the creation of any device intended to cause damage to property or injury to 

persons by way of explosion, fire, or poison is covered by the law. This revision does not 

prohibit or regulate any materials that are currently legal and commonly used in households and 

in business. This subheading would apply to such materials only when they are intentionally 

combined with a delivery system so as to create a destructive capacity for which they were never 

intended. Items that have legitimate uses become subject to the provisions of this subheading 

when a person uses them for a criminal purpose. 

 

  

  CR 4-503(a)(1) 

FELONY 

$250,000.00 - 25 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0720* **DEST DEVICE MAN/POS/DIST** 

 ...did knowingly 

[manufacture/transport/possess/control/store/sell/distribute/use] 

_______ a destructive device. 

NOTE: See CR 4-503(b)(3) for additional admistrative 

penalties. 

NOTE: "Destructive Device" means explosive, incendiary, or 

toxic material that has been combined with a delivery or 

detonating apparatus so as to be capable of inflicting injury to 

persons or damage to property. 
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  CR 4-503(a)(2) 

FELONY 

$250,000.00 - 25 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0725* **POSS EXPL/INCEND W/INTENT** 

 ...did possess [explosive/incendiary/toxic] material with intent 

to create a destructive device. 

NOTE: "Explosive material" means material which explodes 

when detonated and has a destructive capability, including: 

dynamite, ammonium nitrate, natural gas, oxygen cannisters. 

"Incendiary material" means a flammable or combustible liquid, 

and includes gasoline, acetone, benzene, butane, jet fuel, fuel 

oil, kerosene, and diesel fuel. 

"Toxic material" is defined as material which is capable of 

causing death or serious bodily injury almost immediately on 

being absorbed through the skin, inhaled, or ingested. It 

includes nerve gas, mustard gas, cyanide gas, chlorine gas, 

sulphuric acid, their precursors, and biological substances 

containing disease organisms. See CR 4-501 for complete 

definitions and exclusions. 
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HEALTH - CONTROLLED DANGEROUS SUBSTANCES 

Section 5-202 of the Criminal Law Article allows the Maryland Department of Health (the 

“Department”) to add substances to the schedule list of controlled dangerous substances.  If a 

substance is adopted as a controlled dangerous substance by the the Department, it may apply to 

CDS charges under Title 5 of the Criminal Law Article. 

See the Maryland Department of Health website below for the “Drug Enforcement 

Administration(DEA) List of Controlled Substances” and the “Maryland Supplemental CDS 

List(different from the DEA)” that identify controlled dangerous substances recognized by 

Maryland. 

HTTPS://HEALTH.MARYLAND.GOV/OCSA/PAGES/HOME.ASPX 

 

 

 Opiates-Without Prescription Schedule II 

  CR 5-503 

MISDEMEANOR 

1ST: $1,000.00 

2ND: $2,000.00 

MORE THAN 2ND 

OFFENSE - 18 MONTHS 

*1_0031* **CDS OPIATE W/O PRESCRIPT.** 

 ...did dispense a [controlled dangerous substance/controlled 

dangerous substance analogue] of schedule ____, to wit: ____, 

without a valid prescription from a duly authorized prescriber in 

this state. 
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NOTE:  The Commissioner Education Committee advises that no probable cause should be found and 

persons should not be charged with violations of CR 5-601, 5-619, and 5-620 if ALL of the circumstances 

specified in CP 1-210(b) and CP 1-210(c) are applicable. Please see below. 

 

CP 1-210(b) 

A person who, in good faith, seeks, provides, or assists with the provision of medical assistance for a 

person reasonably believed to be experiencing a medical emergency after ingesting or using alcohol or 

drugs shall be immune from criminal arrest, charge, or prosecution for a violation of CR 5-601, 5-619, 5-

620, 10-114, 10-116, and 10-117 if the evidence for the criminal arrest, charge, or prosecution was 

obtained solely as a result of the person’s seeking, providing, or assisting with the provision of medical 

assistance. 

 

CP 1-210(c)  

A person who is experiencing a medical emergency after ingesting or using alcohol or drugs shall be 

immune from criminal arrest, charge, or prosecution for a violation of CR 5-601, 5-619, 5-620, 10-114, 

10-116, and 10-117 if the evidence for the criminal arrest, charge, or prosecution was obtained solely as a 

result of the person seeking or receiving medical assistance. 

 

NOTE: No probable cause should be found if a participant of the Opioid-Associated Disease Prevention 

and Outreach Program is charged with violations of § 5-601, § 5-619, § 5-620, or § 5-902(c) or (d) of the 

Criminal Law Article under the circumstances specified in HG 24-908(a). 

 

HG 24-908 

(a)  Immunity from prosecution. --  A Program staff member, Program volunteer, or Program participant 

may not be arrested, charged, or prosecuted for violating § 5-601, § 5-619, § 5-620, or § 5-902(c) or (d) of 

the Criminal Law Article for possessing or distributing controlled paraphernalia or drug paraphernalia 

whenever the possession or distribution of the controlled paraphernalia or drug paraphernalia is a direct 

result of the employee's, volunteer's, or participant's activities in connection with the work of a Program 

authorized under this subtitle. 

 

(b)  Permitted prosecutions. --  Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) of this section, a Program 

staff member, Program volunteer, or Program participant is not immune from criminal prosecution for 

any activities not authorized or approved by a Program. 

  CR 5-601 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000-1 YEAR 

 

*1_1110* **CDS: ADMINISTER* 

 ...did administer to ____________ (name) a controlled 

dangerous substance of schedule ____, to wit: _____. 

NOTE: See CR 5-601(c) for subsequent offense penalties. 
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See note on page 118. 
 

 

 

 

 

  CR 5-601(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 – 6 MONTHS 

*1_1564* **CDS: POSS–CANNABIS OVER CIVIL USE** 

 ...did possess a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule I, to 

wit: cannabis, in an amount over civil use as defined under CR 

5-101. 

NOTE: Cannabis includes marijuana. 

NOTE: See CR 5-101(e-1) for definition of cannabis. Cannabis 

includes marijuana.  

NOTE: CR 5-101(e-2) - “Civil use amount” means:  

1. usable cannabis that exceeds 1.5 ounces, but does not 

exceed 2.5 ounces; 

2. concentrated cannabis that exceeds 12 grams but does 

not exceed 20 grams; or 

3. cannabis products containing delta-9-

tetrahydrocannabinol that exceeds 750 mg but does not 

exceed 1,250 mg. 

 

 

 

 

  CR 5-601(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000-1 YEAR 

*1_1111* **CDS: POSSESS-NOT CANNABIS** 

 ...did possess a controlled dangerous substance of schedule 

_______, to wit: ______. 

NOTE: See CR 5-601(c) for subsequent offense penalties. 

NOTE: Cannabis includes marijuana. 
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See note on page 118. 

  CR 5-601(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1112* **CDS: OBTAIN BY FRAUD** 

 ...did [obtain/attempt to obtain] [controlled paraphernalia, to 

wit: ____/a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ____, 

to wit: ______] by [fraud/deceit/mispresentation/subterfuge]. 

NOTE: See CR 5-601(c) for subsequent offense penalties. 

 

  CR 5-601(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 – 6 MONTHS 

*1_1560* **OBTAIN CANNABIS BY FRAUD** 

 ...did [obtain/attempt to obtain] [controlled paraphernalia, to 

wit: ____/a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ____, 

to wit: ______] by [fraud/deceit/misrepresentation/subterfuge]. 

NOTE: Cannabis includes marijuana. 

  CR 5-601(a)(2)(ii) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1113* **CDS OBTN BY ALTER PRESCRIP** 

 ...did [obtain/attempt to obtain] [controlled paraphernalia, to 

wit: _____/a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ___, 

to wit: _____] by [forging/altering] a [prescription/written 

order]. 

NOTE: See CR 5-601(c) for subsequent offense penalties. 

  CR 5-601(a)(2)(ii) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 – 6 MONTHS 

*1_1562* **CANNABIS OBTN BY ALTR PRES** 

 ...did [obtain/attempt to obtain] [controlled paraphernalia, to 

wit: _____/a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ___, 

to wit: _____] by [forging/altering] a [prescription/written 

order]. 

NOTE: Cannabis includes marijuana. 
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See note on page 118. 

  

  CR 5-601(a)(2)(iii)(iv) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1114* **CDS OBTN BY CONCEAL FLS ID** 

 ...did [obtain/attempt to obtain] [controlled paraphernalia, to 

wit: ____/a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ____, 

to wit: ____] by [the concealment of material facts/the use of a 

false name and address]. 

NOTE: See CR 5-601(c) for subsequent offense penalties. 

 

 

  

  CR 5-601(a)(2)(iii)(iv) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 – 6 MONTHS 

*1_1563* **OBTN CANNABIS CONCL FLS ID** 

 ...did [obtain/attempt to obtain] [controlled paraphernalia, to 

wit: ____/a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ____, 

to wit: ____] by [the concealment of material facts/the use of a 

false name and address]. 

NOTE: Cannabis includes marijuana. 

  

  CR 5-601(a)(2)(v) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1115* **CDS: OBTAIN BY PERSONATION** 

 ...did [obtain/attempt to obtain] [controlled paraphernalia, to 

wit: ____/a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ____, 

to wit: _____] by [falsely assuming the title of/representing 

himself to be] a [manufacturer/distributor/practitioner]. 

NOTE: See CR 5-601(c) for subsequent offense penalties. 
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See note on page 118. 

  CR 5-601(a)(2)(v) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 – 6 MONTHS 

*1_1561* **CANNABIS OBTN BY PERSONATN** 

 ...did [obtain/attempt to obtain] [controlled paraphernalia, to 

wit: ____/a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ____, 

to wit: _____] by [falsely assuming the title of/representing 

himself to be] a [manufacturer/distributor/practitioner]. 

NOTE: Cannabis includes marijuana. 

   

 

 

 

 

  CR 5-601(a)(2)(vi) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1117* **CDS OBTN BY MAKE FRGE PRES** 

 ...did [obtain/attempt to obtain] [controlled paraphernalia, to 

wit: ____/a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ____, 

to wit: ____] by [making/uttering] a [false/forged] 

[prescription/ written order]. 

NOTE: The wording herein above set out may also be used 

where one procures or attempts to procure the administration of 

a controlled dangerous substance or Controlled Paraphernalia 

by merely substituting the wording "[procure/attempt to 

procure] the administration", in lieu of "[obtain/attempt to 

obtain]".Unlawful Possession, etc.; obtain etc. Substance by 

Fraud, etc.; Forged Labels, etc. 

NOTE: See CR 5-601(c) for subsequent offense penalties. 
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  CR 5-601.2 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 3 YEARS 

*1_1734* **CANNABIS CULTIVATION VIOL** 

 ...did cultivate cannabis plants contrary to CR 5-601.2 

by______(choose from below) . 

1. cultivating in a location where the cannabis plants were 

subject to public view (including a view from another 

private property, without the the use of binoculars, 

aircraft, or other optical aids) 

2. failing to take reasonable precautions to ensure the 

cannabis plants were secure from unauthorized access 

and access by a person under the age of 21 years old. 

(“Reasonable precautions” includes using an enclosed 

locked space to which persons under the age of 21 years 

do not possess a key) 

3. cultivating on property [not lawfully in possession of 

cultivator/without the consent of the person in lawful 

possession of said property] 

4. cultivating under the age of 21 years old. 

5. cultivating more than two cannabis plants  

6. cultivating more than two cannabis plants in a residence 

(no more than two cannabis plants can be cultivated in a 

residence, regardless of the number of  21+ year olds 

reside there) 

 

  CR 5-602 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0233* **CDS POSS W/INT TO DIST** 

 ...did unlawfully possess a [controlled dangerous 

substance/controlled dangerous substance analogue] of 

schedule ____, to wit: ____ in sufficient quantity to reasonably 

indicate under all circumstances an intent to distribute or 

dispense the same. 

NOTE: DO NOT USE FOR SCHEDULE I OR SCHEDULE II 

NARCOTICS ( I.E., CRACK, COCAINE), LSD OR PCP, or 

CANNABIS (effective 1-1-2023 see CJIS Code 1-1692). 
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  CR 5-602 

PENALTY SECTION 5-609 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_1127* **CDS: DIST-PCP/LSD/HALLUCINOGEN** 

 ...did unlawfully distribute to _____(name) a [controlled 

dangerous substance/controlled dangerous substance analogue] 

of Schedule _____, to wit: ______ . (See List Below) 

NOTE: USE THIS CODE FOR  SCHEDULE I OR II PCP, 

LSD, OR HALLUCINOGEN LISTED UNDER CR 5-609. DO 

NOT USE FOR NARCOTICS OR OTHER CDS. 

CR 5-609 (a): 

 

NOTE: See CR 5-609 for subsequent offense penalties. 

CR 5-609 (a):     

(1) phencyclidine;      

(2) 1-(1-phenylcyclohexyl) piperidine;      

(3) 1-phenylcyclohexylamine;      

(4) 1-piperidinocyclohexanecarbonitrile;     

 (5) N-ethyl-1-phenylcyclohexylamine;      

(6) 1-(1-phenylcyclohexyl)-pyrrolidine;      

(7) 1-(1-(2-thienyl)-cyclohexyl)-piperidine;      

(8) lysergic acid diethylamide; or      

(9) 750 grams or more of 3, 4methylenedioxymethamphetamine 

(MDMA). 

  CR 5-602 

FELONY 

PENALTY SECTION 5-609 

$15,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1128* **CDS: POS W/I DIST:PCP/LSD/HALLUCINOGEN** 

 ...did possess a [controlled dangerous substance/controlled 

dangerous substance analogue] of Schedule ______, to wit: 

_____ in sufficient quantity to reasonably indicate under all 

circumstances an intent to distribute or dispense the same. 

NOTE: USE THIS CODE FOR  SCHEDULE I OR II PCP, 

LSD, OR HALLUCINOGEN LISTED UNDER CR 5-609. DO 

NOT USE FOR NARCOTICS OR OTHER CDS. 

NOTE: See CR 5-609 for subsequent offense penalties. 
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  CR 5-602 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_3550* **CDS DIST - OTHER** 

 ...did unlawfully distribute to ____(name) a [controlled 

dangerous substance/controlled dangerous substance analogue] 

of schedule ____, to wit: ____. 

NOTE: DO NOT USE FOR  SCHEDULE I OR II 

NARCOTICS ( I.E., CRACK, COCAINE), LSD OR PCP. 

NOTE: Effective 7-1-23, this charge does not apply to “Adult 

Sharing”, which means transferring Cannabis between persons 

who are 21 years of age or older without remuneration. 

“Adult sharing” DOES NOT include instances in which: 

1. Cannabis is given away contemporaneously with another 

reciprocal transaction between the same parties; 

2. A gift of Cannabis is offered or advertised in conjunction 

with an offer for the sale of goods or services; 

3. Or a gift of cannabis is contingent on a separate reciprocal 

transaction for goods or services. 

 

 

 

  CR 5-602 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_1118* **CDS DIST-NARC** 

 ...did unlawfully distribute to ____ a [controlled dangerous 

substance/controlled dangerous substance analogue] of 

Schedule ____, to wit: _____, a [narcotic drug/narcotic drug 

analogue]. 

NOTE: USE THIS CODE FOR SCHEDULE I OR 

SCHEDULE II NARCOTICS ( I.E., CRACK, COCAINE). DO 

NOT USE FOR OTHER CDS, LSD, OR PCP. 

NOTE: See CR 5-608 for enhanced penalties. 
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  CR 5-602 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_1119* **CDS: POSS W/I DIST: NARC** 

 ...did unlawfully possess a [controlled dangerous 

substance/controlled dangerous substance analogue] of 

Schedule ____, to wit: _____, a [narcotic drug/narcotic drug 

analogue], in sufficient quantity to reasonably indicate under all 

circumstances an intent to distribute or dispense the same. 

NOTE: USE THIS CODE FOR SCHEDULE I AND 

SCHEDULE II NARCOTICS ( I.E., CRACK, COCAINE). DO 

NOT USE FOR OTHER CDS, LSD, OR PCP. 

NOTE: See CR 5-608 for enhanced penalties. 

 

  CR 5-602(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

 

*1_1692* **CDS POSS W/INT DIST-CANNABIS** 

 ...did possess cannabis in sufficient quantity to reasonably 

indicate under all circumstances an intent to 

[distribute/dispense] said cannabis. 

NOTE: Possession of the civil use amount of cannabis or the 

personal use amount of cannabis without other evidence of an 

intent to distribute or dispense does not constitute a violation of 

this offense. 

NOTE: Effective 7-1-23, this charge does not apply to “Adult 

Sharing”, which means transferring Cannabis between persons 

who are 21 years of age or older without remuneration. 

“Adult sharing” DOES NOT include instances in which: 

1. Cannabis is given away contemporaneously with another 

reciprocal transaction between the same parties; 

2. A gift of Cannabis is offered or advertised in conjunction 

with an offer for the sale of goods or services; 

3. Or a gift of cannabis is contingent on a separate reciprocal 

transaction for goods or services. 
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  CR 5-603 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0660* **MANUFACTURE CDS ** 

 ...did unlawfully manufacture a controlled dangerous substance 

to wit: _________(describe). 

NOTE: See CR 5-607 for subsequent offense penalties.                                          

NOTE: Do not use for violations involving  schedule I or II 

narcotic drugs listed under CR 5-608  (i.e. crack, cocaine) or 

certain hallucinogenic substances under CR 5-609 (i.e. LSD  or 

PCP) or cannabis.     

  CR 5-603 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_1120* **MANUFACTURE CDS - NARCOTIC ** 

 ...did unlawfully manufacture a controlled dangerous substance 

to wit: _________(describe). 

NOTE: USE THIS CODE FOR SCHEDULE I OR II  

NARCOTICS ( I.E., CRACK, COCAINE). DO NOT USE 

FOR OTHER CDS, LSD, OR PCP. 

NOTE: See CR 5-608 for enhanced penalties. 

  CR 5-603 

FELONY 

PENALTY SECTION 5-609 

$15,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_1129* **MANUFACTURE CDS-PCP/LSD/HALLUCINOGEN** 

 ...did unlawfully manufacture a controlled dangerous substance 

to wit: _________(describe). 

NOTE: USE THIS CODE FOR SCHEDULE I OR II PCP, 

LSD, OR HALLUCINOGEN LISTED UNDER CR 5-609. DO 

NOT USE FOR NARCOTICS OR OTHER CDS. 

NOTE: See CR 5-609 for subsequent offense penalties. 
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 CR 5-603 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

 

*1_1693* **MANUFACTURE CDS-CANNABIS ** 

 ...did unlawfully [cultivate/grow/manufacture] 

[cannabis/cannabis product] under circumstances reasonably 

indicating an intention to use the same to 

[produce/sell/dispense] said [cannabis/cannabis product]. 

NOTE: Possession of the civil use amount of cannabis or the 

personal use amount of cannabis without other evidence of an 

intent to distribute or dispense does not constitute a violation of 

this offense. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 CR 5-603 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0237* **CDS: PRODUCTION EQUIPMENT** 

 ...did unlawfully [manufacture/distribute/possess] _____ 

(describe equipment) adopted for the production of a 

[controlled dangerous substance/controlled dangerous 

substance analogue] of Schedule _____ , to wit: ____, under 

circumstances reasonably indicating an intention to use same to 

produce such [controlled dangerous substance/controlled 

dangerous substance analogue]. 

NOTE: DO NOT USE FOR SCHEDULE I OR II 

NARCOTICS (I.E., CRACK, COCAINE), LSD OR PCP, OR 

CANNABIS. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

129. 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 5-603 

PENALTY SECTION 5-609 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1131* **CDS: PROD EQUIP:PCP/LSD/HALLUCINOGEN ** 

 ...did unlawfully [manufacture/ distribute/possess]  

___________ (describe equipment) adopted for the production 

of a [controlled dangerous substance/controlled dangerous 

substance analogue] of Schedule _____, to wit: ______  under 

circumstances reasonably indicating an intention to produce the 

same. 

NOTE: USE THIS CODE FOR SCHEDULE I OR II 

HALLUCINOGEN LISTED UNDER CR 5-609.  DO NOT 

USE FOR NARCOTICS (I.E., CRACK, COCAINE) OR 

OTHER CDS. 

NOTE: See CR 5-609 for subsequent offense penalties. 

 

 

 

  CR 5-603 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_1121* **NARC: PRODUCTION EQUIP** 

 ...did unlawfully [manufacture/possess/distribute to _____] a 

_____ (describe equipment) adopted for the production of a 

[controlled dangerous substance/controlled dangerous 

substance analogue] of Schedule ____, to wit: _____, a 

[narcotic drug/narcotic drug analogue], under circumstances 

reasonably indicating an intention to use same to produce and 

distribute the said drug. 

NOTE: USE THIS CODE FOR SCHEDULE I OR II 

NARCOTICS ( I.E., CRACK, COCAINE). DO NOT USE 

FOR OTHER CDS, LSD, OR PCP. 

NOTE: See CR 5-608 for enhanced penalties. 
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 CR 5-603 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 3 YEARS 

*1_1694* **CANNABIS: PRODUCTION EQUIPMENT** 

 ...did unlawfully [manufacture/distribute/possess] _____ 

(describe equipment/instrument/implement/device) adopted for 

the production of a [cannabis/cannabis product]  under 

circumstances reasonably indicating an intention to use the 

same to [produce/sell/dispense] said [cannabis/cannabis 

product]. 

NOTE: Possession of the civil use amount of cannabis or the 

personal use amount of cannabis without other evidence of an 

intent to distribute or dispense does not constitute a violation of 

this offense. 

 

  CR 5-604 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0234* **CDS/COUNTRFT CREATE/DISTR** 

 ...did [create/distribute to] ____(name) a counterfeit controlled 

dangerous substance of schedule ____, to wit: ____. 

 

 

 

  CR 5-604 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0235* **CDS/COUNTRFT POS W/INT DIS** 

 ...did possess with intent to distribute a counterfeit controlled 

dangerous substance of schedule ____, to wit: ____. 
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  CR 5-604 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0236* **CDS/COUNTERFEIT: EQUIPMENT** 

 …did [manufacture/distribute/possess] equipment that is 

designed to [print/imprint/reproduce] an [authentic/imitation] 

[trademark/trade name/identifying mark/imprint/number/device 

of ___] onto a [drug/container of a drug/label of a drug] 

rendering the drug a counterfeit substance. 

NOTE: See CR 5-607 for subsequent offense penalties.                                           

NOTE: Do not use for violations involving narcotic drugs listed 

under CR 5-608 or certain hallucinogenic substances under CR 

5-609.        

NOTE: All three of the above charges deal with counterfeit 

controlled dangerous substances, as defined in CR5-604. These 

are substances that have been made to look like a substance that 

is legally sold, or to resemble some other manufacturer's 

product. These sections should not be used to charge a violation 

dealing with a non-controlled substance which has been made 

to look like an illegal controlled dangerous substance. That 

charge is found in CR5-604. See the definitions contained in 

CR 5-604 if you have questions. 
  CR 5-604(b)(1) 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1122* **CDS: DIST CNTRFT NARC** 

 ...did [create/distribute to ____(name)] a counterfeit controlled 

dangerous substance of Schedule [I/II], to wit: _____, a 

counterfeit of a narcotic drug. 

  CR 5-604(b)(1) 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

PEN. SEC. CR 5-609 

*1_1556* **CDS: DIST CNTRFT PCP/LSD/HALLUCINOGEN ** 

 ...did [create/distribute to ____(name)] a counterfeit controlled 

dangerous substance of Schedule ____, to wit: _____. 
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  CR 5-604(b)(2) 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1123* **NARC/COUNTRFIT POS W/I DIS** 

 ...did possess with intent to distribute a counterfeit controlled 

dangerous substance of Schedule [I/II], to wit: ____, a 

counterfeit of a narcotic drug. 

  CR 5-604(b)(2) 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

PEN. SEC. CR 5-609 

*1_1557* **PCP/LSD/HALLUGN COUNTRFIT POS W/I DIS** 

 ...did possess with intent to distribute a counterfeit controlled 

dangerous substance of Schedule [I/II] ____, to wit: ____. 

  

  CR 5-604(c) 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1124* **NARC/COUNTERFIT EQUIPMENT** 

 ...did [manufacture/distribute/possess] ____ (describe 

equipment) for the purpose of rendering [a drug/a counterfeit of 

a narcotic drug], a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule 

[I/II], to wit: _____. 

  CR 5-604(c) 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

PEN. SEC. CR 5-609 

*1_1558* ** PCP/LSD/HALLUGN/COUNTERFIT EQUIPMENT** 

 ...did [manufacture/distribute/possess] ____ (describe 

equipment) for the purpose of rendering [a drug/a counterfeit 

of], a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule _____, to 

wit: _____. 
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  CR 5-605 

PENALTY SECTION 5-607 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0238* **COMM NUIS/ADMINISTER CDS** 

 ...did keep and maintain a common nuisance, to wit: _____ 

(describe, see note) resorted to by drug abusers for purposes of 

illegally administering [controlled dangerous 

substance/controlled dangerous substance analogue]. 

NOTE: See CR 5-607 for subsequent offense penalties. 

NOTE: Do not use for violations involving narcotic drugs listed 

under CR 5-608 or certain hallucinogenic substances under CR 

5-609. 

NOTE: A common nuisance can be any building, structure, 

vessel, vehicle, airplane, or any place whatsoever controlled by 

the defendant. Give an address if a building, or describe the 

vehicle, vessel, etc., and its location at the time and date 

charged. 

  

 

   

  CR 5-605 

PENALTY SECTION 5-607 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0239* **COMM NUIS/DISTRIB CDS** 

 ...did keep and maintain a common nuisance, to wit: ____ 

(describe) for the illegal 

[manufacture/distribution/dispensing/storage/concealment] of a 

[controlled dangerous substance/controlled dangerous 

substance analogue/controlled paraphernalia]. 

NOTE: See CR 5-607 for subsequent offense penalities. 

NOTE: Do not use for violaitons involving narcotic drugs listed 

under CR 5-608 or certain hallucinogenic substances under CR 

5-609. 
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CR 5-605 

PENALTY SECTION 5-609 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1132* **CDS: COM NUIS: ADMIN PCP/LSD/HALLUGN ** 

 ...did keep and maintain a common nuisance, to wit: _____ 

(describe, see note below) resorted to by drug abusers for 

purposes of illegally administering a [controlled dangerous 

substance/controlled dangerous substance analogue] of 

Schedule ____, to wit: _____ . 

 

NOTE: See CR 5-609 for list of substances and subsequent 

offense penalties. 

   

  CR 5-605 

PENALTY SECTION 5-609 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

   

*1_1133* **CDS: COM NUIS: DIST. PCP/LSD/HALLUGN ** 

 ...did keep and maintain a common nuisance, to wit: ____ 

(describe, see note above) for the illegal 

[manufacturing/distribution/dispensing/storage/ concealment] 

of a [controlled dangerous substance/controlled dangerous 

substance analogue] of Schedule ______, to wit: _____. 

NOTE: See CR 5-609 for list of substances and subsequent 

offense penalties. 
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  CR 5-605(a)(1) 

PENALTY SECTION 5-608 

FELONY 

 $15,000- 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

 

*1_1125* 
**CDS: COM NUIS: ADMIN NARC** 

 ...did keep and maintain a common nuisance, to wit: _____ 

(describe, see note below), resorted to by drug abusers for 

purposes of illegally administering a [narcotic controlled 

dangerous substance/narcotic controlled dangerous substance 

analogue] of Schedule [I/II], to wit: ______. 

NOTE: See CR 5-608 for enhanced penalties. 

 

  CR 5-605(a)(2) 

PENALTY SECTION 5-608 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1126* **CDS: COM NUIS: DIST. NARC** 

 ...did keep and maintain a common nuisance, to wit: ____ 

(describe, see note above), for the illegal 

[manufacturing/distribution/dispensing/ storage/concealment] 

of a [narcotic controlled dangerous substance/narcotic 

controlled dangerous substance analogue] of Schedule [I/II], to 

wit: _____. 

NOTE: See CR 5-608 for enhanced penalties. 

  CR 5-608.1(a) 

FELONY 

10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0908* **DIST/PWID CDS FENTANYL/HEROIN** 

 ...did knowingly [distribute to ______(name)/possess in 

sufficient quantity to indicate an intention to distribute] a 

controlled dangerous substance containing [a mixture that 

contains heroin and a detectable amount of fentanyl/a mixture 

of heroin and a detectable amount of an analogue of 

fentanyl/fentanyl/an anologue of fentanyl]. 

NOTE: This code may be charged in addition to applicable 

violations under CR 5-602. 
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CR 5-612 

FELONY 

5 YR MANDATORY MIN 

NO MAX JAIL TIME IN 

STATUTE 

$100,000.00 Max Fine 

NO MAX  

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0879* **CDS MANUF - LG AMT** 

 ...did unlawfully manufacture a controlled dangerous substance 

of Schedule __________, to wit: ____________, in the amount 

of ____________. (see note) 

NOTE:  Substance and unlawful amount must fall under CR 5-612 to 

charge. 
CR 5-612(a) – Unlawful Amounts 

1. 50 pounds or more of cannabis (including marijuana); 

2. 448 grams or more of cocaine; 

3. 448 grams or more of any mixture containing a detectable amount, 

as scientifically measured using representative sampling 

methodology, of cocaine; 

4. 448 grams or more of cocaine base, commonly known as “crack”; 

5. 28 grams or more of morphine or opium or any derivative, salt, 

isomer, or salt of an isomer of morphine or opium; 

6. 28 grams or more of any mixture containing a detectable amount, 

as scientifically measured using representative sampling 

methodology, of morphine or opium or any derivative, salt, isomer, 

or salt of an isomer of morphine or opium; 

7. 5 grams or more of fentanyl or any structural variation of fentanyl 

that is scheduled by the United States Drug Enforcement 

Administration; 

8. 28 grams or more of any mixture containing a detectable amount, 

as scientifically measured using representative sampling 

methodology, or fentanyl or any structural variation of fentanyl that 

is scheduled by the United States Drug Enforcement 

Administration; 

9. 1,000 dosage units or more of lysergic acid diethylamide; 

10. any mixture containing the equivalent of 1,000 dosage units of 

lysergic acid diethylamide; 

11. 16 ounces or more of phencyclidine in liquid form; 

12. 448 grams or more of any mixture containing a detectable amount, 

as scientifically measured using representative sampling 

methodology, of phencyclidine; 

13. 448 grams or more of methamphetamine; or 

14. 448 grams or more of any mixture containing a detectable amount, 

as scientifically measured using representative sampling 

methodology, of methamphetamine. 

NOTE: For the purpose of determining the quantity of a controlled 

dangerous substance involved in individual acts of manufacturing, the 

acts may be aggregated if each of the acts occurred within a 90-day 

period. 

NOTE: A person convicted of this charge faces a mandatory minimum 

sentence of 5 years imprisonment and a fine not exceeding $100,000. There 

is no statutory maximum for imprisonment. 
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  CR 5-612 

FELONY 

5 YR MANDATORY MIN 

NO MAX JAIL TIME IN 

STATUTE 

$100,000.00 Max Fine 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0880* **CDS DIST/DISPENSE- LG AMT** 

 ...did unlawfully [distribute/dispense] a controlled dangerous 

substance of Schedule __________, to wit: ____________, in 

the amount of ____________. (see note) 

NOTE:  Substance and unlawful amount must fall under CR 5-612 to 

charge. 
CR 5-612(a) – Unlawful Amounts 

1. 50 pounds or more of cannabis (including marijuana); 

2. 448 grams or more of cocaine; 

3. 448 grams or more of any mixture containing a detectable amount, 

as scientifically measured using representative sampling 

methodology, of cocaine; 

4. 448 grams or more of cocaine base, commonly known as “crack”; 

5. 28 grams or more of morphine or opium or any derivative, salt, 

isomer, or salt of an isomer of morphine or opium; 

6. 28 grams or more of any mixture containing a detectable amount, 

as scientifically measured using representative sampling 

methodology, of morphine or opium or any derivative, salt, isomer, 

or salt of an isomer of morphine or opium; 

7. 5 grams or more of fentanyl or any structural variation of fentanyl 

that is scheduled by the United States Drug Enforcement 

Administration; 

8. 28 grams or more of any mixture containing a detectable amount, 

as scientifically measured using representative sampling 

methodology, or fentanyl or any structural variation of fentanyl that 

is scheduled by the United States Drug Enforcement 

Administration; 

9. 1,000 dosage units or more of lysergic acid diethylamide; 

10. any mixture containing the equivalent of 1,000 dosage units of 

lysergic acid diethylamide; 

11. 16 ounces or more of phencyclidine in liquid form; 

12. 448 grams or more of any mixture containing a detectable amount, 

as scientifically measured using representative sampling 

methodology, of phencyclidine; 

13. 448 grams or more of methamphetamine; or 

14. 448 grams or more of any mixture containing a detectable amount, 

as scientifically measured using representative sampling 

methodology, of methamphetamine. 

NOTE: For the purpose of determining the quantity of a controlled 

dangerous substance involved in individual acts of manufacturing, the 

acts may be aggregated if each of the acts occurred within a 90-day 

period. 

NOTE: A person convicted of this charge faces a mandatory minimum 

sentence of 5 years imprisonment and a fine not exceeding $100,000. There 

is no statutory maximum for imprisonment. 
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  CR 5-612 

FELONY 

5 YR MANDATORY MIN 

NO MAX JAIL TIME IN 

STATUTE 

$100,000.00 Max Fine 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0881* **CDS POSSESS - LG AMT** 

 ...did unlawfully possess a controlled dangerous substance of 

Schedule __________, to wit: ____________, in the amount of 

____________. (see note) 

NOTE:  Substance and unlawful amount must fall under CR 5-612 to 

charge. 
CR 5-612(a) – Unlawful Amounts 

1. 50 pounds or more of cannabis (including marijuana); 

2. 448 grams or more of cocaine; 

3. 448 grams or more of any mixture containing a detectable amount, 

as scientifically measured using representative sampling 

methodology, of cocaine; 

4. 448 grams or more of cocaine base, commonly known as “crack”; 

5. 28 grams or more of morphine or opium or any derivative, salt, 

isomer, or salt of an isomer of morphine or opium; 

6. 28 grams or more of any mixture containing a detectable amount, 

as scientifically measured using representative sampling 

methodology, of morphine or opium or any derivative, salt, isomer, 

or salt of an isomer of morphine or opium; 

7. 5 grams or more of fentanyl or any structural variation of fentanyl 

that is scheduled by the United States Drug Enforcement 

Administration; 

8. 28 grams or more of any mixture containing a detectable amount, 

as scientifically measured using representative sampling 

methodology, of fentanyl or any structural variation of fentanyl that 

is scheduled by the United States Drug Enforcement 

Administration; 

9. 1,000 dosage units or more of lysergic acid diethylamide; 

10. any mixture containing the equivalent of 1,000 dosage units of 

lysergic acid diethylamide; 

11. 16 ounces or more of phencyclidine in liquid form; 

12. 448 grams or more of any mixture containing a detectable amount, 

as scientifically measured using representative sampling 

methodology, of phencyclidine; 

13. 448 grams or more of methamphetamine; or 

14. 448 grams or more of any mixture containing a detectable amount, 

as scientifically measured using representative sampling 

methodology, of methamphetamine. 

NOTE: For the purpose of determining the quantity of a controlled 

dangerous substance involved in individual acts of manufacturing, the 

acts may be aggregated if each of the acts occurred within a 90-day 

period. 

NOTE: A person convicted of this charge faces a mandatory minimum 

sentence of 5 years imprisonment and a fine not exceeding $100,000. There 

is no statutory maximum for imprisonment. 
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 Controlled Dangerous Substance Drug Kingpin 

  CR 5-613 

FELONY 

$1,000,000.00 20-40 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0488* **CDS-DRUG KINGPIN** 

 ...did as an [organizer/supervisor/financier/manager] in a 

conspiracy with ___, to [manufacture/distribute/bring into the 

State/transport into the State] a controlled dangerous substance 

of Schedule ___to wit:___, in the amount of ____(see note). 

NOTE: The type of CDS and the amount must equal one or 

more of the types and amounts set out in CR 5-612. The amount 

may be calculated on the basis of the aggregate amount of CDS 

involved in the conspiracy within a 90 day period. 

NOTE: A District Court Commissioner may not authorize the 

pre-trial release of a defendant charged as a drug kingpin under 

this section. 
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 Controlled Dangerous Substance Bring Into State 

  CR 5-614 

FELONY 

$50,000.00 - 25 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*3_3550* **CDS: IMPORT INTO STATE** 

 ...did unlawfully bring into this State (choose one):  

[at least 45 kilograms of cannabis (including marijuana), a 

controlled dangerous substance of Schedule I./ at least 28 grams 

of cocaine, a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule II./ a 

mixture containing at least 28 grams of cocaine, a controlled 

dangerous substance of Schedule II./ at least 4 grams of 

[morphine/opium], a controlled dangerous substance of 

Schedule I./ at least 4 grams of a [derivative/salt/isomer/salt of 

an isomer] of [morphine/ opium] a controlled dangerous 

substance of Schedule I./ at least 1000 dosage units of Lysergic 

Acid Diethylamide, a controlled dangerous substance of 

Schedule I./ a mixture containing the equivalent of at least 1000 

dosage units of lysergic acid diethylamide, a controlled 

dangerous substance of Schedule I./at least 28 grams of 

phencyclidine, a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule 

II./ at least 112 grams of a mixture containing phencyclidine, a 

controlled dangerous substance of Schedule II./at least 1000 

dosage units of methaqualone, a controlled dangerous substance 

of Schedule I./ at least 28 grams of methamphetamine,a 

controlled dangerous substance of Schedule II./ a mixture 

containing at least 28 grams of methamphetamine, a controlled 

dangerous substance of Schedule II./ at least 4 grams of 

[fentanyl /fentanyl analogue] a controlled dangerous substance 

of Schedule II.] 
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  CR 5-614(b) 

FELONY 

$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0730* **CDS: IMPORT 5 - 45 KILO CANNABIS** 

 ...did unlawfully bring into this state at least five kilograms, and 

less than 45 kilograms of cannabis. 

NOTE: Cannabis includes marijuana. 
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 Noncontrolled Substances Distribution 

  CR 5-617 

FELONY 

$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0246* **FAKE CDS: DIST/POSS W/I DIST** 

 ...did [distribute to _____/ attempt to distribute to _____/ 

possess with the intent to distribute] a non-controlled substance 

[represented to be a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule 

________, to wit: ______/intended for use and distribution as a 

controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ____, to wit: 

_____/under circumstances where one reasonably should know 

that the said substance would be used and distributed for use as 

a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ____, to wit: 

______]. 
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  CR 5-618 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0691* **CDS POS/PUR NONCONT SUBST** 

 ...did [possess/purchase] a noncontrolled substance reasonably 

believed to be a controlled dangerous substance. 

NOTE: "Elements" 

Noncontrolled substance packaged in a manner normally used 

for illegal distribution of controlled dangerous substance. 

Noncontrolled substance purchased and amount of 

consideration was substantially greater than the reasonable 

value of the non controlled substance. 

Physical appearance or noncontrolled substance substantially 

identical to that of a controlled dangerous substance. 
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See note on page 118. 

 Controlled Dangerous Substance 

Paraphernalia/Use or Possession W/Intent to Use - 

Deliver/Sell, Etc. - Delivery to Minor -Advertise 

  CR 5-619(c)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 

SUB. OFFENSE 

$2,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*5_3550* **CDS: POSS PARAPHERNALIA** 

 ...did [use/possess with intent to use] drug paraphernalia, to wit: 

_____ (describe paraphernalia), used to 

[plant/propagate/cultivate/grow/harvest/manufacture/ 

compound/convert/produce/process/prepare/pack/repack/store/c

ontain/conceal/inject/ingest/inhale/ introduce into the human 

body by ______ (describe method)] a controlled dangerous 

substance of Schedule _____, to wit: _____. 

 

  

  CR 5-619(d)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 

SUB. OFFENSE 

$2,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*6_3550* **CDS: DIST PARAPHERNALIA** 

 ...did [deliver and sell to ____/ possess with the intent to deliver 

and sell/manufacture with the intent to deliver and sell] drug 

paraphernalia, to wit: ____ (describe paraphernalia) 

[knowing/under circumstances where one reasonably should 

know] that the said paraphernalia would be used to 

[plant/propagate/cultivate/grow/harvest/manufacture/compound

/convert/produce/process/prepare/pack/repack/store/contain/con

ceal/inject/ ingest/inhale/introduce into the human body by 

_____ (describe method)] a controlled dangerous substance of 

Schedule ____, to wit: _____. 
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See note on page 118. 

 

  

  CR 5-619(d)(4) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$15,000.00 - 8 YEARS 

*7_3550* **CDS PARA-DELIVERY TO MINOR** 

 ...did, being 18 years of age or over, deliver to ____ (name), a 

person under 18 years of age and at least 3 years his junior, 

drug paraphernalia to wit: ___ [knowing/under circumstances 

where one reasonably should know] that it would be used to 

[plant/propagate/cultivate/grow/harvest/manufacture/ 

compound/convert/produce/process/prepare/pack/repack/store/c

ontain/conceal/ inject/ingest/inhale/introduce into the human 

body by ____ (describe)] a controlled dangerous substance of 

Schedule ____, to wit: _____. 

 

 

  

  CR 5-619(e) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 

SUB. OFFENSE 

$2,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*9_0082* **CDS PARA-ADVERTISE** 

 ...did unlawfully advertise [by sound truck/in ____(describe 

publication)] [knowing/under circumstances where one 

reasonably should know] that a purpose of the advertisement 

was to promote the sale and delivery of drug paraphernalia as 

described in CR 5-619(e). 
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See note on page 118. 

  CR 5-620 

MISDEMEANOR 

$25,000.00 - 4 YEARS 

 

*1_0257* **CDS MFG MAT POSS/DIST-NOT CANNABIS** 

 ...did [possess/distribute to __________] controlled 

paraphernalia, to wit: ___________under circumstances to 

reasonably indicate its use for illegal [manufacture/distribution/ 

dispensing] of a controlled dangerous substance to wit: ______. 

NOTE: Cannabis includes marijuana. 
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See note on page 118. 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 5-620(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$25,000.00 - 4 YEARS 

*1_0255* **CDS ADMIN EQUIP POSS/DIST** 

 ...did [possess/distribute to ___] controlled paraphernalia to 

wit:___(describe, see CR 5-101), under circumstances which 

reasonable indicate an intention to use said controlled 

paraphernalia for purposes of illegally adminstering a 

controlled dangerous substance to wit: ___(describe). 

NOTE: Do not use for violations involving cannabis (including 

marijuana). 
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  CR 5-621(b)(1) 

FELONY 

20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0493* **FIREARM/DRUG TRAF CRIME 

 ...did, during and in relation to a drug trafficking crime, possess 

a firearm, to wit: _______, under sufficient circumstances to 

constitute a nexus to the drug trafficking crime. 

NOTE: See CR 5-621(c) for enhanced, minimum, and 

subsequent offense penalties. 

NOTE: The minimum mandatory penalties of this offense are 

doubled if certain types of firearms are used in the offense, if a 

machine gun is used in the offense, or if a firearm silencer or 

muffler is used on any type firearm in the offense. SEE CR 4-

301 or PS 5-101 for the types of firearms that would enhance 

the penalties. 

NOTE: A "drug trafficking crime" is defined in CR 5-621 and 

includes all felonies or conspiracies to commit a felony under 

the controlled dangerous substances subtitle (CR 5-621). It does 

not include misdemeanor drug possession. 

 

 

 Controlled Dangerous Substance Distribute, Etc. 

W/Firearm 

  CR 5-621(b)(2) 

FELONY 

FIRST OFFENSE -  20 

YEARS 

SUB OFFENSE - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

THE MINIMUM 

SENTENCES ARE 

MANDATORY AND 

CONSECUTIVE 

*1_0487* **CDS: DISTR ETC. W/FIREARM** 

 ...did during and in relation to a drug trafficking crime, 

[use/wear/carry/transport] a firearm. 
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 Possession of Firearms 

  CR 5-622 

FELONY 

$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0692* **CDS-POSS OF FIREARMS** 

 ...did [possess/own/carry/transport] a firearm after being 

convicted of: _____ (select from the list below):   

1.  a felony under title 5 of the criminal law article; 

2.  a crime under the laws of another state or of the United 

States that would be a felony if committed in this State; 

3.  [conspiracy/attempt] to commit [a felony under title 5 of the 

criminal law article/a crime under the laws of the United States 

that would be a felony if committed in this State.] 

NOTE: In this section the term "firearm" includes handgun, 

antique firearm, rifle, shotgun, shot barrelled shotgun and short 

barrelled rifle as defined in CR 4-207, a pistol, revolver and 

antique pistol or revolver as defined in Art. 27, Sec. 481E, and 

a machine gun as defined in CR 4-101, Annotated Code of 

Maryland. 
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 Proceeds from Offenses 

  CR 5-623(b) 

FELONY 

FIRST OFFENSE 

$250,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

OR TWICE VALUE OF 

PROCEEDS WHICHEVER 

IS GREATER 

SUB OFFENSE $500,000.00 

- 10 YEARS 

OR 5 TIMES VALUE OF 

PROCEEDS WHICHEVER 

IS GREATER 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0673* **CDS-PROCEEDS FROM OFFENSE** 

 ...did, with the intent to promote an offense/conceal and 

disguise the [nature/location/source/ownership/control of 

proceeds] of an offense involving a controlled dangerous 

substance of Schedule ____, to wit: _____, did 

[receive/acquire/engage in/conduct financial transactions 

involving proceeds], knowing that the proceeds were derived 

from a controlled dangerous substance offense. 

NOTE: See CR 5-623(c ) for penalty section and subsequent 

offense penalty of 10 years and/or  the greater of $500,000 or 5 

times the value of proceeds involved in the financial 

transaction. 

NOTE:  "Proceeds" means money or any other property with a 

value greater than $10,000.00. NOTE:  Each financial 

transaction is a separate offense. 
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  CR 5-623(b)(3)(4)(5) 

FELONY 

$250,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0675* **CDS-PROCEEDS FROM OFFENSE** 

 ...did, with the intent to [promote an offense/conceal and 

disguise the nature, location, source, ownership and control of 

proceeds of an offense] involving a controlled dangerous 

substance of Schedule ____, to wit: _____, did [give/sell/ 

transfer/trace/invest/conceal/transport/maintain] an interest in 

proceeds and did [direct/promote/plan/organize/ 

initiate/finance/manage/supervise/facilitate]the transportation 

and transfer of proceeds, knowing that the proceeds were 

derived from a controlled dangerous substance offense. 

NOTE: "Proceeds" means money or any other property with a 

value greater than $10,000.00. 

NOTE: Each financial transaction is a separate offense. 

 

 

  

  CR 5-624(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_0710* **CDS ADM W/VIOLENT CRIME** 

 ...did administer a [controlled dangerous substance / other drug] 

to wit: __________ to ___________ (name) without [his/her] 

knowledge and did commit against __________ (name person) 

_____________ (name crime), a crime of violence as defined 

under CR 14-101 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 
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  CR 5-624(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_0715* **CDS ADM W/SEX OFFENSE** 

 ...did administer a [controlled dangerous substance / other drug] 

to wit: __________ to ___________ (name) without [his/her] 

knowledge and did commit against __________ (name person), 

a sexual offense in the third degree under CR 3-307 of the 

Annotated Code of Maryland .  

NOTE: A sentence imposed under this section may be imposed 

separate from and consecutive to or concurrent with a sentence 

for any offense based on the act or acts establishing the 

violation of this section.  

NOTE: "Drug" means:  

1. Substances recognized in the official United States 

Pharmacopoeia, official Homeopathic Pharmacopoeia of the 

United States, or official National Formulary, or any 

supplement to any of them; and  

2. Substances intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigaton, 

treatment, or prevention of disease in man or other animals and 

3. Substances (other than food) intended to affect the structure 

or any function of the body of man or other animals and 

4. Substances intended for use as a component of any article 

specified in clauses (1), (2), or (3) of this paragraph; but does 

NOT include devices or their components, parts, or accessories. 
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  CR 5-627(a) 

FELONY 

$20,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

SUB OFFENSE $40,000.00 - 

40 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0483* **CDS DIST: SCHOOL PROP/BUS** 

 ...did [manufacture/distribute to _____/conspire with ____ to 

distribute] a [controlled dangerous substance/controlled 

dangerous substance analogue] of Schedule _____, to wit: 

______ [on a school bus/on the property/within 1000 feet of the 

property] of ______ (name or identify school). 

NOTE: See CR 5-627(c) for subsequent offense penalties. 

NOTE: Any elementary or secondary school, public or private, 

will satisfy this section, whether or not in session. Colleges and 

Universities are not covered by this section. 

 CDS Distribution on or Near School Property 

  CR 5-627(a) 

FELONY 

$20,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

SUB OFFENSE $40,000.00 - 

40 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0484* **CDS: P W/I DIST: SCHL BUS/PROP** 

 ...[did/did conspire with ___(name) to] possess a [controlled 

dangerous substance/controlled dangerous substance analogue] 

of Schedule ____, to wit: _____ in sufficient quantity to 

indicate an intent to distribute the said substance [on a school 

bus/on the property/ within 1000 feet of the property] of _____ 

(name or identify school). 

NOTE: See CR 5-627(c) for subsequent offense penalties. 

NOTE: Any elementary or secondary school, public or private, 

will satisfy this section, whether or not in session. Colleges and 

Universities are not covered by this section. 
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  CR 5-628(a)(1) 

FELONY 

$20,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_5409* **HIRE ETC MINOR: DIST CDS** 

 ...did unlawfully [hire/solicit/engage/use] _____, a minor, on 

behalf of _____ (defendant), for the purpose of[ 

manufacturing/distributing/delivering] a [controlled dangerous 

substance/conrolled dangerous substance analogue] of Schedule 

______, to wit: _____, in sufficient quantity to reasonably 

indicate under all the circumstances an intent to distribute the 

said substance. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 5-628(a)(2) 

FELONY 

$20,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0489* **IMPORT MINOR: DRUG FELONY** 

 ...did transport, carry, and bring ______(name), a minor, into 

the State of Maryland for the purpose of using said minor in the 

commission of a felony, to wit: ______. 

NOTE:  Only CDS violations under CR 5-602, 5-603, 5-604, 5-

605, 5-606, 5-612, 5-613, 5-617, 5-627 will qualify to permit a 

defendant to be charged under this section.  
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  CR 5-701(d)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0010* **PRESC: ILLEGAL MANUFAC** 

 ...did unlawfully [manufacture/distribute] a prescription drug, to 

wit: ______. 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 5-701(d)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0264* **PRES ILL POS W/IN DIST** 

 ...did unlawfully possess a prescription drug, to wit: ____, in 

sufficient quantity to indicate an intent to distribute said drug. 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 5-701(d)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0270* **PRESCRIP/FALSE LABEL** 

 ...did unlawfully affix a [false/forged] label to a [package/ 

container/other receptacle] containing a prescription drug. 
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  CR 5-701(d)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0271* **PRESCRIP/REMOVE LABEL** 

 ...did unlawfully [omit/remove/alter/obliterate] a [label/ 

symbol] on a prescription drug as required by 

[Federal/State/local] law. 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 5-701(d)(4)(i) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0265* **PRESCR OBTAIN BY FRAUD** 

 ...did unlawfully [obtain/attempt to obtain] ______, a 

prescription drug, by [fraud/decei/misrepresentation] to wit: 

______ (describe scheme). 

 

 

 

  CR 5-701(d)(4)(ii) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0267* **PRESC OBTN ALTER ORDER** 

 ...did unlawfully [obtain/attempt to obtain] ____, a prescription 

drug, by [forging/altering] a [prescription/written order]. 
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  CR 5-701(d)(4)(iii)(iv) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0266* **PRESC OBTN CONCEAL/FALSE INFO** 

 ...did unlawfully [obtain/attempt to obtain] ____, a prescription 

drug, by [concealing a material fact/using a false name/using a 

false address]. 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 5-701(d)(4)(v) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0268* **PRESC OBTN IMPERSONATN** 

 ...did unlawfully [obtain/attempt to obtain] _____, a 

prescription drug, by [representing [himself/herself] to be 

______(name)/falsely assuming the title of______(name)] a 

[manufacturer/distributor/practitioner]. 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 5-701(d)(4)(vi) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0269* **PRESC OBTN MKE FORGERY** 

 ...did unlawfully [obtain/attempt to obtain] ____ a prescription 

drug, by [making/uttering] a [false/forged] [prescription/ 

written order]. 
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  CR 5-702(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 12 MONTHS 

*1_0018* **CDS-SELL SUBSTITUTE DRUG** 

 ...did, being engaged in the business, knowingly sell and deliver 

to ____ (person) a [drug/medicine/chemical preparation for 

medicinal use] different from the [prescription drug/controlled 

dangerous substance/medicine/chemical preparation] [order by 

the said _____(name)/required by the said prescription]. 

NOTE: Applies to pharmacists and any other person or 

corporation in the business of selling prescription drug, 

controlled dangerous substance, medicines, chemicals or 

preparations for medical use. 

NOTE: DOES NOT apply to pharmacist supplying generic 

version of name-brand drug w/physician's permission. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 5-703(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0025* **CDS-UNSOLICIT MAILING** 

 ...did mail ____ [prescription drug/controlled dangerous 

substance/medicine] by mail, addressed to ["resident"/ 

"occupant"] ____ (name person) who did not request such 

drugs, etc., to be mailed to [him/her]. 
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 Smelling/Inhaling Harmful Substance-Prohibited 

  CR 5-708(b)(1)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_5599* **INHALE/SMELL INHALANT** 

 ...did deliberately [smell/inhale] ________, a [drug/noxious 

substance/chemical] containing [ketones / aldehydes / butane/ 

butyl nitrate / nitrous oxide / menthyl benzene / organic acetates 

/ ether / chlorinated hydrocarbons / fluorinated hydrocarbons / 

solvents releasing toxic vapors] in an amount to cause 

[intoxication/inebriation/excitement/stupefaction/a dulling of 

the brain or nervous system]. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 5-709(b)(1)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_0272* **POSS INHALANT FOR DIST** 

 ...did possess with the intent to distribute____, a [drug/noxious 

substance/chemical] containing _______  (See CR 5-708), with 

the [intent to induce unlawful inhaling of said 

substance/knowledge that another will unlawfully inhale said 

substance]. 
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  CR 5-709(b)(1)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_3500* ** DIST INHALANT TO INHALE** 

 ...did distribute ____ a [drug/noxious substance/chemical] 

containing _______  (See CR 5-708) to _____(name), with the 

[intent to induce unlawful inhaling of said substance/knowledge 

that said person would unlawfully inhale said substance]. 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 5-709(c)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 -  18 MONTHS 

*1_0273* **INSTRUCT INHALING-INHALANT** 

 ...did instruct ____(name), in the unlawful inhaling of ____, 

[drug/noxious substance/chemical] (see CR 5-708). 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 5-709(c)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 -  18 MONTHS 

*1_0735* **DIST BUTANE CAN TO MINOR** 

 ...did distribute a butane canister to, ________(name), a minor. 
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  CR 5-902(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0259* **CDS REGIS. REMOV/ALTR LABL** 

 ...did [knowingly/intentionally][omit/remove/alter/obliterate] 

____ (symbol) required by federal law. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 5-902(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0260* **CDS REGIS. RECORDS FAILURE** 

 ...did [knowingly/intentionally]  [refuse/fail] to [make/keep/ 

furnish] a [record/ notification/order 

from/statement/invoice/information] required under Title 5 of 

the Criminal Law Article. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 5-902(a)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0261* **CDS REGIS REFUS AUTHR INSP** 

 ...did [knowingly/intentionally] refuse to permit _____ (name), 

an authorized person,to enter premises required by law to be 

inspected. 
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  CR 5-902(a)(4)(i)(ii) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0262* **CDS REGIS/NUISANCE LOCATN** 

 ...did, as a [registrant/authorized person],  

[knowingly/intentionally] [keep/maintain] a 

[store/shop/warehouse/dwelling house/building, etc.], which is 

[resorted to by drug abusers for the purpose of using controlled 

dangerous substance/used for the keeping and selling of 

controlled dangerous substance contrary to law]. 

 

  

  CR 5-902(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_3550* **UNAUTH CDS-DIST/MAN/DIS REG** 

 … did as a registrant and without authorization under [his/her] 

registration, [manufacture/distribute/dispense] a controlled 

dangerous substance to wit: ______(describe) to ________ 

(name) another [registrant/authorized person]  without 

NOTE: This section applies only to Controlled Dangerous 

Substances of Schedules I and II. 

 

  

  CR 5-903(a) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_0263* **CDS USE OF INV REGIS NMBR** 

 ...did willfully use a registration number which is 

[fictitious/revoked/ suspended/issued to another person] in the 

course of the manufacture and distribution of a controlled 

dangerous substance of Schedule ____, to wit: ____. 
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 Unlawful Acts - Registrants 

  CR 5-904(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

$50,000.00 - CIVIL FINE 

*1_0258* **CDS TO UNAUTHOR REGISTRANT** 

 ...did distribute to _____ another [registrant/unauthorized 

person], a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ____, to 

wit: _____, not authorized by [his/her] registration. 

 

 

  

  CR 5-904(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

$50,000.00 - CIVIL FINE 

*8_3550* **CDS REGISTRANT UNAUTH MFG** 

 ...did manufacture a controlled dangerous substance of 

Schedule ____, to wit: ______, which substance was not 

authorized by registration. 

 

 

 Distribution by Registrants W/O Order Form, Etc. 

Registration Number 

  CR 5-904(a)(2) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*9_3550* **CDS REGISTRNT DIST NO FORM** 

 ...did, as a registrant, in the course of [his/her] legitimate 

business, distribute to _____ a controlled dangerous substance 

of Schedule [I/II], to wit: ______, without an order form. 
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ARSON AND BURNING 

NOTE: "Dwelling: means a structure, regardless of whether an individual is actually present, any 

portion of which has been adapted for overnight accommodation of individuals, including any 

kitchen, shop, barn, adjoining the structure. 

"Maliciously" describes an act done with intent to harm a person or property. 

"Occupied structure" means a structure, other than a dwelling in or on which at the time of the 

offense another individual who is not a participant in the offense is present. 

"Structure" means a building, other construction, vehicle, or watercraft, including any barn, 

stable, garage, pier, wharf, boathouse, and any facility attached to a pier or wharf; any shop, 

storehouse, warehouse, factory, mill, house of worship, meeting house, courthouse, workhouse, 

school, tent, public building, or public bridge; and any motor vehicle, aircraft, boat, ship, and 

railroad car. 

"Willfully" describes an act which is done intentionally, knowingly, and purposely. 

If a structure is divided into separately owned or leased units, each unit shall be considered a 

separate structure for purposes of a prosecution under this subheading. 

 

  CR 6-102(a) 

FELONY 

$50,000.00 - 30 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

SUB. CONVICTION, 

ENHANCED PENALTY 

*1_6500* **ARSON-FIRST DEGREE** 

 ...did wilfully and maliciously [set fire/burn] a 

[dwelling/occupied structure], to wit: _______, (give address or 

describe structure as in "the dwelling house of ______(name)," 

or "the occupied barn of ____ (name)," or "the occupied garage 

of (name).") in violation of CR 6-102(a) of the Annotated Code 

of Maryland. 

NOTE: The dwelling or occupied structure may belong to the 

accused or another. Any structure that is attached to a dwelling 

house, such as an attached garage or shed, is a part of the 

dwelling house. Any structure not attached to a dwelling house 

must be an "Occupied Structure" (see definition, previous page) 

to qualify for this section. Any burning or charring of any 

portion of the dwelling or occupied structure will satisfy the 

statute. 

 

 

 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

165. 
 

  

  CR 6-103 

FELONY 

$30,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_6501* **ARSON 2ND DEGREE** 

 ...did wilfully and maliciously [set fire to/burn] a structure, to 

wit: _____(give address or otherwise describe structure, as in 

above section), in violation of CR 6-103 of the Annotated Code 

of Maryland. 

NOTE: The property may belong to the accused, or another. 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 6-104(b) 

FELONY 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_6502* **MALICIOUS BURNING/1ST DEG** 

 ...did wilfully and maliciously [set fire to/burn] the personal 

property of ______ (name), to wit: _____ (brief description of 

property), the damage to the property being $1,000.00 or more, 

in violation of CR 6-104(b) of the Annotated Code of 

Maryland. 
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  CR 6-105(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_6503* **MALICIOUS BURNING/2ND DEG** 

 ...did wilfully and maliciously [set fire to/burn] the property 

of_______ (name), to wit: _________ (briefly describe 

property), the damage to the property being less than $1,000.00, 

in violation of CR 6-105(b) of the Annotated Code of 

Maryland. 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 6-106 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_6504* **MALICIOUS BURN/FRAUD** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud, [set fire to/burn] property, to wit: 

_______ (describe property), in violation of CR 6-106 of 

Annotated of Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: This section may be charged with any other arson or 

malicious burning section if there is also evidence of an intent 

to defraud (such as a fraudulent claim for damages or 

insurance). A separate sentence may be imposed concurrently 

or consecutively. 
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  CR 6-107 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_6505* **ARSON/THREAT** 

 ...did threaten [verbally/in writing] to [set fire to and 

burn/explode a destructive device] [in/on/under] a structure, to 

wit: ____(describe structure) in violation of CR 6-107 of the 

Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: A destructive explosive device is defined in CR 4-501. 

NOTE: Structure includes occupied and unoccupied for this 

section. 

 

 

  CR 6-108 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 30 DAYS 

*2_2003* **ARSON-TRASH CONTAINER** 

 ...did wilfully and maliciously [set fire to/burn] the contents of a 

[dumpster/trash containe/trash receptacle] belonging to another 

person in violation of CR 6-108 of the Annotated Code of 

Maryland. 

NOTE: This applies to the contents only, and the trash 

container must belong to someone other than the defendant. It is 

not necessary to allege who it did belong to, merely that it did 

not belong to the defendant. 
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Burglary 

  

  CR 6-202(a) 

FELONY 

20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_3000* **BURGLARY-FIRST DEGREE** 

 ...did break and enter the dwelling house of ______ (owner, 

lessee, etc.), located at _______, with the intent to commit theft 

in violation of CR 6-202 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: "Theft" includes both misdemeanor and felony theft. 

NOTE: If a building or structure is divided into separately 

owned or leased units, each unit may not be considered a 

separate dwelling or storehouse for purposes of a prosecution 

under this subheading, unless it is objectively apparent that 

each unit constitutes a separate dwelling or storehouse. 

NOTE: A vehicle such as a motor home or RV, or a tent, is not 

normally viewed as a "dwelling" within the meaning of this 

statute. However, if a tent or vehicle is being used as a dwelling 

it may qualify as such under this subheading. 

 

  CR 6-202(b) 

FELONY 

25 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_1338* **HOME INVASION ** 

 ...did break and enter the dwelling house of ______ (owner, 

lessee, etc.), located at _______, with the intent to commit  a 

crime of violence in violation of CR 6-202 of the Annotated 

Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: For a list of crimes of violence, see CR 14-101. 
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  CR 6-203(a) 

FELONY 

15 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_3010* **BURGLARY/2ND DEGREE/GENERAL** 

 ...did break and enter the storehouse of ______ (owner, lessee, 

etc), located at ______, with the intent to commit [a theft/ a 

crime of violence/arson in the second degree] in violation of 

CR 6-203 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: For a list of crimes of violence, see Part I. 

NOTE: "Storehouse" retains its judicially determined meaning 

and also means any building, other construction, or watercraft, 

including: any barn, stable, garage, pier, wharf, boathouse and 

any facility attached to a pier or wharf; any shop, storeroom, 

warehouse, factory, mill, house of worship, meetinghouse, 

courthouse, workhouse, school, or public building and any 

trailer, aircraft, boat, ship, or railroad car. 

NOTE: If a building or structure is divided into separately 

owned or leased units, each unit may not be considered a 

separate dwelling or storehouse for purposes of a prosecution 

under the subheading,unless it is objectively apparent that each 

unit constitutes a separate dwelling or storehouse. 
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  CR 6-203(b) 

FELONY 

20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_3015* **BURGLARY/2ND DEGREE/FIREARM** 

 ...did break and enter the storehouse of ______ (owner, lessee), 

with the intent to steal, take and carry away a firearm, to wit: 

___, in violation of CR 6-203(b) of the Annotated Code of 

Maryland. 

NOTE: "Firearm" retains its statutorily provided definitions of:  

1. Handgun, antique firearm, rifle, shotgun, short-barreled 

shotgun, and short-barreled rifle, and those terms are defined in 

CR 4-201; 

2. Pistol, revolver, and antique pistol or revolver, as those terms 

as are defined in CR 4-201; 

3. Machine gun, as defined in CR 4-401; 

4. Any other firearm that has not been modified to render it 

permanently inoperative. 

NOTE: If a building or structure is divided into separately 

owned or leased units, each unit may not be considered a 

separate dwelling or storehouse for purposed of a prosecution 

under this subheading, unless it is objectively apparent that 

each unit constitutes a separate dwelling or storehouse. 
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  CR 6-204 

FELONY 

10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_3020* **BURGLARY-THIRD DEGREE** 

 ...did break and enter the dwelling of _____ (owner,lessee, 

etc.), located at _____ to commit a crime, to wit: ______, in 

violation of CR 6-204 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: If a building or structure is divided into separately 

owned or leased units, each unit may not be considered a 

separate dwelling or storehouse for purposes of a prosecution 

under this subheading, unless it is objectively apparent that 

each unit constitutes a separate dwelling or storehouse. 

NOTE: The violation created under this section is a lesser 

included offense of a violation under CR6-202. Accordingly, if 

a violation arising out of the same criminal incident is charged 

under CR 6-202, there is no need to charge specifically under 

this section unless there is evidence that the defendant had the 

specific intent to commit two crimes, one of which would 

qualify under CR 6-202 and the other of which would not. 

 

 

 

  CR 6-205(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

3 YEARS 

*2_3030* **BURGLARY-FOURTH DEGREE-DWELLING** 

 ...did break and enter the dwelling of _______(owner, lessee, 

etc), located at _____, in violation of CR 6-205(a) of the 

Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: If a building or structure is divided into separately 

owned or leased units, each unit may not be considered a 

separate dwelling or storehouse for purposes of a prosecution 

under the subheading, unless it is objectively apparent that each 

unit constitutes a separate dwelling or storehouse. 

NOTE: The violation created under this section is a lesser 

included offense of any violation under sections 202, 203 and 

204. Accordingly, if a violation arising from the same criminal 

incident is charged under those sections, there is no need to 

charge specifically under this section UNLESS criminal tools 

were used. See Burglary 4th Degree/Tools. 
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  CR 6-205(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

3 YEARS 

*1_1130* **BURGLARY-FOURTH DEGREE-STOREHOUSE** 

 ...did break and enter the storehouse of _______(owner, lessee, 

etc), located at _____, in violation of CR 6-205(b) of the 

Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: If a building or structure is divided into separately 

owned or leased units, each unit may not be considered a 

separate dwelling or storehouse for purposes of a prosecution 

under the subheading, unless it is objectively apparent that each 

unit constitutes a separate dwelling or storehouse. 

NOTE: The violation created under this section is a lesser 

included offense of any violation under sections 202, 203 and 

204. Accordingly, if a violation arising from the same criminal 

incident is charged under those sections, there is no need to 

charge specifically under this section UNLESS criminal tools 

were used. See Burglary 4th Degree/Tools. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 6-205(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

3 YEARS 

*2_3040* **BURGLARY-4TH DEGREE THEFT** 

 ...was [in/on] the [dwelling/storehouse/yard/garden/other area, 

to wit: ____] of _____ (owner, lessee, etc) located at ______, 

with the intent to commit theft in violation of CR 6-205(c) of 

the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: If a building or structure is divided into separately 

owned or leased units, each unit may not be considered a 

separate dwelling or storehouse for the purpose of a prosecution 

under this subheading, unless it is objectively apparent that 

each unit constitutes a separate dwelling or storehouse. 

NOTE: A person convicted of a violation of CR 7-104 may not 

also be convicted of violating this part of CR 6-205(c), based 

on the act or acts establishing the violation of CR 7-104. 
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  CR 6-205(d) 

MISDEMEANOR 

3 YEARS 

*2_3045* **BURGLARY-4TH DEGREE/PERMIT TOOL USE** 

 ...did permit the use of burglar's tools; to wit: _____, in the 

commission of a burglary. 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 6-205(d) 

MISDEMEANOR 

3 YEARS 

*2_3050* **BURGLARY-4TH DEGREE/TOOLS** 

 ...did possess burglar's tools, to wit: ____, with the intent to use 

them in the commission of a burglary. 

NOTE: "Burglar's Tools" means a picklock, key, crowbar, 

prybar, jack, or bit; nitroglycerin, dynamite, gunpowder, or 

other explosive material; an acetylene torch, electric arc, 

burning bar, thermal lance, oxygen lance, or similar device 

capable of burning through metal, concrete, or other solid 

material; or any other tool, instrument, or device that has been 

adapted, designed, or used for committing or facilitating the 

commission of a burglary offense. 
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  CR 6-206(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

3 YEARS 

*2_3080* **BURG TOOLS-MOT. VEH/POSS** 

 ...did possess burglar's tools, to wit: ______ with the intent to 

use the same in the commission of a crime involving the 

breaking and entering of a motor vehicle. 

 

 

  

  CR 6-206(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

3 YEARS 

*2_3090* **ROGUE AND VAGABOND** 

 ...was [in/on] the motor vehicle of ____ (owner, lessee, etc.), 

with the intent to commit theft of [the vehicle/ property within 

the motor vehicle/property on the motor vehicle]. 
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  CR 6-207 

FELONY 

20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_3060* **BURGLARY WITH EXPLOSIVES** 

...did commit burglary in the [first/second/third] degree at 

_____ (location) and did [open/attempt to open] a 

[vault/safe/secure repository] by the use of a destructive device, 

as defined in Section 4-501 of this article, in violation of CR 6-

207 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: Since an explosive is a burglar's tool, a separate charge 

of "Burglary 4th Degree/Poss. Tools (2-3050) should normally 

accompany this section. 

NOTE: A sentence for violation of this section may be imposed 

separate from and consecutive to or concurrent with a sentence 

for any other offense arising from the same criminal incident. 

NOTE: Section 4-501 defines "Destructive Device" as 

explosive, incendiary, or toxic material that has been combined 

with a delivery or detonating apparatus so as to be capable of 

inflicting injury to persons or damage to property. "Destructive 

Devices" include devices which are primarily designed and 

manufactured for military purposes as instrumentalities of 

destruction, including any bomb, grenade, mine, shell, missile, 

flame-thrower, or poison gas; and any explosive, incendiary, or 

toxic material which has been delibrately modified, 

containerized or otherwise equipped with any sort of special 

delivery, activation or detonation component so as to give it the 

destructive characteristics of a military ordnance, including a 

molotov cocktail, pipe bomb, or petroleum soaked ammonium 

nitrate. 
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  CR 6-208 

FELONY 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_3070* **B & E RESEARCH FACILITY** 

 ...did break and enter into ____, a research facility, without the 

permission of said research facility, to [obtain unauthorized 

control over/alter or eradicate/ damage or deface/move research 

property in a manner intended to cause harm to/ destroy or 

remove/and engage in conduct that results in the removal of] 

research property, to wit: _____, in violation of CR 6-208 of the 

Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: "Research Facility" means any enclosure or separately 

secure yard, pad, pond, laboratory, pasture, or pen, the purpose 

of which is to conduct research, house research subjects, or 

store supplies, records, data, prototypes, or equipment 

necessary to or derived from research. 

NOTE: "Research Property" means any property related to 

research in a research facility, regardless of value, including 

any sample, specimen, research subject, record, data, test result, 

or proprietary information. 
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  CR 6-301 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 60 DAYS 

*3_4025* **MAL DESTR PROP/ VALUE - $1,000** 

 ...did willfully and maliciously [destroy/injure/deface]______ 

(describe), the [real/personal] property of _____ (owner/lessee, 

etc.). 

NOTE:  Under CR 6-301(f), value of damage is not a 

substantive element of crime and need not be stated in the 

charging document. However, if value cannot be determined, or 

under $1,000, use this charge to ensure correct penalty. 

  CR 6-301 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 

*3_4030* **MAL DESTR PROP VALUE $1,000+** 

 ...did willfully and maliciously [destroy/injure/deface] ____ 

(describe), the [real/personal] property of ____ (owner/lessee, 

etc.). 

NOTE:  Under CR 6-301(f), value of damage is not a 

substantive element of crime and need not be stated in the 

charging document. However, if there is evidence the value is 

at least $1,000, use this charge to ensure correct penalty. 

  CR 6-301(e) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 

*3_4035* **MAL DES-SCHEME/VALU $1,000+** 

 ...did, pursuant to one scheme and continuing course of 

conduct, wilfully and maliciously destroy, injure, deface and 

molest ____________ (list all property damaged), the property 

of ____(list all owners or lessees). 

NOTE: The State may use this charge to combine the value of 

all damaged property to achieve an aggregate value of over 

$1000. Use this charge if value of damage is $1000 or more. 

NOTE: CR 6-301 specifically provides that malicious 

destruction can be committed by commission of an "act of 

graffiti." An act of "Graffiti" means a violation of this section 

by permanent drawing, permanent painting or making of any 

permanent mark or inscription on the real or personal property 

of another without their permission. 

In addition to the penalties provided, a person who violates this 

section shall be ordered to pay restitution or perform 

community service or both. 
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 Throwing Missiles - Occupied Vehicle of 

Instrumentality of Public Transportation 

  CR 6-302 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_2903* **MAL DEST MISSILES AT VEH.** 

 ...did unlawfully and willfully [throw/shoot/propel] a _____ 

(describe object, see note) at or into a vehicle to wit: ______ 

(describe) occupied by _____ (see note). 

NOTE: Item thrown or propelled may be a rock, stone, brick, a 

piece of iron steel, or other like metal; or any dangerous or 

deadly missile. 

NOTE: The Acts of 1997 strike the term "fire bomb" from this 

section. A fire bombing as previously proscribed under this 

section is punishable under CR 4-501(b). 

To qualify under this section, the vehicle can be any vehicle or 

instrumentality of transportation. 

To qualify under this section, the vehicle must be occupied by 

one or more persons. If one, state name. If more than one, state 

all names if known, or the name of driver, owner, or 

complainant followed by the words " ....and _____ other 

persons. 

  

  CR 6-303(c)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0217* **ELEC CO TMPR W/EQUIP/FACILITIES** 

 ...did willfully tamper with and interfere with the 

[materials/equipment] of _____, an electric company. 

NOTE: Section does not apply to employees, authorized agents, 

etc. of electric company. 
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  CR 6-303(c)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_2608* **ELEC CO TAMPER W/CONDUCTOR** 

 ...did willfully connect to an electrical conductor belonging to 

____, an electric company, to use electricity. 

NOTE: See CR 6-303(b) for exceptions. 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 6-303(c)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0215* **ELECTR CO: TAMPER W/METER** 

 ...did willfully tamper with a meter used to register electric 

current consumed, belonging to ____, an electric company. 
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  CR 6-304(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$250.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*2_2699* **GAS CO TAMPER W/EQP: DAMAGE** 

 ...did wrongfully and maliciously 

[damage/connect/disconnect/tap/interfere with /tamper with] 

[materials/equipment/facilities] belonging to ____(name of 

company), a company using and engaged in the [manufacture/ 

supply] of gas for light, heat and power. 

 

 

 Gas Companies - Tapping or Tampering, Etc., 

Pipes, Etc. 

  CR 6-304(2)(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$250.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0213* **GAS CO TMPR W/LINE DEFRAUD** 

 ...did, with intent to injure and defraud ___ (gas company), 

[connect/cause to be connected] to a main service pipe, other 

pipe, tube and___ (other instrument) for conducting and 

supplying gas to a burner without passing through the meter 

provided for measuring and registering the quantity of gas 

consumed. 

 

 

  CR 6-304(2)(i)(ii) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$250.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0212* **GAS CO MKE BYPAS PIPE DEFR** 

 ...did, with intent to injure and defraud ____ (gas company), 

[make/cause to be made] a [ pipe/ tube/  ___ (other instrument)]  

for conducting and supplying gas to a burner without passing 

through the meter for measuring and registering the quantity of 

gas consumed. 
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  CR 6-305(c)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0188* **WATER SUP CONNECT UNLAWFUL** 

 ...did make a connection with a water equipment for the 

purpose of [wasting/using] water supplied by _______ 

(company). 

 

 

 Water Company Meters and Equipment 

  CR 6-305(c)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_2699* **WTR SUP PROP/EQUIP: TAMPER** 

 ...did wrongfully and maliciously 

[connect/disconnect/tap/interfere with/tamper with]  water 

equipment belonging to ____ (name company), using and 

engaging in the supplying of water for 

[domestic/agricultural/manufacturing] purposes. 

 

 

  

  CR 6-305(c)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0189* **WATER SUPPLY METER: TAMPER** 

 ...did wrongfully and maliciously tamper with a meter used by 

_____ to measure water consumed. 
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MANUFACTURED ARTICLES 

 Removing/Defacing Serial Numbers 

  CR 6-306(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*2_2800* **MAN SERIAL#: REMOV/OBLIT** 

 ...did [remove/deface/obliterate] the manufacturer's serial 

number [punched/affixed by plate] to _____ (article or 

product), with the intent of preventing the 

[tracing/identification] of said article or product. 

 

 

  

  CR 6-306(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_0291* **MAN SERIAL# RETAIN ITEM** 

 ...did knowingly[ keep/offer for sale] ____ (article or product-

see TR 14-107(m) for exceptions), from which the 

manufacturer's serial number had been 

[removed/defaced/obliterated]. 

 

 

  

  CR 6-307(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*2_2810* **SELL/POSSES STOLEN MANF NO** 

 ...unlawfully did [sell/possess]  stolen [manufactured serial 

numbers/vehicle identification plates/labels]. 
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  CR 6-307(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*2_2820* **POSS SERIAL #/FRAUD PURPOSES** 

 ...unlawfully did possess [manufactured serial numbers/vehicle 

indentification plates/labels]  with the intent for the [serial 

numbers/ vehicle identification plates/labels] to be [affixed to 

stolen property/ to be used for fraudulent purposes]. 

 

TRESPASS 

 On Posted Property 

  CR 6-402 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_2210* **TRESPASS-POSTED PROPERTY** 

 ...did trespass and enter upon the propert at _______(location), 

said property being posted against trespassers in a conspicuous 

manner. 

NOTE: The previous requirement that the prosecution be 

brought by the landowner or tenant has been eliminated. The 

posting requirements are included as part of subsection (a)(1) of 

CR 6-402. 

NOTE: See CR 6-402 regarding definition of "conspicuous". 

NOTE: See CR 6-402(b) for subsequent violations. 
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  CR 6-403 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_2220* **TRESPASS: PRIVATE PROPERTY** 

 ...did [enter upon/remain upon/cross over] the private property, 

and premises of _____ (owner) after having been duly notified 

not to do so by _____, the [owner/agent of the owner]. 

NOTE: See CR 6-403(c) for subsequent violations. 

 

 

 Wanton Trespass/Private Land/Vessel, etc., 

Prohibit Denial/Accommodations 

  CR 6-403 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_2230* **TRESPASS: BOAT** 

 ...did [board/remain upon] the marine vessel of _____ (owner) 

after having been duly notified not to do so by ______, the 

[owner/agent of the owner]. 

NOTE: Subsection applies to property used as a housing project 

and operated by a housing authority or another state public 

body, if required notification given by duly authorized agent of 

the housing authority or other state public body. 

NOTE: Exception is provided for the Mayor and City Council 

of Baltimore to enact legislation respecting public 

accommodations. 

NOTE: See CR 6-403(c) for subsequent violations. Effe
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 Operation Off-Road Vehicle On Public/Private 

Property 

  CR 6-404(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_2240* **OFF-ROAD VEHICLE ON PROPERTY** 

 … did unlawfully [operate/use] an off-road vehicle to wit: 

_______(describe vehicle not listed under CR 6-404(a)), on an 

area  of private property that was not a clearly designated 

driveway located at ______(address), without having in 

[his/her] possession, the written consent of ______, the 

[owner/tenant] of the property. 

NOTE: Name in blank refers to private owner, lessee, etc. 

 

  

  CR 6-405 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_2250* **OFF-ROAD VEH/GOV PROPERTY** 

 ...did unlawfully [operate/use] an off-road vehicle to wit: 

______(describe vehicle not listed under CR 6-405(b)), on 

property knowlingly owned and leased by the State of 

Maryland and any political subdivision. 

NOTE: Definition of off road vehicle as in CR 6-401. 

 

  

  CR 6-406 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_2270* **TRESPASS-CULTIVATED LAND** 

 ...did, without permission from the [owner/agent of the owner] 

wantonly enter upon the cultivated land of _____(name). 

NOTE: "Cultivated Land" means land which has been cleared 

of its natural vegetation and is planted with a crop or orchard. 
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 Entering/Remaining in Stable Area Of Race Track 

After Notice 

  CR 6-407 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_2260* **TRESPASS-RACE TRACK/STABLE** 

 ...did [enter/remain in]  the stable of _____, a race track, after 

having been notified by ____, a [track official/security guard/ 

policeman] that [he/she] is not allowed in that area. 

 

 

 

 

 

Trespass to Look into Window, etc. 

  CR 6-408 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_2280* **TRESPASS-PEEPING TOM** 

 ...did enter upon the land and premises of _____ (owner) for the 

purpose of invading the privacy of the occupant of said 

premises by looking into said premises. 

NOTE: Facts must show that it would be possible to see in, i.e., 

it is presumed that one cannot see into a dark room (lights out) 

in the dark of night. 
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 Refuse Leave Public Building Or Grounds Upon 

Request 

  CR 6-409(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*3_5707* **TRESPAS PUB AGNCY AFTER HR** 

 ...did [refuse/fail to leave]  _____, a property of the ______, a 

public agency, during regular closing hours, having no lawful 

business therein and having been requested to leave by 

______(name) an authorized employee. 

NOTE: It must show that the acts took place after regular hours 

and while the property was closed. The facts must clearly 

demonstrate a lack of lawful business, but lawful business 

could cover a wide range of business or interests. There must 

have been an actual notice given. The unlawful activity must be 

clearly and specifically described. 

 

 

  CR 6-409(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0344* **TREPASS PUB AGNCY DUR HRS** 

 ...did [refuse/fail to leave] _____, a property of ______, a 

public agency, during regular business hours upon being 

requested to do so by an authorized employee and when the 

defendant [had no apparent lawful business to pursue/was 

acting in a manner disruptive of and disturbing to the conduct 

of normal business].  

NOTE: It must show that the acts took place during regular 

business hours. The facts must clearly describe "no lawful 

business", or the acts complained of must clearly specify how 

the normal business was disrupted and disturbed.  Mere 

entrance into a public building, following a prior notification, 

does not amount to a criminal trespass under this section. 
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  CR 6-410 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*2_2290* **TRESPASS GOVERNMENT HOUSE** 

 ...did wantonly trespass on the property of Government House. 

NOTE: No requirement that the property of Government House 

be posted against unlawful entry or trespass. 

 

  CR 6-411(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1794* **FIREARM TRESPASS ANOTH DWELLING ** 

 ...did willfully  [wear/carry/transport] a firearm and 

[enter/trespass] in the dwelling of  ______(name), located at : 

______(address) without the express permission of the 

[owner/owner’s agent], either personally or to the public 

generally, to wear, carry, or transport the firearm inside said 

dwelling. 

NOTE: See CR 6-411 (a) for definition of “dwelling”. 

See CR 6-411 (b) for exceptions. 

 

 

 

  CR 6-411(d)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1795* 
**FIREARM TRESPASS ANOTH PROP ** 

 ...did willfully  [wear/carry/transport] a firearm and 

[enter/trespass] on the property of______(name), located at : 

______(address) without the [owner/owner’s agent] posting a 

clear and conspicuous sign indicating that it is permissible or 

having given the express permission to wear, carry, or transport 

a firearm on the property. 

NOTE: See CR 6-411 (a) for definition of “property”. 

See CR 6-411 (b) for exceptions. 
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RAILROADS 

  

  CR 6-502(b)(1) 

FELONY 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*3_5750* **RR: INTENT OBSTRUCT ETC.** 

 ...did [break/damage] __________ (railroad) by ______ 

(manner) with the intent to [obstruct/derail]  from the tracks a 

railroad vehicle, to wit: ____________ (describe vehicle). 

NOTE: "railroad vehicle" includes a car, carriage engine, 

locomotive, or tender. 

NOTE: In this section, "railroad includes a switch, frog, rail, 

roadbed, sleeper. Viaduct, bridge, trestle, culvert, embankment, 

structure, or appliance that pertains to or connects with a 

railroad. 

 

 

 Obstructing/Breaking Railroad to Overthrow 

Railroad Vehicle 

  CR 6-502(b)(2) 

FELONY 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*3_5740* **RR: INTENT OBSTRUCT ETC.** 

 ...did [place /caused to be placed] ______ (describe object) on 

______ (railroad), with the intent to [obstruct/derail] from the 

tracks of said railroad a railroad vehicle, to wit: __________ 

(describe vehicle). 
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 Getting on Engine, etc., W/O Authority; Free 

Transportation of Convicted Persons 

  CR 6-503 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0589* **RR: ON EQUIPT W/O AUTHORITY** 

 ...unlawfully was [on/in] a railroad vehicle. 

NOTE: Statute requires that the railroad vehicle be upon a 

railroad track during the offense. This law does NOT prohibit 

being on a railroad track. Use trespass laws for that offense if 

tracks are posted. 

 

 

 

 Interfering W/Signals / Giving Unauthorized 

Signals 

  CR 6-504 

MISDEMEANOR 

6 MONTHS 

*8_5500* **RR: INTERFERE W/SIGNALS** 

 ...did, without authorization, give a train signal to [start a 

stopped train / stop a moving train]. 
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 Shooting/Throwing at Train 

  CR 6-505(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*3_5312* **RR: SHOOT/THROW AT** 

 ...did wilfully and maliciously [shoot at/throw ____ at/cause 

____ to fall upon/cause ___ to strike against] a 

[locomotive/motor/ tender/car] used upon a [railroad/electric 

railway] using [wood/stone/other matter _____ (describe)/ a 

thing ____ (describe)]. 

 

 

 Unauthorized Buying/Selling of Tickets 

  CR 6-506(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*3_2800* **RR: UNAUTH BUY/SELL TCKTS** 

 …did, without authorization, [buy/sell/engage in the business of 

buying /engage in the business ofselling] [railroad 

tickets/unused portions of a railroad tickets]. 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 6-506(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*2_0264* **RR: VENDR/BROKR-ACT W/O AUT** 

 ...did, without authorization, act as a [vendor/broker] of 

[whole/partial] railroad tickets. 
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  CR 6-506(a)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*2_0265* **RR: TCKTS BUY/SELL NO AUTH** 

 ...did, without authorization, solicit for the unlawful 

[buying/selling] of railroad tickets [personally/by sign/by 

advertisement/by other ________(describe)]. 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 6-506(a)(4) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*2_0266* **RR: TKTS AID/ABET TO BUY/SL** 

 ...did [aid/abet] in the unlawful [buying/selling] of railroad 

tickets. 
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Theft  

Commissioners and Police Officers processing a theft charge involving theft of motor fuel 

dispensed into a vehicle should insert an “F” in the CJIS code in order to effect appropriate 

reporting in the event of a conviction. 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 7-104 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$15,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1135* **THEFT: $25,000 TO UNDER $100,000** 

 ...did steal _____ (property or service stolen) of _______ (owner) having a 

value of ______, at least $25,000 but less than $100,000, in violation of 

CR 7-104 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 CR 7-104 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$25,000.00 – 20 YEARS 

*1_1134* **THEFT: $100,000 PLUS** 

 ...did steal _____ (property or service stolen) of _______ (owner) having a 

value of ______, $100,000 or more, in violation of CR 7-104 of the 

Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: An "owner" can be anyone in possession, lawful or otherwise. See 

the definition of "owner" in CR 7-101(g) if in doubt. If the owner and the 

victim are two different people and both names are known, it is permissible 

to add to the charge wording as shown below: ...steal (the property) of 

____ (owner) from _____ (victim)….  

NOTE: Violations of CR 7-104 through 108 are tried in the District Court, 

whether a felony or a misdemeanor. A person who obtains property or 

services by uttering a bad check may be immediately prosecuted under 

"theft", if the person uttering the check was the drawer and did not have an 

account with the drawee at the time of utterance. 

NOTE:  Venue - A person who violates this section by use of an interactive 

computer service may be prosecuted in any county in which the victim 

resides or the electronic communication originated or was received. 
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  CR 7-104 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$10,000.00 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1136* **THEFT: $1,500 TO UNDER $25,000** 

 ...did steal _____ (property or service stolen) of _______ (owner) having a 

value of ______, at least $1,500 but less than $25,000, in the violation of CR 

7-104 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 7-104 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_1137* ** THEFT: $100 TO UNDER $1,500** 

 ...did steal _____ (property or service stolen) of _______ (owner) having a 

value of ______, at least $100 but less than $1,500, in the violation of CR 7-

104 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: See 7-104(g) for subsequent offense penalties.  

NOTE: It is suggested that you charge each misdemeanor offense separately 

and then charge all of the offense as "one scheme" and "a continuing course 

of conduct", provided there is not a break in the chain of events. 

Furthermore, the charge pursuant to "one scheme" and "a continuing course 

of conduct" is synonymous with an aggregate theft charge. 

 

 

 

  CR 7-104(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

 

*1_0521* **THEFT LESS THAN $100.00** 

 …did steal ______________ (property or service) of ______ (owner) having 

a value of less than $100.00. 
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  CR 7-104 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$15,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1139* **THEFT SCHEME: $25,000 TO UNDER $100,000** 

 ...did, between the dates of _____ and _____, pursuant to one scheme and 

continuing course of conduct, steal _____ (property or service stolen) of 

_______ (owner) having a value of ______, at least $25,000 but less than 

$100,000, in violation of CR 7-104 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 CR 7-104 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$25,000.00 – 20 YEARS 

*1_1303* **THEFT SCHEME: $100,000 PLUS** 

 ...did, between the dates of _____ and _____, pursuant to one scheme and 

continuing course of conduct, steal _____ (property or service stolen) of 

_______ (owner) having a value of ______, $100,000 or more, in violation 

of CR 7-104 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: An "owner" can be anyone in possession, lawful or otherwise. See 

the definition of "owner" in CR 7-101(g) if in doubt. If the owner and the 

victim are two different people and both names are known, it is permissible 

to add to the charge wording as shown below: ...steal (the property) of 

____ (owner) from _____ (victim)….  

NOTE: Violations of CR 7-104 through 108 are tried in the District Court, 

whether a felony or a misdemeanor. A person who obtains property or 

services by uttering a bad check may be immediately prosecuted under 

"theft", if the person uttering the check was the drawer and did not have an 

account with the drawee at the time of utterance. 

NOTE:  Venue - A person who violates this section by use of an interactive 

computer service may be prosecuted in any county in which the victim 

resides or the electronic communication originated or was received. 
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  CR 7-104 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$10,000.00 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1160* **THEFT SCHEME: $1,500 TO UNDER $25,000** 

 ...did, between the dates of _____ and _____, pursuant to one scheme and 

continuing course of conduct, steal _____ (property or service stolen) of 

_______ (owner) having a value of ______, at least $1,500 but less than 

$25,000, in the violation of CR 7-104 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

 

  CR 7-104 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_1161* ** THEFT SCHEME: $100 TO UNDER $1,500** 

 ...did, between the dates of _____ and _____, pursuant to one scheme and 

continuing course of conduct, steal _____ (property or service stolen) of 

_______ (owner) having a value of ______, at least $100 but less than 

$1,500, in the violation of CR 7-104 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: See 7-104(g) for subsequent offense penalties.  

NOTE: It is suggested that you charge each misdemeanor offense separately 

and then charge all of the offense as "one scheme" and "a continuing course 

of conduct", provided there is not a break in the chain of events. 

Furthermore, the charge pursuant to "one scheme" and "a continuing course 

of conduct" is synonymous with an aggregate theft charge. 

 

 

  CR 7-105 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

(SEE NOTE) 

*2_0480* **MOTOR VEH/UNLAWFUL TAKING** 

 ...did unlawfully, knowingly, and wilfully take out of _______'s (victim's) 

lawful [custody/control/use], a motor vehicle, to wit: _________ (describe), 

without the consent of said _____ (victim), in violation of CR 7-105, of the 

Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: "Motor Vehicle" is defined in Transportation Article, Sec. 11-135. 

NOTE: All theft charges are within the exclusive original jurisdiction of the 

District Court, regardless of whether they are misdemeanor or felony, and do 

not receive a preliminary hearing. 
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  CR 7-106 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 60 DAYS 

*2_0455* **NEWSPAPER THEFT** 

 ...did [wilfully/knowingly] [obtain/exert] unauthorized control 

over newspapers, to wit: _____ (name paper and number of 

copies) with the intent to prevent others from reading the said 

newspapers. 

NOTE: "Newspaper" includes any periodical distributed on a 

complementary or compensatory basis. 

 

EMBEZZLING PROPERTY AND WRITINGS 

 Fraudulent Misappropriation By Fiduciary 

  CR 7-113(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

5 YEARS (1 YEAR MIN) 

*1_2799* **EMBEZZLE MISAPPROPRIATE** 

 ... did being a fiduciary, fraudulently and willfully appropriate 

[money/thing of value to wit: ________), that said fiduciary 

held in fiduciary capacity, contrary to the requirements of 

[his/her] trust responsibility. 

 

 

  CR 7-113(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

5 YEARS (1 YEAR MIN) 

*1_0460* **EMBEZZLE-MISAPPROPRIATE** 

 ... did being a fiduciary, secrete [money/thing of value to wit: 

_______], that said fiduciary held in fiduciary capacity, with 

fraudulent intent to use said [money/thing of value] contrary to 

the requirements of [his/her]trust responsibility. 
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 Fraud - Failure to Deliver Drafts for Stored 

Merchandise 

  CR 7-116 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*6_2610* **FRAUD/FAIL DELIV RECEIPTS** 

 ...did for [his/her] own benefit and in violation of trust after 

having been entrusted with [money/drafts/checks] in the 

amount of _____, an advance against stored merchandise, to 

wit: _____, [refuse/fail] to deliver the same and the shipment 

documents for said merchandise to ____ (victim) as soon as the 

shipment was completed. 

 

 Removal from Store Premises, Etc. 

  CR 7-201(b)(i) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$25.00 

*1_2411* **GROCERY CARTS-REMOVAL** 

 ...did remove from_______, a [grocery store/store/market], 

without the consent of the owner of said [grocery 

store/store/market] or his agents, a wheeled cart or similar 

device ________ (specify) provided by said owner for the 

purpose of carrying materials. 

NOTE: Applies only when cart is taken from the store or 

parking lot, except that destruction may be on the premises and 

the destroyer need not have taken the cart. The cart must be 

marked with the owner's name and address. Notice of the law 

must be prominently posted at the public exits. 
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  CR 7-202 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_2800* **APPROP PROP - W/O CONSENT** 

 ...did wilfully [appropriate and use/permit ____(person) to 

appropriate and use] ______(name property), which is the 

subject matter of a bailment, without the consent of ______ 

(owner), _______ (defendant) being [a bailee/an employee/a  

servant/an agent of a bailee]. 

  CR 7-203 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 - 4 YEARS 

*1_1466* **UNAUTH REMOVAL OF MOTOR VEHICLE** 

 ...did without permission, take and carry away [from the 

premises/out of the control/from the use of] of ______(name) a 

motor vehicle, to wit: ______(descirbe) with the intent to 

temporarily deprive _____ (name person deprived) of the use 

and possession of said property. 

NOTE:  See CR 7-203(b)(1) for minimum penalty of 6m-$50 if 

convicted. 

NOTE: Use this code only if motor vehicle was taken. 

 

  CR 7-203 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 - 4 YEARS 

*1_1467* **UNAUTH REMOVAL OF PROP** 

 ...did without permission, take and carry away [from the 

premises/out of the control/from the use of] of ______(name) a 

______(name item, see note below) with the intent to 

temporarily deprive _____ (name person deprived) of the use 

and possession of said property. 

NOTE:  See CR 7-203(b)(1) for minimum penalty of 6m-$50 if 

convicted. 

NOTE: Property subject to this charge includes: a vehicle, a 

vessel, or livestock.  DO NOT USE IF A MOTOR 

VEHICLE WAS TAKEN. 
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 Hires - Rental of Motor Vehicle 

Abandoning/Refusing to Return 

  CR 7-205 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0220* **VEHICL/RENTED: ABANDON** 

 ...did abandon a motor vehicle, to wit: ____ after 

[leasing/renting]  same under an agreement to return said motor 

vehicle at the termination of the period for which it was [leased/  

rented]. 

NOTE: This may not be charged until 5 days after written 

demand described in CR 7-205(b)(1) is sent and the demand is 

not met. 

 

 

 

  CR 7-205 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_2405* **VEHICL/RENTD: FAIL RETURN** 

 ...did [abandon/refuse to return/willfully neglect to return] a 

motor vehicle to wit:______, after [leasing/renting] said motor 

vehicle from ________(lessor of motor vehicle) under an 

agreement to return said motor vehicle at the end of the 

[leasing/rental] period. 

NOTE: This may not be charged until 5 days after written 

demand described in CR 7-205(b)(1) is sent and the demand is 

not met. 
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ELECTRONIC THEFT DEVICE 

  

  CR 7-301(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1000 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1472* **ELECTRONIC THEFT DEVICE ** 

 ...did knowingly possess with the intent to commit theft a 

device _________ (device name) intended to shield 

merchandise from detection by an electronic security system. 

 

 

 

  CR 7-301(d) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1000 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1473* **ELECTRONIC THEFT - TOOL** 

 ...did knowingly possess A [tool/device] designed to allow the 

[de-activation/removal from merchandise] [an electronic 

security system/device] used as part of an electronic security 

system with the intent to [de-activate the security 

system/remove the device from merchandise] without 

permission. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

202. 
 

 

 

 Computers - Illegal Access 

  CR 7-302(c)(1)(i) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_2804* **COMPUTERS ILLEGAL ACCESS** 

 ...did intentionally, willfully, and without authorization [access/ 

attempt to access/cause access to/exceed authorized access to ] 

[a computer/computer network/computer software/computer 

control language/computer system/computer services/computer 

data base]. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 7-302(c)(1)(ii) 

MISDEMEANOR     

$1,000.00 – 3 YEARS                                                              

*1_0914*               **COPY/POSSESS DATABASE** 

 … did intentionally, willfully, and without authorization 

[copy/attempt to copy/possess/attempt to possess] the contents 

of [all/part of] a computer database accessed in violation of CR 

7-302(1)(I). 
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  CR 7-302(c)(2)(i) 

LOSS LESS THAN $10,000 

(barcode 1-0470) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

LOSS MORE THAN 

$10,000.00 

(barcode 1-0495) 

FELONY 

$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0470* 

*1_0495* 
**COMPUTER/ILL. ACC/DAMAGE** 

 ...did intentionally, willfully, and without authorization [access/ 

attempt to access/cause access to / exceed authorized access to] 

a [computer/ computer network/computer software/computer 

control language/ computer system/computer services/computer 

data base/a part thereof] to [cause the malfunction/interrupt the 

operation] of the said equipment or software. 
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  CR 7-302( c)(2)(ii) 

LOSS LESS THAN 

$10,000.00 

(barcode 1-0471) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

LOSS MORE THAN 

$10,000.00 

(barcode 1-0496) 

FELONY 

$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0471* 

*1_0496* 
**COMPUTER/ILL. ACC/ALTER DATA** 

 ...did intentionally, willfully, and without authorization [access/ 

attempt to access/ cause access to / exceed authorized access] to 

all or part of a [computer/ computer network/computer 

software/computer control language/ computer 

system/computer service/computer database] with intent to 

[alter/damage/destroy] [all/any part of] [data/a computer 

program] therein. 
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  CR 7-302(c )(3) 

LOSS LESS THAN $10,000 

(barcode 1-0472) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

LOSS MORE THAN 

$10,000.00 

(barcode 1-0497) 

FELONY 

$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0472* 

*1_0497* 
**COMPUTER/PUBLISH ACCESS CODE** 

 ...did intentionally, willfully, and without authorization [ 

possess / identify/ attempt to identify/distribute to ____, an 

unauthorized person/ publicize to unauthorized persons] a valid 

access code. 
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  CR 7-302(c )(4) 

LOSS LESS THAN $10,000 

(barcode 1-0638) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$25,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

LOSS MORE THAN 

$10,000.00 

(barcode 1-1085) 

FELONY 

$25,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0638* 

*1_1085* 
**INTERRUPT STATE GOV OR SERVICE ** 

 ...did with intent, [interrupt/impair] the functioning of_______ 

1. the State Government by ____(describe act). 

2. A [service/device/system] related to the 

[production/transmission/delivery/storage] of 

[electricity/natural gas] in the State that is 

[owned/operated/controlled] by ___(name), a person 

other than a public service company 1-101 by 

____(describe act). 

3. A service provided in the State by a public service 

company by __(describe act) 

4. A health care facility at __(location) by __(describe act) 

5. A public school at ___(location) by___(descibe act) 

See PUC 1-101 for definition of Publice Service Company. 

See HG 18-338.1 for definition of health care facility. 

See ED 1-101 ofr definition of public school. 

 

 

 

 CR 7-302(c)(5) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000 - 2 YEARS 

 

*1_1086* 
**POSS RANSOMWARE** 

 ...did knowingly possess ransomware with the intent to use the 

ransomware for the purpose of introduction into the 

[computer/computer network/computer system] of ____(name), 

without the authorization of said person. 

NOTE: This charge does not apply to a person who has a bona 

fide scientific, educational, governmental, testing, news, or 

other similar justification for possessing ransomware. 
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  CR 7-303 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_0290* **FRAUD-CABLE TV-FOR PAY.** 

 ...did for [pay/offer of pay], [destroy/damage/cut/tamper 

with/install/tap/remove/displace/make a connection] with a 

[wire/conduit/apparatus/ equipment] of ____ [cable TV 

company/private cableTV company], with the intent to receive 

cable TV services without payment. 

 

 

 

 

  CR 7-303 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 5 YEARS 

*2_0291* **CABLE TV PREVNT PROG FOR PAY** 

 ...did for [payment/offer of payment], [prevent/obstruct/delay] 

the [sending/conveyance/distribution/receipt] of programming 

material transmitted by a [franchised cable television 

company/a private cable television company]. 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 7-303 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_0292* **CABLE TV RECV SERV-FRAUD-PAY** 

 ...did, for [payment/offer of payment]with the intent to deprive 

(name company) of lawful compensation for services provided, 

[receive/attempt to receive/assist another to receive] cable 

television service by [trick/use of a decoder/other fraudulent 

means to wit: ______]. 
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  CR 7-303 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_0293* **SAT CABLE TV RECV-BY FRAUD-PAY** 

 ...did, for [payment/offer of payment] with the intent to deprive 

(name company) of lawful compensation for services provided, 

[receive/attempt to receive/assist another to receive] satellite 

cable programming that is [offered for sale in the person's area 

through an unauthorized marketing system/received by 

decoding encrypted satellite cable programming]. 

 

 

  

  CR 7-303 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_0294* **CABLE TV CON W/O AUTH-PAY** 

 ...did, for [payment/offer of payment], connect with a 

[cable/wire/component/other device] used for the distribution of 

cable television service without authority from the cable 

television company. 

 

 

  

  CR 7-303 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_0295* **SAT TV MODIFY EQUIP FOR PAY** 

 ...did for [payment/offer of payment] modify and alter [a device 

installed with the authorization of a cable television 

company/equipment capable of decoding encrypted satellite 

cable programming] in order to intercept and receive, [a 

program/service carried by the company/satellite cable 

programming]. 
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  CR 7-303 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*4_0248* **CABL TV SEL/RNT DEV-FOR PAY** 

 ...did for [payment/offer of payment] [sell/offer for 

sale/rent/offer for rent] to a person, a [device/plan for a device] 

with knowledge that the person intends to use the [device/plan] 

to do an act prohibited by CR 7-303. 

 

  

  CR 7-303(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

SUB OFFENSE 

$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*3_2999* **FRAUD-CABLE TV-TAMPER ETC.** 

 ...did [destroy/damage/cut/tamper 

with/install/tap/remove/displace/make a connection] with a 

[wire/conduit/apparatus/ equipment] of ____ [cable TV 

company/private cableTV company], with the intent to receive 

cable TV services without payment. 

NOTE:  See CR 7-303(d)(1)(ii) for subsequent offense penalty 

of $2,500-1 year if convicted. 

 

  

  CR 7-303(c)(i) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

SUB OFFENSE 

$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_0244* **CABLE TV RECV SERV BY FRAUD** 

 ...did, with the intent to deprive _______(name company) of 

lawful compensation for services provided, [receive/attempt to 

receive/assist another to receive] cable television service by 

[trick/use of a decoder/other fraudulent means to wit: ______]. 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

210. 
 

 

  CR 7-303(c)(ii) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

SUB OFFENSE 

$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_0245* **SAT CABLE TV RECV BY FRAUD** 

 ...did, with the intent to deprive __________(name company) of 

lawful compensation for services provided, [receive/attempt to 

receive/assist another to receive] satellite cable programming 

that is [offered for sale in the person's area through an 

unauthorized marketing system/received by decoding encrypted 

satellite cable programming]. 

 

  

  CR 7-303(c)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

SUB OFFENSE 

$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_0243* **CABLE TV PREVNT OBST PROG** 

 ...did [prevent/obstruct/delay] the 

[sending/conveyance/distribution/ 

receipt] of programming material transmitted by a [franchised 

cable television company/a private cable television company]. 

 

 Cable TV-Tampering Etc 

  CR 7-303(4) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*2_0246* **CABLE TV CON W/O AUTHORITY** 

 ...did connect with a [cable/wire/component/other device] used 

for the distribution of cable television service without authority 

from the cable television company. 
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  CR 7-303(5)(ii) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

SUB OFFENSE 

$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_0247* **SAT. CABLE TV MODIFY EQUIP** 

 ...did modify and alter [a device installed with the authorization 

of a cable television company/equipment capable of decoding 

encrypted satellite cable programming] in order to intercept and 

receive, [a program/service carried by the company/satellite 

cable programming]. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 7-303(6) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

SUB OFFENSE 

$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR* 

*2_0248* **CABL TV SEL/RNT DEV/MISUE** 

 ...did [sell/offer for sale/rent/offer for rent] to a person, a 

[device/plan for a device] with knowledge that the person 

intends to use the [device/plan] to do an act prohibited by CR 7-

303. 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

212. 
 

RECORDED MATERIAL - UNAUTHORIZED COPIES 

 Transfer Recorded Sound W/O Consent of Owner 

Of Master Device 

  CR 7-308(b) 

PENALTY SEC. CR 7-309                                             

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

SUB OFFENSE $10,000.00 - 

3 YEARS 

*3_2602* **RECORDING: UNAUTHORIZ COPY** 

 ...did knowingly [transfer/cause to be transferred] sounds 

[recorded/otherwise stored] on a recorded article onto another 

recorded article with the intent to [sell/cause to be sold] [for 

profit/to promote the sale of _____(product)] and without the 

consent of the owner thereof. 

NOTE: The above wording shall only apply to sound 

recordings initially fixed prior to February 15, 1972. 

NOTE: "Owner" refers to copy right owner. 

 

 

  

  CR 7-308(c)(2) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 7-309)                                              

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0330* **RECORD/UNAUTH PERFORMANCE** 

 ...did knowingly [transfer/cause to be transferred] to a recorded 

article a performance by _____ (artist) with the intent [to 

[sell/cause to be sold] said recording for profit/ that said 

recording be used to promote the sale of ____ (product)] 

without the consent of said performer. 
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  CR 7-308(d)(2) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 7-309)     

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0331* **RECORDG/UNAUTH SELL, ETC.** 

 ...did knowingly [sell/rent/distribute/circulate/offer for 

[sale/rental distribution/circulation]/possess for 

[sale/distribution/circulation]/ cause to be 

[sold/rented/distributed/circulated]] a recorded article to wit: 

____ (name or describe) [on which sounds have been 

transferred without the consent of the owner/embodying a 

performance without the consent of the performer. 

NOTE: "Owner" means copyright owner. 

 

 

  

  CR 7-308(d)(2)(i)(ii) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 7-309)                                                  

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0332* **RECORDING: SELL, ETC.** 

 ...did knowingly [sell/rent/distribute/circulate/offer for [sale/ 

rental/distribution/circulation]/possess for [sale/rental 

distribution/circulation]] a recorded article on which 

[sounds/images] have been [transferred/stored], such recorded 

article, etc., not having contained the name and address of the 

transferor and the name of the performer in a prominent place 

on its outside face or package. 

NOTE: This section applies to persons, firms, 

corporations,associations, partnership. 

This section does not apply to:  

1.  Any radio or TV broadcaster or cable radio or TV operator 

who transmits in regular business. 

2.  Any person transferring sound or images for his own use. 
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  CR 7-308(e) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0336* **RECORDING/UNAUTHORIZED-MOVE THEATER** 

 …did knowingly operate an audiovisual recording function of a 

device in motion picture theater without the consent of the 

[owner/lessee] of the theater. 

NOTE:  This section does not apply to the lobby area of a 

motion picture theater. 

 

TELECOMMUNICATION SERVICES 

  

  CR 7-315 

PENALTY SEC. CR 7-316                                             

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0590* **TELECOM SERVICE - FRAUD** 

 …did [possess/use/manufacture/distribute/transfer/sell/ 

offer/promote/advertise for sale, use and distribution] an 

[unlawful telecommunication device/access code] for the 

commission of a theft of telecommunication service. 

 

  

  CR 7-315 

PENALTY SEC. 7-3169a) 

FELONY 

$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_0591* **TELECOM SERV - FELONY** 

 ...did [possess/use/manufacture/distribute/transfer/sell/ 

offer/promote/advertise for sale, use and distribution] more than 

100 [unlawful telecommunication devices/access codes] for the 

commission of a theft of telecommunication service. 
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BAD CHECKS 

 

  CR 8-103 

PENALTY SEC. 8-106 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$10,000 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1162* **BDCKS/30 DY PLOT/NSF** 

 ...did, between _______ (date) and ____ (date, see note), 

unlawfully and knowingly obtain ______ (property or services) 

from ______ (name of supplier) of the value of $________, by 

[issuing/passing] ______ (number of checks, see note) to 

______(name of person or company receiving checks) 

numbered ______ (check numbers) drawn on _______ (name 

of bank and account #) knowing that there were insufficient 

funds with the drawee to cover it and other outstanding checks, 

intending and believing at the time of the [passing/issuance] 

that payment would be refused by the drawee upon 

presentation. 

NOTE: Each check issued must be at least $1,500, but less than 

$25,000 and issued within a 30 day period. The cumulative 

value of property or services must be at least $1,500 but less 

than $25,000.  
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  CR 8-103  

PENALTY SEC. 8-106 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$10,000 – 5 YEARS 

 

*1_1163* **BDCK/30 DY PLOT/STOP PAY** 

...did, between ______ (date) and ______ (date, see note), 

unlawfully and knowingly obtain _____ (property or services) 

from ______ (name of supplier) of the value of $________ (see 

note), by [issuing/passing] _______ (number of checks, see 

note) to _______ (name of person or company receiving 

checks) numbered _______ (check numbers), drawn on ______ 

(name of bank and account number), knowing that the drawee 

thereof at the time of [passing/issuance] intended to stop 

payment of the checks without the consent of the payee and 

payment was refused by the drawee upon presentation of the 

checks. 

NOTE: This section does not apply to any holder of an 

instrument who gives to the maker a bona fide reasonable 

notice of dishonor and warning of criminal prosecution under 

Sec. 8-101 through 8-107 of this Article. 

 

NOTE: Each check issued must be at leas $1,500, but less than 

$25,000 and issued within a 30 day period. The cumulative 

value of property or services must be at least $1,500 but less 

than $25,000. 

If multiple bad checks are passed or issued to the same victim 

over a period of time exceeding 30 days, it is suggested that two 

or more charges be used, one for the first 30 days, and an 

additional cumulative charge for each ensuing 30-day period or 

portion thereof. 

NOTE: The sworn application for Statement of Charges 

(DC/CR 1 or DC/CR 44) is the affidavit under Commercial 

Law Article 15-802.   
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  CR 8-103(a) 

PENALTY SEC. CR 8-106 

FELONY- DISTRICT CT 

$25,000.00 – 20 YEARS 

*1_1164* **BD CHECK/ISSUE /NSF 100K +** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___ (property or 

service) having a value of ____, belonging to ____ (owner) by 

issuing a certain bad check numbered ____, drawn on ____ 

(drawee) knowing that there were insufficient funds with the 

drawee to cover it and other outstanding checks, intending and 

believing at the time of the issuance that payment would be 

refused by the drawee upon presentation, and the payment was 

refused by the drawee upon presentation. 

 

 

 

  CR 8-103(a) 

PENALTY SEC. CR 8-106 

FELONY- DISTRICT CT 

$15,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1165* **BD CHECK/ISSUE /NSF 25K-<100K** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___ (property or 

service) having a value of ____, belonging to ____ (owner) by 

issuing a certain bad check numbered ____, drawn on ____ 

(drawee) knowing that there were insufficient funds with the 

drawee to cover it and other outstanding checks, intending and 

believing at the time of the issuance that payment would be 

refused by the drawee upon presentation, and the payment was 

refused by the drawee upon presentation. 
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  CR 8-103 (a) 

PENALTY SEC. 8-106 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$10,000 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1166* **BD CK/ISSUE /NSF/$1,500 TO <$25K** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain____ (property or 

service obtained) having a value of _____, belonging to ____, 

(victim) by issuing a certain bad check numbered _____, drawn 

on ______ (drawee), knowing that there were insufficient funds 

with the drawee to cover it and other outstanding checks, 

intending and believing at the time of the issuance that payment 

would be refused by the drawee upon presentation, and 

payment was refused by the drawee upon presentation. 

NOTE TO COMMISSIONERS:  

In all except employee situations (see below), there are two 

ways to violate CR 8-103 by issuing a bad check or by passing 

a bad check. There are also two ways for a check to be bad, 

insufficient funds (NSF) or a deliberate stop payment order. 

The person that wrote a bad check is called the "Drawer." When 

he or his representative gives that check to another to obtain 

goods, services, or money, that check has been ISSUED. 

Choose the appropriate wording under BD CK/ISSUE, 

depending upon the value of the check and whether it was 

refused by the bank for NSF or because of a stop payment 

order. The term service may also include the use of computer, 

data processing or other equipment. 
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  CR 8-103 (a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1167* **BD CK/ISSUE /NSF/$100 TO< $1,500** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ____ (property or 

service obtained) having a value of ____, belonging to ____, 

(victim) by issuing a certain bad check numbered ___, drawn 

on _____ (drawee) knowing that there were insufficient funds 

with the drawee to cover it and other outstanding checks, 

intending and believing at the time of the issuance that payment 

would be refused by the drawee upon presentation, and 

payment was refused by the drawee upon presentation. 

 

 

 

 

  CR 8-103(a) 

PENALTY SEC. CR 8-

106(d) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_1141* **BD CHECK/ISSUE/NSF LESS $100** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___ (property or 

service) having a value of ____, belonging to ____ (owner) by 

issuing a certain bad check numbered ____, drawn on ____ 

(drawee) knowing that there were insufficient funds with the 

drawee to cover it and other outstanding checks, intending and 

believing at the time of the issuance that payment would be 

refused by the drawee upon presentation, and the payment was 

refused by the drawee upon presentation. 
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  CR 8-103(b) 

PENALTY SEC. CR 8-106 

FELONY – DISTRICT CT 

$25,000 – 20 YEARS 

*1_1168* **BAD CHECK/STOP PAY/ $100K +** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___ (property or 

service) having a value of ____, belonging to ____ (owner) by 

issuing a certain bad check numbered ____, drawn on ____ 

(drawee) knowing that the drawer therof at the time of issuance 

intended to stop payment of the check without the consent of 

the payee and the payment was refused by the drawee upon 

presentation of the check. 

 

 

 

  CR 8-103(b) 

PENALTY SEC. CR 8-106 

FELONY – DISTRICT CT 

$15,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1169* **BAD CHECK/STOP PAY/$25K TO <$100K ** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___ (property or 

service) having a value of ____, belonging to ____ (owner) by 

issuing a certain bad check numbered ____, drawn on ____ 

(drawee) knowing that the drawer therof at the time of issuance 

intended to stop payment of the check without the consent of 

the payee and the payment was refused by the drawee upon 

presentation of the check. 
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  CR 8-103(b) 

PENALTY SEC. 8-106 

FELONY -DISTRICT CT 

$10,000 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1170* **BD CK/ISSUE/STP PAY/$1,500 TO < $25K ** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ____ (property or 

service obtained), having the value of ____, belonging to 

(victim) by issuing a certain check numbered ____, drawn on 

_____ (drawee) knowing that the drawer thereof at the time of 

issuance intended to stop payment of the checks without the 

consent of the payee and payment was refused by the drawee 

upon presentation of the check. 

 

 

 

 

  CR 8-103(b) 

PENALTY SEC. 8-106 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1171* **BD CK/ISSUE/STOP PAY//$100 TO< $1,500** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ____(property or 

service obtained), having the value of ____, belonging to 

(victim) by issuing a certain check numbered _______, drawn 

on _____ (drawee) knowing that the drawer thereof at the time 

of issuance intended to stop payment of the checks without the 

consent of the payee and payment was refused by the drawee 

upon presentation of the check. 
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  CR 8-103(b) 

PENALTY SEC. CR 8-

106(d) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_1143* **BAD CHECK/STOP PAY/LESS THAN $100** 

 did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ____ (property or service) 

having a value of ____, belonging to ___ (owner) by issuing a 

certain bad check numbered ___, drawn on ____ (drawee) 

knowing that the drawer thereof at the time of issuance 

intended to stop payment of the check without the consent of 

the payee and the payment was refused by the drawee upon 

presentation of the check 

 

 

  CR 8-103 (c) 

PENALTY SEC. CR 8-106 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$25,000.00 –20 YEARS 

*1_1172* **BAD CHECK/EMPLOYEE/$100K +** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly issue a certain check 

numbered ____, drawn on ____ (drawee) to ___ (name of 

employee) for services knowing that the drawer thereof has 

insufficient funds with the drawee to cover the check and other 

outstanding checks and intending at the time of issuance that 

payment would be refused by the drawee upon presentation. 
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  CR 8-103 (c) 

PENALTY SEC. CR 8-106 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$15,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1173* **BAD CHECK/EMPLOYEE/25K-<100K** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly issue a certain check 

numbered ____, drawn on ____ (drawee) to ___ (name of 

employee) for services knowing that the drawer thereof has 

insufficient funds with the drawee to cover the check and other 

outstanding checks and intending at the time of issuance that 

payment would be refused by the drawee upon presentation. 

 

 

 

  CR 8-103(c) 

PENALTY SEC. 8-106 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$10,000 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1174* **BD CK/EMPLOYEE $1,500 TO <$25K ** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly issue a certain check numbered 

____ drawn on ____ (drawee) to ____ (employee or 

independent contractor) for services knowing that the drawer 

thereof has insufficient funds with the drawee to cover the 

check and other outstanding checks and intending at the time of 

issuance that payment will be refused upon presentation, and 

____ (employee or independent contractor) passed the check to 

_____ (third person) and payment was refused by the drawee 

upon presentation. 
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  CR 8-103(c) 

PENALTY SEC. 8-106 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1175* **BD CK/EMPLOYEE/$100 TO< $1,500** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly issue a certain check numbered 

_____ drawn on ____ (drawee) to ____ (employee or 

independent contractor) for services knowing that the drawer 

thereof has insufficient funds with the drawee to cover the 

check and other outstanding checks and intending at the time of 

issuance that payment will be refused upon presentation, and 

_________(employee or independent contractor) passed the 

check to ________(third person) and payment was refused by 

the drawee upon presentation, and ____ (employee or 

independent contractor) passed the check to _____ (third 

person) and payment was refused by the drawee upon 

presentation. 

 

 

 

 

  CR 8-103 (c) 

PENALTY SEC. CR 8-

106(d) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_1144* **BAD CHECK/EMPLOYEE/LESS THAN $100** 

 did unlawfully and knowingly issue a certain check numbered 

____, drawn on ____ (drawee) to _____ (name of employee) 

for services knowing that the drawer thereof has insufficient 

funds with the drawee to cover the check and other outstanding 

checks and intending at the time of issuance that payment 

would e refused by the drawee upon presentation. 
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  CR 8-103 (d) 

PENALTY SEC. CR 8-106 

FELONY  

DISTRICT COURT 

$25,000 – 20 YEARS 

*1_1176* **BAD CHECK/PASS/NSF/ $100K + ** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___ (property or 

service) having a value of ____, belonging to ____ (owner) by 

passing a certain bad check numbered ____, drawn on ____ 

(drawee) knowing that the drawer thereof has insufficient funds 

with the drawee to cover it and other outstanding checks, 

intending and believing at the time of the passing that the  

payment would be refused by the drawee upon presentation, 

and the payment was refused by the drawee upon presentation. 

 

 

 

 

  CR 8-103 (d) 

PENALTY SEC. CR 8-106 

FELONY  

DISTRICT COURT 

$15,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1177* **BAD CHECK/PASS/NSF/$25K TO <$100K** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___ (property or 

service) having a value of ____, belonging to ____ (owner) by 

passing a certain bad check numbered ____, drawn on ____ 

(drawee) knowing that the drawer thereof has insufficient funds 

with the drawee to cover it and other outstanding checks, 

intending and believing at the time of the passing that the  

payment would be refused by the drawee upon presentation, 

and the payment was refused by the drawee upon presentation. 
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  CR 8-103 (d) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$10,000 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1178* **BD CK/PASS/NSF /$1,500 TO <$25K** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ____ (property or 

service obtained), having the value of _____, belonging to 

(victim) by passing a certain bad check numbered _____, drawn 

on _____(drawee) knowing that the drawer thereof has 

insufficient funds with the drawee to cover it and other 

outstanding checks, intending and believing at the time of the 

passing that payment would be refused by the drawee upon 

presentation, and payment was refused by the drawee upon 

presentation. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 8-103 (d) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1179* **BD CK/PASS/NSF//$100 TO< $1,500** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ____ (property or 

service obtained), having the value of ____, belonging to 

(victim) by passing a certain bad check numbered ____, drawn 

on  _____, knowing that the drawer thereof has insufficient 

funds with the drawee to cover it and other outstanding checks, 

intending and believing at the time of the passing that payment 

would be refused by the drawee upon presentation, and 

payment was refused by the drawee upon presentation. 
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  CR 8-103 (d) 

PENALTY SEC. CR 8-

106(d) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_1142* **BAD CHECK/PASS/NSF/LESS THAN $100** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___ (property or 

service) having a value of ____, belonging to ____ (owner) by 

passing a certain bad check numbered ____, drawn on ____ 

(drawee) knowing that the drawer thereof has insufficient funds 

with the drawee to cover it and other outstanding checks, 

intending and believing at the time of the passing that the  

payment would be refused by the drawee upon presentation, 

and the payment was refused by the drawee upon presentation. 

 

  CR 8-103(e) 

PENALTY SEC. 8-106 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$25,000.00 – 20 YEARS 

*1_1180* **BD CK/PASS/STP PAY/$100K + ** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___(property or service 

obtained), having the value of ____, belonging to ____(victim) 

by passing a certain check numbered ______, drawn on 

______(drawee) knowing ____,(choose from below) and 

payment was refused by the drawee upon presentation of the 

check. 

1. that payment of the check has been 

[stopped/countermanded] 

2. the drawee of the check will [disregard/dishonor/refuse] 

to recognize the check 
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  CR 8-103(e) 

PENALTY SEC. 8-106 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$15,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1181* **BD CK/PASS/STP PAY/$25K TO <100K ** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___(property or service 

obtained), having the value of ____, belonging to ___ (victim) 

by passing a certain check numbered ______, drawn on 

______(drawee) knowing _____(choose from below), and 

payment was refused by the drawee upon presentation of the 

check. 

1. that payment of the check has been 

[stopped/countermanded] 

2. the drawee of the check will [disregard/dishonor/refuse] 

to recognize the check 

 

  

  CR 8-103(e) 

PENALTY SEC. 8-106 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$10,000 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1182* **BD CK/PASS/STOP PAY /$1,500 TO <$25K** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain____ (property or 

service obtained), having the value of _____, belonging to 

_____(victim) by passing a certain check numbered _____, 

drawn on ____ (drawee) knowing _____(choose from below), 

and payment was refused by the drawee upon presentation of 

the check. 

1. that payment of the check has been 

[stopped/countermanded] 

2. the drawee of the check will [disregard/dishonor/refuse] 

to recognize the check 

 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

229. 
 

  CR 8-103(e) 

PENALTY SEC. 8-106 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1184* **BD CK/PASS/STP PAY//$100 TO< $1,500** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___(property or service 

obtained), having the value of ____, belonging to ____ (victim) 

by passing a certain check numbered ______, drawn on 

______(drawee) knowing _____(choose from below), and 

payment was refused by the drawee upon presentation of the 

check. 

1. that payment of the check has been 

[stopped/countermanded] 

2. the drawee of the check will [disregard/dishonor/refuse] 

to recognize the check 

  CR 8-103(e) 

PENALTY SEC. 8-106 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 – 90 DAYS 

*1_1240* **BD CK/PASS/STP PAY/UND $100 ** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___(property or service 

obtained), having the value of ____, belonging to ____ (victim) 

by passing a certain check numbered ______, drawn on 

______(drawee) knowing _____(choose from below), and 

payment was refused by the drawee upon presentation of the 

check. 

1. that payment of the check has been 

[stopped/countermanded] 

2. the drawee of the check will [disregard/dishonor/refuse] 

to recognize the check 

  CR 8-108 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 - 60 DAYS 

*1_0616* **BAD CHECK: FINES/COURT COSTS** 

 …did pay a [fine/cost] imposed by a court by delivering a 

check issued by _____(name), knowing that payment of the 

check had not been provided for, and payment of the check was 

refused by the drawee on presentment. 
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CREDIT CARD OFFENSES 
 

  CR 8-203 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_2607* **CRED CRD APLY FOR/FALSE ID** 

 ...did [make/cause to be made] a false written statement to 

_____ (company or company representative)with respect to  

[his/ her] identity/the identity of another person, to wit: 

________] knowing it to be false and with the intent that it be 

relied upon for the purpose of procuring the issuance of a credit 

card. 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 8-204(a)(i) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_2399* **CRED CARD: STEAL ANOTHER'S** 

 did [take/take possession of/take custody of/take control of]  a 

credit card belonging to _____cardholder name) without 

[his/her] consent]. 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-204(a)(ii) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*2_2803* **CRED CARD/STOLEN: RECEIVE** 

 ...did receive a credit card belonging to _____, knowing it to 

have been stolen, with the intent to [use it/sell it/ transfer it] to a 

person other than ______ (issuer/or card holder). 
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  CR 8-204(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_2899* **CRED CRD LOST RECV/RETAIN** 

 ...did receive and retain possession of a credit card belonging to 

____, knowing it to have been [lost/mislaid/delivered under a 

mistake as to identity or address of cardholder], with intent [that 

it be used by/sell it to/transfer it to] a person other than _____ 

(issuer or cardholder). 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-204(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_2605* **CRED CRD SELL/BUT UNLAWFUL** 

 ...did [sell to/buy from] ______, a credit card issued to ______, 

knowing that the [seller/purchaser] was not the issuer. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-204(d) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_2803* **CRED CRD RECEIV UNLAWFULLY** 

 ...did receive a credit card, to wit: _____ (describe card) 

knowing it to have been [stolen/illegally procured/sold by a 

person other than the issuer/issued pursuant to a false written 

statement/illegally retained]. 
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  CR 8-205(b) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$1,000.00 - 15 YEARS 

*1_0196* **CREDIT CARD: COUNTERFEIT** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____ (issuer of card), falsely 

[make/emboss/transfer/possess] a purported credit card, to wit: 

______ (describe card). 

NOTE: See definition of "falsely made," and "falsely emboss" 

in Section CR 8-205. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-205(c) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$1,000.00 - 15 YEARS 

*1_0198* **CRED. CARD SIGN ANOTHER'S** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____, sign a credit card issued to 

_____. 

 

 

  CR 8-206(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0581* **CREDIT CARD/ANOTHER CHG L/T $100** 

 …did, with intent to defraud ____ (issuer of card), use a credit 

card issued to _____ (name) for  the purpose of obtaining 

[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value less than 

$100, knowing the said card to have been [stolen/illegally 

purchased/illegally sold/lost/misdelivered]. 

 

 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

233. 
 

 

  CR 8-206(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1185* 
 

**CRED CRD/ANOT CHRG $100-<$1500** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud _____ (issuer of card), use a credit 

card issued to ______ for the purpose of obtaining 

[money/goods/services/ things of value] having a value of 

______(amount), at least $100 but less than $1500, knowing the 

said card to have been [stolen/illegally purchased/illegally 

sold/lost/misdelivered]. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 8-206(a)(1) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$10,000.00 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1186* 
 

**CRED CRD/ANOT CHRG $1500-<$25K** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud _____ (issuer of card), use a credit 

card issued to ______ for the purpose of obtaining 

[money/goods/services/ things of value] having a value of 

______(amount), at least $1500 but less than $25,000, knowing 

the said card to have been [stolen/illegally purchased/illegally 

sold/lost/misdelivered]. 
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  CR 8-206(a)(1) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$15,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1187* 
 

**CRED CRD/ANOT CHRG $25K-<$100K** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud _____ (issuer of card), use a credit 

card issued to ______ for the purpose of obtaining 

[money/goods/services/ things of value] having a value of 

______(amount), at least $25,000 but less than $100,000, 

knowing the said card to have been [stolen/illegally 

purchased/illegally sold/lost/misdelivered]. 

 

  CR 8-206(a)(1) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$25,000.00 – 20 YEARS 

*1_1188* **CREDIT CARD/ANOTH CHG 100K+** 

 …did, with intent to defraud ____ (issuer of card), use a credit 

card issued to _____ (name) for  the purpose of obtaining 

[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value of 

____(amount), $100,000 or more, knowing the said card to 

have been [stolen/illegally purchased/illegally 

sold/lost/misdelivered]. 

 

 

 

 CR 8-206(a)(2) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$25,0000 – 20 YEARS 

*1_1189* **OBT PROP BY CNTRFT $100K+** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____(name), use a credit card 

issued to ____, for the purpose of obtaining 

[money/goods/services/thing of value] having a value of 

____(amount), $100,000 or more, knowing said card to be 

counterfeit. 
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 CR 8-206(a)(2) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$15,0000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1190* **OBT PROP BY CNTRFT $25K TO <$100K** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____(name), use a credit card 

issued to ____, for the purpose of obtaining 

[money/goods/services/thing of value] having a value of 

____(amount), at least $25,000 but less than $100,000, 

knowing said card to be counterfeit. 

 

  CR 8-206(a)(2) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$10,000 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1191* **OBT PROP BY CNTRFEIT $1500-<$25K** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____(name), use a credit card 

issued to ____, for the purpose of obtaining 

[money/goods/services/thing of value] having a value of 

____(amount), at least $1,500 but less than $25,000, knowing 

said card to be counterfeit. 

NOTE: See 8-206(c) for appropriate penalty information. 

 

 

   

 

 

CR 8-206(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1192* **OBT PROP BY CNTRFT $100-<$1500** 

 ...did with intent to defraud ____(name), use a credit card 

issued to ____, for the purpose of obtaining 

[money/goods/services/thing of value] having a value of 

_____(amount), at least $100 but less than $1,500, knowing 

said card to be counterfeit. 
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  CR 8-206(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0582* **OBT PROP BY COUNTERFEIT L/T $100** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____(name), use a credit card 

issued to ____, for the purpose of obtaining 

[money/goods/services/thing of value] having a value less than 

$100, knowing said card to be counterfeit. 

 

  CR 8-206(b) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$25,000 – 20 YEARS 

*1_1193* **CRED CRD-PERSONATN/ $100K +** 

 …did, with intent to defraud _____ obtain 

[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value of 

____(amount), $100,000 or more, by [representing himself to 

be _____, the specified holder of a credit card, without the said 

____ consent/ representing himself to be the holder of a non-

issued credit card]. 

 

 

  CR 8-206(b) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$15,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1194* **CRED CRD-PERSONATN/$25K TO <$100K** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud _____ obtain 

[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value of 

____(amount), at least $25,000 but less than $100,000, by 

[representing himself to be _____, the specified holder of a 

credit card, without the said ____ consent/ representing himself 

to be the holder of a non-issued credit card]. 
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  CR 8-206(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1195* **CRED CRD-PERSONTN/$100-<$1500** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud _____ obtain 

[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value of 

______(amount), at least $100 but less than $1,500 by 

[representing himself to be _____, the specified holder of a 

credit card, without the said ____ consent/ representing himself 

to be the holder of a non-issued credit card]. 

 

 

  CR 8-206(b) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$10,000 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1196* **CRED CARD PERSONTN $1500-<$25K** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud _____ obtain 

[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value of  

____(amount), at least $1,500 but less than $25,000, by 

[representing himself to be _____, the specified holder of a 

credit card, without the said ____ consent/ representing himself 

to be the holder of a non-issued credit card]. 

 

 

 

 

 CR 8-206(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 – 90 DAYS 

*1_0583* **CRED CRD-PERSONATN/L/T $100** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud _____ (name) obtain 

[money/goods/services/things of value to wit:___] having a 

value of less than $100 by [representing himself to be _____, 

the specified holder of a credit card, without the said ____ 

consent/ representing himself to be the holder of a non-issued 

credit card]. 
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  CR 8-207(a)(1) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$25,000 – 20 YEARS 

*1_1197* **CRD CRD SELL UNL USE $100K+** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____, furnish 

[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value of  ____ 

(amount), $100,000 or more, to ____ upon presentation of a 

credit card issued to ____, knowing the said card to have been 

[stolen/forged/illegally purchased/illegally sold/counterfeited]. 

 

  CR 8-207(a)(1) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$15,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1198* **CRD CRD SELL UNL USE $25K TO <$100K** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____, furnish 

[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value of 

___(amount), at least $25,000 but less than $100,000, to ____ 

upon presentation of a credit card issued to ____, knowing the 

said card to have been [stolen/forged/illegally 

purchased/illegally sold/counterfeited]. 

 

  CR 8-207(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1199* **CRED CRD SELL USE $100-<$1500** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____, furnish 

[money/goods/services/things of value]  having a value of 

___(amount), at least $100 but less than $1,500, to ____ upon 

presentation of a credit card issued to ____, knowing the said 

card to have been [stolen/forged/illegally purchased/illegally 

sold/counterfeited]. 
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  CR 8-207(a)(1) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$10,000 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1350* **CRD CRD SELL UNLW USE $1500-<$25K** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____, furnish 

[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value  

____(amount), at least $1,500 but less than $25,000 to ____ 

upon presentation of a credit card issued to ____, knowing the 

said card to have been [stolen/forged/illegally 

purchased/illegally sold/counterfeited]. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 8-207(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500 – 90 DAYS 

*1_0584* **CRD CRD SELL UNLWF USE L/T $100** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____, furnish 

[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value of less 

than $100, to ____ upon presentation of a credit card issued to 

____, knowing the said card to have been 

[stolen/forged/illegally purchased/illegally sold/counterfeited]. 
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  CR 8-207(a)(2) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$25,000 – 20 YEARS 

*1_1351* **CRD CRD FALSE CLM-SL $100K +* 

 …did, having been authorized by ____ (issuer) to furnish ____ 

[money/goods/service/anything of value] having the value of 

_____, to_______ (authorized cardholder), with the intent to 

defraud, represent in writing that [he/she] supplied 

_____(money, etc.) which [he/she] failed to supply as 

represented in the writing, the difference being ____ (amount). 

 

  CR 8-207(a)(2) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$15,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1352* **CRD CRD FALSE CLM-SL $25K TO <$100K* 

 ...did, having been authorized by ____ (issuer) to furnish ____ 

[money/goods/service/anything of value] having the value of 

_____, to_______ (authorized cardholder), with the intent to 

defraud, represent in writing that [he/she] supplied 

_____(money, etc.) which [he/she] failed to supply as 

represented in the writing, the difference being ____ (amount). 

 

  CR 8-207(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1353* **CR CRD FLSE CLM-SL $100-<$1500* 

 ...did, having been authorized by ____ (issuer) to furnish ____ 

[money/goods/service/anything of value] having the value of 

_____, to_______ (authorized cardholder), with the intent to 

defraud, represent in writing that [he/she] supplied 

_____(money, etc.) which [he/she] failed to supply as 

represented in the writing, the difference being ____ (amount). 
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  CR 8-207(a)(2) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$10,000 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1354* **CR CRD FLS CLM SEL $1500-<$25K** 

 ...did, having been authorized by ____ (issuer) to furnish ____ 

[money/goods/service/anything of value]  having the value of 

_____, to_______ (authorized cardholder), with the intent to 

defraud, represent in writing that [he/she] supplied 

_____(money, etc.) which [he/she] failed to supply as 

represented in the writing, the difference being ____ (amount). 

 

 

 

  CR 8-207(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 – 90 DAYS 

*1_0585* **CRD CRD FALSE CLM-SL L/T $100 * 

 ...did, having been authorized by ___(issuer) to furnish 

[money/goods/services/thing of value to wit:____] on 

presentation of a credit card by ___(cardholder), fail to furnish 

said [money/goods/ services/ thing of value to wit: ___] having 

a value of less than $100, to ____(authorized cardholder), 

which was represented in writing to the issuer that said 

[money/goods/services/ thing of value to wit:___] was 

furnished. 
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  CR 8-208(b)(1) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$1,000.00 - 15 YEARS 

*1_0199* **CRED. CARD INCOMP. POSSESS** 

 ...did possess an incomplete credit card issued to _____, with 

the intent to complete same without the consent of ______, the 

issuer. 

 

  

  CR 8-208(b)(2) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$1,000.00 - 15 YEARS 

*1_0200* **CRED. CARD EQUIP TO PRODUC** 

 ...did knowingly possess [machinery/plates/other contrivance, 

to wit: ____] designed to produce credit cards of _____, 

without his consent. 

 

 

 

 CR 8-209(a) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$25,000 – 20 YEARS 

*1_1355* **FALSE CRD CRD: CHRG GOOD  $100K+** 

 ...did receive [money/goods/services/things of value] to wit: 

___ having a value of  ____(amount) , $100,000 or more, 

obtained by means of a forged or misrepresented credit card 

issued to ____ and negotiated by ____, knowing the said 

[money/goods, etc.] was illegally obtained. 
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  CR 8-209(a) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$15,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1356* **FLSE CRD CRD CHRG GOOD $25K -<$100K** 

 ...did receive [money/goods/services/things of value] to wit: 

___ having a value of  ____(amount) , at least $25,000 but less 

than $100,000, obtained by means of a forged or 

misrepresented credit card issued to ____ and negotiated by 

____, knowing the said [money/goods, etc.] was illegally 

obtained. 

 

 

  CR 8-209(a) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$10,000 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1357* **FALSE CRD CRD CHRG GOODS $1500 TO <$25K** 

 …did receive,[money/goods/services/things of value] to wit: 

___ having a value of ____(amount), at least $1,500 but less 

than $25,000, obtained by means of a forged or misrepresented 

credit card issued to ____ and negotiated by ____, knowing the 

said [money/goods, etc.] was illegally obtained. 

NOTE: Per CJ 4-301 District Court has exclusive original 

jurisdiction whether felony or misdemeanor. 

NOTE: If a person commits a violation of this section pursuant 

to one scheme or continuing course of conduct, from the same 

or several sources, the conduct may be considered as one 

offense and the value of the money, goods, services, or 

anything else of value may be aggregated in determining if the 

offense is a felony or a misdemeanor. 

NOTE: PAYMENT DEVICE NUMBERS: The definition of 

credit card includes a payment device number, which is defined 

in Section 8-206 as meaning any code, account number, or 

other means of account access, other than a check, draft, or 

other similar paper instrument, that can be used to obtain 

money, etc., or to transfer funds. 
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  CR 8-209(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1358* **FALSE CRD CRD: CHRG GOODS $100-<1500** 

 …did receive [money/goods/services/things of value] to wit: 

___ having a value of at least $100 but less than $1,500, 

obtained by means of a forged or misrepresented credit card 

issued to ____ and negotiated by ____, knowing the said 

[money/goods, etc.] was illegally obtained. 

 

 

  CR 8-209(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 – 90 DAYS 

*1_0586* **FALSE CRD CRD: CHRG GOODS L/T $100** 

 … did, receive [money/goods/services/things of value, to wit: 

_____], having a value less than $100, obtained by means of a 

[counterfeited/misrepresented] credit card issued to ____ and 

negotiated by ____, knowing that said [money/goods] was 

illegally obtained. 

 

 Publish Number/Code of Telephone Credit Card 

  CR 8-210 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 12 MONTHS 

*2_2605* **TELEPHONE CRED CARD FRAUD** 

 …did [publish/cause to be published] the ________(choose 

from below)    with the [intent/knowledge] that the 

[number/code/system] may be used fraudulently to avoid 

paying a lawful toll charge.                                                                                          

1.  [number/code] of a [an existing/a canceled/a revoked/an 

expired/a nonexistent] telephone credit card                                                                                               

2.  [numbering/coding] system used to issue telephone credit 

cards 

NOTE: The published credit card number may be existing, 

cancelled, revoked, expired or non-existent. 
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  CR 8-214 

PENALTY SEC 8-216 

FELONY                                                                                

DISTRICT COURT 

$1,000.00 - 15 YEARS 

*2_0550* **USE/DISCLOSE CREDIT CARD NOS 

 ...did unlawfully [use/disclose] a payment device number, to 

wit: _____ (identify and describe number). 

 

 

  

  CR 8-214 

PENALTY SEC 8-216 

FELONY 

$1,000.00 - 15 YEARS 

DISTRICT COURT 

*2_0560* **USE/DISCLOSE SIGNATURE** 

 ...did unlawfully [use/disclose] the holder's signature of _____ 

(name holder) 

 

NOTE: "Payment Device Number" means any code, account 

number, or other means of account access, other than a check, 

draft, or similar paper instrument, that can be used to obtain 

money, goods, services, or anything of value, or for purposes of 

initiating a transfer of funds. 

"Holder's Signature" means the signature, including an 

electronically recorded signature of a holder in connection with 

a credit applications or credit card transaction.  This definition 

includes, but is not limited to, credit card numbers, telephone 

calling card numbers, bank card P.I.N. numbers, and other 

numbers capable of use. 
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  CR 8-301(b) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$25,000 – 20 YEARS 

*1_1359* ** FRAUD-PER. IDENT. INFO. THEFT $100K+ ** 

 ...did knowingly, willfully, and with fraudulent intent 

[possess/help another to possess/obtain/help another person to 

obtain] personal identifying information of 

_______________(name), without the consent of said 

_______________(name), for the purpose of 

[using/selling/transferring] that information to [obtain a benefit/ 

obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other item of 

value/access health information/access health care]. 

NOTE:  Venue - charges under this section may be prosecuted 

in a jurisdiction which an element of the crime occurred or in 

which the victim resides. (CR 8-301(p)). 

 

  CR 8-301(b) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$15,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1360* ** FRAUD IDENT INFO THFT $25K-<$100K ** 

 ...did knowingly, willfully, and with fraudulent intent 

[possess/help another to possess/obtain/help another person to 

obtain] personal identifying information of 

_______________(name), without the consent of said 

_______________(name), for the purpose of 

[using/selling/transferring] that information to [obtain a benefit/ 

obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other item of 

value/access health information/access health care]. 

NOTE:  Venue - charges under this section may be prosecuted 

in a jurisdiction which an element of the crime occurred or in 

which the victim resides. (CR 8-301(p)). 
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  CR 8-301(b) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$10,000 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1361* ** FRAUD ID INFO THFT $1500-<$25K ** 

 ...did knowingly, willfully, and with fraudulent intent 

[possess/help another to possess/obtain/help another person to 

obtain] personal identifying information of 

_______________(name), without the consent of said 

_______________(name), for the purpose of 

[using/selling/transferring] that information to [obtain a benefit/ 

obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other item of 

value/access health information/access health care]. 

NOTE:  Venue - charges under this section may be prosecuted 

in a jurisdiction which an element of the crime occurred or in 

which the victim resides. (CR 8-301(p)). 

 

  CR 8-301(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1362* ** FRAUD IDENT INFO THFT $100-<$1500** 

 ...did knowingly, willfully, and with fraudulent intent 

[possess/help another to possess/obtain/help another person to 

obtain] personal identifying information of 

_______________(name), without the consent of said 

_______________(name), for the purpose of 

[using/selling/transferring] that information to [obtain a benefit/ 

obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other item of 

value/access health information/access health care]. 

NOTE:  Venue - charges under this section may be prosecuted 

in a jurisdiction which an element of the crime occurred or in 

which the victim resides. (CR 8-301(p)). 
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MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1363* **INTERACT COMP SERV DISCL NUM  ** 

 …did maliciously use an interactive computer service to 

[disclose/assist ____(name) to disclose] the [driver’s license 

number/bank account number/financial institution account 

number/credit card number/payment device number/social 

security number/employee identification number] of 

______(name of victim), without the consent of said person, 

and in order to [annoy/threaten/embarrass/harass] said 

person. 

NOTE: “Interactive computer service” means an 

information service, system of access software provider that 

provides or enables computer access by multiple users to a 

computer service, including system that provides access to 

the internet and cellular telephones. 

 

 

  CR 8-301(c)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500 – 1 YEAR 

 

*1_1364* **FRAUD-PER. IDENT. AVOID PROS** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully assume the identity of 

_______________(name), to avoid identification, apprehension 

or prosecution for a crime, to wit: _______________. 

NOTE: Personal identifying information means the name, 

address, telephone number, driver's license number, social 

security number, place of employment, employee identification 

number, mother's maiden name, bank or other financial 

institution account number, date of birth, personal identification 

number, credit card number of an individual or other payment 

device number. 
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FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$25,000 – 20 YEARS 

*1_1366* ** FRAUD IDENT INFO THFT $100K+ ** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully assume the identity of 

[another/ficticious person] to wit: _______________(name) 

with fraudulent intent to [obtain a benefit/ obtain credit/obtain 

goods/obtain services/obtain other item of value/access health 

information/access health care], to wit: _______________. 

  CR 8-301(c )(2)(i)(ii) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$15,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1367* ** FRAUD IDENT INFO THFT $25K-<$100K ** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully assume the identity of 

[another/ficticious person] to wit: _______________(name) 

with fraudulent intent to [obtain a benefit/ obtain credit/obtain 

goods/obtain services/obtain other item of value/access health 

information/access health care], to wit: _______________. 

  CR 8-301(c )(2)(i)(ii) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$10,000 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1368* ** FRAUD IDENT INFO THFT $1500-<$25K ** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully assume the identity of 

[another/ficticious person] to wit: _______________(name) 

with fraudulent intent to [obtain a benefit/ obtain credit/obtain 

goods/obtain services/obtain other item of value/access health 

information/access health care], to wit: _______________. 

 

  CR 8-301(c )(2)(i)(ii) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1369* ** FRAUD IDENT INFO THFT $100-<$1500** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully assume the identity of 

[another/ficticious person] to wit: _______________(name) 

with fraudulent intent to [obtain a benefit/ obtain credit/obtain 

goods/obtain services/obtain other item of value/access health 

information/access health care], to wit: _______________. 
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  CR 8-301(c )(2)(iii) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$25,000 – 20 YEARS 

*1_1370* ** FRAUD-PER IDENT AVOID PAY $100K+ ** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully assume the identity of 

[another/fictitious person] to wit:  _______________(name), 

with fraudulent intent to avoid the payment of [a debt/other 

legal obligation], to wit: _______________. 

NOTE:  Charges under this section may be prosecuted in a 

jurisdiction in which an element of the crime occurred OR in 

which the victim resides (CR 8-301(p)). 

 

 

 

  CR 8-301(c )(2)(iii) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$15,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1371* ** FRAUD-PER ID AVOID PAY $25K -<100K ** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully assume the identity of 

[another/fictitious person] to wit:  _______________(name), 

with fraudulent intent to avoid the payment of [a debt/other 

legal obligation], to wit: _______________. 

NOTE:  Charges under this section may be prosecuted in a 

jurisdiction in which an element of the crime occurred OR in 

which the victim resides (CR 8-301(p)). 
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  CR 8-301(c )(2)(iii) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$10,000 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1372* ** FRAUD-PER ID AVOID PAY $1500-<25K ** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully assume the identity of 

[another/fictitious person] to wit:  _______________(name), 

with fraudulent intent to avoid the payment of [a debt/other 

legal obligation], to wit: _______________. 

NOTE:  Charges under this section may be prosecuted in a 

jurisdiction in which an element of the crime occurred OR in 

which the victim resides (CR 8-301(p)). 

 

 

 

  CR 8-301(c )(2)(iii) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500– 1 YEARS 

*1_1373* ** FRAUD-PER ID AVOID PAY $100-<1500** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully assume the identity of 

[another/fictitious person] to wit:  _______________(name), 

with fraudulent intent to avoid the payment of [a debt/other 

legal obligation], to wit: _______________. 

NOTE:  Charges under this section may be prosecuted in a 

jurisdiction in which an element of the crime occurred OR in 

which the victim resides (CR 8-301(p)). 
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  CR 8-301(d)(1) 

FELONY                                                                                

DISTRICT COURT                                                             

$25,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

*1_1374* **ELECT DEV/MEDIUM OBT BENEFIT -$100K+** 

 … did knowingly, willfully with fraudulent intent to [obtain a 

benefit/ obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other 

item of value/access health information/access health care] to 

wit: _____(describe)], having a value of  ____(amount), 

$100,000 or more, use [a re-encoder/electronic medium] to 

place information encoded on the magnetic [strip/stripe] from a 

card issued to ________(name) onto a card issued to 

________(name) without consent of _________(name), the 

authorized cardholder. 

 

  CR 8-301(d)(1) 

FELONY                                                                                

DISTRICT COURT                                                             

$15,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1376* **ELECT DEV/MED OBT BENE-$25K-<$100K** 

 … did knowingly, willfully with fraudulent intent to [obtain a 

benefit/ obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other 

item of value/access health information/access health care] to 

wit: _____(describe)], having a value of  ____(amount), at least 

$25,000 but less than $100,000, use [a re-encoder/electronic 

medium] to place information encoded on the magnetic 

[strip/stripe] from a card issued to ________(name) onto a card 

issued to ________(name) without consent of 

_________(name), the authorized cardholder. 
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  CR 8-301(d)(1) 

FELONY                                                                                

DISTRICT COURT                                                             

$10,000.00 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1377* **ELECT DEV/MED OBT BENE-$1500-<$25K** 

 … did knowingly, willfully with fraudulent intent to [obtain a 

benefit/ obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other 

item of value/access health information/access health care] to 

wit: _____(describe)], having a value of  ____(amount), at least 

$1,500 but less than $25,000, use [a re-encoder/electronic 

medium] to place information encoded on the magnetic 

[strip/stripe] from a card issued to ________(name) onto a card 

issued to ________(name) without consent of 

_________(name), the authorized cardholder. 

 

 

 

  CR 8-301(d)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1378* **ELECT DEV/MED OBT BENE-$100-<$1500** 

 … did knowingly, willfully with fraudulent intent to [obtain a 

benefit/ obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other 

item of value/access health information/access health care] to 

wit: _____(describe)], having a value of  ______(amount) at 

least $100 but less than $1,500, use [a re-encoder/electronic 

medium] to place information encoded on the magnetic 

[strip/stripe] from a card issued to ________(name) onto a card 

issued to ________(name) without consent of 

_________(name), the authorized cardholder. 
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  CR 8-301(d)(2) 

FELONY                                                                                

DISTRICT COURT                                                             

$25,000.00 – 20 YEARS 

*1_1379* **SKIM DEV OBT BENEFIT - $100K +** 

 … did knowingly, willfully with fraudulent intent to [obtain a 

benefit/ obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other 

item of value/access health information/access health care] to 

wit: _____(describe)], having a value of ____(amount),  

$100,000 or greater, use a skimming device to 

[access/read/scan/obtain/memorize/store personal identification 

information/store payment device number] from the magnetic 

[strip/stripe] from a credit card issued to ________(name) 

without consent of ________(name), an individual authorized 

to use the credit card. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-301(d)(2) 

FELONY                                                                                

DISTRICT COURT                                                             

$15,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1380* **SKIM DEV OBT BENEFIT - $25K - <$100K ** 

 … did knowingly, willfully with fraudulent intent to [obtain a 

benefit/ obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other 

item of value/access health information/access health care] to 

wit: _____(describe)], having a value of ____(amount), at least 

$25,000 but less than $100,000, use a skimming device to 

[access/read/scan/obtain/memorize/store personal identification 

information/store payment device number] from the magnetic 

[strip/stripe] from a credit card issued to ________(name) 

without consent of ________(name), an individual authorized 

to use the credit card. 
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  CR 8-301(d)(2) 

FELONY                                                                                

DISTRICT COURT                                                             

$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1381* **SKIM DEV OBT BENEFIT- $1500 - <$25K ** 

 … did knowingly, willfully with fraudulent intent to [obtain a 

benefit/ obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other 

item of value/access health information/access health care] to 

wit: _____(describe)], having a value of ____(amount), at least 

$1,500 but less than $25,000, use a skimming device to 

[access/read/scan/obtain/memorize/store personal identification 

information/store payment device number] from the magnetic 

[strip/stripe] from a credit card issued to ________(name) 

without consent of ________(name), an individual authorized 

to use the credit card. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-301(d)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1382* **SKIM DEV OBT BENEFIT – $100-<$1500** 

 … did knowingly, willfully with fraudulent intent to [obtain a 

benefit/ obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other 

item of value/access health information/access health care] to 

wit: _____(describe)], having a value of  _____(amount), at 

least $100 but less than $1500, use a skimming device to 

[access/read/scan/obtain/memorize/store personal identification 

information/store payment device number] from the magnetic 

[strip/stripe] from a credit card issued to ________(name) 

without consent of ________(name), an individual authorized 

to use the credit card. 
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  CR 8-301(e) 

MISDEMEANOR                                                                  

$500 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1383* **POSS ETC. RE-ENCODER/SKIMMING DEV** 

 … did knowingly, willfully with fraudulent intent 

[possess/obtain/help another to possess/help another to obtain] a 

[re-encoder/skimming] device for the unauthorized 

[use/sale/transfer] of [personal identifying information/payment 

device number]. 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-301(f) 

MISDEMEANOR  

$500 – 1 YEAR                                                     

*1_1384* **IDENTITY FRAUD - INDUCE ANOTH PROV** 

 … did knowingly and willfully claim to represent 

_______(name of victim) without [his/her] knowledge and 

consent, with the intent to [solicit/request/take action to induce 

another to provide] [personal identifying information/payment 

device number]. 
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AGE IDENTIFICATION CARDS AND DOCUMENTS 

  

  CR 8-302(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

EACH CARD SEPARATE 

OFFENSE 

*1_0432* **FALSE ID/SALE-ISSUE** 

 ...did [sell/issue/offer for sale/offer to issue] [an identification 

card/a document] which contained:  

(Select appropriate language)  

1. a blank space for a person's [age/date of birth]; 

2. an incorrect [age/date of birth] of a person. 

NOTE: Each card or document is a separate violation of this 

section. The section contains an exception for manufacturers 

who deliver blank ID cards to governmental agencies, or for use 

as employee or patient identification cards. 

 

 

 

  CR 8-302(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

EACH CARD SEPARATE 

OFFENSE 

*1_1434* **KNOWING SALE/ISSUE FALSE ID** 

 …did knowingly [sell/issue/offer for sale/offer to issue] an 

[identification card/document] that contained [an incorrect 

name instead of a true name/an incorrect address]. 

NOTE:  Each card or document is a separate violation of this 

section.  The section contains an exception for manufacturers 

who deliver blank ID cards to governmental agencies, or for use 

as employee or patient identification cards. 
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  CR 8-303(b)(1)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_1432* **POSSESS/USE FALSE GOVERNMENT 

IDENTIFICATION DOC* 

 …did, with fraudulent intent, [possess/display/cause/allow to be 

displayed] a fictitious or fraudulently altered government 

identification document to wit: _________(choose from below). 

1. a passport; 

2. an immigration visa; 

3. an alien registration card; 

4. an employment authorization card; 

5. a birth certificate; 

6. a Social Security card; 

7. a military identification; 

8. an adoption decree; 

9. a marriage license; 

10. a driver’s license; or 

11. a photo identification card. 

 

 

  CR 8-303(b)(3)(4) 

MISDEMEANOR  

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_1433* **DISPLAY GOV'T ID OF ANOTHER** 

 …did, with fraudulent intent, [display/allow the use of/lend] a 

government identification document issued to _________ 

(name of document holder). 
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 Conversion of Partnership Money, Etc. 

  CR 8-401(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*2_2701* **FRAUD-PARTNERSHIP MONEY** 

 …did, as a partner in _____(name partnership), fraudulently 

[convert/appropriate] to [his/her] own use ____ (describe), 

[money/property] of _____  said partnership. 

 

 

 

  CR 8-401(a)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*3_2607* **FRAUD-PARTNERSHIP MONEY** 

 ...did, as a partner, fraudulently [make/fail to make] entries of a 

partnership transaction in the books of ___ (name partnership) 

to show the true state of a transaction relating to the partnership 

business. 

 

 

 

 

 Misrepresentation/Corporate Officer or Agent 

  CR 8-402(a)(1)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 – 3 YEARS 

*4_2607* **FRAUD MISREP BY CORP OFFCER** 

 …did as a corporate [officer/agent] of ____ (name corporation) 

fraudulently [sign/assent to] a publication for the public and 

shareholders containing untruthful representations of said 

corporation’s affairs, assets, and liabilities to [enhance/depress] 

the market value of its [shares/corporate obligation]/thereby 

accomplishing fraud, to wit: ____ (describe fraudulent intent 

and name or describe victim(s). 
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 Pyramid Promotional Scheme 

  CR 8-404(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*6_2600* **FRAUD-PYRAMID/PROM SCHEME** 

 ...did [establish/advertise/promote] a pyramid promotional 

scheme. 

NOTE: "Pyramid promotional scheme" means any plan or 

operation by which a participant gives consideration for the 

opportunity to receive compensation to be derived primarily 

from any person's introduction of other persons into a 

participation in the plan or operation rather than from the sale 

of goods, services, or other intangible property by the 

participant or other persons introduced into the plan or 

operation. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Cargo, Wrongful Disposal/ Refusal to Pay 

Consideration 

  CR 8-405(b)(1)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_2701* **CARGO SEL DEFRD BOAT OWNER** 

 ...did, being employed in the [management/navigation] of ____, 

a vessel operating exclusively on the waters of Maryland, 

[sell/give away/pledge/dispose of] its cargo, belonging to ____, 

the owner of the vessel, without the consent of and with the 

intent to defraud said owner. 

NOTE: See CR 8-405(d) regarding minimum penalty of 6 

months and/or $500 if convicted. 
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  CR 8-405(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0194* **CARGO REC/KEEP $ FRM FALSE** 

 ...did, being employed by _____, the owner of _______, a 

vessel operating exclusively on Maryland waters, for the 

[management/navigation] of the said vessel, receive $______ in 

consideration for the sale of the cargo of said vessel, with the 

consent of its owner, and did [refuse/neglect]  to pay such 

consideration to said owner, with the intent to defraud said 

owner. 

NOTE: See CR 8-405(d) for minimum penalty of 6 months-

$500 if convicted. 

 

 

 

 

 Breach of Trust, Bill of Lading Elevator or 

Warehouse Receipts 

  CR 8-406(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_2602* **FRAUD-BREACH OF TRUST** 

...did receive in trust from ____ (victim) a [warehouse 

receipt/bill of lading/document giving title/document giving the 

right of possession] to ____ (specify property) under a written 

contract, and did fail to perform the terms and conditions of the 

trust as expressed in the written contract.  

NOTE:  See CR 8-406(b) regarding minimum penalty of 1Y-

$500 if convicted.        

NOTE: This section does not cover the failure by an agent to 

deliver to the consignor the completed transfer documents or 

the payment for the shipment after the shipment or other 

transfer of goods or property has been completed. That failure 

should be charged under CR 7-116. 
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 Conversion/Leased or Rented Goods 

  CR 8-407 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 60 DAYS 

*2_2399* **FRAUD CONVERSN/LEASE GOODS** 

 ...did fraudulently convert to [his/her] own use, 

_______(describe item), a [good/thing] valued at $1,500.00 or 

more and received under a [written contract/written lease] 

entered into for the purpose of [renting/leasing] said 

[good/thing] for valuable consideration. 

NOTE: Defendant must have received the item(s) under written 

lease, written contract, or written rental contract. If document 

contains option to buy, the agreement cannot be for longer than 

six months. If there is no option to buy, length of agreement 

does not matter. FAILURE TO RETURN OR ACCOUNT FOR 

THE ITEM AT THE END OF THE AGREED PERIOD IS 

PRIMA FACIE EVIDENCE OF A VIOLATION OF THIS 

SECTION, EXCEPT THAT, the victim must have sent via 

certified US Mail, a written, postpaid, return receipt requested 

demand for return of the item(s) and must wait 10 days for 

either return of item(s) or for the defendant to account for 

items(s) with the victim before charging. 

NOTE:  See section regarding written demand requirement. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

263. 
 

 

 Welfare-Obtaining Public Assistance by Fraud 

  CR 8-503 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*7_2607* **FRAUD-WELFARE** 

 ...did [fraudulently obtain/fraudulently attempt to obtain/aid in 

fraudulently obtaining/aid in fraudulently attempting to obtain] 

a benefit to which the person aided was not entitled, to wit: 

____ (name benefit-see NOTE below), from _____ (name 

program), a [social /nutritional] program financed in whole and 

in part by the State of Maryland and administered by ____ 

(name State agency or political subdivision agency), and did so 

by:  

NOTE: Use whichever of the following is applicable:  

1. wilfully making a false [statement/representation] to ____ 

(agency). 

2. wilfully failing to disclose to ____ material changes in 

[household/financial] conditions. 

3. impersonating another person. 

NOTE: The benefit sought or obtained can be money, property, 

food stamps, or any other assistance EXCEPT MEDICAID. 

SEE NEW SECTION 230 C for Medicaid Fraud. 

NOTE: Any person who in making and signing the application 

for money, property, food stamps, or other assistance, under a 

social or nutritional program based on need, financed in whole 

or in part by the state and administered by the Department of 

Human Resources, the Department of Health and Mental 

Hygiene, or the local Department of Social Services makes a 

false or fraudulent statement with intent to obtain any such 

money, property, food stamps, or other assistance is guilty of 

perjury and on conviction is subject to the penalties provided by 

law for perjury. (CR 9-101) 

NOTE: A prosecution for welfare fraud must be brought within 

3 years after the offense was committed. Medical assistance 

does not include Medicaid as defined in CR 8-508. 

 

 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

264. 
 

SOCIAL SERVICES ADMINISTRATION - PROHIBITED ACTS 

 Appl. Written - False or Fraud State. Punished as 

Perjury, etc. 

  CR 8-504 

MISDEMEANOR 

10 YEARS 

*2_2607* **PUB ASST - FALSE APPLIC'N** 

 ...did, in a signed application, make a [false/fraudulent] 

statement, with the intent to obtain [money/property/food 

stamps/ assistance] under a program based on need, financed in 

whole or in part by the State of Maryland and administered by 

the ______ [Department of Human Resources/Department of 

Health and Mental Hygiene/the _____ Department of Social 

Services]. 

NOTE: It is enough that the false statement be in the 

application. Nothing of value is required to be obtained as a 

result of the false statement. 

 

 

 

 Unauthorized Disposition/Conversion Donated 

Food Commodity 

  CR 8-505(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_2314* **FRAUD-UNAUTH DISP. FOOD** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud, [make an unauthorized disposition 

of/not being an authorized recipient, convert to [his/her] use 

and benefit] a food commodity donated under a program of the 

United States Government, to wit: _____ (name program). 
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FRAUD - STATE HEALTH PLANS 

  

  CR 8-509(1) 

(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-

516) 

LOSS LESS THAN $1,500 

(barcode 2-2110) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$50,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

LOSS MORE THAN $1,500 

(barcode 2-2115) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING                                             

PENALTY 8-516 

*2_2110* 

*2_2115* 

**DEFRAUD STATE HEALTH CARE** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to 

wit: __________ (name plan), in the amount of ______ in 

connection with the delivery of and payment of health care 

services. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-509(1) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2120* **DEFRAUD HEALTH CARE-INJURE** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to 

wit: __________ (name plan),which resulted in the serious 

injury of ____________ (name person injured) in connection 

with the delivery of and payment of health care services. 
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  CR 8-509(1) 

PENALTY SEC. 8-516 

FELONY 

$200,000.00 - LIFE 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2125* **DEFRAUD HEALTH CARE-DEATH** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to 

wit: __________ (name plan),which resulted in the death of 

____________ (name person ) in connection with the delivery 

of and payment of health care services. 

 

 

  CR 8-509(1) 

PENALTY SEC. 8-516 

LOSS LESS THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2130) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100,000 EACH OFFENSE 

LOSS MORE THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2135) 

FELONY 

$250,000 EACH OFFENSE 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2130* 

*2_2135* 

**DEFRAUD HEALTH CARE-BUSINESS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 

did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to wit: 

__________ (name plan), in the amount of ______ in 

connection with the delivery of and payment of health care 

services. 
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  CR 8-509(1) 

PENALTY SEC. 8-516  

FELONY 

$250,000.00 EACH 

OFFENSE 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2140* **FRAUD HLTH CARE-INJURE-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 

did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to wit: 

__________ (name plan),which resulted in the serious injury of 

____________ (name person injured) in connection with the 

delivery of and payment of health care services. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-509(1) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR  8-

516) 

FELONY 

LIFE - $200,000.00 

BUSINESS ENTITY 

$250,000.00 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2145* **FRAUD HEALTH CARE-DEATH-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 

did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to wit: 

__________ (name plan),which resulted in the death of 

____________ (name person ) in connection with the delivery 

of and payment of health care services. 
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  CR 8-509(2) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

LOSS LESS THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2150) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$50,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

LOSS MORE THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2155) 

FELONY 

$100,000 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2150* 

*2_2155* 

**OBTAIN BENEFITS BY FALSE REP** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully obtain by false representation, 

_____________(name benefit) in connection with the delivery 

of and payment for health care services that are a benefit of a 

State health plan, to wit: __________ (name plan). 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-509(2) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

RESULTING SERIOUS 

INJURY 

FELONY 

$100,000 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2160* **OBTAIN BEN-FALSE REP-INJURE** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully obtain by false representation, 

_____________(name benefit) in connection with the delivery 

of and payment for health care services that are a benefit of a 

State health plan, to wit: __________ (name plan) which 

resulted in the serious injury of ____________ (name person 

injured). 
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  CR 8-509(2) 

FELONY 

$200,000.00 - LIFE 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2165* **OBTAIN BEN-FALSE REP-DEATH** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully obtain by false representation, 

_____________(name benefit) in connection with the delivery 

of and payment for health care services that are a benefit of a 

State health plan, to wit: __________ (name plan) which 

resulted in the death of ____________ (name person ). 

 

  

  CR 8-509(2) 

(PENALTY SEC.  CR  8-

516) 

LOSS LESS THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2170) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100,000.00 EACH 

LOSS MORE THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2175) 

FELONY 

$250,000.00 EACH 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2170* 

*2_2175* 

**OBTAIN BEN-FALSE REP-BUSINESS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 

did knowingly and willfully obtain by false representation, 

_____________(name benefit) in connection with the delivery 

of and payment for health care services that are a benefit of a 

State health plan, to wit: __________ (name plan). 
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  CR 8-509(2) 

PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516 

FELONY 

$250,000.00 EACH 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2180* **BEN BY FALSE REP-INJURE-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 

did knowingly and willfully obtain by false representation, 

_____________ (name benefit) in connection with the delivery 

of and payment for health care services that are a benefit of a 

State health plan, to wit: __________ (name plan) which 

resulted in the serious injury of ____________ (name person 

injured). 

 

 

  

  CR 8-509(2) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

$100,000.00 EACH 

FELONY 

$250,000.00 EACH 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2185* **BEN BY FALSE REP-DEATH-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 

did knowingly and willfully obtain by false representation, 

_____________(name benefit) in connection with the delivery 

of and payment for health care services that are a benefit of a 

State health plan, to wit: __________ (name plan) which 

resulted in the death of ____________ (name person ). 
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  CR 8-509(3) 

(PENALTY SEC.CR  8-516) 

LOSS LESS THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2190) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$50,000 - 3 YEARS 

LOSS MORE THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2195) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2190* 

*2_2195* 

**DEFRAUD HEALTH PLAN-SERVICE** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to 

wit: __________ (name plan), of the right to honest services, in 

the amount of __________. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-509(3) 

(PENALTY SEC.CR  8-516) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2320* **DEFRAUD HEALTH-SERVICE-INJURE** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to 

wit: __________ (name plan), of the right to honest services, 

which resulted in the serious injury of ____________ (name 

person injured). 
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  CR 8-509(3) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

FELONY 

$200,000.00 - LIFE 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2325* **DEFRAUD HEALTH-SERVICE-DEATH** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to 

wit: __________ (name plan), of the right to honest services, 

which resulted in the death of ____________ (name person). 

 

 

  CR 8-509(3) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

LOSS LESS THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2330) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100,000.00 

LOSS MORE THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2335) 

FELONY 

$250,000.00 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2330* 

*2_2335* 

**FRAUD HEALTH-SERVICE-BUSINESS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 

did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to wit: 

__________ (name plan), of the right to honest services, in the 

amount of __________ . 
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  CR 8-509(3) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

FELONY 

$250,000.00 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2340* **FRAUD HLTH-SERVICE-INJURE-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 

did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to wit: 

__________ (name plan), of the right to honest services, which 

resulted in the serious injury of ____________ (name person 

injured). 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-509(3) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

FELONY 

$250,000.00 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2345* **FRAUD HLTH -SERVICE-DEATH-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 

did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to wit: 

__________ (name plan), of the right to honest services, which 

resulted in the death of ____________ (name person ). 
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  CR 8-509(4) 

PENALTY SEC. 8-516 

LOSS LESS THAN $1,500 

(barcode 2-2350) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$50,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

LOSS MORE THAN $1,500 

(barcode 2-2355) 

$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2350* 

*2_2355* 

**FLS REP-DEFRAUD HEALTH CARE** 

 ...did, with the intent to defraud, make a false representation 

relating to [health care services, to wit: __________ / a State 

Health Plan, to wit: __________ ]. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-509(4) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR  8-

516) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2360* **FLS REP-HEALTH CARE-INJURE** 

 ...did, with the intent to defraud, make a false representation 

relating to [health care services, to wit: __________ / a State 

Health Plan, to wit: __________ ], which resulted in the serious 

injury of ____________ (name person injured). 
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  CR 8-509(4) 

PENALTY SEC. 8-516 

FELONY 

$200,000.00 - LIFE 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2365* **FLS REP-HEALTH CARE-DEATH** 

 ...did, with the intent to defraud, make a false representation 

relating to [health care services, to wit: __________ / a State 

Health Plan, to wit: __________ ], which resulted in the death 

of ____________ (name person). 

 

  CR 8-509(4) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR  8-

516) 

LOSS LESS THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2370) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100,000.00 

LOSS MORE THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2375) 

FELONY 

$250,000.00 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2370* 

*2_2375* 

**FLS REP-HEALTH CARE--BUSINESS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 

did, with the intent to defraud, make a false representation 

relating to [health care services, to wit: __________ / a State 

Health Plan, to wit: __________ ]. 
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  CR 8-509(4) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

FELONY 

$250,000.00 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2380* **FLS REP-HLTH CARE-INJURE-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 

did, with the intent to defraud, make a false representation 

relating to [health care services, to wit: __________ / a State 

Health Plan, to wit: __________ ], which resulted in the serious 

injury of ____________ (name person injured). 

 

  

  CR 8-509(4) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

FELONY 

$250,000.00 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2385* **FLS REP-HLTH CARE-DEATH-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 

did, with the intent to defraud, make a false representation 

relating to [health care services, to wit: __________ / a State 

Health Plan, to wit: __________ ], which resulted in the death 

of ____________ (name person ). 
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  CR 8-511(1)(2) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR  8-

516) 

LOSS LESS THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2975) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$50,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

LOSS MORE THAN $1,500 

(barcode 2-2980) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2975* 

*2_2980* 

**KICKBACK-HEALTH PLAN SERV** 

 ...did provide to _________ (name) [items/services] for which 

payment [is/may be] made from [federal/state] funds under a 

state health plan, to wit: ___________ (name plan) and did 

[solicit /offer/make/receive] a [kickback/bribe] in connection 

with [providing items or services/making a payment/receiving a 

benefit]. 
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  CR 8-511(1)(2) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR  8-

516) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2985* **KICKBACK-HEALTH PLAN-INJURE** 

 ...did provide to _________ (name) [items/services] for which 

payment [is/may be] made from [federal/state] funds under a 

state health plan, to wit: ___________ (name plan) and did 

[solicit /offer/make/receive] a [kickback/bribe] in connection 

with [providing items or services/making a payment/receiving a 

benefit], which resulted in serious injury to ___________ 

(name person injured). 

 

 

  CR 8-511(1)(2) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

FELONY 

$200,000.00 - LIFE 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2990* **KICKBACK-HEALTH PLAN-DEATH** 

 ...did provide to _________ (name) [items/services] for which 

payment [is/may be] made from [federal/state] funds under a 

state health plan, to wit: ___________ (name plan) and did 

[solicit /offer/make/receive] a [kickback/bribe] in connection 

with [providing items or services/making a payment/receiving a 

benefit], which resulted in the death of ___________ (name 

person ). 
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  CR 8-511(1)(2) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR  8-

516) 

LOSS LESS THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2992) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100,000.00 EACH 

LOSS MORE THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2994) 

FELONY 

$250,000.00 EACH 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2992* 

*2_2994* 

**KICKBACK-HLTH SERV-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: ______________, did provide 

to _________ (name) [items/services] for which payment 

[is/may be] made from [federal/state] funds under a state health 

plan, to wit: ___________ (name plan) and did [solicit 

/offer/make/receive] a [kickback/bribe] in connection with 

[providing items or services/making a payment/receiving a 

benefit]. 

 

  CR 8-511(1)(2) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2995* **BUS KICKBCK-HLTH PLAN-INJURE** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: ______________, did provide 

to _________ (name) [items/services] for which payment 

[is/may be] made from [federal/state] funds under a state health 

plan, to wit: ___________ (name plan) and did [solicit 

/offer/make/receive] a [kickback/bribe] in connection with 

[providing items or services/making a payment/receiving a 

benefit], which resulted in serious injury to ___________ 

(name person injured). 
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280. 
 

  

  CR 8-511(1)(2) 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

FELONY 

$200,000.00 - LIFE 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2996* **BUS KICKBCK-HLTH PLAN-DEATH** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: ______________, did provide 

to _________ (name) [items/services] for which payment 

[is/may be] made from [federal/state] funds under a state health 

plan, to wit: ___________ (name plan) and did [solicit 

/offer/make/receive] a [kickback/bribe] in connection with 

[providing items or services/making a payment/receiving a 

benefit], which resulted in the death of ___________ (name 

person ). 

 

 

  CR 8-512 

(PENALTY SEC. 8-516) 

LOSS LESS THAN $1,500 

(barcode 2-2865) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$50,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

LOSS MORE THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2870) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2865* 

*2_2870* 

**HEALTH BENEFIT-SOLICIT FEE** 

 ...did [solicit/offer/make/receive] a rebate of a [fee/charge] for 

referring ____________ (name) to __________ (person) to 

provide items and services for which payment [is/may be] made 

from [federal/state] funds under a State Health Plan, to wit: 

__________ ] in the amount of ___________ . 
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23
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281. 
  

  CR 8-512 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2875* **HLTH BEN-SOLICIT FEE-INJURE** 

 ...did [solicit/offer/make/receive] a rebate of a [fee/charge] for 

referring ____________ (name) to __________ (person) to 

provide items and services for which payment [is/may be] made 

from [federal/state] funds under a State Health Plan, to wit: 

__________ , which resulted in the serious injury of 

____________ (name person injured). 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-512 

(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-

516) 

FELONY 

$200,000.00 - LIFE 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2880* **HLTH BEN-SOLICIT FEE-DEATH** 

 ...did [solicit/offer/make/receive] a rebate of a [fee/charge] for 

referring ____________ (name) to __________ (person) to 

provide items and services for which payment [is/may be] made 

from [federal/state] funds under a State Health Plan, to wit: 

__________ , which resulted in the death of ____________ 

(name person). 
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  CR 8-512 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

LOSS LESS THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2885) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100,000.00 

LOSS MORE THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2890) 

FELONY 

$250,000.00 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2885* 

*2_2890* 

**HLTH BEN-SOLICIT FEE-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 

did [solicit/offer/make/receive] a rebate of a [fee/charge] for 

referring ____________ (name) to __________ (person) to 

provide items and services for which payment [is/may be] made 

from [federal/state] funds under a State Health Plan, to wit: 

__________ ] in the amount of ___________ . 

 

 

  

  CR 8-512 

(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-

516) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2895* **HLTH BEN-SOLICIT-INJURE-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 

did [solicit/offer/make/receive] a rebate of a [fee/charge] for 

referring ____________ (name) to __________ (person) to 

provide items and services for which payment [is/may be] made 

from [federal/state] funds under a State Health Plan, to wit: 

__________ ], which resulted in the serious injury of 

____________ (name person injured). 
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23
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  CR 8-512 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

FELONY 

$200,000.00 - LIFE 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2896* **HLTH BEN-SOLICIT-DEATH-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 

did [solicit/offer/make/receive] a rebate of a [fee/charge] for 

referring ____________ (name) to __________ (person) to 

provide items and services for which payment [is/may be] made 

from [federal/state] funds under a State Health Plan, to wit: 

__________ ], which resulted in the death of ____________ 

(name person). 

 

 

 

  CR 8-513 

(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-

516) 

LOSS LESS THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2910) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$50,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

LOSS MORE THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2920) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2910* 

*2_2920* 

**INDUCE FALSE REP-HLTH PLAN** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully [make / cause to be made/ induce 

the making of] a false representation with respect to the 

conditions and operation of a [facility /institution / State health 

plan ], to help such to qualify to receive reimbursement under a 

State Health Plan, to wit: _____________ in the amount of 

_________. 
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  CR 8-513 

(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-

516) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2925* **FALSE REP-HLTH PLAN-INJURE** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully [make / cause to be made/ induce 

the making of] a false representation with respect to the 

conditions and operation of a [facility /institution / State health 

plan ], to help such to qualify to receive reimbursement under a 

State Health Plan, to wit: _____________ in the amount of 

_________ , which resulted in the serious injury of 

____________ (name person injured). 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-513 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

FELONY 

$200,000.00 - LIFE 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2930* **FALSE REP-HLTH PLAN-DEATH** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully [make /cause to be made/ induce 

the making of] a false representation with respect to the 

conditions and operation of a [facility /institution / State health 

plan ], to help such to qualify to receive reimbursement under a 

State Health Plan, to wit: _____________ in the amount of 

_________, which resulted in the death of ____________ 

(name person ). 
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  CR 8-513 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

LOSS LESS THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2935) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100,000.00 

LOSS MORE THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-2940) 

FELONY 

$250,000.00 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2935* 

*2_2940* 

**FALSE REP-HLTH PLAN-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: ___________, did knowingly 

and willfully [make / cause to be made/ induce the making of] a 

false representation with respect to the conditions and operation 

of a [facility /institution / State health plan ], to help such to 

qualify to receive reimbursement under a State Health Plan, to 

wit: _____________ in the amount of _________. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-513 

(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-

516) 

FELONY 

$250,000.00 -  20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2945* **FALSE REP-INJURE-BUSINESS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: ___________, did knowingly 

and willfully [make / cause to be made/ induce the making of] a 

false representation with respect to the conditions and operation 

of a [facility /institution / State health plan ], to help such to 

qualify to receive reimbursement under a State Health Plan, to 

wit: _____________ in the amount of _________, which 

resulted in the serious injury of ____________ (name person ). 
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23
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286. 
  CR 8-513 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

FELONY 

$250,000.00 - LIFE 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2950* **FALSE REP--DEATH-BUSINESS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: ___________, did knowingly 

and willfully [make / cause to be made/ induce the making of] a 

false representation with respect to the conditions and operation 

of a [facility /institution / State health plan ], to help such to 

qualify to receive reimbursement under a State Health Plan, to 

wit: _____________ in the amount of _________, which 

resulted in the death of ____________ (name person ). 

 

  

  CR 8-514 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

LOSS LESS THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-4110) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$50,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

LOSS MORE THAN $1,500 

(barcode 2-4115) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_4110* 

*2_4115* 

**FRAUD-OBTAIN DRUG/MED CARE** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully [obtain/aid ________ (name) in 

obtaining/aid ________ (name) in attempting to obtain] [a drug 

product / medical care], the payment [is/may be] made from 

[federal/state] funds under a state health plan by [fraud / deceit / 

misrepresentation / concealment / forgery of a medical 

assistance prescription / alteration of a medical assistance 

prescription / forgery of a pharmacy assistance prescription / 

alteration of a pharmacy assistance prescription / concealment 

of a material fact / using a false name/ using a false address]. 
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287. 
  CR 8-514 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_4120* **FRAUD-DRUG/MED CARE-INJURE** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully [obtain/aid ________ (name) in 

obtaining/aid ________ (name) in attempting to obtain] [a drug 

product / medical care], the payment [is/may be] made from 

[federal/state] funds under a state health plan by [fraud / deceit / 

misrepresentation / concealment / forgery of a medical 

assistance prescription / alteration of a medical assistance 

prescription / forgery of a pharmacy assistance prescription / 

alteration of a pharmacy assistance prescription / concealment 

of a material fact / using a false name/ using a false address], 

which resulted in serious injury to ___________ (name person 

injured). 

 

 

  

  CR 8-514 

(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-

516) 

FELONY 

$200,000.00 - LIFE 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_4125* **FRAUD-DRUG/MED CARE-DEATH** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully [obtain/aid ________ (name) in 

obtaining/aid ________ (name) in attempting to obtain] [a drug 

product / medical care], the payment [is/may be] made from 

[federal/state] funds under a state health plan by [fraud / deceit / 

misrepresentation / concealment / forgery of a medical 

assistance prescription / alteration of a medical assistance 

prescription / forgery of a pharmacy assistance prescription / 

alteration of a pharmacy assistance prescription / concealment 

of a material fact / using a false name/ using a false address], 

which resulted in the death of __________ (name person ). 
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  CR 8-514 

(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-

516) 

LOSS LESS THAN $1,500 

 (barcode 2-4130) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100,000.00 

LOSS MORE THAN $1,500 

(barcode 2-4135) 

FELONY 

$250,000.00 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_4130* 

*2_4135* 

**FRAUD-OBTAIN MED CARE-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: ______________, did 

knowingly and willfully [obtain/aid ________ (name) in 

obtaining/aid ________ (name) in attempting to obtain] [a drug 

product / medical care], the payment [is/may be] made from 

[federal/state] funds under a state health plan by [fraud / deceit / 

misrepresentation / concealment / forgery of a medical 

assistance prescription / alteration of a medical assistance 

prescription / forgery of a pharmacy assistance prescription / 

alteration of a pharmacy assistance prescription / concealment 

of a material fact / using a false name/ using a false address]. 
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  CR 8-514 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_4140* **FRAUD-/MED CARE-INJURE-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: ______________, did 

knowingly and willfully [obtain/aid ________ (name) in 

obtaining/aid ________ (name) in attempting to obtain] [a drug 

product / medical care], the payment [is/may be] made from 

[federal/state] funds under a state health plan by [fraud / deceit / 

misrepresentation / concealment / forgery of a medical 

assistance prescription / alteration of a medical assistance 

prescription / forgery of a pharmacy assistance prescription / 

alteration of a pharmacy assistance prescription / concealment 

of a material fact / using a false name/ using a false address], 

which resulted in serious injury to ___________ (name person 

injured). 

 

 

  

  CR 8-514 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

FELONY 

$200,000.00 - LIFE 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_4145* **FRAUD-MED CARE-DEATH-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: ______________, did 

knowingly and willfully [obtain/aid ________ (name) in 

obtaining/aid ________ (name) in attempting to obtain] [a drug 

product / medical care], the payment [is/may be] made from 

[federal/state] funds under a state health plan by [fraud / deceit / 

misrepresentation / concealment / forgery of a medical 

assistance prescription / alteration of a medical assistance 

prescription / forgery of a pharmacy assistance prescription / 

alteration of a pharmacy assistance prescription / concealment 

of a material fact / using a false name/ using a false address], 

which resulted in the death of __________ (name person ). 
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  CR 8-515 

(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-

516) 

LOSS LESS THAN $1,500 

(barcode 2-2955) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$50,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

LOSS MORE THAN $1,500 

(barcode 2-2960) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2955* 

*2_2960* 

**POSS MED/PHARM CARD W/O AUTH** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully possess a [medical assistance 

card / pharmacy assistance card] distributed under a [State 

health plan / pharmacy assistance program], to wit: _________ 

(name) without the authorization of ____________ (person), to 

whom the card was issued. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-515 

(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-

516) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2965* **POSS CARD W/O AUTH-INJURY** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully possess a [medical assistance 

card / pharmacy assistance card] distributed under a [State 

health plan / pharmacy assistance program], to wit: _________ 

(name) without the authorization of ____________ (person), to 

whom the card was issued, which resulted in the serious injury 

of ____________ (name person injured). 
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  CR 8-515 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

FELONY 

$200,000.00 - LIFE 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2970* **POSS CARD W/O AUTH-DEATH** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully possess a [medical assistance 

card / pharmacy assistance card] distributed under a [State 

health plan / medical assistance program/pharmacy assistance 

program], to wit: _________ (name) without the authorization 

of ____________ (person), to whom the card was issued, which 

resulted in the death of ____________ (name person ) 

 

  

  

  CR 8-515 

(PENALTY SEC. CR  8-

516) 

LOSS LESS THAN $1,500 

(barcode 2-4150) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100,000.00 

LOSS MORE THAN $1,500 

(barcode 2-4155) 

FELONY 

$250,000.00 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_4150* 

*2_4155* 

**POSS CARD W/O AUTH-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 

did knowingly and willfully possess a [medical assistance card / 

medical assistance program/pharmacy assistance card] 

distributed under a [State health plan / pharmacy assistance 

program], to wit: _________ (name) without the authorization 

of ____________ (person), to whom the card was issued. 
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  CR 8-515 

(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-

516) 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_4160* **POSS CARD NO AUTH-INJURY-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 

did knowingly and willfully possess a [medical assistance card / 

pharmacy assistance card] distributed under a [State health plan 

/ medical assistance program/pharmacy assistance program], to 

wit: _________ (name) without the authorization of 

____________ (person), to whom the card was issued, which 

resulted in the serious injury of ____________ (name person 

injured). 

 

 

  

  CR 8-515 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 

FELONY 

$200,000.00 - LIFE 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_4165* **POSS CARD NO AUTH-DEATH- BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 

did knowingly and willfully possess a [medical assistance card / 

medical assistance program/pharmacy assistance card] 

distributed under a [State health plan / pharmacy assistance 

program], to wit: _________ (name) without the authorization 

of ____________ (person), to whom the card was issued, which 

resulted in the death ____________ (name person). 
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 Misrepresentation in Fund Raising Campaigns - 

Identifying Police Dept. With 

  CR 8-520(c)(1)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 60 DAYS 

*1_2625* **FRAUD-MISREP FUND RAISING** 

 ...did offer items for sale in a [charitable/fund raising] campaign 

by representing to [the public/_____, a prospective purchaser] 

that such fund raising was approved and sanctioned by ______ 

(see note), without first obtaining the written authorization of 

the said [person/organization]. 

NOTE: In this section a Public Safety Officer is a police 

officer, paid or volunteer fire fighter, an emergency medical 

technician, a rescue squad member, or the State Fire Marshal or 

any of his sworn officers. The written approval and sanction of 

a Public Safety Officer or any member of his or her family, or 

that of the chief administrative officer of a police,fire, or other 

department of Public Safety organization, is required to avoid 

violation of this section before the illegal representations can be 

made. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-520(c)(1)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 60 DAYS 

*2_2600* **FRAUD-MISREP FUND RAISING** 

 ...did [encourage/receive/solicit] from _____ a donation and 

contribution of ______ (describe item or state amount) by 

representing that said donation and contribution had the 

approval and sanction of ____ (see note), without first 

obtaining the written authorization of the said 

[person/organization]. 
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 Representation by Public Defender 

  CR 8-521 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*6_2607* **FRAUD-REP BY PUB DEFENDER** 

 ...did knowingly, wilfully and falsely [obtain/attempt to obtain] 

legal representation by the Office of the Public Defender, by 

means of a [false representation/false statement/failure to 

disclose true financial condition/other fraudulent manner] 

_____ (specify). 

NOTE: Normally applies to a false financial condition, but may 

be any other false material representation. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-522(b)(ii) 

MISDEMEANOR 

FIRST OFFENSE 

$100.00 

SUB OFFENSE 

$500.00 

*1_0218* **DOCUMNT USE IMPLY GOV ASSO** 

 ...did [use/sell/send to ___/deliver to ____] a document which 

implied that the defendant [was a branch of/was associated 

with] a department or agency of the federal or state 

government, to wit: _____. 
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 Simulated Court Process, Simulated Seal, Etc. of 

Governmental Agency 

  CR 8-522(b)(1)(i) 

MISDEMEANOR 

FIRST OFFENSE 

$100.00 

SUB OFFENSE 

$500.00 

*5_2604* **DOC USE/FAKE COURT PROCESS** 

 ...did [use/sell/send to ___/deliver to ____] a document which 

simulated a [summons/complaint/court process], with intent to 

induce payment of a claim from ____ (name of victim). 

 

  

  CR 8-522(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

FIRST OFFENSE 

$100.00 

SUB OFFENSE 

$500.00 

*1_0219* **DOC USE FAKE GOV ORIGIN** 

 ...did use a [seal/insignia/ envelope/other format] which 

simulated that of a governmental agency, to wit: ____, with the 

intent to induce payment of a claim from ____ (name of 

victim).  

NOTE: This offense may be prosecuted in the county in which 

the document was used, sold, sent or delivered. 

 

  CR 8-523 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0419* FALSE STMT HOUSING ASSISTANCE 

 …did knowingly make a false statement of a material fact for 

the purpose of influencing a housing agency  ________ (name 

agency) regarding [an application for housing assistance/an 

action affecting housing assistance already provided]. 
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COUNTERFEITING AND FORGERY 

 Private Instruments Generally 

  CR 8-601(a) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$1,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_2502* **FORGERY-PRIV DOCUMENTS** 

 ...did  [counterfeit/cause to be counterfeited/willingly aid 

in/assist in counterfeiting]  _______ (type of document) with 

the intent to defraud. 

NOTE: Violations of CR 8-601 AND 602 are tried in the 

District Court, whether a felony or a misdemeanor. 

NOTE: This section applies to such instruments as deeds, wills 

or codicils, promissory notes, assignments, entries in a book of 

account or ledger, etc. (See CR 8-601(a) for all applicable 

documents) The 1998 Legislature specifically added "TITLE 

TO MOTOR VEHICLE" as a type of document covered by this 

section. This section also covers forgery of power of attorney. 

The type of document should be fully described. For instance, if 

it is a check, you must indicate the date, the amount, the bank 

and the payee. Merely stating "a check", "a deed", etc. is not 

sufficient. 

NOTE: In addition to the type of document, if the forgery 

involves an endorsement, you should specify that it is such, the 

type of document and where in the document the forged 

endorsement appears, i.e., generally on the reverse or back. 

NOTE:  See CR 8-601(d) for prosecution venue. 

NOTE: See common law forgery if forgery does not apply 

under this charge (page 13 – CJIS Code 6-1313). The common 

law offense is still applicable where the statute was not 

intended to cover the whole field or to repeal the common law. 
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  CR 8-601(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1502* **FORGERY/PRIV DOCUMENT/POSSESS** 

 …did, with fraudulent intent, knowingly and willfully possess a 

counterfeit document, to wit: _________ (type of document). 

NOTE:  Document list under CR 8-601(a). 

NOTE:  See CR 8-601(d) for prosecution venue. 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-602 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$1,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_2513* **ISSUE FALSE DOCUMENT** 

 ...did [issue/publish] as true a counterfeit ______ (type of 

document) with the intent to defraud. 

NOTE: See  CR 8-601(a) for applicable documents. 

 

 

 

 

 Possession Of Forged Motor Vehicle Title 

  CR 8-603 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_0035* **POSS FORGED VEH TITLE** 

 ...did possess, with unlawful intent, a counterfeit title to a motor 

vehicle. 
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 Public Documents Generally 

  CR 8-604 

FELONY 

PENALTY 

$10,000 - 10 YEARS 

DISTRICT COURT 

*1_0067* **CURRENCY: MANUFACTURE/COUNTERFEIT** 

 ...did [manufacture/counterfeit/cause to be counterfeit/willingly 

aid in counterfeiting/willingly assist in counterfeiting]  U.S. 

currency with intent to defraud. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-604 

FELONY 

PENALTY 

$10,000 - 10 YEARS 

DISTRICT COURT 

*1_0069* **CURRENCY: MAKE IMAGE** 

 ...did [make/scan/record/reproduce/transmit/hold in 

control/have in custody/have in possession] an 

[analogue/digital/electronic image] of U.S. currency with intent 

to defraud. 

 

  

  CR 8-604.1 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0494* **POSS/ISSUE FORGED CURRENCY** 

 …did knowingly [possess, with unlawful intent/issue] 

counterfeit United States Currency. 
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 Public Documents Generally 

  CR 8-605(a)(1) 

FELONY 

10 YEARS 

DISTRICT COURT 

*1_2500* **FORGERY-PUBLIC DOCUMENT** 

 ...did [counterfeit/cause to be counterfeited/willingly aid in 

counterfeiting/willingly assist in counterfeiting] ______ 

(describe document). 

NOTE:  Documents include a commission, patent, pardon, 

order for release or other court document, a warrant, certificate, 

other public security from which money may be drawn from the 

treasury of the State. 

NOTE:  See CR 8-605(b) for minimum penalty of 2 years 

imprisonment if convicted. 

NOTE: See common law forgery if forgery does not apply 

under this charge (page 13 – CJIS Code 6-1313). The common 

law offense is still applicable where the statute was not 

intended to cover the whole field or to repeal the common law. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-605(a)(2) 

FELONY 

10 YEARS 

DISTRICT COURT 

*1_2504* **PASS FORGED PUBLIC DOC.** 

 ...did [write/sign/possess] a counterfeit document, to wit: _____ 

(describe document). 

NOTE: A public document includes any commission, patent, 

pardon, order for release or other court document, a warrant, 

certificate, other public security from which money may be 

drawn from the treasury of this State. 

NOTE:  See CR 8-605(b) regarding minimum penalty of 2 

years if convicted.                       
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 Public Record-False Entry; Altering, Defacing, Etc. 

  CR 8-606(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_2504* **PUBLIC RECORD-FALSE ENTRY** 

 ...did wilfully [make/attempt to make] a false entry in a public 

record. 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-606(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*3_2504* **PUBLIC RECORD-DESTROY ETC.** 

 …did [willfully/willfully attempt] and without proper authority 

[alter/ deface/destroy/remove/conceal] a public record, to wit: 

______ (describe record). 

 

  

  CR 8-606(b)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*5_2504* **PUB RECRD ACCESS W/O AUTH** 

 ...[did/did attempt to] without proper authority, wilfully and 

intentionally access public records. 
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  CR 8-606.1(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR                                                                 

$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1698 **FORGE/COUNTERFEIT SIGNATURE** 

 … did [forge/falsify/counterfeit] the signature of 

_________(name), being a [judge/court officer/court employee] 

of the State. 

 

  

  CR 8-606.1(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR                                                                 

$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1699* **USE FORGE/COUNTERFEIT DOC W/SIG** 

 … did use a document with a [forged/false/counterfeit] 

signature of ________(name), being a [judge/court officer/ 

court employee] of the State, knowing the signature to be 

[forged/false/counterfeit]. 

 

 Orders, Etc., for Money or Goods 

  CR 8-609(b)(1) 

FELONY 

10 YEARS 

DISTRICT COURT 

*1_2501* **FORG-ORDER FOR MONEY, GOODS** 

 ...did with intent to defraud [counterfeit/cause or procure to be 

counterfeited/willingly aid in counterfeiting/assist in 

counterfeiting] an order for the  [payment of money/delivery of 

goods/delivery of valuable articles] to wit: ______ . (describe 

document) 

NOTE: See CR 8-609(c ) regarding minimum penalty of 2 

years if convicted. 
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  CR 8-609(b)(2) 

FELONY 

10 YEARS 

DISTRICT COURT 

*2_2510* **ISSUE COUNTERFEIT ORDER** 

 ...did knowingly [issue/publish/pass] a counterfeited order for 

the [payment of money/delivery of goods/delivery of valuable 

articles] to wit: _______ (describe document) with the intent to 

defraud. 

 

 

  CR 8-609(b)(3) 

FELONY 

10 YEARS 

DISTRICT COURT 

*2_2520* **OBTAIN GOODS, MONEY-FORGERY** 

 ...did knowingly and fraudulently obtain [money/goods], to wit: 

_______(describe items or state amount of money) by means of 

a counterfeited document, to wit: ______(describe document). 

NOTE: The documents referred to in CR 8-609 are defined as 

any warrant, letter, paper, writing, or order for payment of 

money or delivery of goods or other valuables. If in doubt 

consult the State's Attorney's Office. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-610(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

2 YEARS 

*2_2502* **FORGERY-PRESCRIPTION** 

 ...did knowingly [counterfeit/cause or procure to be 

counterfeited did willingly aid or assist in counterfeiting] a 

_______ (describe prescription or other order of practitioner) 

purporting to have been made by a duly licensed practitioner 

for _____ (name drug, prescription medication, or alcoholic 

beverage). 
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  CR 8-610(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

2 YEARS 

*2_0262* **ISSUE FORGED PRESCRP** 

 ...did knowingly (issue/possess/pass]  a falsely made 

counterfeited _____ (describe prescription or practitioner's 

order) purporting to be made by a duly licensed practitioner, 

knowing it to be counterfeit, for ______(name drug or 

controlled medication). 

 

 

  

  CR 8-610(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

2 YEARS 

*2_2530* **POSSESS FORGED PRESCRIP** 

 ...did [issue/pass/possess] counterfeited ______ (describe 

prescription or other practitioner's order) for _____ (name drug 

or prescription medication), knowing it to be counterfeit. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-610(b)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

2 YEARS 

*1_0180* **OBTAIN DRUG BY FRAUD** 

 ...did obtain or attempt to obtain a prescription drug, to wit: ___ 

(name drug) by [fraud/deceit/misrepresentation]. 
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 Trademark Counterfeiting 

  CR 8-611(b) 

FELONY 

$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

DISTRICT COURT 

*1_1385* **COUNTERFEIT TRADEMARK/$1500+ 

 …willfully did [manufacture/produce/display/advertise/offer 

for sale/sell/possess] with the intent to [sell/distribute] 

[goods/services], to wit: __________ (describe), having a value 

of $1,000.00 or more, knowing the said  [good/service] were 

[bearing/identified] by a counterfeit mark. 

 

  

  CR 8-611(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 – 1 YEAR 

 

*1_1386* **COUNTERFEIT TM/UNDER $1500 

 …willfully did [manufacture/produce/display/advertise/offer 

for sale/sell/possess] with the intent to [sell/distribute] 

[goods/services], to wit: __________ (describe), having a value 

of under $1,000.00, knowing the said  [good/service] were 

[bearing/identified] by a counterfeit mark. 

NOTES: "Intellectual Property" means a trademark service 

mark, offered for sale, manufactured, or distributed, or 

identifying services offered or rendered, without the authority 

of the owner of the intellectual property. State or federal 

registration of intellectual property is prima facie evidence that 

the intellectual property is a trademark or trade name. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

305. 
 Tickets, Coupons, Tokens, Etc. 

  CR 8-612(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

1 YEAR 

*3_2502* **FORGERY-TICKETS/COUPON ETC.** 

 …[did/did cause to be/did aid in/did assist in] 

[counterfeit/counterfeited/counterfeiting/issue/ issued/issuing] a 

token without the authority of the person who lawfully 

[issued/sold/gave away] the token. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-612(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

1 YEAR 

*3_2510* **UTTER FORGED TICKET, ETC.** 

 …did knowingly [issue/pass] a token [that was 

counterfeited/that was issued without the permission of the 

person who lawfully issues,sells, or gives away the token]. 

NOTE: CR 8-612 refers to tickets, coupons, coins, slugs, discs, 

tokens, or other items designed to be used to gain admission to, 

enter, or pass through, over, or into any place, activity, ride, 

bridge, etc. 
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 Unlawful Operation/Vending or Slot Machine; 

Coin Box, Telephone, Etc. 

  CR 8-613 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 3 MONTHS 

*1_2505* **FORGERY-VEND/OPER DEVICE** 

 ...did [operate/cause to be operated/attempt to operate] a_____ 

[machine/or device] designed to receive lawful coin of the 

United States, by inserting therein ____ (type of device) 

without the consent of the [owner/licensee]. 

 

 

 

 Manufacture, Etc. of Slugs, Etc. 

  CR 8-613(b)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 3 MONTHS 

*2_2505* **FORGERY-MF/SELL SLUGS** 

 …did [manufacture for sale/sell/give away] a [slug/ device] 

intended to be deposited in a vending machine _______(choose 

from below).                           

1.  with intent to defraud the [owner/lessee/licensee/person 

entitled to the contents] of the vending machine.                                     

2.  and knew that the [slug/device] is intended for unlawful use.                
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  CR 8-701 

MISDEMEANOR 

7 YEARS 

*1_2700* **EMBEZZLE ETC-WRITINGS ETC** 

 ...did [wilfully/corruptly] [embezzle/steal/withdraw/ 

impair/distroy/alter] a [will/codicil/patent/deed/assignment of 

patent/writ of administration/review/record], with the intent to 

[defeat/injure/alter] the [estate/right] of _____ (name). 

NOTE:  See CR 8-701(b) minimum penalty of 3 years 

imprisonment if convicted. 

NOTE: One may have a right under a will without being a 

beneficiary under an estate. 

 

  CR 8-702(a)(1)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

15 YEARS 

*2_2700* **WILL DESTROY/SECRETE** 

 ...did, having been entrusted with the [will/codicil] of ____, 

[destroy such will/wilfully secrete such will for 6 months after 

having obtained knowledge of the death of ____(name)]. 

 

 

 

  CR 8-801(b) 

MISDEMEANOR                                                                 

$500.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1387* **OBT PROP OF VUL ADULT - L/T $1,500** 

 

 

… did with intent to deprive, knowingly and willfully obtain by 

[deception/intimidation/undue influence], _______(describe 

property) , having a value less than $1,500 and belonging to  

_______(victim),[knowing/having reasonable knowledge] that 

said victim is [a vulnerable adult/at least 68 years old]. 

NOTE: A person convicted of this crime shall be disqualified 

from benefiting from the estate of victim to the extent provided 

in CR 8-801(e). 

NOTE: In addition to the penalties of this charge, a violation of  

this charge is also subject to the enforcement and penalties 

under CL 13-303 (CJIS Code 1-0883) 
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  CR 8-801(b) 

FELONY                                                                               

DISTRICT COURT                                                              

$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1388* **OBT PROP OF VUL ADULT- $1500 -<$25K* 

 … did with intent to deprive, knowingly and willfully obtain by 

[deception/intimidation/undue influence], _______(describe 

property) , having a value of  _____(amount), at least $1,500 

but less than $25,000 and belonging to  

_______(victim),[knowing/having reasonable knowledge] that 

said victim is [a vulnerable adult/at least 68 years old]. 

NOTE: A person convicted of this crime shall be disqualified 

from benefiting from the estate of victim to the extent provided 

in CR 8-801(e). 

NOTE: In addition to the penalties of this charge, a violation of  

this charge is also subject to the enforcement and penalties 

under CL 13-303 (CJIS Code 1-0883). 

 

  CR 8-801(b) 

FELONY                                                                               

DISTRICT COURT                                                             

$15,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1389* **OBT PROP VUL ADULT-$25K TO <$100K* 

 … did with intent to deprive, knowingly and willfully obtain by 

[deception/intimidation/undue influence], _______(describe 

property) , having a value of  _____(amount), at least $25,000 

but less than $100,000 and belonging to  

_______(victim),[knowing/having reasonable knowledge] that 

said victim is [a vulnerable adult/at least 68 years old]. 

NOTE: A person convicted of this crime shall be disqualified 

from benefiting from the estate of victim to the extent provided 

in CR 8-801(e). 

NOTE: A person convicted of this crime shall be disqualified 

from benefiting from the estate of victim to the extent provided 

in CR 8-801(e). 
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  CR 8-801(b) 

FELONY                                                                               

DISTRICT COURT                                                             

$25,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

*1_1390* **OBT PROP VUL ADULT- $100K +* 

 … did with intent to deprive, knowingly and willfully obtain by 

[deception/intimidation/undue influence], _______(describe 

property) , having a value of  _____(amount),$100,000 or more 

and belonging to  _______(victim),[knowing/having reasonable 

knowledge] that said victim is [a vulnerable adult/at least 68 

years old]. 

NOTE: A person convicted of this crime shall be disqualified 

from benefiting from the estate of victim to the extent provided 

in CR 8-801(e). 

NOTE: A person convicted of this crime shall be disqualified 

from benefiting from the estate of victim to the extent provided 

in CR 8-801(e). 

 

 

  CR 8-904 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*3_2600* **FRAUD-RACE HORSE NAME** 

 ...did knowingly [enter/race] a horse in a [running/trotting] race 

under a name other than that assigned and registered to that 

horse by the [Jockey Club/U.S. Trotting Association]. 

 

 

  CR 8-905 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_2503* **FRAUD-PARI MUTUEL TICKETS** 

 ...did knowingly [present/give to _____ , to present] a 

[counterfeit/altered] pari-mutuel ticket for payoff. 
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PERJURY 

General Note: In all of the following sections where the selection between oath and affirmation 

is offered, an oath is a swearing, by whatever form. An affirmation is used by Quakers and other 

persons who have conscientious scruples against taking an oath, who are therefore allowed to 

make affirmation in any mode which they may declare to be binding upon their conscience. 

Commissioners should generally use the word "oath" unless clearly otherwise indicated. In any 

instance in which the affidavit or transcript says "swear and affirm," or words to that effect, 

Commissioners may use the words "oath and affirmation" or "affidavit and affirmation." without 

having to choose between the two unless otherwise clearly indicated. 

  

  CR 9-101(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

10 YEARS 

*1_5003* **PERJURY: WITNESS IN COURT** 

 ...did, on examination as a witness, duly sworn to testify in 

__________[name, court and case/proceeding in which 

testimony was given], which said [Court/____(other person 

administering the oath)] had authority to administer such oath, 

unlawfully and falsely 

swear______________________________________________

___________________________________________________

__________________________ (brief statement of allegedly 

false testimony), the matters so sworn being material, and said 

testimony being wilfully corrupt and false. 

 

  

  CR 9-101(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

10 YEARS 

*1_0307* **PERJURY/AFFID REQ BY LAW** 

 ...did, in an affidavit required by law to be taken, to wit: ______ 

(state law by Article and Section, or describe affidavit by title 

or purpose), wilfully and falsely make an [oath/affirmation] that 

_____ (brief statement of allegedly false statement), the matters 

so sworn being material. 
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  CR 9-101(a)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

10 YEARS 

*1_0308* **PERJURY/AFFID INDUCE COURT** 

 ...did willfully and falsely make an [oath/affirmation] in an 

affidavit to an [account/claim] for ______ [subject or amount of 

account or claim] made for the purpose of inducing _____ 

[name court or officer] to pass the [account/claim], to wit: 

_______ [brief statement of allegedly false statement], the 

matters so sworn being material. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 9-101(a)(4) 

MISDEMEANOR 

10 YEARS 

*1_0309* **PERJURY/AFFID REQD BY GOV** 

 ...did willfully and falsely make an [oath/affirmation] in an 

affidavit required by [State/Federal/Local 

Government/Government Official] of _______ (name of 

entity),  to wit: ______ (brief statement of falsehood), the 

matters so sworn being material. 
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  CR 9-101(a)(5) 

MISDEMEANOR 

10 YEARS 

*1_0310* **PERJURY/AFFID REQD MD RULE** 

 ...did willfully and falsely make an [oath/affirmation] in an 

[affidavit/affirmation] made pursuant to [Maryland Rule of 

Procedure # ____/Maryland District Rule # ______], to wit: 

______ (brief statement of falsehood), the matters so sworn 

being material. 

 

 

 Contradictory Statements 

  CR 9-101(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

10 YEARS 

*2_5003* **PERJURY CONTRADICTORY STATEMENT** 

 ...did, knowing one to be false, wilfully and falsely make 

[oath/affirmation], the matters so sworn being material, to two 

contradictory statements, to wit: ________ (see note). 

NOTE: Briefly describe the date and nature of each oath or 

affidavit, and the nature of the contradiction. Examples are:  

In sworn testimony before _____ (court) on _____ (date) did 

state _____; and in an affidavit dated _____ did swear that 

______. ; or 

In a sworn deposition on ____ (date) did state ____, and in 

sworn testimony before _____ (court) on ____ (date) did state 

______.; or 

In sworn testimony before the Grand Jury for _____ 

(jurisdiction) on ____ (date) did state ______; and in sworn 

testimony before _____ (court) on ____ (date) did state______. 

NOTE:  If the two contradictory statements made in violation 

of paragraph (1) of this subsection are made in different 

counties, the  violation may be prosecuted in either county. 
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 Subornation of Perjury 

  CR 9-102 

MISDEMEANOR 

10 YEARS 

*1_5004* **PERJURY: SUBORNATION OF** 

 ...did procure ____ (name) to make a false [oath/affirmation] 

that _____ (state nature of falsehood) [in an affidavit dated 

____/in sworn testimony before _____ (court, grand jury, oath 

taken at deposition, hearing board, etc.)] in the matter of _____ 

(state name, nature, or purpose of affidavit, or name of court 

case), the matters so sworn being material. 

 

BRIBERY; OBSTRUCTING JUSTICE 

 Public Employee 

  CR 9-201(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$25,000.00 - 12 YEARS 

*1_1678* **BRIBE/ATT PUBLIC EMPLOYEE** 

 ...did [bribe/attempt to bribe] _____ (name of public employee) 

for the purpose of influencing him/her in his/her capacity as 

________ (position held). 

NOTE: See CR 9-201(d) regarding minimum penalty of 2 years 

and/or $5,000 if convicted. 

*See CR 9-201 for complete list of eligible parties. 
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  CR 9-201(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$25,000.00 - 12 YEARS 

*1_1683* **BRIBE/DEMAND/RECEIVE PUBL EMP** 

 did  as a public employee, [demand/receive] a 

[bribe/fee/reward/testimonial] to _______(choose from below). 

1. influence the performance of [his/her]official duties. 

2. [neglect/fail to perform] [his/her] official duties. 

NOTE: See CR 9-201(d) for minimum penalty of of 2Y-$5,000 

if convicted. 

*See CR 9-201 for complete list of eligible parties. 

 

  

  CR 9-202 

MISDEMEANOR 

6 YEARS 

*2_5100* **BRIBE A JUROR** 

 ...did [bribe/attempt to bribe] ____ (name), a juror, to take 

______ (describe gain or profit) for the rendering of [his/her] 

verdict in the case of ______ (state case). 

NOTE: See CR 9-202(c )(1) for minimum penalty of 18 months 

if convicted. 

 

 Embracery-Acceptance of Bribe By Juror 

  CR 9-202 

MISDEMEANOR 

6 YEARS 

*2_5110* **JUROR/TAKE BRIBE** 

 ...did, being a juror in the case of ______ (state case), take 

_____(describe gain or profit) for rendering his/her verdict in 

said case. 
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 Bribery, etc. of Voter 

  CR 9-203(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_5104* **BRIBE A VOTER** 

 ...did bribe _____ (name) for the purpose of securing [his/her] 

vote and ballot at the election of ______ (date). 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 9-203(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_5106* **KEEP PLACE/GRAT LIQ: ELECT** 

 ...did [keep/suffer to be kept] ______(place) for the purpose of 

providing alcoholic beverages gratuitously to voters on ______ 

(date), an election day during which times the polls were open. 
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  CR 9-204 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_5100* **BRIBE/ATT ATHLETIC CONTEST** 

 ...did [bribe/attempt to bribe] ______ (name) _____ (capacity) 

for the purpose of influencing the outcome of an athletic 

contest. 

NOTE:  See CR 9-204(b) regarding minimum penalty  of 6 

months and/or $100 if convicted.          

NOTE: The statute requires that the bribee be a person 

participating in or connected with the athletic contest. The 

bribee's "capacity" should briefly describe hisher connection to 

the contest, as in "player," "coach," "stadium official," "trainer," 

"referee," etc. 

NOTE: The venue of this offense lies in any jurisdiction where 

the bribe was attempted or received. The athletic event does not 

have to be in the same County or Baltimore City, but it does 

have to be in Maryland. This section does not cover athletic 

events outside the State. 

 

 

  CR 9-205 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_5103* **ATHLETIC CNTST ACCPT BRIBE** 

 ...did accept a bribe in defendant's capacity as _____ (capacity) 

from _____ (name) for the purpose of altering the outcome of 

an athletic contest. 

NOTE: The statute requires that the bribee be a person 

participating in or connected in any way with the athletic 

contest. The bribee's "capacity" should briefly describe his or 

connection to the contest, as in "player," "coach," "stadium 

official," "trainer," "referee," etc. 
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  CR 9-302(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1565* **INDUCE/INHIBIT TESTIMONY** 

 … did [harm/threaten to harm/damage or destroy property of] 

___ (name) with intent to ___ [influence/induce] 

[victim/witness] to [testify falsely/withhold 

testimony/induce/avoid service of subpoena or summons to 

testify/be absent from official proceeding to which he/she has 

been subpoenaed or summoned/not to report the existence of 

facts related to a crime or delinquent act].  

 

  CR 9-302(a) 

FELONY 

20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0355* **INDUCE INHIBIT TESTIMONY - FELONY OFF** 

 … did [harm/threaten to harm/damage or destroy property of] 

___ (name) with intent to ___ [influence/induce] 

[victim/witness] to [testify falsely/withhold 

testimony/induce/avoid service of subpoena or summons to 

testify/be absent from official proceeding to which he/she has 

been subpoenaed or summoned/not to report the existence of 

facts related to a crime or delinquent act], the offense being [a 

felonious violation of Title 5/the commission of a crime of 

violence as desctibed under CR 14-101]. 

 

 

  CR 9-302(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1566* **SOLICIT-INDUCE/INHIBIT TESTIMONY** 

 …did solicit ____(name) to [harm/threaten to harm 

another/damage or destroy property of] ____ (name) with intent 

to ____ [influence victim or witness to testify falsely or 

withhold testimony/induce victim or witness to: [avoid service 

of subpoena or summons to testify/be absence from official 

proceeding to which he/she has been subpoenaed or 

summoned/not to report the existence of facts related to a crime 

or delinquent act]. 
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  CR 9-302(c)(2) 

FELONY 

20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0655* **SOL/CON-INDUCE/INHIB TESTIMONY - FELONY** 

 …did [solicit _____(name)/conspire with _____(name)] to 

[harm/threaten to harm another/damage or destroy property of] 

____(name) with intent to ____ [influence victim or witness to 

testify falsely or withholdd testimony/induce victim or witness to: 

[avoid service of subpoena or summons to testify/be absence from 

official proceeding to which he/she has been subpoenaed or 

summoned/not to report the existence of facts related to a crime or 

delinquent act], the offense being [a felonious violation of Title 

5/the commission of a crime of violence under CR 14-101].  

  CR 9-303 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1567* **RETALIATE - WITNESS** 

 …did intentionally [harm/threaten to harm/damage or destroy 

property] with the intent of retaliating against ____ (name) a 

victim or witness for [giving testimony in an official 

proceeding/reporting a crime or delinquent act]. 

NOTE: See 1-1560 for solicitation charge. 

  CR 9-303 

FELONY 

20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0357* **RETALIATE-WITNESS-FELONY OFF** 

 …did intentionally [harm/threaten to harm/damage or destroy 

property] with the intent of retaliating against ___ (name) [a 

victim or witness for [giving testimony in an official 

proceeding/reporting a crime or delinquent act], the offense being 

a felonious violation of Title 5, or the commission of a crime of 

violence as described under CR 14-101. 

NOTE:  See 1-0887 for solicitation charge. 
 

  CR 9-303 (a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1568* **HARM/THREAT/DAMAGE JUROR** 

 … did intentionally [harm__(name)/threaten to 

harm(name)/damage the property of (name)/destroy the property 

of _____(name)] with intent of retaliate against said person for a 

reason relating to the performance of [his/her] official duties as a 

juror in a [pending/completed] case in ___ court in MD or US. 

NOTE: See 1-1573 for solicitation charge. 
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  CR 9-303 (a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1570* ** HARM/THREAT/DMGE OFCR OF COURT ** 

 … did intentionally [harm_____(name)/threaten to 

harm(name)/damage the property of (name)/destroy the 

property of _____(name)] with intent of retaliate against said 

person for a reason relating to the performance of [his/her] 

official duties as an officer of the court in a 

[pending/completed] case in ____(describe court in MD or 

US). 

NOTE: See 1-1574 for solicitation charge. 
 

  CR 9-305(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1571* **INTIMIDATE/INFLUENCE JUROR** 

 …did by [corrupt means/threat/force] try to 

[influence/intimidate/impede] ____ (name), a 

[juror/witness/court officer], in the discharge of [his/her] 

official duty. 

  CR 9-305(a) 

FELONY 

20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0359* **INTIMIDATE/INFLUENCE JUROR-FELONY OFF** 

 ...…did by [corrupt means/threat/force]try  to 

[influence/intimidate/impede] ____ (name), a 

[juror/witness/court officer], in the performance of [his/her] 

official duty, the offense being [a felonious violation of Title 5/ 

a crime of violence as described under CR 14-101. 

NOTE:  This applies to conspiracy or solicitation to commit 

such a crime. Effe
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 CR 9-305(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1572* **SOLICIT INTIMIDATE JUROR** 

 ...did solicit _________ (name) to,  by [corrupt 

means/threat/force], try to [influence/ intimidate/impede] 

______ (name), a [juror/witness/ court officer], in the discharge 

of [his/her] duty. 

 

 

 CR 9-305(b) 

FELONY 

20 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0363* **SOLICIT INTIMIDATE JUROR-FELONY OFF** 

 …did solicit _________ (name) to, by [threat/force/corrupt 

means] try to [influence/intimidate/impede] ______ (name), a 

[juror/witness/ court officer], in the discharge of [his/her] duty, 

in connection with a proceeding involving [a felonious 

violation of Title 4/a crime of violence as described under CR 

14-101]. 

**NOTE:  This applies to a conspiracy or solicitation to 

commit such a crime. 

 

  CR 9-306 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_5006* **OBSTRUCT JUSTICE** 

 …did, by [threat/force/corrupt means] [obstruct/impede/try to 

obstruct/try to impede] the administration of justice in 

__________(name court in State and case number if available). 

  CR 9-307 (a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 3 YEARS 

*1_1332* **ALTER PHYS EVIDENCE CRIM PROC** 

 …did [destroy/alter/conceal/remove] physical evidence to 

wit: _______(describe) that [he/she] believes may be used 

in a [pending/future] official proceeding with the intent to 

impair the [verity/availablity] of the physical evidence in 

the official proceeding. 

NOTE: “Official proceeding” includes a criminal trial, a 

hearing related to a criminal trial or adjudicatory hearing, a 

grand jury proceeding, and any other proceeding that is part 

of a criminal action or juvenile delinquency case. 
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  CR 9-307 (b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 3 YEARS 

*1_1333* **FABRICATE PHYS EVID CRIM PROC** 

 …did fabricate physical evidence to wit: ______(name)  in 

order to impair the verity of the physical evidence with the 

intent to deceive and that the fabricated physical evidence 

be introduced in a [pending/future] official proceeding. 

NOTE: “Official proceeding” includes a criminal trial, a 

hearing related to a criminal trial or adjudicatory hearing, a 

grand jury proceeding, and any other proceeding that is part 

of a criminal action or juvenile delinquency case. 

 

  CR 9-307 (c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 3 YEARS 

*1_1334* **INTRO PHYS EVID CRIM PROC** 

 …did introduce physical evidence in an official proceeding 

knowing that the evidence has been [altered/fabricated] with 

the intent to deceive in order to impair the verity of the 

physical evidence. 

NOTE: “Official proceeding” includes a criminal trial, a 

hearing related to a criminal trial or adjudicatory hearing, a 

grand jury proceeding, and any other proceeding that is part 

of a criminal action or juvenile delinquency case. 

 

  CR 9-402 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_4904* **HARBOR/FLEEING FELON** 

 … did knowingly harbor ____, a fugitive, with the intent to  

prevent [his/her] [discovery/arrest] , after notice that harboring 

that person was a crime, and after notice that a felony warrant 

had been issued for that person's arrest. 
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  CR 9-402(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0232* **HARBOR FELON/FUGITIVE** 

 ...did knowingly harbor ____, a person avoiding [prosecution 

for/custody/confinement after conviction of] a felony. 

NOTE: "Fugitive" means an individual for whose arrest a 

felony warrant has been issued. This section does not apply 

when the warrant is for a traffic offense. 

NOTE:  Required Notification:  That a felony warrant has been 

issued for the arrest of the fugitive and that harboring a fugitive 

is a crime. 

NOTE:   CR 9-401(g) - DEFINITIONS 

"PLACE OF CONFINEMENT" means: 

(i ) correctional facility; 

(ii) A facility of the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene; 

(iii) Any other facility in which a person is confined under color 

of law. 

(iv) A privately operated, hardware secure facilty for juveniles 

committed to the Department of Juvenile Services. 

A "Place of Confinement" does not include*(See SECOND 

DEGREE ESCAPE NOTE): 

(i )A detention center for juveniles; 

(ii ) A facility for juveniles listed under Human Services Article 

9-226 of the code; or 

(iii) A place identified in a juvenile community detention order.   

NOTE:  *SECOND DEGREE ESCAPE  CR9-405(3)  A person 

may not escape from:  (i) except as otherwise punishable under 

9-404 (b), a detention center for juveniles or a facility for 

juveniles listed in Human Services Article 9-226 of the Code, a 

place identified in a juvenile community detention order, or a 

privately operated, hardware security facility for juveniles 

comitted to the Department of Juvenile Services. 
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ESCAPE AND CONTRABAND IN PLACES OF CONFINEMENT 

NOTE:  CR 9-401 - DEFINITIONS 

"PLACE OF CONFINEMENT" 

(i)  A correctional facility: 

(ii)  A facility of the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene; 

(iii) Any other facility in which a person is confined under color of law. 

"CORRECTIONAL FACILITY" means: 

A facility that is operated for the purpose of detaining or confining adults who are charged with 

or found guilty of a crime. 

A "Place of Confinement" does not include" 

(i)  A detention center for juveniles; 

(ii) A facility for juveniles listed under HS 9-226(b);  

(iii) A place identified in a juvenile community detention order; or 

(iv)  A privately operated, hardware secure facility for juveniles committed to the Department of 

Juvenile Services. 

“HARDWARE SECURITY FACILITY” means a facility that is securely locked or fenced to 

prevent escape. 
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 Escaped Prisoner 

  CR 9-403 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_4904* **HARBORING-PRISON ESCAPEE** 

 ...did wilfully and knowingly harbor ____, a person imprisoned 

for a felony, after his escape from the custody of _____ (name 

facility or place of confinement), knowing and having received 

notice that the person has escaped and after notice that 

harboring that person was a punishable offense. 

NOTE: "Harbor" includes offering a fugitive : 

1. concealment, (hiding, secreting or keeping out of sight); 

2. lodging; 

3. care after concealment; or 

4. obstruction of the efforts of the authorities to effect the arrest 

of a fugitive.  

"Harbor" does not include the failure to reveal the whereabouts 

of a fugitive by a person who did not assist in the fugitive's 

efforts to elude arrest. 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

325. 
 

 

  CR 9-404(a) 

FELONY 

$20,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_1010 **ESCAPE - FIRST DEGREE ** 

 …did knowingly escape from _____, a place of confinement. 

NOTE:  Flight from courtroom not escape prior to incarceration 

(Boffen v. State 2003) 

 

 

  CR 9-404(b) 

FELONY 

$20,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0615* **1ST DEGREE ESCAPE JUVENILE CONFINEMENT 

PROGRAM** 

 …did escape from [a detention center for juveniles/a facility for 

juveniles listed in HU 9-226(b) /a place identified in a juvenile 

community detention order/a privately operated, hardware 

secure facility for juveniles committed to the Department of 

Juvenile Services] located at ________, and did in the course of 

the escape commit an assault. 

NOTE:  See HU 9-226 for place of confinement. 

NOTE: CR 9-401 (f) – “Hardware Secure Facility” means a 

facility that is securely locked or fenced to prevent escape. 

 

  CR 9-405(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1020* **ESCAPE - SECOND DEGREE** 

 ...having been lawfully arrested, did knowingly depart from 

custody at _______________, without the authorization of a 

[law enforcement/judicial] officer. 

 

 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

326. 
 

 

 

 

 

  CR 9-405(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1025* **ESCAPE - SECOND DEGREE** 

 ...did knowingly fail to obey a court order to report to 

_______________, a place of confinement. 

NOTE:  Applies to temporary release or home detention. 

 

 

 

  CR 9-405(a)(3)(i)(ii) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1030* **ESCAPE - SECOND DEGREE** 

 …did escape from ___________( choose from below), located 

at ________. 

1. [a detention center for juveniles/ a facility for juveniles 

listed in HU 9-226(b)] 

2. [a place identified in a home [detention order/agreement] 

3. a place identified in a juvenile community detention order 

4. a privately operated, hardware secure facility for juveniles 

committed to the department of juvenile services. 

NOTE: If escape from a location listed in an option above and 

no assault involved, the charge of escape in the second degree 

is appropriate. 

NOTE: IN CR 9-410 "PLACE OF CONFINEMENT" DOES 

NOT INCLUDE A PLACE IDENTIFIED IN A HOME 

DETENTION ORDER OR AGREEMENT. 

NOTE: CR 9-401 (f) – “Hardware Secure Facility” means a 

facility that is securely locked or fenced to prevent escape. 
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  CR 9-405(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR                                                                 

$5000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0766* **ESCAPE-2ND DEG-COND OF RELS** 

 … did knowingly _________(choose from below) 

i. violate a restriction on movement imposed under the 

terms of a [temporary release/pretrial 

commitment/custodial confinement/home detention 

order/home detention agreement]. 

ii. fail to return to a place of confinement under the 

terms of a [temporary release/pretrial 

commitment/custodial confinement/home detention 

order/home detention agreement]. 

iii. [remove/block/deactivate/tamper with] a monitoring 

device required to be [worn/carried by] ____(name), 

to track [his/her] location. 
 

 

 

  CR 9-408(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0600* **RESIST/INTERFERE WITH ARREST** 

 …did intentionally [resist/interfere with] a lawful arrest. 

 

 

 

  CR 9-412(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1080* **CONTRABAND DELIVERY** 

 ...did deliver contraband to wit _______________(item) to 

_______________(person) who was [detained at/confined in] 

_______________ (place of confinement). 
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  CR 9-412(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1085* **CONTRABAND POSS W/I DEL** 

 ...did possess contraband to wit _____________ (item) with the 

intent to deliver to _______________ (person) who was 

[detained at/confined in] _______________ (place of 

confinement). 

 

 

  

  CR 9-412(a)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR                                                                 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1835* **POSSESS CONTRABAND PLACE OF 

CONFINEMENT** 

 … did knowingly possess contraband, to wit ________(name 

item) in _______(name of facility), a place of confinement. 

 

 

  

  CR 9-413(a)(1) 

FELONY 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_1060* **CONTRABAND - ESCAPE - DELIVER** 

 ...did deliver contraband: to wit _______________(item) to 

_______________(person) [detained at/confined in] 

_______________(place) with the intent to effect an escape. 
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  CR 9-413(a)(2) 

FELONY 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_1065* **CONTRABAND - ESCAPE - POSSESS** 

 ...did possess contraband: to wit _______________(item) with 

the intent to deliver to _______________(person) [detained 

at/confined in] _______________(place) to effect an escape. 

 

 

  

  CR 9-413(a)(3) 

FELONY 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_1070* **CONTRABAND - ESCAPE - CONCEAL** 

 ...did [deposit/conceal] contraband: to wit 

_______________(item) [in/about/on land appurtenant to] 

_______________, a place of confinement, to effect an escape. 

 

 

  

  CR 9-413(a)(4) 

FELONY                                                                                

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS                                                     

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_1075* **POSS/REC CONTRABAND - ESCAPE 

 … did knowingly [possess/receive] contraband: to wit 

____________(item) while [detained at/ confined in] 

___________ to effect an escape. 
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  CR 9-414(a)(1) 

FELONY 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_1035* **CONTRABAND - DELIVER WEAPON** 

 ...did deliver a weapon to 

______________(name)[detained/confined] in 

_______________ (place of confinement). 

 

 

  

  CR 9-414(a)(2) 

FELONY 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_1040* **CONTRABAND - POSSESS WEAPON** 

 ...did possess _______________ a weapon, with intent to 

deliver to _______________ (person) [detained at/confined in] 

_______________ (place of confinement). 

 

 

  CR 9-414(a)(3) 

FELONY 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_1045* **CONTRABAND - CONCEAL WEAPON** 

 ...did [deposit/conceal] a weapon to wit: _____________ 

[in/about/on land appurtenant to] a place of confinement, to 

effect an escape. 
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  CR 9-414(a)(4) 

FELONY 

$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_1055* **POSS/REC WEAPON WHILE CONF/DET** 

 ...did knowingly [possess/receive] a weapon: to wit 

______________ (name weapon) while [detained at/confined 

in] _______________ (place of confinement). 

NOTE: For the purpose of this section and the following 

sections "Contraband" is defined as any item, material, 

substance or other thing of value that is not authorized for 

inmate possession or is brought into the correctional facility in 

a prohibited manner. 

 

  

  CR 9-415(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1090* **ALCOHOLIC BEV - DELIVER** 

 ...did deliver an alcoholic beverage to wit 

_______________(item) to _______________ (person) who 

was [detained at/confined in] _______________ (place of 

confinement). 
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  CR 9-415(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1092* **ALCOHOLIC BEV - POSS W/I DEL** 

 ...did possess an alcoholic beverage to wit _______________ 

(item) with the intent to deliver to _______________ (person) 

who was [detained at/confined in] _______________ (place of 

confinement). 

NOTE: This subsection does not apply to an alcoholic beverage 

delivered or possessed in a manner authorized by the managing 

official. 

 

  

  CR 9-415(c ) 

MISDEMEANOR                                                                 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0724* **POSS/REC ALCOHOL WHILE CONF/DET** 

 … did knowingly [possess/receive] an alcoholic beverage while 

[detained/confined] at __________(name place), a place of 

confinement. 

 

  CR 9-416(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1097* **CDS -POSS W/I DEL CONFINEMENT** 

 ...did possess controlled dangerous substance to wit 

____________ (item) with the intent to deliver to 

_______________ (person) who was [detained at/confined in] 

_______________ (place of confinement). 
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  CR 9-416(b) 

MISDEMEANOR                                                                 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0718* **POSS/REC CDS WHILE CONF/DET** 

 … did [possess/receive] a controlled dangerous substance, to 

wit: _______ (substance) while [detained/confined] in 

__________ (facility), a place of confinement. 

 

 

 

 

  CR 9-416(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1095* **CDS - DELIVER - CONFINEMENT** 

 ...did deliver a controlled dangerous substance to wit: 

_______________ (item) to _______________ (person) who 

was [detained at/confined in] _______________ (place of 

confinement). 

NOTE: A sentence imposed under this section may be separate 

from and consecutive to or concurrent with a sentence for any 

offense based on the act establishing the offense under this 

section. 
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  CR 9-417(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR                                                                  

$3,000.00 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1327* **DELIVER TELECOMMUNICATION DEV** 

 … did deliver _______ (device), a [telecommunication 

device/telecommunication device charger/SIM card] to ______ 

(name) while [detained/confined] in ________ (facility) where 

signs are posted that indicate such conduct is prohibited. 

NOTE: This charge does not apply to a work release or prerelease 

program in Montgomery County established under CS 11-717. 

 

 

  CR 9-417(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$3,000.00 – 5 YEARS                                                                  

*1_1328* **POSS TELECOM W/INT DEL** 

 … did possess _______ (device), a [telecommunication 

device/telecommunication device charger/SIM card] with the 

intent to deliver it to ______ (name) while [he/she] was 

[detained/confined] in _______ (facility) where signs are posted 

that indicate such conduct is prohibited. 

NOTE: This charge does not apply to a work release or prerelease 

program in Montgomery County established under CS 11-717. 

 

 

  CR 9-417(a)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR  

$3,000.00 – 5 YEARS                                                                 

*1_1329* **DEPOSIT TELECOM W/INT OBT** 

 … did [deposit/conceal] _______ (device), [telecommunication 

device/telecommunication device charger/SIM card] [in/about] 

[______ (facility)/property appurtenant _______ (facility)] with 

the intent that the device be obtained by ________ (name) while 

[he/she] was [detained/confined] in ________ (facility) where 

signs are posted that indicate such conduct is prohibited. 

NOTE: This charge does not apply to a work release or prerelease 

program in Montgomery County established under CS 11-717. 
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  CR 9-417(a)(4) 

MISDEMEANOR    

$3,000.00 – 5 YEARS                                                               

*1_1330* **POSS/REC TELECOM DEV** 

 … did knowingly [possess/receive] _______ (device), a 

[telecommunication device/telecommunication device 

charger/SIM card] while [detained/confined] in _______ 

(facility). 

NOTE: A sentence imposed under CR 9-417(a)(4) shall be 

consecutive to any sentence that the person was serving at the 

time of the crime or that had been imposed but was not yet 

being served at the time of sentencing. 

NOTE: This charge does not apply to a work release or 

prerelease program in Montgomery County established under 

CS 11-717. 

 

  CR 9-501 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0207* **FLSE STMNT TO OFFICER CAUSE** 

 ...did cause to be made a false [statement/report/complaint] to 

_____(name), a peace officer, knowing the same to be false, with the 

intent to deceive and with the intent to cause [an investigation/other 

action to be taken to wit_____]. 

  CR 9-501 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_4803* **FALSE STATEMENT TO OFFICER** 

 ...did make a false [statement/report/complaint] to ____, a peace officer, 

knowing the same to be false, with the intent to deceive and with the 

intent to cause an investigation or other action to be taken. 

  CR 9-501.1(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2000.00 – 3 YEARS 

*1_1781* ** BODY HARM - FALSE STMT OF EMER/CRIME ** 

 .... did [make/cause to be made] a [statement/report/complaint]  [of an 

emergency/alleging the commission of a crime] knowing it to be false as 

a whole or in material part to ______, a governmental emergency report 

recipient, with reckless disregard that caused bodily harm to 

_______(name of victim injured) as a direct result of a response to the 

[statement/report/complaint]. 

NOTE: See CR 9-501.1(a) for definition of “emergency” and 

“governmental emergency report recipient”. 
 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

336. 
 

 

  CR 9-501.1(b)(2) 

FELONY 

$20000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1782* ** SRS INJRY/DEATH - FALSE STMT OF EMER/CRIME ** 

 ... did [make/cause to be made] a [statement/report/complaint]  [of an 

emergency/alleging the commission of a crime] knowing it to be false as 

a whole or in material part to ______, a governmental emergency report 

recipient, with reckless disregard that caused [serious physical 

injury/severe emotional distress/death] to _______(name of victim 

injured) as a direct result of a response to the 

[statement/report/complaint] by law enforcement and was a proximate 

result of lawful conduct arising out of the response.  

 

NOTE: See CR 9-501.1(a) for definition of “emergency” and 

“governmental emergency report recipient”. 
 

 

 

 
 CR 9-502 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0690* **FALSE STMT TO PEACE OFFICER** 

 ...did upon arrest, knowingly and with the intent to deceive, 

make a false statement to a peace officer concerning [his/her] 

[identity/address/date of birth]. 

NOTE: Peace Officer includes any peace or police officer of 

the State, of any county, city or other political subdivision of 

the State and of the Maryland National Capital Park and 

Planning Police. 

 

  CR 9-503 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_5099* **FALSE STMT STATE OFFICIAL** 

 ...did [make/cause to be made] a false [report/statement] of the 

[commission of a crime/existence of a condition imminently 

dangerous to public health and safety] to ___(official/agency), 

knowing the same to be false and with the intent that the said 

[official/agency] [investigate/consider/take action] in 

connection with such [statement/report]. 
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 Statement/Rumor As to Destructive Device 

  CR 9-504(b) 

FELONY 

$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_5300* **FALSE STMT-DESTRUCTIVE DEV** 

 … did, knowing the same to be false and with the intent that it 

be acted upon, [circulate/transmit] to: _______ (describe other 

person or persons) a [statement/rumor] concerning the [location 

of a destructive device/possible detonation of a destructive 

device/location of a the release of toxic material/ possible 

release of toxic material] as defined in CR 4-501. 

NOTE: An offense under this section committed by the use of a 

telephone may be deemed to have been committed either at the 

place at which the telephone call or calls were made, or at the 

place at which the telephone call or calls were received; or the 

place the destructive device or toxic material was stated or was 

rumored to be located. 

NOTE: This section does not apply to any statement or rumor 

made or circulated by an officer, employee, or agent of a bona 

fide civilian defense organization or agency, if made in the 

regular course of his duties with that organization or agency. 
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EXPLOSIVES 

 Devices Representing 

  CR 9-505 

FELONY 

$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_5215* **PHONEY DEST DEVICE** 

 ...did [manufacture/ possess/ transport or place] a device 

constructed to represent a destructive device with the intent to 

[terrorize/ frighten/ intimidate/ threaten or harass] ______ 

(name or describe victim or victims). 

NOTE: See CR 4-501 for definitions of "Destructive Device." 

 

 

 

 

 MD Higher Education Commission 

  CR 9-506 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_5099* **FALSE STMT MD HIGH ED CO** 

 ...did knowingly and wilfully [falsify/conceal] a material fact in 

connection with an application for funds from the Maryland 

Higher Education Commission. 
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INTERFERENCE WITH EMERGENCY COMMUNICATION 

  

  CR 9-601(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_5408* **EMER RADIO TRANSM; IMPEDE** 

 ...did knowingly, intentionally and recklessly 

[interrupt/disrupt/impede/otherwise interfere with] the 

transmission of a two-way radio communication on a frequency 

commonly [used/monitored] by [civilian/governmental] 

emergency services organizations for the purpose of informing 

and inquiring about emergencies. 

 

 

  

  CR 9-601(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0193* **EMER.RADIO TRANSMIT FALSE** 

 ...did transmit false information about an emergency on a two-

way radio frequency commonly [used/monitored] by 

[civilian/governmental] emergency services organizations for 

the purpose of informing or inquiring about emergencies. 

NOTE: In this section, "emergency" means a condition or 

circumstance in which an individual is or is reasonably believed 

by the person transmitting the communication to be in 

imminent danger of death or serious bodily harm, or in which 

property is in imminent danger or damage or destruction. 
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FIRE-FALSE ALARM 

 Prohibited; False Ambulance 

  CR 9-604(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_5308* **FALSE ALARM/FIRE: CAUSE** 

 ...did knowingly [make/cause to be given] a false alarm of fire 

by _____ (describe how false alarm given). 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 9-604(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0208* **FALSE ALARM/AMBULANC CAUSE** 

 ...did knowingly [make/cause to be given] a false call for an 

[ambulance/rescue squad] by _____ (describe how false call 

made). 
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BURGLARY & ROBBERY - FALSE ALARM 

 Alarm - Non-emergency 

  CR 9-608 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0393* **INTENTIONAL FLS ALARM ** 

 ...did intentionally activate an alarm system for a non-

emergency situation. 

NOTE: The alarm signal referred to in this section must be one 

that activates an alarm system calling for an immediate 

response by a law enforcement agency to an emergency 

situation. This does not include 911 calls, or fire alarms (CR 9-

608 and CR 9-604). If in doubt, refer to the definitions for this 

section, found in (CR 9-607). 

 

 

 

  CR 9-610(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0394* **DEFECTIVE ALARM/CONT. USE** 

 ...did, being an alarm user, after written notice by a [law 

enforcement unit/fire department], to wit: ______ (name agency) 

continue to use a defective alarm system at ________ (location). 

NOTE: A Law Enforcement Agency or Fire Department may 

issue a civil citation to an alarm user, if the number of false 

alarms to which a law enforcement agency actually responds 

exceeds 3 responses within a 30-day period, or 8 or more 

responses within a 12-month period. This type of citation should 

not be done before a commissioner. 

NOTE: An alarm system is defective if it gives more than 3 false 

alarms within a 30-day period, or 8 or more false alarms within a 

12-month period. AFTER NOTICE BY A LAW 

ENFORCEMENT AGENCY, an alarm system user has 30 days 

to have the system inspected, and 15 more days to file a written 

report containing actions taken or recommendations for actions to 

be taken. If within this 45-day period, or if the alarm user's 

written report contained recommendations for actions to be taken, 

consult the State's Attorney's Office before issuing a charging 

document, or refer the complainant to the State's Attorney. 
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  CR 9-802 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_1391* **THREAT/SOLICIT CRIMINAL ORGANIZATION** 

 …did threaten ____ (name), [an individual/a friend of 

_____(name)/family member of ____(name)], with physical 

violence with intent to [coerce/induce/solicit] ___ (name) [to 

participate in/to prevent _____ (name) from leaving],______  a 

criminal organization. 
 

 

 

 

 

  CR 9-803 

MISDEMEANOR 

$20,000.00 - 4 YEARS 

*1_1392* **THREAT/SOL ORGANIZATION - SCHOOL** 

 …did threaten ____ (name), [an individual/ a friend of 

_____(name)/family member of ____(name)], with physical 

violence with intent to [coerce/induce/solicit] ___ (name) [to 

participate in/to prevent ____ (name) from leaving], ___ a 

criminal organization, while [in/on a school vehicle as defined 

under TR 11-154] [in, on or within 1,000 feet of real property 

owned by or leased to _____, [an elementary school/secondary 

school/county board of education] used for educational purposes. 
 

 

 

 

  CR 9-805 

FELONY  

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

$1,000,000 - 20 YEARS 

*1_1393* **ORGANIZE, SUPERVISE, FINANCE ORG ** 

 …did [organize/supervise/promote/sponsor/finance/manage] a 

criminal organization. 
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 Venereal Disease Remedies Advertising Cures 

  CR 10-102(b)(1)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - EACH VIOLATION 

*3_5599* **HEALTH ADVERTIS V/D REMEDY** 

 did [advertise/allow to be advertised/call to public attention] a 

_______ (Choose from below) for the [treatment/alleviation/cure] 

of a venereal disease.                     

1. [drug/medecine/preparation/substance]                  

2.  [person/place] from which a 

[drug/medecine/preparation/substance] could be obtained] 

NOTE: This section excepts from its coverage health 

departments, governmental agencies, news stories, etc. The 

statute should be checked for probable cause purposes, to make 

certain defendant is not exempt. 

 

  CR 10-103(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$50.00 FIRST OFFENSE 

$250.00 SUBSEQUENT 

OFFENSE 

*1_0274* **VD REMEDY DISP W/O PRESCR** 

 ...did [sell/dispense/give] to ____, without a prescription issued 

by a licensed physician, ____, a sulfonamide drug or 

preparation, for the purpose of treating, curing, and alleviating 

_____ (venereal disease). 

 

 Venereal Disease Remedies Sale, Etc., of Remedies 

  CR 10-103(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$50.00 FIRST OFFENSE 

$250.00 SUBSEQUENT 

OFFENSE 

*4_5599* **VD REMEDY DISP W/O CREDEN** 

 ...did [sell/dispense/give] to ____ (name) ____ (substance 

given) for the purpose of treating, curing, and alleviating ____ 

(venereal disease), the defendant not being a [doctor/a health 

department/ other governmental agency]. 
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 Health - Condom Sale 

  CR 10-104 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 

*1_0467* **CONDOM-SALE VENDING MACH** 

 ...did unlawfully [sell/offer to sell] a nonlatex condom by 

means of a [vending machine/other automatic device]. 

NOTE: Each vending machine or other automatic device 

constitutes a separate offense. 

 

  CR 10-107(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR                                                   

$300.00 

*2_4040* **TOBACCO PRODS - UNDR 21** 

 ...did, while engaged in the business of [selling/distributing] 

tobacco products for commercial purposes, distribute [a tobacco 

product, to wit: ____/tobacco paraphernalia to wit: ___/a 

coupon redeemable for a tobacco product, to wit: ____] to an 

individual under the age of 21 years, to wit: ____ (name). 

NOTE: There is an exception if an individual under 21 years 

old is acting solely as an agent of an employer who distributes 

tobacco products or tobacco paraphernalia for commercial 

purposes; or 

The purchaser or recipient: 

1. Is at least 18 years of age; 

2. Is an active duty member of the military; 

3. And presents a valid military identification 

 

NOTE: Enforcement of a civil penalty for a violation of this 

section precludes a prosecution for a violation of HG 24-307 

arising out of the same violation. 
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  CR 10-107(c)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$300.00 

 

*2_4050* **TOBACCO PURCH/SELL UND 21* 

 ...did [purchase for ____/sell to ____], an individual under the 

age of 21 years, a tobacco product, to wit: ____. 

 

NOTE: Enforcement of a civil penalty for a violation of this 

section precludes a prosecution for a violation of HG 24-305 

arising out of the same violation. 

NOTE: There is an exception if the purchaser or recipient: 

1. Is at least 18 years of age; 

2. Is an active duty member of the military; 

3. And presents a valid military identification 

NOTE:  Use this charge for persons not engaged in the business 

of tobacco sales. 

NOTE: Enforcement of a civil penalty for a violation of this 

section precludes a prosecution for a violation of HG 24-307 

arising out of the same violation. 

NOTE: See CR 10-107(e) for subsequent offense penalties. 
 

  CR 10-107(c)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR                                                   

$300.00 

*2_4060* ** DELIVR/SELL TOBACCO PARA UNDR 21** 

 … did [deliver/sell] tobacco paraphernalia to _________ 

(name) ____, an individual under the age of 21 years. 

NOTE: There is an exception if the purchaser or recipient: 

1. Is at least 18 years of age; 

2. Is an active duty member of the military; 

3. And presents a valid military identification 

NOTE:  Use this charge for persons not engaged in the business 

of tobacco sales. 

NOTE: Enforcement of a civil penalty for a violation of this 

section precludes a prosecution for a violation of HG 24-307 

arising out of the same violation. 
 

  CR 10-108 

MISDEMEANOR 

$300.00 

*1_1695* **SELL/DIST DELTA-8/10 TO UND <21** 

 … did [distribute/purchase for sale/sell] a product containing 

delta-8 or delta-10-tetrahydrocannabinol to ____(name), an 

individual under the age of 21 years. 

NOTE: See CR 10-108(d) for subsequent offense penalties. 
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   CR 10-109 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 - 30 DAYS 

*5_5599* **ICEBOXES-ABANDONED** 

 ...did [place/permit to be placed] outside _____ (address) in a 

place accessible to children, an abandoned, discarded, and 

uncrated [icebox/refrigerator/freezer cabinet] having a door 

with a lock incapable of being released from inside said 

[icebox/ refrigerator/freezer cabinet]. 

  CR 10-110 

MISDEMEANOR 

$12,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0643* **LITTER/DUMP: OVER 100 LBS** 

 ...did unlawfully dispose litter on and at _____ (address or 

description of premises or waters), said litter exceeding [100 lbs 

in weight/27 cubic feet in volume]. (See note). 

NOTE: Under CR 10-110 use the appropriate wording if the 

litter exceeds only one of the two limits, weight or volume. If 

the litter exceeds both limits, use both wordings joined by the 

word "and." 

  CR 10-110 

MISDEMEANOR 

$12,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0644* **CAUSE LITTER/DUMP: OVER 100 LBS** 

 ...did unlawfully cause the disposal of litter on and at ____ 

(address or description of premises or waters), said litter 

exceeding [100 lbs. in weight/27 cubic feet in volume]. (See 

note). 

  CR 10-110 

MISDEMEANOR 

$12,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1426* **LITTER/DUMP: OVER 100 LBS-VEHICLE** 

 ...did [dispose of litter on a highway/perform an act that violates 

the State Vehicle Laws regarding disposal of litter, glass, and 

other prohibited substances on a highway to wit: 

_____(describe)], said litter exceeding [100 lbs in weight/27 

cubic feet in volume].  
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  CR 10-110 

MISDEMEANOR 

$30,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0645* **LITTER/DUMP: OVER 500 LBS** 

 ...did unlawfully dispose of litter at _____ (address or 

description of premises or waters), said litter [exceeding 500 lbs 

in weight/exceeding 216 cubic feet in volume/being for 

commercial purposes]. 

NOTE: Under CR 10-110, Litter Dump: 500 lbs., do not use 

weight or volume descriptions if the litter is for commercial 

purposes. If the litter exceeds both weight and volume 

standards, not for commercial purposes, use both wordings 

joined by the word "and". 

  CR 10-110 

MISDEMEANOR 

$30,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0646* **CAUSE LITTER/DUMP: OVER 500 LBS** 

 
 

 

 

 

 

...did unlawfully cause the disposal of litter at ____ (address or 

description of premises or waters), said litter [exceeding 500 

lbs. in weight/exceeding 216 cubic feet in volume/being for 

commercial purposes]. 

  CR 10-110 

MISDEMEANOR 

$30,000.00 - 5 YEAR 

*1_1427* **LITTER/DUMP: OVER 500 LBS-VEHICLE** 

 ...did [dispose of litter on a highway/perform an act that violates 

the State Vehicle Laws regarding disposal of litter, glass, and 

other prohibited substances on a highway to wit: 

_____(describe)], said litter [exceeding 500 lbs in 

weight/exceeding 216 cubic feet in volume/being for 

commercial purposes].  

  CR 10-110(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,500.00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0640* **LITTER/DUMP: UNDER 100 LBS** 

 ...did unlawfuly dispose of litter at _____ (address or 

description of premises or waters), said litter not exceeding 100 

lbs in weight and 27 cubic feet in volume. 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

348. 
  CR 10-110(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,500.00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0641* **CAUSE LITTER/DUMP: L/T 100 LBS** 

 ...did unlawfully cause the disposal of litter at _____ (address or 

description of premises or waters), said litter not exceeding 100 

lbs. in weight and 27 cubic feet in volume. 

NOTE: If the litter exceeds either the weight or volume limit, 

use the appropriate charge for over 100 lbs. 

  CR 10-110 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,500.00 – 30 Days 

*1_1428* **LITTER/DUMP: L/T 100 LBS-VEHICLE** 

 ...did [dispose of litter on a highway/perform an act that violates 

the State Vehicle Laws regarding disposal of litter, glass, and 

other prohibited substances on a highway to wit: 

_____(describe)], said litter not exceeding [100 lbs in weight/27 

cubic feet in volume].  

 

  CR 10-111(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*SUBSEQUENT VIOL 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0284* **ALTER DRUG/ALCOHOL TEST** 

 ... did with intent to [defraud/alter] the outcome of a 

[drug/alcohol] screening test, _________. 

Select from list: 

- alter a bodily fluid sample 

- substitute a bodily fluid sample with a bodily fluid sample of 

[another person/an animal/other substance to wit: _____]      

-  [possess/use] a bodily fluid adulterant 

-  [sell/distribute/offer to sell/offer to distribute]: 

   (I)  any bodily fluid from [a human/an animal]; or 

   (II)  any bodily fluid adulterant; or 

-  transport into the state: 

   (I)  any bodily fluid from [a human/an  animal]; or 

   (II) any bodily fluid adulterant 

**Subsequent Violation - 3 Years/$5,000 
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  CR 10-117(d) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1148* **FURNISH ALC <21 INJRY/DEATH ** 

 …did _________(choose from below), and [knew/reasonably 

should have known] [he/she] would operate a motor vehicle 

after consuming the alcoholic beverage, and as a result of 

operating a motor vehicle while [under the influence of/while 

impaired by] alcohol, caused [serious physical injury/death] to 

________(name of person hurt). 

(a)  furnish an alcoholic beverage, for the purpose of 

consumption, to _____ (name), knowing said person 

was under the age of 21 years 

(b)  as an adult knowingly and willfully allow 

_______(name), an individual under the age of 21 years, 

to [possess/consume] an alcoholic beverage at [a 

residence/within the curtilage of a residence] that 

[he/she] [owns/leases] and resides. 
 

  CR 10-120 

MISDEMEANOR 

$50.00 

*2_4199* **FAIL: PROOF OF AGE AND ID** 

 ...did [fail/refuse] to furnish proof of identification and age to 

an officer issuing a citation for a violation of ___ (Sec. 10-113, 

through 10-119 of CR, or Sec. 26-103 of the Education Article), 

said officer having requested proof of identification and age. 
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 CR 10-131 

MISDEMEANOR 

1st Off: $1,000 

 

*1_1613* **DIST SALVIA DIVINORUM TO UND 21 ** 

 ...did distribute Salvia Divinorum to ____(name), an individual 

under the age of 21, in violation of CR 10-131. 

NOTE:  Simple possession of Salvia Divinorum by an 

individual under the age of 21 under CR 10-132 is a code 

violation and must be issued a citation. 

Note: 2nd violation: $2,000; 3rd violation: $6,000 

  CR 10-201(c)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 60 DAYS 

*2_0045* **DISTURB PEACE HINDER PASSG** 

 ...did willfully and without lawful purpose [obstruct/hinder] the 

free passage of another and others in a public place or on a 

public conveyance. 

  CR 10-201(c)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 60 DAYS 

*2_0050* **DISORDERLY CONDUCT** 

 
 

 

...did wilfully act in a disorderly manner to the disturbance of 

the public peace. 

  CR 10-201(c)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 60 DAYS 

*2_0055* **FAIL OBEY RENBLE/LAWFL** 

 ...did wilfully fail to obey a reasonable and lawful order of a 

law enforcement officer, to wit, _____ , made to prevent a 

disturbance to the public peace. 

  CR 10-201(c)(4) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 60 DAYS 

*2_0060* **DISTURB THE PEACE/DISORDERLY** 

 ...did enter the [land/premises/beach] of ____(name), and did 

wilfully [disturb the peace of persons thereon by unreasonably 

loud noise/acting in disorderly manner]. 
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351. 
  CR 10-201(c)(5) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 60 DAYS 

*2_0065* **DISTURB PEACE - LOUD NOISE** 

 ...did unlawfully, by unreasonably loud noise willfully disturb 

the peace of another [on the other's land and premises/in a place 

of business/in a public place/on a public conveyance]. 

NOTE: CR 10-201(c)(5) is intended to prohibit defendants 

making noise in one location, no matter where, that disturbs 

persons in another location. It is NOT intended to apply to 

residents or a resident of a location who is/are disturbing other 

residents of the same location. 

Non-residents who are on the same premises as the person(s) 

disturbed should be charged under CR 10-201(c)(5). 

NOTE: CR 10-201(5)(6) states that in Worcester County a 

person may not build or allow to burn a bonfire on any beach or 

other property between the hours of 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. 

 

  CR 10-202 

MISDEMEANOR 

$300.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*5_5311* **DISORDERLY HOUSE** 

 ...did keep a disorderly house, to wit: _______ (address), by 

_______ (describe, see notes under statute). 

NOTE:  See CR 10-202 for min. penalty of $50 and 10 days if 

convicted. 

NOTE: "House" in this section can be a room, place of 

business, tent, wagon, boat, etc. 

NOTE: See the notes under the Statute for the definition of a 

"disorderly house." 

  CR 10-203(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$250.00 - 3 MONTHS 

*1_5399* **DISRUPT-ATHLETIC CONTESTS** 

...did [disrupt/interfere with] _____ (describe event) by 

[throwing/projecting] _____ (describe what was thrown or 

projected) onto the [playing/seating] area. 

NOTE: The athletic contest must be a commercial one; that is, 

one that is played in public stadiums, arenas, etc. and that 

charges an admission fee for the general public. "Object" is 

defined as any item which may cause injury to a participant in 

the contest, or an observer thereof. 
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352. 
  CR 10-204(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0479* **INTERFER TO/FROM MED FACIL** 

 ...did act with the intent to prevent with the intent to prevent an 

individual, to wit: _____ (name or description) from [entering/ 

exiting] ______ (name and/or address) a medical facility, by 

physically [detaining/obstructing the passage of/hindering the 

passage of/impeding the passage of] that individual. 

NOTE: "Action" does not include speech. 

NOTE: "Medical Facility" includes an agency, clinic, or office 

operated under the direction of the local health officer or the 

regulatory authority of the Department of Health and Mental 

Hygiene. For a fuller definition of Medical Facility, see Health 

General Art., Sec. 10-101(e) and Sec. 19-101(e). 

 

 

 

 CR 10-302 

PENALTY SEC. CR 10-306 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0435* **RELIGIOUS PROPERTY: DEFACE* 

 ...[did/did attempt to/did threaten to] unlawfully 

[deface/damage/destroy] religious property to wit: _____(name 

or describe real or personal property) [owned/leased/used] by 

______ (name), a religious organization. 

 

 

  CR 10-303 

PENALTY SEC.  CR 10-306 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

 

*1_0436* **REL BEL: OBSTRUCT EXERCISE** 

 ...[did/did attempt to] unlawfully obstruct by [force/threat of 

force]  ______ (victim) in the free exercise of [his/her] religious 

beliefs. 
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  CR 10-304 (1) 

PENALTY SEC.  CR 10-306 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0437* **RACE/RELIG CRIME: PERSON/GROUP** 

 ...[did/did attempt to/did threaten to] ________ (choose from 

below) [against/of] ________(name of victim/group), 

motivated either in whole or in substantial part by a 

[person’s/group’s] [race/color/religious beliefs/sexual 

orientation/gender/gender identity/disability/national origin/ 

homeless status]. 

1. commit a crime to wit: ________ 

2.[deface/damage/destroy] _____, the [ real/ personal] property 

3. burn an object on the [real/personal] property 

NOTE: If the violation involves a separate crime that is a 

felony, the person is guilty of a felony and upon conviction is 

subject to 10 years, $10,000.00 or both. Prosecution of a person 

under this section does not preclude prosecution and imposition 

of penalties for any other crime in addition to any penalties 

imposed under this section. 

NOTE: If the violation involves a separate crime that is a felony 

and results in death of the victim, the person is guilty of a 

felony and upon conviction is subject to 20 years-$20,000. 

 

  CR 10-304(1)(iv) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1687* 
**FALSE STMT-RACE/RELIG/GENDER** 

 ...did [make/cause to be made] a false 

[statement/report/complaint] to _____, a peace officer, knowing 

the same to be false, with the intent to deceive and with the 

intent to cause an [investigation/other action to be taken to 

wit:_____] as a result, motivated either in whole or in 

substantial part by a [person’s/group’s] [race/color/religious 

beliefs/sexual orientation/gender/gender 

identity/disability/national origin/ homeless status]. 

NOTE: If the violation involves a separate crime that is a 

felony, the person is guilty of a felony and upon conviction is 

subject to 10 years, $10,000.00 or both. Prosecution of a person 

under this section does not preclude prosecution and imposition 

of penalties for any other crime in addition to any penalties 

imposed under this section. 

NOTE: If the violation involves a separate crime that is a felony 

and results in death of the victim, the person is guilty of a 

felony and upon conviction is subject to 20 years-$20,000. 
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  CR 10-304 (2)(i) 

PENALTY SEC.  CR 10-306 

FELONY 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

$10,000.00 - 10YEARS 

*1_1688* 
**FALSE STMT-RACE/RELIG/GENDER-FELONY** 

 ...did [make/cause to be made] a false 

[statement/report/complaint] to _____, a peace officer, knowing 

the same to be false, with the intent to deceive and with the 

intent to cause an [investigation/other action to be taken to 

wit:_____] as a result of said [statement/report/complaint], 

motivated either in whole or in substantial part by a 

[person’s/group’s] [race/color/religious beliefs/sexual 

orientation/gender/gender identity/disability/national origin/ 

homeless status] and did commit a separate felony offense to 

wit: ______(describe). 

NOTE: Use only if violation involves a separate felony, not 

resulting in death of victim. 

 NOTE: If the violation involves a separate crime that is a 

felony and results in death of the victim, the person is guilty of 

a felony and upon conviction is subject to 20 years-$20,000. 

 

   

  CR 10-304 (2)(i) 

PENALTY SEC.  CR 10-306 

FELONY 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

$10,000.00 - 10YEARS 

*1_1690* 
**RACE/RELIG CRIME: PERSON/GROUP-FELONY** 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

...[did/did attempt to/did threaten to] ________ (choose from 

below), the offense being a felony to wit: ______(describe),  

[against/of] ________(name of victim/group), motivated 

either in whole or in substantial part by a [person’s/group’s] 

[race/color/religious beliefs/sexual orientation/gender/gender 

identity/disability/national origin/ homeless status]. 

1. commit a crime to wit: ________ 

2.[deface/damage/destroy] _____, the [ real/ personal] property 

3. burn an object on the [real/personal] property 

NOTE: Use only if violation involves a seperate felony, not 

resulting in death of victim. 

 NOTE: If the violation involves a separate crime that is a 

felony and results in death of the victim, the person is guilty of 

a felony and upon conviction is subject to 20 years-$20,000. 
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  CR 10-304 (2)(ii) 

PENALTY SEC.  CR 10-306 

FELONY 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

$20,000.00 - 20YEARS 

*1_1689* 
**FALSE STMT-RACE/RELIG/GENDER-DEATH** 

 ...did [make/cause to be made] a false 

[statement/report/complaint] to _____, a peace officer, knowing 

the same to be false, with the intent to deceive and with the 

intent to cause an [investigation/other action to be taken to 

wit:_____] as a result of said [statement/report/complaint], 

motivated either in whole or in substantial part by a 

[person’s/group’s] [race/color/religious beliefs/sexual 

orientation/gender/gender identity/disability/national origin/ 

homeless status] and resulted in the death of  ____(name). 

NOTE: Use only if violation resulted in death of victim. 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 10-304 (2)(ii) 

PENALTY SEC.  CR 10-306 

FELONY 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

$20,000.00 - 20YEARS 

*1_1691* 
**RACE/RELIG CRIME: PERSON/GROUP-DEATH** 

 ...[did/did attempt to/did threaten to] ________ (choose from 

below),  [against/of] ________(name of victim/group), 

motivated either in whole or in substantial part by a 

[person’s/group’s] [race/color/religious beliefs/sexual 

orientation/gender/gender identity/disability/national origin/ 

homeless status] and the death of ____(name) occurred as a 

result. 

1. commit a crime to wit: ________ 

2.[deface/damage/destroy] _____, the [ real/ personal] property 

3. burn an object on the [real/personal] property 

NOTE: Use only if violation resulted in death of victim. 
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 CR 10-305 (1) 

PENALTY SEC. CR10-306 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_0252* **RACE/RELIG PROP DAMAGE: INST**  

 ...[did/did attempt to/did threaten to] unlawfully 

[damage/deface/destroy/burn] [an object to wit: _____/ the real 

property/ the personal property] [on/connected to]  

_______(address), a building that is [publicly owned/privately 

owned/leased/used] by ______(institution), because a 

[person/group]  [of a particular race/of a particular color/of a 

particular religious belief/ of particular sexual orientation/of a 

particular gender/ of a particular gender identity/of a particular 

disability/particular national origin/that is homeless] had 

[contacts/associations] with said building . 

  CR 10-305(2) 

PENALTY SEC.  CR 10-306 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_0251* **RACE/RELIG HARAS: ANIMOS: INST** 

 ...[did/did attempt to/did threaten to] unlawfully 

[damage/deface/destroy/burn] [an object to wit: _____/ the real 

property/ the personal property] [on/connected to] _______(address), a 

building that is [publicly owned/privately owned/leased/used] by 

______(institution), where there is evidence that the defendant 

exhibited animosity against a [person/group] because of their 

[race/color/religious beliefs/sexual orientation/gender/gender 

identity/disability/national origin/homeless status]. 

  CR 10-305.1 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1675* **USE HATE ITEM/SYMBOL** 

 ...did [place/inscribe] [an item/a symbol] to wit: _____, on the 

[real/personal] property of ____(owner), without the express 

permission of the [owner/ owner’s agent/lawful occupant] of 

the property, with the intent to [threaten/intimidate] a  

[person/group of persons]. 

NOTE: an item or symbol can include an actual or depicted 

noose or swastika. 

NOTE: the property can be either public or private. 

NOTE:  The placement or inscribed item or symbol can be 

temporary or permanent 
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  CR 10-402 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*3_3932* **REMOVE HUMAN REMAINS** 

 ...did [remove / attempt to remove] human remains from a 

burial site in the State. 

 NOTE: See CR 10-402(b) and CR 10-402(f) for exceptions. 

  CR 10-404(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000 - 5 YEARS 

*3_3942* **DESTROY FUNERARY OBJECT** 

 ...did  [destroy/mutilate/deface/injure/remove] a 

[structure/associated funerary object], to wit: _____ (identify 

structure) placed in ____________ cemetery. 

NOTE: This section covers any wall, building, fence, railing, 

tombstone, vault, monument, or other structure placed in a 

cemetery for any purpose. 

  CR 10-404(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 2 YEARS 

*3_3946* **DESTROY GRAVEYARD PLANTS** 

 ...did unlawfully [destroy/cut/break/remove] a vegetation, to 

wit: ______, in _____________ cemetery. 

NOTE: This section covers all plantings within graveyards and 

cemetaries. 

  CR 10-404(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 2 YEARS 

*3_3947* **DIS CONDUCT-CEMETERY** 

 ...did commit [indecent/disorderly] conduct, to wit: ____ 

(describe conduct) within the limits of _____ cemetery. 

 

  CR 10-501 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10.00 

*1_3600* **ADULTERY** 

 ...did commit adultery with ____________(name). 
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  CR 10-502 

FELONY 

9 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_3804* **BIGAMY** 

 ...did, having a [wife/husband] then living, feloniously marry 

______ (name) in violation of CR 10-502 of the Annotated 

Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: The statute applies to husbands as well as wives. This 

section does not apply to an individual whose lawful spouse has 

been absent from the individual for a continuous period of 

seven years and who, at the time of subsequent marriage 

ceremony, does not know whether the spouse is living. 

  

  CR 10-604(a)(1)(2)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0500* **ANIMAL CRUELTY** 

 ...did [overdrive/overload/deprive of necessary 

sustenance/inflict unnecessary suffering or pain on] a 

__________________(type of animal). 
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  CR 10-604(a)(4) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0501* **ANIMAL CRUELTY- CAUSE** 

 ...did unlawfully cause, procure, or authorize the 

[overdrive/overload/deprivation of necessary 

sustenance/infliction of unnecessary suffering or pain on] a 

____________ (type of animal). 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 10-604(a)(5) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0503* **ANIMAL CRUEL FAIL: PROVIDE** 

 ...did unnecessarily fail to provide _______________ (type of 

animal) with [nutritious food in sufficient quantity/necessary 

veterinary care/proper drink/proper air/proper space/proper 

shelter/proper protection from weather] while said animal was 

in [his/her] charge and custody. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 10-605(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0597* **DOGFIGHT SPECTATOR** 

 ...did knowingly attend a deliberately conducted dogfight as a 

spectator. 
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  CR 10-605(b) 

MISDEMEANOR  

$2,500 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0598* **COCKFIGHT - SPECTATOR** 

 …did knowingly attend an event using [fowl/cock/other bird] to 

wit: _____(describe), to fight with another [fowl/cock/other 

bird]. 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 10-606(b)(1)(2) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0505* **AGGRAVATED CRUELTY TO ANIMAL ** 

 … did intentionally ________ (choose from below) an animal 

to wit: _____(describe).  

 

1. [mutilate/torture/cruelly beat/cruelly kill/engage in sexual 

contact with]  

 

2. [cause/procure/authorize] the [mutilation/torture/cruel 

beating/cruel killing] of  

Note: See CR 10-606(a) for definition of “sexual contact with 

an animal”. 
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  CR 10-606(b)(3) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0508* **HARM/DEATH: LAW ENFOR. ANIMAL** 

 ...did intentionally inflict [bodily harm/permanent 

disability/death] on an animal used by a law enforcement unit, 

to wit: _________________ . 

NOTE: The intention of the General Assembly is that this 

section applies to all animals:  

Privately owned; strays; domesticated; feral; farm animals; 

corporately or institutionally owner; in privately, locally, state, 

or federally funded scientific or medical activities; or otherwise 

located in the state. 

NOTE: See CR 10-606(a)(3) for exemption. 

NOTE: Exclusive jurisdiction of District Court. 

 

  CR 10-607(b)(1) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0506* **ANIMAL CRUEL: DOG FIGHTING** 

 ...did [use a dog/allow  to be used/arrange  for a dog to be 

used/conduct to be used] in a dog fight.   

NOTE: Baiting means using a dog to train a fighting dog or to 

test the fighting or killing instinct of another dog. 

  

  CR 10-607(b)(2) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0652* **DOGFIGHT: CONDUCT** 

 ...did [arrange/conduct] a dog fight.  
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  CR 10-607(b)(3) 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0510* **POSS/TRAIN DOG FOR DOGFIGHT** 

 …did [possess/own/sell/transport/train] a dog with the intent to 

use the dog [in a dogfight/for baiting]. 

NOTE: Baiting means using a dog to train a fighting dog or to 

test the fighting or killing instinct of another dog. 

  CR 10-607(b)(4) 

FELONY 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

DISTRICT COURT 

*1_0511* **PROVIDE PREMISES FOR DOGFIGHT** 

 …did knowingly allow premises [owned by/in charge of/ 

controlled by] ______ (defendant) to be used [to conduct a 

dogfight/for baiting]. 

NOTE: Baiting means using a dog to train a fighting dog or to 

test the fighting or killing instinct of another dog. 

  CR 10-607.1(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 90 DAYS 

*1_1150* **POSS DOGFIGHT IMPLEMENT** 

 … did with intent to unlawfully use, possess an implement of 

dogfighting to wit: __________(describe). 

NOTE: See CR 10-607.1(a) for definition of “implement or 

dogfighting”. 

NOTE: Each implement of dogfighting possessed in violation 

of this section is a separate offense. 

 

  CR 10-608 

FELONY 

DISTRICT COURT 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0507* **ANIMAL CRUEL: COCKFIGHTING** 

 ...did [use/allow to be used] a [bird/fowl/cock] for the purpose 

of fighting with another animal, commonly known as 

cockfighting. 
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  CR 10-608(b)(2) 

FELONY 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

DISTRICT COURT 

*1_0512* **POSSESS COCKFIGHT IMPLEMENT** 

 …did possess with the intent to use a 

[gaff/slasher/postiza/sparring muff/any sharp implement] 

designed to be attached in place of a natural spur of a gamecock 

or other fighting bird. 

 

 

 Giving Away Live Animal, Etc. 

  CR 10-610 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 

*3_7199* **ANIMAL-GIFT AS PRIZE ETC.** 

 ...did, without the approval of the Secretary of Agriculture, give 

away a live [animal/equine/bird], to wit: ______, as a 

[prize/inducement to enter a 

[contest/game/competition]/inducement to enter ____, a place 

of amusement/incentive to enter _____, a business 

establishment], for the purpose of attracting trade. 

NOTE: This section does not apply if the animal, equine or bird 

is given as an agricultural project or for conservation purposes, 

or is intended for slaughter. 
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 Dangerous Dogs Restraining Restrictions 

  CR 10-619(d)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 

*1_0399* **DANGEROUS DOG FAIL CONFINE** 

 ...did, being then and there the owner of a dangerous dog, leave 

such dog unattended on [his/her/its] real property without 

confining such dog in a structure designed to restrain the dog. 

 

 

  

  CR 10-619(d)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 

*1_0400* **DANGER.DOG FAIL RESTRAIN** 

 ...did, being then and there the owner of a dangerous dog, 

permit such dog to go beyond [his/her/its] real property without 

being securely restrained and muzzled. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 10-619(e)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 

*1_0401* **DANGER. DOG SELL W/O WARN** 

 ...did, being then and there the owner of a 

[dangerous/potentially dangerous] dog, [sell/give] such dog to 

______, without providing written notice to the person taking 

possession of such dog specifying the dog's dangerous 

behavior. 
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  CR 10-619(e)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 

*1_0402* **DANGER.DOG SELL W/O NOTIC** 

 ...did, being then and there the owner of a dog which having 

been determined by _______ (name of agency or authority) to 

be a potentially dangerous dog, [sell/give] such dog to another 

person, without providing written notice to the aforesaid 

[agency/authority] of the name and address of the new owner of 

the dog. 

NOTE: The provisions of this section do not apply to a dog 

owned by and working for a governmental or law enforcement 

agency. 

NOTE: The definition of a dangerous dog in CR 10-619 is one 

that has killed or severely injured a person, or has been declared 

potentially dangerous by the appropriate authority and has then 

bitten a person, attacked without provocation, or has killed or 

inflicted severe injury upon another domestic animal off the 

owner's property. For an owner to be charged under CR 10-619 

concerning a potentially dangerous dog, there must have been 

notification to the owner by the appropriate County or 

Municipal authority that the dog has been determined to be 

potentially dangerous. 

 

  CR 10-620(c)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR  

$1,000-1 YEARS  

*1_1676* **INTERFERE/INJURE EQUINE** 

 ... did willfully and maliciously [interfere 

with/injure/destroy/tamper with] an equine used for racing, 

breeding, competitive exhibition, or other lawful activity to wit: 

________ (name or describe equine ). 

 NOTE: This charge does not apply to the owner of the quine or 

person acting on behalf of or at the direction of the owner. 
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  CR 10-620(c)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR  

$1,000-1 YEARS  

*1_1677* **INSTIGATE/ENG ACT INJURE EQUINE** 

 ...did willfully and maliciously[start/instigate/engage in/further] 

an act, to wit: _______ (describe act) by which ________ 

(name or describe equine), an equine used for 

racing,breeding,competitive exhibition, or other lawful activity 

[was interfered with/ tampered with/injured/destroyed]. 

 

NOTE: This charge does not apply to the owner of the quine or 

person acting on behalf of or at the direction of the owner. 

 

 

  CR 10-621(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 (INDIVIDUAL) 

$10,000.00** (BUSINESS) 

*7_7199* **SALE-FOX OR SKUNK/AS PET** 

 ... did [import into Maryland/offer] for 

[sale/trade/barter/exchange], as a household pet, a live 

[fox/skunk/raccoon/bear/alligator/crocodile/ member of the cat 

family other than a domestic cat/hybrid member of the cat 

family and domestic cat over 30 pounds/member of the dog  

family not a domestic dog/hybrid of a member of the dog 

family and a domestic dog/a non human primate to wit: 

_____/poisonous snake specifically in the family groups of 

hydrophidae, elapidae, viperidae, or crotolidae]. 

NOTE: For violations involving a business or organization, the  

maximum penalty is $10,000. 

NOTE: Does not apply in case offer is to a public zoo, park 

museum, educational institution, or to a person holding valid 

State permits. Also exempt are those species of wildlife not 

being kept as household pets and which are individually 

exempted by a permit issued by the Department of Natural 

Resources. 

 

  CR 10-623(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR                                                                 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_1763* **RESTRAIN DOG - LIMIT MOVEMENT** 

 … did leave a dog outside and unattended by the use of a 

restraint that unreasonably limits the movement of the dog. 
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  CR 10-623(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR                                                                 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_1764* **RESTRAIN DOG - COLLAR** 

 … did leave a dog outside and unattended by the use of a 

restraint that uses a collar [made primarily of metal/less than 

the minimum required length]. 

  CR 10-623(b)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR                                                                 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_1765* **RESTRAIN DOG - WATER/SHELTER** 

 … did leave a dog outside and unattended by the use of a 

restraint that restricts access to suitable and sufficient [clean 

water/appropriate shelter]. 

  CR 10-623(b)(4) 

MISDEMEANOR                                                                 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_1766* **RESTRAIN DOG - UNSAFE/UNSANIT COND** 

 … did leave a dog outside and unattended by the use of a 

restraint in [unsafe/unsanitary] conditions. 

  CR 10-623(b)(5) 

MISDEMEANOR                                                                 

$1,000.00 – 90 DAYS 

*1_1767* **RESTRAIN DOG - CAUSE INJURY** 

 … did leave a dog outside and unattended by the use of a 

restraint that causes injury to the dog. 

  CR 10-624 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 – 90 DAYS 

*1_1331* **UNLAW DEVOCALIZE DOG ** 

 …did unlawfully surgically devocalize a [dog/cat]. 

Note: This charge does not apply to a licensed veterinarian 

using anesthesia and the procedure was medically necessary 

to treat or relieve a physical illness, disease, or an injury, or 

to correct a congenital abnormality that was causing or will 

cause the animal medical harm or pain.  The veterinarian 

must provide the owner of the animal with a written 

certification under CR 10-624 (c )(2). 

Note: Subsequent offense penalty of 1 Year- $2,000. 
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  CR 10-624 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 – 90 DAYS 

*1_1348* **UNLAW SURGERY ON DOG ** 

 …did unlawfully ____________(choose from below). 

1. [crop/cut] off the ear of a dog. 

2. [dock/cut] off the tail of a dog. 

3. cut off the dewclaw of a dog. 

4. surgically birth a dog. 

Note: This charge does not apply to a licensed veterinarian 

using anesthesia WHEN APPROPRIATE on the animal. 

Note: Subsequent offense penalty of 180 days - $5,000. 

 

  CR 10-626(b)(1)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500 - 2 YEARS 

 

*1_1074* **KILL/INJURE SERVICE ANIMAL** 

 ...did [willfully/maliciously] ____(choose from below). 

1.  [kill/injure] ______(describe service animal) 

2. ,having immediate control  of a service animal to wit: 

_____(descirbe), allow said service animal to be 

[killed/injured] 

 

  CR 10-626(b)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000 - 1 YEAR 

 

*1_1076* **INTERFERE SERVICE ANIMAL** 

 ...did [willfully/maliciously] [interfere with /being the owner, 

allow an animal to interfere with/having immediate control, 

allow an animal to interefere with] the use of  ______, a service 

animal. 
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 Desecration of Flag 

  CR 10-704 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0671* **DESECRATE FLAG** 

 ...did intentionally [mutilate/deface/destroy/burn/trample 

upon/otherwise use] a flag in a manner [intended to incite or 

produce an imminent breach of the peace/ under circumstances 

likely to incite or produce an imminent breach of the peace]. 

NOTE: "Flag" includes any flag, standard, color ensign or 

shield made of any substance or represented or produced 

thereon and of any size, evidently purporting to be such flag, 

standard, color, ensign or shield of the United States or of this 

State. 

 

NUDITY AND SEXUAL DISPLAYS 

  CR 11-102 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_3700* **SEX DISPLAYS-SELL TO MINRS** 

 ...did knowingly [sell/offer to sell] to ____, a minor, a ____ 

(describe object) depicting ____ (describe what it shows). 

NOTE: This section applies to pictures, drawings, photos, 

films, cd roms or any other visual representations of prohibited 

subject matter, and to any books, magazines, stories, 

publications, or any other writings or printing of prohibited 

subject matters. 

Prohibited matters are sadomasochistic abuse, sexual conduct, 

and sexual excitement. See the definitions in CR 11-101. 
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 Exhibition of Motion Pictures of Presentations to 

Minors 

  CR 11-103(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*2_3700* **SEX DISPLY: MINR FOR PRICE** 

 ...did knowingly exhibit for ____ (name monetary or other 

valuable consideration or service) to ____ (name), a minor 

unaccompanied by [his/her] [parent/guardian] a [motion 

picture/live/animated/ [other]] presentation depicting ______ 

(see note) to wit: _______ (name or describe motion picture or 

other show). 

NOTE: Any live, motion picture, animated, cd rom, or other 

visual representation or show depicting sexual conduct, sexual 

excitement, or sadomasochistic abuse as defined in CR 11-101 

is covered by this section. 

 

  

  CR 11-103(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0292* **SEX DIS. SELL MINOR TICKET** 

 ...did knowingly sell to _____, a minor unaccompanied by 

[parent/ guardian] a ticket to _______, depicting _____ (see 

note). 

NOTE: Any live, motion picture, animated, cd rom, or other 

visual representation or show depicting sexual conduct, sexual 

excitement, or sadomasochistic abuse as defined in CR 11-101 

is covered by this section. 
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  CR 11-103(b)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*3_3710* **SEX DISPLAY: ADMIT MINOR** 

 ...did knowingly admit _____, a minor unaccompanied by 

[parent/ guardian] to _____, depicting _____ (see note). 

NOTE: Any live, motion picture, animated, cd rom, or other 

visual representation or show depicting sexual conduct, sexual 

excitement, or sadomasochistic abuse as defined in CR 11-101 

is covered by this section. 

 

 Permitting Minor Enter/Remain on Certain 

Premises 

  CR 11-104 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*4_3700* **SEX DISP MINR RET ESTABLMT** 

 …did as [an operator/sales person/cashier/manager] of a retail 

establishment, knowingly permit _____, a minor 

unaccompanied by his/her [parent/guardian], to [enter 

into/remain] at ______ (name and address of premises), the 

retail establishment, at which there was displayed _____ (state 

thing) depicting [sexual conduct/sadomasochistic abuse, etc.]. 

NOTE: Section applies to owner, operators, and employees of 

the retail establishment, but not to persons on the premises who 

have no authority over the establishment. 
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  CR 11-105 (a)(1)(2)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*3_3700* **SEX DIS/ADVERTISMNT PURPOS** 

 ...did knowingly display for advertising purposes a _____ 

[picture/ photo/drawing/verbal description/narrative account] 

depicting ____ [sadomasochistic abuse/sexual conduct under 

CR 11-101(d)(1)/sexual conduct under CR 11-101(d)(2)/sexual 

conduct under CR 11-101(d)(3)/sexual excitement]. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 11-105(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0293* **SEX DISPLAY PERMIT ON PREM** 

 ...did knowingly permit the display of a _____ [picture/photo/ 

drawing/verbal description/narrative account] depicting ____ 

[sadomasochistic abuse/sexual conduct/sexual excitement] on 

premises [owned/rented/managed] by defendant. 
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INDECENT EXPOSURE 

  

  CR 11-107 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_3605* **INDECENT EXPOSURE** 

 ...did indecently expose [his/her] person [in a public place, to 

wit: ______/ to _____ (victim)]. 

NOTE: The common law crime of indecent exposure refers to 

the deliberate exposure of one’s private parts. This can occur in 

two ways, in a public place with members of the public present, 

or deliberately to an unconsenting victim (as in what is 

commonly called a "flasher.") In order for probable cause to be 

found for indecent exposure in a public place, there should be 

same factual indication that members of the public were within 

sight of the act. In order for probable cause to be found for 

indecent exposure to a named victim, the facts must indicate a 

deliberate act of exposure done with the intent that an 

unconsenting victim would see. 

NOTE: Indecent exposure includes engaging in an act of 

masturbation in public, whether or not the person’s genitalia are 

exposed. 

 

OBSCENE MATTER 

 Sending/Bringing into State for Sale, etc., Within 

State 

  CR 11-202(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

FIRST OFFENSE 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_3705* **OBSCENE MAT/SALE CAUSE/SND** 

 ...did knowingly [send/cause to be sent] into this State for sale 

or distribution _____, obscene matter. 
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  CR 11-202(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

FIRST OFFENSE 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0294* **OBSCENE MAT/SAL CAUS/BRING** 

 ...did knowingly [bring/cause to be brought] into this State for 

[sale/distribution] _____, obscene matter. 

NOTE: See CR 11-202(b) for subsequent offense penalty of 

3Y-$5,000. 

  

  CR 11-202(a)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

FIRST OFFENSE 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0295* **OBSCENE MAT/PUBLISH/DISTRIB** 

 ...did, in this State, knowingly [prepare/publish/print/exhibit/ 

distribute/offer to distribute] ____, obscene matter. 

NOTE: See CR 11-202(b) for subsequent offense penalty of 

3Y-$5,000. 

 

  CR 11-202(a)(4) 

MISDEMEANOR 

FIRST OFFENSE 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0296* **OBSCENE MAT/POSS W/IN DIST** 

 ...did, in this State, knowingly have in his possession with intent 

to [distribute/exhibit/offer to distribute] _____, obscene matter. 

NOTE: See CR 11-202(b) for subsequent offense penalty of 

3Y-$5,000. 

NOTE: In CR 11-201, the term "knowingly" refers to 

knowledge of the contents of the item containing the obscenity. 

The definition of "obscene" is the same as that for CR 11-202. 

See the note thereunder. 
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  CR 11-203(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

1ST: $1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

2ND: $5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0635* **DISPLAY OBSCENE MAT TO MINOR** 

 ... did [willfully/knowingly] [display/exhibit] to a minor an item  

________(choose from below) 

i) the [cover/content] of which is principally made up of an 

obscene [description/depiction] of illicit sex]. 

ii) that consists of an obscene picture of a [nude/partially nude] 

figure. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 11-203(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

1ST: $1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

2ND: $5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_3799* **OBSCENE MAT SALE TO MINORS** 

 ...did wilfully and knowingly engage in the business of 

[selling/showing/advertising for sale/distributing/displaying and 

exhibiting] to persons under the age of 18 years [still 

pictures/photographs/books/pocket books/pamphlets/ 

magazines/video discs/video tape/video game/recorded phone 

messages/films/computer discs] the [cover/contents] of which 

[are principally made up of obscene [descriptions/depictions] of 

illicit sex/consist of obscene pictures of nude and partially 

denuded figures]. 

 

 

 

 

  

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

376. 
  CR 11-203(b)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

FIRST OFFENSE $1,000.00 

- 1 YEAR 

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0297* **OBSCENE MAT DISPLAY MINOR** 

 ...did, as an [owner/operator/franchisee/manager/employee with 

managerial responsibility] of a [newsstand/place of business], 

openly and knowingly display at the said [newsstand/place of 

business], which is frequented by persons under the age of 18 

years, [still pictures/photographs/books/pocket 

books/pamphlets/magazines/ video disc/video tape/video 

game/recorded telephone messages/film/computer disc] the 

[cover/contents] of which [were principally made up of obscene 

[descriptions/depictions] of illicit sex/consist of obscene 

pictures of nude and partially denuded figures]. 

NOTE: See CR 11-203(d)(2) for subsequent offense penalty of 

3Y-$5,000. 

NOTE: "OBSCENE" MEANS:  

1. That the average adult applying contemporary community 

standards would find that the work, taken as a whole, appeals to 

prurient interests; 

2. That the work depicts the sexual conduct specified in the 

wording for this section in a way that is patently offensive to 

prevailing standards in the adult community as a whole with 

respect to what is suitable material; 

3. That the work, taken as a whole, lacks serious literary, 

scientific, educational, artistic, or political value. 
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 Child Pornography 

  CR 11-207(a)(1) 

FELONY 

$25,000.00 - 10  YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

SUBSEQUENT 

VIOLATION 

$50,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

*1_0298* **CHILD PORN PERMIT SEX SUBJ** 

 ...did [solicit/cause/induce/knowingly permit] _____(name), a 

minor to engage as a subject in a [visual 

representation/performance] that depicts a minor engaged as a 

subject in [sexual conduct/sadomasochistic abuse], to wit: 

_______. 

NOTE: See 11-207(b)(2) for subsequent offense penalty of 

20Y-$50,000. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 11-207(a)(1) 

FELONY 

$25,000.00 - 10  YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

SUBSEQUENT 

VIOLATION 

$50,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

*2_3799* **CHILD PORN SOLICIT SUBJECT** 

 ...did [solicit/cause/induce/knowingly permit] _____(name), a 

minor to engage as a subject in the production of obscene 

matter, to wit: _______ (name or describe). 
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  CR 11-207(a)(2)(3) 

FELONY 

$25,000.00 - 10  YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

SUBSEQUENT 

VIOLATION 

$50,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

*1_0299* **CHILD PORN FILM/COMP SEX ACT** 

 ...did [photograph/film/create a computer image of] 

____(name), a minor engaging in an [obscene act/sexual 

conduct/sadomasochistic abuse]. 

NOTE: See 11-207(b)(2) for subsequent offense penalty of 

20Y-$50,000. 

 

  CR 11-207(a)(4) 

FELONY 

$25,000.00 - 10  YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

SUBSEQUENT 

VIOLATION 

$50,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

*1_0300* **CHILD PORN PROMOTE/DISTRB** 

 ...did knowingly [promote/advertise/solicit/distribute/possess 

with intent to distribute] _______ (name publication or film or 

describe matter, performance, or other visual 

representation)________(choose from below). 

1. that depicts a minor engaged as a subject in [sexual 

conduct/sadomasochistic abuse]. 

2. in a manner that [reflects the belief/is intended to cause 

another to believe] that the [matter/visual 

representation/performance] depicts a minor engaged as 

a subject of [sadomasochistic abuse/sexual conduct]. 

NOTE: See 11-207(b)(2) for subsequent offense penalty of 

20Y-$50,000. 

NOTE: “Minor” means an individual under 18 years.  

NOTE: “Sexual conduct” means human masturbation, sexual 

intercourse, or any touching of or contact with genitals, pubic 

areas or buttocks of a human male or female, or the breasts of 

the female, whether alone or between members of the same or 

opposite sex, or between humans and animals.Sexual conduct 

also includes lascivious exhibiton of the genitals or pubic area 

of any person. 

 These provisions shall not extend to persons having bona fide 

scientific, educational, governmental, artistic, news or, other 

similar justification for possessing or distributing such 

materials. The minor’s whereabouts or identity need not be 

known. 
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  CR 11-207(a)(5) 

FELONY 

$25,000.00 - 10  YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

SUBSEQUENT 

VIOLATION 

$50,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

*1_0315* **CHILD PORN COMPUTERS** 

 ...did, by means of a computer, knowingly 

[compile/enter/transmit/make/print/publish/reproduce/ 

cause/allow/ buy/sell/receive/exchange/disseminate] a 

[notice/statement/advertisement/minor's name/telephone 

number/place of residence/physical characteristic/other 

descriptive or identifying information] for the purpose of [ 

engaging/facilitating/encouraging/offering/soliciting][ unlawful 

sexual conduct with /sadomasochistic abuse of] a minor. 

NOTE: See 11-207(b)(2) for subsequent offense penalty of 

20Y-$50,000. 

NOTE: "Minor" means an individual under 18 years. 

NOTE: “Sexual conduct” means human masturbation, sexual 

intercourse, or any touching of or contact with genitals, pubic 

areas or buttocks of a human male or female, or the breasts of 

the female, whether alone or between members of the same or 

opposite sex, or between humans and animals.Sexual conduct 

also includes lascivious exhibiton of the genitals or pubic area 

of any person. 

These provisions shall not extend to persons having bona fide 

scientific, educational, governmental, artistic, news or, other 

similar justification for possessing or distributing such 

materials. 

The minor's whereabouts or identity need not be known. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

380. 
 

 

  

  CR 11-208 

MISDEMEANOR 

2,500.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1756* **POSSESS CHILD PORNOGRAPHY** 

 ...did knowingly possess and intentionally retain a [film/video 

tape/photograph/ visual representation to wit: _____ (name or 

describe) ] showing an [individual under 16 years of age/a 

computer generated image that is indistinguishable from an 

actual and identifiable child under the age of 16 years] 

[engaged as a subject of sadomasochistic abuse/engaged in 

sexual conduct/in a state of sexual excitement]. 

NOTE: "Sadomasochistic abuse" means flagellation or torture 

by or upon a human who is nude, or clad in undergarments, or 

in a revealing or bizarre costume, or the condition of one who is 

nude or so clothed as is being fettered, bound, or otherwise 

physically restrained. 

NOTE: “Sexual conduct” means human masturbation, sexual 

intercourse, or any touching of or contact with genitals, pubic 

areas or buttocks of a human male or female, or the breasts of 

the female, whether alone or between members of the same or 

opposite sex, or between humans and animals.Sexual conduct 

also includes lascivious exhibiton of the genitals or pubic area 

of any person. 

"Sexual excitement" means the condition of human male or 

female genitals, or the breasts of the female, when in a state of 

sexual stimulation, or the sensual experiences of humans 

engaging in or witnessing sexual conduct or nudity. 

NOTE: Does not prohibit a parent from possessing visual 

representation of the parent's own child in the nude unless the 

visual representations depict the child engaged as a subject of 

sadomasochistic abuse or in sexual conduct AND in a state of 

sexual excitement. 
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  CR 11-208 (b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

2,500.00 - 5 YEARS 

 

*1_1796* **ACCESS AND VIEW CHILD PORN** 

 ...did [knowingly/intentionally]  access and intentionally view a 

[film/video tape/photograph/ visual representation to wit: _____ 

(name or describe) ] showing an [actual child under the age of 

16 years/a computer generated image that is indistinguishable 

from an actual and identifiable child under the age of 16 years] 

[engaged as a subject of sadomasochistic abuse/engaged in 

sexual conduct/in a state of sexual excitement]. 

NOTE: See CR 11-101 for definitions of "Sadomasochistic 

abuse", “Sexual conduct”, and "Sexual excitement". 

NOTE: Does not prohibit a parent from possessing visual 

representation of the parent's own child in the nude unless the 

visual representations depict the child engaged as a subject of 

sadomasochistic abuse or in sexual conduct AND in a state of 

sexual excitement. 

 

 

  CR 11-209(a)(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

SUB OFFENSE $5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*3_3799* **OBSCENE MAT HIRE MINOR DIS** 

 ...did hire, use, and employ ______(name), a minor under 18 years of age, 

to assist [him/her] in distributing obscene matter, [with knowledge 

that/while having in [his/her] possession facts from which [he/she] could 

reasonably have determined that] said minor was under 18 years of age. 

NOTE: The prohibitions and penalties imposed in this sub-title do not 

extend to persons having bona fide scientific, educational, governmental, 

or other similar justification for possessing such matter, or to distributions 

thereof pursuant to such justification. 
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  CR 11-303 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1093* **PROSTITUTION - GENERAL** 

 …did knowingly ___________(select from language below) 

1. engage in [prostitution/assignation] by any means. 

2. occupy a [building/structure/conveyance] for 

[prostitution/assignation]. 
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  CR 11-304(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1090* **PROSTITUTION - BUSINESS** 

 ...did [receive money/acquire money or proceeds] from the earnings of 

__________ (name) engaged in prostitution with the intent to [promote a 

crime/profit from a crime/conceal/disguise the nature,/location/source/ 

ownership/control of money or proceeds of a crime] under Title 11, Subtitle 

3 of the Criminal Law Article. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

384. 
 

 

 

 

 

  CR 11-305(a)(1) 

FELONY 

$5,000.00 -  25YEARS 

*1_1336* **PROSTITUTION - UNDER 16** 

 ...did [persuade/entice/aid in the persuasion of/aid in the enticement of] 

__________ (name), a person under the age of 16 from [the person's 

home/the custody of the person's parents/the custody of the person's 

guardian] and  knowingly [secrete/harbor/aid in the secreting of/aid in the 

harboring of] said person for the purpose of committing a sexual crime as 

defined in Criminal Law Article, Title 3, Subtitle 3 . 
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  CR 11-306 

MISDEMEANOR                                                                                                                                       

$500 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1730* **PROCURE/SOL PROSTITUTION/ASSIG** 

 … did knowingly [procure/solicit/offer to procure/offer to solicit] 

[prostitution/assignation]. 
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  CR 11-307 

MISDEMEANOR                                                                                                                                       

$500 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1731* **PROST – ALLOW/MAIN BUILDING** 

 …did knowingly ___________(select from language below) 

1. allow a [building/structure/conveyance] [owned/under a person’s 

control] to be used for [prostitution/assignation]. 

2.  [allow/agree to allow] a person into a 

[building/structure/conveyance] for [prostitution/assignation]. 

3. [keep/set up/maintain/operate] a [building/structure/conveyance] 

for [prostitution/assignation]. 
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  CR 12-102(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00- 6 MONTHS 

*1_1710*  **MAKE/SELL POOL** 

 ...did [make a pool/sell a pool] on the result of 

[race/contest/contingency]. 

              

NOTE: Sporting events, racing, or bets on any other contingency are 

covered. 

NOTE: Under case law, bingo in Anne Arundel County is not made 

illegal by these sections. 

Baltimore City:  Offenses under this section must be charged using a 

citation. 

Note: This charge DOES NOT apply to “Fantasy Competition” under 

CR 12-114. 
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  CR 12-102(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00- 6 MONTHS 

*1_1711* **GAMBL-KEEP/USE/PERMIT PLAC** 

 ...did [establish/keep/rent/use/occupy/knowingly permit the use 

of] a [building/vessel/place] on [land/water] within the State, to 

wit:  _____, (specify location and type of place) for the purpose 

of ________(choose from below) 

1. [betting/wagering/gambling]; or 

2. [making/selling/buying] [books/pools] on the result of a 

[race/contest/contingency] 

NOTE: Under case law, bingo in Anne Arundel County is not 

made illegal by these sections. 

Baltimore City:  Offenses under this section must be charged 

using a citation. 
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 Keeping, Etc., Gaming Table/Place 

  CR 12-104 

MISDEMEANOR                                                                 

$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_3908* **GAMING-KEEP TABLE/PLACE** 

 ...did [keep/deal at/manage/have an interest in/have an interest 

in the profits of/lease/rent] a [gaming table at ____/a place used 

for gambling]. 

NOTE: Under case law, bingo in Anne Arundel County is not 

made illegal by these sections. 
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 Keeping Gaming Table/Place 

  CR 12-104(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_3921* **GAMING-KEEP TABLE/PLACE** 

 ...did keep a [gaming table/house/vessel/place] to wit: 

_____(location), for the purpose of gambling. 

NOTE:  See CR 12-104(b) regarding minimum penalty of 6 

months if convicted.                  

NOTE: Can be on land or water in the State. A gaming table is 

a table or other device on which games of chance are played for 

money; it does not apply, however, to billiard or pool tables 

used for that purpose. 

NOTE: This section covers any place operated for the purpose 

of gambling on a game of chance. Gambling or betting on a 

horse race, dog race, contest, or other such contingency is 

covered by CR 12-102. See the definition of "Gaming Table" in 

CR 12-101. 

NOTE: Under case law, bingo in Anne Arundel County is not 

made illegal by these sections. 
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 Owner/Occupant of Building, Etc. Permitting 

Keeping of Tables 

  CR 12-104(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_3908* **GAMING-BLDG OWNER/OCCUPANT** 

 ...did knowingly permit a gaming table to be kept at 

_____(location) [owned/leased/occupied] by [him/her]. 

NOTE: Under case law, bingo in Anne Arundel County is not 

made illegal by these sections. 

 

 

 

 

 Renting Place for Gambling 

  CR 12-104(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_3921* **GAMBLING-RENTED PLACE** 

 ...did [lease/rent] ____, to be used for the purpose of gambling. 

NOTE: Under case law, bingo in Anne Arundel County is not 

made illegal by these sections. 
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OFF-SHORE GAMBLING 

 Gambling on boat, pier, Wharf, etc 

  CR 12-105 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*6_2620* **OFF-SHORE GAMBLING** 

 ...did [bet upon/wager upon/gamble 

at/keep/conduct/maintain/operate/establish/ rent/ 

use/occupy/knowingly suffer to be established/knowingly suffer 

to be kept/knowingly suffer to be used/knowingly suffer to be 

rented/knowingly suffer to be occupied] a gaming device upon 

a  [vessel upon the waters of the State of Maryland, to wit: ____ 

(name vessel)/structure built upon and over the waters of the 

State of Maryland, to wit: _____ (name or describe structure)] 

which could not be entered from shore by a person on foot. 

NOTE: See CR 12-105 for minimum fine of $200. 

NOTE: See TA 6-209 for vessels that do not apply. 

NOTE: It is not a defense to this section that a permit or license 

had been issued for the gambling activity by any political 

subdivision of this State. 

 

 

 Results of Horse Race 

  CR 12-109 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0433* **FIXED HORSE RACE** 

 ... did willfully, knowingly, and unlawfully [cause/attempt to 

cause] the [prearrangement/predetermination] of the results of a 

horse race, to wit: _____ (name race).   
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 Lotteries - Prohibited 

  CR 12-203 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 12 MONTHS 

*2_3925* **LOTTERY-SELL** 

 …did hold a lottery. 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 12-203 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 12 MONTHS 

*2_3930* **LOTTERY-SELL** 

 ...did sell a lottery device to _____. 

NOTE: Lottery is a species of gaming, the elements of which 

are consideration, chance, and prize. 

Lottery device does not have to be a written document. It may 

constitute a mere exchange of words between the lottery 

operator and the bettor, by which they agree upon terms under 

which a chance or share in lottery is being acquired. 
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  CR 12-204 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 - 1 YEAR 

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 

SEC. 12-210 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*4_3921* **LOTTERY UNAUTH PL TO SELL** 

 ...did keep a certain place, to wit: ____ located at ____, for the 

purpose of selling [lottery devices/policies/certificate] (specify). 

NOTE: Facts must show keeping of a house, office, or other 

place (automobile included) for purpose of selling or bartering 

lottery devices. Ownership is not an element. 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 12-204 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 

SEC. 12-21 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*5_3921* **LOTTERY PROP OWN/PERMT SAL** 

 ...did knowingly permit ____ (property used) located at _____, 

of which he was the [owner/lease holder] to be used as a place 

for selling [lottery devices/policy/certificate] ______ (specify). 

NOTE: Facts must indicate ownership or leaseholder interest in 

property, including automobile, and that owner/leaseholder 

knew of the use to which property was being put. 

NOTE: State lottery exempted from these prohibitions. 

S.G. Sec. 9-102. 
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  CR 12-205 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 

SEC. 12-210 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0286* **LOTTERY POSS NUMBERS LIST** 

 ...did possess a record of numbers drawn in a [lottery/lottery 

ticket/ship/list/record]; to wit ___________ (name item). 

 

 

 

 

 Possession - Records or Money 

  CR 12-205 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 

SEC. 12-210 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_3918* **LOTTERY: INTERSTATE TRANSP** 

 ...did bring into the State of Maryland a [lottery ticket/policy/ 

certificate]; to wit ______________ (name item). 
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  CR 12-205(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 

SEC. 12-210 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0287* **LOTTERY POSS SALES MONEY** 

 ...did possess a [book/list/slip/record] of money [received/to be 

received] from the sale of a lottery device. 

NOTE: Possession may be actual (on one's person) or 

constructive (within one's immediate control), and may be sole 

or joint possession. Ownership and knowledge are not elements 

of crime. 

 

 Publication/Account of Lottery 

  CR 12-206 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 - 60 DAYS 

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 

12- 210 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_3915* **LOTTERY-PUBLISH ACCT** 

 … did [print/write/publish] an account of a lottery that 

describes ______(choose from below)                          

1.   [when/where] the lottery is drawn.                                   

2.  Any prize available in the lottery.                                          

3.  The [price/share] of a lottery ticket.                           

4. Where a lottery ticket may be obtained. 

NOTE: Publication or aiding and assisting in publication (either 

written, printed or broadcast) of an account of a lottery means 

stating when or where it is to be drawn, or the price of a ticket, 

or where ticket may be obtained. 

It should be noted that it makes no difference if the lottery is 

legal in another state. 
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  CR 12-302 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*3_3908* **SLOT MACHINE POSS/MAINTAIN** 

 ...did unlawfully [locate/possess/keep/maintain/operate] a slot 

machine within this State. 

NOTE: See section 12-302 for definition of slot machines. 

NOTE: There are several exceptions within this statute. 

Possession of an antique slot machine is allowed, but you 

should not take this into account when determining probable 

cause, as this must be an affirmative defense offered at trial. 

Within certain counties, licenses for slot machines may be 

issued by the proper authority. See the Statute for these 

exceptions. 

Also, effective October 1, 1995, an exception is given to 

persons in the business of demonstrating for sale, or selling, 

such machines if they are:  

 a. operating under a contract with a manufacturer; 

 b. are registered with the U.S. Department of Justice  

     as a  distributor of slot machines, and; 

 c. have provided the Superintendent of the State Police      

     with a copy of their current registration. 

 

 

  CR 14-104 

FELONY 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

10 YEARS 

 

 

*1_1733* **CRIME OF VIOL– PREGNANT PERS** 

 ... did commit a crime of violence as defined under CR 14-101, to wit: 

________(describe), against _______(victim), [knowing/believing that] 

said person was pregnant. 

NOTE:  This is charge can be charged in addition to the underlying 

crime of violence. 
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CORRECTIONAL SERVICES ARTICLE 

  CS 2-113.1(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 

*1_0656* **FTA SUBPOENA – SEC CORR SVC** 

 ... [fail to appear before the Secretary/refuse to testify] when 

subpoenaed. 

NOTE: Secretary means Secretary of Public Safety and 

Correctional Services. 

 

 

  CS 2-113.1(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

10 YEARS 

*1_0657* **FALSESTMT SEC CORR SVC** 

 ... did make a false statement under oath before the Secretary. 

NOTE: Secretary means Secretary of Public Safety and 

Correctional Services. 

NOTE: Penalty for perjury – CR 9-101. 

 

 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

399. 

 

  

  CS 8-801 

FELONY 

30 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*3_5730* **IMPRISON CORRECTIONAL EMPL** 

 ...did falsely imprison _____(name), a correctional employee, 

while defendant was an inmate at _____ (name State, County, 

Municipal, or other jail, detention center, or correctional 

facility). 

NOTE: Correctional Employee means:  

1. A person who is employed by a correctional facility. 2. A 

person who performs volunteer work for a correctional facility. 

3. A person who performs duties in a correctional facility by 

virtue of federal, state, or local government employment; OR 4. 

A person who performs duties in a correctional facility by 

virtue of a contract with federal, state, or local government. 

 

 

 

  

  CS 8-803 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1133* **INDECENT EXPOSE CORRECTION EMPL** 

 … did, with the intent to [annoy/abuse/torment/ 

harass/embarrass]  a (correctional officer/authorized personnel), 

to wit: _____ (name/employee) 

[lewdly/lasciviously/indecently]  expose parts of the body,to 

wit: _____, while an inmate at ___________ (facility). 
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EDUCATION ARTICLE 

ATTENDANCE AND DISCIPLINE OF STUDENTS 

  

  ED 7-301 

MISDEMEANOR 

$50.00 PER DAY OF 

ABSENCE - 3 DAYS 

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 

$100.00 PER DAY OF 

ABSENCE - 5 DAYS 

*1_0928* **SCHOOL: FAIL SEND CHILD** 

 ...did, having [legal custody/care and control ] of 

_______(name), a child ______ years of age (see note), 

unlawfully fail to ensure that said child attended school and 

received instruction as required by Art. Education, Sec. 7-301, 

of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: This section only applies to children 5 years old or 

older and under the age of 16 years. The section contains 

exceptions for children whose mental, emotional, or physical 

condition makes attendance impossible, who are in an 

authorized home instruction program, or who have received 

written exemption for a one year period from the local school 

system. 

NOTE: The penalties shown are for each day of unlawful 

absence. 

NOTE: The child must be at least 5 years old and under the age 

of 16 to be covered by this section. 

NOTE:  See ED 7-301.1 for exceptions for lawful absences 

involving student pregancy. 
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 Compulsory Attendance 

  ED 7-301 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0101* **SCHOOL INDUCE/ATT ABSENCE** 

 ...did unlawfully induce and attempt to induce _____(name), a 

child _____ years old and a resident of the State, to be absent 

from ______ school while said school was in session. 

NOTE: The child must be at least 5 years old and under 16 to 

be covered by this section. 

 

 

 

  

  ED 7-301 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0102* **HARBOR/EMPLY CHILD-SCH HRS** 

 ...did unlawfully harbor or employ _____(name), a child ____ 

years old and a resident of this State, to be absent from 

______school while school was in session. 

 

NOTE: The child must be at least 5 years old and under 16 to 

be covered by this section. 
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 Disturbing Activities at School Etc. 

Molesting/Threatening Students 

  ED 26-101 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0070* **SCHOOL: DISTURB OPERATION** 

 ...did wilfully[ disturb/prevent] the orderly conduct of the 

activities, administration, and classes of _____ (school or 

college, see note). 

 

 

 

 

  

  ED 26-101(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_1307* **SCH MOLEST ETC OTHER LOC** 

 …did [molest/threaten with bodily harm] [a student/an 

employee/an administrator/other individual] who is lawfully 

________(choose from below) 

1. [on the grounds/in the immediate vicinity] of an 

insitution of [elementary/secondary/higher education]. 

2. on a school vehicle. 

3. at an activity sponsored by a school that is held off 

school property. 

4. on property owned by a county board and is used for 

[administrative purposes/other purposes to wit: ____]. 

 

 

 

  ED 26-102 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*7_5707* **SCHOOL: TRESPASS ON GROUND** 

 ...did unlawfully trespass upon the grounds of ____(name of 

school), a public institution of [elementary/secondary/higher 

education]. 
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 Trespass-Public Educational Institution 

  ED 26-102 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*8_5707* **SCHL TRESPAS/REFUS LV BLDG** 

 ...did unlawfully refuse and fail to leave the building and 

grounds of ______ public institution of [elementary/ 

secondary/higher education], after being requested to do so by 

______, an authorized employee. 

 

 

  

  ED 26-102 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*9_5707* **SCHL: TRESPASS/DAMAGE PROP** 

 ...did wilfully damage and deface the property of _____ (name 

school, see note#1) to wit: _____ (describe property, see note 

#2) by ____ (describe act). 

NOTE 1: This section covers any elementary, middle, or high 

school, or any college or university, public or private. 

NOTE 2: Property covered by this section includes any 

buildings, furnishings, statutes, monuments, memorials, trees, 

shrubs, grasses, or flowers. 

 

  ED 26-104 
MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_1463* ** OBSTRUCT SCHOOL BUS DRIVER** 

 … did [obstruct/hinder/interfere with]  ________(name), a 

school bus driver, while said school bus driver was engaged in 

the performance of [his/her] duties. 
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ELECTION LAW ARTICLE 

  

  EL 16-802 

FELONY – DIST COURT 

$10,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0783* **DESTRUCTION-ELECTION EQUIPMENT** 

 … did willfully and knowingly [tamper with/damage/ attempt 

to damage/prevent the correct operation/ attempt to prevent 

operation of/possess key for/make key for] voting equipment to 

be used in an election. 

 

  

  EL 16-803 

FELONY – DIST COURT 

$10,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0784* **DESTRUCTION-ELECTION EQUIPMENT** 

 …did [remove/deface/destroy] [equipment/supplies] in a 

polling place by election officials during an election. 

 

  EL 16-804 

FELONY – DIST COURT 

$50, 000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_0785* **TAMPERING ELECTION SYSTEM** 

 did ______(choose from below).                                       

1. Access an electronic voting system without authoriztion from 

the appropriate election authority.                                                                                     

2. [tamper with/alter] the [hardware/system 

components/software] utilized by an electronic  voting system 

for the purpose of affecting the vote count. 
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ENVIRONMENT ARTICLE 

 Junkyard/Automobile Graveyard Adjoining Body 

of Water 

  EN 5-10A-02 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*7_5599* **JUNKYARD ETC FAIL MAINTAIN** 

 ...did, as the [owner/manager] of a _____ (see note), fail to 

maintain the contents thereof so as to prevent the dumping, 

depositing, and transporting thereof into the waters of this State, 

to wit: _____ (name body of water). 

NOTE: Applies to any person or organization that owns, 

maintains, or causes to be maintained a junkyard, automotive 

dismantle, recycler facility, scrap metal processing facility, or 

automotive graveyard. As to probable cause, see the 

presumptions set forth in EN 5-10A-01. 

 

  EN 6-422(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

1st Offense: $20,000 

Sub Offense: $25,000 - 2 Yrs 

*1_1605* **VIOLATE ASBESTOS REMOVAL** 

 … did knowingly and willfully violate a [provision of/a rule 

adopted under/a regulation adopted under] Title 6, Subtitle 4 of 

the Environment Article to wit: _______(describe). 

 

  EN 7-265 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0012* **HAZARDOUS SUBST-DISPOSAL** 

 ...did unlawfully [store/treat/dump/discharge/abandon/dispose 

of] _______, a controlled hazardous substance in and at ______ 

(place), a place that was not a controlled hazardous substance 

facility and that did not have a current facility permit. 
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 Illegal Disposal 

  EN 7-265 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0012* **HAZARDOUS SUBST-DISPOSAL** 

 ...did unlawfully transport for treatment, storage, and disposal a 

controlled hazardous substance, to wit: _____, to ______, a 

place that was not a controlled hazardous substance facility and 

did not have a current facility permit. 

 

 

 

  

  EN 7-265 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0013* **HAZARDOUS SUBST-FALSE INFO** 

 ...did unlawfully falsify information required by the State 

Department of the Environment, namely _____ (specify what 

information was falsified relating it to a specific law, rule 

regulation, order, haulers certificate, vehicle certificate, or 

facility permit issued under the subtitle). 
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  EN 7-265 

FELONY 

$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0014* **HAZARDOUS SUBST-DISPOSAL** 

 ...did [authorize/direct/permit] 

[storing/treating/dumping/discharging/abandoning/otherwise 

disposing of a controlled hazardous substance in any place 

other than a controlled hazardous substance facility for which a 

a current facility permit is in effect/ falsify information required 

by the department or any rule, regulation,order, hauler 

certificate, vehicle certificate or facility permit issued under EN 

7-232.] 

NOTE: Each day of violation is a separate offense. 

 

 

  

  EN 7-265 

FELONY 

$250,000 - 15 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0015* **HAZARDOUS SUBST/ENDANGER OTHER** 

 …did  unlawfully [store/treat/dump/discharge/abandon/dispose 

of/transport for treatment/transport for storage/transport for 

disposal] _______, a controlled hazardous substance, knowing 

that the violation placed another person, to wit: _____ (name or 

names) in imminent danger of death or serious bodily harm. 
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FAMILY LAW ARTICLE 

MARRYING UNLAWFULLY 

 Within 3 Degrees of Direct Lineal/ First Degree of 

Collateral Consanguinity 

  FL 2-202(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,500.00 

*3_7399* **MARRIAGE-UNLAWFUL** 

…did marry _____(select from list), his/her _____ 

(relationship), being within [three degrees of direct lineal 

consanguinity/the first degree of collateral consanguinity]. 

NOTE: The marriages prohibited under this section are as 

follows:  

An individual may not marry their: 

- Grandparent 

- Parent 

- Child 

- Sibling; or 

- Grandchild 
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 Marrying within Other Prohibited Degrees 

  FL 2-202[c] 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 

*4_7399* **MARRIAGE-UNLAWFUL** 

...did marry ___, his/her ____ (relationship), being within a 

degree of affinity and kindred prohibited by the laws of this 

State. 

NOTE: The marriages prohibited under this section are as 

follows:  

An individual may not marry their: 

- Grandparent’s Spouse 

- Spouse’s Grandparent 

- Parent’s Sibling 

- Stepparent 

- Spouse’s Parent 

- Spouse’s Child 

- Child’s Spouse 

- Grandchild’s Spouse 

- Spouse’s Grandchild 

- Sibling’s Child 
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  FL 2-406(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 

*6_7390* **MARRIAGE-UNAUTH. BY MINISTER** 

 ...did unlawfully and without authority perform a marriage 

ceremony between ______ (bride) and ______ (groom). 

NOTE:  See section for list of authorized persons. 

 

 

 

 

 Minister, etc. Marrying Persons Within Prohibited 

Degrees 

  FL 2-406(d) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 

*5_7399* **MARRIAG UNAUTH BY MINISTER** 

 ...did knowingly perform a marriage ceremony between _____ 

and _____, they being related in the degrees prohibited by law, 

and he/she being a [religious offical/clerk/deputy clerk/judge]. 
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  FL 2-406(e) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 

*6_7395* **MARRIAGE-PERFORM W/O LICENSE** 

 ...did unlawfully perform a marriage ceremony between _____ 

(bride) and _____ (groom) without a license. 

NOTE: Persons authorized to perform marriages:  

1. Any official of religious order or body by rules and customs 

of that order or body.  

2. Any clerk. 

3. Any deputy clerk designated by the county administative    

    judge of the circuit court for that county. 

4.  A judge. 
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  FL 2-408(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

FIRST OFFENSE $100.00 

SUB OFFENSE $500.00 - 1 

YEAR 

*9_7399* **MARRIAGE-ILL ADVERTISING** 

 ...did [erect/maintain] _____ (describe advertising structure) 

located at _______ , that was intended to help solicit the 

performance of a marriage ceremony. 

 

 

  FL 4-508.1 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

SUB OFFENSE  $2,500.00 - 

1YEAR 

*2_0454* **VIOLATE OUT OF STATE ORDER** 

 …did fail to comply with a [temporary/final] order for 

protection issued by the [State/Native American Tribe] of 

_____ (State/Name of Tribe)  by ___________(choose ONE 

violation from list below. Additional violations may be 

added using the word “and” if violations occurred during 

same event), and which a copy of the order had been [filed 

with the District Court of Maryland for ____/filed with the 

Circuit Court for _____/presented by complainant and had been 

served on _____, the defendant]. 

1. abusing ________( person eligible for relief (PER)) 

2. threatening to abuse  _______ (PER) 

3.  contacting ________ (PER) 

4.  attempting to contact _______(PER) 

5. harassing _______ (PER) 

6. entering the residence of _______(PER) 

7. failing to vacate the residence of _______(PER) 

8. failing to remain away from the place of employment of 

_________(PER) 

9. failing to remain away from the school of 

_______(PER)  

10. failing to remain away from the temporary residence of 

_______(PER) 

11. failing to  surrender firearms to law enforcement 

12. possessing a firearm 
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 FL 4-509 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

SUB. OFFENSE 

$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

RELEASE RESTRICTION 

(Under Certain Conditions) 

*2_0254* **VIOLATE PROT ORDER** 

 ...did fail to comply with relief granted under [an interim/a temporary/a 

final] protective order dated ______, issued under Title 4, Subtitle 5 of the 

Family Law Article by  _______________ (choose ONE violation from list 

below. Additional violations may be added using the word “and” if 

violations occurred during same event.) 

1. abusing ________( person eligible for relief (PER)) 

2. threatening to abuse  _______ (PER) 

3.  contacting ________ (PER) 

4.  attempting to contact _______(PER) 

5. harassing _______ (PER) 

6. entering the residence of _______(PER) 

7. failing to vacate the residence of _______(PER) 

8. failing to remain away from the place of employment of 

_________(PER) 

9. failing to remain away from the school of _______(PER)  

10. failing to remain away from the temporary residence of 

_______(PER) 

11. failing to  surrender firearms to law enforcement (Only applicable 

when Temp or Final Order) 

12. possessing a firearm (Only applicable when Temp or Final Order) 

 

NOTE:  See definition of abuse - FL 4-501. 

NOTE: A District Court commissioner may not authorize the pretrial release 

of a defendant charged with violating the provisions of a  protective order 

that order the defendant to refrain from abusing or threatening to abuse a 

person eligible for relief. See Criminal Procedures 5-202(e); F: 4-506(d)(1); 

FL 4-508.1. 

NOTE: An officer shall arrest with or without a warrant and take into 

custody a person whom the officer has probable cause to believe is in 

violation of a protective order in effect at the time of the violation. 

NOTE:  If the court is closed on the day an  interim order is set to expire, the 

order shall be effective until the next day on which the court is open.  For 

temporary orders, it is effective until the second day on which the Court is 

open. 

NOTE:  The commissioner must verify the type of order, verify that the 

order has been served, verify that the alleged violation conditions exist in the 

issued order; prior to making a probable cause decision. 

NOTE: Under FL 4-509(b), a prior conviction under CJ 3-1508 for failure to 

comply with a peace order, shall be considered a conviction for the purposes 

of second or subsequent offense penalties. Sub offenses should be brought 

by State’s Attorney. 
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  FL 5-705.2 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000 .00 – 5 YEARS 

*1_0734* **ABUSE/NEGLECT REPORTING** 

 ...did intentionally [prevent/interfere with] the making of a 

report of [suspected abuse/neglect] required by [FL 5-704/FL 5-

705.1(c)(2)]. 

 

 

 

 Confinement/dwelling, etc.; 

  FL 5-801 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500 .00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0005* **CONFINE UNATTENDED CHILD** 

 ...did, being charged with the care of _____(name), a child 

under the age of 8 years, allow said child to be 

[locked/confined] in a [dwelling/building/enclosure/motor 

vehicle] which was out of [his/her] sight and while [he, she] 

was absent therefrom. 

NOTE: This section is not applicable where the child is left 

attended by a reliable person at least 13 years old. 
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CHILD CUSTODY AND VISITATION 

  

  FL 9-304 

PENALTY SEC. FL 9-307 

MISDEMEANOR 

$250.00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0364* **DETAIN CHILD/RELATVE IN ST** 

 ...did, as a relative and with intent to deprive the lawful 

custodian, knowingly detain within the State _____, a child 

under 16 years of age, from the lawful custodian for more than 

48 hours after the lawful custodian demanded that the child be 

returned. 

 

 

 

 Abduction by Relative-Child Under 16 - In State 

  FL 9-304 

PENALTY FL 9-307 

MISDEMEANOR 

$250.00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0365* **HIDE CHLD/ABD BY REL IN ST** 

 ...did, as a relative and with intent to deprive the lawful 

custodian, [harbor/hide] within this State ______, a child under 

16 years of age, knowing that possession of the said child was 

obtained by another relative in violation of this section. 
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  FL 9-304 

PENALTY SEC. FL 9-307 

MISDEMEANOR 

$250.00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0366* **ABDUCT ETC CHILD/ACCESSORY** 

 ...was an accessory to ....(add appropriate wording from either 

CJIS Code 1-0364, 1-0365, or 2-1005). 

NOTE: You may not require an applicant for a statement of 

charges in a child abduction by a relative case to submit written 

proof that the applicant has legal custody of the child. If such is 

available and offered to you, however, it should be reviewed 

and a copy attached to the application. 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  FL 9-304 

PENALTY SEC. FL 9-307 

MISDEMEANOR 

$250.00 - 30 DAYS 

*2_1005* **ABDUCT CHILD/RELATIV IN ST** 

 ...did, as a relative and with intent to deprive the lawful 

custodian, knowingly [abduct/take/carry away] ____, a child 

under 16 years of age from _____ [his/her] lawful custodian, to 

a place within this State. 
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  FL 9-305 

PENALTY SEC. FL 9-307 

Detained not more than 30 

days                                

(barcode 1_0737) 

FELONY 

$1,000.00 – 1YEAR 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

Detained more than 30 days                                        

(barcode 1-0747) 

FELONY 

$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0737*              

*1_0747* 
**DET CHLD CUSTODIAN OUT ST** 

 …did being a relative, having acquired lawful possession of 

________(name), a child under the age of 16, detain said child 

in another state, with intent to deprive the lawful custodian of 

the custody of said child, for more than 48 hours after a demand 

for the return by the lawful custodian. 
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 Abduction by Relative - Child Under 16 -Outside 

State 

  FL 9-305 

PENALTY SEC. FL 9-307 

Detained not more than 30 

days                                

(barcode 1-0738) 

FELONY 

$1,000.00 – 1 YEAR 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

Detained more than 30 days                                        

(barcode 1-0748) 

FELONY 

$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0738*              

*1_0748* 
**HIDE CHLD AB BY REL OUT ST** 

 ...did, as a relative and with intent to deprive the lawful 

custodian,[ harbor/hide] in another state, _____(name), a child 

under 16 years of age, knowing that possession of the said child 

was obtained by another relative in violation of Title 9 of the 

Family Law article. 
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  FL 9-305 

PENALTY FL 9-307 

Detained not more than 30 

days                                

(barcode 1-0739) 

FELONY 

$1,000.00 – 1 YEAR 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

Detained more than 30 days                                       

*barcode 1-0749) 

FELONY 

$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0739*              

*1_0749* 
**ABDUCT ETC CHILD/ACCESSORY** 

 …act as an accessory to . . . (select from list) 

LIST: 

1.  The [abduction/taking/carrying away] of _______(name) a 

child under the age of 16, to a place in another state, by 

_______(name), being a relative of said child, knowing that 

another person is the lawful custodian of the child and with 

intent to deprive the lawful custodian. 

2.  ________, a relative, who having acquired lawful possession 

of said child, knowing another to be the lawful custodian, 

detain ______(name), a child under the age of 16, for more than 

48 hours after a demand for return by the lawful custodian with 

the intent to deprive the lawful custodian of said child. 

3.  The [harboring/hiding], ___________(name), a child under 

the age of 16, in another state, by _______(name), who knows 

that possession of the child was obtained by another relative in 

violation of title 9 of the Family Law Article and with the intent 

to deprive the lawful custodian of said child. 

NOTE: You may not require an applicant for a statement of 

charges in a child abduction by a relative case to submit written 

proof that the applicant has legal custody of the child. If such is 

available and offered to you, however, it should be reviewed 

and a copy attached to the application. 
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  FL 9-305 

PENALTY SEC. FL 9-307 

Detained not more than 30 

days                                

(barcode 1-0736) 

FELONY 

$1,000.00 – 1 YEAR 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

Detained more than 30 days                                        

(barcode 1-0746) 

FELONY 

$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0736*              

*1_0746* 
**ABDUCT CHILD/CUST OUT ST** 

 ...did, as a relative and with intent to deprive the lawful 

custodian, knowingly [abduct/ take/ carry away] _____, a child 

under 16 years of age from _____ [his/her] lawful custodian, to 

a place in another state. 

 

 

 

 

 

 Nonsupport - Spouse 

  FL 10-201 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_3899* **NONSUPPORT SPOUSE** 

 ...did, without just cause, willfully fail to provide for the 

support of _____ [his/her] spouse. 
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  FL 10-203 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_3899* **DESERTION-MINOR CHILD** 

 ...did desert _____ (name) [his/her] minor child. 

 

 

 Desertion/Nonsupport - Minor Child 

  FL 10-203 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 - 3 YEARS 

*3_3899* **NONSUPPORT - MINOR CHILD** 

 ...did willfully fail to provide for the support of ____ (name), 

[his/her] minor child, during the period ____ through _____ 

inclusive. 

 

  

  FL 10-219 

MISDEMEANOR 

$100.00 - 1 YEAR 

*4_3899* **DESERTION-MINOR CHILD** 

 ...did desert ____ (name), a minor child under [his/her] care, 

custody, and control [with the intent that such child become a 

public charge/without providing for said child's support for at 

least 3 years by a responsible individual or a licensed child care 

facility]. 

NOTE: This section does not require that custodian be the 

parent. 
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 Non-Support Destitute Adult Child 

  FL 13-102 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*5_3899* **NONSUP DESTITUT ADULT CHLD** 

 ...did neglect and refuse to provide necessary shelter, food, care 

and clothing for ____ (name), [his/her] destitute adult child, the 

said ____ (defendant) having the means to do so. 
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HEALTH – GENERAL ARTICLE 

  HG 4-226(f) 

PENALTY SEC. HG 4-227 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0695* **VITAL RECORDS FRAUD - USE** 

 ...did willfully [use/attempt to use] a photocopy of a [birth/ 

death/fetal death/marriage] certificate for a fraudulent and 

deceptive purpose. 

NOTE: Application or statement of charges should indicate the 

fraudulent or deceptive purpose. 

 

  HG 5-514 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_0932* **BURY/DISPOSE BODY UNAUTH PLACE ** 

 ...did [bury/dispose] of a dead human body in a place other than 

family burial plot, an area allowed by a local ordinance, a 

crematory, a cemetery, by donating the body to medical 

science, or by removing body to another state for final 

disposition in accordance with the laws of the other state. 

 

 

  HG 20-601(a) 

PENALTY HG 20-601(a) 

FELONY 

$5,000 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0965* **FEM GENITIAL MUTILATION** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly [circumcise/excise/infibulate] 

[the whole/a part ]of the [labia majora/labia minora/clitoris] of 

______(name), an individual under 18 years of age. 

 

 

 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

424. 
 

 

 Consenting to female genital mutilation on a child, 

under 18, under care of person 

  HG 20-601(b) 

PENALTY HG 20-603 

FELONY 

$5,000 - 5 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0970* **CONSENT/GENITAL MUTILATION** 

 … unlawfully, being legally responsible and charged with the 

care and custody of ____(name), a child under 18 years of age, 

did knowingly consent to the 

[circumcision/excision/infibulation] of the [whole/a part] of the 

[labia majora/labia minora/clitoris] of the said child. 

 

 

FOOD PACKAGES AND CONTAINERS 

 Opening Sealed Food Container 

  HG 21-259.1 

MISDEMEANOR 

$25.00 

*1_1596* **FOOD, SEALED, OPENING** 

 ...did, without [intent to purchase/authority], open a sealed, 

closed, and fastened food container in a [food 

store/supermarket] and leave said container unsalable. 
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LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT ARTICLE 

 Wage Payment and Collection 

  LE 3-502 

PENALTY SEC. 3-508 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 

*1_0698* **WAGES: FAIL TO PAY REGULAR** 

 ...did, as an employer thereof, wilfully fail to pay wages to 

______, an employee, at least one in every two weeks and twice 

in each month as required by the Maryland Annotated Code, 

Labor and Employment Article, Section 3-502 

 

  

  LE 3-503 

PENALTY SEC. LE 3-508 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 

*1_0699* **WAGES: UNLAWFUL DEDUCTIONS** 

 ...did, as an employer thereof, wilfully make unauthorized 

deductions from the wages of ____, an employee. 

NOTE: Deductions are authorized by:  

1. Order by a court of competent jurisdiction;  

2. Express authorization in writing by the employee;  

3. Specific allowance by the Commissioner of Labor and  

    Industry because the employee has received full  

    consideration for the deduction;  

4. In accordance with any law or any rule or regulation by a  

    governmental unit. 
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  LE 3-504 

PENALTY SEC.  LE 3-

508(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 

*1_0700* **WAGES: FAIL TO GIVE NOTICE** 

 ...did, as an employer thereof, wilfully fail to furnish to ______, 

[employee/complainant]. (select from list below) 

1. at the time of hiring, notice of the rate of pay and regular 

payday. 

2. for each pay period, a statement of gross earnings and 

deductions from gross earnings. 

3. at least one pay period in advance, notice of any change in 

[payday/wage]. 

NOTE: This section does not prohibit an employer from 

increasing a wage without advance notice. 

 

 

  

  LE 3-505 

PENALTY SEC. LE  3-

508(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 

*1_0701* **WAGES: TERM & FAIL TO PAY** 

 ...did, as an employer thereof, wilfully fail to pay, by the 

customary day, ________ [employee/complainant] all wages 

due at time of termination of employment. 
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  LE 3-508 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 

*1_0702* **EMPL/MISLEAD GOVMNT AGENCY** 

 ...did, as an employee of _____, wilfully and knowingly make a 

false statement to _____, a governmental [unit/official] with a 

false statement with respect to an investigation under Subtitle 3, 

Labor and Employment Article, of the Annotated Code of 

Maryland, with the intent that the said [unit/official] consider 

and take action in connection with the said statement. 

 

 

 Unlawful Acts 

  LE 8-1301 

PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

RESTITUTION PLUS 

INTEREST 

DISQUALIFICATION 

*1_0801* **UNEMPL: FAIL DISC MAT FACT** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully fail to disclose a material fact to 

[receive/ increase] a [payment/benefit] under the 

Unemployment Insurance Law of _____, for [himself/herself/ 

______(name of other person) ]. 

NOTE: The benefit may be for the person who committed the 

act or for another person. 
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  LE 8-1301 

PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

RESTITUTION PLUS 

INTEREST 

DISQUALIFICATION 

*1_0807* **UNEMPL FALSE STMT FOR BEN** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully make a false 

[statement/representation] to [receive/increase] a 

[payment/benefit] under the Unemployment Insurance Law of 

_____, for [himself/herself/ _____ (name of other person) ]. 

 

 

  

  LE 8-1302 

PENALTY SEC.  LE 8-1305 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0802* **UNEMPL FALS STMT PRVNT BEN** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully make a false 

[statement/representation] to [prevent/reduce] the payment of a 

benefit to _____(name), who was entitled to the benefit. 

 

  

  LE 8-1302 

PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0803* **UNEMPLY FALS DISC PRVNT BEN** 

 ...did, as an employer, knowingly and willfully fail to disclose a 

material fact to [prevent/reduce] the payment of a benefit to 

______ (name), who was entitled to the benefit. 
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  LE 8-1302 

PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0804* **UNEMPL FALS STMT BY EMPLYR** 

 ...did, as an employer, knowingly and willfully make a false 

[statement/representation] to [avoid/reduce] a 

[contribution/required payment] from an employer subject to 

the Unemployment Insurance Law with respect to _______ 

(claimant). 

 

  

  LE 8-1302 

PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0809* **UNEMPL FALS STMT BY EMPLYR** 

 ...did, as an employer, knowingly and willfully make a false 

[statement/representation] to [avoid becoming/remaining] 

subject to the Unemployment Insurance Law with respect to 

_______ (claimant). 

 

  

  LE 8-1302 

PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0810* **UNEMPL FAIL DISC MAT FACT** 

 ...did, as an employer, knowingly and willfully fail to disclose a 

material fact to [avoid becoming/remaining] subject to the 

Unemployment Insurance Law with respect with ________ 

(claimant). 
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LE 8-1302 

PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0811* **UNEMPL FAIL DISC MAT FACT** 

 ...did, as an employer, knowingly and willfully fail to disclose a 

material fact to [avoid/reduce] any [contribution/required 

payment] from an employer subject to the Unemployment 

Insurance Law with respect to ______ (claimant). 

 

  

  LE 8-1302 

PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_0800* **EMPLOYER/FAIL TO CONTRIBUTE** 

 …did, as [an employer/an officer of an employer/an agent of an 

employer], willfully [fail/refuse] to make a 

[contribution/payment] as required by the unemployument 

insurance law, in violation  of the Labor and Employment 

Article, Sec. 8-1302[2][i]. 

 

  

  LE 8-1302 

PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_0810* **EMPLOYER/FAIL TO REPORT** 

 … did, as [an employer/an officer of an employer/an agent of 

an employer], willfully [fail/refuse] to submit a report to wit:  

_____ as required by the unemployment insurance law, in 

violation of the  Labor and Employent Article, Sec. 8-

1302[2][ii]. 
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  LE 8-1302 

PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_0820* **EMPLOYER/RECORDS PRODUCTION** 

 … did, as [an employer/an officer of an employer/an agent of 

an employer], willfully [fail/refuse] to produce records to wit:  

_____ as required under the unemployment insurance law, in 

violation of  the Labor and Employment Article, Sec. 8-

1302[2][iii]. 

 

  

  LE 8-1302 

PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_0830* **EMPLOYER/RECORDS COPIES** 

 ...did, as employer, willfully fail and refuse to allow records 

required under the unemployment insurance law to wit: 

_______ to be copies or inspected in violation of the Labor and 

Employment Article, Sec. 8-1302(iv). 

 

  

  LE 8-1303 

PENALTY SEC. LE  8-1305 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0813* **UNEMPL ACCEPT WAIVE RIGHTS** 

 ...did, as an employer, accept and require from _____, an 

employee, a waiver of a right to which said employee was 

entitled under the Maryland Unemployment Insurance Law. 
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LE 8-1303 

PENALTY SEC.  LE 8-1305 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0812* **UNEMPL DEDUCT FROM WAGE** 

 ...did, as an employer, [directly/indirectly] accept, make, and 

require a deduction from the wage of _____ (employee)to pay a 

contribution from the employing unit. 
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NATURAL RESOURCES ARTICLE 

 

NOTE: NATURAL RESOURCE OFFENSES ARE 

TYPICALLY CHARGED WITHOUT USING CJIS 

CODES.  HOWEVER, BELOW ARE EXCEPTIONS. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

434. 
 

DRUNKEN BOATING 

 Operating Vessel Under Influence of Alcohol, 

Drugs, Etc. 

  NR 8-738(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

SECOND OFFENSE 

$2,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

THIRD OR SUBSEQUENT 

OFFENSE 

$3,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*6_8000* **OP. VESSEL/UNDER INFLUENCE** 

 ...unlawfully [did/did attempt to] operate a vessel, to wit: 

_____, while under the influence of alcohol. 
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  NR 8-738(a)(2)(3),(4) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 2 MONTHS 

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*6_8050* **OP. VESSEL/DWI, CDS, ETC.** 

 ...unlawfully [did/did attempt to] operate a vessel, to wit: _____ 

while [impaired by alcohol/impaired by a Controlled Dangerous 

Substance of Schedule ______, to wit: ______/impaired by a 

combination of alcohol and drugs, to wit: ______/ impaired by 

a combination of drugs, to wit: ______]. 

NOTE: Under the "combination" choices in the above charge, it 

is not necessary that the drugs be illegal. If the drugs are illegal 

controlled dangerous substances, they should be identified by 

name and schedule. If they are legal prescription drugs which, 

taken in combination with other drugs or alcohol rendered the 

defendant unsafe to operate a vessel, they should be identified 

by name. It is not a defense to this statute that the drug or drugs 

were legally prescribed unless the defendant was unaware that 

the drug or combination would make him or her incapable of 

safely operating a vessel. If the defendant alleges that he or she 

was unaware of this, you should not take this into account in 

establishing probable cause, as this is an affirmative defense 

which must be established at trial. 
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PUBLIC SAFETY ARTICLE 

  

  PS 3-502(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$2,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_1769* **IMPERSONATE POLICE OFFICER** 

 ...did falsely represent himself as being a ____ (see note) with 

fraudulent design upon the [person of/property of] ______. 

NOTE: Statute includes false representation as a member of the 

police force of the United States, a special police officer, 

sheriff, deputy sheriff, police officer, or constable, or a member 

of the police or sheriff's departments of this or any state, or any 

county or municipal corporation of this or any state, or as a 

member of any such agency.  This includes WMATA Metro 

Transit Police. 

 

  

  PS 3-502(c) 

MISDEAMEANOR 

$2,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0604* **IMPERSONATION: UU/UNIFORM** 

 ...did without the authority of ____ [Chief of Police of 

_____/Secretary of State Police/Police Commissioner of 

Baltimore City/Sheriff/Deputy Sheriff/constable/US Secret 

Service/US Park Police/WMATA Metro Transit 

Police/DEA/____, a federal agency], [have/use/wear/display] a 

[uniform/shield/button/badge/identification/shoulder patch], as 

is worn by a [police officer/sheriff/deputy sheriff/constable]. 

NOTE: Statute includes any official insignia or emblem of any 

police, sheriff, federal agency, investigative service or 

enforcement agency, sheriff, deputy sheriff, or constable’s 

agency of this or any State, county, or municipality. 
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 Surveillance 

  PS 3-503 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*2_5120* **UNREGISTERED SURVEILLANCE** 

 ...did, within 6 months of having lost [his/her] 

[registration/right to register], unlawfully conduct surveillance 

[at ____ (location) /upon _____ (subject)] unlawfully within the 

ensuing six months. 

NOTE: Section applies to agents of or from any other State or 

the District of Columbia. For probable cause to be found, facts 

must show defendant has a record with the local police or 

sheriff's department, or the State Police, of conducting a 

previous unregistered surveillance within the six months 

preceding the date of the offense. 

 

 Pistol & Revolver Dealer's License 

  PS 5-106 

PENALTY SEC. 5-144 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_5210* **REG FIREARM: SALE W/O LICENSE** 

 …did engage in the business of [selling/renting/transferring]  

regulated firearms, without lawfully possessing a dealer's 

license issued by _______ (the Secretary of the Maryland State 

Police or his duly authorized agent). 

NOTE: Each day on which a regulated firearm is unlawfully 

sold or offered for sale shall be considered a separate offense. 
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 Improper sale by dealer or person 

  PS 5-123 

PENALTY SEC. 5-144 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_5230* **FIREARM/SALE/DEALER** 

 ...did, being a regulated firearms dealer,[sell/rent/transfer] a 

regulated firearm, to wit: ____ (describe), to _____ (name), 

before the expiration of seven days from the time an application 

to purchase and transfer had been executed by the prospective 

purchaser and transferee, and the original copy forwarded by 

the prospective seller and transferor to the Secretary of the State 

Police. 

 

 

 

 

 

  PS 5-124(a) 

PENALTY SEC. 5-144 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_5240* **FIREARM/SALE/PERSON** 

 ...did [sell/rent/purchase/transfer] a regulated firearm, to wit: 

_____ (describe), to _____ (name), before the expiration of 

seven days from the time an application to purchase and 

transfer had been executed by the prospective purchaser and 

transferee, and the original copy forwarded by the prospective 

seller and transferor to a regulated firearms dealer and a 

designated law enforcement agency, for forwarding to the 

Secretary of the State Police. 
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  PS 5-125(b) 

PENALTY SEC. 5-144 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_5250* **FIREARM/SALE/APPLICATION** 

 ...did [sell/rent/transfer] a regulated firearm, to wit: _____ 

(describe), to _____ (name), an applicant whose application has 

been placed on hold because of an open disposition of criminal 

proceedings against the applicant and disapproved. 

 

 

 More than one purchase of regulated firearm 

within 30 days. 

  PS 5-128(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1104* **MULTIPLE PURCH/30 DAYS** 

 ...did purchase more than one regulated firearm in a 30-day 

period, to wit: ______ (describe both firearms purchased). 

 

 

  

  PS 5-132(c)(2) 

PENALTY SEC. 5-144 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_2020* **SELL HANDGUN W/O LOCK** 

 ...did [sell/offer for sale/rent/transfer] a handgun manufactured 

on or before December 31, 2002 not equipped with an external 

safety lock. 

NOTE: Beginning on January 1, 2003, a dealer may not sell, 

offer for sale, rent, or transfer a handgun manufactured AFTER 

December 31, 2002 unless it has an integrated mechanical 

safety device. 
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  PS 5-133(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1106* **REG FIREARM: ILLEGAL POSS** 

...did knowingly possess a regulated firearm [after being/being/being a person] 

___________(select from list below.) 
1.  convicted of a disqualifying crime to wit: _____ (charge), a violation classified as [a 

felony in the state/a misdemeanor in the state that carries a statutory penalty of more 

than 2 years]; 

2. convicted of a violation classified as a common law crime and received a term of 

imprisonment of more than 2 years; 

3. on supervised probation(not pbj) after being convicted: 

 (i) of a crime punishable by imprisonment for 1 year or more; 

(ii) for a violation of TA 21-902(b) or (c). 

(ii)  for violating a protective order un FL 4-509 

(i)convicted on or after 10/1/2023 of a 2nd or subsequent violation of CR 4-104; or     

(ii)convicted on or after 10/1/2023 of a violation of CR 4-104 if the violation resulted 

in the use of a loaded firearm by a minor caused the death or serious bodily injury to 

the minor or another person. 

4. a fugitive from justice; 

5. a habitual drunkard; 

6. addicted to any cds or is a habitual user; 

7. who suffers from a mental disorder as defined in HG 10-101(f)(2) and has a history 

of violent behavior against the person or another; 

8 .  who has been found incompent to stand trial under CP 3-106; 

9. that has been found not criminally responsible under CP 3-110 

10. that has been voluntarily admitted for more than 30 consecutive days to a facility as 

defined in HG 10-101; 

11.  that has been involuntarily committed to a facility as defined in HG 10-101. 

12. who is under the protection of a guardian appointed by a court under ET 13-201(c) 

or ET 13-705, except for cases in which the appointment of a guardian is solely a result 

of a physical disability. 

13.  who is a respondent against whom a: 

i. a current non exparte civil protective order has been entered under FL 4-506; or 

ii. an order for protection, as defined in FL 4-508.1, has been issued by a court of 

another state or a Native American tribe and in effect; 

14. if under the age of 30 years at the time of possession, has been adjudicated 

delinquent by a juvenile court for an act that would be a disqualifying crime if 

committed by an adult. 

NOTE:  Penalty PS 5-144 

NOTE:  DO NOT use this charge if prior conviction is a crime of violence under PS 5-

101(c), a crime listed under CR 5-602 – CR 5-605, or a crime listed under CR 5-612 – 

CR 5-614. 

NOTE:  See PS 5-133(e), (f), and (g) for exceptions. 

NOTE: “convicted of a disqualifying crime” does not include a PBJ for assault in the 

second degree, unless the crime was domestically related under CP 6-233. See PS 5-

101 for definitions. 
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  PS 5-133(c) 

FELONY 

15 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1609* **FIREARM-POSS-CRIM VIO/FEL CONV** 

 ...did possess a regulated firearm after having been convicted 

of: ___________. (choose from below) 

1. a crime of violence as defined in PS 5-101(c); 

2. a crime of violence as defined in CR 14-101; 

3. a violation of [5-602/5-603/5-604/5-605/5-612/5-613/5-

614/5-621/5-622] of the Criminal Law Article]; or 

4. _______(describe offense), an offense under the laws of  

[______(state)/the United States] that would constitute a 

[crime/crime of violence] under ________(cite statute from 

options above), if committed in this state. 

NOTE: A person convicted of this charge is subject to a 

mandatory minimum sentence of 5 years, of which any part 

may not be suspended.  Except as noted in CS 4-305, the 

defendant is not eligible for parole during the mandatory 

minimum sentence.  See CR 5-133(c)(3) for court discretion of 

mandatory minimum sentence and required State’s Attorney 

notification. Each violation shall be considered a separate 

offense. 

NOTE: See PS 5-133(e) and (f) for exceptions 

 

  PS 5-133(d) 

PENALTY SEC. 5-144 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_5285* **POSS OF FIREARM/MINOR** 

 ...did, being under 21 years of age, possess a regulated firearm 

to wit _____. 

NOTE: See PS 5-133(d)(2) for exceptions. 
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  PS 5-133.1 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1285* **ILLGL POSS AMMO ** 

 ...did possess ammunition, being prohibited from possessing a 

regulated firearm under [PS 5-133(b)/PS 5-133(c )]. 

NOTE: Ammunition means a cartridge, shell, or any other 

device containing explosive or incendiary material designed 

and intended for use in a firearm.. 
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 Restrictions on Sale, Transfer and Possession of 

Regulated Firearms 

  PS 5-134(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 – 5 YEARS 

*1_1105* **REG FIREARM-ILLEGL SALE/TRAN** 

 ...did [sell/rent/loan/transfer] a regulated firearm to wit: ____ 

(describe) to ____ (name) [knowing/having reasonable cause to 

believe] that the said person [had been convicted of a crime of 

violence/had been convicted of a violation classified as a felony 

in this state or any conspiracy to commit any crimes established 

by those sections/any violation classified as a misdemeanor in 

this state that carries a statutory penalty of more than two 

years/had been convicted of any violation as a common law 

offense where the person received a term of imprisonment of 

more than two years/is a fugitive from justice/is a habitual 

drunkard/is addicted to and is an habitual user of any controlled 

dangerous substance/was visibly under the influence of alcohol 

and drugs/was under 21 years of age and not authorized to 

possess a regulated firearm under PS 5-133(d)/was a participant 

in a "straw purchase" as defined in Section 5-136 of this 

article/is a participant in a "straw purchase as defined in Section 

5-136 of this article/is a respondent against whom a current non 

ex parte civil protective order has been entered under Section 4-

506 of the Family Law Article/is less than 30 years of age at the 

time of the transaction and has been adjudicated delinquent by a 

juvenile court for committing a crime of violence/is less than 30 

years of age at the time of the transaction and has been 

adjudicated delinquent by a juvenile court for committing any 

violation classified as a felony in this state / is less than 30 

years of age at the time of the transaction and has been 

adjudicated delinquent by a juvenile court for committing any 

violation classified as a misdemeanor in this state that carries a 

statutory penalty of more than 2 years / subject to subsection (c-

2) of this section, for a transaction under this subsection that is 

made on or after January 2002 has not completed a certified 

firearms safety training course/intended to use the regulated 

firearm to commit a crime/intended to use the regulated firearm 

to cause harm to another person]. 
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 PS 5-134(d)(1)(i) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_5270* **AMMO/SALE TO MINOR** 

 ...did [sell/rent/transfer] ammunition solely designed for a 

regulated firearm to a person under 21 years of age. 

 

  PS 5-134(d)(3)(4) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_5280* **SALE TO MINOR/DW/ETC** 

 ...did sell, rent, and transfer [a firearm other than a regulated 

firearm/ammunition for a firearm/a deadly weapon], to wit: 

_____[describe], to _____(name), under the 21 years of age. 

  

  PS 5-136(b) 

PENALTY SEC. 5-141 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 25 YEARS 

*1_5220* **STRAW PURCHASE** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully participate in a straw purchase of 

a regulated firearm, to wit: ______ (describe firearm). 

 

  PS 5-138 

PENALTY SEC. 5-144 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_2801* **REG FIREARM: STOLEN/SELL ETC.** 

 ...did [possess/sell/transfer/dispose of] a regulated firearm, to 

wit: _______ (state type of firearm) [knowing/having 

reasonable cause to believe] the same to have been stolen. 

NOTE:  This subtitle, does not include any antique or 

unserviceable firearms sold or transferred and/or held as curios 

or museum pieces. 
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  PS 5-139(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_5210* **REG FIREARM: FALSE APP/PURCH** 

 ...did knowingly give false information, and make a material 

misstatement on an application dated ______ to purchase, rent 

and transfer a regulated firearm. 

  PS 5-140 

MISDEMEANOR 

$25,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_5295* **TRANS REG FIREARM/SALE/TRAF** 

 ...did transport regulated firearms into this state for the purpose 

of illegal sale or trafficking of regulated firearms. 

 

  PS 5-141 

MISDEMEANOR 

$25,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_5290* **STRAW PUR TO MINOR/PROHIB** 

 ...did knowingly participate in a straw purchase of a regulated 

firearm for ___ (name), a [minor/prohibited person]. 

  PS 5-144(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00-5 YEARS 

(Each violation is a separate 

crime.) 

*1_0642* **REG FIREARM - UNLAWFUL SALE/TRANS** 

 …did knowingly participate in the illegal 

[sale/rental/transfer/purchase/possession/receipt] of a regulated 

firearm. 

  PS 5-144(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1612* **KNOW ALTER FIREARM ID NUMBER** 

 … did knowingly [obliterate/remove/change/alter] the 

manufacturer’s identification [mark/number] on a firearm, to 

wit: _____, (state type of firearm). 
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  PS 5-203(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_5212* **RIFLE/SHOTGUN: UNREGISTERED** 

 ...did possess a short-barrelled [rifle/shotgun]. 

NOTE: A short-barrelled rifle is one having one or more 

barrels less than 16 inches in length or any rifle with an overall 

length of less than 26 inches. A short-barrelled shotgun has one 

or more barrels less than 18 inches in length or any shotgun 

with an overall length of less than 26 inches. If either the barrel 

length, or the overall length, or both are less than the minimums 

stated, the weapon falls under CR 4-201. 

NOTE: Rifle means a weapon designed or redesigned made or 

remade and intended to be fired from the shoulder and to use 

the energy of the explosive in a fixed metallic cartridge to fire 

only a single projectile through a rifle bore for each single pull 

of the trigger. 

Shotgun means a weapon designed or redesigned, made or 

remade and intended to be fired from the shoulder and to use 

the energy of the explosive in a fixed shotgun shell to fire 

through a smooth bore either a number of ball shot or a single 

projectile for each single pull of the trigger. 

NOTE: Possession allowed if registered with U.S. Government 

in accordance with U.S. Statutes. 

EXCEPTIONS - WHILE ON OFFICIAL BUSINESS: Law 

enforcement personnel of the U.S., this State or any political 

subdivision; means of armed forces of U.S. or National Guard 

while on duty or travelling to or from duty; law enforcement 

personnel of another state or political subdivision, while 

temporarily in this State; jailer, prison guard, warden, or guard 

or keeper of any penal, correctional, or detention institution in 

this State; sheriff and temporary or full time deputy sheriff. 

  PS 5-204(f)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 – 6 MONTHS 

*1_0991* ** RIFLE/SHOTGUN SALE/TRANSFER VIOLATION** 

 … did [sell/rent/transfer] a [rifle/shotgun] in violation of a 

provision under PS 5-204.1, to wit: _____(describe violation). 

  PS 5-204(f)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$5,000.00 – 3 YEARS 

*1_0992* ** RIFLE/SHOTGUN SALE/TRANSFER FALSE INFO** 

 … did provide false information, to wit: ____(describe), while 

conducting a [sale/rental/transfer] of a [rifle/shotgun] under PS 

5-204.1. 
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  PS 5-205(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 – 3 YEARS 

*1_0439* **RFL/SHOTGN POSS-DISQUALIFTN** 

 ...did possess a [rifle/shotgun] [after being/being/being a 

person]  __________ (choose from list below). 

1.  convicted of a disqualifying crime to wit: _____ (charge), a 

violation classified as [a felony in the state/a misdemeanor in 

the state that carries a statutory penalty of more than 2 years]; 

2. convicted of a violation classified as a common law crime 

and received a term of imprisonment of more than 2 years; 

3. a fugitive from justice; 

4. a habitual drunkard; 

5. addicted to any controlled dangerous substance or is a 

habitual user; 

6. who suffers from a mental disorder as defined in HG 10-

101(f)(2) and has a history of violent behavior against the 

person or another; 

7.  who has been found incompent to stand trial under CP 3-

106; 

8. that has been found not criminally responsible under CP 3-

110 

9. that has been voluntarily admitted for more than 30 

consecutive days to a facility as defined in HG 10-101; 

10. that has been involuntarily committed to a facility as 

defined in HG 10-101. 

11. who is under the protection of a guardian appointed by a 

court under ET 13-201(c) or ET 13-705, except for cases in 

which the appointment of a guardian is solely a result of a 

physical disability. 

12.  who is a respondent against whom a: 

i. a current non exparte civil protective order has been 

entered under FL 4-506; or 

ii. an order for protection, as defined in FL 4-508.1, has 

been issued by a court of another state or a Native 

American tribe and in effect; 

13.  if under the age of 30 years at the time of possession, has 

been adjudicated delinquent by a juvenile court for an act that 

would be a disqualifying crime if committed by an adult. 

NOTE:  DO NOT use this charge if prior conviction is a crime 

of violence, a crime listed under CR 5-602 – CR 5-605, or a 

crime listed under CR 5-612 – CR 5-614. 

NOTE:  See PS 5-205 (c ) for exceptions.  
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  PS 5-206 

FELONY 

15 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1610* **RIFLE/SHOTGUN-POSS W/FEL CONV** 

 ...did possess a [rifle/shotgun] after having been convicted of: 

___________. (choose from below) 

1. a crime of violence as defined in PS 5-101(c); 

2. a violation of [5-602/5-603/5-604/5-605/5-612/5-613/5-614] 

of the Criminal Law Article; or 

3. _______(describe offense), an offense under the laws of  

[______(state)/the United States] that would constitute a 

[crime/crime of violence] under ________(cite statute from 

options above), if committed in this state. 
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  PS 5-207(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 – 5 YEARS 

*1_0993* ** RIFLE/SHOTGUN SALE/TRANS TO DISQUAL IND** 

 … did as a [licensee/ ____(describe other person], 

[sell/rent/transfer/loan] a [rifle/shotgun] to  ____(name), the 

[purchaser/lessee/transferee/recipient], and [should have 

known/had reasonable cause to believe] that said 

[purchaser/lessee/transferee/recipient] [was/was a person] 

________(choose from below) 

 

1.  convicted of a disqualifying crime to wit: _____ (charge), a 

violation classified as [a felony in the state/a misdemeanor in 

the state that carries a statutory penalty of more than 2 years]; 

2. convicted of a violation classified as a common law crime 

and received a term of imprisonment of more than 2 years; 

3. a fugitive from justice; 

4. a habitual drunkard; 

5. addicted to any controlled dangerous substance or is a 

habitual user; 

6. who sufferered from a mental disorder as defined in HG 10-

101(f)(2) and has a history of violent behavior against the 

person or another; 

7.  who had been found incompent to stand trial under CP 3-

106; 

8. that was found not criminally responsible under CP 3-110 

9. that was voluntarily admitted for more than 30 consecutive 

days to a facility as defined in HG 10-101; 

10. that was involuntarily committed to a facility as defined in 

HG 10-101. 

11. who was under the protection of a guardian appointed by a 

court under ET 13-201(c) or ET 13-705, except for cases in 

which the appointment of a guardian is solely a result of a 

physical disability. 

12.  who was a respondent against whom a: 

i. a current non exparte civil protective order had been 

entered under FL 4-506; or 

ii. an order for protection, as defined in FL 4-508.1, had 

been issued by a court of another state or a Native 

American tribe and was in effect; 

13.  if under the age of 30 years at the time of possession, had 

been adjudicated delinquent by a juvenile court for an act that 

would be a disqualifying crime if committed by an adult; 

14.  visibly under the influence  of alcohol or drugs; 

15. a participant in a straw purchase; or 

16. intended to use the rifle or shotgun to: 

  i.  commit a crime; or 

  ii. cause harm to ____(another person) 
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  PS 5-406 

MISDEMEANOR 

PENALTY: 

Manuf. For Dist/Sale 

$10,000.00 

*1_0575* **DIS/SAL HANDGUN OFF ROSTER** 

 ...did manufacture for [distribution/sale] a handgun not included 

on the handgun roster in this State, to wit:______(described). 

  PS 5-406 

MISDEMEANOR 

PENALTY: 

Selling/Offer for Sale 

$2,500.00 

*1_0576* **SAL HNDGUN NO ROSTER MFG 85** 

 ...did [sell/offer for sale] a handgun manufactured after January 

1985 that is not on the handgun roster in the State, to wit: 

_________(describe). 

 
 PS 5-610 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

SUB. OFFENSE 

$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

(No CP Title 5 Release 

Restriction) 

*1_1446* **VIOLATE EXTREME PROT ORDER** 

 ...did fail to comply with the provisions of  [an interim/a 

temporary/a final] extreme protective order dated ______, 

issued under Title 5, Subtitle 6 of the Public Safety Article by  

_______________ (choose ONE violation from list below. 

Additional violations may be added using the word “and” if 

violations occurred during same event.) 

1. failing to surrender to law enforcement authorities [a 

firearm/ammunition] in [his/her] possession. 

2. [purchasing/possessing] [a firearm/ammunition] during 

the duration of the Extreme Risk Protective order. 

NOTE: An officer shall arrest with or without a warrant and 

take into custody a person whom the officer has probable cause 

to believe is in violation of a protective order in effect at the 

time of the violation. 

NOTE:  If the court is closed on the day an  interim order is set 

to expire, the order shall be effective until the next day on 

which the court is open.  For temporary orders, it is effective 

until the second day on which the Court is open. 
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  PS 5-703 (a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1685* **TRANSFR FIREARM/FRAME W/O SERIAL#** 

 … did unlawfully  [purchase/receive/sell/offer to sell/transfer] [a/an]  

[firearm/unfinished frame/unfinished receiver] without a serial number. 

NOTE: See section for exceptions. Each violation is a separate crime. 
 

  PS 5-703(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$10,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_1686* **POSS FIREARM W/O SERIAL#** 

 … did unlawfully possess a firearm without required serial number or 

approved marking by the Secretary of State Police. 

NOTE: See section for exceptions. Each violation is a separate crime. 

 

  PS 6-602(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

3 YEARS 

*2_0249* **OBSTRUCT FIRE MARSH INVEST** 

 
 

 

 

 

...did willfully [interfere with/obstruct] the [State Fire Marshal/a 

Deputy State Fire Marshal/a Special Assistant State Fire Marshal/a 

Special Deputy Fire Marshal] to wit: ______ (name), in the course of 

[conducting an inspection/investigating a fire/explosion]. 

 

  PS 6-602(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

3 YEARS 

*4_5398* **PERSONATN MD FIRE OFFICIAL** 

 ...did falsely represent himself as being a [State Fire Marshal/sworn 

employee of the office of the State Fire Marshal] with fraudulent 

design on the [person/property] of __________. 

  PS 7-402(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 

3 YEARS 

*4_5399* **OBSTRUCT FIREFIGHTERS ETC.** 

 ...did willfully [interfere with/obstruct] the [State Fire Marshal/a 

Deputy State Fire Marshal/a Special Assistant State Fire Marshal/a 

Special Deputy State Fire Marshal/fire fighter/rescue squad 

member/emergency services personnel], to wit: ________ (name), 

who was [fighting a fire/performing emergency services/proceeding 

to [a fire/an emergency]]. 
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  PS 7-402(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

3 YEARS 

*1_0165* **PERS: MEMBER EMERG SQUAD** 

 ...did falsely represent himself as a member of a [paid/volunteer] 

[fire department/rescue squad/emergency service unit] of ______ 

[state/county/city/municipal corporation] with fraudulent design on 

the [person/property] of __________. 

  PS 7-402(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 

3 YEARS 

*4_5397* **PERSONATION-U/U UNIFORM** 

 ...did have, wear, use and display without proper authority, for the 

purpose of deception, [an authentic/a simulated/an imitation] 

[uniform/shield/button/ornament/identification/shoulder patch] 

adopted by [the Office of the State Fire Marshal/a [paid/volunteer] 

[fire department/rescue squad/emergency service unit]. 

  PS 10-104(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$250.00 EACH OFFENSE 

*1_0016* **FIREWORKS DISCHARGE W/O PERMIT** 

 ...did discharge fireworks without required permit. 

  PS 10-104(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 

PENALTY SEC. 10-111 

$250.00 EACH OFFENSE 

*1_0021* **FIREWORKS POSS. W/O PERMIT** 

 ...did possess [with intent to discharge/with intent to permit the 

discharge of/for the purpose of disposal/for the purpose of sale to 

persons] fireworks, without the required permit. 
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  PS 10-110(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 

PENALTY SEC. 10-111 

$1,000.00 EACH OFFENSE 

*1_0029* **FIREWORKS: SALE W/O PERMIT** 

 ...did sell fireworks to ______ without the required permit. 

NOTE: Section does not apply to sale by a manufacturer 

licensed by the State Fire Marshal to certain distributors, etc. 

NOTE: Refer to PS 10-101 for definition of of fireworks. 

 

 

 

  PS 10-112 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 

*1_1097* **SPARKLERS - SALE** 

 ...did sell [sparklers/sparkling devices (name)], to a person 

under the age of 16 years. 

 

 

  

  PS 10-113(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1098* **SPARKLERS-MANUFACTURE** 

 ...did fail to register as a [distributor/wholesaler] of 

[sparklers/sparkling devices] who [conducts business in/sells, 

ships and assigns] in the State of Maryland. 
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REAL PROPERTY ARTICLE 

 Fee/Other Consideration Obtaining Settlement, etc. 

  RP 14-127 

MISDEMEANOR 

$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_7099* **REAL EST.-ILL SETTLMNT FEE** 

 …did  having a connection with the settlement of real estate 

transactions involving Maryland land, [pay to/receive from] 

____ (name) _____ (consideration) for the purpose of 

[arranging a real estate 

settlement/soliciting/obtaining/retaining] real estate settlement 

business] involving Maryland land 

Note: A "consideration" includes: 

1. A fee; 

2. Compensation; 

3. A gift 

4. A thing of value 

5. A rebate 

6. A loan; or 

7 An advancement or a commission or deposit money 

 

Effe
cti

ve
 10

/01
/20

23



 

Rev. 10/01/2023 

455. 

 

TRANSPORTATION ARTICLE 

 Firearms or Explosives Aboard Aircraft 

  TR 5-1008 

FELONY 

10 YEARS 

PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_5203* **FIREARM EXPLSIV ON AIRCRFT** 

 ...did have on and about his person a [firearm/explosive], to wit: 

______, while [aboard/boarding/attempting to board] an aircraft 

engaged in certified air commerce services, without being 

specifically authorized to do so by State or Federal law. 

 

NON-BARCODED CHARGES 

THE FOLLOWING CHARGES ARE MUST APPEAR VIOLATIONS.  NO CJIS CODES ARE 

ASSIGNED AS THIS IS A CITATION EVENT. 

 Possession of Motor Vehicle Master Key 

  TR 14-103 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

  

 ...did unlawfully have in his possession a motor vehicle master 

key adapted for and capable of opening and operating any 

motor vehicle in the State. 
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 Vehicle With Incorrect Odometer 

  TR 18-104 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

  

 ...did, with intent to defraud, rent to _____ a motor vehicle, to 

wit: ______, knowing that the odometer did not correctly 

record actual mileage accumulated. 

 

...did rent to _____, a motor vehicle and did deceive said person 

as to the distance actually traveled during the rental period. 

 

 Persons Under Influence of Alcohol or Drugs 

  TR 18-105 

MISDEMEANOR 

$520.00 

  

 ...did rent a motor vehicle to _____, knowing the said person 

was under the influence of alcohol and drugs at the time of the 

transaction. 

 

 Unauthorized Use of Rented Motor Vehicle 

  TR 18-106 

MISDEMEANOR 

$500.00 - 2 MONTHS 

  

 ...did, as a lessee, knowingly permit a person to operate a rented 

motor vehicle, having agreed not to permit any other person to 

operate that vehicle and without having the consent of the 

lessor or his agent. 
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 Alcoholic Beverages - Consumption 

  TR 21-903 

MISDEMEANOR 

$520.00 

  

 ...did consume an alcoholic beverage while driving a motor 

vehicle on a highway of this State. 
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