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COMMON LAW 

  MISDEMEANOR 
ANY SENTENCE THAT IS 
NOT CRUEL OR 
UNUSUAL PUNISHMENT 

*1_0042* **AFFRAY ** 

 
… did willfully engage in a fight with ________(name) in a 
public place to the disturbance of others in violation of the 
common law. 

 
 
 
  MISDEMEANOR 

ANY SENTENCE THAT IS 
NOT CRUEL OR 
UNUSUAL PUNISHMENT 

*1_0042* **FALSE IMPRISONMENT** 

 
...did unlawfully and intentionally detain _____ (victim), in 
violation of the common law. 

 

  

  MISDEMEANOR 
ANY SENTENANCE THAT 
IS NOT CRUEL OR 
UNUSUAL PUNISHMENT 

*1_0043* **OBSTRUCTING & HINDERING" 

 
…did intentionally and knowingly obstruct and hinder a police 
officer, ___ (victim), in the performance of [his/her] lawful 
duties, in violation of the common law. 
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  MISDEMEANOR 
ANY SENTENCE THAT IS 
NOT CRUEL OR 
UNUSUAL PUNISHMENT 

*3_1314* **RIOT** 

 
...on or about (date) ________ at (location) in __________ 
county, Maryland, did, together with at least two other persons, 
whose identities are unknown, unlawfully assemble to carryout 
a common purpose in such violent or turbulent manner as to 
terrify others, in violation of the common law of the State of 
Maryland, and against the peace, government, and dignity of 
the State. 

 

 

ARTICLE 2B - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

 Mfgr., Etc., Have No Interest in Retail 
Establishment, Etc. 

  2B 12-104 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*2_4100* **ALC BEV ILLGL FINANCL INTR** 

 
...did unlawfully have a financial interest in _______, a retail 
alcoholic establishment, while being [the holder/the agent of the 
holder] of a [manufacturer's/wholesaler's] liquor license [a 
distiller / a non-resident dealer/ a brewer/a blender/ a bottler] of 
alcoholic beverages]. 
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  2B 12-104 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*3_4100* **ALC BEV ILL LOAN MONEY ETC** 

 
...did unlawfully lend [$_______ (money)/______(other thing 
of value)] to __________, a retail alcohol dealer, while being 
[the holder/the agent of the holder] of a 
[manufacturer's/wholesaler's] liquor license [a distiller / a non-
resident dealer/ a brewer/a blender/ a bottler] of alcoholic 
beverages]. 

 

  

  2B 12-104 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*3_4110* **ALCH BEV: ILLEGAL SIGN** 

 
...did unlawfully furnish a sign, display, and advertisement 
exceeding $50.00 in value, to ______, a retail liquor 
establishment while being a [brewer/wholesaler] of beer and 
malt beverage products. 

 

  

  2B 12-104 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*4_4100* **ALCOHOL BEVE-ILL GIFT ETC** 

 
...did unlawfully make a gratuity and a gift to ______, a retailer 
alcohol dealer, while being [the holder/the agent of the holder] 
of a [manufacturer's/wholesaler's] liquor license [a distiller / a 
non-resident dealer/ a brewer/a blender/ a bottler] of alcoholic 
beverages]. 
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  2B 16-505.1(b)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$1,000.00 

*1_0798* **USE AWOL MACHINE** 

 
… did use an AWOL machine to [inhale alcohol 
vapor/introduce alcohol into the body]. 

 

  

  2B 16-505.1(b)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$1,000.00 

*1_0799* **POSSESS/USE AWOL MACHINE** 

 
… did, with the intent to introduce alcohol into the body 
[possess/purchase/transfer/offer for sale or use] an AWOL 
machine. 

 

 

  

  2B 16-506 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0347* **ALC BEV TAX STAMPS FORGE** 

 
...did unlawfully counterfeit and forge the [tax 
stamps/certificates] required for alcoholic beverages by State 
law. 
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  2B 16-506 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0348* **ALC BEV: TAXES EVADE** 

 
...did unlawfully evade and participate in the evasion of the 
payment of alcohol taxes required by State law. 

 

  

  2B 16-506 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*6_4100* **ALC BEV/TAX UNPAID: EVASN** 

 
...did knowingly and willfully [possess/transport/sell/offer for 
sale/permit to be kept on his premises] alcoholic beverages, to 
wit: ______, on which Maryland taxes had not been paid. 

 

 Prohibited Acts, etc. 

  2B 19-101 
PENALTY SEC. 19-102 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0349* **ALC BEV./RETAIL AREA DRINK** 

 
...[was intoxicated/did consume alcoholic beverages] [in/at] 
______, a public place, and did cause a public disturbance  
[therein/thereat]. 
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DISORDERLY INTOXICATION 

  

  2B 19-101 
PENALTY SEC. 19-102 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_4200* **ALC. BEV./INTOX: ENDANGER** 

 
...was intoxicated and did endanger [the safety of ______/the 
property of ______]. 

Note: This section refers to the safety of another. 

 

  

  2B 19-202 
PENALTY SEC. 19-204 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 

*1_0350* **ALC BEV./RETAIL AREA DRINK** 

 
...did consume alcoholic beverages on the [mall/adjacent 
parking lot/grounds] of _____, a retail establishment, without 
the authorization of the owner thereof. 
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  2B 19-202 
PENALTY SEC. 19-204 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 

*1_0351* **ALC BEV/VEH PUB PROP DRINK** 

 
...did consume alcoholic beverages in a vehicle parked on 
public property, to wit: ______, without the authorization of the 
entity having jurisdiction thereover. 

SEE NOTE 1. 

 

  

  2B 19-202 
PENALTY SEC. 19-204 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 

*1_0352* **ALC BEV RETL EST DRINK** 

 
...did consume alcoholic beverages in a vehicle parked on the 
[parking lot/grounds] of _____, a retail establishment, without 
the authorization of the owner thereof. 

NOTE 2: For purposes of this section, a retail establishment is 
defined as a shopping center to which the general public is 
invited. 

This section does not apply if the passengers of the vehicle are 
in the living quarters of a mobile home with central heating and 
toilets, or to passengers in transit via a chartered bus, if the 
owner of the bus consents. 

Check the statute and public local laws for additional provisions 
relevant to this subject which might apply to your locality. 
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DRINKING IN CERTAIN PLACES 

 Places Prohibited 

  2B 19-202 
PENALTY SEC. 19-204 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 

*7_4100* **ALC BEV/PROHIB PLACE DRINK** 

 
...did unlawfully consume an alcoholic beverage on public 
property, to wit: ______ (location and description, see note) 
without authorization from _____, the governmental agency 
having jurisdiction over said property. 

NOTE 1: In description of location for this charge, give address 
or location, and give the nature of the Public property. Public 
property includes buildings, grounds, parks, streets, highways, 
alleys, sidewalks, stations, terminals, roadways, and parking 
areas on land owned, leased, or operated by the State, a County, 
a municipality or other local subdivision, or any governmental 
agency. In order for probable cause to be found, there must be 
some factual indication that the property was public property. 

 

 Alcohol - Open Container 

  2B 19-301 
PENALTY SEC. 19-302 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 

*1_0353* **ALC BEV OPEN CONT RETL EST** 

 
...did possess in an open container an alcoholic beverage while 
in a parked vehicle on the [parking lot/grounds] of _____, a 
retail establishment, without the authorization of the owner of 
said establishment. 

NOTE: This section applies only in Caroline, Carroll, Harford,  
Montgomery, Prince George, and Wicomico Counties. 
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  2B 19-301 
PENALTY SEC. 19-302 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 

*8_0000* **ALC BEV/OPEN CONT/RETL EST** 

 
...did possess in an open container an alcoholic beverage while 
on [mall/adjacement parking area/ground] of _____. a privately 
owned retail establishment, without the authorization of the 
owner of said establishment. 

 

FRAUD 

  

  2B 22-101 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0024* **BEER/FAKE MKE/SELL AS REAL** 

 
...did [manufacture, sell and offer for sale/permit another to sell 
and offer for sale] a _____ (type of drink) not having been 
brewed and fermented as such. 

 

 Beer-Mrg. or Sale, Etc. 

  2B 22-101 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0211* **BEER/COLORED SELL AS OTHER** 

 
...did [offer for sale/sell/permit to sell] beer, to which coloring 
matter and porterine had been added, representing the same by 
other than its proper name. 
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AGRICULTURE ARTICLE 

 Opening Gate of Another's Pasture, etc. 

  AG 3-701 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_2900* **MAL/DEST-OPEN FIELD GATE** 

 
...did wilfully and maliciously open the gate of a 
[field/pasture/enclosure] enclosing ______ (describe livestock) 
and belonging to ______ (owner/lessee, etc.). 
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BUSINESS OCCUPATIONS & 
PROFESSIONS ARTICLE 

 Lawyers - Written Solicitation of Clients 

  BOP 10-605.1 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_0500* **ATTY SOLICIT CIVIL CASE** 

 
______, a lawyer, did, within 30 days after the incident giving 
rise thereto, send a communication to ______, the victim and 
relative of the victim, concerning an action for personal injury 
and wrongful death and otherwise related to an accident or 
disaster involving the said victim, for the purpose of obtaining 
professional employment. 

NOTE: The 1998 Legislature, recognizing the new, hi-tech 
methods of communication, struck the word "written," and 
listed the types of "communication" for which this statute is 
applicable. They include: Audio recording, computer on-line 
transmission, facsimile transmission, letter, or other form of 
written communication, telegraphic, telephone, and video 
recording. At the same time, they made the law applicable only 
to civil cases and struck the section involving solicitation in 
criminal cases. 

NOTE:  See section for time requirements. 
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BUSINESS REGULATIONS ARTICLE 

  BR 5-610(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_0980* **CEMETERY ESTABLISH/OP SALE PROP ** 

 
… did [establish/operate/allow the operation of] a cemetery as 
[a sole proprietor registered cemeterian/a permit holder/a 
person subject to the (permit/registration) in violation of the 
requirements of the Business Regulation Article]. 

NOTE: Cemetery defined in BR-602. 

NOTE: Second violation: $10,000 – 2 YEARS 

             Third or subsequent violation:  $20,000 – 3 YEARS 

 
 
 
 
 
 
  BR 5-610(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_0981* **CEMETERY ESTAB/OP CORP** 

 
...did as an officer of a corporation [establish/operate/allow the 
operation of] a cemetery in violation of the requirements of the 
Business Regulation Article.  

NOTE: Cemetery defined in BR-602. 

NOTE: Second violation: $10,000 – 2 YEARS 

             Third or subsequent violation:  $20,000 – 3 YEARS 
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  BR 5-610(c) 

FELONY 
PRELMINARY HEARING 
$25,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_0982* **PERPETUAL CARE TRUST FUND FRAUD** 

 
...did [willfully misappropriate/intentionally and fraudulently 
convert] perpetual care trust funds in excess of $100.00 to their 
own use. 

 
 
 
  BR 5-712(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_0983* **BURIAL NEED CONTRACT-DEPOSIT** 

 
... did sell a preneed burial contract and failed to deposit money 
received [under/in connection with] the preneed burial contract. 

NOTE: Second violation: $15,000 – 2 YEARS 

             Third or subsequent violation:  $20,000 – 3 YEARS 

 
 
 
 
 
  BR 5-712(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_0984* **BURIAL NEED CONTRACT-DEPOSIT** 

 
... did as an officer of a corporation responsible for selling a 
pre-need burial contract, fail to deposit money received 
[under/in connection with] the preneed burial contract. 

NOTE: Second violation: $15,000 – 2 YEARS 

             Third or subsequent violation:  $20,000 – 3 YEARS 
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  BR 5-712(c) 

FELONY 
PRELMINARY HEARING 
$25,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_0985* **BURIAL NEED CONTRACT FRAUD** 

 
...did [willfully misappropriate/intentionally and fraudulently 
convert] preneed trust funds in excess of $100.00 to their own 
use. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  BR 5-903 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 – 1 YEARS 

*1_0986* **REP CEMETARIAN/CREM W/O REG ** 

 
… did without being authorized as a registrant, represented to 
the public by use of [a title/a description of services/a 
description of methods/a description of procedures]to wit: 
__________, that they were authorized to [engage in the 
operation of a cemetery/provide burial goods].  
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 Acting/Selling W/O License 

  BR 8-601 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 – 6 MONTHS 

*1_1597* **ACT AS CONTRCTOR W/O LICNS** 

 
...did [act/offer to act] as a [contractor/ subcontractor] in the 
state without having the license therefore required by law. 

 
 
 
 
 
  

  BR 8-601 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 – 6 MONTHS 

*1_1598* **SELL HOME IMPRV W/O LICENS** 

 
...did [sell/offer to sell] a home improvement without having a 
license to do so, as required by law. 

 
 
 
 
 
  BR 8-605 

PENALTY SEC. 8-623 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*2_0258* **FAIL TO PERFORM CONTRACT** 

 
...did, as a contractor, knowingly and wilfully abandon and fail 
to perform without justification, a home improvement contract. 

NOTE: Abandonment of a contract implies an intent not to 
perform. Poor work performance and untimely performance do 
not, by themselves, imply an intent to abandon the contract. 
(Shade v. State, 306 Md. 372). 
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 Misc. Prohibited Acts 

  BR 8-605 
PENALTY SEC. 8-623 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*2_0259* **DEVIATE FROM PLANS W/O CON** 

...did, as a contractor, knowingly and willfully deviate from 
plans and specifications without the consent of the owner. 

NOTE: Contractor means a person, other than an employee of an 
owner, who performs or offers or agrees to perform a home 
improvement for an owner. 
NOTE: "Home improvement" is defined as the addition or 
alteration, conversion, improvement, modernization, 
remodeling, repair, or replacement of a building or part of a 
building that is used or designed to be used as a residence or a 
structure adjacent to that building or improvement to land 
adjacent to the building. It includes:  
1. Construction, improvement or replacement, on land adjacent 
to the building of a driveway, fall-out shelter, fence, garage, 
landscaping, porch or swimming pool. 
2. Connection, installation or replacement in the building of a 
dishwasher, disposal or refrigerator with an icemaker to existing 
plumbing lines. 
3. Installation of an awning, fire alarm or storm window. 
4. Work done on individual condominium units. 
NOTE: "Home improvement" does not include:  
1. Construction of a new home. 
2. Work done to comply with a guarantee of completion for a 
new building project. 
3. Connection, installation or replacement of an appliance to 
existing plumbing lines that requires alteration of the plumbing 
lines.  
4. Sale of materials if the seller does not perform or arrange to 
perform any work using the materials. 
5. Work done on apartment buildings with four or more single-
family units. 
6. Work done on the common areas of condominium units. 
7. Shore erosion control projects as defined in 8-1001 of the 
Natural Resources Article. 
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 Traders and Chain Stores 

  BR 17-1804 
PENALTY SEC. 17-2106 
MISDEMEANOR 
$300.00 - 30 DAYS 

*3_5100* **DO BUS W/O TRADERS LICENSE** 

 
...did [business as a trader/business as an exhibitor] in the State 
of Maryland without a Trader's License. 

NOTE: A separate Trader's License is required for each store or 
fixed place of business that a person operates in the State. 

NOTE: This section does not apply to:  

1. A grower, maker or manufacturer of goods. 

2. A non-resident traveling salesperson, sample merchant, or 
representative of a foreign mercantile or manufacturing 
business while selling to or soliciting an order from a licensed 
trader in the State. 

3. A private individual while publicly selling the individual's 
personal effects on the individual's property, if the individual 
holds only one sale not exceeding fourteen [14] consecutive 
days in a calendar year. 

4. An exhibitor, if the show is promoted by: a. A church, 
defined in Sec. 5-301[B] of the Corporations and Associations 
Article; b. A Governmental Unit; c. An amateur radio 
organization; d. An antique vehicle, machine and equipment 
organization; e. A volunteer fire department or rescue squad; or 
f. A model train collector's association. 

 
 
  

  BR 17-2103 
MISDEMEANOR 
$300.00 – 30 DAYS 

*1_0892* **FAIL TO DISPLAY LICENSE ** 

 
...did fail to display a license as required by BR 17-2103.. 
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COURTS & JUDICIAL PROCEEDINGS 
ARTICLE 

PEACE ORDERS 

 False Information 

  CJ 3-1503(d) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_0100* **PEACE ORDER: FALSE INFO.** 

 
...did file a petition under the Annotated Code of 
Maryland,Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article, Sec. 3-1503, 
and knowingly provided false information in said petition. 

 

  CJ 3-1508 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_0105* **PEACE ORDER: FAIL TO COMPLY** 

...did fail to comply with an Order dated _______________, 
issued under the Annotated Code of Maryland, Courts & 
Judicial Proceedings Article, that ordered the respondent to 
refrain from [committing or threatening to commit any of the 
acts specified in Section 3-1503(A) of said Courts & Judicial 
Proceedings Article against _______________/contacting, 
attempting to contact, harassing _______________/entering the 
residence of _______________/remain away from the place of 
employment, school and temporary residence of 
_______________]. 

(Note for charge 2-0105 continued on page 31) 
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NOTE: The acts specified in CJ-3-1503(a) are:  

1. an act that causes serious bodily harm.  

2. an act that places petitioner in fear of imminent serious 
bodily harm.  

3. assault in any degree.  

4. rape or sexual offense as defined in CR 3-301 or any attempt 
threat.  

5. false imprisonment.  

6. harassment as defined in CR 3-803.  

7. stalking as defined in CR 3-802:  

8. trespass  

9. malicious destruction of property. 

NOTE: Such an order may include any or all of the restrictions 
named, and may be violated in several ways by one section. 
Example: going to the petitioner's place of employment and 
assaulting petitioner. Use all applicable choices joined by the 
word "and." HOWEVER, each separate chronological incident 
is a separate offense. 

NOTE: For a second or subsequent offense, the maximum 
penalty is $2,500 and/or 1 years imprisonment. 

NOTE:  If the court is closed on the day an  interim order is set 
to expire, the order shall be effective until the next day on 
which the court is open.  For temporary orders, it is effective 
until the second day on which the Court is open. 

NOTE:  The Commissioner must verify the type of order, verify 
the order has been served, verify that the alleged violation 
conditions exist in the issued order; prior to making a probable 
cause decision. 
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  CJ 3-8A-30 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_0238* **CONTRIBUTE TO COND OF CHLD** 

...did, being an adult, wilfully contribute to, encourage, cause, 
or tend to cause [an act/an omission/a condition] which 
rendered _______, a child, [in violation of _____/ delinquent or 
in need of supervision]. 

NOTE: Adult may be charged under the section, even if child 
has not been found to have committed a violation, adjudicated 
delinquent, in need of supervision, or in need of assistance. 
Charge must be filed in the county where the offense occurred 
(C.J Sec. 3-808). Concurrent jurisdiction with Juvenile Court 
and Adult Court (C.J. Sec. 3-804). 

NOTE: There is a presumption that a child is not receiving 
ordinary and proper care and attention under Section 3-
801(E)(1) of C&JP if the child:  

1. was born addicted to or dependent on cocaine, heroin, or a 
derivative thereof; or 

2. was born with a significant presence of cocaine, heroin, or a 
derivative thereof in the child's blood as evidenced by 
toxicology or other appropriate tests. 

NOTE: "Adult" means a person who is 18 years old or older. 
"Child" means a person under the age of 18 years. "Child in 
need of assistance" is a child who requires the assistance of the 
court because:  

1. He is mentally handicapped or is not receiving ordinary and 
proper care and attention, and 

2. His parents, guardian, or custodian are unable or unwilling to 
give proper care and attention to the child and his problems 
provided, however, a child shall not be deemed to be in need of 
assistance for the sole reason he is being furnished non-medical 
remedial care and treatment recognized by State law. 

"Child in need of supervision" is a child who requires guidance, 
treatment, or rehabilitation and:  

1. He is required by law to attend school and is habitually 
truant; or 

2. He is habitually disobedient, ungovernable, and beyond the 
control of the person having custody of him; 

3. He deports himself so as to injure or endanger himself or 
others; or 

4. He has committed an offense applicable only to children. 

"Delinquent child" is a child who has committed a delinquent 
act and requires guidance, treatment, or rehabilitation. 
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COMMERIAL LAW ARTICLE 

 False Advertisements - Merchandise Etc,/Part of 
Scheme Not to Sell at Advertise Price 

  CL 14-2903 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*5_2607* **FRAUD-FALSE ADV** 

 
...did advertise by means of ____ (describe method of 
advertisement) and offer for sale to the general public ____ 
(item or service) with the intent [not to sell same/not to sell 
same at the advertised price]. 

NOTE: Section applies to firms, corporations and the several 
members, officers, directors, agents and employees who 
knowingly violate this section. Generally referred to as "bait 
and switch". 
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CRIMINAL PROCEDURE ARTICLE 

 
  CP 5-210 

MISDEMEANOR 
1st Off: $2,500 – 30 Day Lic. 
Susp. If Licensed 
2nd Off: $5,000 – 90 Day 
Lic. Susp. If Licensed 

*1_1638* **BAIL BONDSMAN-SOLICITATION** 

 
...did, as [a/an] [bail bondsman/agent of a bail bondsman/ 
employee of the courthouse/employee of a correctional 
facility], solicit business on property and grounds of a 
[courthouse/correctional facility]. 

NOTE: Bail bondsman does not include a person that contracts 
with a public agency to provide bail bonds to persons detained 
in a correctional facility. 

NOTE: "Solicit" includes approaching, enticing, or inviting an 
individual to use the services of a specific bail bondsman; and 
distributing, displaying, or wearing an item that advertises the 
services of a bail bondsman. 

 
 
 Failure to Surrender After Forfeiture 

  CP 5-211(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1474* **FTA/FELONY DEFENDANT** 

 
...did wilfully fail to surrender within 30 days following ____ 
(date), the date of forfeiture or recognizance, which was given 
in connection with [a felony/a pending appeal/a pending 
certiorari/a pending habeas corpus/a post conviction] in case 
______(case number) in the __________(name court) court for 
[county/city/state]. 
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  CP 5-211(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1475* **FTA/MISD- DEF/WITNESS** 

 
...did wilfully fail to surrender within 30 days following 
________ (date), the date of forfeiture and recognizance, which 
was given in connection with [a misdemeanor/the appearance 
as a witness] in case _________ (case number) court for 
[county/city]. 

 
 
 
 
  CP 5-212 

MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_1476* **FAIL APPEAR-CITATION** 

 
...did  fail to appear in response to a citation, to wit: _________ 
(identify citation by number and offense). 

NOTE: See CP 5-212(a) for citations not covered under this charge. 

 
 
 
 
  CP 5-213.1 

MISDEMEANOR 
90 DAYS 

*1_0636* ** VIOL REL COND – MINOR VIC** 

 
… did while charged with committing an act against a victim who is 
a minor, in violation of Title 3, Subtitle 3 of the Criminal Law 
Article, violate a condition of [pretrial/post-trial] release issued on 
case _________(identifier) by [contacting/harassing/abusing/going 
in/going near[residence of/place of employment of]] ________(name) 
in violation of § 5-213.1 of the Criminal Procedure Article. 

Note:  States attorney may request an expedited hearing for a 
violation before the District Court or circuit court of the county in 
which the case is pending. On the filing of a request, the court shall 
issue a bench warrant and schedule an expedited hearing. Hearing 
shall be held no later than 2 days after the filing of the request. 
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  CP 11-721 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1477* **FAIL REG OFFENDER/FALSE INFO** 

 
...did having been required to register under CP 11-704(a), knowingly 
________(choose from below). 

1. fail to register by deadline under CP 11-705 [(b)/(c)] 

2. fail to register under the terms of 11-707(a) as a [Tier I Sex 
Offender/Tier II Sex Offender/Tier III Sex Offender/Sexually 
Violent Predator] 

3. provide false information of a material fact as required by [CP 
11-705/CP 11-706] to wit: ______(describe false information) 

 

 

 

  

  CP 11-721 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1134* **SEX OFF REG-FAIL NOTIFY/INCLD** 

 
…did as a registrant, knowingly fail to provide ______(pick 
from below) 

1. a notice required under CP 11-705 for 
________(describe change/move). 

2. information required to be included in a registration 
statement described in CP 11-706 to wit: 
_____(describe required information omitted). 
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  CP 11-722(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1478* **REG - ENTER RESTRICTED REAL PROPERTY** 

 
…did, being a registrant, knowingly enter onto real property 
[used for public or non-public elementary or secondary 
education/on which is located a family day care home/on which 
is located a child car home or licensed child care institution] in 
violation of 11-722(b) of the Criminal Procedure Article. 

*This does not apply to a registrant who is a student or the 
registrant's child is a student or receives child care and the 
registrant has complied with the requirements of CP 11-722. 

 

 

  CP 11-722(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1479* **CONTRACT - REGISTRANT EMPLOYEE** 

 
…did enter into a contract with ______ [a county board of 
education/a non-public school] while ______ (name of 
registrant), was employed to perform work for __________ 
[school/board of education] knowing [he/she] is a registrant. 

 
 
 
 
  CP 11-724(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000 - 5 YEARS 
SUB OFFENSE  
$10,000 – 10YEARS 

*1_0713* ** VIOL LIFETIME SEX OFF SUP ** 

 
…did [knowingly/willfully] violate a condition of the lifetime 
sexual offender supervision imposed under CP 11-723 to wit: 
________. 

NOTE: Imprisonment for a lifetime sexual offender supervision 
violation is not subject to dimunition credits. 
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CRIMINAL LAW ARTICLE 

  CR 1-301 (a) 
FELONY 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
5 YEARS (Penalty not to 
exceed the maximum 
penalty provided by law for 
committing the crime.) 

*1_1480* **ACCESS AFTER STATUTE** 

 
...did unlawfully violate statute ___________________ (Article 
& Section), a felony, as an accessory after the fact. 

NOTE: Do not use this charge for accessory after the fact for 
murder 1st or murder 2nd.  

NOTE: The statute violated must be a felony.  

 
 
 
  CR 1-301(b)(1) 

FELONY 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
10 YEARS  

*1_0774* **ACCESS AFTER FACT-MURDER 1ST** 

 
...did unlawfully violate the Annotated Code of Maryland 
Criminal Law Article 1-301 as an accessory after the fact for a 
felony violation of Criminal Law Article 2-201, Murder in the 
First Degree, against the peace, government, and dignity of the 
State. 

 

  CR 1-301(b)(2) 
FELONY 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
10 YEARS  

*1_0776* **ACCESS AFTER FACT-MURDER 2ND** 

 
...did unlawfully violate the Annotated Code of Maryland 
Criminal Law Article 1-301 as an accessory after the fact for a 
felony violation of Criminal Law Article 2-204, Murder in the 
First Degree, against the peace, government, and dignity of the 
State. 
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MURDER 

Note: All first-degree murder should be charged under CR 2-201. The language used is 
authorized by CR 5-202. Felony-murder, as defined by CR 2-201 should be charged under 2-
201. Degrees of the crime were unknown to the common law. Accordingly, these sections do not 
create new offenses, but merely serve the purpose of classifying the acts which they respectively 
proscribe as species of murder in the first degree, and mitigate the punishment in cases of the 
second degree. As to felony-murder, the fact that the accused was committing a felony creates 
proof of malice and premeditation sufficient to sustain a conviction for first-degree murder for 
any killing consequent to the felony.  

There is no requirement that the State charge and convict upon the underlying felony in order to 
sustain a felony-murder conviction. 

CR 2-201 includes as first-degree murder any killing consequent to an arson or attempted arson 
of a dwelling or adjoining building .  

CR 2-201 includes as first-degree felony murder any killing consequent to the burning or 
attempted burning of any barn, tobacco house, stable, warehouse, or other outhouse not parcel of 
any dwelling.   

CR -2-201 includes as first-degree felony murder any killing consequent to the commission or 
attempted commission of any of the following crimes:  

arson in the first degree; burning an outbuilding as described in CR 2-204(a)(ii); 

rape in any degree;  

sexual offense in the first or second degree;  

sodomy;  

mayhem; 

robbery under CR 3-402 & 3-403; 

carjacking or armed carjacking; 

burglary in the first, second, or third degree; 

kidnapping as defined in CR 3-502 & CR 3-503(a)(2);  

Escape in the first degree or attempted escape in the first degree from a State Correctional 
Facility or Local Correctional Facility or Violation of CR 4-503 concerning destructive devices. 

All of these should be charged under CR 2-201. 
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 First Degree Murder 

  CR 2-201 
FELONY 
LIFE WITHOUT 
POSSIBILITY OF 
PAROLE 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 
LESSER INCLUDED 
OFFENSES: 
2ND DEGREE MURDER 
MANSLAUGHTER 
ASSAULT 
 

*1_0990* **MURDER-FIRST DEGREE** 

 
...did feloniously, willfully and of deliberately premeditated 
malice aforethought kill and murder ______. 

 

 

 

 Second Degree Murder 

  CR 2-204 
FELONY 
30 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 
LESSER INCLUDED 
OFFENSES: 
MANSLAUGHTER 
ASSAULT 
SUB. CONVICTION, 
ENHANCED PENALTY 

*1_0999* **MURDER-SECOND DEGREE** 

 
...did feloniously and with malice aforethought, kill and murder 
_____. 
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  CR 2-205 
FELONY 
LIFE 
SUB. CONVICTION, 
ENHANCED PENALTY 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_0910* **ATT 1ST DEG. MURDER** 

 
...did feloniously, willfully, and of deliberately premeditated 
malice aforethought, attempt to kill and murder _____. 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 2-206 
FELONY 
30 YEARS 
SUB. CONVICTION, 
ENHANCED PENALTY 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_0920* **ATT 2ND DEG. MURDER** 

 
...did feloniously and with malice aforethought, attempt to kill 
and murder ______. 
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MANSLAUGHTER 

 Generally 

  CR 2-207(a) 
FELONY 
$500.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
SUB. CONVICTION, 
ENHANCED PENALTY 

*1_0910* **MANSLAUGHTER** 

 
...did, feloniously, without malice aforethought, kill and slay 
______. 

NOTE: This section may not be used when the killing resulted 
unintentionally from the negligent operation of a motor vehicle 
or boat. In that event, the proper statute to use is Sec. 2-209. 
HOWEVER, IF THE ALLEGATION IS THAT THE DEATH 
OCCURRED BECAUSE OF THE INTENTIONAL 
OPERATION OF A MOTOR VEHICLE OR BOAT SO AS 
TO CAUSE INJURY OR IMPACT, SUCH AS RUNNING 
OVER THE VICTIM WITH AN AUTOMOBILE, USE THIS 
SECTION. 

 

 

 By Automobile, Boat, Etc. 

  CR 2-209 
FELONY/DISTRICT 
COURT 
$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0909* **NEG MANSL-AUTO/BOAT, ETC.** 

 
...did, unlawfully, in a grossly negligent manner, kill and slay 
_____. 

NOTE: This section is to be used only when the death results 
unintentionally from the operation of a motor vehicle, boat, or 
other vehicle. If the defendant intended to operate his/her 
vehicle so as to cause impact, see CR 2-207. If the defendant 
was impaired or under the influence of alcohol or drugs, see CR 
2-503. 
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  CR 2-210 (b) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000 – 3 YEARS  

 

*1_1611* 
** CRIM NEG MANSLAUGHTER BY VEH/VESS** 

 
...did cause the death of ______(name), as the result of 
[driving/operating/controlling] a [vehicle/vessel] in a criminally 
negligent manner. 

Note: See CR 2-210 (c) for definition of “criminally negligent 
manner”. 

Note: It is not a violation under this charge to cause the death of 
another as the result of a person driving, operating, or 
controlling a vehicle or vessel in a negligent manner. 

 
 
 
 
 Homicide by MV/Vessel While Under the Influence 

  CR 2-503 
FELONY/DISTRICT 
COURT 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0900* **NEG AUTO/BOAT HMCD-UNDER INFLU** 

 
...unlawfully, as a result of [his/her] negligent driving, 
operation, and control of a [motor vehicle/vessel] while under 
the influence, did kill _____ (name of victim), against the 
peace, government, and dignity of the state. 

 

 

  

  CR 2-504 
FELONY/DISTRICT 
COURT 
$5,000.00 -3 YEARS 

*1_0693* **NEG HMCD-AUTO/BOAT-WHILE IMPAIRED** 

 
...unlawfully, as a result of [his/her] negligent driving, 
operation, and control of a [motor vehicle/vessel] while 
impaired, did kill ______ (name of victim], against the peace, 
government, and dignity of the state. 
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 Homicide by Motor Vehicle/Vessel Impaired-Drugs 

  CR 2-505 
FELONY                                   
DISTRICT COURT 
$5,000.00 -3 YEARS 

*1_0755* **NEG HMCD-AUTO/BOAT-DRUGS** 

 
...unlawfully, as a result of [his/her] negligent driving, 
operation, and control of a [motor vehicle/vessel] while 
impaired [by a drug/by a combination of drugs/by a 
combination of one or more drugs and alcohol], did kill 
______(name of victim), against the peace, government, and 
dignity of the state. 

 

 

 Homicide by Motor Vehicle/Vessel While 
Impaired-CDS. 

  CR 2-506 
FELONY/DISTRICT 
COURT 
$5,000.00 -3 YEARS 

*1_0760* **NEG HMCD-AUTO/BOAT-CDS** 

 
...unlawfully, as a result of [his/her] negligent driving, 
operation, and control of a [motor vehicle/vessel] while 
impaired by a controlled dangerous substance, did kill ______ 
(name of victim), against the peace, government, and dignity of 
the state. 

NOTE: If a breathalyzer, blood chemical, or urine test has been 
done so as to yield a blood/alcohol content, the definitions of 
Under Influence and Impaired are exactly the same as to TR 
Sec. 21-902. If no test was done because a defendant refused or 
the time limit passed, charge Auto/Boat MANSLAUGHTER-
UNDER INFLUENCE, as the IMPAIRED version is a lesser 
included offense. Facts in the statement of probable cause must 
show observations supporting the fact that the defendant was 
under the influence. 

NOTE: District Court has jurisdiction on these felonies. 
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ASSISTED SUICIDE 

NOTE:  The statute provides exceptions for health care providers and family members under 
certain circumstances.  Therefore, it is recommended that the statute be consulted before 
charging in a particular case. 

  

  CR 3-102(1) 
(PENALTY SEC. 3-104) 
FELONY                                   
$10,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0175* **ASSISTED SUICIDE: COERCION** 

 
...did, with purpose of assisting _______________(name) to 
[commit/attempt to commit] suicide, knowingly cause, by 
coercion, duress or deception, ___________ (name) to 
[commit/attempt to commit] suicide. 

 

 

  

  CR 3-102(2) 
(PENALTY SEC. 3-104)          
FELONY                                   
$10,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0180* **ASST. SUICIDE: PROVIDE MEANS** 

 
...did, with the purpose of assisting _______________(name) to 
[commit/attempt to commit] suicide, knowingly provided the 
physical means to _______________ (name) to 
[commit/attempt to commit] suicide with knowledge of 
____________(name) intent to use said physical means to 
commit suicide. 
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  CR 3-102(3) 
FELONY 
$10,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0185* **ASST. SUICIDE: PARTICIPATION** 

 
...did, with the purpose of assisting _______________(name) to 
[commit/attempt to commit] suicide, knowingly participate in a 
physical act by which __________(name) 
[committed/attempted to commit] suicide. 

 

  

  CR 3-202 
FELONY 
25 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_1420* **ASSAULT-FIRST DEGREE 

 
...did [assault/attempt to assault] ______ (name) in the first 
degree in violation of CR 3-202, contrary to the form of the act 
of the assembly in such case made and provided and against the 
peace, government and dignity of the state. 

NOTE:  Serious physical injury is defined under CR 3-201(c). 

 

 Statutory Assault Second Degree 

  CR 3-203 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1415* **ASSAULT-SEC DEGREE** 

 
...did assault_______ (name) in the second degree in violation 
of CR 3-203, contrary to the form of the act of the assembly in 
such case made and provided and against the peace, 
government, and dignity of the state. 
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  CR 3-203(c)(2) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT 
$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1416* **ASSAULT SEC DEG –LAW ENFORCEMENT 
OFFICER, PAROLE/PROBATION AGENT** 

 
…did intentionally cause physical injury in the second degree 
to _____ (name), a [law enforcement officer/parole 
agent/probation agent] engaged in the performance of [his/her] 
official duties, in violation of CR 3-203. 

NOTE:  Law Enforcement Officer includes a correctional 
officer at a correctional facility, an officer employed by 
WMATA - Metro-transit police, subject to jurisdictional 
limitations.  See CR 3-201 for further information regarding 
eligible parties. 

 

  

  CR 3-204(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1425* **RECKLESS ENDANGERMENT** 

 
...did recklessly engage in conduct, to wit: _____, that created a 
substantial risk of death or serious physical injury to ______ 
(name). 

 

NOTE:  Effective 10/1/97 law enforcement officers and 
security guards are no longer excluded from the provisions of 
section CR 204(a)(1). 
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  CR 3-204(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1430* **RECK ENDANGERMENT FROM CAR** 

 
...did recklessly discharge a firearm from a motor vehicle in 
such a manner as to create a risk of death or serious physical 
injury to ______ (name). 

NOTE: Use of CR 3-204(a)(1) should be made for each 
separate victim in any criminal incident. Every person 
recklessly endangered by the defendant's conduct should be 
named as the victim in a separate charge. 

NOTE: Neither charge under CR 3-204 applies to the use of a 
motor vehicle as defined in TR Sec 11-135. The second charge 
applies only to discharge of firearm from a motor vehicle. 

 

 

  

  CR 3-205 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_0222 **INMATE CAUSE CONT W/BODY FLUID** 

 
…did while an inmate maliciously [cause/attempt to cause] an 
employee of  [a state corectional facility/local correctional 
facility/sheriff's office] to come in contact with [seminal 
fluid/urine/feces/blood]. 

NOTE:  The employee may be employed in any capacity of 
said agency.  For blood substance to qualify, it must be blood 
that is NOT the result of a physical injury resulting from 
physical body contact between the employee and inmate. 
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ASSAULT BY INMATES 

 On Division of Correction Employee, etc. 

  CR 3-210 
FELONY 
25 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_1435* **ASSLT 1ST/DOC EMPLOYEE ETC.** 

 
...did assault in the first degree, _________, an 
[inmate/employee] of the [Division of Correction/Patuxent 
Institution/Baltimore City Detention Center/________ County 
Jail/ __________ County Detention Center]. 

 

 

  

  CR 3-210 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1440* **ASSLT 2ND/DOC EMPLOYEE ETC.** 

 
...did assault in the second degree, _________ (name), an 
[inmate/employee] of the [Division of Correction/Patuxtent 
Institution/ Baltimore City Detention Center/________ County 
Jail/ __________ County Detention Center]. 

NOTE: The sentence for the crime of assault by an inmate in  
the first or second degree  may not be suspended. A sentence 
imposed under this section must be served consecutively to any 
sentence  being served at the time of the assault, or had been 
imposed but was not yet being served at the time of sentencing. 
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 Life Threatening Injury by Motor Veh/Boat while 
Under Influence 

  CR 3-211(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0765* **LIFE THRT INJ/VEH-BOAT/UNDER INFLU** 

 
...unlawfully, as a result of [his/her] negligent driving, 
operation, and control of a [motor vehicle/vessel] while under 
the influence, did cause life threatening injury to  ______ (name 
of victim), against the peace, government, and dignity of the 
state. 

 

 

 

 

 Life Threatening Injury by Motor Veh/Boat While 
Impaired 

  CR 3-211(d) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$3,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0770* **LIFE THRT INJ/VEH-BOAT/IMPAIRED** 

 
...unlawfully, as a result of [his/her] negligent driving, 
operation, and control of a [motor vehicle/vessel] while 
impaired by alcohol, did cause life threatening injury to______ 
(name of victim), against the peace, government, and dignity of 
the state. 
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 Life Threatening Injury by Motor Veh/Boat while 
Impaired-Drugs 

  CR 3-211(e) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$3,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0775* **LIFE THRT INJ/VEH-BOAT/DRUGS** 

 
...unlawfully, as a result of [his/her] negligent driving, 
operation, and control of a [motor vehicle/vessel] while 
impaired by drugs, did cause a life threatening injury to ______ 
(name of victim), against the peace, government, and dignity of 
the state. 

 

 

 

 

 Life Threatening Injury by Motor Veh/Boat 
Impaired-CDS 

  CR 3-211(f) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1640* **LIFE THRT INJ/VEH-BOAT/CDS** 

 
...unlawfully, as a result of [his/her] negligent driving, 
operation, and control of a [motor vehicle/vessel] while 
impaired by a controlled dangerous substance, did cause a life 
threatening injury to ________ (name of victim) against the 
peace, government, and dignity of the state. 
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POISON 

  

  CR 3-213 
FELONY 
10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0999* **POISON: ATTEMPT** 

 
...did attempt to poison ______ (name). 

NOTE: If the victim ingested some of the poison, the officer 
should be directed to consult the State's Attorney. 

 

 

  CR 3-214(a) 
FELONY 
20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*3_0999* **CONTAMINATE/POISON WATER** 

 
...did knowingly and willfully [contaminate/attempt to 
contaminate] the waters of a [well/spring/brook/lake/pond/ 
stream/river/reservoir/source of water supply] used for drinking 
and domestic purposes by means of _____(describe 
contaminant). 

 

 

  

  CR 3-215 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_0321* **CAUSE INGEST BODILY FLUID** 

 
…did knowlingly and willfully cause another to ingest [seminal 
fluid/blood/urine/feces] [without consent/by force or threat of 
force]. 
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SEXUAL OFFENSES 

NOTE: Spouse against spouse offense under this subheading. 

Where a person is alleged to have committed any offense under this subheading against that 
person's legal spouse, the following rules determine which charges, if any, may be filed. 

(1.) If the elements for CR 3-305 (First Degree Sexual Offense) or CR 3-306 (Second Degree 
Sexual Offense) are present, then no restrictions exist to the filing of such charges. 

(2.) If the elements for CR 3-303 (First Degree Rape), CR 3-304 (Second Degree Rape), CR 3-
307 (Third Degree Sexual Offense) or CR 3-308 (Fourth Degree Sexual Offense) are present, 
then any of such charges may be filed if the person and the person's spouse have lived separate 
and apart without cohabitation and without interruption pursuant to a decree of limited divorce. 

(3.) If the elements for CR 3-303 (a), CR 3-304 (a)(1) (Second Degree Rape with use of force), 
CR 3-307(a) are present, then any of such charges may be filed 

RAPE, GENERALLY 

NOTE: All rape charges, except as noted below with respect to rape 2nd degree, include the 
elements of 1. vaginal intercourse 2. with another person 3. by force or threat of force 4. against 
the will and 5. without the consent of the other person. All rape is to be charged as second degree 
rape [CR 3-304] unless raised to the status of a first degree rape by the presence of one or more 
of the following aggravating factors:  

1. Employment or display of a dangerous or deadly weapon or an item that the victim reasonably 
believes to be such a weapon; 

2. The defendant inflicts suffocation, strangulation, disfigurement, or serious physical injury 
upon the victim or another person in the course of committing the offense; 

3. The defendant threatens or places the victim in fear that the victim or any person known to the 
victim will be imminently subjected to death, suffocation, strangulation, disfigurement, serious 
physical injury, or kidnapping; 

4. The defendant is aided and abetted by one or more co-defendants; 

5. The defendant commits the offense in connection with a burglary in the first, second, or third 
degree. 

ENHANCED PENALTIES – FIRST DEGREE RAPE 

1. If the defendant violated CR 3-303(a) while also violating CR 3-503(a)(2) - Child Kidnapping 
involving a victim who is a child under the age of 16, the maximum penalty is life without the 
possibility of parole. 

2. If the defendant  previously convicted of CR 3-305, and then convicted of CR 3-303(a) or (b), 
the maximum penalty is life without the possibibility of parole. 

3. If the defendant is 18 years of age or older and violates CR 3-303(a) involving a victim who is 
a child under the age of 13, the penalty is no less than 25 years imprisonment and not to exceed 
life without the possibility of parole.  The court may not suspend any part of the mandatory 
minimum sentence of 25 years (Subject to State compliance under CR 3-303(e)). 

 

Continued on page 54 

 



 

Rev. 10/1/2013 

54.
 

 

SECOND DEGREE RAPE 

Second degree rape may be committed without force or threat of force and with the consent of 
the victim if:  

1. The victim is mentally defective, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless and the 
defendant knew or reasonably should have known of the victim's condition; or 

2. The victim is under 14 years of age and the defendant is at least four years older than the 
victim. 

ENHANCED PENALTIES – SECOND DEGREE RAPE 

1. If the defendant is 18 years of age or older and violates CR 3-304(a)(1) or (2) involving a child 
under the age of 13, the penalty is no less than 5 years imprisonment and not to exceed 20 years.  
The court may not suspend any part of the mandatory minimum sentence of 5 years (Subject to 
State compliance under CR 3-304(d). 

NOTE: As to both degrees of rape, any degree of penetration, no matter how slight, is sufficient 
to establish the element of vaginal intercourse. 

LIFETIME SEXUAL OFFENDER SUPERVISION 

Certain defendants under certain circumstances may face a term of lifetime sexual offender 
supervision as provided under CP 11-723.
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 First Degree Rape 

  CR 3-303 
FELONY 
LIFE IMPRISONMENT, 
SUB. CONVICTION, 
ENHANCED PENALTY 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
638B 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_1102* **RAPE FIRST DEGREE** 

...did unlawfully commit a rape in the first degree upon _____ 
(name), in violation of CR 3-303 of the Annotated Code of 
Maryland. 

NOTE: ENHANCED PENALTY First and Second Degree 

NOTE: See CR 3-310 for Attempted 2nd Degree Rape. 

NOTE: ENHANCED PENALTY First and Second Degree 
Rape and First and Second Degree Sexual Offenses under this 
subheading IF THE VICTIM IS UNDER 16 YEARS OF AGE 
or IF THE DEFENDANT IS 18 YEARS OLDER AND THE 
VICTIM IS A CHILD UNDER THE AGE OF 13.* 

NOTE:  Enhanced Penalty CR 3-303(d)(4) if the defendant is 
18 years of age or older and the victim is a child under the age 
of 13.* 

*Upon conviction, subject to the State filing notice of intent 
under CR 3-303(e), the defendant is subject to imprisonment 
for not less than 25 years and not exceeding life without the 
possibility of parole.  The court may not suspend any part of the 
mandatory minimum sentence of 25 years. 

If, under this subheading, the defendant is charged with any of 
the following 

1. Rape First Degree CR 3-303 

2. Rape Second Degree CR 3-304 

   (Note for charge 1-1102 continued on page 56)                        
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3. First Degree Sex Offense CR 3-305 

4. Second Degree Sex Offense CR 3-306 

AND if:  

1) the victim of the above crime is under the age of 16 years, 

AND if:  

2) the defendant is also charged IN THE SAME 
PROCEEDING with a violation of CR 3-503, Kidnap-Child 
Under 16; the defendant MAY be eligible for the enhanced 
penalty of a life sentence without the possibility of parole. 

The enhanced penalty cannot apply until the State's Attorney 
serves a notice of intent to seek it, which must be done at least 
30 days prior to trial. Therefore, Commissioners are not 
normally presented with this situation at the initial appearance. 
Life without possibility of parole if victim was child under the 
age of 16 or defendant was previously convicted of violation, 
this article with the victim being under the age of 16 or Section 
3-305 of this article or  

In addition to the above:  If the defendant is 18 years old or 
older and the victim is a child under the age of 13, the State 
may file intent to seet imposition of mandatory minimum term 
of imprisonment.  A court may no suspend any part of the 
mandatory minimum sentence. 

However, Commissioners should be aware that if the Statement 
of Probable Cause indicates that all of the conditions listed 
above are present, the defendant may face the enhanced penalty 
later in the proceedings. Where appropriate, Commissioners 
may consider this factor in their determination of pre-trial 
release. 

IN THE EVENT that the initial appearance is conducted upon a 
District or Circuit Court Warrant to which a copy of the Notice 
to Defendant of the State's Election to seek a Life Sentence 
Without the Possibility of Parole is attached, or to which other 
indication is attached that shows the State's Attorney has 
decided to seek the enhanced penalty, the Commissioner should 
place the Defendant on NO BAIL pending the bail review, and 
retain a copy of the notice or letter in the Court folder. 

Refer to Part I. 
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 Second Degree Rape 

  CR 3-304 
FELONY 
20 YEARS 
ENHANCED PENALTY 
(IF VICTIM <13, 15 - Life) 
SUB. CONVICTION, 
ENHANCED PENALTY 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_1103* **RAPE SECOND DEGREE** 

 
...did unlawfully commit a rape in the second degree upon 
_____ (name), in violation of CR 3-304 of the Annotated Code 
of Maryland. 

NOTE:  If the defendant is 18 years of age or older and the 
victim is a child under the age of 13, enhanced penalties may 
apply.* 

*A defendant who is found guilty of violating CR 3-304(b) is 
subject to imprisonment for not less than 15 years and not 
exceeding life imprisonment.  The court may not suspend any 
part of the mandatory minimum sentence of 15 years. *(Subject 
to State compliance under CR 3-304(d).) 
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SEXUAL OFFENSES 

NOTE: First and Second Degree Sexual Offenses involve the commission of a Sexual Act, 
defined as cunnilingus, fellatio, anilingus, or anal intercourse (but not vaginal intercourse; see 
RAPE above), or an act in which an object or part of an individual’s body penetrates, however 
slightly, into another individual’s genital opening or anus and that can reasonably be construed to 
be for sexual arousal or gratification, or for the abuse of either party. Sexual CONTACT, as used 
in Third Degree Sexual Offense, Fourth Degree Sexual Offense, and sexual offenses by a 
Correctional employee under CR 3-314) is the intentional touching of the victim's or actor’s 
genital, anal, or other intimate area for sexual arousal or gratification, or for the abuse of either 
party. For further clarification, refer to CR 3-301, or consult the State's Attorney's Office. 

The charging language used for all sexual offenses is authorized by CR 3-301. See the note 
following each section for a list of the elements which must be present in the Statement of 
Probable Cause in order to find probable cause at the initial appearance. 

Under CR 3-305 and CR 3-306 Enhanced penalties may apply in cases where the defendant is 18 
years of age or older and the victim is a child under the age of 13.  The enhanced penalty may 
include mandatory minimum sentence, without parole.  In addition, the court may not suspend 
the minimum sentence.  This is subject to the State's compliance of the requirement to file notice 
of intent to seek enhanced penalty. 

 

 First Degree Sexual Offense 

  CR 3-305 
FELONY 
LIFE IMPRISONMENT, 
SUB. CONVICTION, 
ENHANCED PENALTY 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
CP 5-202  
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_1102* **SEX OFFENSE FIRST DEGREE** 

...did unlawfully commit a sexual offense in the first degree 
upon ____ (name), in violation of CR 3-305 of the Annotated 
Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: Probable cause for a first degree sexual offense requires 
that the defendant engaged in a Sexual Act with the victim by 
force or threat of force and without the consent of the victim 
and that one or more of the following aggravating factors be 
present in the commission of the crime:  

(Note for charge 2-1102 continued on page 59) 
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1. The defendant employed or displayed a dangerous or deadly 
weapon or an object that the victim could reasonably conclude 
to be such a weapon. 

2. The defendant inflicted suffocation, strangulation, 
disfigurement or serious physical injury on the victim or 
another person in the commission of the crime. 

3. The defendant threatened, or placed the victim in fear of 
suffocation, strangulation, disfigurement,serious physical 
injury, or kidnapping of the victim or any person known to the 
victim. 

4. The defendant had one or more co-defendants in the 
commission of the crime (but it is not necessary that the co-
defendants be arrested or charged, merely that one or more 
existed). 

5. The defendant committed the crime in connection with a 
burglary in the first, second, or third degree. 

6.  The defendant violated CR 3-303(a) while also violating CR 
3-503(a)(2) - Child Kidnapping involving a victim who is a 
child under the age of 16. 

If the defendant is 18 years old or older and the victim is a child 
under the age of 13, enhanced penalties may apply.* 

*A defendant who is found guilty of felony sexual offense in 
the first degree is subject to enhanced penalty of imprisonment 
of not less than 25 years and not exceeding life without the 
possibility of parole.  Subject to compliance as required under 
CR 3-305(e). 

NOTE: Second Degree Sexual Offense is a lesser included 
offense of First Degree Sexual Offense. 

NOTE: See CR 3-311 for Attempted 1st Degree Sex Offense. 

See Enhanced Penalty Note Above. 
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 Second Degree Sexual Offense 

  CR 3-306 
FELONY 
20 YEARS 
SUB. CONVICATION, 
ENHANCED PENALTY 
(IF VICTIM <13, 15-Life) 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_3600* **SEX OFFENSE SECOND DEGREE** 

 
...did unlawfully commit a sexual offense in the second degree 
upon ____ (name), in violation of CR 3-306 the Annotated 
Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: This charge includes any of the following:  

1. The defendant engages in a sexual ACT with another person  
a. by force or threat of force and without the consent of the 
victim; or 

b. the victim is mentally defective, mentally incapacitated, or 
physically helpless and the defendant knew or reasonably 
should have known or the victim's condition, or 

2. The victim was under 14 years of age and the defendant was 
4 or more years older. 

NOTE:  If the defendant is 18 years of age or older and the 
victim is a child under the age of 13, enhanced penalties may 
apply under CR 3-306(c)(2).* 

*A defendant who is found guilty of violating CR 3-306(b) is 
subject to imprisonment for not less than 15 years and not 
exceeding life imprisonment.  The court may not suspend any 
part of the mandatory minimum sentence of  15 years. (Subject 
to State compliance under CR 3-306(d).) 

NOTE: See CR 3-312 for Attempted 2nd Degree Sex Offense. 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

Rev. 10/1/2013 

61.
 
 
 
 Sexual Offense Third Degree 

  CR 3-307 
FELONY 
10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*3_3600* **SEX OFFENSE THIRD DEGREE** 

 
...did unlawfully commit a sexual offense in the third degree 
upon ____(name) in violation of CR 3-307 of the Annotated 
Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: Probable Cause is established if the defendant engaged 
in sexual CONTACT with another person:  

1. Without the consent of the other person and included one or 
more of the following aggravating factors:  

  a. Defendant employed or displayed a dangerous or deadly 
weapon or an object the victim reasonably believed to be such a 
weapon; or 

  b. Defendant inflicted suffocation, strangulation, 
disfigurement or serious injury upon the victim or another 
person in the course of committing the crime; or 

  c. Defendant threatened or placed the victim in fear that the 
victim or another person known to the victim would be 
immediately subjected to suffocation, strangulation, 
disfigurement, serious physical injury,or kidnapping; or 

  d. Defendant had one or more co-defendants; 

2. Defendant engaged in sexual contact with a victim who is 
mentally defective, mentally incapacitated, or physically 
helpless and the defendant knew or should reasonably have 
known of the victim's condition. 

3. Defendant engaged in a sexual contact with a victim was 
under 14 years of age and the defendant was 4 or more years 
older. 

4. Defendant engaged in sexual ACT or vaginal intercourse 
with another person who was 14 or 15 years of age and the 
defendant is at least 21 years of age. 
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  CR 3-308 (b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
SUB OFFENSE 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*4_3600* ** SEX OFF 4TH DEGREE – SEX CONTACT ** 

 
… did engage in sexual contact with ______(name) without 
[his/her] consent. 

 
 
 
 
 
  CR 3-308 (b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
SUB OFFENSE 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1623* ** SEX OFF 4TH DEGREE – SEX ACT 14/15YO** 

 
… did engage in a sexual act with ______(name), a person 
[14/15] years old, being 4 years older than said victim. 

NOTE: Do not charge if defendant is 21 years of age or older.  
See Sex Offense Third Degree. 

 
 
 
 
  CR 3-308 (b)(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
SUB OFFENSE 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1624* ** SEX OFF 4TH DEGREE – VAG INT 14/15YO** 

 
… did engage in vaginal intercourse with ______(name), a 
person [14/15] years old, being 4 years older than said victim. 

NOTE: Do not charge if defendant is 21 years of age or older.  
See Sex Offense Third Degree. 
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  CR 3-308 (c)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
SUB OFFENSE 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1625* ** SEX OFF 4TH –SEX ACT PERS POS AUTH** 

 
… did as a person in a position of authority, engage in [a sexual 
act /sexual contact] with ____(name), a minor, who at the time 
of the [sexual act/sexual contact], was a student enrolled at the 
school where said person of authority was employed. 

Note:  See CR 3-308(a) for definition of “Person in a position 
of authority”. 

Note:  See CR 3-307(a)(4) and CR 3-308(b)(2) for exceptions. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 3-308 (c)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
SUB OFFENSE 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1626* ** SEX OFF 4TH –VAG INT PERS POS AUTH** 

 
… did as a person in a position of authority, engage in vaginal 
intercourse with ____(name), a minor, who at the time of the 
vaginal intercourse, was a student enrolled at the school where 
said person of authority was employed. 
 
Note:  See CR 3-308(a) for definition of “Person in a position 
of authority”. 
Note:  See CR 3-307(a)(5) and CR 3-308(b)(3) for exceptions. 
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  CR 3-309 

FELONY 
LIFE 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_1120* **ATT 1ST DEG RAPE** 

 
...did unlawfully attempt to commit a rape in the first degree 
upon _____ (name), in violation of CR 3-309 of the Annotated 
Code of Maryland. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 3-310 

FELONY 
20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_1110* **ATT 2ND DEG RAPE** 

 
...did unlawfully attempt to commit a rape in the second degree 
upon _____ (name), in violation of CR 3-310 of the Annotated 
Code of Maryland. 
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ATTEMPTED SEXUAL OFFENSES 

 Attempted First Degree Sex Offense 

  CR 3-311 
FELONY 
LIFE 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_1125* **ATT 1ST DEG SEX OFFENSE** 

 
...did unlawfully attempt to commit a sexual offense in the first 
degree upon _____ (name), in violation of CR 3-311 of the 
Annotated Code of Maryland. 

 

 

 Attempted Second Degree Sex Offense 

  CR 3-312 
FELONY 
20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_1115* **ATT 2ND DEG SEX OFFENSE** 

 
...did unlawfully attempt to commit a sexual offense in the 
second degree upon _____ (name), in violation of CR 3-312 of 
the Annotated Code of Maryland. 
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 Sexual Offenses by Correctional Employee 

  CR 3-314(b)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$3,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1130* **CORRECTIONAL-INMATE/SEX OFFENSE** 

 
…did engage in [sexual contact/vaginal intercourse/a sexual 
act] with an inmate. 

 

 

  

  CR 3-314(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$3,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1132* **SEX OFF-JUVENILE DETAINEE** 

 
… did engage in [sexual contact/vaginal intercourse/a sexual 
act] with _________ (name), an individual confined in 
____________ (name facility). 

NOTE: The facilities listed under HS 9-226 include:  

1)  The Alfred D. Noyes Children's Center  

2)  The Baltimore City Juvenile Justice Center 

3)  The Charles H. Hickey, Jr. School 

4)  The Cheltenham Youth Facility 

5)  The J. Deweese Carter Center 

6)  The Lower Eastern Shore Children's Center 

7)  The Thomas J. S. Waxter Children's Center 

8)  The Victor Cullen Center  

9)  The Western Maryland Children's Center  

10) The Youth Centers 
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  CR 3-315 
FELONY 
30 YEARS 

*2_1136* **SEX ABUSE MINOR-CONTINUING COURSE OF 
CONDUCT** 

 
...did engage in a continuing course of conduct over a period of 
90 days or more with a victim under the age of 14 years, to wit: 
______(name), which includes three or more acts in violation 
of Section 3-303, 3-304, 3-305, 3-306, and 3-307 of the 
Criminal Law Article. 

 

 

  CR 3-321 
FELONY 
10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*5_3600* **SODOMY-GENERALLY** 

 
...did unlawfully commit sodomy upon ____ (name). 

NOTE: In Schotchet v. State, 320 Md. 714 (1990), the Court of 
Appeals held that this crime excludes consensual non-
commercial, heterosexual activity. 

 

 

  CR 3-322 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*6_3600* **PERVERTED PRACTICE** 

 
...did commit a certain unnatural and perverted sexual practice 
with ____ (name of person or type of animal). 

NOTE: Perverted practices include cunnilingus, fellatio, and 
beastiality. 
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 Carnal Knowledge of Another - Degrees of 

Consanguinity Etc. Prohibited 

  CR 3-323 
FELONY 
10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_3604* **INCEST** 

 
...did knowingly have carnal knowledge of ____ (name), 
[his/her] ____ (state relationship), such relationship being 
within the degrees of consanguinity within which marriage is 
prohibited. 

NOTE: "Carnal Knowledge" means sexual intercourse. The 
relationship between which such activity is prohibited are the 
same as those within which marriage is prohibited. There is a 
list of such relationships under prohibited marriages under FL 
2-202. 

 

 

  CR 3-324 
FELONY 
$25,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1604* **SEXUAL SOLICITION OF A MINOR** 

 
…[did/did intend to] knowingly solicit a [minor/law 
enforcement officer posing as a minor] to engage in activities 
that would be unlawful under [Section 3-304/3-306/3-307/11-
304/11-305/11-306] of the Criminal Law Article of Maryland. 

NOTE:  A violation is considered committed in this State if it 
originated or is received in this State. 

NOTE:  See article for definition of solicit. 

NOTE: In a prosecution under this charge, the state need only 
prove that a reasonable person based on the totality of the 
circumstances should have known that the minor had not 
attained the age of 18 years. 

 



 

Rev. 10/1/2013 

69.
 

ROBBERY 

GENERAL NOTE: To rob is to take something away from a person by force or violence (no 
matter how slight) or by threat of force or violence. The victim must be a person, not a business, 
corporation, institute, or governmental entity, but need not be the owner of the property. The 
victim is the person from whom the property was taken, and there should be a separate charge for 
each victim. 

 In General 

  CR 3-402 
FELONY 
15 YEARS 
SUB. CONVICTION, 
ENHANCED PENALTY 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_0700* **ROBBERY** 

 
...did unlawfully and feloniously [rob/attempt to rob] [ ______ 
(victim) of ______ (item taken). 

 

 Robbery-Armed 

  CR 3-403 
FELONY 
20 YEARS 
SUB. CONVICTION, 
ENHANCED PENALTY 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_0705* **ARMED ROBBERY** 

 
...did unlawfully and feloniously, [ with a dangerous weapon/by 
displaying a written instrument claiming that the person had a 
dangerous weapon], [rob/attempt to rob] ______ (victim) and 
violently did [steal/attempt to steal] from said person 
_________ (item(s)). 

NOTE: Weapon means any actual weapon or any instrument 
that the victim reasonably perceives to be a dangerous and 
deadly weapon, that could inflict death or greivous bodily harm. 

If an actual handgun is involved, armed robbery and a separate 
charge of use of a handgun in the commission of a crime of 
violence under CR 4-203 should be placed. 
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CARJACKING 

 Carjacking 

  CR 3-405(b)(1) 
FELONY 
30 YEARS 
SUB. CONVICTION, 
ENHANCED PENALTY 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0825* **CARJACKING** 

 
...did obtain unauthorized possession and control of a motor 
vehicle, to wit: _____ (describe), from _____ (name of victim) 
who was then and there in actual possession of the motor 
vehicle, by [force/violence/placing said individual in fear 
through intimidation/threat of force/threat of violence]. 

 

 

  

  CR 3-405(c)(1) 
FELONY 
30 YEARS 
SUB. CONVICTION, 
ENHANCED PENALTY 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0826* **ARMED CARJACKING** 

 
...did obtain unauthorized possession and control of a motor 
vehicle, to wit: _____ (describe) from _____ (name of victim) 
who was then and there in actual possession of the motor 
vehicle by [force/violence/placing said individual in fear 
through intimidation/threat of force/threat of violence] and 
[employ/display] a dangerous weapon during the commission 
of the carjacking. 
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KIDNAPPING 

 Generally 

  CR 3-502 
FELONY 
30 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
SEE NOTE ENHANCED 
PENALTY 
SUB. CONVICTION 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*3_1005* **KIDNAPPING** 

 
...did forcibly and fraudulently carry and cause to be carried a 
certain person, to wit: _____ (name) with the intent to have the 
said person carried and concealed [within/out of] this State. 

NOTE: CR 3-502 makes no distinction between minor and 
adult victims UNLESS the victim was a minor and the 
defendant was the victim's parent. If both of those are true, the 
defendant may not be charged under this section.  

NOTE: If the victim is under 16, see Abduction CR 3-503. 

NOTE: Maryland has jurisdiction over this crime if any portion 
of the kidnap, carrying, or concealment occurred within the 
State. As to the word choice offered in the above language, if 
the final destination or intended destination of the kidnapped 
victim is known to be out of State, use the words "out of", 
otherwise use the word "within." 

NOTE: This section applies to every person having anything to 
do with the kidnap including aiders, abettors and counsellors, 
all of whom are charged as principals. 

NOTE:  See Parental Exception under CR 3-502 (c). 
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  CR 3-503(a) 
FELONY 
30 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 
SUB. CONVICTION, 
ENHANCED PENALTY 

*4_1005* **KIDNAP-CHILD UNDER 16** 

...did [forcibly/fraudulently] steal, take, and carry away _____ 
(name of victim), a child under the age of 16. 

NOTE: A parent of the victim may not be charged under this 
section. See CR 3-503. 

NOTE: Aiders, abettors, and counselors are charged as 
principles. 

NOTE: A defendant charged with this crime is eligible for a 
maximum of 30 years, as noted. However, if the defendant is 
also charged in the same proceeding with a violation of CR 3-
303 through CR 3-306 (First and Second Degree Rape and 
Sexual Offense), and if the victim of the sexual charge is also 
under the age of 16, the defendant may be eligible for a penalty 
of a life sentence without the possibility of parole, if the State's 
Attorney so elects. There is no requirement that the victim of 
both crimes be the same, but if not, both victims must be under 
16, and charged against the defendant in the same proceeding. 
If so, the defendant is not eligible for the life sentence without 
parole until the State's Attorney serves written notice upon the 
defendant, at least 30 days prior to trial, that the State is seeking 
that penalty. 

Note to Commissioners: Since the enhanced penalty of life 
without the possibility of parole does not attach as a possibility 
unless both crimes are charged, involving a victim or victims 
under 16, in the same proceeding, the initial appearance should 
be conducted normally. If the Statement of Probable cause 
indicates that the factual situation applies, but the required 
notice from the State's Attorney has not been served, this may 
be a consideration in your determination as to pre-trial release. 

IN THE EVENT that the initial appearance is conducted upon a 
District or Circuit Court Warrant to which a copy of the Notice 
to Defendant of the State's election to seek a Life Sentence 
Without the Possibility of Parole is attached, or to which other 
indication is attached that shows the State's Attorney has 
decided to seek the enhanced penalty, the Commissioner should 
place the Defendant on NO BAIL pending the bail review, and 
retain a copy of the notice or letter in the Court folder. 
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ABDUCTION 

 Child Under 12 

  CR 3-503(a)(i)(ii) 
FELONY 
20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
SUB. CONVICTION, 
ENHANCED PENALTY 
CR 14-101 

*1_1005* **ABDUCT CHILD UNDER 12** 

 
...did, without the color of right and against the consent of the 
[parent/lawful guardian] forcibly abduct, take and carry away, 
persuade, and entice ________ (name),  a child under the age of 
12 from his/her [home and usual place of abode/the custody and 
control of his/her parents/guardian], with the intent to deprive 
the [parent/guardian] of the custody, care, and control of 
_________(name of victim). 

 

 

  

  CR 3-503(a)(iii) 
FELONY 
20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0163* **HARBOR/ABDUCTED CHLD UN 12** 

 
...did knowingly secrete and harbor __________ (name), a child 
under the age of 12, who had been forcibly abducted, taken 
carried away and persuaded, and enticed from [his/her home 
and usual place of abode/the custody and control of his/her 
parent/ guardian] without the color of right and against the 
consent of the [parent/guardian] with the intent to deprive the 
[parent/guardian] of the custody, care, and control of 
_________(name of victim). 

 

NOTE: For the purposes of this section, the terms "usual place 
of abode", "home", and "house" include the real property 
appurtenant thereto. 
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CHILD ABUSE 

NOTE: The following notes apply to all Child abuse charges under this heading. 

NOTE:  1. Child means any individual under the age of 18 years. 

2. Abuse means the sustaining of physical injury by a child as a result of cruel or inhumane 
treatment or as a result of a malicious act by any parent or other person who has permanent or 
temporary care or custody or responsibility for supervision of a child, or by any household or 
family member, under circumstances that indicate that the childs health or welfare is harmed or 
threatened thereby; whether physical injuries are sustained or not. 

3. Sexual abuse means any act that involves sexual molestation or exploitation of a child by a 
parent or other person who has permanent or temporary care or custody or responsibility for 
supervision of a child, or by any household or family member. 

Sexual abuse includes, but is not limited to incest, rape, or sexual offense in any degree; sodomy 
and unnatural or perverted sexual practices. 

4. Family member means a relative of a child by blood, adoption, or marriage. 

5. Household member means a person who lives with, or is a regular presence in, a home of a 
child at the time of the alleged abuse. 

NOTE: A parent should always be charged under Child Abuse: Parent, or Child Abuse: Par-Res 
Death (if the victim died as a result of the abuse) because of the legal responsibilities of a parent 
to his or her child. 

A family or household member other than the parent or legal guardian should always be charged, 
using the appropriate wording, under Child Abuse: Parent,  or Child Abuse: Par-Res Death, 

UNLESS THE FAMILY OR HOUSEHOLD MEMBER HAS BEEN LEFT IN TEMPORARY 
CARE, CUSTODY, AND CONTROL OF THE VICTIM (for instance, as a baby-sitter). In that 
event, Child Abuse: Custodian, or Child Abuse: Cust-Res Death should be used along with the 
word temporary. 

A legal guardian should be charged under the appropriate custodian section using the word 
permanent. 

For purposes of this section, there is no difference between an adoptive parent and a natural 
parent. 

NOTE: For the purposes of this section, judicial construction has defined cruel and inhumane 
treatment by a parent or custodian (but not by a family or household member) to include a failure 
...to provide necessary medical care... if that failure was due to negligence and if it resulted in 
serious physical injury or death. This includes a situation where the child had already suffered 
injury and ...as a result... the child suffered bodily harm additional to that initially sustained as a 
consequence of the injury originally inflicted upon him. (State vs. Fabritz, 276 Md. 416, 424, 
425 -1975) 
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  CR 3-601(b) 
FELONY 
25 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0334* **CHILD ABUSE-1ST SEV PHYS INJURY** 

 
...did cause abuse that resulted in severe physical injury to 
_____ (name), a child under the age of 18, the defendant being 
a [parent/family member/ household member/ other person to 
wit: _____] who has [permanent/temporary 
care/custody/responsibility for the supervision] of said child, in 
violation of CR 3-601(b)(1)(ii) of the Annotated Code of 
Maryland. 

 

 

 

  CR 3-601(b) 
FELONY 
40 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

z*1_1639* **CHILD ABUSE-1ST DEGREE: DEATH** 

 
...did cause abuse that resulted in the death of ____ (name), a 
child under the age of 18, the defendant being a [parent/family 
member/ household member/ other person to wit: _____]who 
has [permanent/temporary care/custody/responsibility for the 
supervision] of said child, in violation of CR 3-601(b)(1)(i) of 
the Annotated Code of Maryland. 
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  CR 3-601(d) 
FELONY 
15 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0173* **CHILD ABUSE-2ND DEGREE: CUSTODIAN** 

 
...did cause abuse to ____, a child under 18 years of age, the 
defendant having [permanent/temporary] care,custody, and 
responsibility for the supervision of, said child, in violation of 
CR 3-601(d) of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

 

 

  

  CR 3-601(d) 
FELONY 
15 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_3802* **CHILD ABUSE- 2ND DEGREE: HOUSE** 

 
...did cause abuse to ____ (name), a child under 18 years of age, 
the defendant being a [parent of the child/other person: to wit 
____________], in violation of CR 3-601(d) of the Annotated 
Code of Maryland. 

 

 
 
 

  CR 3-602(b)(1) 
FELONY 
25 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0322* **SEX ABUSE MINOR** 

 
...did cause sexual abuse to ________ (name), a minor, the 
defendant being [parent/other person], to wit: ________ 
(position) who has [permanent/temporary] 
[care/custody/responsibility for supervision] of ______ (name). 
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  CR 3-602(b)(2) 
FELONY 
25 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0922* **SEX ABUSE MINOR** 

 
...did cause sexual abuse to ________ (name), a minor, the 
defendant being [a household member/a family member] of 
_________(name). 

 

 

 

 

  CR 3-602.1 (b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1614* ** NEGLECT OF MINOR  ** 

 
...did neglect ______(name) a minor, having been a 
[parent/family member to wit:_____/ household member/ 
person]  who had [permanent/ temporary] 
[care/custody/responsibilty] for the supervision of said minor. 

NOTE: See CR 3-602.1(a) for definition section. 

 

 

 

 

  CR 3-603 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0481* **CHILD SELLING** 

 
...did [sell/barter/trade/offer to sell/offer to barter/offer to trade] 
a child, to wit: ______ (name), for [money/property/ anything 
of value]. 
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VULNERABLE ADULT ABUSE OR NEGLECT 

 Causing Abuse or Neglect of Vulnerable Adult 

  CR 3-604(b) 
FELONY 
1ST DEGREE 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*2_1138* **VUL ADULT ABUSE PHYSICAL INJURY** 

 
...did cause [abuse to/neglect of] _________(name), a 
vulnerable adult, that  [resulted in the death of 
_______________/caused serious physical injury to 
________________/involved sexual abuse of __________], the 
defendant being a [parent/care giver/other person, to wit, 
___________(position)] who has [permanent care/temporary 
care/responsibility for the supervision of 
_____________(name)]. 

NOTE:  Includes abuse that is sexual abuse. 

 

  

  CR 3-605(b)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0466* **VUL ADULT ABUSE/CUSTODIAN** 

 
...did cause [abuse to/neglect of] _____, a vulnerable adult, the 
defendant being a [parent/care giver/other person, to wit: ___ 
(position)] who has [permanent care/temporary 
care/responsibility for the supervision] of ____ (name). 

NOTE: "Vulnerable adult" means an adult who lacks the 
physical or mental capacity to provide for the adult's daily 
needs. 

This section does not apply to sexual abuse of a vulnerable 
adult. 
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  CR 3-605(b)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_0350* **VUL ADULT ABUSE/FAM MEMBER** 

 
...did cause [abuse to/neglect of] __________, a vulnerable 
adult the defendant being a [household member/family 
member]. 

NOTE: A prosecution for an offense under this section shall be 
instituted within 2 years after the offense was committed. 

NOTE: "Abuse" means the sustaining of any physical injury by 
a vulnerable adult as a result of cruel or inhumane treatment, or 
as a result of a malicious act by a care giver, a parent or other 
person who has permanent or temporary care or custody or 
responsibility for the supervision of a vulnerable adult, or by 
any household member or family member under circumstances 
that indicate that the vulnerable adult's health or welfare is 
harmed or threatened. 

Does not apply to abuse that is sexual abuse. 

"Neglect" means the sustaining of serious physical harm by a 
vulnerable adult as the result of the wilful deprivation of 
adequate food, clothing, essential medical treatment or 
habilitative therapy, shelter, or supervision. 

"Care Giver" means a person under a duty to care for a 
vulnerable adult because of a contractual undertaking to 
provide care. 

"Household member" means an individual who lives with, or is 
a regular presence in, a home of a vulnerable adult at the time 
of the alleged abuse or neglect. 

"Family member" means a relative of a vulnerable adult by 
blood, marriage, adoption, or the marriage of a child. 
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 Hazing Students Prohibited 

  CR 3-607 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0103* **HAZE-STUDENT-SCH-COLL-UNIV** 

 
...did haze ____(name), a student at ______, (name school, 
college or university), causing said student serious bodily 
injury. 

NOTE: Haze means doing any act or causing any situation 
which recklessly or intentionally subjects a student to the risk 
of serious bodily injury, for the purpose of initiation into a 
student organization of a school, college, or university. 

The implied or expressed consent of a student to hazing may 
not be a defense under this section. 

 

 

  CR 3-608(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
3 YEARS 

 

*1_1002* 
**MISSING CHILD-FAIL TO REPORT ** 

 …did having [permanent care/custody/responsibility for 
supervision] of ___________(minor name/description) age 
________ under the age of 13 years [recklessly/willfully] fail to 
notify the appropriate law enforcement agency that the minor is 
a missing child within 24 hours of the time at which the 
[parent/other person] to wit:_____________ (position)  did 
knowingly or should have known that the minor is a missing 
child. 
 
Note:  This section does not apply if the fact that the minor is a 
missing child has already been reported to the appropriate law 
enforcement agency. Missing child means a child whose 
whereabouts are unknown to the parent or other person who has 
permanent care and custody or responsibility for the 
supervision of the minor. 
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  CR 3-609(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
3 YEARS 

 

*1_1003* 
**FAIL TO REPORT CHILD DEATH ** 

 …did having [permanent care/custody/responsibility for 
supervision] of ___________(minor name/description) age 
________ under the age of 18 years did not report the death of 
the minor to the appropriate [law enforcement/medical 
authority] within 5 hours of becoming aware of the death. 
 
Note: This section does not apply if the death of a minor has 
already been reported to the appropriate law enforcement 
agency or medical authority. 
 

 

  CR 3-701(b)(1)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000- 18 MOS 

 

*1_1286* 
**EXTORTION: VALUE LESS $1,000** 

 ...did [obtain/attempt to obtain/conspire with ________ (name) 
to obtain] by [actual/threat of] [force/violence/economic injury] 
[money/property/labor/services/anything of value] having a 
value of less than $1,000 from ______ (victim), in violation of 
CR 3-701(b) of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

 

  CR 3-701(b)(1)(2) 
FELONY 
$10,000 - 10 YRS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

 

*1_1204* 

**EXTORTION: VALUE  $1K TO < $10,000** 

 ...did [obtain/attempt to obtain/conspire with _______ (name) 
to obtain] by [actual/threat of] [force/violence/economic 
injury], [money/property/labor/services/anything of value] 
having a value of _____(amount), at least $1,000 but less than 
$10,000 from ______ (victim), in violation of CR 3-701(b) of 
the Annotated Code of Maryland. 
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  CR 3-701(b)(1)(2) 
FELONY 
$15,000 - 15 YRS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

 

*1_1206* 

**EXTORTION: VALUE $10K TO < $100,000** 

 ...did [obtain/attempt to obtain/conspire with _______ (name) 
to obtain] by [actual/threat of] [force/violence/economic 
injury], [money/property/labor/services/anything of value] 
having a value of _____(amount), at least $10,000 but less than 
$100,000 from ______ (victim), in violation of CR 3-701(b) of 
the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

 

  CR 3-701(b)(1)(2) 
FELONY 
$25,000 - 25 YRS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

 

*1_1207* 

**EXTORTION: VALUE $100,000 OR MORE** 

 ...did [obtain/attempt to obtain/conspire with _______ (name) 
to obtain] by [actual/threat of] [force/violence/economic 
injury], [money/property/labor/services/anything of value] 
having a value of _____(amount), $100,000 or more, in 
violation of CR 3-701(b) of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

 

  CR 3-701(b)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$1,000- 18 MOS 

*1_1209* 
**EXTORTION/ID DOC - LESS THAN $1,000 ** 

 … did [obtain/attempt to obtain/conspire with ______(name) to 
obtain] [money/property/labor/services/anything of value] by 
[destruction of/concealment of/removal of/confiscation 
of/possession of] [immigration/government] identification 
document with the intent to harm the immigration status of 
______(victim) having a value of less than $1,000. 
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  CR 3-701(b)(3) 
FELONY                                   
$10,000 - 10 YRS                       
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1210* 
**EXTORTION/ID DOC - $1K TO <$10K** 

 … did [obtain/attempt to obtain/conspire with ______(name) to 
obtain] [money/property/labor/services/anything of value] by 
[destruction of/concealment of/removal of/confiscation 
of/possession of] [immigration/government] identification 
document with the intent to harm the immigration status of 
______(victim) having a value of  _____(amount), at least  
$1,000 but less than $10,000. 

 

 

 

  CR 3-701(b)(3) 
FELONY                                  
$15,000 - 15 YRS                       
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1211* 
**EXTORTION/ID DOC - $10K TO <$100K** 

 … did [obtain/attempt to obtain/conspire with ______(name) to 
obtain] [money/property/labor/services/anything of value] by 
[destruction of/concealment of/removal of/confiscation 
of/possession of] [immigration/government] identification 
document with the intent to harm the immigration status of 
______(victim) having a value of  _____(amount), at least  
$10,000 but less than $100,000. 
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  CR 3-701(b)(3) 
FELONY                                   
$15,000 - 15 YRS                       
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1212* 
**EXTORTION/ID DOC - $10K TO <$100K** 

 … did [obtain/attempt to obtain/conspire with ______(name) to 
obtain] [money/property/labor/services/anything of value] by 
[destruction of/concealment of/removal of/confiscation 
of/possession of] [immigration/government] identification 
document with the intent to harm the immigration status of 
______(victim) having a value of  _____(amount), at least  
$10,000 but less than $100,000. 

 

 

  CR 3-701(b)(3) 
FELONY                                   
$25,000 - 25 YRS                       
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1213* 
**EXTORTION/ID DOC - $100K +** 

 … did [obtain/attempt to obtain/conspire with ______(name) to 
obtain] [money/property/labor/services/anything of value] by 
[destruction of/concealment of/removal of/confiscation 
of/possession of] [immigration/government] identification 
document with the intent to harm the immigration status of 
______(victim) having a value of  _____(amount), $100,000 or 
more. 
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 Extortion by State or Local Officer of Employee-Generally 

  CR 3-702 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 -18 MOS 

*1_1214* 
**EXTORTN GOV EMP: VAL - $1,000** 

 ...did, being ______ (name position, see note) of ______ 
(county or agency, see note) [obtain/attempt to obtain] by 
extortion _____ [money, property, other thing of value], having 
a value of less than $1,000 from ______ (victim). 

NOTE: Prosecution under CR 3-702 must be initiated within 5 
years of the date of the offense. The statute covers officers and 
employees of the State of Maryland, the counties, Baltimore 
City, a municipality, and bi-county and multi-county agencies 

 

  CR 3-702 
FELONY 
$10,000 - 10 YRS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1215* 
**EXTORTN GOV EMPL VAL $1K TO <$10K** 

 ...did, being ____ (name position, see note) of ______ (county 
or agency, see note) [obtain/attempt to obtain] by extortion 
______ (money, property, other thing of value), having a value 
of ____(amount), at least $1,000.00 but less than $10,000 from 
______ (victim). 

 

 

  CR 3-702 
FELONY 
$15,000 - 15 YRS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1216* 
**EXTORTN GOV EMPL VAL $10K TO <$100K** 

 ...did, being ____ (name position, see note) of ______ (county 
or agency, see note) [obtain/attempt to obtain] by extortion 
______ (money, property, other thing of value), having a value 
of ____(amount), at least $10,000.00 but less than $100,000 
from ______ (victim). 
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  CR 3-702 
FELONY 
$15,000 - 15 YRS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1217* 
**EXTORTN GOV EMPL VAL 100K +** 

 ...did, being ____ (name position, see note) of ______ (county 
or agency, see note) [obtain/attempt to obtain] by extortion 
______ (money, property, other thing of value), having a value 
of ____(amount), at least $10,000.00 but less than $100,000 
from ______ (victim). 

 

 

 

 Extortion by State or Local Officer or Employee 
Against Another 

  CR 3-703 
FELONY 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*4_2100* **EXTORTION-BETWEEN GOVT OFF** 

 
...did, being ______ (defendant's position, see note) of _______ 
(defendant's county or agency, see note), by force, intimidation, 
and threat, induce ______ (victim) to give up $_______, a part 
of the compensation to which said victim was entitled as 
__________ (victim's position, see note) of ________ (victim's 
county or agency, see note). 

NOTE: The defendant under CR 3-703 can be any officer or 
employee of the State of Maryland, any of its counties or 
Baltimore City, a municipality, or any bi county or multi county 
agency. The victim can be any officer or employee of any of 
these, or any person employed in any way in work financed in 
whole or in part by any of these. 
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 Extorting by False Accusation 

  CR 3-704(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1700* **EXTORT INT/FALS ACCUSATION** 

 
...[did/did threaten to] falsely accuse _____ (victim) of a crime, 
to wit: _____, with the intent to extort 
[money/property/labor/services/anything of value] from said 
victim. 

 

  

  CR 3-704(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1701* **EXTORT INT/SLANDER** 

 
...[did/did threaten to] falsely accuse _____ (victim) of ______ 
(brief statement of accusation), which, if true, would tend to 
bring said person into disrepute and contempt, with the intent to 
extort [money/property/labor/services/anything of value] from 
said person. 

 

  

  CR 3-705(a)(1) 
FELONY 
10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1702* **VERBAL EXTORTION/THRT SLANDER** 

 
...did verbally threaten to accuse ____ (name) of _____ 
(accusation) which, if true, would bring _____ (name) into 
contempt and disrepute, with the intent to extort and gain 
[money/property/labor/services/anything of value] from said 
person. 
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  CR 3-705(a)(1) 
FELONY 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1703* **VERBAL EXTORTION/THRT SLANDER** 

 
...did verbally threaten to accuse _____(name) of ______ 
(indictable crime) with the intent to extort and gain 
[money/property/labor/services/anything of value] from said 
person. 

 

 

 Extortion Verbal Threat 

  CR 3-705(a)(2) 
FELONY 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1704* **VERBAL EXTORTION/THRT INJURY** 

 
...did verbally threaten _____ (name of victim) with injury to 
the person and property of ______ (name of victim or third 
party) with the intent to extort and gain 
[money/property/labor/services/anything of value] from said 
person. 
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THREATS & THREATENING LETTERS 

 Sending, Delivering, etc For Extortion or To State 
Official 

  CR 3-706(b)(1) 
FELONY 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1705* **PRINT EXTORT THREAT/OF CRIME** 

 
...did knowingly [send/deliver/make for the purpose of being 
sent/did part with the possession of] a letter and writing to 
_____ (name) threatening to accuse said person of ________ 
(indictable crime) with the intent to extort and gain money, 
goods and chattels from said person. 

 

  

  CR 3-706(b)(1) 
FELONY 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1706* **PRINT EXTORT THREAT/OF LIBEL** 

 
...did knowingly [send/deliver/make for the purpose of being 
sent/did part with the possession of] a letter and writing to ____ 
(name victim) threatening to accuse said person of _____ 
(accusation) which, if true would bring said person into 
disrepute and contempt, with the intent to gain and extort 
money, goods, and chattels from the said person. 
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  CR 3-706(b)(2) 
FELONY 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1707* **THREATS-SEND/DELIVER-INJURY** 

 
...did knowingly [send/deliver/make for the purpose of being 
sent/did part with the possession of] a letter and writing to 
_____ (recipient or addressee) threatening said person with 
injury to the person and property of ______(receipient, 
addressee or third party), with the intent to extort and gain 
money, goods, and chattels from said person. 

 
 
 
 
 Coercing/Intimidating Another Contribute/Donate 

  CR 3-707 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_2100* **THREAT OR COERCE TO DONATE** 

 
...did engage in _____ (describe activity) with the intent to 
coerce and intimidate _____ (name) to [contribute/donate] 
[goods/materials/services/ monies] to _____ a 
[social/economic/political] [organization/association]. 

NOTE: For the purpose of this section, "extortion" means the 
wrongful obtaining of the property from another with his 
consent, which consent was obtained under color or pretence of 
office, or under color of official right, or by wrongful use of 
actual or threatened force or violence. 
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 Against State Officials To Injure, Kidnap Kill 

  CR 3-708(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0477* **THREAT/ST OFFICIAL/TO INJURE** 

 
...did knowingly and wilfully make a threat to [take the life of/ 
kidnap/cause bodily injury] to [a State Official/a Local 
Official/a Deputy State’s Attorney/an Assistant State’s 
Attorney/an Assistant Public Defender] to wit: _____(name). 

 

  

  CR 3-708(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0478* **THREAT/ST OFFICIAL/SENT** 

 
...did knowingly [send/deliver/part with/make for the purpose 
of sending/make for the purpose of delivering] a threat to [take 
the life of/kidnap/cause bodily injury] to ____ (name), [a State 
Official/a Local Official/a Deputy State’s Attorney/an Assistant 
State’s Attorney/an Assistant Public Defender]. 

NOTE: "State Official" means a member or member-elect of 
the General Assembly, a judge or judge-elect of a court created 
by Article IV, 1232 or a constitutional officer, District Court 
Commissioner, masters, examiners, auditors, or officer-elect in 
an executive agency of the State government. 

"Local Official" means an individual serving in a publicly 
elected office of a local government unit (county; municipal 
corporation; special district established by State law; special 
district that is established by a county; or an office, board, or 
department that is established by State law). See Section 10-
101(d) of the State Government Article. 

"State Official" includes the Governor, Governor-elect, 
Lieutenant Governor, and Lieutenant Governor-elect. 

NOTE: "Threat" includes a oral threat or a threat in any written 
form, whether or not the writing is signed, or if it is signed 
whether or not the writing is signed with a fictitious name or 
any other mark. 
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HARASSMENT AND STALKING 

 Stalking 

  CR 3-802(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_6525* **STALKING** 

...did engage in stalking _____ (name of person). 

NOTE:  See CR 3-802 for conduct that does not apply. 

NOTE: "Course of conduct" means a persistent pattern of 
conduct, composed of a series of acts over a period of time, that 
evidences a continuity of purpose. 

"Stalking" means a malicious course of conduct that includes 
approaching or pursuing another person where a person intends 
to place or knows or reasonably should have known the conduct 
would place another in reasonable fear of: 

   I.   serious bodily injury; 

   II.  assault in any degree; 

   III.  rape or sexual offense as defined by CR 3-303    

         through 3-308, or attempted rape or sexual      

         offense in any degree; 

   IV.  false imprisonment; or 

   V.  death; or 

That a third person likely will suffer any of the acts listed 
above. 

(Note for charge 1-6525 continued on page 93) 
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NOTE: A police officer may arrest a person without a warrant 
if the police officer has probable cause to believe a stalking has 
been committed, the police officer has reason to believe that the 
alleged stalking victim or a third person is in danger of 
imminent bodily harm or death and the probable cause is 
supported by credible evidence other than statements of the 
alleged stalking victim. An officer may also arrest a person 
without a warrant if so authorized by CP 2-202. 

NOTE: Under CP 5-201, if a defendant is charged with stalking 
under CR 3-802(b) and is released pretrial, the court or district 
court commissioner shall consider including as a condition of 
release reasonable protection for the safety of the alleged 
victim. 

 

 Harassment 

  CR 3-803 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0191* **HARASS; A COURSE OF CONDUCT** 

 
...did without a legal purpose, maliciously engage in a course of 
conduct that [alarmed/seriously annoyed] _____ (victim), with 
intent to [harass/alarm/and annoy] _____ (victim), after 
[warning/request] to desist. 

NOTE: In this section, "course of conduct" means a persistent 
pattern of conduct, composed of a series of acts over a period of 
time, that evidences a continuity of purpose. 

This section does not apply to any peaceable activity intended 
to express political views or provide information to others. 

The request to desist can be made by the victim or someone 
acting on behalf of the victim. 

Subsequent offense carries a maximum of 180 days and/or a 
fine not exceeding $1,000. 
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  CR 3-803 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_5406* **HARASS FOL. ANOTH W/INT TO** 

 
...did without a legal purpose, follow ____ (victim) [in/about] 
_____, a public place, with the intent to [harass/alarm/annoy] 
_____(victim) after [warning/request] to desist. 

NOTE: Subsequent offense carries a maximum of 180 days 
and/or a fine not exceeding $1,000. 

 

 

TELEPHONE MISUSE 

 Unlawful Use 

  CR 3-804(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_5309* **TEL MISUSE: SINGLE CALL** 

 
...did use telephone facilities and equipment for an anonymous 
call in a manner to [annoy/abuse/torment/harass/ embarrass] 
____, (victim). 

NOTE: This language is to be used for a single call (other than 
an obscene call, see below) in which the caller failed or refused 
to identify himself or herself. In order for probable cause to be 
found, the facts must indicate some method by which the caller 
was identified. 
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  CR 3-804(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0340* **TEL MISUSE: REPEAT CALLS** 

 
...did use telephone facilities and equipment for repeated calls, 
with intent to [annoy/abuse/torment/harass/embarrass] _____ 
(victim). 

NOTE: This language is to be used for multiple calls (other 
than obscene calls, see below) whether anonymous or 
otherwise. If anonymous, in order for probable casue to be 
found, the facts must indicate some method by which the caller 
was identified. 

 

  

  CR 3-804(a)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0341* **TEL MISUSE: OBSCENE** 

 
...did use telephone facilities and equipment for 
[comment/request/ suggestion/proposal which]  was 
[obscene/lewd/lascivious/filthy/indecent] to ____ (victim). 

NOTE: This language is to be used for obscene calls, single or 
multiple, whether or not anonymous, If anonymous, in order for 
probable cause to be found, the facts must indicate some 
method by which the caller was identified. 
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 Electronic Mail 

  CR 3-805 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_1135* **ELEC MAIL HARASS** 

 
… did without legal purpose, maliciously engage in a course of 
conduct, through the use of electronic communication that 
[alarmed/seriously annoyed] ______ (name) with the intent to 
[harass/alarm/annoy] ____(name), after receiving a reasonable 
[warning/request to stop] by ______(name) [for/ on behalf of] 
[himself/herself/another to wit: _____]. 
 
NOTE: To find probable cause under this section, the statement 
of probable cause must include some indication that the named 
person or persons actually received the electronic mail. The 
sender may be charged where the e-mail was sent or received. 

 

  CR 3-805 (b)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0653* **ELEC MAIL HARASS-MINOR** 

 ...did use an interactive computer service to maliciously engage 
in a course of conduct that [inflicted serious emotional distress 
on a minor_____(name)/placed a minor _____(name) in 
reasonable fear of death/placed a minor _____(name) in 
reasonable fear of serious bodily injury] with the intent to [kill 
the minor/injure the minor/harass the minor/cause serious 
emotional distress to the minor/place the minor in reasonable 
fear of death/place the minor in reasonable fear of serious 
bodily injury.  
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 Laser Pointers 

  CR 3-806 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 

*2_0070* **LASER POINTERS - PROHIBITED** 

 
...did knowingly use a laser pointer to illuminate in a public 
place _______________(name) in a manner that 
[harassed/endangered] the said _______________. 

NOTE: Laser pointer is defined as any device that emits light 
amplified by the stimulated emission of radiation that is visible 
to the human eye. 

NOTE: This section does not apply to the use of a laser pointer: 
(1) for educational purposes by individuals engaged in an 
organized meeting or training class; or (2) during the normal 
course of work or trade activities. 

 

 

  CR 3-807(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 – 3 YEARS 

*1_1001* **LASER POINTERS - AIRPLANE** 

 
...did knowingly and willfully [shine/point/focus] the beam of a 
laser pointer on an individual operating an aircraft. 

NOTE: Does not apply to the use of a laser pointer by those 
listed in CR 3-806(b). 

NOTE: Laser pointer defined in CR 3-806(a). 
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VISUAL SURVEILLANCE 

 Private Place 

  CR 3-901(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0013* **PEEPING TOM.** 

 
...did [conduct/procure ____ (name) to conduct] visual 
surveillance of another person in a private place without the 
consent of that person in that place. 

NOTE: See Section for Definitions. 

NOTE: This section does not require proof of "prurient intent" 
as is required in CR 3-902. 

 

 Private Place - Prurient Intent 

  CR 3-902(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*3_5715* **PRIV. PL. - PRURIENT INTENT** 

 
...did, with prurient intent, [conduct/procure 
_______________(name) to conduct] visual surveillance of 
another person in a private place without the consent of that 
person in that place. 

NOTE: See Section for definitions and exclusions. 

NOTE: This Section, unlike CR 3-902, requires "prurient 
intent" and expands the definition of "private place." 
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 Private Residence 

  CR 3-903(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1759* **CAMERA - PRIVATE RESIDENCE** 

 
...did [place/procure _______________(name) to place] a 
camera on real property on which is located a private residence 
for the purpose of conducting deliberate surreptitious 
observations of a person inside said residence. 

NOTE: See Section for exclusions. 

 

 Legislative Declaration; Unlawful Picketing or 
Assembly, etc. 

  CR 3-904( c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_5307* **DISTURBANCE DWELLING/PICKET** 

 
...did engage in picketing before and about the residence and 
dwelling of ______(name) at ______(address). 

 

  

  CR 3-904(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0345* **DISTURB: DWELLING/ASSEMBLY** 

 
...did intentionally assemble with another person to disrupt the 
right to tranquillity of ______(name) in his home and dwelling. 

NOTE: This section found unconstitutional in State v. Schuller, 
280 Md. 305 (1977), but you should not take this into account 
when determining probable cause. 
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LETTERS - WRONGFULLY OPENING 

 Opening Letters w/o Permission 

  CR 3-905 
MISDEMEANOR 
$15.00 - 6 DAYS 

*1_5706* **LETTERS-OPEN W/O PERM** 

 
...did take and break open a letter addressed to  

______(name), without [his/her] permission. 

 

CARRYING OR WEARING WEAPON 

NOTE: Included in deadly or dangerous weapons are a dirk knife, bowie knife, switchblade 
knife, star knife, sandclub, metal knuckles, a razor and a nunchaku. Not included are penknives 
without switchblades, or handguns. 

NOTE: As used in this section, a "star knife" is a device used as a throwing weapon, consisting 
of several sharp or pointed blades arrayed as radially disposed arms about a central disk. 

As used in this section, a "nunchaku" is a device consisting of two pieces, wood, metal, plastic, 
or other like substance connected by any chain, rope, leather or other flexible material not 
exceeding 24 inches in length. 

NOTE: Carrying or wearing chemical mace, pepper mace, or a tear gas device concealed is not 
made illegal by this section if the defendant is an adult. Carrying such a device openly with 
intent to injure is charged under CR 4-101. The appropriate choices are provided in the wording 
below. 

NOTE: The possession of pepper mace by a juvenile is a criminal charge under CR 4-101, but 
does not carry automatic adult jurisdiction. 
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 Concealed Weapon-Carrying Openly W/Intent to 
Injure, Etc. 

  CR 4-101(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_5200* **MACE/CHEM DEVICE-INT/INJURE** 

 
...did openly wear and carry [chemical mace/pepper mace/ a 
tear gas device],with the intent and purpose of causing injury to 
[_______(name)/others] in an unlawful manner. 

 

  

  CR 4-101(c)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_5202* **DANGEROUS WEAPON-CONCEAL** 

 
...did [wear and carry] _________ (state weapon), a dangerous 
weapon, concealed [on/about] [his/her] person. 

 

  

  CR 4-101(c)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_5200* **DANGEROUS WEAPON-INT/INJURE** 

 
...did openly wear and carry _____ (state weapon), a dangerous 
weapon, with the intent and purpose of causing injury to 
[____(name/others] in an unlawful manner. 
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  CR 4-102 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_5203* **DANGEROUS WPN ON SCHOOL PROP** 

 
...did carry and possess ____ (name or describe weapon) upon 
public school property located at _____ (address). 

NOTE: This section applies to all dangerous weapons in CR 4-
101(c) in reference to all firearms, including rifles and 
handguns. 

See CR 4-102(a) for exceptions. 

 
 
 
 
  CR 4-103 

FELONY 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1460* **DISARM LAW OFFICER** 

 
...did knowingly [remove/attempt to remove] a firearm from the 
possession of _____ (victim), knowing and having reason to 
know that said victim was acting within the course and scope of 
employment and was employed as: (pick one) 

1. a law enforcement officer who, in an official capacity is 
authorized by law to make arrest; 

2. a sheriff;  

3. a deputy sheriff; 

4. an assistant sheriff; 

5. an employee of the Division of Correction;  

6. an employee of the Patuxtent Institute;  

7. an employee of the Division of Pretrial Detention and    

   Services;  

8. an employee of the Division of Parole and Probation;  

9. an employee of _______ [County Jail/ Detention Center]; 

10. an employee of a booking facility, to wit: ____ (name 
facility). 
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  CR 4-104 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 

*2_0239* **FIREARMS-ACCESS BY MINORS** 

 
...did store and leave a loaded firearm in a location where 
______ (name of defendant) [knew/should have known] that an 
unsupervised minor under 16 years of age would gain access to 
the firearm. 

NOTE: Firearm means pistol, revolver, rifle, shotgun, short-
barreled rifle, short-barreled shot gun or any firearm except 
antique firearms as defined by Art. 27, Sec. 36F. 

"Minor" means an individual under the age of 16. 

NOTE: Section does not apply if:  

1. Minor's access supervised by person 18 years or older; 

2. Minor's access obtained as result of unlawful entry; 

3. Firearm in possession or control of law enforcement officer 
engaged in official duties; 

4. Minor has certificate of firearm and hunter safety as set forth 
in section 10-301.1 of Natural Resources Article. 
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 Sale, etc. Unlawful 

  CR 4-105(a)(1)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 12 MONTHS 

*1_5214* **KNIFE SALE ETC SWITCHBLADE** 

 
...did [sell/barter/display/offer to sell/offer to barter] a [switch 
blade knife/shooting knife]. 

NOTE: A switchblade knife is one which opens automatically 
by hand pressure applied to a button, spring or other device in 
the handle. 

A "shooting knife" is a device designed to propel a knife from a 
metal sheath by means of a high-compression ejector spring. 

 

 

  

  CR 4-106 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1450* **WEAR BULLETPROOF ARMOR** 

 
...did wear bulletproof body armor in the commission of a 
[crime of violence/drug trafficking crime] as defined in [CR 14-
101/CR 5-621A], Annotated Code of Maryland, to wit: 
____________________. 
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  CR 4-107 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1451* **POSS ARMOR AFTR CONVICTION** 

 
...did possess bulletproof body armor after having been 
convicted of a drug trafficking crime in violation of CR 5-
621A. 

 
 
 
 
  

  CR 4-107(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1449* **POSS BULLETPROOF ARMOR** 

 
...did [use/possess/purchase] bulletbroof body armor after a 
previous conviction of a [crime of violence/drug trafficking 
crime] and does not hold a valid permit. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 4-109(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 – 2 Months 

*1_0595* **POSS ELEC CTRL DEVICE** 

 
...did [possess/use] an electronic control device after being 
convicted of a violation of [CR 5-602/CR 5-603/CR 5-604/CR 
5-605/CR 5-606/CR 5-613/CR 5-614/a crime of violence.] 
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  CR 4-109(e)(2) 

FELONY 
$5,000.00 – 3 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0596* **USE ELEC CTRL DEVICE – CRIME OF VIOL** 

 
...did commit a crime of violence to wit: _______, while [in 
possession of/using]  an electronic control device and after 
being convicted of a violation of [CR 5-602/CR 5-603/CR 5-
604/CR 5-605/CR 5-606/CR 5-613/CR 5-614/a crime of 
violence]. 

 

  CR 4-110 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1284* **RES FIREARM AMMO–CRM VIOLNCE** 

 
... did during and in relation to the commission of a crime of 
violence to wit: ____(describe), [possess/use] restricted firearm 
ammunition. 

NOTE: See CR 4-110 (a) for definition of restricted firearm 
ammunition. 

NOTE: See CR 14-101 for definition of crime of violence. 
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HANDGUNS 

  CR 4-203 
MISDEMEANOR 
(PENALTY SEC. 4-203 (c ) 
SEE NOTE:  PENALTIES 

*1_0175* **HANDGUN IN VEHICLE** 

 
...did wear, carry and knowingly transport a handgun in a 
vehicle upon the public roads, highways, waterways, airways 
and parking lots generally used by the public. 

NOTE: See 4-203(b) for exceptions. 

NOTE:  Refer to CR 4-203(c) for appropriate penalty, including 
reference for subsequent convictions and or school property. 

Penalty - (See statute for additional information - enhanced 
penalty for subsequent conviction.) 

NOTE:  If the person has not been previously convicted under 
CR 4-101 or CR 4-102 or CR 4-103 or CR 4-104: 

The person is subject to imprisonment for not less than 30 days 
and not exceeding 3 years or a fine of not less than $250 and 
not exceeding $2,500 or both; or if the person violates CR 4-
203(a)(1)(iii) - (while on the property of a public school in the 
State) the person shall be sentenced to imprisonment for not 
less than 90 days; or if the person violates CR 4-203(a)(1)(iv) - 
(with the deliberate purpose of injuring or killing another 
person) the person is subject to imprisonment for not less than 5 
years and not exceeding 10 years. 
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  CR 4-203 
MISDEMEANOR 
SEE NOTE: PENALTIES 

*1_5212* **HANDGUN ON PERSON** 

 
...did wear, carry and transport a handgun upon and about their 
person. 

NOTE: See 4-203(b) for exceptions. 

 

  

  CR 4-204 (b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
SEE NOTE: PENALTIES 
SUB. CONVICTION, 
ENHANCED PENALTY 

*1_5299* **FIREARM USE/FEL-VIOL CRIME** 

...did use a firearm in the commission of a [felony/crime of 
violence]. 

NOTE:  See CR 4-204(a) for definition of “firearm”. 

NOTE: Any felony will suffice to satisfy this statute. A "crime 
of violence" is defined in PS 5-101 or any felony and includes 
the common-law attempts at such crimes, and 1st & 2nd degree 
assault. 

NOTE:  To find probable cause under this section, the handgun 
must have been used in a felony or crime of violence as 
defined. 

NOTE:   Use in commission of felony or crime of violence 
under  PS 5-101 or any felony whether the firearm is operable 
or inoperable at the time of the crime; 

(Note for charge 1-5299 continued on page 109) 
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a. First offense, 5 to 20 years, 5 years mandatory. No parole for 
5 years. 

b. Second or subsequent offense, 5 to 20 years, 5  years 
minimum consecutive sentence with any other sentence 
imposed for the crime of violence or felony. 

NOTE: PS 5-101 defines "crime of violence" as meaning: 

1. Abduction;  

2. Arson in the first degree; 

3. Assault in the first or second degree; 

4. Burglary in the first, second or third degree; 

5. Carjacking and armed carjacking; 

6. Escape in the first degree; 

7. Kidnapping; 

8. Voluntary manslaughter; 

9. Maiming as previously proscribed under Art. 27-386; 

10. Mayhem as previously proscribed under Art. 27-384; 

11. Murder in the first or second degree; 

12. Rape in the first or second degree; 

13. Robbery; 

14. Robbery with a dangerous weapon; 

15. Sexual offense in the first, second or third degree; 

16. An attempt to commit any of the crimes listed in 1-15; 

17. Assault with intent to commit any of the crimes listed in 1-
15; of the sub-section; or 

18. A crime punishable by imprisonment for more than 1 year. 

 NOTE: Crimes of violence carrying mandatory sentences are 
also defined in CR 14-101(a). 
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FIREARMS 

 Demonstration in Public Place 

  CR 4-208(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*3_5299* **FIREARM DEMONST PUB PLACE** 

 
...did have on and about [his/her] person a firearm [at a 
demonstration in a public place/in a vehicle within 1000 feet of 
a demonstration in a public place] after being told by a law 
enforcement officer that a demonstration was occurring at the 
public place and being ordered by the law enforcement officer 
to leave the area of the demonstration. 

NOTE: Law enforcement officers excepted. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 4-303 

(PENALTY SEC. CR 4-306)   
MISDEMEANOR                     
$5,000.00-3 YEARS 

*3_5250* **ASSAULT WEAPON ROSTER VIO** 

…did unlawfully [possess in/sell in/offer to sell in/transfer 
in/purchase in/receive in/transport into] Maryland, an assault 
weapon, to wit: ______ (describe weapon). 

Note: See CR 4-303(b) for exceptions. 

Note:  An assault weapon includes an assault long gun, an 
assault pistol, or a copy cat weapon. See CR 4-301 for 
definitions and list of applicable firearms. 
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  CR 4-305 

PENALTY CR 4-306                
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*3_5255* **DETACH MAG OVER 10 RNDS** 

 
...did unlawfully [manufacture/sell/offer for sale/purchase/ 
receive/transfer] a detachable magazine with a capacity of more 
than 10 rounds of ammunition. 

Note:  See CR 4-305(a) for exceptions. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 4-306(b)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 
PENALTY - See Notes 

*3_5260* **ASSAULT WEAPON/ MAG. USE** 

 
...did use [an assault weapon/a magazine with a capacity of 
more than 10 rounds of ammunition] in the commission of [a 
felony, to wit: _____/any crime of violence as defined in CR 
14-101, to wit: _____]. 

NOTE: To be charged under this section, the weapon must be 
an assault weapon as defined in CR 4-301.  

NOTE: Subsequent Offense Penalties:  

1. 1st Offense: 5 to 20 years (minimum 5 years, no part 
suspended.) 

2. 2nd or Subsequent Offense: 10 to 20 years (minimum 10 
years served consecutively to any other sentence.) 
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 Manufacturer's Register; Inspection of Stock 

  CR 4-403 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 

*3_5200* **MCHNGUN: FAIL KEEP REGISTER** 

 
...did fail to maintain a register showing the serial number of all 
machine guns which he manufactured. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 4-403(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 

*3_5201* **MCHN GUN: FAIL SHOW REGISTER** 

 
...did, after demand by _____ (name and title of Police Officer, 
Marshal, or Sheriff) of _____ [county/city], refuse and fail to 
produce for inspection the register of machine guns required to 
be kept under CR 4-403 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: CR 4-403 applies to manufacturers only. 
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 Use for Crime 

  CR 4-404 
FELONY 
20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_5299* **MACHINE GUN-USE FOR CRIME** 

 
...did [possess/use] a machine gun in the [perpetration/ 
attempted perpetration] of a crime of violence, to wit: _______. 

NOTE: Machine gun is defined as a weapon, loaded or 
unloaded, from which more than one shot or bullet may be 
automatically discharged from a magazine by a single function 
of the firing device. 

Crimes of Violence includes perpetration or attempt to 
perpetrate murder, manslaughter, rape, kidnapping, mayhem, 
assault in the first degree, under CR 3-402 or 403, burglary in 
any degree, theft, and escape in the first degree. 
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 Use for Aggressive Purpose 

  CR 4-405(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
10 YEARS 

*1_1314* **MACH GUN AGGRESSIVE PURPOSE** 

...did possess and use a machine gun, to wit: ____ (describe 
weapon), for an aggressive and offensive purpose (choose 
appropriate wording below): 

1. in that the said machine gun was not registered as required by 
CR 4-403 of the Annotated Code of Maryland; 

2. in that the said machine gun was on premises not owned or 
rented by the defendant; 

3. in that shells for the said machine gun were found in the 
immediate vicinity of the said machine gun (see note below);  

4. in that the said machine gun was in the possession of an 
unnaturalized foreign-born person, to wit: _____ (name); 

5. in that the said machine gun was in the possession of 
defendant, who had been previously convicted of a crime of 
violence, to wit: _____ (name crime); 

6. to wit: ____ (name crime other than crime of violence as 
defined in CR 14-101). 

NOTE: There is no precise definition of "aggressive" or 
"offensive" purpose in the statute. In CR 4-405, a machine gun 
is presumed to be possessed for such a purpose under certain 
circumstances. These are presented in the first five choices in 
the above charge. If the machine gun was possessed or used in a 
crime of violence as defined in CR 14-101, the defendant 
should be charged under CR 4-404. If the machine gun was 
possessed or used in the perpetration of any other crime or 
attempted crime, the defendant should be charged under CR 4-
405, using the  

NOTE: Under CR 4-405, if the machine gun was found in close 
proximity to shells, it does not matter whether the shells were 
empty or loaded as long as they could be used in that machine 
gun. 

NOTE EXCEPTIONS SET FORTH IN SECTION 4-402. sixth 
choice or wording. 
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DESTRUCTIVE DEVICES 

NOTE: The Acts of 1997 revised the laws on explosives to consolidate the law on this subject 
and to ensure that the creation of any device intended to cause damage to property or injury to 
persons by way of explosion, fire, or poison is covered by the law. This revision does not 
prohibit or regulate any materials that are currently legal and commonly used in households and 
in business. This subheading would apply to such materials only when they are intentionally 
combined with a delivery system so as to create a destructive capacity for which they were never 
intended. Items that have legitimate uses become subject to the provisions of this subheading 
when a person uses them for a criminal purpose. 

 

  

  CR 4-503(a)(1) 
FELONY 
$250,000.00 - 25 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0720* **DEST DEVICE MAN/POS/DIST** 

 
...did 
knowingly[manufacture/transport/possess/control/store/sell/ 

distribute/use] _______ a destructive device. 

NOTE: "Destructive Device" means explosive, incendiary, or 
toxic material that has been combined with a delivery or 
detonating apparatus so as to be capable of inflicting injury to 
persons or damage to property. 
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  CR 4-503(a)(2) 
FELONY 
$250,000.00 - 25 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0725* **POSS EXPL/INCEND W/INTENT** 

 
...did possess [explosive/incendiary/toxic] material with intent 
to create a destructive device. 

NOTE: "Explosive material" means material which explodes 
when detonated and has a destructive capability, including: 
dynamite, ammonium nitrate, natural gas, oxygen cannisters. 

"Incendiary material" means a flammable or combustible liquid, 
and includes gasoline, acetone, benzene, butane, jet fuel, fuel 
oil, kerosene, and diesel fuel. 

"Toxic material" is defined as material which is capable of 
causing death or serious bodily injury almost immediately on 
being absorbed through the skin, inhaled, or ingested. It 
includes nerve gas, mustard gas, cyanide gas, chlorine gas, 
sulphuric acid, their precursors, and biological substances 
containing disease organisms. See CR 4-501 for complete 
definitions and exclusions. 
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HEALTH - CONTROLLED DANGEROUS SUBSTANCES 

Section 5-202 of the Criminal Law Article allows the Maryland Department of Health and 
Mental Hygiene (the “Department”) to add substances to the schedule list of controlled 
dangerous substances.  If a substance is adopted as a controlled dangerous substance by the the 
Department, it may apply to CDS charges under Title 5 of the Criminal Law Article. 

 Schedules I & II - Order Forms Required for 
Distribution 

  CR 5-303(d) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_3550* **CDS-DISTRIBUTE** 

 
...did distribute a [controlled dangerous substance/controlled 
dangerous substance analogue] of schedule ____, to wit: ___, 
the defendant not [being a registrant/acting pursuant to a proper 
order form]. 

NOTE: This section applies only to Controlled Dangerous 
Substances of Schedules I and II. 

 

 

 Opiates-Without Prescription Schedule II 

  CR 5-501 
MISDEMEANOR 
1ST: $1,000.00 
2ND: $2,000.00 
MORE THAN 2ND 
OFFENSE - 18 MONTHS 

*1_0031* **CDS OPIATE W/O PRESCRIPT.** 

 
...did dispense a [controlled dangerous substance/controlled 
dangerous substance analogue] of schedule ____, to wit: ____, 
without a valid prescription from a duly authorized prescriber in 
this state. 
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  CR 5-601 
MISDEMEANOR 
$25,000.00 - 4 YEARS 

*1_0247* **CDS: ADMIN - NOT MARIJUANA** 

 
...did administer to ____________ (name) a controlled 
dangerous substance of schedule ____, to wit: _____. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  

  CR 5-601 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 – 1 YEAR 

*1_0567* **CDS: ADMINISTER - MARIJUANA** 

 
...did administer to ____________ (name) a controlled 
dangerous substance of schedule ____, to wit: _____. 
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  CR 5-601(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0573* **CDS: POSSESSION –MARIJUANA ** 

 
...did possess a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule I, to 
wit: Marijuana. 

 

 
 
 
 
  

  CR 5-601(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 – 90 days 

*1_1635* **CDS: POSSESSION –MARIJUANA L/T 10 GRAMS ** 

 
...did possess a controlled dangerous substance of schedule I, to 
wit: Marijuana, in the amount less than 10 grams. 

NOTE:  Unless specifically charged by the State, the use or 
possession of less than 10 grams of marihuana under CR 5-601 
(c)(2)(II)(1) may not be considered a lesser included crime of 
any other crime. 

 
 
 
 
  

  CR 5-601(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$25,000.00 - 4 YEARS 

*4_3550* **CDS: POSSESS-NOT MARIJUANA** 

 
...did possess a controlled dangerous substance of schedule 
_______, to wit: ______. 
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  CR 5-601(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$25,000.00 - 4 YEARS 

*1_0248* **CDS: OBTAIN BY FRAUD** 

 
...did [obtain/attempt to obtain] [controlled paraphernalia, to 
wit: ____/a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ____, 
to wit: ______] by fraud, deceit, mispresentation and 
subterfuge. 

 

 

  

  CR 5-601(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0568* **OBTAIN MARIJUANA BY FRAUD** 

 
...did [obtain/attempt to obtain] [controlled paraphernalia, to 
wit: ____/a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ____, 
to wit: ______] by fraud, deceit, mispresentation and 
subterfuge. 

 

 

  

  CR 5-601(2)(ii) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$25,000.00 - 4 YEARS 

*1_0249* **CDS OBTN BY ALTER PRESCRIP** 

 
...did [obtain/attempt to obtain] [controlled parapharnalia, to 
wit: _____/a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ___, 
to wit: _____] by [forging/altering] a [prescription/written 
order]. 
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  CR 5-601(a)(2)(ii) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0570* **MARIJUANA OBTN BY ALTR PRES** 

 
...did [obtain/attempt to obtain] [controlled parapharnalia, to 
wit: _____/a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ___, 
to wit: _____] by [forging/altering] a [prescription/written 
order]. 

 



 

Rev. 10/1/2013 

122.
 

  

  CR 5-601(a)(2)(iii)(iv) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$25,000.00 - 4 YEARS 

*1_0250* **CDS OBTN BY CONCEAL FLS ID** 

 
...did [obtain/attempt to obtain] [controlled paraphernalia, to 
wit: ____/a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ____, 
to wit: ____] by [the concealment of material facts/the use of a 
false name and address]. 

 

 

  

  CR 5-601(a)(2)(iii)(iv) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0571* **OBTN MARIJUANA CONCL FLS ID** 

 
...did [obtain/attempt to obtain] [controlled paraphernalia, to 
wit: ____/a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ____, 
to wit: ____] by [the concealment of material facts/the use of a 
false name and address]. 

 

 

  

  CR 5-601(a)(2)(v) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$25,000.00 - 4 YEARS 

*1_0251* **CDS: OBTAIN BY PERSONATION** 

 
...did [obtain/attempt to obtain] [controlled paraphernalia, to 
wit: ____/a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ____, 
to wit: _____] by [falsely assuming the title of/representing 
himself to be] a [manufacturer/distributor/practitioner]. 
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  CR 5-601(a)(2)(v) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0569* **MARJIUANA OBTN BY PERSONATN** 

 
...did [obtain/attempt to obtain] [controlled paraphernalia, to 
wit: ____/a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ____, 
to wit: _____] by [falsely assuming the title of/representing 
himself to be] a [manufacturer/distributor/practitioner]. 

 

  CR 5-601(a)(2)(vi) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$25,000.00 - 4 YEARS 

*1_0252* **CDS OBTN BY MAKE FRGE PRES** 

 
...did [obtain/attempt to obtain] [controlled paraphernalia, to 
wit: ____/a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ____, 
to wit: ____] by [making/uttering] a [false/forged] 
[prescription/ written order]. 

NOTE: The wording herein above set out may also be used 
where one procures or attempts to procure the administration of 
a controlled dangerous substance or Controlled Paraphernalia 
by merely substituting the wording "[procure/attempt to 
procure] the administration", in lieu of "[obtain/attempt to 
obtain]".Unlawful Possession, etc.; obtain etc. Substance by 
Fraud, etc.; Forged Labels, etc. 

 

 Unlawful Mfgr. Etc.; Counterfeiting, Etc. 
Possession, Etc Certain Equipment, Etc 

  CR 5-602 
FELONY 
$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0233* **CDS POSS W/INT TO DIST** 

 
...did unlawfully possess a [controlled dangerous 
substance/controlled dangerous substance analogue] of 
schedule ____, to wit: ____ in sufficient quantity to indicate an 
intent to distribute the same. 

NOTE: DO NOT USE FOR SCHEDULE I OR SCHEDULE II 
NARCOTICS ( I.E., CRACK, COCAINE), LSD OR PCP. 
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  CR 5-602 
PENALTY SECTION 5-609 
FELONY 
$20,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0696* **CDS: DIST-PCP/LSD** 

 
...did unlawfully distribute to _____(name) a [controlled 
dangerous substance/controlled dangerous substance analogue] 
of Schedule _____, to wit: ______ . (See List Below) 

NOTE: USE THIS CODE FOR PCP OR LSD. DO NOT USE 
FOR NARCOTICS OR OTHER CDS. 

SCHEDULE II: 

1.  Phencyclidine 

2.  1-[-phenylcyclohexyl] piperidine 

3.  1-phenylcyclohexyla-mine 

4.  1-piperidinocyclhexanecarbonitrile 

SCHEDULE I: 

1.  N-ethyl-1-phenylcyolohexylamine 

2.  1-[1-phenylcyclohexy]-pyrrolidine 

3.  1-[1-[2-thienyl]-cyclohexy]piperidine 

4.  Lysergic Acid Diethylamide 
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  CR 5-602 
FELONY 
PENALTY SECTION 5-609 
$20,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0233* **CDS: POS W/I DIST: PCP/LSD** 

 
...did possess a [controlled dangerous substance/controlled 
dangerous substance analogue] of Schedule ______, to wit: 
_____ in sufficient quantity to indicate an intent to distribute 
the same. 

NOTE: USE THIS CODE FOR PCP OR LSD.  DO NOT USE 
FOR NARCOTICS ( I.E., CRACK, COCAINE) OR OTHER 
CDS. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 5-602 

FELONY 
$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_3550* **CDS DIST - OTHER** 

 
...did unlawfully distribute to ____(name) a [controlled 
dangerous substance/controlled dangerous substance analogue] 
of schedule ____, to wit: ____. 

NOTE: DO NOT USE FOR NARCOTICS ( I.E., CRACK, 
COCAINE), LSD OR PCP. 
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  CR 5-602(1) 

FELONY 
$25,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_0696* **CDS DIST-NARC** 

 
...did unlawfully distribute to ____ a [controlled dangerous 
substance/controlled dangerous substance analogue] of 
Schedule ____, to wit: _____, a [narcotic drug/narcotic drug 
analogue]. 

NOTE: USE THIS CODE FOR SCHEDULE I OR 
SCHEDULE II NARCOTICS ( I.E., CRACK, COCAINE). DO 
NOT USE FOR OTHER CDS, LSD, OR PCP. 

NOTE: See CR 5-608 for enhanced penalties. 

 
 
 
 
  CR 5-602(2) 

FELONY 
$25,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*3_0233* **CDS: POSS W/I DIST: NARC** 

 
...did unlawfully possess a [controlled dangerous 
substance/controlled dangerous substance analogue] of 
Schedule ____, to wit: _____, a [narcotic drug/narcotic drug 
analogue], in sufficient quantity to indicate an intention to 
distribute same. 

NOTE: USE THIS CODE FOR SCHEDULE I AND 
SCHEDULE II NARCOTICS ( I.E., CRACK, COCAINE). DO 
NOT USE FOR OTHER CDS, LSD, OR PCP. 

NOTE: See CR 5-608 for enhanced penalties. 
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  CR 5-603 
FELONY 
$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0660* **MANUFACTURE CDS ** 

 
...did unlawfully manufacture a controlled dangerous substance 
to wit: _________(describe). 

NOTE:  DO NOT USE FOR SCHEDULE I OR II 
NARCOTICS ( I.E., CRACK, COCAINE), LSD OR PCP. 

 

 

  CR 5-603 
FELONY 
$25,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0661* **MANUFACTURE CDS - NARCOTIC ** 

 
...did unlawfully manufacture a controlled dangerous substance 
to wit: _________(describe). 

NOTE: USE THIS CODE FOR SCHEDULE I OR II  
NARCOTICS ( I.E., CRACK, COCAINE). DO NOT USE 
FOR OTHER CDS, LSD, OR PCP. 

NOTE: See CR 5-608 for enhanced penalties. 
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  CR 5-603 
FELONY 
PENALTY SECTION 5-609 
$20,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0662* **MANUFACTURE CDS - PCP/LSD ** 

 
...did unlawfully manufacture a controlled dangerous substance 
to wit: _________(describe). 

NOTE: USE THIS CODE FOR PCP OR LSD.  DO NOT USE 
FOR NARCOTICS ( I.E., CRACK, COCAINE) OR OTHER 
CDS. 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 CR 5-603 
FELONY 
$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0237* **CDS: PRODUCTION EQUIPMENT** 

 
...did unlawfully [manufacture/distribute/possess] _____ 
(describe equipment) adopted for the production of a 
[controlled dangerous substance/controlled dangerous 
substance analogue] of Schedule _____ , to wit: ____, under 
circumstances reasonably indicating an intention to use same to 
produce such [controlled dangerous substance/controlled 
dangerous substance analogue]. 

NOTE: DO NOT USE FOR SCHEDULE I OR II 
NARCOTICS (I.E., CRACK, COCAINE), LSD OR PCP. 
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  CR 5-603 

PENALTY SECTION 5-609 
FELONY 
$20,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0237* **CDS: PROD EQUIP: PCP/LSD** 

 
...did unlawfully [manufacture/ distribute/possess]  
___________ (describe equipment) adopted for the production 
of a [controlled dangerous substance/controlled dangerous 
substance analogue] of Schedule _____, to wit: ______  under 
circumstances reasonably indicating an intention to produce the 
same. 

NOTE: USE THIS CODE FOR PCP OR LSD.  DO NOT USE 
FOR NARCOTICS (I.E., CRACK, COCAINE) OR OTHER 
CDS. 

 
 
 
 
  CR 5-603 

FELONY 
$25,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*3_0237* **NARC: PRODUCTION EQUIP** 

 
...did unlawfully [manufacture/possess/distribute to _____] a 
_____ (describe equipment) adopted for the production of a 
[controlled dangerous substance/controlled dangerous 
substance analogue] of Schedule ____, to wit: _____, a 
[narcotic drug/narcotic drug analogue], under circumstances 
reasonably indicating an intention to use same to produce and 
distribute the said drug. 

NOTE: USE THIS CODE FOR SCHEDULE I OR II 
NARCOTICS ( I.E., CRACK, COCAINE). DO NOT USE 
FOR OTHER CDS, LSD, OR PCP. 

NOTE: See CR 5-608 for enhanced penalties. 
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  CR 5-604 
FELONY 
$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0234* **CDS/COUNTRFT CREATE/DISTR** 

 
...did [create/distribute to] ____(name) a counterfeit controlled 
dangerous substance of schedule ____, to wit: ____. 

 

 

 

 

  CR 5-604 
FELONY 
$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0235* **CDS/COUNTRFT POS W/INT DIS** 

 
...did possess with intent to distribute a counterfeit controlled 
dangerous substance of schedule ____, to wit: ____. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

Rev. 10/1/2013 

131.
 

 

 

  

  CR 5-604 
FELONY 
$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0236* **CDS/COUNTERFEIT: EQUIPMENT** 

 
...did manufacture, distribute or possess _______(describe 
equipment) for the purpose of rendering [a drug/a counterfeit 
controlled dangerous substance]. 

NOTE: All three of the above charges deal with counterfeit 
controlled dangerous substances, as defined in CR5-604. These 
are substances that have been made to look like a substance that 
is legally sold, or to resemble some other manufacturer's 
product. These sections should not be used to charge a violation 
dealing with a non-controlled substance which has been made 
to look like an illegal controlled dangerous substance. That 
charge is found in CR5-604. See the definitions contained in 
CR 5-604 if you have questions. 

 

 

  

  CR 5-604(b)(1) 
FELONY 
$25,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*3_0234* **CDS: DIST CNTRFT NARC** 

 
...did [create/distribute to ____(name)] a counterfeit controlled 
dangerous substance of Schedule ____, to wit: _____, a 
counterfeit of a narcotic drug. 
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  CR 5-604(b)(2) 
FELONY 
$25,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*3_0235* **NARC/COUNTRFIT POS W/I DIS** 

 
...did possess with intent to distribute a counterfeit controlled 
dangerous substance of Schedule [I/II] ____, to wit: ____, a 
counterfeit of a narcotic drug. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 5-604(c) 
FELONY 
$25,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*3_0236* **NARC/COUNTERFIT EQUIPMENT** 

 
...did [manufacture/distribute/possess] ____ (describe 
equipment) for the purpose of rendering [a drug/a counterfeit of 
a narcotic drug], a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule 
_____, to wit: _____. 
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  CR 5-605 
PENALTY SECTION 5-607 
FELONY 
$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0238* **COMM NUIS/ADMINISTER CDS** 

 
...did keep and maintain a common nuisance, to wit: _____ 
(describe, see note) resorted to by drug abusers for purposes of 
illegally administering [controlled dangerous 
substance/controlled dangerous substance analogue]. 

NOTE: A common nuisance can be any building, structure, 
vessel, vehicle, airplane, or any place whatsoever controlled by 
the defendant. Give an address if a building, or describe the 
vehicle, vessel, etc., and its location at the time and date 
charged. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 5-605 
PENALTY SECTION 5-607 
FELONY 
$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0239* **COMM NUIS/DISTRIB CDS** 

 
...did keep and maintain a common nuisance, to wit: ____ 
(describe) for the illegal 
[manufacture/distribution/dispensing/storage/concealment] of a 
[controlled dangerous substance/controlled dangerous 
substance analogue/controlled paraphernalia]. 
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  CR 5-605 
PENALTY SECTION 5-608 
FELONY 
$20,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0300* **CDS: COM NUIS: ADMIN PCP/LSD** 

 
...did keep and maintain a common nuisance, to wit: _____ 
(describe, see note below) resorted to by drug abusers for 
purposes of illegally administering a [controlled dangerous 
substance/controlled dangerous substance analogue] of 
Schedule ____, to wit: _____ . 

NOTE: A common nuisance can be any building, structure, 
vessel, vehicle, airplane, or any place controlled by the 
defendant. Give an address if a building, or describe the 
vehicle, vessel, etc., and its location at the time and date 
charged. 

 

 

  

  CR 5-605 
PENALTY SECTION 5-608 
FELONY 
$20,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0301* **CDS: COM NUIS: DIST. PCP/LSD** 

 
...did keep and maintain a common nuisance, to wit: ____ 
(describe, see note above) for the illegal 
[manufacturing/distribution/dispensing/storage/ concealment] 
of a [controlled dangerous substance/controlled dangerous 
substance analogue] of Schedule ______, to wit: _____. 
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  CR 5-605(a)(1) 
PENALTY SECTION 5-608 
FELONY 
$20,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0325* **CDS: COM NUIS: ADMIN NARC** 

 
...did keep and maintain a common nuisance, to wit: _____ 
(describe, see note below), resorted to by drug abusers for 
purposes of illegally administering a [narcotic controlled 
dangerous substance/narcotic controlled dangerous substance 
analogue] of Schedule _____, to wit: ______. 

NOTE: A common nuisance can be a building, structure, 
vessel, vehicle, airplane, or any place whatsoever controlled by 
defendant. Give an address if a building, or describe the 
vehicle, vessel, etc., and its location at the time and date 
charged. 

NOTE: See CR 5-608 for enhanced penalties. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
  

  CR 5-605(a)(2) 
PENALTY SECTION 5-608 
FELONY 
$20,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0330* **CDS: COM NUIS: DIST. NARC** 

 
...did keep and maintain a common nuisance, to wit: ____ 
(describe, see note above), for the illegal 
[manufacturing/distribution/dispensing/ storage/concealment] 
of a [narcotic controlled dangerous substance/narcotic 
controlled dangerous substance analogue] of Schedule _____, 
to wit: _____. 

NOTE: See CR 5-608 for enhanced penalties. 
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  CR 5-612 
FELONY 
5 YR MANDATORY MIN 
NO MAX JAIL TIME IN 
STATUTE 
$100,000.00 Max Fine 
NO MAX  
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0879* **CDS MANUF - LG AMT** 

 
...did unlawfully manufacture a controlled dangerous substance 
of Schedule __________, to wit: ____________, in the amount 
of ____________. (see note) 

NOTE:  Substance and unlawful amount must fall under CR 5-
612 to charge. 

CR 5-612(a) – Unlawful Amounts 
1. 50 pounds or more of marijuana; 
2. 448 grams or more of cocaine; 
3. 448 grams or more of any mixture containing a 

detectable amount of cocaine; 
4. 50 grams or more of cocaine base, commonly known as 

“crack”; 
5. 28 grams or more of morphine or opium or any 

derivative, salt, isomer, or salt of an isomer of morphine 
or opium; 

6. any mixture containing 28 grams or more of morphine 
or opium or any derivative, salt, isomer, or salt of an 
isomer of morphine or opium; 

7. 1,000 dosage units or more of lysergic acid 
diethylamide; 

8. any mixture containing the equivalent of 1,000 dosage 
units of lysergic acid diethylamide; 

9. 16 ounces or more of phencyclidine in liquid form; 
10. 448 grams or more of any mixture containing 

phencyclidine; 
11. 448 grams or more of methamphetamine; or 
12. any mixture containing 448 grams or more of 

methamphetamine. 
NOTE: For the purpose of determining the quantity of a 
controlled dangerous substance involved in individual acts 
of manufacturing, the acts may be aggregated if each of the 
acts occurred within a 90-day period. 
NOTE: A person convicted of this charge faces a mandatory 
miniumum sentence of 5 years imprisonment and a fine not 
exceeding $100,000. There is no statutory maximum for 
imprisonment. 
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  CR 5-612 
FELONY 
5 YR MANDATORY MIN 
NO MAX JAIL TIME IN 
STATUTE 
$100,000.00 Max Fine 
NO MAX  
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0880* **CDS DIST/DISPENSE- LG AMT** 

 
...did unlawfully [distribute/dispense] a controlled dangerous 
substance of Schedule __________, to wit: ____________, in 
the amount of ____________. (see note) 

NOTE:  Substance and unlawful amount must fall under CR 5-
612 to charge. 

CR 5-612(a) – Unlawful Amounts 
1. 50 pounds or more of marijuana; 
2. 448 grams or more of cocaine; 
3. 448 grams or more of any mixture containing a 

detectable amount of cocaine; 
4. 50 grams or more of cocaine base, commonly known as 

“crack”; 
5. 28 grams or more of morphine or opium or any 

derivative, salt, isomer, or salt of an isomer of morphine 
or opium; 

6. any mixture containing 28 grams or more of morphine 
or opium or any derivative, salt, isomer, or salt of an 
isomer of morphine or opium; 

7. 1,000 dosage units or more of lysergic acid 
diethylamide; 

8. any mixture containing the equivalent of 1,000 dosage 
units of lysergic acid diethylamide; 

9. 16 ounces or more of phencyclidine in liquid form; 
10. 448 grams or more of any mixture containing 

phencyclidine; 
11. 448 grams or more of methamphetamine; or 
12. any mixture containing 448 grams or more of 

methamphetamine. 
 
NOTE: For the purpose of determining the quantity of a 
controlled dangerous substance involved in individual acts 
of distributing/dispensing, the acts may be aggregated if 
each of the acts occurred within a 90-day period. 
NOTE: A person convicted of this charge faces a mandatory 
miniumum sentence of 5 years imprisonment and a fine not 
exceeding $100,000. There is no statutory maximum for 
imprisonment. 
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  CR 5-612 

FELONY 
5 YR MANDATORY MIN 
NO MAX JAIL TIME IN 
STATUTE 
$100,000.00 Max Fine 
NO MAX  
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0881* **CDS POSSESS - LG AMT** 

 
...did unlawfully possess a controlled dangerous substance of 
Schedule __________, to wit: ____________, in the amount of 
____________. (see note) 

NOTE:  Substance and unlawful amount must fall under CR 5-
612 to charge. 

CR 5-612(a) – Unlawful Amounts 
1. 50 pounds or more of marijuana; 
2. 448 grams or more of cocaine; 
3. 448 grams or more of any mixture containing a 

detectable amount of cocaine; 
4. 50 grams or more of cocaine base, commonly known as 

“crack”; 
5. 28 grams or more of morphine or opium or any 

derivative, salt, isomer, or salt of an isomer of morphine 
or opium; 

6. any mixture containing 28 grams or more of morphine 
or opium or any derivative, salt, isomer, or salt of an 
isomer of morphine or opium; 

7. 1,000 dosage units or more of lysergic acid 
diethylamide; 

8. any mixture containing the equivalent of 1,000 dosage 
units of lysergic acid diethylamide; 

9. 16 ounces or more of phencyclidine in liquid form; 
10. 448 grams or more of any mixture containing 

phencyclidine; 
11. 448 grams or more of methamphetamine; or 
12. any mixture containing 448 grams or more of 

methamphetamine. 
 
NOTE: For the purpose of determining the quantity of a 
controlled dangerous substance involved in individual acts 
of possession, the acts may be aggregated if each of the acts 
occurred within a 90-day period. 
NOTE: A person convicted of this charge faces a mandatory 
miniumum sentence of 5 years imprisonment and a fine not 
exceeding $100,000. There is no statutory maximum for 
imprisonment. 
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 Controlled Dangerous Substance Drug Kingpin 

  CR 5-613 
FELONY 
$1,000,000.00 20-40 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_0488* **CDS-DRUG KINGPIN** 

 
...was then and there a drug kingpin and did occupy a position 
of organizer, supervisor, financier, and manager in a conspiracy 
with ____(name), to manufacture, distribute, bring into the 
State, and transport in the State a controlled dangerous 
substance of Schedule ___, to wit: ____, in the amount of 
______ (see note). 

NOTE: The type of CDS and the amount must equal one or 
more of the types and amounts set out in CR 5-613. The amount 
may be calculated on the basis of the aggregate amount of CDS 
involved in the conspiracy within a 90 day period. 

NOTE: A District Court Commissioner may not authorize the 
pre-trial release of a defendant charged as a drug kingpin under 
this section. 
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 Controlled Dangerous Substance Bring Into State 

  CR 5-614 
FELONY 
$50,000.00 - 25 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*3_3550* **CDS: IMPORT INTO STATE** 

 
...did unlawfully bring into this State (choose one):  

[at least 45 kilograms of marijuana, a controlled dangerous 
substance of Schedule I./ at least 28 grams of cocaine, a 
controlled dangerous substance of Schedule II./ a mixture 
containing at least 28 grams of cocaine, a controlled dangerous 
substance of Schedule II./ at least 4 grams of 
[morphine/opium], a controlled dangerous substance of 
Schedule I./ at least 4 grams of a [derivative/salt/isomer/salt of 
an isomer] of [morphine/ opium] a controlled dangerous 
substance of Schedule I./ at least 1000 dosage units of Lysergic 
Acid Diethylamide, a controlled dangerous substance of 
Schedule I./ a mixture containing the equivalent of at least 1000 
dosage units of lysergic acid diethylamide, a controlled 
dangerous substance of Schedule I./at least 28 grams of 
phencyclidine, a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule 
II./ at least 112 grams of a mixture containing phencyclidine, a 
controlled dangerous substance of Schedule II./at least 1000 
dosage units of methaqualone, a controlled dangerous substance 
of Schedule I./ at least 28 grams of methamphetamine,a 
controlled dangerous substance of Schedule II./ a mixture 
containing at least 28 grams of methamphetamine, a controlled 
dangerous substance of Schedule II./ at least 4 grams of 
[fentanyl /fentanyl analogue] a controlled dangerous substance 
of Schedule II.] 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

Rev. 10/1/2013 

141.
 

  

  CR 5-614(b) 
FELONY 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0730* **CDS: IMPORT 5 - 45 KILO MARI** 

 
...did unlawfully bring into this state at least five kilograms, and 
less than 45 kilograms of marijuana. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 5-617 
FELONY 
$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0517* **CDS: DIST CONTRFIT PCP/LSD** 

 
...did [create/distribute to _____] a counterfeit controlled 
dangerous substance of Schedule _____, to wit: _____, a 
counterfeit of ______ of Schedule _____ . 

 

 

  

  CR 5-617 
FELONY 
$20,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PREMLIMINARY 
HEARING 

*1_0518* **CDS: PW/I DIST CONTRFT PCP/LSD** 

 
...did possess with intent to distribute a counterfeit controlled 
dangerous substance of Schedule ___, to wit: _____, a 
counterfeit of _____, of Schedule _____ . 
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  CR 5-617 
FELONY 
$20,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PREMLIMINARY 
HEARING 

*2_0236* **CDS: COUNTERFIT EQUIP: PCP/LSD** 

 
...did unlawfully[manufacture/distribute/possess]  ____ 
(describe equipment) for the purpose of rendering a controlled 
dangerous substance of Schedule ____, to wit: _____, a 
counterfeit controlled dangerous substance of ______, of 
Schedule ____ . 

 

 

  

  CR 5-617(a)(1) 
FELONY 
$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*7_0000* **FAKE CDS DIST** 

 
...did [distribute to ____/attempt to distribute to _____/possess 
with the intent to distribute] a non-controlled substance upon 
the representation that the said substance was a controlled 
dangerous substance of Schedule ____, to wit: _____. 
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 Noncontrolled Substances Distribution 

  CR 5-617(a)(2) 
FELONY 
$15,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0246* **FAKE CDS: POSS W/I DIST** 

 
...did [distribute to _____/ attempt to distribute to _____/ 
possess with the intent to distribute] a non-controlled substance 
[intended for use and distribution as a controlled dangerous 
substance of Schedule ____, to wit: _____/under circumstances 
where one reasonably should know that the said substance 
would be used and distributed for use as a controlled dangerous 
substance of Schedule ____, to wit: ______]. 

 

 

  

  CR 5-618 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0691* **CDS POS/PUR NONCONT SUBST** 

 
...did [possess/purchase] a noncontrolled substance reasonably 
believed to be a controlled dangerous substance. 

NOTE: "Elements" 

Noncontrolled substance packaged in a manner normally used 
for illegal distribution of controlled dangerous substance. 

Noncontrolled substance purchased and amount of 
consideration was substantially greater than the reasonable 
value of the non controlled substance. 

Physical appearance or noncontrolled substance substantially 
identical to that of a controlled dangerous substance. 
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 Controlled Dangerous Substance 
Paraphernalia/Use or Possession W/Intent to Use - 
Deliver/Sell, Etc. - Delivery to Minor -Advertise 

  CR 5-619(c)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 
SUB. OFFENSE 
$2,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*5_3550* **CDS: POSS PARAPHERNALIA** 

 
...did [use/possess with intent to use] drug paraphernalia, to wit: 
_____ (describe paraphernalia), used to 
[plant/propagate/cultivate/grow/harvest/manufacture/ 
compound/convert/produce/process/prepare/test/analyze/pack/r
epack/store/contain/conceal/inject/ingest/inhale/ introduce into 
the human body by ______ (describe method)] a controlled 
dangerous substance of Schedule _____, to wit: _____. 

 

 

  

  CR 5-619(d)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 
SUB. OFFENSE 
$2,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*6_3550* **CDS: DIST PARAPHERNALIA** 

 
...did [deliver and sell to ____/ possess with the intent to deliver 
and sell/manufacture with the intent to deliver and sell] drug 
paraphernalia, to wit: ____ (describe paraphernalia) 
[knowing/under circumstances where one reasonably should 
know] that the said paraphernalia would be used to 
[plant/propagate/cultivate/grow/harvest/manufacture/compound
/convert/produce/process/prepare/test/analyze/pack/repack/store
/contain/conceal/inject/ ingest/inhale/introduce into the human 
body by _____ (describe method)] a controlled dangerous 
substance of Schedule ____, to wit: _____. 
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  CR 5-619(d)(4) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$15,000.00 - 8 YEARS 

*7_3550* **CDS PARA-DELIVERY TO MINOR** 

 
...did, being 18 years of age or over, deliver to ____ (name), a 
person under 18 years of age and at least 3 years his junior, 
drug paraphernalia to wit: ___ [knowing/under circumstances 
where one reasonably should know] that it would be used to 
[plant/propagate/cultivate/grow/harvest/manufacture/ 
compound/convert/produce/process/prepare/test/analyze/pack/r
epack/store/contain/conceal/ inject/ingest/inhale/introduce into 
the human body by ____ (describe)] a controlled dangerous 
substance of Schedule ____, to wit: _____. 

 

 

  

  CR 5-619(e) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 
SUB. OFFENSE 
$2,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*9_0082* **CDS PARA-ADVERTISE** 

 
...did unlawfully advertise [by sound truck/in ____(describe 
publication)] [knowing/under circumstances where one 
reasonably should know] that a purpose of the advertisement 
was to promote the sale and delivery of drug paraphernalia as 
described in CR 5-619(e). 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

Rev. 10/1/2013 

146.
 

 

  

  CR 5-620 
FELONY 
$25,000.00 - 4 YEARS 
MARIJUANA - 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0257* **CDS MFG MATERIAL POSS/DIST** 

 
...did [possess/distribute to __________] controlled 
paraphernalia, to wit: 
___________[lactose/quinine/mannite/mannitol/dextrose/sucro
se/procaine hydrochloride/a substance suitable as a diluent or 
adulterant] in sufficient quantities and under circumstances to 
reasonably indicate illegal [manufacture/distribution/ 
dispensing] of a controlled dangerous substance. 

NOTE: A person who violates this section involving the use or 
posession of marijuana is subject to $1,000.00 - 1 YEAR. 

 

 

  

  CR 5-620(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$25,000.00 - 4 YEARS 

*1_0255* **CDS ADMIN EQUIP POSS/DIST** 

 
...did [possess/distribute to ___] controlled paraphernalia, to 
wit: ____ [hypodermic syringe/needle/instrument or implement 
adapted for administration of controlled dangerous substance by 
hypodermic injection]. 
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  CR 5-620(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$25,000.00 - 4 YEARS 

*1_0256* **CDS PACK MATERL POSS/DISTR** 

 
...did [possess/distribute to _______] controlled paraphernalia, 
to wit: _________ [gelatin capsules/glassine envelopes/any 
container suitable for packaging individual quantities of 
controlled dangerous substance] in sufficient quantity to and 
under circumstances which reasonably indicate an intention to 
use any such item for the illegal 
[manufacture/distribution/dispensing] of any such controlled 
dangerous substance. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 5-620(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0566* **MARIJUANA PACKING POSS/DIS** 

 
...did [possess/distribute to ___] controlled paraphernalia, to 
wit: ____ [gelatin capsules/glassine envelopes/any container 
suitable for packaging individual quantities of controlled 
dangerous substance] in sufficient quantity to and under 
circumstances which reasonably indicate an intention to use any 
such item for the illegal [manufacture/distribution/dispensing] 
of any such controlled dangerous substance. 
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  CR 5-621(b)(1) 
FELONY 
20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0493* **FIREARM/DRUG TRAF CRIME 

 
...did, during and in relation to a drug trafficking crime, possess 
a firearm, to wit: _______, under sufficient circumstances to 
constitute a nexus to the drug trafficking crime. 

NOTE: The minimum mandatory penalties of this offense are 
doubled if certain types of firearms are used in the offense, if a 
machine gun is used in the offense, or if a firearm silencer or 
muffler is used on any type firearm in the offense. SEE CR 4-
301 or PS 5-101 for the types of firearms that would enhance 
the penalties. 

NOTE: A "drug trafficking crime" is defined in CR 5-621 and 
includes all felonies or conspiracies to commit a felony under 
the controlled dangerous substances subtitle (CR 5-621). It does 
not include misdemeanor drug possession. 

 

 

 Controlled Dangerous Substance Distribute, Etc. 
W/Firearm 

  CR 5-621(b)(2) 
FELONY 
FIRST OFFENSE -  20 
YEARS 
SUB OFFENSE - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
THE MINIMUM 
SENTENCES ARE 
MANDATORY AND 
CONSECUTIVE 

*1_0487* **CDS: DISTR ETC. W/FIREARM** 

 
...did while engaged in a drug trafficking crime use, wear, 
carry, and transport a firearm, to wit: _____. 
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 Possession of Firearms 

  CR 5-622 
FELONY 
$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0692* **CDS-POSS OF FIREARMS** 

 
...did [possess/own/carry/transport] a firearm after being 
convicted of: _____ (select from the list below):   

1.  a felony under title 5 of the criminal law article; 

2.  a crime under the laws of the United States that would be a 
felony if committed in this State; 

3.  [conspiracy/attempt] to commit [a felony under title 5 of the 
criminal law article/a crime under the laws of the United States 
that would be a felony if committed in this State.] 

NOTE: In this section the term "firearm" includes handgun, 
antique firearm, rifle, shotgun, shot barrelled shotgun and short 
barrelled rifle as defined in CR 4-207, a pistol, revolver and 
antique pistol or revolver as defined in Art. 27, Sec. 481E, and 
a machine gun as defined in CR 4-101, Annotated Code of 
Maryland. 
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 Proceeds from Offenses 

  CR 5-623(b) 
FELONY 
FIRST OFFENSE 
$250,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
OR TWICE VALUE OF 
PROCEEDS WHICHEVER 
IS GREATER 
SUB OFFENSE $500,000.00 
- 10 YEARS 
OR 5 TIMES VALUE OF 
PROCEEDS WHICHEVER 
IS GREATER 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0673* **CDS-PROCEEDS FROM OFFENSE** 

 
...did, with the intent to promote an offense/conceal and 
disguise the [nature/location/source/ownership/control of 
proceeds] of an offense involving a controlled dangerous 
substance of Schedule ____, to wit: _____, did 
[receive/acquire/engage in/conduct financial transactions 
involving proceeds], knowing that the proceeds were derived 
from a controlled dangerous substance offense. 
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  CR 5-623(b)(3)(4)(5) 
FELONY 
$250,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0675* **CDS-PROCEEDS FROM OFFENSE** 

 
...did, with the intent to [promote an offense/conceal and 
disguise the nature, location, source, ownership and control of 
proceeds of an offense] involving a controlled dangerous 
substance of Schedule ____, to wit: _____, did [give/sell/ 
transfer/trace/invest/conceal/transport/maintain] an interest in 
proceeds and did [direct/promote/plan/organize/ 
initiate/finance/manage/supervise/facilitate]the transportation 
and transfer of proceeds, knowing that the proceeds were 
derived from a controlled dangerous substance offense. 

NOTE: "Proceeds" means money or any other property with a 
value greater than $10,000.00. 

NOTE: Each financial transaction is a separate offense. 

 

 

  

  CR 5-624(b)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_0710* **CDS ADM W/VIOLENT CRIME** 

 
...did administer a [controlled dangerous substance / other drug] 
to wit: __________ to ___________ (name) without [his/her] 
knowledge and did commit against __________ (name person) 
_____________ (name crime), a crime of violence as defined 
under CR 14-101 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 
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  CR 5-624(b)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_0715* **CDS ADM W/SEX OFFENSE** 

 
...did administer a [controlled dangerous substance / other drug] 
to wit: __________ to ___________ (name) without [his/her] 
knowledge and did commit against __________ (name person), 
a sexual offense in the third degree under CR 3-307 of the 
Annotated Code of Maryland .  

NOTE: A sentence imposed under this section may be imposed 
separate from and consecutive to or concurrent with a sentence 
for any offense based on the act or acts establishing the 
violation of this section.  

NOTE: "Drug" means:  

1. Substances recognized in the official United States 
Pharmacopoeia, official Homeopathic Pharmacopoeia of the 
United States, or official National Formulary, or any 
supplement to any of them; and  

2. Substances intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigaton, 
treatment, or prevention of disease in man or other animals and 

3. Substances (other than food) intended to affect the structure 
or any function of the body of man or other animals and 

4. Substances intended for use as a component of any article 
specified in clauses (1), (2), or (3) of this paragraph; but does 
NOT include devices or their components, parts, or accessories. 
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  CR 5-627(a) 
FELONY 
$20,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
SUB OFFENSE $40,000.00 - 
40 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0483* **CDS DIST: SCHOOL PROP/BUS** 

 
...did [manufacture/distribute to _____/conspire with ____ to 
distribute] a [controlled dangerous substance/controlled 
dangerous substance analogue] of Schedule _____, to wit: 
______ [on a school bus/on the property/within 1000 feet of the 
property] of ______ (name or identify school). 

NOTE: Any elementary or secondary school, public or private, 
will satisfy this section, whether or not in session. Colleges and 
Universities are not covered by this section. 

 

 

 CDS Distribution on or Near School Property 

  CR 5-627(a) 
FELONY 
$20,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
SUB OFFENSE $40,000.00 - 
40 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0484* **CDS: P W/I DIST: SCHL BUS/PROP** 

 
...did possess a [controlled dangerous substance/controlled 
dangerous substance analogue] of Schedule ____, to wit: _____ 
in sufficient quantity to indicate an intent to distribute the said 
substance [on a school bus/on the property/ within 1000 feet of 
the property] of _____ (name or identify school). 

NOTE: Any elementary or secondary school, public or private, 
will satisfy this section, whether or not in session. Colleges and 
Universities are not covered by this section. 
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  CR 5-628(a)(1) 
FELONY 
$20,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_5409* **HIRE ETC MINOR: DIST CDS** 

 
...did unlawfully hire, solicit, engage, and use _____, a minor, 
on behalf of _____ (defendant), for the purpose of[ 
manufacturing/distributing/delivering] a [controlled dangerous 
substance/conrolled dangerous substance analogue] of Schedule 
______, to wit: _____, in sufficient quantity to reasonably 
indicate under all the circumstances an intent to distribute the 
said substance. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 5-628(a)(2) 
FELONY 
$20,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0489* **IMPORT MINOR: DRUG FELONY** 

 
...did transport, carry, and bring ______(name), a minor, into 
the State of Maryland for the purpose of using said minor in the 
commission of a felony, to wit: ______. 

NOTE: Only CDS felonies under CR 5-602 will qualify to 
permit a defendant to be charged under this section. 
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  CR 5-701(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0010* **PRESC: ILLEGAL MANUFAC** 

 
...did unlawfully [manufacture/distribute] a prescription drug, to 
wit: ______. 

 
 
 
 
 
  

  CR 5-701(d)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0264* **PRES ILL POS W/IN DIST** 

 
...did unlawfully possess a prescription drug, to wit: ____, in 
sufficient quantity to indicate an intent to distribute said drug. 

 
 
 
 
  

  CR 5-701(d)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0270* **PRESCRIP/FALSE LABEL** 

 
...did unlawfully affix a [false/forged] label to a [package/ 
container/other receptacle] containing a prescription drug. 
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  CR 5-701(d)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0271* **PRESCRIP/REMOVE LABEL** 

 
...did unlawfully [omit/remove/alter/obliterate] a [label/ 
symbol] on a prescription drug as required by 
[Federal/State/local] law. 

 
 
 
 
 
  

  CR 5-701(d)(4)(i) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0265* **PRESCR OBTAIN BY FRAUD** 

 
...did unlawfully [obtain/attempt to obtain] ______, a 
prescription drug, by [fraud/decei/misrepresentation] to wit: 
______ (describe scheme). 

 

 

 

  CR 5-701(d)(4)(ii) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0267* **PRESC OBTN ALTER ORDER** 

 
...did unlawfully [obtain/attempt to obtain] ____, a prescription 
drug, by [forging/altering] a [prescription/written order]. 
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  CR 5-701(d)(4)(iii) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0266* **PRESC OBTN CONCEALMENT** 

 
...did unlawfully [obtain/attempt to obtain] ____, a prescription 
drug, by [concealing a material fact/using a false name and 
address]. 

 
 
 
 
  

  CR 5-701(d)(4)(v) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0268* **PRESC OBTN IMPERSONATN** 

 
...did unlawfully [obtain/attempt to obtain] _____, a 
prescription drug, by [representing [himself/herself] to be 
______(name)/falsely assuming the title of______(name)] a 
[manufacturer/distributor/practitioner]. 

 
 
 
 
  

  CR 5-701(d)(4)(vi) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0269* **PRESC OBTN MKE FORGERY** 

 
...did unlawfully [obtain/attempt to obtain] ____ a prescription 
drug, by [making/uttering] a [false/forged] [prescription/ 
written order]. 
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  CR 5-702(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 12 MONTHS 

*1_0018* **CDS-SELL SUBSTITUTE DRUG** 

 
...did, being engaged in the business, knowingly sell and deliver 
to ____ (person) a [drug/medicine/chemical preparation for 
medicinal use] different from the [prescription drug/controlled 
dangerous substance/medicine/chemical preparation] [order by 
the said _____(name)/required by the said prescription]. 

NOTE: Applies to pharmacists and any other person or 
corporation in the business of selling prescription drug, 
controlled dangerous substance, medicines, chemicals or 
preparations for medical use. 

NOTE: DOES NOT apply to pharmacist supplying generic 
version of name-brand drug w/physician's permission. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 5-703(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0025* **CDS-UNSOLICIT MAILING** 

 
...did mail ____ [prescription drug/controlled dangerous 
substance/medicine] by bulk mail, addressed to ["resident"/ 
"occupant"] ____ (name person) who did not request such 
drugs, etc., to be mailed to [him/her]. 
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 Smelling/Inhaling Harmful Substance-Prohibited 

  CR 5-708(b)(1)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_5599* **CDS-INHALE HARM SUBSTANCE** 

 
...did willfully smell and inhale ________, a [drug,noxious 
substance/chemical] containing [ketones / aldehydes / butane/ 
butyl nitrate / nitrous oxide / menthyl benzene / organic acetates 
/ ether / chlorinated hydrocarbons / fluorinated hydrocarbons / 
solvents releasing toxic vapors] in such quantities as to cause 
[intoxication/inebriation/excitemen/stupefaction/a dulling of the 
brain or nervous system]. 

 

 

 

 Smelling/Inhaling Harmful Substance-Prohibited 

  CR 5-709(b)(1)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0272* **CDS POSS FOR DISTRIBUTION** 

 
...did possess ____, a [drug/noxious substance/chemical] 
containing _______  (See CR 5-708), with the intent to 
distribute it for unlawful use. 
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 Smelling/Inhaling, Etc. Distribution/Possession 
W/Intent 

  CR 5-709(b)(1)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_3500* **CDS DIST TO INHALE** 

 
...did distribute ____(name substance), a [drug/noxious 
substance/chemical] containing ______ (see CR 5-708) to 
____, [with the intent to induce the said _________(name) to 
unlawfully inhale same/ knowing the said _______(name), 
would unlawfully inhale same]. 

 
 
 
 
 
  

  CR 5-709(c)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 -  18 MONTHS 

*1_0273* **CDS INSTRUCT INHALING** 

 
...did instruct ____(name), in the unlawful inhaling of ____, 
(drug/noxious substance/chemical, etc.). 

 
 
 
 
 
  

  CR 5-709(c)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 -  18 MONTHS 

*1_0735* **DIST BUTANE CAN TO MINOR** 

 
...did distribute a butane canister to, ________(name), a minor. 
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  CR 5-902(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$100,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0259* **CDS REGIS. REMOV/ALTR LABL** 

 
...did [omit/remove/alter/obliterate] ____ (symbol) required by 
federal law. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
  

  CR 5-902(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0260* **CDS REGIS. RECORDS FAILURE** 

 
...did [refuse/fail] to make, keep and furnish a [record/ 
notification/order from/statement/invoice/information] required 
by Maryland Law. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
  

  CR 5-902(a)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0261* **CDS REGIS REFUS AUTHR INSP** 

 
...did refuse to permit _____ (name), an authorized person,to 
enter premises required by law to be inspected. 
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  CR 5-902(a)(4)(i)(ii) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0262* **CDS REGIS/NUISANCE LOCATN** 

 
...did, as a [registrant/authorized person], keep and maintain a 
[store/shop/warehouse/dwelling house/building, etc.], which is 
[resorted to by drug abusers for the purpose of using controlled 
dangerous substance/used for the keeping and selling of 
controlled dangerous substance contrary to law]. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 5-903(a) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_0263* **CDS USE OF INV REGIS NMBR** 

 
...did use a registration number which is [fictitious/revoked/ 
suspended/issued to another person] in the course of the 
manufacture and distribution of a controlled dangerous 
substance of Schedule ____, to wit: ____. 
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 Unlawful Acts - Registrants 

  CR 5-904(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100,000.00 - 2 YEARS 
$50,000.00 - CIVIL FINE 

*1_0258* **CDS TO UNAUTHOR REGISTRANT** 

 
...did distribute to _____ another [registrant/unauthorized 
person], a controlled dangerous substance of Schedule ____, to 
wit: _____, not authorized by [his/her] registration. 

 

 

  

  CR 5-904(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100,000.00 - 2 YEARS 
$50,000.00 - CIVIL FINE 

*8_3550* **CDS REGISTRANT UNAUTH MFG** 

 
...did manufacture a controlled dangerous substance of 
Schedule ____, to wit: ______, which substance was not 
authorized by registration. 

 

 

 

 Distribution by Registrants W/O Order Form, Etc. 
Registration Number 

  CR 5-904(a)(2) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*9_3550* **CDS REGISTRNT DIST NO FORM** 

 
...did, as a registrant, in the course of [his/her] legitimate 
business, distribute to _____ a controlled dangerous substance 
of Schedule [I/II], to wit: ______, without an order form. 
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ARSON AND BURNING 

NOTE: "Dwelling: means a structure, regardless of whether an individual is actually present, any 
portion of which has been adapted for overnight accommodation of individuals, including any 
kitchen, shop, barn, adjoining the structure. 

"Maliciously" describes an act done with intent to harm a person or property. 

"Occupied structure" means a structure, other than a dwelling in or on which at the time of the 
offense another individual who is not a participant in the offense is present. 

"Structure" means a building, other construction, vehicle, or watercraft, including any barn, 
stable, garage, pier, wharf, boathouse, and any facility attached to a pier or wharf; any shop, 
storehouse, warehouse, factory, mill, house of worship, meeting house, courthouse, workhouse, 
school, tent, public building, or public bridge; and any motor vehicle, aircraft, boat, ship, and 
railroad car. 

"Willfully" describes an act which is done intentionally, knowingly, and purposely. 

If a structure is divided into separately owned or leased units, each unit shall be considered a 
separate structure for purposes of a prosecution under this subheading. 

 

  CR 6-102(a) 
FELONY 
$50,000.00 - 30 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 
SUB. CONVICTION, 
ENHANCED PENALTY 

*1_6500* **ARSON-FIRST DEGREE** 

 
...did wilfully and maliciously set fire to and burn a 
[dwelling/occupied structure], to wit: _______, (give address or 
describe structure as in "the dwelling house of ______(name)," 
or "the occupied barn of ____ (name)," or "the occupied garage 
of (name).") in violation of CR 6-102(a) of the Annotated Code 
of Maryland. 

NOTE: The dwelling or occupied structure may belong to the 
accused or another. Any structure that is attached to a dwelling 
house, such as an attached garage or shed, is a part of the 
dwelling house. Any structure not attached to a dwelling house 
must be an "Occupied Structure" (see definition, previous page) 
to qualify for this section. Any burning or charring of any 
portion of the dwelling or occupied structure will satisfy the 
statute. 
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  CR 6-103 
FELONY 
$30,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*1_6501* **ARSON 2ND DEGREE** 

 
...did wilfully and maliciously set fire to and burn a structure, to 
wit: _____(give address or otherwise describe structure, as in 
above section), in violation of CR 6-103 of the Annotated Code 
of Maryland. 

NOTE: The property may belong to the accused, or another. 

 
 
 
 
 
  

  CR 6-104(b) 
FELONY 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_6502* **MALICIOUS BURNING/1ST DEG** 

 
...did wilfully and maliciously set fire to and burn the personal 
property of ______ (name), to wit: _____ (brief description of 
property), the damage to the property being $1,000.00 or more, 
in violation of CR 6-104(b) of the Annotated Code of 
Maryland. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

Rev. 10/1/2013 

166.
 
 
  

  CR 6-105(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_6503* **MALICIOUS BURNING/2ND DEG** 

 
...did wilfully and maliciously set fire to and burn the property 
of_______ (name), to wit: _________ (briefly describe 
property), the damage to the property being less than $1,000.00, 
in violation of CR 6-105(b) of the Annotated Code of 
Maryland. 

 
 
 
 
 
  CR 6-106 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_6504* **MALICIOUS BURN/FRAUD** 

 
...did, with intent to defraud, set fire to and burn property, to 
wit: _______ (describe property), in violation of CR 6-106 of 
Annotated of Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: This section may be charged with any other arson or 
malicious burning section if there is also evidence of an intent 
to defraud (such as a fraudulent claim for damages or 
insurance). A separate sentence may be imposed concurrently 
or consecutively. 
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  CR 6-107 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_6505* **ARSON/THREAT** 

 
...did threaten [verbally/in writing] to [set fire to and 
burn/explode a destructive device] [in/on/under] a structure, to 
wit: ____(describe structure) in violation of CR 6-107 of the 
Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: A destructive explosive device is defined in CR 4-501. 

NOTE: Structure includes occupied and unoccupied for this 
section. 

 

 

  CR 6-108 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 30 DAYS 

*2_2003* **ARSON-TRASH CONTAINER** 

 
...did wilfully and maliciously set fire to and burn the contents 
of a [dumpster/trash containe/trash receptacle] belonging to 
another person in violation of CR 6-108 of the Annotated Code 
of Maryland. 

NOTE: This applies to the contents only, and the trash 
container must belong to someone other than the defendant. It is 
not necessary to allege who it did belong to, merely that it did 
not belong to the defendant. 
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Burglary 

  

  CR 6-202 
FELONY 
20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_3000* **BURGLARY-FIRST DEGREE** 

 
...did break and enter the dwelling house of ______ (owner, 
lessee, etc.), located at _______, with the intent to commit 
[theft/ a crime of violence] in violation of CR 6-202 of the 
Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: For a list of crimes of violence, see Part I. 

NOTE: "Theft" includes both misdemeanor and felony theft. 

NOTE: If a building or structure is divided into separately 
owned or leased units, each unit may not be considered a 
separate dwelling or storehouse for purposes of a prosecution 
under this subheading, unless it is objectively apparent that 
each unit constitutes a separate dwelling or storehouse. 

NOTE: A vehicle such as a motor home or RV, or a tent, is not 
normally viewed as a "dwelling" within the meaning of this 
statute. However, if a tent or vehicle is being used as a dwelling 
it may qualify as such under this subheading. 
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  CR 6-203(a) 
FELONY 
15 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_3010* **BURGLARY/2ND DEGREE/GENERAL** 

 
...did break and enter the storehouse of ______ (owner, lessee, 
etc), located at ______, with the intent to commit [a theft/ a 
crime of violence/arson in the second degree] in violation of 
CR 6-203 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: For a list of crimes of violence, see Part I. 

NOTE: "Storehouse" retains its judicially determined meaning 
and also means any building, other construction, or watercraft, 
including: any barn, stable, garage, pier, wharf, boathouse and 
any facility attached to a pier or wharf; any shop, storeroom, 
warehouse, factory, mill, house of worship, meetinghouse, 
courthouse, workhouse, school, or public building and any 
trailer, aircraft, boat, ship, or railroad car. 

NOTE: If a building or structure is divided into separately 
owned or leased units, each unit may not be considered a 
separate dwelling or storehouse for purposes of a prosecution 
under the subheading,unless it is objectively apparent that each 
unit constitutes a separate dwelling or storehouse. 
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  CR 6-203(b) 
FELONY 
20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_3015* **BURGLARY/2ND DEGREE/FIREARM** 

 
...did break and enter the storehouse of ______ (owner, lessee), 
with the intent to steal, take and carry away a firearm, to wit: 
___, in violation of CR 6-203(b) of the Annotated Code of 
Maryland. 

NOTE: "Firearm" retains its statutorily provided definitions of:  

1. Handgun, antique firearm, rifle, shotgun, short-barreled 
shotgun, and short-barreled rifle, and those terms are defined in 
CR 4-201; 

2. Pistol, revolver, and antique pistol or revolver, as those terms 
as are defined in CR 4-201; 

3. Machine gun, as defined in CR 4-401; 

4. Any other firearm that has not been modified to render it 
permanently inoperative. 

NOTE: If a building or structure is divided into separately 
owned or leased units, each unit may not be considered a 
separate dwelling or storehouse for purposed of a prosecution 
under this subheading, unless it is objectively apparent that 
each unit constitutes a separate dwelling or storehouse. 
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  CR 6-204 
FELONY 
10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_3020* **BURGLARY-THIRD DEGREE** 

 
...did break and enter the dwelling of _____ (owner,lessee, 
etc.), located at _____ to commit a crime, to wit: ______, in 
violation of CR 6-204 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: If a building or structure is divided into separately 
owned or leased units, each unit may not be considered a 
separate dwelling or storehouse for purposes of a prosecution 
under this subheading, unless it is objectively apparent that 
each unit constitutes a separate dwelling or storehouse. 

NOTE: The violation created under this section is a lesser 
included offense of a violation under CR6-202. Accordingly, if 
a violation arising out of the same criminal incident is charged 
under CR 6-202, there is no need to charge specifically under 
this section unless there is evidence that the defendant had the 
specific intent to commit two crimes, one of which would 
qualify under CR 6-202 and the other of which would not. 

 
 
 
  CR 6-205(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 
3 YEARS 

*2_3030* **BURGLARY-FOURTH DEGREE-DWELLING** 

 
...did break and enter the dwelling of _______(owner, lessee, 
etc), located at _____, in violation of CR 6-205(a) of the 
Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: If a building or structure is divided into separately 
owned or leased units, each unit may not be considered a 
separate dwelling or storehouse for purposes of a prosecution 
under the subheading, unless it is objectively apparent that each 
unit constitutes a separate dwelling or storehouse. 

NOTE: The violation created under this section is a lesser 
included offense of any violation under sections 202, 203 and 
204. Accordingly, if a violation arising from the same criminal 
incident is charged under those sections, there is no need to 
charge specifically under this section UNLESS criminal tools 
were used. See Burglary 4th Degree/Tools. 
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  CR 6-205(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
3 YEARS 

*1_1130* **BURGLARY-FOURTH DEGREE-STOREHOUSE** 

 
...did break and enter the storehouse of _______(owner, lessee, 
etc), located at _____, in violation of CR 6-205(b) of the 
Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: If a building or structure is divided into separately 
owned or leased units, each unit may not be considered a 
separate dwelling or storehouse for purposes of a prosecution 
under the subheading, unless it is objectively apparent that each 
unit constitutes a separate dwelling or storehouse. 

NOTE: The violation created under this section is a lesser 
included offense of any violation under sections 202, 203 and 
204. Accordingly, if a violation arising from the same criminal 
incident is charged under those sections, there is no need to 
charge specifically under this section UNLESS criminal tools 
were used. See Burglary 4th Degree/Tools. 

 
 
 
  

  CR 6-205(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
3 YEARS 

*2_3040* **BURGLARY-4TH DEGREE THEFT** 

 
...was [in/on] the [dwelling/storehouse/yard/garden/other area, 
to wit: ____] of _____ (owner, lessee, etc) located at ______, 
with the intent to commit theft in violation of CR 6-205(c) of 
the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: If a building or structure is divided into separately 
owned or leased units, each unit may not be considered a 
separate dwelling or storehouse for the purpose of a prosecution 
under this subheading, unless it is objectively apparent that 
each unit constitutes a separate dwelling or storehouse. 

NOTE: A person convicted of a violation of CR 7-104 may not 
also be convicted of violating this part of CR 6-205(c), based 
on the act or acts establishing the violation of CR 7-104. 
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  CR 6-205(d) 
MISDEMEANOR 
3 YEARS 

*2_3045* **BURGLARY-4TH DEGREE/PERMIT TOOL USE** 

 
...did permit the use of burglar's tools; to wit: _____, in the 
commission of a burglary. 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 6-205(d) 
MISDEMEANOR 
3 YEARS 

*2_3050* **BURGLARY-4TH DEGREE/TOOLS** 

 
...did possess burglar's tools, to wit: ____, with the intent to use 
them in the commission of a burglary. 

NOTE: "Burglar's Tools" means a picklock, key, crowbar, 
prybar, jack, or bit; nitroglycerin, dynamite, gunpowder, or 
other explosive material; an acetylene torch, electric arc, 
burning bar, thermal lance, oxygen lance, or similar device 
capable of burning through metal, concrete, or other solid 
material; or any other tool, instrument, or device that has been 
adapted, designed, or used for committing or facilitating the 
commission of a burglary offense. 
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  CR 6-206(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
3 YEARS 

*2_3080* **BURG TOOLS-MOT. VEH/POSS** 

 
...did possess burglar's tools, to wit: ______ with the intent to 
use the same in the commission of a crime involving the 
breaking and entering of a motor vehicle. 

 

 

  

  CR 6-206(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
3 YEARS 

*2_3090* **ROGUE AND VAGABOND** 

 
...was [in/on] the motor vehicle of ____ (owner, lessee, etc.), 
with the intent to commit theft of [the vehicle/ property within 
the motor vehicle/property on the motor vehicle]. 
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  CR 6-207 
FELONY 
20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_3060* **BURGLARY WITH EXPLOSIVES** 

...did commit burglary in the [first/second/third] degree at 
_____ (location) and did [open/attempt to open] a vault, safe, or 
secure repository by the use of a destructive device, as defined 
in Section 4-501 of this article, in violation of CR 6-207 of the 
Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: Since an explosive is a burglar's tool, a separate charge 
of "Burglary 4th Degree/Poss. Tools (2-3050) should normally 
accompany this section. 

NOTE: A sentence for violation of this section may be imposed 
separate from and consecutive to or concurrent with a sentence 
for any other offense arising from the same criminal incident. 

NOTE: Section 4-501 defines "Destructive Device" as 
explosive, incendiary, or toxic material that has been combined 
with a delivery or detonating apparatus so as to be capable of 
inflicting injury to persons or damage to property. "Destructive 
Devices" include devices which are primarily designed and 
manufactured for military purposes as instrumentalities of 
destruction, including any bomb, grenade, mine, shell, missile, 
flame-thrower, or poison gas; and any explosive, incendiary, or 
toxic material which has been delibrately modified, 
containerized or otherwise equipped with any sort of special 
delivery, activation or detonation component so as to give it the 
destructive characteristics of a military ordnance, including a 
molotov cocktail, pipe bomb, or petroleum soaked ammonium 
nitrate. 
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  CR 6-208 
FELONY 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_3070* **B & E RESEARCH FACILITY** 

 
...did break and enter into ____, a research facility, without the 
permission of said research facility, to [obtain unauthorized 
control over/alter or eradicate/ damage or deface/move research 
property in a manner intended to cause harm to/ destroy or 
remove/and engage in conduct that results in the removal of] 
research property, to wit: _____, in violation of CR 6-208 of the 
Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: "Research Facility" means any enclosure or separately 
secure yard, pad, pond, laboratory, pasture, or pen, the purpose 
of which is to conduct research, house research subjects, or 
store supplies, records, data, prototypes, or equipment 
necessary to or derived from research. 

NOTE: "Research Property" means any property related to 
research in a research facility, regardless of value, including 
any sample, specimen, research subject, record, data, test result, 
or proprietary information. 
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  CR 6-301 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 60 DAYS 

*3_4025* 
**MAL DESTR PROP/ VALUE - $1,000** 

 ...did willfully and maliciously [destroy/injure/deface]______ 
(describe), the [real/personal] property of _____ (owner/lessee, 
etc.), the amount of damage having a value of less than $1,000. 

 

  CR 6-301 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 

*3_4030* 
**MAL DESTR PROP VALUE $1,000+** 

 ...did willfully and maliciously [destroy/injure/deface] ____ 
(describe), the [real/personal] property of ____ (owner/lessee, 
etc.), the amount of damage having a value of $1,000 or more. 

 

  CR 6-301(e) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 

*3_4035* 
**MAL DES-SCHEME/VALU $1,000+** 

 ...did, pursuant to one scheme and continuing course of 
conduct, wilfully and maliciously destroy, injure, deface and 
molest ____________ (list all property damaged), the property 
of (list all owners or lessees), the owners and lessees of the 
same, having an aggregate value of over $1,000. 

NOTE: The State may use this charge to combine the value of 
all damaged property to achieve an aggregate value of over 
$500. 

NOTE: CR 6-301 specifically provides that malicious 
destruction can be committed by commission of an "act of 
graffiti." An act of "Graffiti" means a violation of this section 
by permanent drawing, permanent painting or making of any 
permanent mark or inscription on the real or personal property 
of another without their permission. 

In addition to the penalties provided, a person who violates this 
section shall be ordered to pay restitution or perform 
community service or both. 
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 Throwing Missiles - Occupied Vehicle of 
Instrumentality of Public Transportation 

  CR 6-302 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_2903* **MAL DEST MISSILES AT VEH.** 

 
...did unlawfully and willfully [throw/shoot/propel] a _____ 
(describe object, see note) at or into a vehicle to wit: ______ 
(describe) occupied by _____ (see note). 

NOTE: Item thrown or propelled may be a rock, stone, brick, a 
piece of iron steel, or other like metal; or any dangerous or 
deadly missile. 

NOTE: The Acts of 1997 strike the term "fire bomb" from this 
section. A fire bombing as previously proscribed under this 
section is punishable under CR 4-501(b). 

To qualify under this section, the vehicle can be any vehicle or 
instrumentality of transportation. 

To qualify under this section, the vehicle must be occupied by 
one or more persons. If one, state name. If more than one, state 
all names if known, or the name of driver, owner, or 
complainant followed by the words " ....and _____ other 
persons. 

 

 

 Electric Companies -Unauthorized Connections, 
Etc.; Tampering, Etc. 

  CR 6-303(1)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_2608* **ELEC CO TAMPER W/CONDUCTOR** 

 
...did wilfully [connect/disconnect] an electrical conductor 
belonging to ____, an electric company, for the purpose of 
[using/ wasting] the electric current. 
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  CR 6-303(1)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0215* **ELECTR CO: TAMPER W/METER** 

 
...did wilfully tamper with a meter used to register electric 
current consumed, belonging to ____, an electric company. 

 

 

  

  CR 6-303(1)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0216* **ELEC CO TAMPER W/CO EQUIP** 

 
...did wilfully interfere with the operation of a [dynamo/other 
such electrical appliance ________(specify)] of ____, an 
electric company. 

 

 

  

  CR 6-303(1)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0217* **ELEC CO TMPR W/POLES LINES** 

 
...did wilfully tamper with and interfere with the 
[materials/equipment] of _____, an electric company. 

NOTE: Section does not apply to employees, authorized agents, 
etc. of electric company. 
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  CR 6-304(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$250.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*2_2699* **GAS CO TAMPER W/EQP: DAMAGE** 

 
...did wrongfully and maliciously 
[damage/connect/disconnect/tap/interfere with /tamper with] 
[materials/equipment/facilities] belonging to ____(name of 
company), a company using and engaged in the [manufacture/ 
supply] of gas for light, heat and power. 

 

 

 Gas Companies - Tapping or Tampering, Etc., 
Pipes, Etc. 

  CR 6-304(2)(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$250.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0213* **GAS CO TMPR W/LINE DEFRAUD** 

 
...did, with intent to injure and defraud ___ (gas company), 
[connect/cause to be connected] to a main service pipe, other 
pipe, tube and___ (other instrument) for conducting and 
supplying gas to a burner without passing through the meter 
provided for measuring and registering the quantity of gas 
consumed. 

 

 

  CR 6-304(2)(i)(ii) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$250.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0212* **GAS CO MKE BYPAS PIPE DEFR** 

 
...did, with intent to injure and defraud ____ (gas company), 
[make/cause to be made] a [ pipe/ tube/  ___ (other instrument)]  
for conducting and supplying gas to a burner without passing 
through the meter for measuring and registering the quantity of 
gas consumed. 
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  CR 6-305(c)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0188* **WATER SUP CONNECT UNLAWFUL** 

 
...did make a connection with a water equipment for the 
purpose of [wasting/using] water supplied by _______ 
(company). 

 

 

 Water Company Meters and Equipment 

  CR 6-305(c)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_2699* **WTR SUP PROP/EQUIP: TAMPER** 

 
...did wrongfully and maliciously 
[connect/disconnect/tap/interfere with/tamper with]  water 
equipment belonging to ____ (name company), using and 
engaging in the supplying of water for 
[domestic/agricultural/manufacturing] purposes. 

 

 

  

  CR 6-305(c)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0189* **WATER SUPPLY METER: TAMPER** 

 
...did tamper with a meter used by _____ to measure water 
consumed. 
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MANUFACTURED ARTICLES 

 Removing/Defacing Serial Numbers 

  CR 6-306(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*2_2800* **MAN SERIAL#: REMOV/OBLIT** 

 
...did remove, deface and obliterate the manufacturer's serial 
number [punched/affixed by plate] to _____ (article or 
product), with the intent of preventing the tracing or 
identification of said article or product. 

 

 

  

  CR 6-306(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_0291* **MAN SERIAL# RETAIN ITEM** 

 
...did knowingly [retain in his possession/offer for sale] ____ 
(article or product), from which the manufacturer's serial 
number had been removed, defaced and obliterated. 

 

 

  

  CR 6-307(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*2_2810* **SELL/POSSES STOLEN MANF NO** 

 
...unlawfully did [sell/possess]  stolen [manufactured serial 
numbers/vehicle identification plates/labels]. 
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  CR 6-307(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*2_2820* **POSS SERIAL #/FRAUD PURPOSES** 

 
...unlawfully did possess [manufactured serial numbers/vehicle 
indentification plates/labels]  with the intent for the [serial 
numbers/ vehicle identification plates/labels] to be [affixed to 
stolen property/ to be used for fraudulent purposes]. 

 

TRESPASS 

 On Posted Property 

  CR 6-402 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_2210* **TRESPASS-POSTED PROPERTY** 

 
...did trespass and enter upon the property of _______(owner) 
said property being posted against trespassers in a conspicuous 
manner. 

NOTE: The previous requirement that the prosecution be 
brought by the landowner or tenant has been eliminated. The 
posting requirements are included as part of subsection (a)(1) of 
CR 6-402. 

NOTE: See CR 6-402 regarding definition of "conspicuous". 

NOTE: See CR 6-402(b) for subsequent violations. 
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  CR 6-403 

MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_2220* **TRESPASS: PRIVATE PROPERTY** 

 
...did [enter upon/remain upon/cross over] the land, private 
property, and premises of _____ (owner) after having been duly 
notified not to do so by _____, the [owner/agent of the owner]. 

NOTE: See CR 6-403(c) for subsequent violations. 

 

 

 Wanton Trespass/Private Land/Vessel, etc., 
Prohibit Denial/Accommodations 

  CR 6-403 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_2230* **TRESPASS: BOAT** 

 
...did [board/remain upon] the marine vessel of _____ (owner) 
after having been duly notified not to do so by ______, the 
[owner/agent of the owner]. 

NOTE: Subsection applies to property used as a housing project 
and operated by a housing authority or another state public 
body, if required notification given by duly authorized agent of 
the housing authority or other state public body. 

NOTE: Exception is provided for the Mayor and City Council 
of Baltimore to enact legislation respecting public 
accommodations. 

NOTE: See CR 6-403(c) for subsequent violations. 
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 Operation Off-Road Vehicle On Public/Private 

Property 

  CR 6-404(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_2240* **OFF-ROAD VEHICLE ON PROPERTY** 

 
...did unlawfully operate and use an off-road vehicle upon the 
private property of ______(name) (see note), located at 
________(address), without having the written consent of the 
owner and tenant of the property. 

NOTE: Name in blank refers to private owner, lessee, etc. 

 

 

  

  CR 6-405 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_2250* **OFF-ROAD VEH/GOV PROPERTY** 

 
...did unlawfully operate and use an off-road vehicle on 
property knowlingly owned and leased by the State of 
Maryland and any political subdivision. 

NOTE: Definition of off road vehicle as in CR 6-401. 

 

 

  

  CR 6-406 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_2270* **TRESPASS-CULTIVATED LAND** 

 
...did, without permission from the [owner/agent of the owner] 
wantonly enter upon the cultivated land of _____(name). 

NOTE: "Cultivated Land" means land which has been cleared 
of its natural vegetation and is planted with a crop or orchard. 
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 Entering/Remaining in Stable Area Of Race Track 
After Notice 

  CR 6-407 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_2260* **TRESPASS-RACE TRACK/STABLE** 

 
...did [enter/remain in]  the stable of _____, a race track, after 
having been notified by ____, a [track official/security guard/ 
policeman] that [he/she] is not allowed in that area. 

 

 

 

 

 

Trespass to Look into Window, etc. 

  CR 6-408 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_2280* **TRESPASS-PEEPING TOM** 

 
...did enter upon the land and premises of _____ (owner) for the 
purpose of invading the privacy of the occupant of said 
premises by looking into said premises. 

NOTE: Facts must show that it would be possible to see in, i.e., 
it is presumed that one cannot see into a dark room (lights out) 
in the dark of night. 
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 Refuse Leave Public Building Or Grounds Upon 
Request 

  CR 6-409(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*3_5707* **TRESPAS PUB AGNCY AFTER HR** 

 
...did [refuse/fail to leave]  _____, a property of the ______, a 
public agency, during regular closing hours, having no lawful 
business therein and having been requested to leave by 
______(name) an authorized employee. 

NOTE: It must show that the acts took place after regular hours 
and while the property was closed. The facts must clearly 
demonstrate a lack of lawful business, but lawful business 
could cover a wide range of business or interests. There must 
have been an actual notice given. The unlawful activity must be 
clearly and specifically described. 
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  CR 6-409(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0344* **TREPASS PUB AGNCY DUR HRS** 

 
...did [refuse/fail to leave] _____, a property of ______, a 
public agency, during regular business hours upon being 
requested to do so by an authorized employee and when the 
defendant [had no apparent lawful business to pursue/was 
acting in a manner disruptive of and disturbing to the conduct 
of normal business].  

NOTE: It must show that the acts took place during regular 
business hours. The facts must clearly describe "no lawful 
business", or the acts complained of must clearly specify how 
the normal business was disrupted and disturbed.  Mere 
entrance into a public building, following a prior notification, 
does not amount to a criminal trespass under this section. 

 

 

  

  CR 6-410 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*2_2290* **TRESPASS GOVERNMENT HOUSE** 

 
...did wantonly trespass on the property of Government House. 

NOTE: No requirement that the property of Government House 
be posted against unlawful entry or trespass. 
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RAILROADS 

  

  CR 6-502(b)(1) 
FELONY 
$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*3_5750* **RR: INTENT OBSTRUCT ETC.** 

 
...did [break/damage] __________ (railroad) by ______ 
(manner) with the intent to [obstruct/derail]  from the tracks a 
railroad vehicle, to wit: ____________ (describe vehicle). 

NOTE: "railroad vehicle" includes a car, carriage engine, 
locomotive, or tender. 

NOTE: In this section, "railroad includes a switch, frog, rail, 
roadbed, sleeper. Viaduct, bridge, trestle, culvert, embankment, 
structure, or appliance that pertains to or connects with a 
railroad. 

 

 

 Obstructing/Breaking Railroad to Overthrow 
Railroad Vehicle 

  CR 6-502(b)(2) 
FELONY 
$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*3_5740* **RR: INTENT OBSTRUCT ETC.** 

 
...did [place /caused to be placed] ______ (describe object) on 
______ (railroad), with the intent to [obstruct/derail] from the 
tracks of said railroad a railroad vehicle, to wit: __________ 
(describe vehicle). 
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 Getting on Engine, etc., W/O Authority; Free 
Transportation of Convicted Persons 

  CR 6-503 
MISDEMEANOR 
$25.00 - 1 MONTH 

*1_0589* **RR: ON EQUIPT W/O AUTHORITY** 

 
...unlawfully was [on/in] a railroad vehicle. 

NOTE: Statute requires that the railroad vehicle be upon a 
railroad track during the offense. This law does NOT prohibit 
being on a railroad track. Use trespass laws for that offense if 
tracks are posted. 

 

 

 

 Interfering W/Signals / Giving Unauthorized 
Signals 

  CR 6-504 
MISDEMEANOR 
6 MONTHS 

*8_5500* **RR: INTERFERE W/SIGNALS** 

 
...did, without authorization, give a train signal to [start a 
stopped train / stop a moving train]. 
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 Shooting/Throwing at Train 

  CR 6-505(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*3_5312* **RR: SHOOT/THROW AT** 

 
...did wilfully and maliciously [shoot at/throw ____ at/cause 
____ to fall upon/cause ___ to strike against] a 
[locomotive/motor/ tender/car] used upon a [railroad/electric 
railway] using [wood/stone/other matter _____ (describe)/ a 
thing ____ (describe)]. 

 

 

 

 Unauthorized Buying/Selling of Tickets 

  CR 6-506(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*3_2800* **RR: UNAUTH BUY/SELL TCKTS** 

 
...did, without authorization, [buy/sell/engage in the business of 
buying and selling] [railroad tickets/unused portions of a 
railroad tickets]. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
  

  CR 6-506(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*2_0264* **RR: VENDR/BROKR-ACT W/O AUT** 

 
...did, without authorization, act as a [vendor/broker] of 
[whole/partial] railroad tickets. 
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  CR 6-506(a)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*2_0265* **RR: TCKTS BUY/SELL NO AUTH** 

 
...did, without authorization, solicit for the unlawful buying and 
selling of railroad tickets [personally/by sign/by 
advertisement/by other ________(describe)]. 

 
 
 
 
 
  

  CR 6-506(a)(4) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*2_0266* **RR: TKTS AID/ABET TO BUY/SL** 

 
...did [aid/abet] in the unlawful buying and selling of railroad 
tickets. 
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Theft  

Commissioners and Police Officers processing a theft charge involving theft of motor fuel 
dispensed into a vehicle should insert an “F” in the CJIS code in order to effect appropriate 
reporting in the event of a conviction. 
 

 

 

 CR 7-104 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$25,000.00 – 25 YEARS 

*1_0624* **THEFT: $100,000 PLUS** 

 
...did steal _____ (property or service stolen) of _______ (owner) having a 
value of ______, $100,000 or more, in violation of CR 7-104 of the 
Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: An "owner" can be anyone in possession, lawful or otherwise. See 
the definition of "owner" in CR 7-101(g) if in doubt. If the owner and the 
victim are two different people and both names are known, it is permissible 
to add to the charge wording as shown below: ...steal (the property) of 
____ (owner) from _____ (victim)….  

NOTE: Violations of CR 7-104 through 108 are tried in the District Court, 
whether a felony or a misdemeanor. A person who obtains property or 
services by uttering a bad check may be immediately prosecuted under 
"theft", if the person uttering the check was the drawer and did not have an 
account with the drawee at the time of utterance. 

NOTE:  Venue - A person who violates this section by use of an interactive 
computer service may be prosecuted in any county in which the victim 
resides or the electronic communication originated or was received. 

 
 
 
 
  CR 7-104 

FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$15,000.00 – 15 YEARS 

*1_0623* **THEFT: $10,000 TO UNDER $100,000** 

 
...did steal _____ (property or service stolen) of _______ (owner) having a 
value of ______, at least $10,000 but less than $100,000, in violation of 
CR 7-104 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 
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  CR 7-104 

FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$10,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_0622* **THEFT: $1,000 TO UNDER $10,000** 

 
...did steal _____ (property or service stolen) of _______ (owner) having a 
value of ______, at least $1,000 but less than $10,000, in the violation of CR 
7-104 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

 
 
 
 
 
  CR 7-104 

MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_0621* **THEFT: LESS $1,000 VALUE** 

 
...did steal _____ (property or service stolen) of _______ (owner) having a 
value of _____, less than $1,000.00 , in violation of CR 7-104 of the 
Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: A person who has two or more prior convictions under this subtitle 
and is convicted of theft of property or services with a value of less than 
$1,000 is subject to a maximum penalty of $5,000.00 or 5 years or both.  

NOTE: It is suggested that you charge each misdemeanor offense separately 
and then charge all of the offense as "one scheme" and "a continuing course 
of conduct", provided there is not a break in the chain of events. 
Furthermore, the charge pursuant to "one scheme" and "a continuing course 
of conduct" is synonymous with an aggregate theft charge. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 7-104(3) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 
 

*1_0521* **THEFT LESS THAN $100.00** 

 
…did steal ______________ (property or service) of ______ (owner) having 
a value of less than $100.00. 
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  CR 7-104 

MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_0631* **THEFT-SCHEME: LESS $1,000** 

 
...did, between the dates of _____ and _____, pursuant to one scheme and 
continuing course of conduct, steal ____ (property or services stolen) of ____ 
(owner) having a value of less than $1000,  in violation of CR 7-104 of the 
Annotated Code of Maryland. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 7-104 

FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_0632* **THEFT-SCHEME: $1,000 TO UNDER $10,000** 

 
...did, between the dates of _____ and _____, pursuant to one scheme and 
continuing course of conduct, steal ____ (property or services stolen) of ____ 
(owner) having a value of at least $1,000 but less than $10,000, in violation 
of CR 7-104 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

 
 
 
 
  CR 7-104 

FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$15,000.00 - 15 YEARS 

*1_0633* **THEFT-SCHEME: $10,000 TO UNDER $100,000** 

 
...did, between the dates of _____ and _____, pursuant to one scheme and 
continuing course of conduct, steal ____ (property or services stolen) of ____ 
(owner) having a value of at least $10,000 but less than $100,000, in 
violation of CR 7-104 of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 
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  CR 7-104 

FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$25,000.00 - 25 YEARS 

*1_0634* **THEFT-SCHEME: $100,000 PLUS 

 
...did, between the dates of _____ and _____, pursuant to one scheme and 
continuing course of conduct, steal ____ (property or services stolen) of ____ 
(owner) having a value of  $100,000 or more, in violation of CR 7-104 of the 
Annotated Code of Maryland. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 Motor Vehicle Theft 

  CR 7-105 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
(SEE NOTE) 

*2_0480* **MOTOR VEH/UNLAWFUL TAKING** 

 
...did unlawfully, knowingly, and wilfully take out of _______'s (victim's) 
lawful custody, control, and use, a motor vehicle, to wit: _________ 
(describe), without the consent of said _____ (victim), in violation of CR 7-
105, of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: "Motor Vehicle" is defined in Transportation Article, Sec. 11-135. 

NOTE: All theft charges are within the exclusive original jurisdiction of the 
District Court, regardless of whether they are misdemeanor or felony, and do 
not receive a preliminary hearing. 
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  CR 7-106 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 60 DAYS 

*2_0455* **NEWSPAPER THEFT** 

 
...did wilfully and knowingly obtain and exert unauthorized 
control over newspapers, to wit: _____ (name paper and 
number of copies) with the intent to prevent others from 
reading the said newspapers. 

NOTE: "Newspaper" includes any periodical distributed on a 
complementary or compensatory basis. 

 

EMBEZZLING PROPERTY AND WRITINGS 

 Fraudulent Misappropriation By Fiduciary 

  CR 7-113(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
5 YEARS 

*1_2799* **EMBEZZLE MISAPPROPRIATE** 

 
...did, being a fiduciary of the [estate/trust] of _____(name), 
fraudulently and wilfully appropriate to a use not in the due and 
lawful execution of [his/her]  trust _____ [money/thing of 
value] received by [him/her]  in their fiduciary capacity. 

 

 

  CR 7-113(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
5 YEARS 

*1_0460* **EMBEZZLE-MISAPPROPRIATE** 

 
...did, being a fiduciary of the [estate/trust] of ____(name), 
secrete____, the [money/thing[s] of value] received by 
[him/her] in their fiduciary capacity, with the intent to 
appropriate same to a use not in the due and lawful execution of 
[his/her] trust. 
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 Fraud - Failure to Deliver Drafts for Stored 
Merchandise 

  CR 7-116 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*6_2610* **FRAUD/FAIL DELIV RECEIPTS** 

 
...did for [his/her] own benefit and in violation of trust after 
having been entrusted with [money/drafts/checks] in the 
amount of _____, an advance against stored merchandise, to 
wit: _____, [refuse/fail] to deliver the same and the shipment 
documents for said merchandise to ____ (victim) as soon as the 
shipment was completed. 

 

 

 Removal from Store Premises, Etc. 

  CR 7-201(b)(i) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$25.00 

*1_2411* **GROCERY CARTS-REMOVAL** 

 
...did remove from_______, a [grocery store/store/market], 
without the consent of the owner of said [grocery 
store/store/market] or his agents, a wheeled cart or similar 
device ________ (specify) provided by said owner for the 
purpose of carrying materials. 

NOTE: Applies only when cart is taken from the store or 
parking lot, except that destruction may be on the premises and 
the destroyer need not have taken the cart. The cart must be 
marked with the owner's name and address. Notice of the law 
must be prominently posted at the public exits. 
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APPROPRIATING PROPERTY BY BAILEE 

  

  CR 7-202 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_2800* **APPROP PROP - W/O CONSENT** 

 
...did wilfully [appropriate and use/permit ____(person) to 
appropriate and use] ______(name thing), which is the subject 
matter of a bailment, without the consent of ______ (owner), 
_______ (defendant) being [a bailee/an employee, servant, and 
agent of a bailee]. 

 

LARCENY - HORSES, BOATS OR VEHICLES 

 Unauthorized Use 

  CR 7-203 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 4 YEARS 

*2_2411* **UNAUTH REMOVAL OF PROPERTY** 

 
...did without permission, take and carry away [from the 
premises/out of the control/from the use of] of ______(name) a 
______(name item, see note below) with the intent to 
temporarily deprive _____ (name person deprived) of the use 
and possession of said property. 

NOTE: Property subject to this section includes: a vehicle, a 
motor vehicle, a vessel, or livestock. 
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 Hires - Rental of Motor Vehicle 
Abandoning/Refusing to Return 

  CR 7-205 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0220* **VEHICL/RENTED: ABANDON** 

 
...did abandon a motor vehicle, to wit: ____ after 
[leasing/renting]  same under an agreement to return said motor 
vehicle at the termination of the period for which it was leased 
and rented. 

NOTE: This may not be charged until 5 days after written 
demand described in CR 7-205(b)(1) is sent and the demand is 
not met. 

 

 

 

  CR 7-205 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_2405* **VEHICL/RENTD: FAIL RETURN** 

 
...did [abandon/refuse to return/willfully neglect to return] a 
motor vehicle to wit:______, after [leasing/renting] said motor 
vehicle from ________(lessor of motor vehicle) under an 
agreement to return said motor vehicle at the end of the 
[leasing/rental] period. 

NOTE: This may not be charged until 5 days after written 
demand described in CR 7-205(b)(1) is sent and the demand is 
not met. 
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ELECTRONIC THEFT DEVICE 

  

  CR 7-301(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1000 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1472* **ELECTRONIC THEFT DEVICE ** 

 
...did knowingly possess with the intent to commit theft a 
device _________ (device name) intended to shield 
merchandise from detection by an electronic security system. 

 

 

 

  CR 7-301(d) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1000 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1473* **ELECTRONIC THEFT - TOOL** 

 
...did knowingly possess A [tool/device] designed to allow the 
[de-activation/removal from merchandise] [an electronic 
security system/device] used as part of an electronic security 
system with the intent to [de-activate the security 
system/remove the device from merchandise] without 
permission. 
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 Computers - Illegal Access 

  CR 7-302(c)(1)(i) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_2804* **COMPUTERS ILLEGAL ACCESS** 

 
...did intentionally, willfully, and without authorization [access/ 
attempt to access/cause access to/exceed authorized access to ] 
[a computer/computer network/computer software/computer 
control language/computer system/computer services/computer 
data base]. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
  

  CR 7-302(c)(1)(ii) 
MISDEMEANOR     
$1,000.00 – 3 YEARS                

*1_0914* **COPY/POSSESS DATABASE** 

 
… did intentionally, willfully, and without authorization 
[copy/attempt to copy/possess/attempt to possess] the contents 
of [all/part of] a computer database accessed in violation of CR 
7-302(1)(I). 
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  CR 7-302(c)(2)(i) 

LOSS LESS THAN $10,000 
(barcode 1-0470) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
LOSS MORE THAN 
$10,000.00 
(barcode 1-0495) 
FELONY 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0470* 
*1_0495* 

**COMPUTER/ILL. ACC/DAMAGE** 

 
...did intentionally, willfully, and without authorization [access/ 
attempt to access/cause access to / exceed authorized access to] 
a [computer/ computer network/computer software/computer 
control language/ computer system/computer services/computer 
data base/a part thereof] to [cause the malfunction/interrupt the 
operation] of the said equipment and software. 
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  CR 7-302( c)(2)(ii) 
LOSS LESS THAN 
$10,000.00 
(barcode 1-0471) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
LOSS MORE THAN 
$10,000.00 
(barcode 1-0496) 
FELONY 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0471* 
*1_0496* 

**COMPUTER/ILL. ACC/ALTER DATA** 

 
...did intentionally, willfully, and without authorization [access/ 
attempt to access/ cause access to / exceed authorized access] to 
all or part of a [computer/ computer network/computer 
software/computer control language/ computer 
system/computer service/computer database] with intent to 
[alter/damage/destroy] [all/any part of] [data/a computer 
program] therein. 
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  CR 7-302(c )(3) 

LOSS LESS THAN $10,000 
(barcode 1-0472) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
LOSS MORE THAN 
$10,000.00 
(barcode 1-0497) 
FELONY 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0472* 
*1_0497* 

**COMPUTER/PUBLISH ACCESS CODE** 

 
...did intentionally, willfully, and without authorization [ 
possess / identify/ attempt to identify/distribute to ____, an 
unauthorized person/ publicize to unauthorized persons] a valid 
access code. 
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  CR 7-302(c )(4) 

LOSS LESS THAN $50,000 
(barcode 1-0638) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$25,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
LOSS MORE THAN 
$50,000.00 
(barcode 1-0639) 
FELONY 
$25,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0638* 
*1_0639* 

**INTERRUPT STATE GOV OR SERVICE ** 

 
...did with intent, [interrupt/impair] the functioning of_______ 

1. the State Government by ____(describe act). 

2. A [service/device/system] related to the 
[production/transmission/delivery/storage] of 
[electricity/natural gas] in the State that is 
[owned/operated/controlled] by _____(name), a person 
other than a public service company 1-101 by 
___________(describe act). 

3. A service provided in the State by a public service 
company by ________(describe act) 

See PUC 1-101 for definition of Publice Service Company. 
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  CR 7-303 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_0290* **FRAUD-CABLE TV-FOR PAY.** 

 
...did for [pay/offer of pay], [destroy/damage/cut/tamper 
with/install/tap/remove/displace/make a connection] with a 
[wire/conduit/apparatus/ equipment] of ____ [cable TV 
company/private cableTV company], with the intent to receive 
cable TV services without payment. 

 
 
 
 
  CR 7-303 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 – 5 YEARS 

*2_0291* **CABLE TV PREVNT PROG FOR PAY** 

 
...did for [payment/offer of payment], [prevent/obstruct/delay] 
the [sending/conveyance/distribution/receipt] of programming 
material transmitted by a [franchised cable television 
company/a private cable television company]. 

 
 
 
 
 
  CR 7-303 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_0292* **CABLE TV RECV SERV-FRAUD-PAY** 

 
...did, for [payment/offer of payment]with the intent to deprive 
(name company) of lawful compensation for services provided, 
[receive/attempt to receive/assist another to receive] cable 
television service by [trick/use of a decoder/other fraudulent 
means to wit: ______]. 
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  CR 7-303 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_0293* **SAT CABLE TV RECV-BY FRAUD-PAY** 

 
...did, for [payment/offer of payment] with the intent to deprive 
(name company) of lawful compensation for services provided, 
[receive/attempt to receive/assist another to receive] satellite 
cable programming that is [offered for sale in the person's area 
through an unauthorized marketing system/received by 
decoding encrypted satellite cable programming]. 

 

 

  

  CR 7-303 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_0294* **CABLE TV CON W/O AUTH-PAY** 

 
...did, for [payment/offer of payment], connect with a 
[cable/wire/component/other device] used for the distribution of 
cable television service without authority from the cable 
television company. 

 

 

  

  CR 7-303 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_0295* **SAT TV MODIFY EQUIP FOR PAY** 

 
...did for [payment/offer of payment] modify and alter [a device 
installed with the authorization of a cable television 
company/equipment capable of decoding encrypted satellite 
cable programming] in order to intercept and receive, [a 
program/service carried by the company/satellite cable 
programming]. 

 

 

 



 

Rev. 10/1/2013 

209.
 

  

  CR 7-303 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*4_0248* **CABL TV SEL/RNT DEV-FOR PAY** 

 
...did for [payment/offer of payment] [sell/offer for 
sale/rent/offer for rent] to a person, a [device/plan for a device] 
with knowledge that the person intends to use the [device/plan] 
to do an act prohibited by CR 7-303. 

 

 

  

  CR 7-303(b)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 
SUB OFFENSE 
$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*3_2999* **FRAUD-CABLE TV-TAMPER ETC.** 

 
...did [destroy/damage/cut/tamper 
with/install/tap/remove/displace/make a connection] with a 
[wire/conduit/apparatus/ equipment] of ____ [cable TV 
company/private cableTV company], with the intent to receive 
cable TV services without payment. 

 

 

  

  CR 7-303(c)(i) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 
SUB OFFENSE 
$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_0244* **CABLE TV RECV SERV BY FRAUD** 

 
...did, with the intent to deprive _______(name company) of 
lawful compensation for services provided, [receive/attempt to 
receive/assist another to receive] cable television service by 
[trick/use of a decoder/other fraudulent means to wit: ______]. 
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  CR 7-303(c)(ii) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 
SUB OFFENSE 
$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_0245* **SAT CABLE TV RECV BY FRAUD** 

 
...did, with the intent to deprive __________(name company) of 
lawful compensation for services provided, [receive/attempt to 
receive/assist another to receive] satellite cable programming 
that is [offered for sale in the person's area through an 
unauthorized marketing system/received by decoding encrypted 
satellite cable programming]. 

 

 

  

  CR 7-303(c)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 
SUB OFFENSE 
$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_0243* **CABLE TV PREVNT OBST PROG** 

 
...did [prevent/obstruct/delay] the 
[sending/conveyance/distribution/ 

receipt] of programming material transmitted by a [franchised 
cable television company/a private cable television company]. 

 

 

 Cable TV-Tampering Etc 

  CR 7-303(4) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*2_0246* **CABLE TV CON W/O AUTHORITY** 

 
...did connect with a [cable/wire/component/other device] used 
for the distribution of cable television service without authority 
from the cable television company. 
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  CR 7-303(5)(ii) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 
SUB OFFENSE 
$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_0247* **SAT. CABLE TV MODIFY EQUIP** 

 
...did modify and alter [a device installed with the authorization 
of a cable television company/equipment capable of decoding 
encrypted satellite cable programming] in order to intercept and 
receive, [a program/service carried by the company/satellite 
cable programming]. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 7-303(6) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 
SUB OFFENSE 
$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR* 

*2_0248* **CABL TV SEL/RNT DEV/MISUE** 

 
...did [sell/offer for sale/rent/offer for rent] to a person, a 
[device/plan for a device] with knowledge that the person 
intends to use the [device/plan] to do an act prohibited by CR 7-
303. 
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RECORDED MATERIAL - UNAUTHORIZED COPIES 

 Transfer Recorded Sound W/O Consent of Owner 
Of Master Device 

  CR 7-308(b) 
PENALTY SEC. CR 7-309      
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 
SUB OFFENSE $10,000.00 - 
3 YEARS 

*3_2602* **RECORDING: UNAUTHORIZ COPY** 

 
...did knowingly [transfer/cause to be transferred] sounds 
[recorded/otherwise stored] on a recorded article onto another 
recorded article with the intent to [sell/cause to be sold] [for 
profit/to promote the sale of _____(product)] and without the 
consent of the owner thereof. 

NOTE: The above wording shall only apply to sound 
recordings initially fixed prior to February 15, 1972. 

NOTE: "Owner" refers to copy right owner. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 7-308(c)(2) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 7-309)   
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0330* **RECORD/UNAUTH PERFORMANCE** 

 
...did knowingly [transfer/cause to be transferred] to a recorded 
article a performance by _____ (artist) with the intent [to 
[sell/cause to be sold] said recording for profit/ that said 
recording be used to promote the sale of ____ (product)] 
without the consent of said performer. 
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  CR 7-308(d)(2) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 7-309)   
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0331* **RECORDG/UNAUTH SELL, ETC.** 

 
...did knowingly [sell/rent/distribute/circulate/offer for 
[sale/rental distribution/circulation]/possess for 
[sale/distribution/circulation]/ cause to be 
[sold/rented/distributed/circulated]] a recorded article to wit: 
____ (name or describe) [on which sounds have been 
transferred without the consent of the owner/embodying a 
performance without the consent of the performer. 

NOTE: "Owner" means copyright owner. 

 

 

  

  CR 7-308(d)(2)(i)(ii) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 7-309)   
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0332* **RECORDING: SELL, ETC.** 

 
...did knowingly [sell/rent/distribute/circulate/offer for [sale/ 
rental/distribution/circulation]/possess for [sale/rental 
distribution/circulation]] a recorded article on which 
[sounds/images] have been [transferred/stored], such recorded 
article, etc., not having contained the name and address of the 
transferor and the name of the performer in a prominent place 
on its outside face or package. 

NOTE: This section applies to persons, firms, 
corporations,associations, partnership. 

This section does not apply to:  

1.  Any radio or TV broadcaster or cable radio or TV operator 
who transmits in regular business. 

2.  Any person transferring sound or images for his own use. 
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  CR 7-308(e) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0336* **RECORDING/UNAUTHORIZED-MOVE THEATER** 

 
…did knowingly operate an audiovisual recording function of a 
device in motion picture theater without the consent of the 
[owner/lessee] of the theater. 

NOTE:  This section does not apply to the lobby area of a 
motion picture theater. 

 

TELECOMMUNICATION SERVICES 

  

  CR 7-315 
PENALTY SEC. CR 7-316      
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0590* **TELECOM SERVICE - FRAUD** 

 
…did [possess/use/manufacture/distribute/transfer/sell/ 
offer/promote/advertise for sale, use and distribution] an 
[unlawful telecommunication device/access code] for the 
commission of a theft of telecommunication service. 

 

  

  CR 7-315 
PENALTY SEC. 7-3169a) 
FELONY 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_0591* **TELECOM SERV - FELONY** 

 
...did [possess/use/manufacture/distribute/transfer/sell/ 
offer/promote/advertise for sale, use and distribution] more than 
100 [unlawful telecommunication devices/access codes] for the 
commission of a theft of telecommunication service. 
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BAD CHECKS 

 

  CR 8-103 
PENALTY SEC. 8-106 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$10,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1218* 
**BDCKS/30 DY PLOT/NSF** 

 ...did, between _______ (date) and ____ (date, see note), 
unlawfully and knowingly obtain ______ (property or services) 
from ______ (name of supplier) of the value of $________, by 
[uttering/passing] ______ (number of checks, see note) to 
______(name of person or company receiving checks) 
numbered ______ (check numbers) drawn on _______ (name 
of bank and account #) knowing that there were insufficient 
funds with the drawee to cover it and other outstanding checks, 
intending and believing at the time of the [passing/utterance] 
that payment would be refused by the drawee upon 
presentation. 

NOTE: Each check issued must be less than $1,000 and issued 
within a 30 day period. The cumalitive value of property or 
services must be $1,000 or more.  
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  CR 8-103  
PENALTY SEC. 8-106 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$10,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1219* 

**BDCK/30 DY PLOT/STOP PAY** 
...did, between ______ (date) and ______ (date, see note), unlawfully 
and knowingly obtain _____ (property or services) from ______ 
(name of supplier) of the value of $________ (see note), by 
[uttering/passing] _______ (number of checks, see note) to _______ 
(name of person or company receiving checks) numbered _______ 
(check numbers), drawn on ______ (name of bank and account 
number), knowing that the drawee thereof at the time of 
[passing/utterance] intended to stop payment of the checks without 
the consent of the payee and payment was refused by the drawee 
upon presentation of the checks. 
NOTE: This section does not apply to any holder of an instrument 
who gives to the maker a bona fide reasonable notice of dishonor and 
warning of criminal prosecution under Sec. 8-101 through 8-107 of 
this Article. 
 NOTE: Each check issued must be less than $1,000 and issued 
within a 30 day period. The cumalitive value of property or services 
must be $1,000 or more. 
If multiple bad checks are passed or uttered to the same victim, and 
one or more exceeds a value of $1,000, it is suggested that each bad 
check be charged separately. The State's Attorney may later add a 
cumulative charge for those checks not exceeding $1,000 in value in 
their discretion. 
If multiple bad checks are passed or uttered to the same victim over a 
period of time exceeding 30 days, it is suggested that two or more 
charges be used, one for the first 30 days, and an additional 
cumulative charge for each ensuing 30-day period or portion thereof. 
NOTE: The sworn application for Statement of Charges (DC/CR 1 or 
DC/CR 44) is the affadivit under Commercial Law Article 15-802.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

Rev. 10/1/2013 

217.
 

 

  CR 8-103(a) 
PENALTY SEC. CR 8-
106(d) 
FELONY- DISTRICT CT 
$25,000.00 – 25 YEARS 

*1_1220* 
**BD CHECK/UTTER/NSF 100K +** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___ (property or 
service) having a value of ____, belonging to ____ (owner) by 
uttering a certain bad check numbered ____, drawn on ____ 
(drawee) knowing that there were insufficient funds with the 
drawee to cover it and other outstanding checks, intending and 
believing at the time of the utterance that payment would be 
refused by the drawee upon presentation, and the payment was 
refused by the drawee upon presentation. 

 

 

 

 

  CR 8-103(a) 
PENALTY SEC. CR 8-
106(d) 
FELONY- DISTRICT CT 
$15,000.00 – 15 YEARS 

*1_1221* 
**BD CHECK/UTTER/NSF 10K-<100K** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___ (property or 
service) having a value of ____, belonging to ____ (owner) by 
uttering a certain bad check numbered ____, drawn on ____ 
(drawee) knowing that there were insufficient funds with the 
drawee to cover it and other outstanding checks, intending and 
believing at the time of the utterance that payment would be 
refused by the drawee upon presentation, and the payment was 
refused by the drawee upon presentation. 
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  CR 8-103 (a) 
PENALTY SEC. 8-106 
FELONY 1K to <10K 
DISTRICT COURT 
$10,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1222* 
**BD CK/UTTER/NSF/$1,000 TO <$10K** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain____ (property or 
service obtained) having a value of _____, belonging to ____, 
(victim) by uttering a certain bad check numbered _____, 
drawn on ______ (drawee), knowing that there were 
insufficient funds with the drawee to cover it and other 
outstanding checks, intending and believing at the time of the 
utterance that payment would be refused by the drawee upon 
presentation, and payment was refused by the drawee upon 
presentation. 

NOTE TO COMMISSIONERS:  

In all except employee situations (see below), there are two 
ways to violate CR 8-103 by uttering a bad check or by passing 
a bad check. There are also two ways for a check to be bad, 
insufficient funds (NSF) or a deliberate stop payment order. 

The person that wrote a bad check is called the "Drawer." When 
he or his representative gives that check to another to obtain 
goods, services, or money, that check has been UTTERED. 
Choose the appropriate wording under BD CK/UTTER, 
depending upon the value of the check and whether it was 
refused by the bank for NSF or because of a stop payment 
order. The term service may also include the use of computer, 
data processing or other equipment. 
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  CR 8-103 (a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_1223* 
**BD CK/UTTER/NSF/UND $1,000** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ____ (property or 
service obtained) having a value of ____, belonging to ____, 
(victim) by uttering a certain bad check numbered ___, drawn 
on _____ (drawee) knowing that there were insufficient funds 
with the drawee to cover it and other outstanding checks, 
intending and believing at the time of the utterance that 
payment would be refused by the drawee upon presentation, 
and payment was refused by the drawee upon presentation. 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 8-103(a) 
PENALTY SEC. CR 8-
106(d) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_1141* 
**BD CHECK/UTTER/NSF LESS $100** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___ (property or 
service) having a value of ____, belonging to ____ (owner) by 
uttering a certain bad check numbered ____, drawn on ____ 
(drawee) knowing that there were insufficient funds with the 
drawee to cover it and other outstanding checks, intending and 
believing at the time of the utterance that payment would be 
refused by the drawee upon presentation, and the payment was 
refused by the drawee upon presentation. 
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  CR 8-103(b) 
PENALTY SEC. CR 8-
106(d) 
FELONY – DISTRICT CT 
$25,000 – 25 YEARS 

*1_1224* 
**BAD CHECK/STOP PAY/ $100K +** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___ (property or 
service) having a value of ____, belonging to ____ (owner) by 
uttering a certain bad check numbered ____, drawn on ____ 
(drawee) knowing that the drawer therof at the time of utterance 
intended to stop payment of the check without the consent of 
the payee and the payment was refused by the drawee upon 
presentation of the check. 

 

 

 

 

 

  CR 8-103(b) 
PENALTY SEC. CR 8-
106(d) 
FELONY – DISTRICT CT 
$15,000 – 15 YEARS 

*1_1225* 
**BAD CHECK/STOP PAY/$10K TO <$100K ** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___ (property or 
service) having a value of ____, belonging to ____ (owner) by 
uttering a certain bad check numbered ____, drawn on ____ 
(drawee) knowing that the drawer therof at the time of utterance 
intended to stop payment of the check without the consent of 
the payee and the payment was refused by the drawee upon 
presentation of the check. 
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  CR 8-103(b) 
PENALTY SEC. 8-106 
FELONY -DISTRICT CT 
$1,000.00 - 15 YEARS 
$10,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1226* 
**BD CK/UTTER/STP PAY/$1K TO < $10K ** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ____ (property or 
service obtained), having the value of ____, belonging to 
(victim) by uttering a certain check numbered ____, drawn on 
_____ (drawee) knowing that the drawer thereof at the time of 
utterance intended to stop payment of the checks without the 
consent of the payee and payment was refused by the drawee 
upon presentation of the check. 

 

 

 

  CR 8-103(b) 
PENALTY SEC. 8-106 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500 – 18 MONTHS 

*1_1227* 
**BD CK/UTTER/STOP PAY/UND $1,000** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ____(property or 
service obtained), having the value of ____, belonging to 
(victim) by uttering a certain check numbered _______, drawn 
on _____ (drawee) knowing that the drawer thereof at the time 
of utterance intended to stop payment of the checks without the 
consent of the payee and payment was refused by the drawee 
upon presentation of the check. 
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  CR 8-103(b) 
PENALTY SEC. CR 8-
106(d) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_1143* 
**BAD CHECK/STOP PAY/LESS THAN $100** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___ (property or 
service) having a value of ____, belonging to ____ (owner) by 
uttering a certain bad check numbered ____, drawn on ____ 
(drawee) knowing that the drawer therof at the time of utterance 
intended to stop payment of the check without the consent of 
the payee and the payment was refused by the drawee upon 
presentation of the check. 

 

 

 

 

  CR 8-103 (c) 
PENALTY SEC. CR 8-
106(d) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$25,000.00 –25 YEARS 

*1_1228* 
**BAD CHECK/EMPLOYEE/$100K +** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly utter a certain check numbered 
____, drawn on ____ (drawee) to ___ (name of employee) for 
services knowing that the drawer thereof has insufficient funds 
with the drawee to cover the check and other outstanding 
checks and intending at the time of utterance that payment 
would be refused by the drawee upon presentatation. 
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  CR 8-103 (c) 
PENALTY SEC. CR 8-
106(d) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$15,000.00 – 15 YEARS 

*1_1229* 
**BAD CHECK/EMPLOYEE/$10K TO <$100K ** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly utter a certain check numbered 
____, drawn on ____ (drawee) to ___ (name of employee) for 
services knowing that the drawer thereof has insufficient funds 
with the drawee to cover the check and other outstanding 
checks and intending at the time of utterance that payment 
would be refused by the drawee upon presentatation. 

 

 

 

  CR 8-103(c) 
PENALTY SEC. 8-106 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$10,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1230* 
**BD CK/EMPLOYEE $1K TO <$10K** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly utter a certain check numbered 
____ drawn on ____ (drawee) to ____ (employee or 
independent contractor) for services knowing that the drawer 
thereof has insufficient funds with the drawee to cover the 
check and other outstanding checks and intending at the time of 
utterance that payment will be refused upon presentation, and 
____ (employee or independent contractor) passed the check to 
_____ (third person) and payment was refused by the drawee 
upon presentation. 
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  CR 8-103(c) 
PENALTY SEC. 8-106 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500 – 18 MONTHS 

*1_1231* 
**BD CK/EMPLOYEE/UND $1,000** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly utter a certain check numbered 
_____ drawn on ____ (drawee) to ____ (employee or 
independent contractor) for services knowing that the drawer 
thereof has insufficient funds with the drawee to cover the 
check and other outstanding checks and intending at the time of 
utterance that payment will be refused upon presentation, and 
_________(employee or independent contractor) passed the 
check to ________(third person) and payment was refused by 
the drawee upon presentation, and ____ (employee or 
independent contractor) passed the check to _____ (third 
person) and payment was refused by the drawee upon 
presentation. 

 

 

  CR 8-103 (c) 
PENALTY SEC. CR 8-
106(d) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_1144* 
**BAD CHECK/EMPLOYEE/LESS THAN $100** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly utter a certain check numbered 
____, drawn on ____ (drawee) to ___ (name of employee) for 
services knowing that the drawer thereof has insufficient funds 
with the drawee to cover the check and other outstanding 
checks and intending at the time of utterance that payment 
would be refused by the drawee upon presentatation. 
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  CR 8-103 (d) 
PENALTY SEC. CR 8-
106(d) 
FELONY  
DISTRICT COURT 
$25,000 – 25 YEARS 

*1_1232* 
**BAD CHECK/PASS/NSF/ $100K + ** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___ (property or 
service) having a value of ____, belonging to ____ (owner) by 
passing a certain bad check numbered ____, drawn on ____ 
(drawee) knowing that the drawer thereof has insufficient funds 
with the drawee to cover it and other outstanding checks, 
intending and believing at the time of the passing that the  
payment would be refused by the drawee upon presentation, 
and the payment was refused by the drawee upon presentation. 

 

 

  CR 8-103 (d) 
PENALTY SEC. CR 8-
106(d) 
FELONY  
DISTRICT COURT 
$15,000 – 15 YEARS 

*1_1233* 
**BAD CHECK/PASS/NSF/$10K TO <$100K** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___ (property or 
service) having a value of ____, belonging to ____ (owner) by 
passing a certain bad check numbered ____, drawn on ____ 
(drawee) knowing that the drawer thereof has insufficient funds 
with the drawee to cover it and other outstanding checks, 
intending and believing at the time of the passing that the  
payment would be refused by the drawee upon presentation, 
and the payment was refused by the drawee upon presentation. 
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  CR 8-103 (d) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$10,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1234* 
**BD CK/PASS/NSF $1K TO <$10K** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ____ (property or 
service obtained), having the value of _____, belonging to 
(victim) by passing a certain bad check numbered _____, drawn 
on _____(drawee) knowing that the drawer thereof has 
insufficient funds with the drawee to cover it and other 
outstanding checks, intending and believing at the time of the 
passing that payment would be refused by the drawee upon 
presentation, and payment was refused by the drawee upon 
presentation. 

 

 

  CR 8-103 (d) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 18 MONTHS 
$500 – 18 MONTHS 

*1_1235* 
**BD CK/PASS/NSF/UND $1,000** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ____ (property or 
service obtained), having the value of ____, belonging to 
(victim) by passing a certain bad check numbered ____, drawn 
on  _____, knowing that the drawer thereof has insufficient 
funds with the drawee to cover it and other outstanding checks, 
intending and believing at the time of the passing that payment 
would be refused by the drawee upon presentation, and 
payment was refused by the drawee upon presentation. 
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  CR 8-103 (d) 
PENALTY SEC. CR 8-
106(d) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_1142* 
**BAD CHECK/PASS/NSF/LESS THAN $100** 

 …did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___ (property or 
service) having a value of ____, belonging to ____ (owner) by 
passing a certain bad check numbered ____, drawn on ____ 
(drawee) knowing that the drawer thereof has insufficient funds 
with the drawee to cover it and other outstanding checks, 
intending and believing at the time of the passing that the  
payment would be refused by the drawee upon presentation, 
and the payment was refused by the drawee upon presentation. 

 

 

 

  CR 8-103(e) 
PENALTY SEC. 8-106 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$25,000.00 – 25 YEARS 

*1_1236* 
**BD CK/PASS/STP PAY/$100K + ** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___(property or service 
obtained), having the value of ____, belonging to (victim) by 
passing a certain check numbered ______, drawn on 
______(drawee) knowing that payment of the check has been 
stopped and payment was refused by the drawee upon 
presentation of the check. 
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  CR 8-103(e) 
PENALTY SEC. 8-106 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$15,000.00 – 15 YEARS 

*1_1237* 
**BD CK/PASS/STP PAY/$10K TO <100K + ** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___(property or service 
obtained), having the value of ____, belonging to (victim) by 
passing a certain check numbered ______, drawn on 
______(drawee) knowing that payment of the check has been 
stopped and payment was refused by the drawee upon 
presentation of the check. 

 

 

 

  CR 8-103(e) 
PENALTY SEC. 8-106 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$10,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1238* 
**BD CK/PASS/STOP PAY $1K TO <$10K** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain____ (property or 
service obtained), having the value of _____, belonging to 
(victim) by passing a certain check numbered _____, drawn on 
____ (drawee) knowing that payment of the check has been 
stopped and payment was refused by the drawee upon 
presentation of the check. 
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  CR 8-103(e) 
PENALTY SEC. 8-106 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500 – 18 MONTHS 

*1_1239* 
**BD CK/PASS/STP PAY/UND $1,000 ** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___(property or service 
obtained), having the value of ____, belonging to (victim) by 
passing a certain check numbered ______, drawn on 
______(drawee) knowing that payment of the check has been 
stopped and payment was refused by the drawee upon 
presentation of the check. 

 

 

 

 

  CR 8-103(e) 
PENALTY SEC. 8-106 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 – 90 DAYS 

*1_1240* 
**BD CK/PASS/STP PAY/UND $100 ** 

 ...did unlawfully and knowingly obtain ___(property or service 
obtained), having the value of ____, belonging to (victim) by 
passing a certain check numbered ______, drawn on 
______(drawee) knowing that payment of the check has been 
stopped and payment was refused by the drawee upon 
presentation of the check. 

 

  CR 8-108 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 60 DAYS 

*1_0616* **BAD CHECK: FINES/COURT COSTS** 

 
…did pay a [fine/cost imposed by a court] by delivering a 
check issued by _____(name), knowing that payment of the 
check had not provided for, and payment of the check was 
refused by the drawee on presentment. 
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CREDIT CARD OFFENSES 
 
  CR 8-203 

MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_2607* **CRED CRD APLY FOR/FALSE ID** 

 
...did [make/cause to be made] a false written statement to 
_____ (company or company representative)with respect to  
[his/ her] identity/the identity of another person, to wit: 
________] knowing it to be false and with the intent that it be 
relied upon for the purpose of procuring the issuance of a credit 
card. 

 

 
 
 
 
  CR 8-204(a)(i) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_2399* **CRED CARD: STEAL ANOTHER'S** 

 
...did take, steal and carry away a credit card issued to ______, 
without his consent. 

 
 
 
 
 
  

  CR 8-204(a)(ii) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*2_2803* **CRED CARD/STOLEN: RECEIVE** 

 
...did receive a credit card belonging to _____, knowing it to 
have been stolen, with the intent to [use it/sell it/ transfer it] to a 
person other than ______ (issuer/or card holder). 
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  CR 8-204(b)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_2899* **CRED CRD LOST RECV/RETAIN** 

 
...did receive and retain possession of a credit card belonging to 
____, knowing it to have been [lost/mislaid/delivered under a 
mistake as to identity or address of cardholder], with intent [that 
it be used by/sell it to/transfer it to] a person other than _____ 
(issuer or cardholder). 

 
 
 
 
  

  CR 8-204(c)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_2605* **CRED CRD SELL/BUT UNLAWFUL** 

 
...did [sell to/buy from] ______, a credit card issued to ______, 
knowing that the [seller/purchaser] was not the issuer. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-204(d) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_2803* **CRED CRD RECEIV UNLAWFULLY** 

 
...did receive a credit card, to wit: _____ (describe card) 
knowing it to have been [stolen/illegally procured/sold by a 
person other than the issuer/issued pursuant to a false written 
statement/illegally retained]. 
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  CR 8-205(b) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$1,000.00 - 15 YEARS 

*1_0196* **CREDIT CARD: COUNTERFEIT** 

 
...did, with intent to defraud ____ (issuer of card), falsely 
[make/emboss] a purported credit card, to wit: ______ (describe 
card). 

NOTE: See definition of "falsely made," and "falsely emboss" 
in Section CR 8-205. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-205(c) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$1,000.00 - 15 YEARS 

*1_0198* **CRED. CARD SIGN ANOTHER'S** 

 
...did, with intent to defraud ____, sign a credit card issued to 
_____, without his consent. 

 

 

  CR 8-206(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0581* 
**CREDIT CARD/ANOTHER CHG L/T $100** 

 …did, with intent to defraud ____ (issuer of card), use a credit 
card issued to _____ (name) for  the purpose of obtaining 
[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value of $100 
or less, knowing the said card to have been [stolen/illegally 
purchased/illegally sold/lost/misdelivered]. 
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  CR 8-206(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*3_4120* 

 

**CRED CRD/ANOT. CHARG L/T $1,000** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud _____ (issuer of card), use a credit 
card issued to ______ for the purpose of obtaining 
[money/goods/services/ things of value] having a value of  less 
than $1,000, knowing the said card to have been 
[stolen/illegally purchased/illegally sold/lost/misdelivered]. 

 

 

 

  CR 8-206(a)(1) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$10,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1241* 
**CRED CRD/ANOT. CHARG $1K TO <10K** 

 …did, with intent to defraud _____ (issuer of card), use a credit 
card issued to ______ for the purpose of obtaining 
[money/goods/services/ things of value] having a value of 
____(amount),  at least  $1,000 but below $10,000, knowing the 
said card to have been [stolen/illegally purchased/illegally 
sold/lost/misdelivered]. 
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  CR 8-206(a)(1) 
FELONY  
DISTRICT COURT 
$15,000.00 – 15 YEARS 

*1_1242* 
**CREDIT CARD/ANOTH CHG 10K TO <100K** 

 …did, with intent to defraud ____ (issuer of card), use a credit 
card issued to _____ (name) for  the purpose of obtaining 
[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value of 
____(amount), at least $10,000 but less than $100,000, 
knowing the said card to have been [stolen/illegally 
purchased/illegally sold/lost/misdelivered]. 

 

  CR 8-206(a)(1) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$25,000.00 – 25 YEARS 

*1_1243* 
**CREDIT CARD/ANOTH CHG 100K+** 

 …did, with intent to defraud ____ (issuer of card), use a credit 
card issued to _____ (name) for  the purpose of obtaining 
[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value of 
____(amount), $100,000 or more, knowing the said card to 
have been [stolen/illegally purchased/illegally 
sold/lost/misdelivered]. 

 

 

 

 

 CR 8-206(a)(2) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$25,0000 – 25 YEARS 

*1_1244* 
**OBT PROP BY CNTRFT $100K+** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____(name), use a credit card 
issued to ____, for the purpose of obtaining 
[money/goods/services/thing of value] having a value of 
____(amount), $100,000 or more, knowing said card to be 
counterfeit. 
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 CR 8-206(a)(2) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$15,0000 – 15 YEARS 

*1_1245* 
**OBT PROP BY CNTRFT $10K TO <$100K** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____(name), use a credit card 
issued to ____, for the purpose of obtaining 
[money/goods/services/thing of value] having a value of 
____(amount), at least $10,000 but less than $100,000, 
knowing said card to be counterfeit. 

 

  CR 8-206(a)(2) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$10,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1246* 
**OBT PROP BY CNTRFEIT $1K TO <10K** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____(name), use a credit card 
issued to ____, for the purpose of obtaining 
[money/goods/services/thing of value] having a value of 
____(amount), at least $1,000 but less than $10,000, knowing 
said card to be counterfeit. 

NOTE: See 8-206(c) for appropriate penalty information. 

 

   
 
 
CR 8-206(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*3_4130* 
**OBT PROP BY COUNTERFEIT UND $1,000** 

 ...did with intent to defraud ____(name), use a credit card 
issued to ____, for the purpose of obtaining 
[money/goods/services/thing of value] having a value of less 
than $1,000, knowing said card to be counterfeit. 
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  CR 8-206(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0582* 
**OBT PROP BY COUNTERFEIT L/T $100** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____(name), use a credit card 
issued to ____, for the purpose of obtaining 
[money/goods/services/thing of value] having a value that does 
not exceed $100, knowing said card to be counterfeit. 

 

 

 

  CR 8-206(b) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$25,000 – 25 YEARS 

*1_1247* 
**CRED CRD-PERSONATN/ $100K +** 

 …did, with intent to defraud _____ obtain 
[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value of 
____(amount), $100,000 or more, by [representing himself to 
be _____, the specified holder of a credit card, without the said 
____ consent/ representing himself to be the holder of a non-
issued credit card]. 

 

  CR 8-206(b) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$15,000.00 – 15 YEARS 

*1_1248* 
**CRED CRD-PERSONATN/$10K TO <$100K** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud _____ obtain 
[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value of 
____(amount), at least $10,000 but less than $100,000, by 
[representing himself to be _____, the specified holder of a 
credit card, without the said ____ consent/ representing himself 
to be the holder of a non-issued credit card]. 
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  CR 8-206(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*3_4140* 
**CRED CRD-PERSONATN/L/T $1,000** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud _____ obtain 
[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value of less 
than $1,000 by [representing himself to be _____, the specified 
holder of a credit card, without the said ____ consent/ 
representing himself to be the holder of a non-issued credit 
card]. 

 

 

  CR 8-206(b) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$10,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1249* 
**CRED CARD PERSONATN $1K TO <$10K** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud _____ obtain 
[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value of  
____(amount), at least $1,000 but less than $10,000, by 
[representing himself to be _____, the specified holder of a 
credit card, without the said ____ consent/ representing himself 
to be the holder of a non-issued credit card]. 

 

 

 

 

 CR 8-206(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 – 90 DAYS 

*1_0583* 
**CRED CRD-PERSONATN/L/T $100** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud _____ obtain 
[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value of $500 
or less by [representing himself to be _____, the specified 
holder of a credit card, without the said ____ consent/ 
representing himself to be the holder of a non-issued credit 
card]. 
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  CR 8-207(a)(1) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$25,000 – 25 YEARS 

*1_1250* 
**CRD CRD SELL UNL USE $100K+** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____, furnish 
[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value of  ____ 
(amount), $100,000 or more, to ____ upon presentation of a 
credit card issued to ____, knowing the said card to have been 
[stolen/forged/illegally purchased/illegally sold/counterfeited]. 

 

 

  CR 8-207(a)(1) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$15,000 – 15 YEARS 

*1_1251* 
**CRD CRD SELL UNL USE $10K TO <$100K** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____, furnish 
[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value of 
___(amount), at least $10,000 but less than $100,000, to ____ 
upon presentation of a credit card issued to ____, knowing the 
said card to have been [stolen/forged/illegally 
purchased/illegally sold/counterfeited]. 

 

 

 

  CR 8-207(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*3_4150* 
**CRED CRD SELL USER/L/T $1,000** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____, furnish 
[money/goods/services/things of value]  having a value of 
___(amount), less than $1,000, to ____ upon presentation of a 
credit card issued to ____, knowing the said card to have been 
[stolen/forged/illegally purchased/illegally sold/counterfeited]. 
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  CR 8-207(a)(1) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$10,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1252* 
**CRD CRD SELL UNLW USE $1K - <$10K** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____, furnish 
[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value  
____(amount), at least $1,000 but less than $10,000 to ____ 
upon presentation of a credit card issued to ____, knowing the 
said card to have been [stolen/forged/illegally 
purchased/illegally sold/counterfeited]. 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 

 

  CR 8-207(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500 – 90 DAYS 

*1_0584* 
**CRD CRD SELL UNLWF USE L/T $100** 

 ...did, with intent to defraud ____, furnish 
[money/goods/services/things of value] having a value of less 
than $100, to ____ upon presentation of a credit card issued to 
____, knowing the said card to have been 
[stolen/forged/illegally purchased/illegally sold/counterfeited]. 
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  CR 8-207(a)(2) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$25,000 – 25 YEARS 

*1_1253* 
**CRD CRD FALSE CLM-SL $100K +* 

 …did, having been authorized by ____ (issuer) to furnish ____ 
[money/goods/service/anything of value] having the value of 
_____, to_______ (authorized cardholder), with the intent to 
defraud, represent in writing that [he/she] supplied 
_____(money, etc.) which [he/she] failed to supply as 
represented in the writing, the difference being ____ (amount). 

 

 

  CR 8-207(a)(2) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$15,000 – 15 YEARS 

*1_1254* 
**CRD CRD FALSE CLM-SL $10K TO <$100K* 

 ...did, having been authorized by ____ (issuer) to furnish ____ 
[money/goods/service/anything of value] having the value of 
_____, to_______ (authorized cardholder), with the intent to 
defraud, represent in writing that [he/she] supplied 
_____(money, etc.) which [he/she] failed to supply as 
represented in the writing, the difference being ____ (amount). 

 

 

  CR 8-207(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*3_4160* 
**CRD CRD FALSE CLM-SL L/T $1,000* 

 ...did, having been authorized by ____ (issuer) to furnish ____ 
[money/goods/service/anything of value] having the value of 
_____, to_______ (authorized cardholder), with the intent to 
defraud, represent in writing that [he/she] supplied 
_____(money, etc.) which [he/she] failed to supply as 
represented in the writing, the difference being ____ (amount). 
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  CR 8-207(a)(2) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$10,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1365* 
**CRD CRD FLS CLM SELL $1K TO <$10K** 

 ...did, having been authorized by ____ (issuer) to furnish ____ 
[money/goods/service/anything of value]  having the value of 
_____, to_______ (authorized cardholder), with the intent to 
defraud, represent in writing that [he/she] supplied 
_____(money, etc.) which [he/she] failed to supply as 
represented in the writing, the difference being ____ (amount). 

 

 

 

  CR 8-207(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 – 90 DAYS 

*1_0585* 
**CRD CRD FALSE CLM-SL L/T $100 * 

 ...did, having been authorized by ____ (issuer) to furnish ____ 
[money/goods/service/anything of value] having the value of 
_____, to_______ (authorized cardholder), with the intent to 
defraud, represent in writing that [he/she] supplied 
_____(money, etc.) which [he/she] failed to supply as 
represented in the writing, the difference being ____ (amount). 
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  CR 8-208(b)(1) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$1,000.00 - 15 YEARS 

*1_0199* **CRED. CARD INCOMP. POSSESS** 

 
...did possess an incomplete credit card issued to _____, with 
the intent to complete same without the consent of ______, the 
issuer. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-208(b)(2) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$1,000.00 - 15 YEARS 

*1_0200* **CRED. CARD EQUIP TO PRODUC** 

 
...did knowingly possess machinery, plates, and other 
contrivance, to wit: ____ designed to produce credit cards of 
_____, without his consent. 

 

 

  CR 8-209(a) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$25,000 – 25 YEARS 

*1_1255* 
**FALSE CRD CRD: CHRG GOOD  $100K+** 

 ...did receive [money/goods/services/things of value] to wit: 
___ having a value of  ____(amount) , $100,000 or more, 
obtained by means of a forged or misrepresented credit card 
issued to ____ and negotiated by ____, knowing the said 
[money/goods, etc.] was illegally obtained. 
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  CR 8-209(a) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$15,000 – 15 YEARS 

*1_1256* 
**FLSE CRD CRD CHRG GOOD $10K -<$100K** 

 ...did receive [money/goods/services/things of value] to wit: 
___ having a value of  ____(amount) , $100,000 or more, 
obtained by means of a forged or misrepresented credit card 
issued to ____ and negotiated by ____, knowing the said 
[money/goods, etc.] was illegally obtained. 

 

 

  CR 8-209(a) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$10,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1257* 
**FALSE CRD CRD CHRG GOODS $1K TO <$10K** 

 …did receive,[money/goods/services/things of value] to wit: 
___ having a value of ____(amount), at least $1,000 but less 
than $10,000, obtained by means of a forged or misrepresented 
credit card issued to ____ and negotiated by ____, knowing the 
said [money/goods, etc.] was illegally obtained. 

NOTE: Per CJ 4-301 District Court has exclusive original 
jurisdiction whether felony or misdemeanor. 

NOTE: If a person commits a violation of this section pursuant 
to one scheme or continuing course of conduct, from the same 
or several sources, the conduct may be considered as one 
offense and the value of the money, goods, services, or 
anything else of value may be aggregated in determining if the 
offense is a felony or a misdemeanor. 

NOTE: PAYMENT DEVICE NUMBERS: The definition of 
credit card includes a payment device number, which is defined 
in Section 8-206 as meaning any code, account number, or 
other means of account access, other than a check, draft, or 
other similar paper instrument, that can be used to obtain 
money, etc., or to transfer funds. 
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  CR 8-209(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 – 18 MONTHS 

*3_4170* 
**FALSE CRD CRD: CHRG GOODS L/T $1,000** 

 …did receive [money/goods/services/things of value] to wit: 
___ having a value  less than $1,000 obtained by means of a 
forged or misrepresented credit card issued to ____ and 
negotiated by ____, knowing the said [money/goods, etc.] was 
illegally obtained. 

 

 

 

  CR 8-209(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 – 90 DAYS 

*1_0586* 
**FALSE CRD CRD: CHRG GOODS L/T $100** 

 ...did receive [money/goods/services/things of value] to wit: 
___ having a value of less than $100 obtained by means of a 
forged or misrepresented credit card issued to ____ and 
negotiated by ____, knowing the said [money/goods, etc.] was 
illegally obtained. 

 

 Publish Number/Code of Telephone Credit Card 

  CR 8-210 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 12 MONTHS 

*2_2605* **TELEPHONE CRED CARD FRAUD** 

 
...did [publish/cause to be published]  the [number/code] of a 
telephone credit card with intent to defraud ____, (company). 

NOTE: The published credit card number may be existing, 
cancelled, revoked, expired or non-existent. 
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  CR 8-214 
PENALTY SEC 8-216 
FELONY                                   
DISTRICT COURT 
$1,000.00 - 15 YEARS 

*2_0550* **USE/DISCLOSE CREDIT CARD NOS 

 
...did unlawfully [use/disclose] a payment device number, to 
wit: _____ (identify and describe number). 

 

 

  

  CR 8-214 
PENALTY SEC 8-216 
FELONY 
$1,000.00 - 15 YEARS 
DISTRICT COURT 

*2_0560* **USE/DISCLOSE SIGNATURE** 

 
...did unlawfully [use/disclose] the holder's signature of _____ 
(name holder) 

 

NOTE: "Payment Device Number" means any code, account 
number, or other means of account access, other than a check, 
draft, or similar paper instrument, that can be used to obtain 
money, goods, services, or anything of value, or for purposes of 
initiating a transfer of funds. 

"Holder's Signature" means the signature, including an 
electronically recorded signature of a holder in connection with 
a credit applications or credit card transaction.  This definition 
includes, but is not limited to, credit card numbers, telephone 
calling card numbers, bank card P.I.N. numbers, and other 
numbers capable of use. 
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  CR 8-301(b) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$25,000 – 25 YEARS 

*1_1258* 
** FRAUD-PER. IDENT. INFO. THEFT $100K+ ** 

 ...did knowingly, willfully, and with fraudulent intent 
[obtain/aid another person in obtaining] personal identifying 
information of _______________(name), without the consent 
of said _______________(name), for the purpose of 
[using/selling/transferring] that information to [obtain a benefit/ 
obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other item of 
value/access health information/access health care] in the name 
of  _______________( name). 

NOTE:  Venue - charges under this section may be prosecuted 
in a jurisdiction which an element of the crime occurred or in 
which the victim resides. (CR 8-301(p)). 

 

 

 

  CR 8-301(b) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$15,000 – 15 YEARS 

*1_1259* 
** FRAUD IDENT INFO THFT $10K-<$100K ** 

 ...did knowingly, willfully, and with fraudulent intent 
[obtain/aid another person in obtaining] personal identifying 
information of _______________(name), without the consent 
of said _______________(name), for the purpose of 
[using/selling/transferring] that information to [obtain a benefit/ 
obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other item of 
value/access health information/access health care] in the name 
of  _______________( name). 

NOTE:  Venue - charges under this section may be prosecuted 
in a jurisdiction which an element of the crime occurred or in 
which the victim resides. (CR 8-301(p)). 
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  CR 8-301(b) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$10,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1260* 
** FRAUD IDENT INFO THFT $1K-<$10K ** 

 ...did knowingly, willfully, and with fraudulent intent 
[obtain/aid another person in obtaining] personal identifying 
information of _______________(name), without the consent 
of said _______________(name), for the purpose of 
[using/selling/transferring] that information to [obtain a benefit/ 
obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other item of 
value/access health information/access health care] in the name 
of  _______________( name). 

NOTE:  Venue - charges under this section may be prosecuted 
in a jurisdiction which an element of the crime occurred or in 
which the victim resides. (CR 8-301(p)). 

 

 

 

  CR 8-301(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500 – 18 MONTHS 

*1_1261* 
** FRAUD IDENT INFO THFT UND $1,000** 

 ...did knowingly, willfully, and with fraudulent intent 
[obtain/aid another person in obtaining] personal identifying 
information of _______________(name), without the consent 
of said _______________(name), for the purpose of 
[using/selling/transferring] that information to [obtain a benefit/ 
obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other item of 
value/access health information/access health care] in the name 
of  _______________( name). 

NOTE:  Venue - charges under this section may be prosecuted 
in a jurisdiction which an element of the crime occurred or in 
which the victim resides. (CR 8-301(p)). 
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  CR 8-301(c)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500 - 18 MONTHS 
 

*1_1262* 
**FRAUD-PER. IDENT. AVOID PROS** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully assume the identity of 
_______________(name), to avoid identification, apprehension 
or prosecution for a crime, to wit: _______________. 

NOTE: Personal identifying information means the name, 
address, telephone number, driver's license number, social 
security number, place of employment, employee identification 
number, mother's maiden name, bank or other financial 
institution account number, date of birth, personal identification 
number, credit card number of an individual or other payment 
device number. 

NOTE: When violation is pursuant to one scheme or continuing 
course of conduct, whether from the same or several sources, 
the conduct may be considered as one offense and the value of 
the benefit, credit, goods, services, or other item may be 
aggregated in determining whether the violation is a felony or 
misdemeanor. 

 

 

 

  CR 8-301(c )(2)(i)(ii) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$25,000 – 25 YEARS 

*1_1263* 
** FRAUD IDENT INFO THFT $100K+ ** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully assume the identity of 
[another/ficticious person] to wit: _______________(name) 
with fraudulent intent to [obtain a benefit/ obtain credit/obtain 
goods/obtain services/obtain other item of value/access health 
information/access health care], to wit: _______________. 
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  CR 8-301(c )(2)(i)(ii) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$15,000 – 15 YEARS 

*1_1264* 
** FRAUD IDENT INFO THFT $10K-<$100K ** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully assume the identity of 
[another/ficticious person] to wit: _______________(name) 
with fraudulent intent to [obtain a benefit/ obtain credit/obtain 
goods/obtain services/obtain other item of value/access health 
information/access health care], to wit: _______________. 

 

 

  CR 8-301(c )(2)(i)(ii) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$10,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1265* 
** FRAUD IDENT INFO THFT $1K-<$10K ** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully assume the identity of 
[another/ficticious person] to wit: _______________(name) 
with fraudulent intent to [obtain a benefit/ obtain credit/obtain 
goods/obtain services/obtain other item of value/access health 
information/access health care], to wit: _______________. 

 

 
 
 
 
  CR 8-301(c )(2)(i)(ii) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$500 – 18 MONTHS 

*1_1266* 
** FRAUD IDENT INFO THFT UND $1,000** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully assume the identity of 
[another/ficticious person] to wit: _______________(name) 
with fraudulent intent to [obtain a benefit/ obtain credit/obtain 
goods/obtain services/obtain other item of value/access health 
information/access health care], to wit: _______________. 
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  CR 8-301(c )(2)(iii) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$25,000 – 25 YEARS 

*1_1267* 
** FRAUD-PER IDENT AVOID PAY $100K+ ** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully assume the identity of 
[another/fictitious person] to wit:  _______________(name), 
with fraudulent intent to avoid the payment of [a debt/other 
legal obligation], to wit: _______________. 

NOTE:  Charges under this section may be prosecuted in a 
jurisdiction in which an element of the crime occurred OR in 
which the victim resides (CR 8-301(p)). 

 

 

 

  CR 8-301(c )(2)(iii) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$15,000 – 15 YEARS 

*1_1268* 
** FRAUD-PER ID AVOID PAY $10K -<100K ** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully assume the identity of 
[another/fictitious person] to wit:  _______________(name), 
with fraudulent intent to avoid the payment of [a debt/other 
legal obligation], to wit: _______________. 

NOTE:  Charges under this section may be prosecuted in a 
jurisdiction in which an element of the crime occurred OR in 
which the victim resides (CR 8-301(p)). 
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  CR 8-301(c )(2)(iii) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$10,000 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1269* 
** FRAUD-PER ID AVOID PAY $1K -<10K ** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully assume the identity of 
[another/fictitious person] to wit:  _______________(name), 
with fraudulent intent to avoid the payment of [a debt/other 
legal obligation], to wit: _______________. 

NOTE:  Charges under this section may be prosecuted in a 
jurisdiction in which an element of the crime occurred OR in 
which the victim resides (CR 8-301(p)). 

 

 

 

  CR 8-301(c )(2)(iii) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500– 18 MONTHS 

*1_1270* 
** FRAUD-PER ID AVOID PAY UND $1,000** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully assume the identity of 
[another/fictitious person] to wit:  _______________(name), 
with fraudulent intent to avoid the payment of [a debt/other 
legal obligation], to wit: _______________. 

NOTE:  Charges under this section may be prosecuted in a 
jurisdiction in which an element of the crime occurred OR in 
which the victim resides (CR 8-301(p)). 
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  CR 8-301(d)(1) 
FELONY                                   
DISTRICT COURT                 
$25,000.00 - 25 YEARS 

*1_1271* 
**ELECT DEV/MEDIUM OBT BENEFIT -$100K+** 

 … did knowingly, willfully with fraudulent intent to [obtain a 
benefit/ obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other 
item of value/access health information/access health care] to 
wit: _____(describe)], having a value of  ____(amount), 
$100,000 or more, use [a re-encoder/electronic medium] to 
place information encoded on the magnetic [strip/stripe] from a 
card issued to ________(name) onto a card issued to 
________(name) without consent of _________(name), the 
authorized cardholder. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-301(d)(1) 
FELONY                                   
DISTRICT COURT                 
$15,000.00 - 15 YEARS 

*1_1272* 
**ELECT DEV/MED OBT BENE-$10K-<$100K** 

 … did knowingly, willfully with fraudulent intent to [obtain a 
benefit/ obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other 
item of value/access health information/access health care] to 
wit: _____(describe)], having a value of  ____(amount), at least 
$10,000 but less than $100,000, use [a re-encoder/electronic 
medium] to place information encoded on the magnetic 
[strip/stripe] from a card issued to ________(name) onto a card 
issued to ________(name) without consent of 
_________(name), the authorized cardholder. 
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  CR 8-301(d)(1) 
FELONY                                   
DISTRICT COURT                 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1273* 
**ELECT DEV/MED OBT BENE-$1K-<$10K** 

 … did knowingly, willfully with fraudulent intent to [obtain a 
benefit/ obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other 
item of value/access health information/access health care] to 
wit: _____(describe)], having a value of  ____(amount), at least 
$1,000 but less than $10,000, use [a re-encoder/electronic 
medium] to place information encoded on the magnetic 
[strip/stripe] from a card issued to ________(name) onto a card 
issued to ________(name) without consent of 
_________(name), the authorized cardholder. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-301(d)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500 – 18 MONTHS 

*1_1274* 
**ELECT DEV/MED OBT BENE- UND $1,000** 

 … did knowingly, willfully with fraudulent intent to [obtain a 
benefit/ obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other 
item of value/access health information/access health care] to 
wit: _____(describe)], having a value of  less than $1,000, use 
[a re-encoder/electronic medium] to place information encoded 
on the magnetic [strip/stripe] from a card issued to 
________(name) onto a card issued to ________(name) without 
consent of _________(name), the authorized cardholder. 
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  CR 8-301(d)(2) 
FELONY                                   
DISTRICT COURT                 
$25,000.00 - 25 YEARS 

*1_1275* 
**SKIM DEV OBT BENEFIT - $100K +** 

 … did knowingly, willfully with fraudulent intent to [obtain a 
benefit/ obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other 
item of value/access health information/access health care] to 
wit: _____(describe)], having a value of ____(amount),  
$100,000 or greater, use a skimming device to 
[access/read/scan/obtain/memorize/store personal identification 
information/store payment device number] from the magnetic 
[strip/stripe] from a credit card issued to ________(name) 
without consent of ________(name), an individual authorized 
to use the credit card. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-301(d)(2) 
FELONY                                   
DISTRICT COURT                 
$15,000.00 - 15 YEARS 

*1_1276* 
**SKIM DEV OBT BENEFIT - $10K - <$100K ** 

 … did knowingly, willfully with fraudulent intent to [obtain a 
benefit/ obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other 
item of value/access health information/access health care] to 
wit: _____(describe)], having a value of ____(amount), at least 
$10,000 but less than $100,000, use a skimming device to 
[access/read/scan/obtain/memorize/store personal identification 
information/store payment device number] from the magnetic 
[strip/stripe] from a credit card issued to ________(name) 
without consent of ________(name), an individual authorized 
to use the credit card. 
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  CR 8-301(d)(2) 
FELONY                                   
DISTRICT COURT                 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1277* 
**SKIM DEV OBT BENEFIT - $1K - <$10K ** 

 … did knowingly, willfully with fraudulent intent to [obtain a 
benefit/ obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other 
item of value/access health information/access health care] to 
wit: _____(describe)], having a value of ____(amount), at least 
$1,000 but less than $10,000, use a skimming device to 
[access/read/scan/obtain/memorize/store personal identification 
information/store payment device number] from the magnetic 
[strip/stripe] from a credit card issued to ________(name) 
without consent of ________(name), an individual authorized 
to use the credit card. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-301(d)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500 – 18 MONTHS 

*1_1278* 
**SKIM DEV OBT BENEFIT – UND $1,000** 

 … did knowingly, willfully with fraudulent intent to [obtain a 
benefit/ obtain credit/obtain goods/obtain services/obtain other 
item of value/access health information/access health care] to 
wit: _____(describe)], having a value of less than $1,000, use a 
skimming device to [access/read/scan/obtain/memorize/store 
personal identification information/store payment device 
number] from the magnetic [strip/stripe] from a credit card 
issued to ________(name) without consent of ________(name), 
an individual authorized to use the credit card. 
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  CR 8-301(e) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$500 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_1279* 
**POSS ETC. RE-ENCODER/SKIMMING DEV** 

 … did knowingly, willfully with fraudulent intent 
[possess/obtain/help another to possess/help another to obtain] a 
[re-encoder/skimming] device for the unauthorized 
[use/sale/transfer] of [personal identifying information/payment 
device number]. 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-301(f) 
MISDEMEANOR  
$500 - 18 MONTHS                  

*1_1280* 
**IDENTITY FRAUD - INDUCE ANOTH PROV** 

 … did knowingly and willfully claim to represent 
_______(name of victim) without [his/her] knowledge and 
consent, with the intent to [solicit/request/take action to induce 
another to provide] [personal identifying information/payment 
device number]. 
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AGE IDENTIFICATION CARDS AND DOCUMENTS 

  

  CR 8-302(b)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,000.00 - 2 YEARS 
EACH CARD SEPARATE 
OFFENSE 

*1_0432* **FALSE ID/SALE-ISSUE** 

 
...did [sell/issue/offer for sale/offer to issue] [an identification 
card/a document] which contained:  

(Select appropriate language)  

1. a blank space for a person's [age/date of birth]; 

2. an incorrect [age/date of birth] of a person. 

NOTE: Each card or document is a separate violation of this 
section. The section contains an exception for manufacturers 
who deliver blank ID cards to governmental agencies, or for use 
as employee or patient identification cards. 

 
 
 
  CR 8-302(b)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$2,000.00 - 2 YEARS 
EACH CARD SEPARATE 
OFFENSE 

*1_1434* **KNOWING SALE/ISSUE FALSE ID** 

 
…did knowingly [sell/issue/offer for sale/offer to issue] an 
[identification card/document] that contained [an incorrect 
name instead of a true name/an incorrect address]. 

NOTE:  Each card or document is a separate violation of this 
section.  The section contains an exception for manufacturers 
who deliver blank ID cards to governmental agencies, or for use 
as employee or patient identification cards. 
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  CR 8-303(b)(1)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_1432* **POSSESS/USE FALSE GOVERNMENT 
IDENTIFICATION DOC* 

 
…did, with fraudulent intent, [possess/display/cause/allow to be 
displayed] a fictitious or fraudulently altered government 
identification document to wit: _________(choose from below). 

1. a passport; 
2. an immigration visa; 
3. an alien registration card; 
4. an employment authorization card; 
5. a birth certificate; 
6. a Social Security card; 
7. a military identification; 
8. an adoption decree; 
9. a marriage license; 
10. a driver’s license; or 
11. a photo identification card. 

 

 

  CR 8-303(b)(3)(4) 
MISDEMEANOR  
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_1433* **DISPLAY GOV'T ID OF ANOTHER** 

 
…did, with fraudulent intent, [display/allow the use of/lend] a 
government identification document issued to _________ 
(name of document holder). 
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 Conversion of Partnership Money, Etc. 

  CR 8-401(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*2_2701* **FRAUD-PARTNERSHIP MONEY** 

 
...did, as a partner, fraudulently convert to his own use____ 
(describe), the property of _____ (name partnership). 

 

 

 

  CR 8-401(a)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*3_2607* **FRAUD-PARTNERSHIP MONEY** 

 
...did, as a partner, fraudulently [make/fail to make] entries of a 
partnership transaction in the books of ___ (name partnership) 
to show the true state of a transaction relating to the partnership 
business. 

 
 
 
 
 Misrepresentation/Corporate Officer or Agent 

  CR 8-402(a)(1)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 – 3 YEARS 

*4_2607* **FRAUD MISREP BY CORP OFFCER** 

 
…did as a corporate [officer/agent] of ____ (name corporation) 
fraudulently [sign/assent to] a publication for the public and 
shareholders containing untruthful representations of said 
corporation’s affairs, assets, and liabilities to [enhance/depress] 
the market value of its [shares/corporate obligation]/thereby 
accomplishing fraud, to wit: ____ (describe fraudulent intent 
and name or describe victim(s). 
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 Pyramid Promotional Scheme 

  CR 8-404(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*6_2600* **FRAUD-PYRAMID/PROM SCHEME** 

 
...did [establish/advertise/promote] a pyramid promotional 
scheme. 

NOTE: "Pyramid promotional scheme" means any plan or 
operation by which a participant gives consideration for the 
opportunity to receive compensation to be derived primarily 
from any person's introduction of other persons into a 
participation in the plan or operation rather than from the sale 
of goods, services, or other intangible property by the 
participant or other persons introduced into the plan or 
operation. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 Cargo, Wrongful Disposal/ Refusal to Pay 

Consideration 

  CR 8-405(b)(1)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_2701* **CARGO SEL DEFRD BOAT OWNER** 

 
...did, being employed in the [management/navigation] of ____, 
a vessel operating exclusively on the waters of Maryland, 
[sell/give away/pledge/dispose of] its cargo, belonging to ____, 
the owner of the vessel, without the consent of and with the 
intent to defraud said owner. 
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  CR 8-405(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0194* **CARGO REC/KEEP $ FRM FALSE** 

 
...did, being employed by _____, the owner of _______, a 
vessel operating exclusively on Maryland waters, for the 
[management/navigation] of the said vessel, receive $______ in 
consideration for the sale of the cargo of said vessel, without 
the consent of its owner, and did refuse and neglect to pay such 
consideration to said owner, with the intent to defraud said 
owner. 

 
 
 
 Breach of Trust, Bill of Lading Elevator or 

Warehouse Receipts 

  CR 8-406(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_2602* **FRAUD-BREACH OF TRUST** 

...did receive in trust from ____ (victim) a [warehouse 
receipt/bill of lading/document giving title/document giving the 
right of possession] to ____ (specify property) under a written 
contract, and did fail to perform the terms and conditions of the 
trust as expressed in the written contract.  

NOTE: This section does not cover the failure by an agent to 
deliver to the consignor the completed transfer documents or 
the payment for the shipment after the shipment or other 
transfer of goods or property has been completed. That failure 
should be charged under CR 7-116. 
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 Conversion/Leased or Rented Goods 

  CR 8-407 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 60 DAYS 

*2_2399* **FRAUD CONVERSN/LEASE GOODS** 

 
...did fraudulently convert to [his/her] own use, 
_______(describe item), a [good/thing] valued at $1,500.00 or 
more and received under a [written contract/written lease] 
entered into for the purpose of [renting/leasing] said 
[good/thing] for valuable consideration. 

NOTE: Defendant must have received the item(s) under written 
lease, written contract, or written rental contract. If document 
contains option to buy, the agreement cannot be for longer than 
six months. If there is no option to buy, length of agreement 
does not matter. FAILURE TO RETURN OR ACCOUNT FOR 
THE ITEM AT THE END OF THE AGREED PERIOD IS 
PRIMA FACIE EVIDENCE OF A VIOLATION OF THIS 
SECTION, EXCEPT THAT, the victim must have sent via 
certified US Mail, a written, postpaid, return receipt requested 
demand for return of the item(s) and must wait 10 days for 
either return of item(s) or for the defendant to account for 
items(s) with the victim before charging. 

NOTE:  See section regarding written demand requirement. 
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 Welfare-Obtaining Public Assistance by Fraud 

  CR 8-503 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*7_2607* **FRAUD-WELFARE** 

 
...did [fraudulently obtain/fraudulently attempt to obtain/aid in 
fraudulently obtaining/aid in fraudulently attempting to obtain] 
a benefit to which the person aided was not entitled, to wit: 
____ (name benefit-see NOTE below), from _____ (name 
program), a [social /nutritional] program financed in whole and 
in part by the State of Maryland and administered by ____ 
(name State agency or political subdivision agency), and did so 
by:  

NOTE: Use whichever of the following is applicable:  

1. wilfully making a false [statement/representation] to ____ 
(agency). 

2. wilfully failing to disclose to ____ material changes in 
[household/financial] conditions. 

3. impersonating another person. 

NOTE: The benefit sought or obtained can be money, property, 
food stamps, or any other assistance EXCEPT MEDICAID. 
SEE NEW SECTION 230 C for Medicaid Fraud. 

NOTE: Any person who in making and signing the application 
for money, property, food stamps, or other assistance, under a 
social or nutritional program based on need, financed in whole 
or in part by the state and administered by the Department of 
Human Resources, the Department of Health and Mental 
Hygiene, or the local Department of Social Services makes a 
false or fraudulent statement with intent to obtain any such 
money, property, food stamps, or other assistance is guilty of 
perjury and on conviction is subject to the penalties provided by 
law for perjury. (CR 9-101) 

NOTE: A prosecution for welfare fraud must be brought within 
3 years after the offense was committed. Medical assistance 
does not include Medicaid as defined in CR 8-508. 
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SOCIAL SERVICES ADMINISTRATION - PROHIBITED ACTS 

 Appl. Written - False or Fraud State. Punished as 
Perjury, etc. 

  CR 8-504 
MISDEMEANOR 
10 YEARS 

*2_2607* **PUB ASST - FALSE APPLIC'N** 

 
...did, in a signed application, make a [false/fraudulent] 
statement, with the intent to obtain [money/property/food 
stamps/ assistance] under a program based on need, financed in 
whole or in part by the State of Maryland and administered by 
the ______ [Department of Human Resources/Department of 
Health and Mental Hygiene/the _____ Department of Social 
Services]. 

NOTE: It is enough that the false statement be in the 
application. Nothing of value is required to be obtained as a 
result of the false statement. 

 

 

 

 Unauthorized Disposition/Conversion Donated 
Food Commodity 

  CR 8-505(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_2314* **FRAUD-UNAUTH DISP. FOOD** 

 
...did, with intent to defraud, [make an unauthorized disposition 
of/not being an authorized recipient, convert to [his/her] use 
and benefit] a food commodity donated under a program of the 
United States Government, to wit: _____ (name program). 
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FRAUD - STATE HEALTH PLANS 

  

  CR 8-509(1) 
(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-
516) 
LOSS LESS THAN $1,000 
(barcode 2-2110) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$50,000.00 - 3 YEARS 
LOSS MORE THAN $1,000 
(barcode 2-2115) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING   
PENALTY 8-516 

*2_2110* 
*2_2115* 

**DEFRAUD STATE HEALTH CARE** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to 
wit: __________ (name plan), in the amount of ______ in 
connection with the delivery of and payment of health care 
services. 

 
 
 
  

  CR 8-509(1) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2120* **DEFRAUD HEALTH CARE-INJURE** 

 
...did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to 
wit: __________ (name plan),which resulted in the serious 
injury of ____________ (name person injured) in connection 
with the delivery of and payment of health care services. 
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  CR 8-509(1) 
PENALTY SEC. 8-516 
FELONY 
$200,000.00 - LIFE 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2125* **DEFRAUD HEALTH CARE-DEATH** 

 
...did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to 
wit: __________ (name plan),which resulted in the death of 
____________ (name person ) in connection with the delivery 
of and payment of health care services. 

 

 

  CR 8-509(1) 
PENALTY SEC. 8-516 
LOSS LESS THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2130) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100,000 EACH OFFENSE 
LOSS MORE THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2135) 
FELONY 
$250,000 EACH OFFENSE 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2130* 

*2_2135* 

**DEFRAUD HEALTH CARE-BUSINESS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 
did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to wit: 
__________ (name plan), in the amount of ______ in 
connection with the delivery of and payment of health care 
services. 
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  CR 8-509(1) 
PENALTY SEC. 8-516  
FELONY 
$250,000.00 EACH 
OFFENSE 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2140* 
**FRAUD HLTH CARE-INJURE-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 
did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to wit: 
__________ (name plan),which resulted in the serious injury of 
____________ (name person injured) in connection with the 
delivery of and payment of health care services. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-509(1) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR  8-
516) 
FELONY 
LIFE - $200,000.00 
BUSINESS ENTITY 
$250,000.00 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2145* **FRAUD HEALTH CARE-DEATH-BUS** 

 
...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 
did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to wit: 
__________ (name plan),which resulted in the death of 
____________ (name person ) in connection with the delivery 
of and payment of health care services. 
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  CR 8-509(2) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
LOSS LESS THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2150) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$50,000.00 - 3 YEARS 
LOSS MORE THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2155) 
FELONY 
$100,000 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2150* 
*2_2155* 

**OBTAIN BENEFITS BY FALSE REP** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully obtain by false representation, 
_____________(name benefit) in connection with the delivery 
of and payment for health care services that are a benefit of a 
State health plan, to wit: __________ (name plan). 

 
 
 
 
  

  CR 8-509(2) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
RESULTING SERIOUS 
INJURY 
FELONY 
$100,000 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2160* **OBTAIN BEN-FALSE REP-INJURE** 

 
...did knowingly and willfully obtain by false representation, 
_____________(name benefit) in connection with the delivery 
of and payment for health care services that are a benefit of a 
State health plan, to wit: __________ (name plan) which 
resulted in the serious injury of ____________ (name person 
injured). 
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  CR 8-509(2) 
FELONY 
$200,000.00 - LIFE 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2165* **OBTAIN BEN-FALSE REP-DEATH** 

 
...did knowingly and willfully obtain by false representation, 
_____________(name benefit) in connection with the delivery 
of and payment for health care services that are a benefit of a 
State health plan, to wit: __________ (name plan) which 
resulted in the death of ____________ (name person ). 

 

  

  CR 8-509(2) 
(PENALTY SEC.  CR  8-
516) 
LOSS LESS THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2170) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100,000.00 EACH 
LOSS MORE THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2175) 
FELONY 
$250,000.00 EACH 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2170* 

*2_2175* 

**OBTAIN BEN-FALSE REP-BUSINESS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 
did knowingly and willfully obtain by false representation, 
_____________(name benefit) in connection with the delivery 
of and payment for health care services that are a benefit of a 
State health plan, to wit: __________ (name plan). 
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  CR 8-509(2) 
PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516 
FELONY 
$250,000.00 EACH 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2180* 
**BEN BY FALSE REP-INJURE-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 
did knowingly and willfully obtain by false representation, 
_____________ (name benefit) in connection with the delivery 
of and payment for health care services that are a benefit of a 
State health plan, to wit: __________ (name plan) which 
resulted in the serious injury of ____________ (name person 
injured). 

 

 

  

  CR 8-509(2) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
$100,000.00 EACH 
FELONY 
$250,000.00 EACH 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2185* **BEN BY FALSE REP-DEATH-BUS** 

 
...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 
did knowingly and willfully obtain by false representation, 
_____________(name benefit) in connection with the delivery 
of and payment for health care services that are a benefit of a 
State health plan, to wit: __________ (name plan) which 
resulted in the death of ____________ (name person ). 
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  CR 8-509(3) 
(PENALTY SEC.CR  8-516) 
LOSS LESS THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2190) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$50,000 - 3 YEARS 
LOSS MORE THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2195) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2190* 

*2_2195* 

**DEFRAUD HEALTH PLAN-SERVICE** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to 
wit: __________ (name plan), of the right to honest services, in 
the amount of __________. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-509(3) 
(PENALTY SEC.CR  8-516) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2320* **DEFRAUD HEALTH-SERVICE-INJURE** 

 
...did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to 
wit: __________ (name plan), of the right to honest services, 
which resulted in the serious injury of ____________ (name 
person injured). 
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  CR 8-509(3) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
FELONY 
$200,000.00 - LIFE 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2325* **DEFRAUD HEALTH-SERVICE-DEATH** 

 
...did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to 
wit: __________ (name plan), of the right to honest services, 
which resulted in the death of ____________ (name person). 

 

 

  CR 8-509(3) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
LOSS LESS THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2330) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100,000.00 
LOSS MORE THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2335) 
FELONY 
$250,000.00 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2330* 

*2_2335* 

**FRAUD HEALTH-SERVICE-BUSINESS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 
did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to wit: 
__________ (name plan), of the right to honest services, in the 
amount of __________ . 
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  CR 8-509(3) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
FELONY 
$250,000.00 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2340* 
**FRAUD HLTH-SERVICE-INJURE-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 
did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to wit: 
__________ (name plan), of the right to honest services, which 
resulted in the serious injury of ____________ (name person 
injured). 

 
 
 
 
 
 
  

  CR 8-509(3) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
FELONY 
$250,000.00 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2345* **FRAUD HLTH -SERVICE-DEATH-BUS** 

 
...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 
did knowingly and willfully defraud a State Health Plan, to wit: 
__________ (name plan), of the right to honest services, which 
resulted in the death of ____________ (name person ). 
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  CR 8-509(4) 
PENALTY SEC. 8-516 
LOSS LESS THAN $1,000 
(barcode 2-2350) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$50,000.00 - 3 YEARS 
LOSS MORE THAN $1,000 
(barcode 2-2355) 
$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2350* 

*2_2355* 

**FLS REP-DEFRAUD HEALTH CARE** 

 ...did, with the intent to defraud, make a false representation 
relating to [health care services, to wit: __________ / a State 
Health Plan, to wit: __________ ]. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-509(4) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR  8-
516) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2360* **FLS REP-HEALTH CARE-INJURE** 

 
...did, with the intent to defraud, make a false representation 
relating to [health care services, to wit: __________ / a State 
Health Plan, to wit: __________ ], which resulted in the serious 
injury of ____________ (name person injured). 
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  CR 8-509(4) 
PENALTY SEC. 8-516 
FELONY 
$200,000.00 - LIFE 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2365* **FLS REP-HEALTH CARE-DEATH** 

 
...did, with the intent to defraud, make a false representation 
relating to [health care services, to wit: __________ / a State 
Health Plan, to wit: __________ ], which resulted in the death 
of ____________ (name person). 

 

  CR 8-509(4) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR  8-
516) 
LOSS LESS THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2370) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100,000.00 
LOSS MORE THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2375) 
FELONY 
$250,000.00 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2370* 
*2_2375* 

**FLS REP-HEALTH CARE--BUSINESS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 
did, with the intent to defraud, make a false representation 
relating to [health care services, to wit: __________ / a State 
Health Plan, to wit: __________ ]. 
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  CR 8-509(4) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
FELONY 
$250,000.00 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2380* **FLS REP-HLTH CARE-INJURE-BUS** 

 
...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 
did, with the intent to defraud, make a false representation 
relating to [health care services, to wit: __________ / a State 
Health Plan, to wit: __________ ], which resulted in the serious 
injury of ____________ (name person injured). 

 

  

  CR 8-509(4) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
FELONY 
$250,000.00 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2385* **FLS REP-HLTH CARE-DEATH-BUS** 

 
...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 
did, with the intent to defraud, make a false representation 
relating to [health care services, to wit: __________ / a State 
Health Plan, to wit: __________ ], which resulted in the death 
of ____________ (name person ). 
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  CR 8-511(1)(2) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR  8-
516) 
LOSS LESS THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2975) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$50,000.00 - 3 YEARS 
LOSS MORE THAN $1,000 
(barcode 2-2980) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2975* 

*2_2980* 

**KICKBACK-HEALTH PLAN SERV** 

 ...did provide to _________ (name) [items/services] for which 
payment [is/may be] made from [federal/state] funds under a 
state health plan, to wit: ___________ (name plan) and did 
[solicit /offer/make/receive] a [kickback/bribe] in connection 
with [providing items or services/making a payment/receiving a 
benefit]. 
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  CR 8-511(1)(2) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR  8-
516) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2985* **KICKBACK-HEALTH PLAN-INJURE** 

 
...did provide to _________ (name) [items/services] for which 
payment [is/may be] made from [federal/state] funds under a 
state health plan, to wit: ___________ (name plan) and did 
[solicit /offer/make/receive] a [kickback/bribe] in connection 
with [providing items or services/making a payment/receiving a 
benefit], which resulted in serious injury to ___________ 
(name person injured). 

 

 

  CR 8-511(1)(2) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
FELONY 
$200,000.00 - LIFE 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2990* **KICKBACK-HEALTH PLAN-DEATH** 

 
...did provide to _________ (name) [items/services] for which 
payment [is/may be] made from [federal/state] funds under a 
state health plan, to wit: ___________ (name plan) and did 
[solicit /offer/make/receive] a [kickback/bribe] in connection 
with [providing items or services/making a payment/receiving a 
benefit], which resulted in the death of ___________ (name 
person ). 
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  CR 8-511(1)(2) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR  8-
516) 
LOSS LESS THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2992) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100,000.00 EACH 
LOSS MORE THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2994) 
FELONY 
$250,000.00 EACH 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2992* 

*2_2994* 

**KICKBACK-HLTH SERV-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: ______________, did provide 
to _________ (name) [items/services] for which payment 
[is/may be] made from [federal/state] funds under a state health 
plan, to wit: ___________ (name plan) and did [solicit 
/offer/make/receive] a [kickback/bribe] in connection with 
[providing items or services/making a payment/receiving a 
benefit]. 

 

  CR 8-511(1)(2) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2995* **BUS KICKBCK-HLTH PLAN-INJURE** 

 
...being a business entity, to wit: ______________, did provide 
to _________ (name) [items/services] for which payment 
[is/may be] made from [federal/state] funds under a state health 
plan, to wit: ___________ (name plan) and did [solicit 
/offer/make/receive] a [kickback/bribe] in connection with 
[providing items or services/making a payment/receiving a 
benefit], which resulted in serious injury to ___________ 
(name person injured). 
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  CR 8-511(1)(2) 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
FELONY 
$200,000.00 - LIFE 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2996* **BUS KICKBCK-HLTH PLAN-DEATH** 

 
...being a business entity, to wit: ______________, did provide 
to _________ (name) [items/services] for which payment 
[is/may be] made from [federal/state] funds under a state health 
plan, to wit: ___________ (name plan) and did [solicit 
/offer/make/receive] a [kickback/bribe] in connection with 
[providing items or services/making a payment/receiving a 
benefit], which resulted in the death of ___________ (name 
person ). 

 

 

  CR 8-512 
(PENALTY SEC. 8-516) 
LOSS LESS THAN $1,000 
(barcode 2-2865) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$50,000.00 - 3 YEARS 
LOSS MORE THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2870) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2865* 
*2_2870* 

**HEALTH BENEFIT-SOLICIT FEE** 

 ...did [solicit/offer/make/receive] a rebate of a [fee/charge] for 
referring ____________ (name) to __________ (person) to 
provide items and services for which payment [is/may be] made 
from [federal/state] funds under a State Health Plan, to wit: 
__________ ] in the amount of ___________ . 
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  CR 8-512 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2875* **HLTH BEN-SOLICIT FEE-INJURE** 

 
...did [solicit/offer/make/receive] a rebate of a [fee/charge] for 
referring ____________ (name) to __________ (person) to 
provide items and services for which payment [is/may be] made 
from [federal/state] funds under a State Health Plan, to wit: 
__________ , which resulted in the serious injury of 
____________ (name person injured). 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-512 
(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-
516) 
FELONY 
$200,000.00 - LIFE 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2880* **HLTH BEN-SOLICIT FEE-DEATH** 

 
...did [solicit/offer/make/receive] a rebate of a [fee/charge] for 
referring ____________ (name) to __________ (person) to 
provide items and services for which payment [is/may be] made 
from [federal/state] funds under a State Health Plan, to wit: 
__________ , which resulted in the death of ____________ 
(name person). 
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  CR 8-512 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
LOSS LESS THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2885) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100,000.00 
LOSS MORE THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2890) 
FELONY 
$250,000.00 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2885* 
*2_2890* 

**HLTH BEN-SOLICIT FEE-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 
did [solicit/offer/make/receive] a rebate of a [fee/charge] for 
referring ____________ (name) to __________ (person) to 
provide items and services for which payment [is/may be] made 
from [federal/state] funds under a State Health Plan, to wit: 
__________ ] in the amount of ___________ . 

 

 

  

  CR 8-512 
(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-
516) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2895* **HLTH BEN-SOLICIT-INJURE-BUS** 

 
...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 
did [solicit/offer/make/receive] a rebate of a [fee/charge] for 
referring ____________ (name) to __________ (person) to 
provide items and services for which payment [is/may be] made 
from [federal/state] funds under a State Health Plan, to wit: 
__________ ], which resulted in the serious injury of 
____________ (name person injured). 
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  CR 8-512 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
FELONY 
$200,000.00 - LIFE 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2896* **HLTH BEN-SOLICIT-DEATH-BUS** 

 
...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 
did [solicit/offer/make/receive] a rebate of a [fee/charge] for 
referring ____________ (name) to __________ (person) to 
provide items and services for which payment [is/may be] made 
from [federal/state] funds under a State Health Plan, to wit: 
__________ ], which resulted in the death of ____________ 
(name person). 

 

 

 

  CR 8-513 
(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-
516) 
LOSS LESS THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2910) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$50,000.00 - 3 YEARS 
LOSS MORE THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2920) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2910* 
*2_2920* 

**INDUCE FALSE REP-HLTH PLAN** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully [make / cause to be made/ induce 
the making of] a false representation with respect to the 
conditions and operation of a [facility /institution / State health 
plan ], to help such to qualify to receive reimbursement under a 
State Health Plan, to wit: _____________ in the amount of 
_________. 
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  CR 8-513 
(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-
516) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2925* **FALSE REP-HLTH PLAN-INJURE** 

 
...did knowingly and willfully [make / cause to be made/ induce 
the making of] a false representation with respect to the 
conditions and operation of a [facility /institution / State health 
plan ], to help such to qualify to receive reimbursement under a 
State Health Plan, to wit: _____________ in the amount of 
_________ , which resulted in the serious injury of 
____________ (name person injured). 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-513 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
FELONY 
$200,000.00 - LIFE 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2930* **FALSE REP-HLTH PLAN-DEATH** 

 
...did knowingly and willfully [make /cause to be made/ induce 
the making of] a false representation with respect to the 
conditions and operation of a [facility /institution / State health 
plan ], to help such to qualify to receive reimbursement under a 
State Health Plan, to wit: _____________ in the amount of 
_________, which resulted in the death of ____________ 
(name person ). 
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  CR 8-513 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
LOSS LESS THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2935) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100,000.00 
LOSS MORE THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-2940) 
FELONY 
$250,000.00 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2935* 
*2_2940* 

**FALSE REP-HLTH PLAN-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: ___________, did knowingly 
and willfully [make / cause to be made/ induce the making of] a 
false representation with respect to the conditions and operation 
of a [facility /institution / State health plan ], to help such to 
qualify to receive reimbursement under a State Health Plan, to 
wit: _____________ in the amount of _________. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-513 
(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-
516) 
FELONY 
$250,000.00 -  20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2945* **FALSE REP-INJURE-BUSINESS** 

 
...being a business entity, to wit: ___________, did knowingly 
and willfully [make / cause to be made/ induce the making of] a 
false representation with respect to the conditions and operation 
of a [facility /institution / State health plan ], to help such to 
qualify to receive reimbursement under a State Health Plan, to 
wit: _____________ in the amount of _________, which 
resulted in the serious injury of ____________ (name person ). 
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  CR 8-513 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
FELONY 
$250,000.00 - LIFE 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2950* **FALSE REP--DEATH-BUSINESS** 

 
...being a business entity, to wit: ___________, did knowingly 
and willfully [make / cause to be made/ induce the making of] a 
false representation with respect to the conditions and operation 
of a [facility /institution / State health plan ], to help such to 
qualify to receive reimbursement under a State Health Plan, to 
wit: _____________ in the amount of _________, which 
resulted in the death of ____________ (name person ). 

 

  

  CR 8-514 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
LOSS LESS THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-4110) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$50,000.00 - 3 YEARS 
LOSS MORE THAN $1,000 
(barcode 2-4115) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_4110* 
*2_4115* 

**FRAUD-OBTAIN DRUG/MED CARE** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully [obtain/aid ________ (name) in 
obtaining/aid ________ (name) in attempting to obtain] [a drug 
product / medical care], the payment [is/may be] made from 
[federal/state] funds under a state health plan by [fraud / deceit / 
misrepresentation / concealment / forgery of a medical 
assistance prescription / alteration of a medical assistance 
prescription / forgery of a pharmacy assistance prescription / 
alteration of a pharmacy assistance prescription / concealment 
of a material fact / using a false name/ using a false address]. 
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  CR 8-514 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_4120* **FRAUD-DRUG/MED CARE-INJURE** 

 
...did knowingly and willfully [obtain/aid ________ (name) in 
obtaining/aid ________ (name) in attempting to obtain] [a drug 
product / medical care], the payment [is/may be] made from 
[federal/state] funds under a state health plan by [fraud / deceit / 
misrepresentation / concealment / forgery of a medical 
assistance prescription / alteration of a medical assistance 
prescription / forgery of a pharmacy assistance prescription / 
alteration of a pharmacy assistance prescription / concealment 
of a material fact / using a false name/ using a false address], 
which resulted in serious injury to ___________ (name person 
injured). 

 

 

  

  CR 8-514 
(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-
516) 
FELONY 
$200,000.00 - LIFE 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_4125* **FRAUD-DRUG/MED CARE-DEATH** 

 
...did knowingly and willfully [obtain/aid ________ (name) in 
obtaining/aid ________ (name) in attempting to obtain] [a drug 
product / medical care], the payment [is/may be] made from 
[federal/state] funds under a state health plan by [fraud / deceit / 
misrepresentation / concealment / forgery of a medical 
assistance prescription / alteration of a medical assistance 
prescription / forgery of a pharmacy assistance prescription / 
alteration of a pharmacy assistance prescription / concealment 
of a material fact / using a false name/ using a false address], 
which resulted in the death of __________ (name person ). 
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  CR 8-514 
(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-
516) 
LOSS LESS THAN $1,000 
 (barcode 2-4130) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100,000.00 
LOSS MORE THAN $1,000 
(barcode 2-4135) 
FELONY 
$250,000.00 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_4130* 
*2_4135* 

**FRAUD-OBTAIN MED CARE-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: ______________, did 
knowingly and willfully [obtain/aid ________ (name) in 
obtaining/aid ________ (name) in attempting to obtain] [a drug 
product / medical care], the payment [is/may be] made from 
[federal/state] funds under a state health plan by [fraud / deceit / 
misrepresentation / concealment / forgery of a medical 
assistance prescription / alteration of a medical assistance 
prescription / forgery of a pharmacy assistance prescription / 
alteration of a pharmacy assistance prescription / concealment 
of a material fact / using a false name/ using a false address]. 
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  CR 8-514 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_4140* **FRAUD-/MED CARE-INJURE-BUS** 

 
...being a business entity, to wit: ______________, did 
knowingly and willfully [obtain/aid ________ (name) in 
obtaining/aid ________ (name) in attempting to obtain] [a drug 
product / medical care], the payment [is/may be] made from 
[federal/state] funds under a state health plan by [fraud / deceit / 
misrepresentation / concealment / forgery of a medical 
assistance prescription / alteration of a medical assistance 
prescription / forgery of a pharmacy assistance prescription / 
alteration of a pharmacy assistance prescription / concealment 
of a material fact / using a false name/ using a false address], 
which resulted in serious injury to ___________ (name person 
injured). 

 
 
  

  CR 8-514 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
FELONY 
$200,000.00 - LIFE 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_4145* **FRAUD-MED CARE-DEATH-BUS** 

 
...being a business entity, to wit: ______________, did 
knowingly and willfully [obtain/aid ________ (name) in 
obtaining/aid ________ (name) in attempting to obtain] [a drug 
product / medical care], the payment [is/may be] made from 
[federal/state] funds under a state health plan by [fraud / deceit / 
misrepresentation / concealment / forgery of a medical 
assistance prescription / alteration of a medical assistance 
prescription / forgery of a pharmacy assistance prescription / 
alteration of a pharmacy assistance prescription / concealment 
of a material fact / using a false name/ using a false address], 
which resulted in the death of __________ (name person ). 
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  CR 8-515 
(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-
516) 
LOSS LESS THAN $1,000 
(barcode 2-2955) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$50,000.00 - 3 YEARS 
LOSS MORE THAN $1,000 
(barcode 2-2960) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2955* 
*2_2960* 

**POSS MED/PHARM CARD W/O AUTH** 

 ...did knowingly and willfully possess a [medical assistance 
card / pharmacy assistance card] distributed under a [State 
health plan / pharmacy assistance program], to wit: _________ 
(name) without the authorization of ____________ (person), to 
whom the card was issued. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-515 
(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-
516) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_2965* **POSS CARD W/O AUTH-INJURY** 

 
...did knowingly and willfully possess a [medical assistance 
card / pharmacy assistance card] distributed under a [State 
health plan / pharmacy assistance program], to wit: _________ 
(name) without the authorization of ____________ (person), to 
whom the card was issued, which resulted in the serious injury 
of ____________ (name person injured). 
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  CR 8-515 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
FELONY 
$200,000.00 - LIFE 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_2970* **POSS CARD W/O AUTH-DEATH** 

 
...did knowingly and willfully possess a [medical assistance 
card / pharmacy assistance card] distributed under a [State 
health plan / medical assistance program/pharmacy assistance 
program], to wit: _________ (name) without the authorization 
of ____________ (person), to whom the card was issued, which 
resulted in the death of ____________ (name person ) 

 

 

  

  CR 8-515 
(PENALTY SEC. CR  8-
516) 
LOSS LESS THAN $1,000 
(barcode 2-4150) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100,000.00 
LOSS MORE THAN $1,000 
(barcode 2-4155) 
FELONY 
$250,000.00 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_4150* 
*2_4155* 

**POSS CARD W/O AUTH-BUS** 

 ...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 
did knowingly and willfully possess a [medical assistance card / 
medical assistance program/pharmacy assistance card] 
distributed under a [State health plan / pharmacy assistance 
program], to wit: _________ (name) without the authorization 
of ____________ (person), to whom the card was issued. 
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  CR 8-515 
(PENALTY SEC.  CR 8-
516) 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_4160* **POSS CARD NO AUTH-INJURY-BUS** 

 
...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 
did knowingly and willfully possess a [medical assistance card / 
pharmacy assistance card] distributed under a [State health plan 
/ medical assistance program/pharmacy assistance program], to 
wit: _________ (name) without the authorization of 
____________ (person), to whom the card was issued, which 
resulted in the serious injury of ____________ (name person 
injured). 

 

 

  

  CR 8-515 
(PENALTY SEC. CR 8-516) 
FELONY 
$200,000.00 - LIFE 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_4165* **POSS CARD NO AUTH-DEATH- BUS** 

 
...being a business entity, to wit: __________ (name business), 
did knowingly and willfully possess a [medical assistance card / 
medical assistance program/pharmacy assistance card] 
distributed under a [State health plan / pharmacy assistance 
program], to wit: _________ (name) without the authorization 
of ____________ (person), to whom the card was issued, which 
resulted in the death ____________ (name person). 
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 Misrepresentation in Fund Raising Campaigns - 
Identifying Police Dept. With 

  CR 8-520(c)(1)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 60 DAYS 

*1_2625* **FRAUD-MISREP FUND RAISING** 

 
...did offer items for sale in a [charitable/fund raising] campaign 
by representing to [the public/_____, a prospective purchaser] 
that such fund raising was approved and sanctioned by ______ 
(see note), without first obtaining the written authorization of 
the said [person/organization]. 

NOTE: In this section a Public Safety Officer is a police 
officer, paid or volunteer fire fighter, an emergency medical 
technician, a rescue squad member, or the State Fire Marshal or 
any of his sworn officers. The written approval and sanction of 
a Public Safety Officer or any member of his or her family, or 
that of the chief administrative officer of a police,fire, or other 
department of Public Safety organization, is required to avoid 
violation of this section before the illegal representations can be 
made. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-520(c)(1)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 60 DAYS 

*2_2600* **FRAUD-MISREP FUND RAISING** 

 
...did [encourage/receive/solicit] from _____ a donation and 
contribution of ______ (describe item or state amount) by 
representing that said donation and contribution had the 
approval and sanction of ____ (see note), without first 
obtaining the written authorization of the said 
[person/organization]. 
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 Representation by Public Defender 

  CR 8-521 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*6_2607* **FRAUD-REP BY PUB DEFENDER** 

 
...did knowingly, wilfully and falsely [obtain/attempt to obtain] 
legal representation by the Office of the Public Defender, by 
means of a [false representation/false statement/failure to 
disclose true financial condition/other fraudulent manner] 
_____ (specify). 

NOTE: Normally applies to a false financial condition, but may 
be any other false material representation. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-522(b)(ii) 
MISDEMEANOR 
FIRST OFFENSE 
$100.00 
SUB OFFENSE 
$500.00 

*1_0218* **DOCUMNT USE IMPLY GOV ASSO** 

 
...did [use/sell/send to ___/deliver to ____] a document which 
implied that the defendant [was a branch of/was associated 
with] a department or agency of the federal or state 
government, to wit: _____. 
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 Simulated Court Process, Simulated Seal, Etc. of 
Governmental Agency 

  CR 8-522(b)(1)(i) 
MISDEMEANOR 
FIRST OFFENSE 
$100.00 
SUB OFFENSE 
$500.00 

*5_2604* **DOC USE/FAKE COURT PROCESS** 

 
...did [use/sell/send to ___/deliver to ____] a document which 
simulated a [summons/complaint/court process], with intent to 
induce payment of a claim from ____ (name of victim). 

 

  

  CR 8-522(b)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
FIRST OFFENSE 
$100.00 
SUB OFFENSE 
$500.00 

*1_0219* **DOC USE FAKE GOV ORIGIN** 

 
...did use a [seal/insignia/ envelope/other format] which 
simulated that of a governmental agency, to wit: ____, with the 
intent to induce payment of a claim from ____ (name of 
victim).  

NOTE: This offense may be prosecuted in the county in which 
the document was used, sold, sent or delivered. 

 

  CR 8-523 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0419* FALSE STMT HOUSING ASSISTANCE 

 
…did knowingly make a false statement of a material fact for 
the purpose of influencing a housing agency  ________ (name 
agency) regarding [an application for housing assistance/an 
action affecting housing assistance already provided]. 
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COUNTERFEITING AND FORGERY 

 Private Instruments Generally 

  CR 8-601(a) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$1,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_2502* **FORGERY-PRIV DOCUMENTS** 

 
...did  [counterfeit/cause to be counterfeited/willingly aid 
in/assist in counterfeiting]  _______ (type of document) with 
the intent to defraud. 

NOTE: Violations of CR 8-601 AND 602 are tried in the 
District Court, whether a felony or a misdemeanor. 

NOTE: This section applies to such instruments as deeds, wills 
or codicils, promissory notes, assignments, entries in a book of 
account or ledger, etc. The 1998 Legislature specifically added 
"TITLE TO MOTOR VEHICLE" as a type of document 
covered by this section. This section also covers forgery of 
power of attorney. The type of document should be fully 
described. For instance, if it is a check, you must indicate the 
date, the amount, the bank and the payee. Merely stating "a 
check", "a deed", etc. is not sufficient. 

NOTE: In addition to the type of document, if the forgery 
involves an endorsement, you should specify that it is such, the 
type of document and where in the document the forged 
endorsement appears, i.e., generally on the reverse or back. 

NOTE:  See CR 8-601(d) for prosecution venue. 
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  CR 8-601(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1502* **FORGERY/PRIV DOCUMENT/POSSESS** 

 
…did, with fraudulent intent, knowingly and willfully possess a 
counterfeit document, to wit: _________ (type of document). 

NOTE:  Document list under CR 8-601(a). 

NOTE:  See CR 8-601(d) for prosecution venue. 

 
 
 
 
  

  CR 8-602 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$1,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_2513* **ISSUE FALSE DOCUMENT** 

 
...did [issue/publish] as true a counterfeit ______ (type of 
document) with the intent to defraud. 

 
 
 
 
 Possession Of Forged Motor Vehicle Title 

  CR 8-603 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_0035* **POSS FORGED VEH TITLE** 

 
...did possess, with unlawful intent, a counterfeit title to a motor 
vehicle. 
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 Public Documents Generally 

  CR 8-604 
FELONY 
PENALTY 
$10,000 - 10 YEARS 
DISTRICT COURT 

*1_0067* **CURRENCY: MANUFACTURE/COUNTERFEIT** 

 
...did [manufacture/counterfeit/cause to be counterfeit/willingly 
aid in counterfeiting/willingly assist in counterfeiting]  U.S. 
currency with intent to defraud. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-604 
FELONY 
PENALTY 
$10,000 - 10 YEARS 
DISTRICT COURT 

*1_0069* **CURRENCY: MAKE IMAGE** 

 
...did [make/scan/record/reproduce/transmit/hold in 
control/have in custody/have in possession] an 
[analogue/digital/electronic image] of U.S. currency with intent 
to defraud. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-604.1 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0494* **POSS/ISSUE FORGED CURRENCY** 

 
…did knowingly [possess, with unlawful intent/issue] 
counterfeit United States Currency. 
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 Public Documents Generally 

  CR 8-605(a)(1) 
FELONY 
10 YEARS 
DISTRICT COURT 

*1_2500* **FORGERY-PUBLIC DOCUMENT** 

 
...did [counterfeit/cause to be counterfeited/willingly aid in 
counterfeiting/willingly assist in counterfeiting] ______ 
(describe document). 

NOTE:  Documents include a commission, patent, pardon, 
order for release or other court document, a warrant, certificate, 
other public security from which money may be drawn from the 
treasury of the State. 

 
 
 
 
  

  CR 8-605(a)(2) 
FELONY 
10 YEARS 
DISTRICT COURT 

*1_2504* **PASS FORGED PUBLIC DOC.** 

 
...did [write/sign/possess] a counterfeit document, to wit: _____ 
(describe document). 

NOTE: A public document includes any commission, patent, 
pardon, order for release or other court document, a warrant, 
certificate, other public security from which money may be 
drawn from the treasury of this State. 
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 Public Record-False Entry; Altering, Defacing, Etc. 

  CR 8-606(b)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_2504* **PUBLIC RECORD-FALSE ENTRY** 

 
...did wilfully [make/attempt to make] a false entry in a public 
record. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
  

  CR 8-606(b)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*3_2504* **PUBLIC RECORD-DESTROY ETC.** 

 
...[did/did attempt to] wilfully and without proper authority 
[alter/ deface/destroy/remove/conceal] a public record, to wit: 
______(describe record). 

 

 

  

  CR 8-606(b)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*5_2504* **PUB RECRD ACCESS W/O AUTH** 

 
...[did/did attempt to] without proper authority, wilfully and 
intentionally access public records. 
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  CR 8-606.1(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1698 **FORGE/COUNTERFEIT SIGNATURE** 

 
… did [forge/falsify/counterfeit] the signature of 
_________(name), being a [judge/court officer/court employee] 
of the State. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-606.1(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1699* **USE FORGE/COUNTERFEIT DOC W/SIG** 

 
… did use a document with a [forged/false/counterfeit] 
signature of ________(name), being a [judge/court officer/ 
court employee] of the State, knowing the signature to be 
[forged/false/counterfeit]. 

 

 

 Orders, Etc., for Money or Goods 

  CR 8-609(b)(1) 
FELONY 
10 YEARS 
DISTRICT COURT 

*1_2501* **FORG-ORDER FOR MONEY, GOODS** 

 
...did with intent to defraud [counterfeit/cause or procure to be 
counterfeited/willingly aid in counterfeiting/assist in 
counterfeiting] an order for the  [payment of money/delivery of 
goods/delivery of valuable articles] to wit: ______ . (describe 
document) 
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  CR 8-609(b)(2) 
FELONY 
10 YEARS 
DISTRICT COURT 

*2_2510* **ISSUE COUNTERFEIT ORDER** 

 
...did knowingly [issue/publish/pass] a counterfeited order for 
the [payment of money/delivery of goods/delivery of valuable 
articles] to wit: _______ (describe document) with the intent to 
defraud. 

 

 

  CR 8-609(b)(3) 
FELONY 
10 YEARS 
DISTRICT COURT 

*2_2520* **OBTAIN GOODS, MONEY-FORGERY** 

 
...did knowingly and fraudulently obtain [money/goods], to wit: 
_______(describe items or state amount of money) by means of 
a counterfeited document, to wit: ______(describe document). 

NOTE: The documents referred to in CR 8-609 are defined as 
any warrant, letter, paper, writing, or order for payment of 
money or delivery of goods or other valuables. If in doubt 
consult the State's Attorney's Office. 

 
 
 
  

  CR 8-610 
MISDEMEANOR 
2 YEARS 

*2_2502* **FORGERY-PRESCRIPTION** 

 
...did knowingly [counterfeit/cause or procure to be 
counterfeited did willingly aid or assist in counterfeiting] a 
_______ (describe prescription or other order of practitioner) 
purporting to have been made by a duly licensed practitioner 
for _____ (name drug, prescription medication, or alcoholic 
beverage). 
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  CR 8-610(b)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
2 YEARS 

*2_0262* **ISSUE FORGED PRESCRP** 

 
...did knowingly (issue/possess/pass]  a falsely made 
counterfeited _____ (describe prescription or practitioner's 
order) purporting to be made by a duly licensed practitioner, 
knowing it to be counterfeit, for ______(name drug or 
controlled medication). 

 

 

  

  CR 8-610(b)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
2 YEARS 

*2_2530* **POSSESS FORGED PRESCRIP** 

 
...did [issue/pass/possess] counterfeited ______ (describe 
prescription or other practitioner's order) for _____ (name drug 
or prescription medication), knowing it to be counterfeit. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-610(b)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
2 YEARS 

*1_0180* **OBTAIN DRUG BY FRAUD** 

 
...did obtain or attempt to obtain a prescription drug, to wit: ___ 
(name drug) by fraud, deceit, and misrepresentation. 
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 Trademark Counterfeiting 

  CR 8-611(b) 
FELONY 
$10,000.00 - 15 YEARS 
DISTRICT COURT 

*1_2540* **COUNTERFEIT TRADEMARK/$1000+ 

 
...willfully did [manufacture/produce/display/advertise/offer for 
sale/sell/  possess] with the intent to sell or distribute an item 
and service, to wit: __________ (describe), having a value of 
$1,000.00 or more, knowing the said item and service to be 
bearing and identified by a counterfeit mark 

 

 

 

  

  CR 8-611(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 18 MONTHS 
SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE  
$5,000.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_2545* **COUNTERFEIT TM/UNDER $1000 

 
...willfully did [manufacture/produce/display/advertise/offer for 
sale/sell/possess] with the intent to sell or distribute an item and 
service, to wit: __________ (describe), having a value of under 
$1,000.00, knowing the said item and service to be bearing and 
identified by a counterfeit mark.  

NOTES: "Intellectual Property" means a trademark service 
mark, offered for sale, manufactured, or distributed, or 
identifying services offered or rendered, without the authority 
of the owner of the intellectual property. State or federal 
registration of intellectual property is prima facie evidence that 
the intellectual property is a trademark or trade name. 
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 Tickets, Coupons, Tokens, Etc. 

  CR 8-612(b)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
1 YEAR 

*3_2502* **FORGERY-TICKETS/COUPON ETC.** 

 
...did  [counterfeit/cause/to be counterfeited/did aid or assist in 
counterfeiting] a _____________(describe ticket, coupon, token 
slug, etc.) without the authority of the [person/corporation] 
issuing selling and giving away the said item. 

 

 

  

  CR 8-612(b)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
1 YEAR 

*3_2510* **UTTER FORGED TICKET, ETC.** 

 
...did knowingly [issue/pass] a counterfeited token made 
without authority _______ (describe ticket, coupon, token, slug, 
etc.), knowing it to be counterfeited. 

NOTE: CR 8-612 refers to tickets, coupons, coins, slugs, discs, 
tokens, or other items designed to be used to gain admission to, 
enter, or pass through, over, or into any place, activity, ride, 
bridge, etc. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

Rev. 10/1/2013 

306.
 

 

 Unlawful Operation/Vending or Slot Machine; 
Coin Box, Telephone, Etc. 

  CR 8-613 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 3 MONTHS 

*1_2505* **FORGERY-VEND/OPER DEVICE** 

 
...did [operate/cause to be operated/attempt to operate] a_____ 
[machine/or device] designed to receive lawful coin of the 
United States, by inserting therein ____ (type of device) 
without the consent of the [owner/licensee]. 

 

 

 

 Manufacture, Etc. of Slugs, Etc. 

  CR 8-613(b)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 3 MONTHS 

*2_2505* **FORGERY-MF/SELL SLUGS** 

 
...did [manufacture for sale/sell/give away] a slug or device, or 
substance intended to be [deposited in an automatic vending 
machine. 
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 Wills, Patents, Deeds Records, Etc. 

  CR 8-701 
MISDEMEANOR 
7 YEARS 

*1_2700* **EMBEZZLE ETC-WRITINGS ETC** 

 
...did wilfully and corruptly [embezzle/steal/withdraw/ 
impair/distroy/alter] a [will/codicil/patent/deed/assignment of 
patent/writ of administration/review/record], with the intent to 
[defeat/injure/alter] the [estate/right] of _____ (name). 

NOTE: One may have a right under a will without being a 
beneficiary under an estate. 

 
 
 
 
 Destroying/Secreting Will 

  CR 8-702(a)(1)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
15 YEARS 

*2_2700* **WILL DESTROY/SECRETE** 

 
...did, having been entrusted with the [will/codicil] of ____, 
[destroy such will/wilfully secrete such will for 6 months after 
having obtained knowledge of the death of ____(name)]. 

 

 
 
  CR 8-801(b) 

MISDEMEANOR                     
$500.00 - 18 MONTHS 

*1_0781* 
**OBT PROP OF VUL ADULT - L/T $1,000** 

 
 

… did with intent to deprive, knowingly and willfully obtain by 
[deception/intimidation/undue influence], _______(describe 
property) , having a value less than $1,000 and belonging to  
_______(victim),[knowing/having reasonable knowledge] that 
said victim is [a vulnerable adult/at least 68 years old]. 

NOTE: A person convicted of this crime shall be disqualified 
from benefitting from the estate of victim to the extent provided 
in CR 8-801(e). 
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  CR 8-801(b) 

FELONY                                   
DISTRICT COURT                 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1281* 
**OBT PROP OF VUL ADULT -  $1K TO <$10K* 

 
… did with intent to deprive, knowingly and willfully obtain by 
[deception/intimidation/undue influence], _______(describe 
property) , having a value of  _____(amount), at least $1,000 
but less than $10,000 and belonging to  
_______(victim),[knowing/having reasonable knowledge] that 
said victim is [a vulnerable adult/at least 68 years old]. 

NOTE: A person convicted of this crime shall be disqualified 
from benefitting from the estate of victim to the extent provided 
in CR 8-801(e). 

 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 8-801(b) 

FELONY                                   
DISTRICT COURT                 
$15,000.00 - 15 YEARS 

*1_1282* 
**OBT PROP VUL ADULT-$10K TO <$100K* 

 
… did with intent to deprive, knowingly and willfully obtain by 
[deception/intimidation/undue influence], _______(describe 
property) , having a value of  _____(amount), at least $10,000 
but less than $100,000 and belonging to  
_______(victim),[knowing/having reasonable knowledge] that 
said victim is [a vulnerable adult/at least 68 years old]. 

NOTE: A person convicted of this crime shall be disqualified 
from benefitting from the estate of victim to the extent provided 
in CR 8-801(e). 
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  CR 8-801(b) 

FELONY                                   
DISTRICT COURT                 
$25,000.00 - 25 YEARS 

*1_1283* 
**OBT PROP VUL ADULT- $100K +* 

 
… did with intent to deprive, knowingly and willfully obtain by 
[deception/intimidation/undue influence], _______(describe 
property) , having a value of  _____(amount),$100,000 or more 
and belonging to  _______(victim),[knowing/having reasonable 
knowledge] that said victim is [a vulnerable adult/at least 68 
years old]. 

NOTE: A person convicted of this crime shall be disqualified 
from benefitting from the estate of victim to the extent provided 
in CR 8-801(e). 

 
 
 
  CR 8-904 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*3_2600* **FRAUD-RACE HORSE NAME** 

 
...did knowingly [enter/race] a horse in a [running/trotting] race 
under a name other than that assigned and registered to that 
horse by the [Jockey Club/U.S. Trotting Association]. 

 

 

 

 Pari-Mutuel Tickets Counterfeit or Altered 

  CR 8-905 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_2503* **FRAUD-PARI MUTUEL TICKETS** 

 
...did knowingly [present/give to _____ , to present] a 
[counterfeit/altered] pari-mutuel ticket for payoff. 
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PERJURY 

General Note: In all of the following sections where the selection between oath and affirmation 
is offered, an oath is a swearing, by whatever form. An affirmation is used by Quakers and other 
persons who have conscientious scruples against taking an oath, who are therefore allowed to 
make affirmation in any mode which they may declare to be binding upon their conscience. 
Commissioners should generally use the word "oath" unless clearly otherwise indicated. In any 
instance in which the affidavit or transcript says "swear and affirm," or words to that effect, 
Commissioners may use the words "oath and affirmation" or "affidavit and affirmation." without 
having to choose between the two unless otherwise clearly indicated. 

  

  CR 9-101(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
10 YEARS 

*1_5003* **PERJURY: WITNESS IN COURT** 

 
...did, on examination as a witness, duly sworn to testify in 
__________[name, court and case/proceeding in which 
testimony was given], which said [Court/____(other person 
administering the oath)] had authority to administer such oath, 
unlawfully and falsely 
swear______________________________________________
___________________________________________________
__________________________ (brief statement of allegedly 
false testimony), the matters so sworn being material, and said 
testimony being wilfully corrupt and false. 

 

  

  CR 9-101(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
10 YEARS 

*1_0307* **PERJURY/AFFID REQ BY LAW** 

 
...did, in an affidavit required by law to be taken, to wit: ______ 
(state law by Article and Section, or describe affidavit by title 
or purpose), wilfully and falsely make an [oath/affirmation] that 
_____ (brief statement of allegedly false statement), the matters 
so sworn being material. 
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  CR 9-101(a)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
10 YEARS 

*1_0308* **PERJURY/AFFID INDUCE COURT** 

 
...did wilfully and falsely make an [oath/affirmation] in an 
affidavit to an [account/claim] for ______ [subject or amount of 
account or claim] made for the purpose of inducing _____ 
[name court or officer] to pass the [account/claim], to wit: 
_______ [brief statement of allegedly false statement], the 
matters so sworn being material. 

 

 

  

  CR 9-101(a)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
10 YEARS 

*2_4170* **PERJURY/STATE HEALTH PLAN** 

 
...did make a [false / fraudulent] statement with intent to obtain 
[money/property/food stamps/other assistance] under a social or 
nutritional program financed by the State. 

 

 

  

  CR 9-101(a)(4) 
MISDEMEANOR 
10 YEARS 

*1_0309* **PERJURY/AFFID REQD BY GOV** 

 
...did wilfully and falsely make an [oath/affirmation] in an 
affidavit required by [State/Federal/Local 
Government/Government Official] of _______ (name of 
entity),  to wit: ______ (brief statement of falsehood), the 
matters so sworn being material. 
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  CR 9-101(a)(5) 
MISDEMEANOR 
10 YEARS 

*1_0310* **PERJURY/AFFID REQD MD RULE** 

 
...did wilfully and falsely make an [oath/affirmation] in an 
[affidavit/affirmation] made pursuant to [Maryland Rule of 
Procedure # ____/Maryland District Rule # ______], to wit: 
______ (brief statement of falsehood), the matters so sworn 
being material. 

 

 

 Contradictory Statements 

  CR 9-101(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
10 YEARS 

*2_5003* **PERJURY CONTRADICTORY STATEMENT** 

 
...did, knowing one to be false, wilfully and falsely make 
[oath/affirmation], the matters so sworn being material, to two 
contradictory statements, to wit: ________ (see note). 

NOTE: Briefly describe the date and nature of each oath or 
affidavit, and the nature of the contradiction. Examples are:  

In sworn testimony before _____ (court) on _____ (date) did 
state _____; and in an affidavit dated _____ did swear that 
______. ; or 

In a sworn deposition on ____ (date) did state ____, and in 
sworn testimony before _____ (court) on ____ (date) did state 
______.; or 

In sworn testimony before the Grand Jury for _____ 
(jurisdiction) on ____ (date) did state ______; and in sworn 
testimony before _____ (court) on ____ (date) did state______. 

NOTE:  If the two contradictory statements made in violation 
of paragraph (1) of this subsection are made in different 
counties, the  violation may be prosecuted in either county. 
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 Subornation of Perjury 

  CR 9-102 
MISDEMEANOR 
10 YEARS 

*1_5004* **PERJURY: SUBORNATION OF** 

 
...did procure ____ (name) to make a false [oath/affirmation] 
that _____ (state nature of falsehood) [in an affidavit dated 
____/in sworn testimony before _____ (court, grand jury, oath 
taken at deposition, hearing board, etc.)] in the matter of _____ 
(state name, nature, or purpose of affidavit, or name of court 
case), the matters so sworn being material. 

 

BRIBERY; OBSTRUCTING JUSTICE 

 Public Employee 

  CR 9-201(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 12 YEARS 

*1_5101* **BRIBE/ATT PUBLIC EMPLOYEE** 

 
...did [bribe/attempt to bribe] _____ (name of public employee) 
for the purpose of influencing him/her in his/her capacity as 
________ (position held). 

 

*See CR 9-201 for complete list of eligible parties. 
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  CR 9-201(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 12 YEARS 

*1_5103* **BRIBE/DEMAND/RECEIVE PUBL EMP** 

 
...did, while ______ (position held), [demand/demand and 
receive/receive] a bribe from ____(name), for the purpose of 
influencing defendant in his/her said capacity. 

*See CR 9-201 for complete list of eligible parties. 

 

 

  

  CR 9-202 
MISDEMEANOR 
6 YEARS 

*2_5100* **BRIBE A JUROR** 

 
...did procure ____ (name), a juror, to take ______ (describe 
gain or profit) for the rendering of [his/her] verdict in the case 
of ______ (state case). 

 

 

 Embracery-Acceptance of Bribe By Juror 

  CR 9-202 
MISDEMEANOR 
6 YEARS 

*2_5110* **JUROR/TAKE BRIBE** 

 
...did, being a juror in the case of ______ (state case), take 
_____(describe gain or profit) for rendering his/her verdict in 
said case. 
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 Bribery, etc. of Voter 

  CR 9-203(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_5104* **BRIBE A VOTER** 

 
...did bribe _____ (name) for the purpose of securing [his/her] 
vote and ballot at the election of ______ (date). 

 
 
 
 
  

  CR 9-203(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_5106* **KEEP PLACE/GRAT LIQ: ELECT** 

 
...did [keep/suffer to be kept] ______(place) for the purpose of 
providing alcoholic beverages gratuitously to voters on ______ 
(date), an election day during which times the polls were open. 
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  CR 9-204 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_5100* **BRIBE/ATT ATHLETIC CONTEST** 

 
...did [bribe/attempt to bribe] ______ (name) _____ (capacity) 
for the purpose of influencing the outcome of an athletic 
contest. 

NOTE: The statute requires that the bribee be a person 
participating in or connected with the athletic contest. The 
bribee's "capacity" should briefly describe hisher connection to 
the contest, as in "player," "coach," "stadium official," "trainer," 
"referee," etc. 

NOTE: The venue of this offense lies in any jurisdiction where 
the bribe was attempted or received. The athletic event does not 
have to be in the same County or Baltimore City, but it does 
have to be in Maryland. This section does not cover athletic 
events outside the State. 

 

 

  CR 9-205 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_5103* **ATHLETIC CNTST ACCPT BRIBE** 

 
...did accept a bribe in defendant's capacity as _____ (capacity) 
from _____ (name) for the purpose of altering the outcome of 
an athletic contest. 

NOTE: The statute requires that the bribee be a person 
participating in or connected in any way with the athletic 
contest. The bribee's "capacity" should briefly describe his or 
connection to the contest, as in "player," "coach," "stadium 
official," "trainer," "referee," etc. 
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  CR 9-302(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0354* **INDUCE/INHIBIT TESTIMONY** 

 
…did [harm/threaten to harm another/damage or destroy 
property of] ____ (name) with intent to ____ [influence victim 
or witness to testify falsely or withhold testimony/induce victim 
or witness to: [avoid service of subpoena or summons to 
testify/be absence from official proceeding to which he/she has 
been subpoenaed or summoned/not to report the existence of 
facts related to a crime or delinquent act]. 

 

 
  CR 9-302(a) 

FELONY 
20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0355* **INDUCE INHIBIT TESTIMONY - FELONY OFF** 

 
…did [harm/threaten to harm another/damage or destroy 
property of] ____ (name) with intent to _____ [influence victim 
or witness to testify falsely or withholdd testimony/induce 
victim or witness to: [avoid service of subpoena or summons to 
testify/be absence from official proceeding to which he/she has 
been subpoenaed or summoned/not to report the existence of 
facts related to a crime or delinquent act], the offense being [a 
felonious violation of Title 5/the commission of a crime of 
violence as desctibed under CR 14-101]. 

 
 
 
  CR 9-302(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0654* **SOLICIT-INDUCE/INHIBIT TESTIMONY** 

 
…did solicit ____(name) to [harm/threaten to harm 
another/damage or destroy property of] ____ (name) with intent 
to ____ [influence victim or witness to testify falsely or 
withhold testimony/induce victim or witness to: [avoid service 
of subpoena or summons to testify/be absence from official 
proceeding to which he/she has been subpoenaed or 
summoned/not to report the existence of facts related to a crime 
or delinquent act]. 
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  CR 9-302(c)(2) 

FELONY 
20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0655* **SOL/CON-INDUCE/INHIB TESTIMONY - FELONY** 

 
…did [solicit _____(name)/conspire with _____(name)] to 
[harm/threaten to harm another/damage or destroy property of] 
____ (name) with intent to _____ [influence victim or witness 
to testify falsely or withholdd testimony/induce victim or 
witness to: [avoid service of subpoena or summons to testify/be 
absence from official proceeding to which he/she has been 
subpoenaed or summoned/not to report the existence of facts 
related to a crime or delinquent act], the offense being [a 
felonious violation of Title 5/the commission of a crime of 
violence as desctibed under CR 14-101].  

 

 

 

  

  CR 9-303 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0356* **RETALIATE - WITNESS** 

 
…did intentionally [harm/threaten to harm/damage or destroy 
property] with the intent of retaliating against ____ (name) a 
victim or witness for [giving testimony in an official 
proceeding/reporting a crime or delinquent act]. 
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  CR 9-303 
FELONY 
20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0357* **RETALIATE-WITNESS-FELONY OFF** 

 
…did intentionally [harm/threaten to harm/damage or destroy 
property] with the intent of retaliating against ___ (name) [a 
victim or witness for [giving testimony in an official 
proceeding/reporting a crime or delinquent act], the offense 
being a felonious violation of Title 5, or the commission of a 
crime of violence as described under CR 14-101. 

**NOTE:  This applis to  conspiracy or solicitation to commit 
such a crime. 

 

 

  

  CR 9-305(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0358* **INTIMIDATE/INFLUENCE JUROR** 

 
…did by [corrupt means/threat/force] endeavor to 
[influence/impede] ____ (name), a [juror/witness/court officer], 
in the discharge of [his/her] official duty. 
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  CR 9-305(a) 
FELONY 
20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0359* **INTIMIDATE/INFLUENCE JUROR-FELONY OFF** 

 
...…did by [corrupt means/threat/force] endeavor to 
[influence/impede] ____ (name), a [juror/witness/court officer], 
in the discharge of [his/her] official duty, the offense being [a 
felonious violation of Title 5/the commission of a crime of 
violence as described under CR 14-101. 

**NOTE:  This applies to conspiracy or solicitation to commit 
such a crime. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 9-305(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0362 **SOLICIT INTIMIDATE JUROR** 

 
...did solicit _________ (name) to,  by [corrupt 
means/threat/force], try to [influence/ intimidate/impede] 
______ (name), a [juror/witness/ court officer], in the discharge 
of [his/her] duty. 
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  CR 9-305(b) 
FELONY 
20 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0363* **SOLICIT INTIMIDATE JUROR-FELONY OFF** 

 
…did solicit _________ (name) to, by [threat/force/corrupt 
means] try to [influence/intimidate/impede] ______ (name), a 
[juror/witness/ court officer], in the discharge of [his/her] duty, 
in connection with a proceeding involving [a felonious 
violation of Title 4/a crime of violence as described under CR 
14-101]. 

**NOTE:  This applies to a conspiracy or solicitation to 
commit such a crime. 

 
 
  

  CR 9-306 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_5006* **OBSTRUCT JUSTICE** 

 
...did, by [corrupt means/threat/force] [obstruct and 
impede/endeavor to obstruct and impede] the administration of 
justice in ______ (name court, and case if available). 

 

HARBORING 

 Fugitive 

  CR 9-402 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_4904* **HARBOR/FLEEING FELON** 

 
...did knowingly harbor ____, a fugitive, with the intent to 
prevent [his/her] discovery and arrest, after notice that 
harboring that person was a punishable offense, and after notice 
that a felony warrant had been issued for that person's arrest. 
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  CR 9-402(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0232* **HARBOR FELON/FUGITIVE** 

 
...did knowingly harbor ____, a person avoiding [prosecution 
for/custody and confinement after conviction of] a felony. 

NOTE: "Fugitive" means an individual for whose arrest a 
felony warrant has been issued. This section does not apply 
when the warrant is for a traffic offense. 

NOTE:  Required Notification:  That a felony warrant has been 
issued for the arrest of the fugitive and that harboring a fugitive 
is a crime. 

NOTE:   CR 9-401(g) - DEFINITIONS 

"PLACE OF CONFINEMENT" means: 

(i ) correctional facility; 

(ii) A facility of the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene; 

(iii) Any other facility in which a person is confined under color 
of law. 

(iv) A privately operated, hardware secure facilty for juveniles 
committed to the Department of Juvenile Services. 

A "Place of Confinement" does not include*(See SECOND 
DEGREE ESCAPE NOTE): 

(i )A detention center for juveniles; 

(ii ) A facility for juveniles listed under Human Services Article 
9-226 of the code; or 

(iii) A place identified in a juvenile community detention order.  

NOTE:  *SECOND DEGREE ESCAPE  CR9-405(3)  A person 
may not escape from:  (i) except as otherwise punishable under 
9-404 (b), a detention center for juveniles or a facility for 
juveniles listed in Human Services Article 9-226 of the Code, a 
place identified in a juvenile community detention order, or a 
privately operated, hardware security facility for juveniles 
comitted to the Department of Juvenile Services. 
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ESCAPE AND CONTRABAND IN PLACES OF CONFINEMENT 

NOTE:  CR 9-401 - DEFINITIONS 

"PLACE OF CONFINEMENT" 

(i)  A correctional facility: 

(ii)  A facility of the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene; 

(iii) Any other facility in which a person is confined under color of law. 

"CORRECTIONAL FACILITY" means: 

A facility that is operated for the purpose of detaining or confining adults who are charged with 
or found guilty of a crime. 

A "Place of Confinement" does not include" 

(i)  A detention center for juveniles; 

(ii) A facility for juveniles listed under HS 9-226(b);  

(iii) A place identified in a juvenile community detention order; or 

(iv)  A privately operated, hardware secure facility for juveniles committed to the Department of 
Juvenile Services. 

“HARDWARE SECURITY FACILITY” means a facility that is securely locked or fenced to 
prevent escape. 
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 Escaped Prisoner 

  CR 9-403 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_4904* **HARBORING-PRISON ESCAPEE** 

 
...did wilfully and knowingly harbor ____, a person imprisoned 
for a felony, after his escape from the custody of _____ (name 
facility or place of confinement), knowing and having received 
notice that the person has escaped and after notice that 
harboring that person was a punishable offense. 

NOTE: "Harbor" includes offering a fugitive : 

1. concealment, (hiding, secreting or keeping out of sight); 

2. lodging; 

3. care after concealment; or 

4. obstruction of the efforts of the authorities to effect the arrest 
of a fugitive.  

"Harbor" does not include the failure to reveal the whereabouts 
of a fugitive by a person who did not assist in the fugitive's 
efforts to elude arrest. 
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  CR 9-404(a) 
FELONY 
$20,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 

*2_1010 **ESCAPE - FIRST DEGREE ** 

 
…did knowingly escape from _____, a place of confinement. 

NOTE:  Flight from courtroom not escape prior to incarceration 
(Boffen v. State 2003) 

 
 
  CR 9-404(b) 

FELONY 
$20,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0615* **1ST DEGREE ESCAPE JUVENILE CONFINEMENT 
PROGRAM** 

 
…did escape from [a detention center for juveniles/a facility for 
juveniles listed in HU 9-226(b) /a place identified in a juvenile 
community detention order/a privately operated, hardware 
secure facility for juveniles committed to the Department of 
Juvenile Services] located at ________, and did in the course of 
the escape commit an assault. 

NOTE:  See HU 9-226 for place of confinement. 

NOTE: CR 9-401 (f) – “Hardware Secure Facility” means a 
facility that is securely locked or fenced to prevent escape. 

 

  CR 9-405(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1020* **ESCAPE - SECOND DEGREE** 

 
...having been lawfully arrested, did knowingly depart from 
custody at _______________, without the authorization of a 
[law enforcement/judicial] officer. 
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  CR 9-405(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1025* **ESCAPE - SECOND DEGREE** 

 
...did knowingly fail to obey a court order to report to 
_______________, a place of confinement. 
NOTE:  Applies to temporary release or home detention. 

 
 
 
  CR 9-405(a)(3)(i)(ii) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1030* **ESCAPE - SECOND DEGREE** 

 
…did escape from ___________( choose from below), located 
at ________. 
1. [a detention center for juveniles/ a facility for juveniles 

listed in HU 9-226(b)] 
2. [a place identified in a home [detention order/agreement] 
3. a place identified in a juvenile community detention order 
4. a privately operated, hardware secure facility for juveniles 

committed to the department of juvenile services. 
NOTE: If escape from a location listed in an option above and 
no assault involved, the charge of escape in the second degree 
is appropriate. 

NOTE: IN CR 9-410 "PLACE OF CONFINEMENT" DOES 
NOT INCLUDE A PLACE IDENTIFIED IN A HOME 
DETENTION ORDER OR AGREEMENT. 

NOTE: CR 9-401 (f) – “Hardware Secure Facility” means a 
facility that is securely locked or fenced to prevent escape. 
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  CR 9-405(b)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$5000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0766* **ESCAPE-2ND DEG-COND OF RELS** 

 
… did knowingly _________(choose from below) 

i. violate a restriction on movement imposed under the 
terms of a [temporary release/pretrial 
commitment/custodial confinement/home detention 
order/home detention agreement]. 

ii. fail to return to a place of confinement under the 
terms of a [temporary release/pretrial 
commitment/custodial confinement/home detention 
order/home detention agreement]. 

iii. [remove/block/deactivate/tamper with] a monitoring 
device required to be [worn/carried by] ____(name), 
to track [his/her] location. 

 
 
 
  CR 9-408(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0600* **RESIST/INTERFERE WITH ARREST** 

 
…did intentionally [resist/interfere with] a lawful arrest. 

 
 
 
  CR 9-412(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1080* **CONTRABAND DELIVERY** 

 
...did deliver contraband to wit _______________(item) to 
_______________(person) who was [detained at/confined in] 
_______________ (place of confinement). 
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  CR 9-412(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1085* **CONTRABAND POSS W/I DEL** 

 
...did possess contraband to wit _____________ (item) with the 
intent to deliver to _______________ (person) who was 
[detained at/confined in] _______________ (place of 
confinement). 

 

 

  

  CR 9-412(a)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1835* **POSSESS CONTRABAND PLACE OF 
CONFINEMENT** 

 
… did knowingly possess contraband, to wit ________(name 
item) in _______(name of facility), a place of confinement. 

 

 

  

  CR 9-413(a)(1) 
FELONY 
$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_1060* **CONTRABAND - ESCAPE - DELIVER** 

 
...did deliver contraband: to wit _______________(item) to 
_______________(person) [detained at/confined in] 
_______________(place) with the intent to effect an escape. 
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  CR 9-413(a)(2) 
FELONY 
$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_1065* **CONTRABAND - ESCAPE - POSSESS** 

 
...did possess contraband: to wit _______________(item) with 
the intent to deliver to _______________(person) [detained 
at/confined in] _______________(place) to effect an escape. 

 

 

  

  CR 9-413(a)(3) 
FELONY 
$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_1070* **CONTRABAND - ESCAPE - CONCEAL** 

 
...did [deposit/conceal] contraband: to wit 
_______________(item) [in/about/on land appurtenant to] 
_______________, a place of confinement, to effect an escape. 

 

 

  

  CR 9-413(a)(4) 
FELONY                                   
$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS              
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_1075* **POSS/REC CONTRABAND - ESCAPE 

 
… did knowingly [possess/receive] contraband: to wit 
____________(item) while [detained at/ confined in] 
___________ to effect an escape. 
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  CR 9-414(a)(1) 
FELONY 
$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_1035* **CONTRABAND - DELIVER WEAPON** 

 
...did deliver a weapon to 
______________(name)[detained/confined] in 
_______________ (place of confinement). 

 

 

  

  CR 9-414(a)(2) 
FELONY 
$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_1040* **CONTRABAND - POSSESS WEAPON** 

 
...did possess _______________ a weapon, with intent to 
deliver to _______________ (person) [detained at/confined in] 
_______________ (place of confinement). 

 

 

  CR 9-414(a)(3) 
FELONY 
$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_1045* **CONTRABAND - CONCEAL WEAPON** 

 
...did [deposit/conceal] a weapon to wit: _____________ 
[in/about/on land appurtenant to] a place of confinement, to 
effect an escape. 
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  CR 9-414(a)(4) 
FELONY 
$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_1055* **POSS/REC WEAPON WHILE CONF/DET** 

 
...did knowingly [possess/receive] a weapon: to wit 
______________ (name weapon) while [detained at/confined 
in] _______________ (place of confinement). 

NOTE: For the purpose of this section and the following 
sections "Contraband" is defined as any item, material, 
substance or other thing of value that is not authorized for 
inmate possession or is brought into the correctional facility in 
a prohibited manner. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 9-415(b)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1090* **ALCOHOLIC BEV - DELIVER** 

 
...did deliver an alcoholic beverage to wit 
_______________(item) to _______________ (person) who 
was [detained at/confined in] _______________ (place of 
confinement). 
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  CR 9-415(b)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1092* **ALCOHOLIC BEV - POSS W/I DEL** 

 
...did possess an alcoholic beverage to wit _______________ 
(item) with the intent to deliver to _______________ (person) 
who was [detained at/confined in] _______________ (place of 
confinement). 

NOTE: This subsection does not apply to an alcoholic beverage 
delivered or possessed in a manner authorized by the managing 
official. 

 

FIRE & SAFETY PERSONNEL 

  

  CR 9-415(c ) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0724* **POSS/REC ALCOHOL WHILE CONF/DET** 

 
… did knowingly [possess/receive] an alcoholic beverage while 
[detained/confined] at __________(name place), a place of 
confinement. 

 

 

  CR 9-416(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1097* **CDS -POSS W/I DEL CONFINEMENT** 

 
...did possess controlled dangerous substance to wit 
____________ (item) with the intent to deliver to 
_______________ (person) who was [detained at/confined in] 
_______________ (place of confinement). 
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  CR 9-416(b) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0718* **POSS/REC CDS WHILE CONF/DET** 

 
… did [possess/receive] a controlled dangerous substance, to 
wit: _______ (substance) while [detained/confined] in 
__________ (facility), a place of confinement. 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 9-416(b)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1095* **CDS - DELIVER - CONFINEMENT** 

 
...did deliver a controlled dangerous substance to wit: 
_______________ (item) to _______________ (person) who 
was [detained at/confined in] _______________ (place of 
confinement). 

NOTE: A sentence imposed under this section may be separate 
from and consecutive to or concurrent with a sentence for any 
offense based on the act establishing the offense under this 
section. 
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  CR 9-417(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0719* **DELIVER TELECOMMUNICATION DEV** 

 
… did deliver _______ (device), a telecommunication device to 
______ (name) while [detained/confined] in ________ (facility) 
where signs are posted that indicate such conduct is prohibited. 

 

 

  CR 9-417(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0721* **POSS TELECOM W/INT DEL** 

 
… did possess _______ (device), a telecommunication device 
with the intent to deliver it to ______ (name) while [he/she] 
was [detained/confined] in _______ (facility) where signs are 
posted that indicate such conduct is prohibited. 

 

 

  

  CR 9-417(a)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0722* **DEPOSIT TELECOM W/INT OBT** 

 
… did [deposit/conceal] _______ (device), a 
telecommunication device [in/about] [______ 
(facility)/property adjoining _______ (facility)] with the intent 
that the device be obtained by ________ (name) while [he/she] 
was [detained/confined] in ________ (facility) where signs are 
posted that indicate such conduct is prohibited. 
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  CR 9-417(a)(4) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0723* **POSS/REC TELECOM DEV** 

 
… did knowingly [possess/receive] _______ (device), a 
telecommunication device while [detained/confined] in 
_______ (facility). 

 

 

  

  CR 9-501 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0207* **FLSE STMNT TO OFFICER CAUSE** 

 
...did cause to be made a false [statement/report/complaint] to 
_____(name), a peace officer, knowing the same to be false, 
with the intent to deceive and with the intent to cause an 
investigation and other action to be taken. 

 

 

  CR 9-501 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_4803* **FALSE STATEMENT TO OFFICER** 

 
...did make a false [statement/report/complaint] to ____, a 
peace officer, knowing the same to be false, with the intent to 
deceive and with the intent to cause an investigation or other 
action to be taken. 
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  CR 9-502 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0690* **FALSE STMT TO PEACE OFFICER** 

 
...did upon arrest, knowingly and with the intent to deceive, 
make a false statement to a peace officer concerning [his/her] 
[identity/address/date of birth]. 

NOTE: Peace Officer includes any peace or police officer of 
the State, of any county, city or other political subdivision of 
the State and of the Maryland National Capital Park and 
Planning Police. 

 

 

 

 

 To Officials/Agencies of State or Subdivisions 

  CR 9-503 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_5099* **FALSE STMT STATE OFFICIAL** 

 
...did [make/cause to be made] a false [report/statement] of the 
[commission of a crime/existence of a condition imminently 
dangerous to public health and safety] to ___(official/agency), 
knowing the same to be false and with the intent that the said 
[official/agency] [investigate/consider/take action] in 
connection with such [statement/report]. 
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 Statement/Rumor As to Destructive Device 

  CR 9-504(b) 
FELONY 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_5300* **FALSE STMT-DESTRUCTIVE DEV** 

 
...did, knowing the same to be false and with the intent that it be 
acted upon, circulate and transmit to: __________ (describe 
other person or persons) a [statement/rumor]   concerning the 
[location and possible detonation of a destructive device / 
location or possible release of toxic material] as defined in CR 
4-501 of this article. 

NOTE: An offense under this section committed by the use of a 
telephone may be deemed to have been committed either at the 
place at which the telephone call or calls were made, or at the 
place at which the telephone call or calls were received. 

NOTE: This section does not apply to any statement or rumor 
made or circulated by an officer, employee, or agent of a bona 
fide civilian defense organization or agency, if made in the 
regular course of his duties with that organization or agency. 
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EXPLOSIVES 

 Devices Representing 

  CR 9-505 
FELONY 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_5215* **PHONEY DEST DEVICE** 

 
...did [manufacture/ possess/ transport or place] a device 
constructed to represent a destructive device with the intent to 
[terrorize/ frighten/ intimidate/ threaten or harass] ______ 
(name or describe victim or victims). 

NOTE: See CR 4-501 for definitions of "Destructive Device." 

 

 

 

 

 MD Higher Education Commission 

  CR 9-506 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_5099* **FALSE STMT MD HIGH ED CO** 

 
...did knowingly and wilfully [falsify/conceal] a material fact in 
connection with an application for funds from the Maryland 
Higher Education Commission. 
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INTERFERENCE WITH EMERGENCY COMMUNICATION 

  

  CR 9-601(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_5408* **EMER RADIO TRANSM; IMPEDE** 

 
...did knowingly, intentionally and recklessly 
[interrupt/disrupt/impede/otherwise interfere with] the 
transmission of a two-way radio communication on a frequency 
commonly [used/monitored] by [civilian/governmental] 
emergency services organizations for the purpose of informing 
and inquiring about emergencies. 

 

 

  

  CR 9-601(b)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0193* **EMER.RADIO TRANSMIT FALSE** 

 
...did transmit false information about an emergency on a two-
way radio frequency commonly [used/monitored] by 
[civilian/governmental] emergency services organizations for 
the purpose of informing or inquiring about emergencies. 

NOTE: In this section, "emergency" means a condition or 
circumstance in which an individual is or is reasonably believed 
by the person transmitting the communication to be in 
imminent danger of death or serious bodily harm, or in which 
property is in imminent danger or damage or destruction. 
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FIRE-FALSE ALARM 

 Prohibited; False Ambulance 

  CR 9-604(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_5308* **FALSE ALARM/FIRE: CAUSE** 

 
...did knowingly [give/cause to be given] a false alarm of fire 
by _____ (describe how false alarm given). 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 9-604(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0208* **FALSE ALARM/AMBULANC CAUSE** 

 
...did knowingly [make/cause to be given] a false call for an 
[ambulance/rescue squad] by _____ (describe how false call 
made). 
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BURGLARY & ROBBERY - FALSE ALARM 

 Alarm - Non-emergency 

  CR 9-608 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0393* **INTENTIONAL FLSALARM/BURG-ROB** 

 
...did intentionally activate a burglary and robbery alarm signal 
for a non-emergency situation. 

NOTE: The alarm signal referred to in this section must be one 
that activates an alarm system calling for an immediate 
response by a law enforcement agency to an emergency 
situation. This does not include 911 calls, or fire alarms (CR 9-
608 and CR 9-604). If in doubt, refer to the definitions for this 
section, found in (CR 9-607). 

 
 
 
 
  CR 9-610(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0394* **DEFECTIVE ALARM/CONT. USE** 

 
...did, being an alarm user, after written notice by a law 
enforcement agency, to wit: ______ (name agency) continue to 
use a defective alarm system at ________ (location). 

NOTE: A Law Enforcement Agency or Fire Department may 
issue a civil citation to an alarm user, if the number of false 
alarms to which a law enforcement agency actually responds 
exceeds 3 responses within a 30-day period, or 8 or more 
responses within a 12-month period. This type of citation should 
not be done before a commissioner. 

NOTE: An alarm system is defective if it gives more than 3 false 
alarms within a 30-day period, or 8 or more false alarms within a 
12-month period. AFTER NOTICE BY A LAW 
ENFORCEMENT AGENCY, an alarm system user has 30 days 
to have the system inspected, and 15 more days to file a written 
report containing actions taken or recommendations for actions to 
be taken. If within this 45-day period, or if the alarm user's 
written report contained recommendations for actions to be taken, 
consult the State's Attorney's Office before issuing a charging 
document, or refer the complainant to the State's Attorney. 
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  CR 9-802 

MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_1770* **THREAT/SOLICIT CRIMINAL GANG** 

 
…did threaten ____ (name), [an individual/friend/family member 
of an individual], with physical violence with intent to 
[coerce/induce/solicit] ___ (name) [to participate in/to prevent 
_____ (name) from leaving],______  a criminal gang. 

 
 
 
 
 
  CR 9-803 

MISDEMEANOR 
$4,000.00 - 4 YEARS 

*1_1771* **THREAT/SOL GANG - SCHOOL** 

 
…did threaten ____ (name), [an individual/friend/family member 
of an individual], with physical violence with intent to 
[coerce/induce/solicit] ___ (name) [to participate in/to prevent 
____ (name) from leaving], ___ a criminal gang, while [in/on a 
school vehicle as defined under TR 11-154] [in, on or within 
1,000 feet of real property owned by or leased to _____, [an 
elementary school/secondary school/county board of education] 
used for educational purposes. 

 
 
 
 
 
  CR 9-805 

FELONY  
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
$100,000 - 20 YEARS 

*1_0619* **ORGANIZE, SUPERVISE, FINANCE GANG ** 

 
…did [organize/supervise/finance/manage] a criminal gang. 
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 Venereal Disease Remedies Advertising Cures 

  CR 10-102(b)(1)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - EACH VIOLATION 

*3_5599* **HEALTH ADVERTIS V/D REMEDY** 

 
...did advertise and permit to be advertised ____, [a medication 
and substance/a person from whom a medication and substance 
could be obtained/a place at which a medication and substance 
could be obtained] for the treatment and cure of a venereal 
disease, to wit: _____ (name disease). 

NOTE: This section excepts from its coverage health 
departments, governmental agencies, news stories, etc. The 
statute should be checked for probable cause purposes, to make 
certain defendant is not exempt. 

 

  CR 10-103(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$50.00 FIRST OFFENSE 
$250.00 SUBSEQUENT 
OFFENSE 

*1_0274* **VD REMEDY DISP W/O PRESCR** 

 
...did [sell/dispense/give] to ____, without a prescription issued 
by a licensed physician, ____, a sulfonamide drug or 
preparation, for the purpose of treating, curing, and alleviating 
_____ (venereal disease). 

 

 Venereal Disease Remedies Sale, Etc., of Remedies 

  CR 10-103(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$50.00 FIRST OFFENSE 
$250.00 SUBSEQUENT 
OFFENSE 

*4_5599* **VD REMEDY DISP W/O CREDEN** 

 
...did [sell/dispense/give] to ____ (name) ____ (substance 
given) for the purpose of treating, curing, and alleviating ____ 
(venereal disease), the defendant not being a [doctor/a health 
department/ other governmental agency]. 
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 Health - Condom Sale 

  CR 10-104 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 

*1_0467* **CONDOM-SALE VENDING MACH** 

 
...did unlawfully [sell/offer to sell] a nonlatex condom by 
means of a [vending machine/other automatic device]. 

NOTE: Each vending machine or other automatic device 
constitutes a separate offense. 

 

 

 

 Tobacco Products Sales to Minors 

  CR 10-107(b)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$300.00 

*2_4040* **TOBACCO PRODS - MINORS** 

 
...did, while engaged in the business of [selling/distributing] 
tobacco products for commercial purposes, distribute [a tobacco 
product, to wit: ____/cigarette rolling papers/a coupon 
redeemable for a tobacco product, to wit: ____ ] to a minor, to 
wit: ____ (name). 

NOTE: There is an exception if the minor is acting solely as an 
agent of an employer who is in the tobacco business. 
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  CR 10-107(c)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
1ST OFF: $300.00 
2ND OFF WITHIN 2 YR 
OF 1ST - $1,000.00 
3RD SUB. OFF: WITHIN 2 
YR OF PREVIOUS - 
$3,000.00 

*2_4050* **TOBACCO PURCH/SELL MINOR** 

 
...did [purchase for ____/sell to ____], a minor, _____ (describe 
tobacco product). 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 10-107(c)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$300.00 

*2_4060* **CIGARETTE PAPER TO MINOR** 

 
… did [deliver/sell] tobacco paraphernalia to _________ 
(name), a minor. 

NOTE: This section does not apply to coupons contained in a 
newspaper, a magazine, or any other type of publication in 
which the coupon is incidental to the primary purpose of the 
publication or sent through the mail. 

NOTE: A minor who uses or possess any tobacco product or 
cigarette rolling paper or uses any falsified identification or any 
identification other than his/her own for the purpose of 
obtaining or attempting to obtain tobacco products or cigarette 
rolling papers will be in violation of a civil offense. A law 
enforcement officer authorized to make arrests, shall issue a 
citation to a child if the officer has probable cause to believe the 
child is violating this law. 
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ICEBOXES 

 Abandoned & Discarded 

  CR 10-109 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 30 DAYS 

*5_5599* **ICEBOXES-ABANDONED** 

 
...did [place/permit to be placed] outside _____ (address) in a 
place accessible to children, an abandoned, discarded, and 
uncrated [icebox/refrigerator/freezer cabinet] having a door 
with a lock incapable of being released from inside said 
[icebox/ refrigerator/freezer cabinet]. 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 10-110 
MISDEMEANOR 
$12,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0643* **LITTER/DUMP: OVER 100 LBS** 

 
...did unlawfully dump, deposit, throw, and leave litter on and 
at _____ (address or description of premises or waters), said 
litter exceeding [100 lbs in weight/27 cubic feet in volume]. 
(See note). 

NOTE: Under CR 10-110 use the appropriate wording if the 
litter exceeds only one of the two limits, weight or volume. If 
the litter exceeds both limits, use both wordings joined by the 
word "and." 
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  CR 10-110 
MISDEMEANOR 
$12,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0644* **CAUSE LITTER/DUMP: OVER 100 LBS** 

 
...did unlawfully cause the dumping, depositing, throwing, and 
leaving of litter on and at ____ (address or description of 
premises or waters), said litter exceeding [100 lbs. in weight/27 
cubic feet in volume]. (See note). 

 

 

  CR 10-110 
MISDEMEANOR 
$30,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0645* **LITTER/DUMP: OVER 500 LBS** 

 
...did unlawfully dump, deposit, throw, and leave litter on and 
at _____ (address or description of premises or waters), said 
litter [exceeding 500 lbs in weight/exceeding 216 cubic feet in 
volume/being for commercial purposes]. 

NOTE: Under CR 10-110, Litter Dump: 500 lbs., do not use 
weight or volume descriptions if the litter is for commercial 
purposes. If the litter exceeds both weight and volume 
standards, not for commercial purposes, use both wordings 
joined by the word "and". 

 

  

  CR 10-110 
MISDEMEANOR 
$30,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0646* **CAUSE LITTER/DUMP: OVER 500 LBS** 

 
...did unlawfully cause the dumping, depositing, throwing, and 
leaving of litter on and at ____ (address or description of 
premises or waters), said litter [exceeding 500 lbs. in 
weight/exceeding 216 cubic feet in volume/being for 
commercial purposes]. 
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  CR 10-110(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,500.00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0640* **LITTER/DUMP: UNDER 100 LBS** 

 
...did unlawfully dump, deposit, throw, and leave litter on and 
at _____ (address or description of premises or waters), said 
litter not exceeding 100 lbs in weight and 27 cubic feet in 
volume. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 10-110(c) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$1,500.00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0641* **CAUSE LITTER/DUMP: L/T 100 LBS** 

 
...did unlawfully cause the dumping, depositing, throwing, and 
leaving of litter on and at _____ (address or description of 
premises or waters), said litter not exceeding 100 lbs. in weight 
and 27 cubic feet in volume. 

NOTE: If the litter exceeds either the weight or volume limit, 
use the appropriate charge for over 100 lbs. 
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  CR 10-111(b) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
*SUBSEQUENT 
VIOLATION $5,000.00 - 3 
YEARS 

*1_0284* **ALTER DRUG/ALCOHOL TEST** 

 
...did intend to [defraud/alter] the outcome of a [drug/alcohol] 
screening test by________. 

Select from list: 

-  Alter bodily fluid sample; 

-  Substitute a bodily fluid sample in whole or in part, with a 
bodily fluid    sample of another person or animal; or any other 
substance; 

-  Possess or use a bodily fluid adulterant; 

-  Sell, distribute, or offer to sell or distribute; 

-  Any bodily fluid from a human or any animal; or 

   Any bodily fluid adulterant; or 

-  Transport into the State:  Any bodily fluid adulterant; Any 
bodily fluid from a human or any animal. 

NOTE:  See CR 10-111 for definition of bodily fluid adulterant. 

 
 
 
 
 Alcohol - Open Container 

  CR 10-120 
MISDEMEANOR 
$50.00 

*2_4199* **FAIL: PROOF OF AGE AND ID** 

 
...did fail and refuse to furnish proof of identification and age to 
an officer issuing a citation for a violation of ______ (Sec. 10-
113, through 10-119 of CR, or Sec. 26-103 of the Education 
Article), said officer having requested proof of identification 
and age. 
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  CR 10-131 

MISDEMEANOR 
1st Off: $1,000 
2nd Viol: $2,000 
3rd Viol: $6,000 

*1_1613* **DIST SALVIA DIVINORUM TO UND 21 ** 

 
...did distribute Salvia Divinorum to ____(name), an individual 
under the age of 21, in violation of CR 10-131. 

NOTE:  Simple possession of Salvia Divinorum by an 
individual under the age of 21 under CR 10-132 is a code 
violation and must be issued a citation. 

 

DISTURBANCE OF THE PUBLIC PEACE & DISORDERLY CONDUCT 

  CR 10-201(c)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 60 DAYS 

*2_0045* **DISTURB PEACE HINDER PASSG** 

 
...did willfully obstruct and hinder the free passage of another 
and others in a public place or on a public conveyance. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 10-201(c)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 60 DAYS 

*2_0050* **DISORDERLY CONDUCT** 

 
...did wilfully act in a disorderly manner to the disturbance of 
the public peace 
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  CR 10-201(c)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 60 DAYS 

*2_0055* **FAIL OBEY RENBLE/LAWFL** 

 
...did wilfully fail to obey a reasonable and lawful order of a 
law enforcement officer, to wit, _____ , made to prevent a 
disturbance to the public peace. 

 
 
 
 
  

  CR 10-201(c)(4) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 60 DAYS 

*2_0060* **DISTURB THE PEACE** 

 
...did enter the [land/premises/beach] of ____(name), and did 
wilfully disturb the peace of persons thereon by unreasonably 
loud noise and did act in a disorderly manner. 

 
 
 
  

  CR 10-201(c)(5) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 60 DAYS 

*2_0065* **DISTURB PEACE - LOUD NOISE** 

 
...did unlawfully, by unreasonably loud noise willfully disturb 
the peace of another [on the other's land and premises/in a place 
of business/in a public place/on a public conveyance]. 

NOTE: CR 10-201(c)(5) is intended to prohibit defendants 
making noise in one location, no matter where, that disturbs 
persons in another location. It is NOT intended to apply to 
residents or a resident of a location who is/are disturbing other 
residents of the same location. 

Non-residents who are on the same premises as the person(s) 
disturbed should be charged under CR 10-201(c)(5). 

NOTE: CR 10-201(5)(6) states that in Worcester County a 
person may not build or allow to burn a bonfire on any beach or 
other property between the hours of 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. 
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 Keeping Disorderly House 

  CR 10-202 
MISDEMEANOR 
$300.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*5_5311* **DISORDERLY HOUSE** 

 
...did keep a disorderly house, to wit: _______ (address), by 
_______ (describe method in which house was disorderly, see 
notes under statute). 

NOTE: "House" in this section can be a room, place of 
business, tent, wagon, boat, etc. 

NOTE: See the notes under the Statute for the definition of a 
"disorderly house." 

 

INTERFERENCE IN ATHLETIC EVENTS 

 Throwing/Projecting Objects 

  CR 10-203(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$250.00 - 3 MONTHS 

*1_5399* **DISRUPT-ATHLETIC CONTESTS** 

 
...did [disrupt/interfere with] _____ (describe event) by 
[throwing/projecting] _____ (describe what was thrown or 
projected) onto the [playing/seating] area. 

NOTE: The athletic contest must be a commercial one; that is, 
one that is played in public stadiums, arenas, etc. and that 
charges an admission fee for the general public. "Object" is 
defined as any item which may cause injury to a participant in 
the contest, or an observer thereof. 
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 Interference to/from Medical Facility 

  CR 10-204(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0479* **INTERFER TO/FROM MED FACIL** 

 
...did act with the intent to prevent with the intent to prevent an 
individual, to wit: _____ (name or description) from entering 
and exiting ______ (name and/or address) a medical facility, by 
physically [detaining/obstructing, hindering and impeding the 
passage of] that individual. 

NOTE: "Action" does not include speech. 

NOTE: "Medical Facility" includes an agency, clinic, or office 
operated under the direction of the local health officer or the 
regulatory authority of the Department of Health and Mental 
Hygiene. For a fuller definition of Medical Facility, see Health 
General Art., Sec. 10-101(e) and Sec. 19-101(e). 

 

RELIGIOUS AND ETHNIC CRIMES 

 Deface, Etc. Religious Property; Obstruct, Etc. 
Religious Beliefs; Harass/Commit a Crime Upon 
Person For Ethnic Reasons, Etc. 

  CR 10-302 
PENALTY SEC. CR 10-306 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0435* **RELIGIOUS PROPERTY: DEFACE* 

 
...[did/did attempt to] unlawfully [deface/damage/destroy] 
religious property to wit: _____(name or describe real or 
personal property) [owned/leased/used] by ______ (name), a 
religious organization. 

 

 

 



 

Rev. 10/1/2013 

354.
 

 

 
 
  

  CR 10-303 
PENALTY SEC.  CR 10-306 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 
 

*1_0436* **REL BEL: OBSTRUCT EXERCISE** 

 
...[did/did attempt to] unlawfully obstruct by [force/threat of 
force]  ______ (victim) in the free exercise of [his/her] religious 
beliefs. 

 

  CR 10-304 (1) 
PENALTY SEC.  CR 10-306 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 
*SEE NOTE - SEPARATE 
CRIME ENHANCED 

*1_0437* **RACE/RELIG HARAS: PERSON** 

 
...[did/did attempt to] ________ (choose from below) 
[against/of] ________(name of victim) because of said 
victim’s [race/color/religious beliefs/sexual 
orientation/gender/disability/national origin/ homeless status. 

1. commit a crime to wit: ________ 
2.[deface/damage/destroy] ______, the [ real/ personal] 
property 
3. burn an object on the [real/personal] property 

NOTE: If the violation involves a separate crime that is a 
felony, the person is guilty of a felony and upon conviction is 
subject to 10 years, $10,000.00 or both. Prosecution of a person 
under this section does not preclude prosecution and imposition 
of penalties for any other crime in addition to any penalties 
imposed under this section. 

NOTE: If the violation involves a separate crime that is a felony 
and results in death of the victim, the person is guilty of a 
felony and upon conviction is subject to 20 years, $20,000.00 or 
both. 
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 CR 10-305 (1) 
PENALTY SEC. CR10-306 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

 

*2_0252* **RACE/RELIG PROP DAMAGE: INST** 
 

 
...[did/did attempt to] unlawfully [damage/deface/destroy/burn] 
[an object to wit: _____/ the real property/ the personal 
property] [on/connected to]  _______(address), a building that 
is [publicly owned/privately owned/leased/used] by 
______(institution), because a [person/group]  [of a particular 
race/of a particular color/of a particular religious belief/ of 
particular sexual orientation/of a particular gender/of a 
particular disability/particular national origin/that is homeless] 
had [contacts/associations] with said building . 

 

 

 

 

  CR 10-305(2) 
PENALTY SEC.  CR 10-306 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 
 

*2_0251* **RACE/RELIG HARAS: ANIMOS: INST** 

 
...[did/did attempt to] unlawfully [damage/deface/destroy/burn] [an 
object to wit: _____/ the real property/ the personal property] 
[on/connected to] _______(address), a building that is [publicly 
owned/privately owned/leased/used] by ______(institution), where 
there is evidence that the defendant exhibited animosity against a 
[person/group] because of their [race/color/religious beliefs/sexual 
orientation/gender/disability/national origin/homeless status]. 
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REMOVAL OF HUMAN REMAINS FROM BURIAL SITES 

  

  CR 10-402 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*3_3932* **REMOVE HUMAN REMAINS** 

 
...did [remove / attempt to remove] human remains from a 
burial site in the State. 

 NOTE: See CR 10-402(b) and CR 10-402(f) for exceptions. 

 

GRAVE YARD DESECRATION 

  

  CR 10-404(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000 - 5 YEARS 

*3_3942* **DESTROY FUNERARY OBJECT** 

 
...did  [destroy/mutilate/deface/injure/remove] a 
[structure/associated funerary object], to wit: _____ (identify 
structure) placed in ____________ cemetery. 

NOTE: This section covers any wall, building, fence, railing, 
tombstone, vault, monument, or other structure placed in a 
cemetery for any purpose. 
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  CR 10-404(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 2 YEARS 

*3_3946* **DESTROY GRAVEYARD PLANTS** 

 
...did unlawfully [destroy/cut/break/remove] a vegetation, to 
wit: ______, in _____________ cemetery. 

NOTE: This section covers all plantings within graveyards and 
cemetaries. 

 

 

  

  CR 10-404(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 2 YEARS 

*3_3947* **DIS CONDUCT-CEMETERY** 

 
...did commit [indecent/disorderly] conduct, to wit: ____ 
(describe conduct) within the limits of _____ cemetery. 

 

ADULTERY 

  

  CR 10-501 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10.00 

*1_3600* **ADULTERY** 

 
...did commit adultery with ____________(name). 
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  CR 10-502 
FELONY 
9 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_3804* **BIGAMY** 

 
...did, having a [wife/husband] then living, feloniously marry 
______ (name) in violation of CR 10-502 of the Annotated 
Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: The statute applies to husbands as well as wives. This 
section does not apply to an individual whose lawful spouse has 
been absent from the individual for a continuous period of 
seven years and who, at the time of subsequent marriage 
ceremony, does not know whether the spouse is living. 

 

CRUELTY TO ANIMALS 

  

  CR 10-604(a)(1)(2)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0500* **ANIMAL CRUELTY** 

 
...did [overdrive/overload/deprive of necessary 
sustenance/inflict unnecessary suffering or pain on] a 
__________________(type of animal). 
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  CR 10-604(a)(4) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0501* **ANIMAL CRUELTY- CAUSE** 

 
...did unlawfully cause, procure, or authorize the 
[overdrive/overload/deprivation of necessary 
sustenance/infliction of unnecessary suffering or pain on] a 
____________ (type of animal). 

 
 
 
 
  

  CR 10-604(a)(5) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0503* **ANIMAL CRUEL FAIL: PROVIDE** 

 
...did unnecessarily fail to provide _______________ (type of 
animal) with [nutritious food in sufficient quantity/necessary 
veterinary care/proper drink/air/space/ shelter/ protection from 
weather] while said animal was in his charge and custody. 

 
 
 
  

  CR 10-605(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0597* **DOGFIGHT SPECTATOR** 

 
...did knowingly attend a deliberately conducted dogfight as a 
spectator. 
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  CR 10-605(b) 
MISDEMEANOR  
$2,500 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0598* **COCKFIGHT - SPECTATOR** 

 
…did knowingly attend an event using [fowl/cock/other bird] to 
wit: _____(describe), to fight with another [fowl/cock/other 
bird]. 

 

  

  CR 10-606(a)(3) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0508* **HARM/DEATH: LAW ENFOR. ANIMAL** 

 
...did intentionally inflict [bodily harm/disability/death] on an 
animal used by a law enforcement unit, to wit: 
_________________ . 

NOTE: The intention of the General Assembly is that this 
section applies to all animals:  

Privately owned; strays; domesticated; feral; farm animals; 
corporately or institutionally owner; in privately, locally, state, 
or federally funded scientific or medical activities; or otherwise 
located in the state. 

NOTE: See CR 10-606(a)(3) for exemption. 

NOTE: Exclusive jurisdiction of District Court. 
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  CR 10-606(1)(2) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0505* **AGGRAVATED CRUELTY TO ANIMAL ** 

 
… did intentionally ________ (choose from below) an animal 
to wit: _____(describe).  
 
1. [mutilate/torture/cruelly beat/cruelly kill]  
 
2. [cause/procure/authorize] the [mutilation/torture/cruel 
beating/cruel killing] of  

 

  

  CR 10-607(b)(1) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0506* **ANIMAL CRUEL: DOG FIGHTING** 

 
...did [use a dog/allow a dog to be used in] [a dogfight/for 
baiting]. 

NOTE: Baiting means using a dog to train a fighting dog or to 
test the fighting or killing instinct of another dog. 

 

  

  CR 10-607(b)(2) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0652* **DOGFIGHT: CONDUCT** 

 
...did [arrange/conduct] a dog fight.  
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  CR 10-607(b)(3) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0510* **POSS/TRAIN DOG FOR DOGFIGHT** 

 
…did [possess/own/sell/transport/train] a dog with the intent to 
use the dog [in a dogfight/for baiting]. 

NOTE: Baiting means using a dog to train a fighting dog or to 
test the fighting or killing instinct of another dog. 

 

 

  

  CR 10-607(a)(4) 
FELONY 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 
DISTRICT COURT 

*1_0511* **PROVIDE PREMISES FOR DOGFIGHT** 

 
…did knowingly allow premises [owned by/in charge of/ 
controlled by] ______ (defendant) to be used [to conduct a 
dogfight/for baiting]. 

NOTE: Baiting means using a dog to train a fighting dog or to 
test the fighting or killing instinct of another dog. 

 

  

  CR 10-608 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0507* **ANIMAL CRUEL: COCKFIGHTING** 

 
...did [use/allow to be used] a [bird/fowl/cock] for the purpose 
of fighting with another animal, commonly known as 
cockfighting. 
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  CR 10-608(b)(2) 
FELONY 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 
DISTRICT COURT 

*1_0512* **POSSESS COCKFIGHT IMPLEMENT** 

 
…did possess with the intent to use a 
[gaff/slasher/postiza/sparring muff/any sharp implement] 
designed to be attached in place of a natural spur of a gamecock 
or other fighting bird. 

 

 

 

 

 

 Giving Away Live Animal, Etc. 

  CR 10-610 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 

*3_7199* **ANIMAL-GIFT AS PRIZE ETC.** 

 
...did, without the approval of the Secretary of Agriculture, give 
away a live [animal/equine/bird], to wit: ______, as a 
[prize/inducement to enter a 
[contest/game/competition]/inducement to enter ____, a place 
of amusement/incentive to enter _____, a business 
establishment], for the purpose of attracting trade. 

NOTE: This section does not apply if the animal, equine or bird 
is given as an agricultural project or for conservation purposes, 
or is intended for slaughter. 
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 Dangerous Dogs Restraining Restrictions 

  CR 10-619(d)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 

*1_0399* **DANGEROUS DOG FAIL CONFINE** 

 
...did, being then and there the owner of a dangerous dog, leave 
such dog unattended on [his/her/its] real property without 
confining such dog in a structure designed to restrain the dog. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 10-619(d)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 

*1_0400* **DANGER.DOG FAIL RESTRAIN** 

 
...did, being then and there the owner of a dangerous dog, 
permit such dog to go beyond [his/her/its] real property without 
being securely restrained and muzzled. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 10-619(e) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 

*1_0401* **DANGER. DOG SELL W/O WARN** 

 
...did, being then and there the owner of a 
[dangerous/potentially dangerous] dog, [sell/give] such dog to 
______, without providing written notice to the person taking 
possession of such dog specifying the dog's dangerous 
behavior. 
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  CR 10-619(e)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 

*1_0402* **DANGER.DOG SELL W/O NOTIC** 

 
...did, being then and there the owner of a dog which having 
been determined by _______ (name of agency or authority) to 
be a potentially dangerous dog, [sell/give] such dog to another 
person, without providing written notice to the aforesaid 
[agency/authority] of the name and address of the new owner of 
the dog. 

NOTE: The provisions of this section do not apply to a dog 
owned by and working for a governmental or law enforcement 
agency. 

NOTE: The definition of a dangerous dog in CR 10-619 is one 
that has killed or severely injured a person, or has been declared 
potentially dangerous by the appropriate authority and has then 
bitten a person, attacked without provocation, or has killed or 
inflicted severe injury upon another domestic animal off the 
owner's property. For an owner to be charged under CR 10-619 
concerning a potentially dangerous dog, there must have been 
notification to the owner by the appropriate County or 
Municipal authority that the dog has been determined to be 
potentially dangerous. 

 

 

 Injury-Race or Show Horse, Etc. 

  CR 10-620(1) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
3 YEARS 

*5_7199* **CRUELTY-RACE/SHOW HORSE** 

 
...did wilfully and maliciously [interfere 
with/injure/destroy/tamper with] a horse used for racing, 
breeding, and competitive exhibition, to wit: ______ (name or 
describe horse). 
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  CR 10-620(2) 
FELONY 
DISTRICT COURT 
3 YEARS 

*2_0260* **INJURE ETC RACE/BRED HORSE** 

 
...did wilfully and maliciously[start/instigate/engage in/further] 
an act, to wit: _______ (describe act) by which ________ 
(name or describe horse), a horse used for 
[racing/breeding/competitive exhibition] [was interfered with/ 
tampered with/injured/destroyed]. 

NOTE: Ownership of the victim horse may be by defendant or 
any other person, persons, corporation, etc. 

 

 

 

 Sale-Fox or Skunk/Household Pet 

  CR 10-621(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 (INDIVIDUAL) 
$10,000.00** (BUSINESS) 

*7_7199* **SALE-FOX OR SKUNK/AS PET** 

 
...did [import into Maryland/offer] for 
[sale/trade/barter/exchange], as a household pet, a live 
[fox/skunk/raccoon/bear/alligator/crocodile/member of the cat 
family other than a domestic cat/poisonous snake specifically in 
the family groups of hydrophidae, elapidae, viperidae, or 
crotolidae]. 

NOTE: Does not apply in case offer is to a public zoo, park 
museum, educational institution, or to a person holding valid 
State permits. Also exempt are those species of wildlife not 
being kept as household pets and which are individually 
exempted by a permit issued by the Department of Natural 
Resources. 
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  CR 10-623(b)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_1763* **RESTRAIN DOG - LIMIT MOVEMENT** 

 
… did leave a dog outside and unattended by the use of a 
restraint that unreasonably limits the movement of the dog. 

 
 
 
 
 
  

  CR 10-623(b)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_1764* **RESTRAIN DOG - COLLAR** 

 
… did leave a dog outside and unattended by the use of a 
restraint that uses a collar [made primarily of metal/less than 
the minimum required length]. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 10-623(b)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_1765* **RESTRAIN DOG - WATER/SHELTER** 

 
… did leave a dog outside and unattended by the use of a 
restraint that restricts access to suitable and sufficient [clean 
water/appropriate shelter]. 
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  CR 10-623(b)(4) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_1766* **RESTRAIN DOG - UNSAFE/UNSANIT COND** 

 
… did leave a dog outside and unattended by the use of a 
restraint in [unsafe/unsanitary] conditions. 

 

 

  

  CR 10-623(b)(5) 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_1767* **RESTRAIN DOG - CAUSE INJURY** 

 
… did leave a dog outside and unattended by the use of a 
restraint that causes injury to the dog. 
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DESECRATION OF THE NATIONAL OR STATE FLAG 

 Desecration of Flag 

  CR 10-704 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0671* **DESECRATE FLAG** 

 
...did intentionally [mutilate/deface/destroy/burn/trample 
upon/otherwise use] a flag in a manner [intended to incite and 
produce an imminent breach of the peace/ under circumstances 
likely to incite and produce an imminent breach of the peace]. 

NOTE: "Flag" includes any flag, standard, color ensign or 
shield made of any substance or represented or produced 
thereon and of any size, evidently purporting to be such flag, 
standard, color, ensign or shield of the United States or of this 
State. 

 

NUDITY AND SEXUAL DISPLAYS 

  CR 11-102 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_3700* **SEX DISPLAYS-SELL TO MINRS** 

 
...did knowingly [sell/offer to sell] to ____, a minor, a ____ 
(describe object) depicting ____ (describe what it shows). 

NOTE: This section applies to pictures, drawings, photos, 
films, cd roms or any other visual representations of prohibited 
subject matter, and to any books, magazines, stories, 
publications, or any other writings or printing of prohibited 
subject matters. 

Prohibited matters are sadomasochistic abuse, sexual conduct, 
and sexual excitement. See the definitions in CR 11-101. 
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 Exhibition of Motion Pictures of Presentations to 
Minors 

  CR 11-103(b)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*2_3700* **SEX DISPLY: MINR FOR PRICE** 

 
...did knowingly exhibit for ____ (name monetary or other 
valuable consideration or service) to ____ (name), a minor 
unaccompanied by [his/her] [parent/guardian] a [motion 
picture/live/animated/ [other]] presentation depicting ______ 
(see note) to wit: _______ (name or describe motion picture or 
other show). 

NOTE: Any live, motion picture, animated, cd rom, or other 
visual representation or show depicting sexual conduct, sexual 
excitement, or sadomasochistic abuse as defined in CR 11-101 
is covered by this section. 

 

  

  CR 11-103(b)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0292* **SEX DIS. SELL MINOR TICKET** 

 
...did knowingly sell to _____, a minor unaccompanied by 
[parent/ guardian] a ticket to _______, depicting _____ (see 
note). 

NOTE: Any live, motion picture, animated, cd rom, or other 
visual representation or show depicting sexual conduct, sexual 
excitement, or sadomasochistic abuse as defined in CR 11-101 
is covered by this section. 
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  CR 11-103(b)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*3_3710* **SEX DISPLAY: ADMIT MINOR** 

 
...did knowingly admit _____, a minor unaccompanied by 
[parent/ guardian] to _____, depicting _____ (see note). 

NOTE: Any live, motion picture, animated, cd rom, or other 
visual representation or show depicting sexual conduct, sexual 
excitement, or sadomasochistic abuse as defined in CR 11-101 
is covered by this section. 

 

 Permitting Minor Enter/Remain on Certain 
Premises 

  CR 11-104 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*4_3700* **SEX DISP MINR RET ESTABLMT** 

 
...did knowingly permit _____, a minor unaccompanied by 
his/her [parent/guardian], to enter into and remain at ______ 
(name and address of premises), a retail establishment, at which 
there was displayed _____ (state thing) depicting [sexual 
conduct/sadomasochistic abuse, etc.]. 

NOTE: Section applies to owner, operators, and employees of 
the retail establishment, but not to persons on the premises who 
have no authority over the establishment. 
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  CR 11-105(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0293* **SEX DISPLAY PERMIT ON PREM** 

 
...did knowingly permit the display of a _____ [picture/photo/ 
drawing/verbal description/narrative account] depicting ____ 
[sadomasochistic abuse/sexual conduct/sexual excitement] on 
premises [owned/rented/managed] by defendant. 

 

 

  

  CR 11-105(b)(1)(2)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*3_3700* **SEX DIS/ADVERTISMNT PURPOS** 

 
...did knowingly display for advertising purposes a _____ 
[picture/ photo/drawing/verbal description/narrative account] 
depicting ____ [sadomasochistic abuse/sexual conduct/sexual 
excitement]. 
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INDECENT EXPOSURE 

  

  CR 11-107 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_3605* **INDECENT EXPOSURE** 

 
...did indecently expose [his/her] person [in a public place, to 
wit: ______/ to _____ (victim)]. 

NOTE: The common law crime of indecent exposure refers to 
the deliberate exposure to breasts, buttocks, or genitals. This 
can occur in two ways, in a public place with members of the 
public present, or deliberately to an unconsenting victim (as in 
what is commonly called a "flasher.") In order for probable 
cause to be found for indecent exposure in a public place, there 
should be same factual indication that members of the public 
were within sight of the act. In order for probable cause to be 
found for indecent exposure to a named victim, the facts must 
indicate a deliberate act of exposure done with the intent that an 
unconsenting victim would see. 

 

OBSCENE MATTER 

 Sending/Bringing into State for Sale, etc., Within 
State 

  CR 11-202(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
FIRST OFFENSE 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_3705* **OBSCENE MAT/SALE CAUSE/SND** 

 
...did knowingly [send/cause to be sent] into this State for sale 
or distribution _____, obscene matter. 
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  CR 11-202(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 
FIRST OFFENSE 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0294* **OBSCENE MAT/SAL CAUS/BRING** 

 
...did knowingly bring and cause to be brought into this State 
for sale and distribution _____, obscene matter. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  

  CR 11-202(a)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
FIRST OFFENSE 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0295* **OBSCENE MAT/PUBLISH/DISTRIB** 

 
...did, in this State, knowingly prepare, publish, print, exhibit, 
distribute and offer to distribute ____, obscene matter. 
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  CR 11-202(a)(4) 
MISDEMEANOR 
FIRST OFFENSE 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0296* **OBSCENE MAT/POSS W/IN DIST** 

 
...did, in this State, knowingly have in his possession with intent 
to [distribute/exhibit/offer to distribute] _____, obscene matter. 

NOTE: In CR 11-201, the term "knowingly" refers to 
knowledge of the contents of the item containing the obscenity. 
The definition of "obscene" is the same as that for CR 11-202. 
See the note thereunder. 

 
 
 
 
 
 Distribution, etc., to Minor Under 18 

  CR 11-203(b)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
1ST: $1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
2ND: $5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_3799* **OBSCENE MAT SALE TO MINORS** 

 
...did wilfully and knowingly engage in the business of 
[selling/showing/advertising for sale/distributing/displaying and 
exhibiting] to persons under the age of 18 years [still 
pictures/photographs/books/pocket books/pamphlets/ 
magazines/video discs/video tape/video game/recorded phone 
messages/films/computer discs] the [cover/contents] of which 
[are principally made up of obscene [descriptions/depictions] of 
illicit sex/consist of obscene pictures of nude and partially 
denuded figures]. 
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  CR 11-203(b)(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
FIRST OFFENSE $1,000.00 
- 1 YEAR 
SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0297* **OBSCENE MAT DISPLAY MINOR** 

 
...did, as an [owner/operator/franchisee/manager/employee with 
managerial responsibility] of a [newsstand/place of business], 
openly and knowingly display at the said [newsstand/place of 
business], which is frequented by persons under the age of 18 
years, [still pictures/photographs/books/pocket 
books/pamphlets/magazines/ video disc/video tape/video 
game/recorded telephone messages/film/computer disc] the 
[cover/contents] of which [were principally made up of obscene 
[descriptions/depictions] of illicit sex/consist of obscene 
pictures of nude and partially denuded figures]. 

NOTE: "OBSCENE" MEANS:  

1. That the average adult applying contemporary community 
standards would find that the work, taken as a whole, appeals to 
prurient interests; 

2. That the work depicts the sexual conduct specified in the 
wording for this section in a way that is patently offensive to 
prevailing standards in the adult community as a whole with 
respect to what is suitable material; 

3. That the work, taken as a whole, lacks serious literary, 
scientific, educational, artistic, or political value. 
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 Child Pornography 

  CR 11-207(a)(1) 
FELONY 
$25,000.00 - 10  YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
SUBSEQUENT 
VIOLATION 
$50,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

*1_0298* **CHILD PORN PERMIT SEX SUBJ** 

 
...did [solicit/cause/induce/knowingly permit] _____(name), a 
minor to engage as a subject in a [visual 
representation/performance] that depicts a minor engaged as a 
subject in [sexual conduct/sadomasochistic abuse], to wit: 
_______. 

 

 

 

  

  CR 11-207(a)(1) 
FELONY 
$25,000.00 - 10  YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
SUBSEQUENT 
VIOLATION 
$50,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

*2_3799* **CHILD PORN SOLICIT SUBJECT** 

 
...did [solicit/cause/induce/knowingly permit] _____(name), a 
minor to engage as a subject in the production of obscene 
matter, to wit: _______ (name or describe). 
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  CR 11-207(a)(2)(3) 
FELONY 
$25,000.00 - 10  YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
SUBSEQUENT 
VIOLATION 
$50,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

*1_0299* **CHILD PORN FILM/COMP SEX ACT** 

 
...did [photograph/film/create a computer image of] 
____(name), a minor engaging in an [obscene act/sexual 
conduct/sadomasochistic abuse]. 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 11-207(a)(4) 
FELONY 
$25,000.00 - 10  YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
SUBSEQUENT 
VIOLATION 
$50,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

*1_0300* **CHILD PORN PROMOTE/DISTRB** 

 
...did knowingly [promote/advertise/solicit/distribute/possess 
with intent to distribute] _______ (name publication or film or 
describe matter, performance, or other visual 
representation)________(choose from below). 

1. that depicts a minor engaged as a subject in [sexual 
conduct/sadomasochistic abuse]. 

2. in a manner that [reflects the belief/is intended to cause 
another to believe] that the [matter/visual 
representation/performance] depicts a minor engaged as 
a subject of [sadomasochistic abuse/sexual conduct]. 
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  CR 11-207(a)(5) 
FELONY 
$25,000.00 - 10  YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
SUBSEQUENT 
VIOLATION 
$50,000.00 - 20 YEARS 

*1_0315* **CHILD PORN COMPUTERS** 

 
...did, by means of a computer, knowingly 
[compile/enter/transmit/make/print/publish/reproduce/ 
cause/allow/ buy/sell/receive/exchange/disseminate] a 
[notice/statement/advertisement/minor's name/telephone 
number/place of residence/physical characteristic/other 
descriptive or identifying information] for the purpose of [ 
engaging/facilitating/encouraging/offering/soliciting][ unlawful 
sexual conduct with /sadomasochistic abuse of] a minor. 

NOTE: "Minor" means an individual under 18 years. 

NOTE: Sexual conduct means human masturbation, sexual 
intercourse, or any touching of or contact with the genitals, 
pubic areas or buttocks of the human male or female, or the 
breasts of the female, whether alone or between members of the 
same or opposite sex, or between humans and animals. 

These provisions shall not extend to persons having bona fide 
scientific, educational, governmental, artistic, news or, other 
similar justification for possessing or distributing such 
materials. 

The minor's whereabouts or identity need not be known. 
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  CR 11-208 
MISDEMEANOR 
2,500.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1756* **POSSESS CHILD PORNOGRAPHY** 

 
...did knowingly possess a [film/video tape/photograph/ visual 
representation to wit: _____ (name or describe) ]depicting an 
individual under 16 years of age [engaged as a subject of 
sadomasochistic abuse/engaged in sexual conduct/in a state of 
sexual excitement]. 

NOTE: "Sadomasochistic abuse" means flagellation or torture 
by or upon a human who is nude, or clad in undergarments, or 
in a revealing or bizarre costume, or the condition of one who is 
nude or so clothed as is being fettered, bound, or otherwise 
physically restrained. 

"Sexual conduct" means human masturbation, or any touching 
of or contact with the genitals, pubic area or buttocks of the 
human male or female, or the breasts of the female, whether 
alone or between members of the same or opposite sex, or 
between humans and animals. 

"Sexual excitement" means the condition of human male or 
female genitals, or the breasts of the female, when in a state of 
sexual stimulation, or the sensual experiences of humans 
engaging in or witnessing sexual conduct or nudity. 

NOTE: Does not prohibit a parent from possessing visual 
representation of the parent's own child in the nude unless the 
visual representations depict the child engaged as a subject of 
sadomasochistic abuse or in sexual conduct AND in a state of 
sexual excitement. 
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 Hiring, etc., Minor Under 18 to do or Assist in doing Acts 
Described in Sec. 419 

  CR 11-209(a)(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
SUB OFFENSE $5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*3_3799* **OBSCENE MAT HIRE MINOR DIS** 

 
...did hire, use, and employ ______(name), a minor under 18 years of age, 
to assist [him/her] in distributing obscene matter, [with knowledge 
that/while having in [his/her] possession facts from which [he/she] could 
reasonably have determined that] said minor was under 18 years of age. 

NOTE: The prohibitions and penalties imposed in this sub-title do not 
extend to persons having bona fide scientific, educational, governmental, 
or other similar justification for possessing such matter, or to distributions 
thereof pursuant to such justification. 

 

 

HUMAN TRAFFICKING 

A person who violates CR 11-303 may be charged, tried, and sentenced in any county in or 
through which the person transported or attempted to transport the other. 

In a prosecution under CR 11-303(b)(1), the State need only prove that a reasonable person 
based on the totality of the circumstances should have known that the minor has not attained the 
age of 18 years. 

 

  CR 11-303(a)(1)(i)(ii)(iii) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1080* **HUMAN TRAFFICKING - TAKE CAUSE** 

 
...did knowingly [take/cause to be taken/place/cause to be 
placed/harbor/persuade/induce/entice/encourage by threat/encourage by 
promise] another person to wit: _____________ (name) to 
__________(location) for prostitution. 

NOTE:  Do not use this charge if the victim is a minor. 
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 CR 11-303(a)(1)(iv) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1082* **HUMAN TRAFFICKING – COMPENSATION ** 

 
…did knowingly receive consideration to [procure for, ______(name)/ place 
in a house of prostitution at _______(location)/ place at 
_________(location)], another person, to wit: ______(name) with the intent 
of causing another to engage in [prostitution/assignation]. 

NOTE:  Do not use this charge if the victim is a minor. 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 11-303(a)(1)(v) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_0752* **HUMAN TRAFFICKING – EXPLICIT PERFORM** 

 
…did engage in a [device/scheme/continuing course of conduct] intended to 
cause ______ (victim’s name) to believe that if ______(vicitm’s name) did 
not take part in a sexually explicit performance [he/she/a third person] 
would suffer [physical restraint/serious physical harm]. 

NOTE:  Do not use this charge if the victim is a minor. 

 
 
 
 
 
  CR 11-303(a)(1)(vi) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_0762* **HUMAN TRAFFICKING –ANOTHER GOV ID** 

 
… did [destroy/conceal/remove/confiscate/possess] [an actual 
passport/purported passport/immigration document/government 
identification document to wit:____] of another while otherwise 
[violating/attempting to violate] CR 11-303(a) by _____(describe violation). 

NOTE:  Do not use this charge if the victim is a minor. 
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  CR 11-303(a)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_1083* **HUMAN TRAFFICKING –GUARDIAN** 

 
…did as [parent/guardian/person] who has [permanent/temporary] 
[care/custody/responsibility for supervision] of another person, to wit: 
______ (name) , consent to the [taking/detention] of, ________ (name) for 
prostitution. 

NOTE:  Do not use this charge if the victim is a minor. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 11-303 (b)(1) 

FELONY - DISTRICT COURT                
$15,000.00 - 25 YEARS 

*1_0786* **HUMAN TRAFFICKING - TAKE CAUSE** 

 
… did knowingly [take/cause to be taken/place/cause to be 
placed/harbor/persuade/induce/entice/encourage] by [threat/promise] 
another person, to wit:  ________ (name), a minor, to __________ 
(location) for prostitution. 

NOTE:  Use this charge if the victim is a minor. See CR 11-303(c) for 
penalty section. 

 
 
 
 
 
  CR 11-303 (b)(1) 

FELONY  - DISTRICT COURT                
$15,000.00 – 25 YEARS 

*1_0788* **HUMAN TRAFFICKING – COMPENSATION** 

 
… did knowingly receive consideration to [procure for ______(name)/place 
in a house of prostitution ______(location) /place in _______(location)], 
another person to wit:  ________ (victim), a minor, with the intent of 
causing said minor to engage in [prostitution/assignation]. 

NOTE:  Use this charge if the victim is a minor. See CR 11-303(c) for 
penalty section. 
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  CR 11-303(b)(1) 

FELONY –DISTRICT COURT 
$15,000.00 – 25 YEARS 

*1_0754* **HUMAN TRAFFICKING – EXPLICIT PERFORM** 

 
…did engage in a [device/scheme/continuing course of conduct] intended to 
cause ______ (victim’s name) to believe that if ______(vicitm’s name) did 
not take part in a sexually explicit performance [he/she/a third person] 
would suffer [physical restraint/serious physical harm]. 

NOTE:  Use this charge if the victim is a minor. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 11-303(b)(1) 

FELONY – DISTRICT COURT 
$15,000.00 – 25 YEARS 

*1_0756* **HUMAN TRAFFICKING –ANOTHER GOV ID** 

 
… did [destroy/conceal/remove/confiscate/possess] [an actual 
passport/purported passport/immigration document/government 
identification document to wit:____] of another while otherwise 
[violating/attempting to violate] CR 11-303(a) by _____(describe violation). 

NOTE:  Use this charge if the victim is a minor. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 11-303(b)(1) 

FELONY                                                      
DISTRICT COURT                                    
$15,000.00 - 25 YEARS 

*1_0789* **HUMAN TRAFFICKING - GUARDIAN** 

 
… did as [parent/guardian/person] who has [permanent/temporary] 
[care/custody/responsibility for supervision] of another person, to wit:  
_________ (name), a minor, consent to the [taking/detention] of _______ 
(name) for prostitution. 

NOTE:  Use this charge if the victim is a minor. See CR 11-303(b) for 
penalty section involving minor. 
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  CR 11-303(b)(2) 

FELONY                                                      
DISTRICT COURT                                     
$15,000.00 – 25 YEARS 

*1_0787* **HUMAN TRAFFICKING – FORCE** 

 
… did knowingly and unlawfully [take/detain] _____ (name), a minor, with 
the intent to use [force/threat/persuasion] to compel the other to [marry 
_______ (name)/perform a sexual act/have sexual contact/engage in vaginal 
intercourse].   

NOTE:  Use this charge whether victim is a minor or not. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 11-303(e)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_0757* **HUMAN TRAFFICKING –BENEFIT FINANCIALLY** 

 
…did knowingly [benefit financially/receive anything of value to wit____] 
from participation in a venture that included an act described in CR 11-
303(a) to wit: _______(describe violation). 

NOTE:  Do not use this charge if the victim is a minor. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 11-303(e)(1) 

FELONY 
$15,000.00 – 25 YEARS 

*1_0758* **HUMAN TRAFFICKING –BENEFIT FINANCIALLY** 

 
…did knowingly [benefit financially/receive anything of value to wit____] 
from participation in a venture that included an act described in CR 11-
303(b) to wit:______(describe violation). 

NOTE:  Use this charge if the victim is a minor or if victim under CR 11-
303(b)(2). 
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  CR 11-303(e)(2) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 – 10 YEARS 

*1_0759* **HUMAN TRAFFICKING –CONSPIRE/AID/ABET** 

 
…did knowingly [aid/abet/conspire] with _______(name(s), to violate CR 
11-303(a) to wit: ________(describe violation). 

NOTE:  Do not use this charge if the victim is a minor. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 11-303(e)(2) 

FELONY 
$15,000.00 – 25YEARS 

*1_0761* **HUMAN TRAFFICKING –CONSPIRE/AID/ABET** 

 
…did knowingly [aid/abet/conspire] with _______(name(s), to violate CR 
11-303(b) to wit: ________(describe violation). 

NOTE:  Use this charge if the victim is a minor or if victim under CR 11-
303(b)(2). 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  CR 11-304(a) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1090* **PROSTITUTION - BUSINESS** 

 
...did [receive money/acquire money or proceeds] from the earnings of 
__________ (name) engaged in prostitution with the intent to [promote a 
crime/profit from a crime/conceal/disguise the nature,/location/source/ 
ownership/control of money or proceeds of a crime] under Title 11, Subtitle 
3 of the Criminal Law Article. 
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  CR 11-305(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1091* **PROSTITUTION - UNDER 16** 

 
...did [persuade/entice/aid in the persuasion of/aid in the enticement of] 
__________ (name), a person under the age of 16 from [the person's 
home/the custody of the person's parents/the custody of the person's 
guardian]. 

 

 

 

 

  CR 11-305(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_1092* **PROSTITUTION - UNDER 16/SECRETE** 

 
...did knowingly [secrete/harbor/aid in the secreting of/aid in the harboring 
of] ______ (name), a person under the age of 16 from [the person's home/the 
custody of the person's parents/the custody of the person's guardian]. 
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  CR 11-306 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1093* **PROSTITUTION - GENERAL** 

 
…did knowingly ___________(select from language below) 

1. engage in [prostitution/assignation] by any means. 
2. [keep/set up/occupy/maintain/operate] a 

[building/structure/conveyance] for [prostitution/assignation]. 
3. allow a [building/structure/conveyance] [owned/under a 

person’s control] to be used for [prostitution/assignation]. 
4. [procure/solicit/offer to procure/offer to solicit] for 

[prostitution/assignation]. 
5. [allow/agree to allow] a person into a 

[building/structure/conveyance] for [prostitution/assignation]. 
NOTES: Means includes actual participation as well as: 
-  keep, set up, occupy, maintain, or operate a building,   structure, 
or conveyance for prostitution or assignation;  
-  allow or agree to allow a person into a building, structure, or 
conveyance for prostitution or assignation;or 
-  procure or solicit or offer to procure or solicit for prostitution or 
assignation. 

 

 

 

 Betting, Wagering or Gambling Pools on Horses, Etc. 

  CR 12-102(a)(1)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_3901* **BET/WAGER/GAMBLE** 

 
...did [bet/wager/gamble/make a pool/sell a pool] on the result of 
[race/contest/contingency]. 
NOTE: Sporting events, racing, or bets on any other contingency are 
covered. 
NOTE: Under case law, bingo in Anne Arundel County is not made 
illegal by these sections. 
Baltimore City:  Offenses under this section must be charged using a 
citation. 
Note: This charge DOES NOT apply to “Fantasy Competition” under 
CR 12-114. 

 

 



 

Rev. 10/1/2013 

389.
 

 

  

  CR 12-102(3)(4) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*3_3921* **GAMBL-KEEP/USE/PERMIT PLAC** 

 
...did [establish/keep/rent/use/occupy/knowingly permit the use 
of] _____, (specify location and type of place) for the purpose 
of [gambling/receiving the fruits of gambling]. 

NOTE: Under case law, bingo in Anne Arundel County is not 
made illegal by these sections. 

Baltimore City:  Offenses under this section must be charged 
using a citation. 

 

 

  

  CR 12-103 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_3903* **GAMING/CARDS, DICE, ETC.** 

 
...did play ____ (name game) for [money/ ____ (name other 
valuable)]. 

NOTE: This section covers card games, dice games, "craps," 
and fraudulent games such as "thimble," "three-card monte," 
"the little joker," etc., if played for money or any other valuable 
consideration. 
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 Keeping, Etc., Gaming Table/Place 

  CR 12-104 
MISDEMEANOR                     
$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_3908* **GAMING-KEEP TABLE/PLACE** 

 
...did [keep/deal at/manage/have an interest in/have an interest 
in the profits of/lease/rent] a [gaming table at ____/a place used 
for gambling]. 

NOTE: Under case law, bingo in Anne Arundel County is not 
made illegal by these sections. 

 

GAMING 

 Keeping Gaming Table/Place 

  CR 12-104(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_3921* **GAMING-KEEP TABLE/PLACE** 

 
...did keep a [gaming table/house/vessel/place] to wit: 
_____(location), for the purpose of gambling. 

NOTE: Can be on land or water in the State. A gaming table is 
a table or other device on which games of chance are played for 
money; it does not apply, however, to billiard or pool tables 
used for that purpose. 

NOTE: This section covers any place operated for the purpose 
of gambling on a game of chance. Gambling or betting on a 
horse race, dog race, contest, or other such contingency is 
covered by CR 12-102. See the definition of "Gaming Table" in 
CR 12-101. 

NOTE: Under case law, bingo in Anne Arundel County is not 
made illegal by these sections. 
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 Owner/Occupant of Building, Etc. Permitting 

Keeping of Tables 

  CR 12-104(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_3908* **GAMING-BLDG OWNER/OCCUPANT** 

 
...did knowingly permit a gaming table to be kept at 
_____(location) [owned/leased/occupied] by [him/her]. 

NOTE: Under case law, bingo in Anne Arundel County is not 
made illegal by these sections. 

 

 

 

 

 Renting Place for Gambling 

  CR 12-104(3) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

*2_3921* **GAMBLING-RENTED PLACE** 

 
...did [lease/rent] ____, to be used for the purpose of gambling. 

NOTE: Under case law, bingo in Anne Arundel County is not 
made illegal by these sections. 
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OFF-SHORE GAMBLING 

 Gambling on boat, pier, Wharf, etc 

  CR 12-105 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*6_2620* **OFF-SHORE GAMBLING** 

 
...did [bet upon/wager upon/gamble 
at/keep/conduct/maintain/operate/establish/ rent/ 
use/occupy/knowingly suffer to be established/knowingly suffer 
to be kept/knowingly suffer to be used/knowingly suffer to be 
rented/knowingly suffer to be occupied] a gaming device upon 
a  [vessel upon the waters of the State of Maryland, to wit: ____ 
(name vessel)/structure built upon and over the waters of the 
State of Maryland, to wit: _____ (name or describe structure)] 
which could not be entered from shore by a person on foot. 

NOTE: It is not a defense to this section that a permit or license 
had been issued for the gambling activity by any political 
subdivision of this State. 

 

 

 

 

 Results of Horse Race 

  CR 12-109 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0433* **FIXED HORSE RACE** 

 
...did wilfully, knowingly, and unlawfully [cause/attempt to 
cause] the prearrangement and predetermination of the results 
of a horse race, to wit: _____ (name race). 

 

 

 



 

Rev. 10/1/2013 

393.
 

 

 Lotteries - Prohibited 

  CR 12-203 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 12 MONTHS 

*2_3925* **LOTTERY-SELL** 

 
…did hold a lottery. 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 12-203 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 12 MONTHS 

*2_3930* **LOTTERY-SELL** 

 
...did sell a lottery device to _____. 

NOTE: Lottery is a species of gaming, the elements of which 
are consideration, chance, and prize. 

Lottery device does not have to be a written document. It may 
constitute a mere exchange of words between the lottery 
operator and the bettor, by which they agree upon terms under 
which a chance or share in lottery is being acquired. 
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  CR 12-204 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 1 YEAR 
SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 
SEC. 12-210 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*4_3921* **LOTTERY UNAUTH PL TO SELL** 

 
...did keep a certain place, to wit: ____ located at ____, for the 
purpose of selling [lottery devices/policies/certificate] (specify). 

NOTE: Facts must show keeping of a house, office, or other 
place (automobile included) for purpose of selling or bartering 
lottery devices. Ownership is not an element. 

 

 

 

 

  

  CR 12-204 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 
SEC. 12-21 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*5_3921* **LOTTERY PROP OWN/PERMT SAL** 

 
...did knowingly permit ____ (property used) located at _____, 
of which he was the [owner/lease holder] to be used as a place 
for selling [lottery devices/policy/certificate] ______ (specify). 

NOTE: Facts must indicate ownership or leaseholder interest in 
property, including automobile, and that owner/leaseholder 
knew of the use to which property was being put. 

NOTE: State lottery exempted from these prohibitions. 

S.G. Sec. 9-102. 
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  CR 12-205 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 
SEC. 12-210 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0286* **LOTTERY POSS NUMBERS LIST** 

 
...did possess a record of numbers drawn in a [lottery/lottery 
ticket/ship/list/record]; to wit ___________ (name item). 

 

 

 

 

 Possession - Records or Money 

  CR 12-205 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 
SEC. 12-210 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_3918* **LOTTERY: INTERSTATE TRANSP** 

 
...did bring into the State of Maryland a [lottery ticket/policy/ 
certificate]; to wit ______________ (name item). 
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  CR 12-205(b)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 
SEC. 12-210 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_0287* **LOTTERY POSS SALES MONEY** 

 
...did possess a record of money received and to be received 
from the sale of a [lottery device/policy/certificate ______ 
(specify)]. 

NOTE: Possession may be actual (on one's person) or 
constructive (within one's immediate control), and may be sole 
or joint possession. Ownership and knowledge are not elements 
of crime. 

 

 

 Publication/Account of Lottery 

  CR 12-206 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 60 DAYS 
SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 
12- 210 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_3915* **LOTTERY-PUBLISH ACCT** 

 
...did [publish/aid and assist in publishing] an account of a 
lottery. 

NOTE: Publication or aiding and assisting in publication (either 
written, printed or broadcast) of an account of a lottery means 
stating when or where it is to be drawn, or the price of a ticket, 
or where ticket may be obtained. 

It should be noted that it makes no difference if the lottery is 
legal in another state. 
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SLOT MACHINES 

 Defined; Prohibited; Limited, etc. 

  CR 12-302 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*3_3908* **SLOT MACHINE POSS/MAINTAIN** 

 
...did unlawfully [locate/possess/keep/maintain/operate] a slot 
machine within this State. 

NOTE: See section 12-302 for definition of slot machines. 

NOTE: There are several exceptions within this statute. 
Possession of an antique slot machine is allowed, but you 
should not take this into account when determining probable 
cause, as this must be an affirmative defense offered at trial. 
Within certain counties, licenses for slot machines may be 
issued by the proper authority. See the Statute for these 
exceptions. 

Also, effective October 1, 1995, an exception is given to 
persons in the business of demonstrating for sale, or selling, 
such machines if they are:  

 a. operating under a contract with a manufacturer; 

 b. are registered with the U.S. Department of Justice  

     as a  distributor of slot machines, and; 

 c. have provided the Superintendent of the State Police      

     with a copy of their current registration. 
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CORRECTIONAL SERVICES ARTICLE 

  CS 2-113.1(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 

*1_0656* **FTA SUBPOENA – SEC CORR SVC** 

 
... [fail to appear before the Secretary/refuse to testify] when 
subpoenaed. 

NOTE: Secretary means Secretary of Public Safety and 
Correctional Services. 

 

 

  CS 2-113.1(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
10 YEARS 

*1_0657* **FALSESTMT SEC CORR SVC** 

 
... did make a false statement under oath before the Secretary. 

NOTE: Secretary means Secretary of Public Safety and 
Correctional Services. 

NOTE: Penalty for perjury – CR 9-101. 

 

 

 



 

Rev. 10/1/2013 

399.

 

  

  CS 8-801 
FELONY 
30 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*3_5730* **IMPRISON CORRECTIONAL EMPL** 

 
...did falsely imprison _____(name), a correctional employee, 
while defendant was an inmate at _____ (name State, County, 
Municipal, or other jail, detention center, or correctional 
facility). 

NOTE: Correctional Employee means:  

1. A person who is employed by a correctional facility. 2. A 
person who performs volunteer work for a correctional facility. 
3. A person who performs duties in a correctional facility by 
virtue of federal, state, or local government employment; OR 4. 
A person who performs duties in a correctional facility by 
virtue of a contract with federal, state, or local government. 

 

 

 

  

  CS 8-803 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_1133* **INDECENT EXPOSE CORRECTION EMPL** 

 
...did, with the intent to annoy, abuse, torment, harass and 
embarrass a (correctional officer/authorized personnel), to wit: 
________ (name/employee) lewdly, lasciviously and indecent 
expose parts of the body, to wit:  _____ while an inmate at 
_______________(facility). 
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EDUCATION ARTICLE 

ATTENDANCE AND DISCIPLINE OF STUDENTS 

  

  ED 7-301 
MISDEMEANOR 
$50.00 PER DAY OF 
ABSENCE - 10 DAYS 
SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 
$100.00 PER DAY OF 
ABSENCE - 30 DAYS 

*1_0047* **SCHOOL: FAIL SEND CHILD** 

 
...did, having [legal custody/care and control ] of 
_______(name), a child ______ years of age (see note), 
unlawfully fail to ensure that said child attended school and 
received instruction as required by Art. Education, Sec. 7-301, 
of the Annotated Code of Maryland. 

NOTE: This section only applies to children 5 years old or 
older and under the age of 16 years. The section contains 
exceptions for children whose mental, emotional, or physical 
condition makes attendance impossible, who are in an 
authorized home instruction program, or who have received 
written exemption for a one year period from the local school 
system. 

NOTE: The penalties shown are for each day of unlawful 
absence. 

NOTE: The child must be at least 5 years old and under the age 
of 16 to be covered by this section. 
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 Compulsory Attendance 

  ED 7-301 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0101* **SCHOOL INDUCE/ATT ABSENCE** 

 
...did unlawfully induce and attempt to induce _____(name), a 
child _____ years old and a resident of the State, to be absent 
from ______ school while said school was in session. 

NOTE: The child must be at least 5 years old and under 16 to 
be covered by this section. 

 

 

 

  

  ED 7-301 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0102* **HARBOR/EMPLY CHILD-SCH HRS** 

 
...did unlawfully harbor or employ _____(name), a child ____ 
years old and a resident of this State, to be absent from 
______school while school was in session. 

 

NOTE: The child must be at least 5 years old and under 16 to 
be covered by this section. 
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 Disturbing Activities at School Etc. 
Molesting/Threatening Students 

  ED 26-101 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0070* **SCHOOL: DISTURB OPERATION** 

 
...did wilfully[ disturb/prevent] the orderly conduct of the 
activities, administration, and classes of _____ (school or 
college, see note). 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 

  ED 26-101(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_1307* **SCH MOLEST ETC OTHER LOC** 

 
…did [molest/threaten with bodily harm] [a student/an 
employee/an administrator/other individual] who is lawfully 
________(choose from below) 

1. [on the grounds/in the immediate vicinity] of an 
insitution of [elementary/secondary/higher education]. 

2. on a school vehicle. 
3. at an activity sponsored by a school that is held off 

school property. 
4. on property owned by a county board and is used for 

[administrative purposes/other purposes to wit: ____]. 

 
 
 
 
  ED 26-102 

MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*7_5707* **SCHOOL: TRESPASS ON GROUND** 

 
...did unlawfully trespass upon the grounds of ____(name of 
school), a public institution of [elementary/secondary/higher 
education]. 
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 Trespass-Public Educational Institution 

  ED 26-102 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*8_5707* **SCHL TRESPAS/REFUS LV BLDG** 

 
...did unlawfully refuse and fail to leave the building and 
grounds of ______ public institution of [elementary/ 
secondary/higher education], after being requested to do so by 
______, an authorized employee. 

 

 

  

  ED 26-102 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*9_5707* **SCHL: TRESPASS/DAMAGE PROP** 

 
...did wilfully damage and deface the property of _____ (name 
school, see note#1) to wit: _____ (describe property, see note 
#2) by ____ (describe act). 

NOTE 1: This section covers any elementary, middle, or high 
school, or any college or university, public or private. 

NOTE 2: Property covered by this section includes any 
buildings, furnishings, statutes, monuments, memorials, trees, 
shrubs, grasses, or flowers. 

 

 

  ED 26-104 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 – 90 days 

*1_0611* ** OBSTRUCT SCHOOL BUS DRIVER** 

 
… did [obstruct/hinder/interfere with]  ________(name), a 
school bus driver, while said school bus driver was engaged in 
the performance of [his/her] duties. 
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ELECTION LAW ARTICLE 

  

  EL 16-802 
FELONY 
$10,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0783* **DESTRUCTION-ELECTION EQUIPMENT** 

 
…did willfully and knowingly [tamper with/damage or attempt 
to damage/prevent or attempt to prevent operation of/possess 
key for/make key for] voting equipment. 

 

 

  

  EL 16-803 
FELONY 
$10,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0784* **DESTRUCTION-ELECTION EQUIPMENT** 

 
…did [remove/deface/destroy] [equipment/supplies] in a 
polling place. 

 

 

  

  EL 16-804 
FELONY 
$50, 000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_0785* **TAMPERING ELECTION SYSTEM** 

 
…did [access/tamper with/alter] voting system without 
authorization of election authority. 
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ENVIRONMENT ARTICLE 

 Junkyard/Automobile Graveyard Adjoining Body 
of Water 

  EN 5-10A-02 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 90 DAYS 

*7_5599* **JUNKYARD ETC FAIL MAINTAIN** 

 
...did, as the [owner/manager] of a _____ (see note), fail to 
maintain the contents thereof so as to prevent the dumping, 
depositing, and transporting thereof into the waters of this State, 
to wit: _____ (name body of water). 

NOTE: Applies to any person or organization that owns, 
maintains, or causes to be maintained a junkyard, automotive 
dismantle, recycler facility, scrap metal processing facility, or 
automotive graveyard. As to probable cause, see the 
presumptions set forth in EN 5-10A-01. 

 

  EN 6-422(b)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
1st Offense: $20,000 
Sub Offense: $25,000 - 2 Yrs 

*1_1605* **VIOLATE ASBESTOS REMOVAL** 

 
… did knowingly and willfully violate a [provision of/a rule 
adopted under/a regulation adopted under] Title 6, Subtitle 4 of 
the Environment Article to wit: _______(describe). 

 

  EN 7-265 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0012* **HAZARDOUS SUBST-DISPOSAL** 

 
...did unlawfully [store/treat/dump/discharge/abandon/dispose 
of] _______, a controlled hazardous substance in and at ______ 
(place), a place that was not a controlled hazardous substance 
facility and that did not have a current facility permit. 
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 Illegal Disposal 

  EN 7-265 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0012* **HAZARDOUS SUBST-DISPOSAL** 

 
...did unlawfully transport for treatment, storage, and disposal a 
controlled hazardous substance, to wit: _____, to ______, a 
place that was not a controlled hazardous substance facility and 
did not have a current facility permit. 

 

 

 

  

  EN 7-265 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0013* **HAZARDOUS SUBST-FALSE INFO** 

 
...did unlawfully falsify information required by the State 
Department of the Environment, namely _____ (specify what 
information was falsified relating it to a specific law, rule 
regulation, order, haulers certificate, vehicle certificate, or 
facility permit issued under the subtitle). 
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  EN 7-265 
FELONY 
$100,000.00 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0014* **HAZARDOUS SUBST-DISPOSAL** 

 
...did [authorize/direct/permit] 
[storing/treating/dumping/discharging/abandoning/otherwise 
disposing of a controlled hazardous substance in any place 
other than a controlled hazardous substance facility for which a 
a current facility permit is in effect/ falsify information required 
by the department or any rule, regulation,order, hauler 
certificate, vehicle certificate or facility permit issued under EN 
7-232.] 

NOTE: Each day of violation is a separate offense. 

 

 

  

  EN 7-265 
FELONY 
$250,000 - 15 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_0015* **HAZARDOUS SUBST/ENDANGER OTHER** 

 
...did unlawfully [store/treat/dump/discharge/abandon/dispose 
of][transport for treatment/ storage/disposal] _______, a 
controlled hazardous substance, knowing that the violation 
placed another person, to wit: _____ (name or names) in 
imminent danger of death or serious bodily harm. 
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FAMILY LAW ARTICLE 
MARRYING UNLAWFULLY 

 Within 3 Degrees of Direct Lineal/ First Degree of 
Collateral Consanguinity 

  FL 2-202(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,500.00 

*3_7399* **MARRIAGE-UNLAWFUL** 

…did marry _____(select from list), his/her _____ 
(relationship), being within [three degrees of direct lineal 
consanguinity/the first degree of collateral consanguinity]. 

NOTE: The marriages prohibited under this section are as 
follows:  

An individual may not marry their: 

- Grandparent 

- Parent 

- Child 

- Sibling; or 

- Grandchild 
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 Marrying within Other Prohibited Degrees 

  FL 2-202[c] 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 

*4_7399* **MARRIAGE-UNLAWFUL** 

...did marry ___, his/her ____ (relationship), being within a 
degree of affinity and kindred prohibited by the laws of this 
State. 

NOTE: The marriages prohibited under this section are as 
follows:  

An individual may not marry their: 

- Grandparent’s Spouse 

- Spouse’s Grandparent 

- Parent’s Sibling 

- Stepparent 

- Spouse’s Parent 

- Spouse’s Child 

- Child’s Spouse 

- Grandchild’s Spouse 

- Spouse’s Grandchild 

- Sibling’s Child 
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  FL 2-406(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 

*6_7390* **MARRIAGE-UNAUTH. BY MINISTER** 

 
...did unlawfully and without authority perform a marriage 
ceremony between ______ (bride) and ______ (groom). 

NOTE:  See section for list of authorized persons. 

 

 

 

 

 Minister, etc. Marrying Persons Within Prohibited 
Degrees 

  FL 2-406(d) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 

*5_7399* **MARRIAG UNAUTH BY MINISTER** 

 
...did knowingly perform a marriage ceremony between _____ 
and _____, they being related in the degrees prohibited by law, 
and he/she being a [religious offical/clerk/deputy clerk/judge]. 
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  FL 2-406(e) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 

*6_7395* **MARRIAGE-PERFORM W/O LICENSE** 

 
...did unlawfully perform a marriage ceremony between _____ 
(bride) and _____ (groom) without a license. 

NOTE: Persons authorized to perform marriages:  

1. Any official of religious order or body by rules and customs 
of that order or body.  

2. Any clerk. 

3. Any deputy clerk designated by the county administative    

    judge of the circuit court for that county. 

4.  A judge. 
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 Advertising/Solicitation of Marriages 

  FL 2-408(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
FIRST OFFENSE $100.00 
SUB OFFENSE $500.00 - 1 
YEAR 

*9_7399* **MARRIAGE-ILL ADVERTISING** 

 
...did [erect/maintain] _____ (describe advertising structure) 
located at _______ , that was intended to help solicit the 
performance of a marriage ceremony. 

 

 

 

 Domestic Violence 

  FL 4-508.1 
MISDEMEANOR 
FIRST OFFENSE $1,000.00 
- 90 DAYS 
SUB OFFENSE  $2,500.00 - 
1YEAR 

*2_0454* **VIOLATE OUT OF STATE ORDER** 

 
…did fail to comply with a court order issued by the State of 
_____ and filed with the [District/circuit court of __________] 
that ordered the respondent to refrain from [further abuse to 
_____/threat of abuse to ______/ contacting _____/ attempting 
to contact ______/harassing ____/ entering theresidence of 
_____/remain away from the place of employment, school, 
temporary residence of _________]. 
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  FL 4-509 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 
SUB. OFFENSE 
$2,500.00 - 1 YEAR 
RELEASE RESTRICTION 
(Under Certain Conditions) 

*2_0254* **VIOLATE EXPARTE/PROT ORDER** 

 
...did fail to comply with an Order of Court dated ______, 
issued under the Annotated Code of Maryland, Family Law 
Article, that ordered the respondent to refrain from further 
[abuse to ________/ threats of abuse to __________/ contacting 
________/ attempting to contact _________/ harassing 
__________/entering the residence of _______/vacate the 
residence of _______/remain away from the place of 
employment, school, and temporary residence of 
______/surrender firearms to law enforcement/possessing a 
firearm] . 

NOTE: Failure to surrender firearms to law enforcement and 
possessing a firearm are only applicable when a temporary 
protective order or a final protective order is issued. 

NOTE:  See definition of abuse - FL 4-501. 

NOTE: A District Court commissioner may not authorize the 
pretrial release of a defendant charged with violating the 
provisions of an ex parte order or protective order that order the 
defendant to refrain from abusing or threatening to abuse a 
person eligible for relief. See Criminal Procedures 5-202(e); F: 
4-506(d)(1); FL 4-508.1. 

NOTE: Such an order may include any or all of the restrictions 
named, and may be violated in several ways by one action. 
Example: returning to the residence and abusing, harassing, and 
threatening may all occur in one incident. Use all applicable 
choices joined by the word "and". HOWEVER, each separate 
chronological incident is a separate offense. 

NOTE: An officer shall arrest with or without a warrant and 
take into custody a person whom the officer has probable cause 
to believe is in violation of an ex parte order or protective order 
in effect at the time of the violation. 

NOTE:  If the court is closed on the day an  interim order is set 
to expire, the order shall be effective until the next day on 
which the court is open.  For temporary orders, it is effective 
until the second day on which the Court is open. 

NOTE:  The commissioner must verify the type of order, verify 
that the order has been served, verify that the alleged violation 
conditions exist in the issued order; prior to making a probable 
cause decision. 
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  FL 5-705.2 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000 .00 – 5 YEARS 

*1_0734* **ABUSE/NEGLECT REPORTING** 

 
...did intentionally [prevent/interfere with] the making of a 
report of [suspected abuse/neglect] required by [FL 5-704/FL 5-
705.1(c)(2)]. 

 

 

 

 Confinement/dwelling, etc.; 

  FL 5-801 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500 .00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0005* **CONFINE UNATTENDED CHILD** 

 
...did, being charged with the care of _____(name), a child 
under the age of 8 years, allow said child to be 
[locked/confined] in a [dwelling/building/enclosure/motor 
vehicle] which was out of [his/her] sight and while [he, she] 
was absent therefrom. 

NOTE: This section is not applicable where the child is left 
attended by a reliable person at least 13 years old. 
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CHILD CUSTODY AND VISITATION 

  

  FL 9-304 
PENALTY SEC. FL 9-307 
MISDEMEANOR 
$250.00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0364* **DETAIN CHILD/RELATVE IN ST** 

 
...did, as a relative and with intent to deprive the lawful 
custodian, knowingly detain within the State _____, a child 
under 16 years of age, from the lawful custodian for more than 
48 hours after the lawful custodian demanded that the child be 
returned. 

 

 

 

 Abduction by Relative-Child Under 16 - In State 

  FL 9-304 
PENALTY FL 9-307 
MISDEMEANOR 
$250.00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0365* **HIDE CHLD/ABD BY REL IN ST** 

 
...did, as a relative and with intent to deprive the lawful 
custodian, harbor and hide within this State ______, a child 
under 16 years of age, knowing that possession of the said child 
was obtained by another relative in violation of this section. 
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  FL 9-304 
PENALTY SEC. FL 9-307 
MISDEMEANOR 
$250.00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0366* **ABDUCT ETC CHILD/ACCESSORY** 

 
...was an accessory to ....(add appropriate wording from either 
CJIS Code 1-0364, 1-0365, or 2-1005). 

NOTE: You may not require an applicant for a statement of 
charges in a child abduction by a relative case to submit written 
proof that the applicant has legal custody of the child. If such is 
available and offered to you, however, it should be reviewed 
and a copy attached to the application. 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  FL 9-304 
PENALTY SEC. FL 9-307 
MISDEMEANOR 
$250.00 - 30 DAYS 

*2_1005* **ABDUCT CHILD/RELATIV IN ST** 

 
...did, as a relative and with intent to deprive the lawful 
custodian, knowingly abduct, take, and carry away ____, a 
child under 16 years of age from _____ [his/her] lawful 
custodian, to a place within this State. 
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  FL 9-305 
PENALTY SEC. FL 9-307 
Detained not more than 30 
days                                
(barcode 1_0737) 
FELONY 
$1,000.00 – 1YEAR 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
Detained more than 30 days    
(barcode 1-0747) 
FELONY 
$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0737* 
*1_0747* 

**DET CHLD CUSTODIAN OUT ST** 

 
…did being a relative, having acquired lawful possession of 
________(name), a child under the age of 16, detain said child 
in another state, with intent to deprive the lawful custodian of 
the custody of said child, for more than 48 hours after a demand 
for the return by the lawful custodian. 
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 Abduction by Relative - Child Under 16 -Outside 
State 

  FL 9-305 
PENALTY SEC. FL 9-307 
Detained not more than 30 
days                                
(barcode 1-0738) 
FELONY 
$1,000.00 – 1 YEAR 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
Detained more than 30 days    
(barcode 1-0748) 
FELONY 
$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0738* 
*1_0748* 

**HIDE CHLD AB BY REL OUT ST** 

 
...did, as a relative and with intent to deprive the lawful 
custodian,[ harbor/hide] in another state, _____(name), a child 
under 16 years of age, knowing that possession of the said child 
was obtained by another relative in violation of Title 9 of the 
Family Law article. 
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  FL 9-305 
PENALTY FL 9-307 
Detained not more than 30 
days                                
(barcode 1-0739) 
FELONY 
$1,000.00 – 1 YEAR 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
Detained more than 30 days    
*barcode 1-0749) 
FELONY 
$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0739* 
*1_0749* 

**ABDUCT ETC CHILD/ACCESSORY** 

 
…act as an accessory to . . . (select from list) 

LIST: 

1.  The [abduction/taking/carrying away] of _______(name) a 
child under the age of 16, to a place in another state, by 
_______(name), being a relative of said child, knowing that 
another person is the lawful custodian of the child and with 
intent to deprive the lawful custodian. 

2.  ________, a relative, who having acquired lawful possession 
of said child, knowing another to be the lawful custodian, 
detain ______(name), a child under the age of 16, for more than 
48 hours after a demand for return by the lawful custodian with 
the intent to deprive the lawful custodian of said child. 

3.  The [harboring/hiding], ___________(name), a child under 
the age of 16, in another state, by _______(name), who knows 
that possession of the child was obtained by another relative in 
violation of title 9 of the Family Law Article and with the intent 
to deprive the lawful custodian of said child. 

NOTE: You may not require an applicant for a statement of 
charges in a child abduction by a relative case to submit written 
proof that the applicant has legal custody of the child. If such is 
available and offered to you, however, it should be reviewed 
and a copy attached to the application. 
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  FL 9-305 
PENALTY SEC. FL 9-307 
Detained not more than 30 
days                                
(barcode 1-0736) 
FELONY 
$1,000.00 – 1 YEAR 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 
Detained more than 30 days    
(barcode 1-0746) 
FELONY 
$2,500.00 - 3 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0736* 
*1_0746* 

**ABDUCT CHILD/CUST OUT ST** 

 
...did, as a relative and with intent to deprive the lawful 
custodian, knowingly [abduct/ take/ carry away] _____, a child 
under 16 years of age from _____ [his/her] lawful custodian, to 
a place in another state. 

 
 
 
 
 
 Nonsupport - Spouse 

  FL 10-201 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_3899* **NONSUPPORT SPOUSE** 

 
...did, without just cause, willfully fail to provide for the 
support of _____ [his/her] spouse. 
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  FL 10-203 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 3 YEARS 

*2_3899* **DESERTION-MINOR CHILD** 

 
...did desert _____ (name) [his/her] minor child. 

 

 

 Desertion/Nonsupport - Minor Child 

  FL 10-203 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 3 YEARS 

*3_3899* **NONSUPPORT - MINOR CHILD** 

 
...did willfully fail to provide for the support of ____ (name), 
[his/her] minor child, during the period ____ through _____ 
inclusive. 

 

  

  FL 10-219 
MISDEMEANOR 
$100.00 - 1 YEAR 

*4_3899* **DESERTION-MINOR CHILD** 

 
...did desert ____ (name), a minor child under [his/her] care, 
custody, and control [with the intent that such child become a 
public charge/without providing for said child's support for at 
least 3 years by a responsible individual or a licensed child care 
facility]. 

NOTE: This section does not require that custodian be the 
parent. 
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 Support Destitute Parent 

  FL 13-102 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_3808* **NONSUPPORT - DEST. PARENTS** 

 
...did neglect and refuse to provide necessary shelter, food, care 
and clothing for ______ (name), [his/her] destitute parent, the 
said _____ (defendant) having the means to do so. 

 

 

 Non-Support Destitute Adult Child 

  FL 13-102 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*5_3899* **NONSUP DESTITUT ADULT CHLD** 

 
...did neglect and refuse to provide necessary shelter, food, care 
and clothing for ____ (name), [his/her] destitute adult child, the 
said ____ (defendant) having the means to do so. 
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HEALTH – GENERAL ARTICLE 

 Vital Statistics and Records 

  HG 4-226(f) 
PENALTY SEC. HG 4-227 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 30 DAYS 

*1_0695* **VITAL RECORDS FRAUD - USE** 

 
...did willfully [use/attempt to use] a photocopy of a [birth/ 
death/fetal death/marriage] certificate for a fraudulent and 
deceptive purpose. 

NOTE: Application or statement of charges should indicate the 
fraudulent or deceptive purpose. 

 

 

 

 Performing female genital mutilation 

  HG 20-601(a) 
PENALTY HG 20-601(a) 
FELONY 
$5,000 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0965* **FEM GENITIAL MUTILATION** 

 
...did unlawfully and knowingly circumcise, excise, and 
infibulate the whole and any part of the labia majora, labia 
minora, and clitoris of ______(name), an individual under 18 
years of age. 
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 Consenting to female genital mutilation on a child, 
under 18, under care of person 

  HG 20-601(b) 
PENALTY HG 20-603 
FELONY 
$5,000 - 5 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_0970* **CONSENT/GENITAL MUTILATION** 

 
...unlawfully, being legally responsible and charged with the 
care and custody of ____(name), a child under 18 years of age, 
did knowlingly consent to the circumcision, excision, or 
infibulation of the whole or any part of the labia majora, labia 
minora or clitoris of the said child. 

 

 

FOOD PACKAGES AND CONTAINERS 

 Opening Sealed Food Container 

  HG 21-259.1 
MISDEMEANOR 
$25.00 

*1_1596* **FOOD, SEALED, OPENING** 

 
...did, without [intent to purchase/authority], open a sealed, 
closed, and fastened food container in a [food 
store/supermarket] and leave said container unsalable. 
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LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT ARTICLE 

 Wage Payment and Collection 

  LE 3-502 
PENALTY SEC. 3-508 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 

*1_0698* **WAGES: FAIL TO PAY REGULAR** 

 
...did, as an employer thereof, wilfully fail to pay wages to 
______, an employee, at least one in every two weeks and twice 
in each month as required by the Maryland Annotated Code, 
Labor and Employment Article, Section 3-502 

 

  

  LE 3-503 
PENALTY SEC. LE 3-508 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 

*1_0699* **WAGES: UNLAWFUL DEDUCTIONS** 

 
...did, as an employer thereof, wilfully make unauthorized 
deductions from the wages of ____, an employee. 

NOTE: Deductions are authorized by:  

1. Order by a court of competent jurisdiction;  

2. Express authorization in writing by the employee;  

3. Specific allowance by the Commissioner of Labor and  

    Industry because the employee has received full  

    consideration for the deduction;  

4. In accordance with any law or any rule or regulation by a  

    governmental unit. 

 

 

 



 

Rev. 10/1/2013 

426.
 

 

  

  LE 3-504 
PENALTY SEC.  LE 3-
508(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 

*1_0700* **WAGES: FAIL TO GIVE NOTICE** 

 
...did, as an employer thereof, wilfully fail to furnish to ______, 
[employee/complainant]. (select from list below) 

1. at the time of hiring, notice of the rate of pay and regular 
payday. 

2. for each pay period, a statement of gross earnings and 
deductions from gross earnings. 

3. at least one pay period in advance, notice of any change in 
[payday/wage]. 

NOTE: This section does not prohibit an employer from 
increasing a wage without advance notice. 

 

 

  

  LE 3-505 
PENALTY SEC. LE  3-
508(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 

*1_0701* **WAGES: TERM & FAIL TO PAY** 

 
...did, as an employer thereof, wilfully fail to pay, by the 
customary day, ________ [employee/complainant] all wages 
due at time of termination of employment. 
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  LE 3-508 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 

*1_0702* **EMPL/MISLEAD GOVMNT AGENCY** 

 
...did, as an employee of _____, wilfully and knowingly make a 
false statement to _____, a governmental [unit/official] with a 
false statement with respect to an investigation under Subtitle 3, 
Labor and Employment Article, of the Annotated Code of 
Maryland, with the intent that the said [unit/official] consider 
and take action in connection with the said statement. 

 

 

 Unlawful Acts 

  LE 8-1301 
PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 
RESTITUTION PLUS 
INTEREST 
DISQUALIFICATION 

*1_0801* **UNEMPL: FAIL DISC MAT FACT** 

 
...did knowingly and willfully fail to disclose a material fact to 
[receive/ increase] a [payment/benefit] under the 
Unemployment Insurance Law of _____, for [himself/herself/ 
______(name of other person) ]. 

NOTE: The benefit may be for the person who committed the 
act or for another person. 
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  LE 8-1301 
PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 
RESTITUTION PLUS 
INTEREST 
DISQUALIFICATION 

*1_0807* **UNEMPL FALSE STMT FOR BEN** 

 
...did knowingly and willfully make a false 
[statement/representation] to [receive/increase] a 
[payment/benefit] under the Unemployment Insurance Law of 
_____, for [himself/herself/ _____ (name of other person) ]. 

 

 

  

  LE 8-1302 
PENALTY SEC.  LE 8-1305 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0802* **UNEMPL FALS STMT PRVNT BEN** 

 
...did knowingly and willfully make a false 
[statement/representation] to [prevent/reduce] the payment of a 
benefit to _____(name), who was entitled to the benefit. 

 

  

  LE 8-1302 
PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0803* **UNEMPLY FALS DISC PRVNT BEN** 

 
...did, as an employer, knowingly and willfully fail to disclose a 
material fact to [prevent/reduce] the payment of a benefit to 
______ (name), who was entitled to the benefit. 
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  LE 8-1302 
PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0804* **UNEMPL FALS STMT BY EMPLYR** 

 
...did, as an employer, knowingly and willfully make a false 
[statement/representation] to [avoid/reduce] a 
[contribution/required payment] from an employer subject to 
the Unemployment Insurance Law with respect to _______ 
(claimant). 

 

  

  LE 8-1302 
PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0809* **UNEMPL FALS STMT BY EMPLYR** 

 
...did, as an employer, knowingly and willfully make a false 
[statement/representation] to [avoid becoming/remaining] 
subject to the Unemployment Insurance Law with respect to 
_______ (claimant). 

 

  

  LE 8-1302 
PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0810* **UNEMPL FAIL DISC MAT FACT** 

 
...did, as an employer, knowingly and willfully fail to disclose a 
material fact to [avoid becoming/remaining] subject to the 
Unemployment Insurance Law with respect with ________ 
(claimant). 
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  LE 8-1302 
PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*1_0811* **UNEMPL FAIL DISC MAT FACT** 

 
...did, as an employer, knowingly and willfully fail to disclose a 
material fact to [avoid/reduce] any [contribution/required 
payment] from an employer subject to the Unemployment 
Insurance Law with respect to ______ (claimant). 

 

  

  LE 8-1302 
PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_0800* **EMPLOYER/FAIL TO CONTRIBUTE** 

 
...did, as employer, willfully fail and refuse to make a 
contribution or other payment as required by the 
unemployument insurance law, in violation of the Labor and 
Employment Article, Sec. 8-1302(2)(i). 

 

  

  LE 8-1302 
PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_0810* **EMPLOYER/FAIL TO REPORT** 

 
...did, as employer, willfully fail and refuse to submit a report to 
wit: _____ as required by the unemployment insurance law, in 
violation of the Labor and Employent Article, Sec. 8-
1302(2)(ii). 
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  LE 8-1302 
PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_0820* **EMPLOYER/RECORDS PRODUCTION** 

 
...did, as employer, willfully fail and refuse to produce records 
to wit: _____ as required under the unemployment insurance 
law, in violation of the Labor and Employment Article, Sec. 8-
1302(2(iii) 

 

 

  

  LE 8-1302 
PENALTY SEC. LE 8-1305 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 90 DAYS 

*2_0830* **EMPLOYER/RECORDS COPIES** 

 
...did, as employer, willfully fail and refuse to allow records 
required under the unemployment insurance law to wit: 
_______ to be copies or inspected in violation of the Labor and 
Employment Article, Sec. 8-1302(2)(ii). 

 

 

  

  LE 8-1303 
PENALTY SEC. LE  8-1305 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_0813* **UNEMPL ACCEPT WAIVE RIGHTS** 

 
...did, as an employer, accept and require from _____, an 
employee, a waiver of a right to which said employee was 
entitled under the Maryland Unemployment Insurance Law. 
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  LE 8-1303 
PENALTY SEC.  LE 8-1305 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_8012* **UNEMPL DEDUCT FROM WAGE** 

 
...did, as an employer, [directly/indirectly] accept, make, and 
require a deduction from the wage of _____ (employee)to pay a 
contribution from the employing unit. 
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NATURAL RESOURCES ARTICLE 

 Operating Vessel/Number, Name Or Home Port 
Designation Concealed 

  NR 8-713.1 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_0000* **VESSEL-CONCEAL NAME/NUMBER 

 
...did operate and use a [boat/vessel] on the navigable waters of 
the _______ [river/bay] while the boat's [name/number/home 
port designation], as [assigned by the U.S. Coast 
Guard/registered with the U.S. Custom Service] was knowingly 
[concealed/covered/defaced]. 

NOTE: Includes the operator, his aiders, abettors and 
counselors. Registration, etc., must be proven. 

 

 

 

 Damaging/Interfering W/Use Public Wharf or 
Landing 

  NR 8-724.1 
MISDEMEANOR 
NOT LESS THAN $25.00 

*1_0339* **PUB LANDNG: DESTROY/DAMAGE** 

 
...did [destroy/damage] a [public wharf/structure erected on a 
public wharf]. 

NOTE: The minimum fine is $25.00. There is no maximum. 
The fine would depend on the facts of the case. 
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DRUNKEN BOATING 

 Operating Vessel Under Influence of Alcohol, 
Drugs, Etc. 

  NR 8-738(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 
SECOND OFFENSE 
$2,000.00 - 2 YEARS 
THIRD OR SUBSEQUENT 
OFFENSE 
$3,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*6_8000* **OP. VESSEL/UNDER INFLUENCE** 

 
...unlawfully [did/did attempt to] operate a vessel, to wit: 
_____, while under the influence of alcohol. 

 
 
  

  NR 8-738(a)(2)(3),(4) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 2 MONTHS 
SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*6_8050* **OP. VESSEL/DWI, CDS, ETC.** 

 
...unlawfully [did/did attempt to] operate a vessel, to wit: _____ 
while [impaired by alcohol/impaired by a Controlled Dangerous 
Substance of Schedule ______, to wit: ______/impaired by a 
combination of alcohol and drugs, to wit: ______/ impaired by 
a combination of drugs, to wit: ______]. 

NOTE: Under the "combination" choices in the above charge, it 
is not necessary that the drugs be illegal. If the drugs are illegal 
controlled dangerous substances, they should be identified by 
name and schedule. If they are legal prescription drugs which, 
taken in combination with other drugs or alcohol rendered the 
defendant unsafe to operate a vessel, they should be identified 
by name. It is not a defense to this statute that the drug or drugs 
were legally prescribed unless the defendant was unaware that 
the drug or combination would make him or her incapable of 
safely operating a vessel. If the defendant alleges that he or she 
was unaware of this, you should not take this into account in 
establishing probable cause, as this is an affirmative defense 
which must be established at trial. 

 



 

Rev. 10/1/2013 

435.
 Operation in Reckless Manner etc. 

  NR 8-738.1 
MISDEMEANOR 
$200.00 - 30 DAYS 
SUB CONV: $500.00 - 
60 DAYS 

*1_5500* **BOATS-OPER/RECKLESS MANNER** 

 
...did operate a boat in a reckless manner or a manner 
endangering the persons and the property of others. 
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PUBLIC SAFETY ARTICLE 

 Personating Police Officer Unauthorized Use 
Uniform, etc. 

  PS 3-502(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$2,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_1769* **PERSONATE POLICE OFFICER** 

 
...did falsely represent himself as being a ____ (see note) with 
fraudulent design upon the [person of/property of] ______. 

NOTE: Statute includes false representation as a member of the 
police force of the United States, a special police officer, 
sheriff, deputy sheriff, police officer, or constable, or a member 
of the police or sheriff's departments of this or any state, or any 
county or municipal corporation of this or any state, or as a 
member of any such agency.  This includes WMATA Metro 
Transit Police. 

 
 Personating Police Officer Unauthorized Use 

Uniform, etc. 

  PS 3-502(c) 
MISDEAMEANOR 
$2,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*1_0604* **PERSONATION: UU/UNIFORM** 

 
...did without the authority of ____ [Chief of Police of 
_____/Secretary of State Police/Police Commissioner of 
Baltimore City/Sheriff/Deputy Sheriff/constable/US Secret 
Service/US Park Police/WMATA Metro Transit 
Police/DEA/____, a federal agency], [have/use/wear/display] a 
[uniform/shield/button/badge/identification/shoulder patch], as 
is worn by a [police officer/sheriff/deputy sheriff/constable]. 

NOTE: Statute includes any official insignia or emblem of any 
police, sheriff, federal agency, investigative service or 
enforcement agency, sheriff, deputy sheriff, or constable’s 
agency of this or any State, county, or municipality. 
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 Surveillance 

  PS 3-503 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 2 YEARS 

*2_5120* **UNREGISTERED SURVEILLANCE** 

 
...did, within 6 months of having lost [his/her] 
[registration/right to register], unlawfully conduct surveillance 
[at ____ (location) /upon _____ (subject)] unlawfully within the 
ensuing six months. 

NOTE: Section applies to agents of or from any other State or 
the District of Columbia. For probable cause to be found, facts 
must show defendant has a record with the local police or 
sheriff's department, or the State Police, of conducting a 
previous unregistered surveillance within the six months 
preceding the date of the offense. 

 

 Pistol & Revolver Dealer's License 

  PS 5-106 
PENALTY SEC. 5-143 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_5210* **REG FIREARM: SALE W/O LICENSE** 

 
...did engage in the business of selling, renting, and transferring 
regulated firearms without lawfully possessing and 
conspicuously displaying at his place of business a dealer's 
license issued by________ (the Secretary of the Maryland State 
Police or his duly authorized agent). 

NOTE: Each day on which a regulated firearm is unlawfully 
sold or offered for sale shall be considered a separate offense. 
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 Improper sale by dealer or person 

  PS 5-123 
PENALTY SEC. 5-143 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_5230* **FIREARM/SALE/DEALER** 

 
...did, being a regulated firearms dealer,[sell/rent/transfer] a 
regulated firearm, to wit: ____ (describe), to _____ (name), 
before the expiration of seven days from the time an application 
to purchase and transfer had been executed by the prospective 
purchaser and transferee, and the original copy forwarded by 
the prospective seller and transferor to the Secretary of the State 
Police. 

 
 
 
 
 
  PS 5-124(a) 

PENALTY SEC. 5-143 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_5240* **FIREARM/SALE/PERSON** 

 
...did [sell/rent/purchase/transfer] a regulated firearm, to wit: 
_____ (describe), to _____ (name), before the expiration of 
seven days from the time an application to purchase and 
transfer had been executed by the prospective purchaser and 
transferee, and the original copy forwarded by the prospective 
seller and transferor to a regulated firearms dealer and a 
designated law enforcement agency, for forwarding to the 
Secretary of the State Police. 
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  PS 5-125(b) 

PENALTY SEC. 5-143 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_5250* **FIREARM/SALE/APPLICATION** 

 
...did [sell/rent/transfer] a regulated firearm, to wit: _____ 
(describe), to _____ (name), an applicant whose application has 
been placed on hold because of an open disposition of criminal 
proceedings against the applicant and disapproved. 

 
 
 More than one purchase of regulated firearm 

within 30 days. 

  PS 5-128(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_1104* **MULTIPLE PURCH/30 DAYS** 

 
...did purchase more than one regulated firearm in a 30-day 
period, to wit: ______ (describe both firearms purchased). 

 
 
  

  PS 5-132(c)(2) 
PENALTY SEC. 5-143 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_2020* **SELL HANDGUN W/O LOCK** 

 
...did [sell/offer for sale/rent/transfer] a handgun manufactured 
on or before December 31, 2002 not equipped with an external 
safety lock. 

NOTE: Beginning on January 1, 2003, a dealer may not sell, 
offer for sale, rent, or transfer a handgun manufactured AFTER 
December 31, 2002 unless it has an integrated mechanical 
safety device. 
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  PS 5-133(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1106* **REG FIREARM: ILLEGAL POSS** 

...did knowingly possess a regulated firearm [after 
being/being/being a person] ____________ (select from list 
below.) 
1.  convicted of a disqualifying crime to wit: _____ (charge), a 
violation classified as [a felony in the state/a misdemeanor in the state 
that carries a statutory penalty of more than 2 years]; 
2. convicted of a violation classified as a common law crime and 
received a term of imprisonment of more than 2 years; 
3. a fugitive from justice; 
4. a habitual drunkard; 
5. addicted to any controlled dangerous substance or is a habitual 
user; 
6. who suffers from a mental disorder as defined in HG 10-101(f)(2) 
and has a history of violent behavior against the person or another; 
7.  who has been found incompent to stand trial under CP 3-106; 
8. that has been found not criminally responsible under CP 3-110 
9. that has been voluntarily admitted for more than 30 consecutive 
days to a facility as defined in HG 10-101; 
10. that has been involuntarily committed to a facility as defined in 
HG 10-101. 
11. who is under the protection of a guardian appointed by a court 
under ET 13-201(c) or ET 13-705, except for cases in which the 
appointment of a guardian is solely a result of a physical disability. 
12.  who is a respondent against whom a: 

i. a current non exparte civil protective order has been 
entered under FL 4-506; or 

ii. an order for protection, as defined in FL 4-508.1, has been 
issued by a court of another state or a Native American 
tribe and in effect; 

13.  if under the age of 30 years at the time of possession, has been 
adjudicated delinquent by a juvenile court for an act that would be a 
disqualifying crime if committed by an adult. 

NOTE:  Penalty PS 5-143 
NOTE:  DO NOT use this charge if prior conviction is a crime of 
violence, a crime listed under CR 5-602 – CR 5-605, or a crime listed 
under CR 5-612 – CR 5-614. 

NOTE:  See PS 5-133.3 (b) for exception.  

NOTE: If the person before you has a physician's certification that the 
person is capable of possessing a regulated firearm, without undue 
danger to the person or to others, you are to consult your Duty 
Judge/State's Attorney/Administrative Commissioner. 
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  PS 5-133(c) 

FELONY 
15 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1609* **FIREARM-POSS W/FEL CONV** 

 
...did possess a regulated firearm after having been convicted 
of: ___________. (choose from below) 

1. a crime of violence as defined in PS 5-101(c); 

2. a crime of violence as defined in CR 14-101; 

3. a violation of [5-602/5-603/5-604/5-605/5-612/5-613/5-614] 
of the Criminal Law Article]; or 

4. _______(describe offense), an offense under the laws of  
[______(state)/the United States] that would constitute a 
[crime/crime of violence] under ________(cite statute from 
options above), if committed in this state. 

NOTE: A person convicted of this charge is subject to a 
mandatory minimum sentence of 5 years, of which any part 
may not be suspended.  Except as noted in CS 4-305, the 
defendant is not eligible for parole during the mandatory 
minimum sentence.  See CR 5-133(c)(3) for court discretion of 
mandatory minimum sentence and required State’s Attorney 
notification. Each violation shall be considered a separate 
offense. 

 

  PS 5-133(d) 
PENALTY SEC. 5-143 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_5285* **POSS OF FIREARM/MINOR** 

 
...did, being under 21 years of age, possess a regulated firearm 
to wit _____. 

NOTE: See PS 5-133(d)(2) for exceptions. 
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  PS 5-133.1 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1285* **ILLGL POSS AMMO ** 

 
...did possess ammunition, being prohibited from possessing a 
regulated firearm under [PS 5-133(b)/PS 5-133(c )]. 

NOTE: Ammunition means a cartridge, shell, or any other 
device containing explosive or incendiary material designed 
and intended for use in a firearm.. 
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 Restrictions on Sale, Transfer and Possession of 
Regulated Firearms 

  PS 5-134(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1105* **REG FIREARM-ILLEGL SALE/TRAN** 

 
...did [sell/ rent/transfer] a regulated firearm to wit: ____ 
(describe) to ____ (name) [knowing/having reasonable cause to 
believe] that the said person [had been convicted of a crime of 
violence/had been convicted of a violation classified as a felony 
in this state or any conspiracy to commit any crimes established 
by those sections/any violation classified as a misdemeanor in 
this state that carries a statutory penalty of more than two 
years/had been convicted of any violation as a common law 
offense where the person received a term of imprisonment of 
more than two years/is a fugitive from justice/is a habitual 
drunkard/is addicted to and is an habitual user of any controlled 
dangerous substance/was visibly under the influence of alcohol 
and drugs/was under 21 years of age/was a participant in a 
"straw purchase" as defined in Section 5-136 of this article/is a 
participant in a "straw purchase as defined in Section 5-136 of 
this article/is a respondent against whom a current non ex parte 
civil protective order has been entered under Section 4-506 of 
the Family Law Article/is less than 30 years of age at the time 
of the transaction and has been adjudicated delinquent by a 
juvenile court for committing a crime of violence/is less than 30 
years of age at the time of the transaction and has been 
adjudicated delinquent by a juvenile court for committing any 
violation classified as a felony in this state / is less than 30 
years of age at the time of the transaction and has been 
adjudicated delinquent by a juvenile court for committing any 
violation classified as a misdemeanor in this state that carries a 
statutory penalty of more than 2 years / subject to subsection (c-
2) of this section, for a transaction under this subsection that is 
made on or after January 2002 has not completed a certified 
firearms safety training course]. 
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  PS 5-134(d)(i)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_5270* **AMMO/SALE TO MINOR** 

 
...did [sell/rent/transfer] ammunition solely designed for a 
regulated firearm to a person under 21 years of age. 

 

 

  

  PS 5-134(d)(3)(4) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_5280* **SALE TO MINOR/DW/ETC** 

 
...did sell, rent, and transfer [a firearm other than a regulated 
firearm/ammunition for a firearm/a deadly weapon], to wit: 
_____[describe], to _____(name), under the 21 years of age. 

 

 

 Straw purchase 

  PS 5-136(b) 
PENALTY SEC. 5-141 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_5220* **STRAW PURCHASE** 

 
...did knowingly and willfully participate in a straw purchase of 
a regulated firearm, to wit: ______ (describe firearm). 
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 Sale, Transfer, etc., of Regulated Firearm 

  PS 5-138 
PENALTY SEC. 5-143 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_2801* **REG FIREARM: STOLEN/SELL ETC.** 

 
...did [possess/sell/transfer/dispose of] a regulated firearm, to 
wit: _______ (state type of firearm) [knowing/having 
reasonable cause to believe] the same to have been stolen. 

NOTE:  This subtitle, does not include any antique or 
unserviceable firearms sold or transferred and/or held as curios 
or museum pieces. 

 

 

 Sale/Transfer of Regulated Firearms 

  PS 5-139(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_5210* **REG FIREARM: FALSE APP/PURCH** 

 
...did knowingly give false information, and make a material 
misstatement on an application dated ______ to purchase, rent 
and transfer a regulated firearm. 

 

 

 Straw purchase to prohibited person or minor; 
transporting into state for sale. 

  PS 5-140 
MISDEMEANOR 
$25,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_5295* **TRANS REG FIREARM/SALE/TRAF** 

 
...did transport regulated firearms into this state for the purpose 
of illegal sale or trafficking of regulated firearms. 
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  PS 5-141 

MISDEMEANOR 
$25,000.00 - 10 YEARS 

*1_5290* **STRAW PUR TO MINOR/PROHIB** 

 
...did knowingly participate in a straw purchase of a regulated 
firearm to ___ (name), a [minor/prohibited person]. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  PS 5-144(a)(1) 

MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00-5 YEARS 
(Each violation is a separate 
crime.) 

*1_0642* **REG FIREARM - UNLAWFUL SALE/TRANS** 

 
…did knowingly participate in the illegal 
[sale/rental/transfer/purchase/possession/receipt] of a regulated 
firearm. 

 

 

 

  PS 5-144(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$10,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*1_1612* **KNOW ALTER FIREARM ID NUMBER** 

 
… did knowingly [obliterate/remove/change/alter] the 
manufacturer’s identification [mark/number] on a firearm, to 
wit: _____, (state type of firearm). 
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 Short-barreled 

  PS 5-203(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$5,000.00 - 5 YEARS 

*2_5212* **RIFLE/SHOTGUN: UNREGISTERED** 

 
...did possess a short-barrelled [rifle/shotgun]. 

NOTE: A short-barrelled rifle is one having one or more barrels 
less than 16 inches in length or any rifle with an overall length 
of less than 26 inches. A short-barrelled shotgun has one or 
more barrels less than 18 inches in length or any shotgun with 
an overall length of less than 26 inches. If either the barrel 
length, or the overall length, or both are less than the minimums 
stated, the weapon falls under CR 4-201. 

NOTE: Rifle means a weapon designed or redesigned made or 
remade and intended to be fired from the shoulder and to use 
the energy of the explosive in a fixed metallic cartridge to fire 
only a single projectile through a rifle bore for each single pull 
of the trigger. 

Shotgun means a weapon designed or redesigned, made or 
remade and intended to be fired from the shoulder and to use 
the energy of the explosive in a fixed shotgun shell to fire 
through a smooth bore either a number of ball shot or a single 
projectile for each single pull of the trigger. 

NOTE: Possession allowed if registered with U.S. Government 
in accordance with U.S. Statutes. 

EXCEPTIONS - WHILE ON OFFICIAL BUSINESS: Law 
enforcement personnel of the U.S., this State or any political 
subdivision; means of armed forces of U.S. or National Guard 
while on duty or travelling to or from duty; law enforcement 
personnel of another state or political subdivision, while 
temporarily in this State; jailer, prison guard, warden, or guard 
or keeper of any penal, correctional, or detention institution in 
this State; sheriff and temporary or full time deputy sheriff. 
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  PS 5-205(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 3 YEARS 

*1_0439* **RFL/SHOTGN POSS-MENT. DIS.** 

 
...did possess a [rifle/shotgun] [after being/being/being a 
person]  __________ (choose from list below). 

1.  convicted of a disqualifying crime to wit: _____ (charge), a 
violation classified as [a felony in the state/a misdemeanor in the 
state that carries a statutory penalty of more than 2 years]; 
2. convicted of a violation classified as a common law crime and 
received a term of imprisonment of more than 2 years; 
3. a fugitive from justice; 
4. a habitual drunkard; 
5. addicted to any controlled dangerous substance or is a habitual 
user; 
6. who suffers from a mental disorder as defined in HG 10-101(f)(2) 
and has a history of violent behavior against the person or another; 
7.  who has been found incompent to stand trial under CP 3-106; 
8. that has been found not criminally responsible under CP 3-110 
9. that has been voluntarily admitted for more than 30 consecutive 
days to a facility as defined in HG 10-101; 
10. that has been involuntarily committed to a facility as defined in 
HG 10-101. 
11. who is under the protection of a guardian appointed by a court 
under ET 13-201(c) or ET 13-705, except for cases in which the 
appointment of a guardian is solely a result of a physical disability. 
12.  who is a respondent against whom a: 

iii. a current non exparte civil protective order has been 
entered under FL 4-506; or 

iv. an order for protection, as defined in FL 4-508.1, has been 
issued by a court of another state or a Native American 
tribe and in effect; 

13.  if under the age of 30 years at the time of possession, has been 
adjudicated delinquent by a juvenile court for an act that would be 
a disqualifying crime if committed by an adult. 

NOTE:  DO NOT use this charge if prior conviction is a crime of 
violence, a crime listed under CR 5-602 – CR 5-605, or a crime listed 
under CR 5-612 – CR 5-614. 

NOTE:  See PS 5-205 (c ) for exceptions.  

NOTE: If the person before you has a physician's certification that 
the person is capable of possessing a regulated firearm, without 
undue danger to the person or to others, you are to consult your Duty 
Judge/State's Attorney/Administrative Commissioner. 
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  PS 5-206 
FELONY 
15 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*1_1610* **RIFLE/SHOTGUN-POSS W/FEL CONV** 

 
...did possess a [rifle/shotgun] after having been convicted of: 
___________. (choose from below) 
1. a crime of violence as defined in PS 5-101(c); 
2. a violation of [5-602/5-603/5-604/5-605/5-612/5-613/5-614] 
of the Criminal Law Article; or 
3. _______(describe offense), an offense under the laws of  
[______(state)/the United States] that would constitute a 
[crime/crime of violence] under ________(cite statute from 
options above), if committed in this state. 

 

 

  PS 5-406 
MISDEMEANOR 
PENALTY: 
Manuf. For Dist/Sale 
$10,000.00 

*1_0575* **DIS/SAL HANDGUN OFF ROSTER** 

 
...did manufacture for [distribution/sale] a handgun not included 
on the handgun roster in this State, to wit:______(described). 

 

 

  PS 5-406 
MISDEMEANOR 
PENALTY: 
Selling/Offer for Sale 
$2,500.00 

*1_0576* **SAL HNDGUN NO ROSTER MFG 85** 

 
...did [sell/offer for sale] a handgun manufactured after January 
1985 that is not on the handgun roster in the State, to wit: 
_________(describe). 
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 Interference, Obstruction, False Representation 

  PS 6-602(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
3 YEARS 

*2_0249* **OBSTRUCT FIRE MARSH INVEST** 

 
...did willfully [interfere with/obstruct] the [State Fire 
Marshal/a Deputy State Fire Marshal/a Special Assistant State 
Fire Marshal/a Special Deputy Fire Marshal] to wit: ______ 
(name), in the course of [conducting an inspection/investigating 
a fire/explosion]. 

 

 

  

  PS 6-602(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
3 YEARS 

*4_5398* **PERSONATN MD FIRE OFFICIAL** 

 
...did falsely represent himself as being a [State Fire 
Marshal/sworn employee of the office of the State Fire 
Marshal] with fraudulent design on the [person/property] of 
__________. 

 

 

  PS 7-402(a) 
MISDEMEANOR 
3 YEARS 

*4_5399* **OBSTRUCT FIREFIGHTERS ETC.** 

 
...did willfully [interfere with/obstruct] the [State Fire 
Marshal/a Deputy State Fire Marshal/a Special Assistant State 
Fire Marshal/a Special Deputy State Fire Marshal/fire 
fighter/rescue squad member/emergency services personnel], to 
wit: ________ (name), who was [fighting a fire/performing 
emergency services/proceeding to [a fire/an emergency]]. 
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  PS 7-402(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
3 YEARS 

*1_0165* **PERS: MEMBER EMERG SQUAD** 

 
...did falsely represent himself as a member of a 
[paid/volunteer] [fire department/rescue squad/emergency 
service unit] of ______ [state/county/city/municipal 
corporation] with fraudulent design on the [person/property] of 
__________. 

 

 

 

  

  PS 7-402(c) 
MISDEMEANOR 
3 YEARS 

*4_5397* **PERSONATION-U/U UNIFORM** 

 
...did have, wear, use and display without proper authority, for 
the purpose of deception, [an authentic/a simulated/an 
imitation] 
[uniform/shield/button/ornament/identification/shoulder patch] 
adopted by [the Office of the State Fire Marshal/a 
[paid/volunteer] [fire department/rescue squad/emergency 
service unit]. 
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 Permits to Discharge or Sell 

  PS 10-104(a)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$250.00 EACH OFFENSE 

*1_0016* **FIREWORKS DISCHARGE W/O PERMIT** 

 
...did discharge fireworks without required permit. 

 
 
 
 
  

  PS 10-104(a)(2) 
MISDEMEANOR 
PENALTY SEC. 10-111 
$250.00 EACH OFFENSE 

*1_0021* **FIREWORKS POSS. W/O PERMIT** 

 
...did possess [with intent to discharge/with intent to permit the 
discharge of/for the purpose of disposal/for the purpose of sale 
to persons] fireworks, without the required permit. 

 
 
 
 
  

  PS 10-110(b)(1) 
MISDEMEANOR 
PENALTY SEC. 10-111 
$1,000.00 EACH OFFENSE 

*1_0029* **FIREWORKS: SALE W/O PERMIT** 

 
...did sell fireworks to ______ without the required permit. 

NOTE: Section does not apply to sale by a manufacturer 
licensed by the State Fire Marshal to certain distributors, etc. 

NOTE: Refer to PS 10-101 for definition of what is and what is 
not a "firework". 

 

 



 

Rev. 10/1/2013 

453.
 

 

  

  PS 10-112 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 

*1_1097* **SPARKLERS - SALE** 

 
...did sell [sparklers/sparkling devices (name)], to a person 
under the age of 16 years. 

 

 

 

  

  PS 10-113(b) 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 1 YEAR 

*1_1098* **SPARKLERS-MANUFACTURE** 

 
...did fail to register as a [distributor/wholesaler] of 
[sparklers/sparkling devices] who [conducts business in/sells, 
ships and assigns] in the State of Maryland. 
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REAL PROPERTY ARTICLE 

 Fee/Other Consideration Obtaining Settlement, etc. 

  RP 14-127 
MISDEMEANOR 
$1,000.00 - 6 MONTHS 

*1_7099* **REAL EST.-ILL SETTLMNT FEE** 

 
...did [pay to/receive from] ____ (name) _____ (consideration) 
for the purpose of [arranging a real estate 
settlement/soliciting/obtaining/retaining] real estate settlement 
business involving Maryland land. 

Note: A "consideration" includes: 

1. A fee; 

2. Compensation; 

3. A gift 

4. A thing of value 

5. A rebate 

6. A loan; or 

7 An advancement or a commission or deposit money 
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TRANSPORTATION ARTICLE 

 Firearms or Explosives Aboard Aircraft 

  TR 5-1008 
FELONY 
10 YEARS 
PRELIMINARY HEARING 

*2_5203* **FIREARM EXPLSIV ON AIRCRFT** 

 
...did have on and about his person a [firearm/explosive], to wit: 
______, while [aboard/boarding/attempting to board] an aircraft 
engaged in certified air commerce services, without being 
specifically authorized to do so by State or Federal law. 

 

NON-BARCODED CHARGES 

THE FOLLOWING CHARGES ARE MUST APPEAR VIOLATIONS.  NO CJIS CODES ARE 
ASSIGNED AS THIS IS A CITATION EVENT. 

 Possession of Motor Vehicle Master Key 

  TR 14-103 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 1 YEAR 

  

 ...did unlawfully have in his possession a motor vehicle master 
key adapted for and capable of opening and operating any 
motor vehicle in the State. 
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 Vehicle With Incorrect Odometer 

  TR 18-104 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 6 MONTHS 

  

 ...did, with intent to defraud, rent to _____ a motor vehicle, to 
wit: ______, knowing that the odometer did not correctly 
record actual mileage accumulated. 

 

...did rent to _____, a motor vehicle and did deceive said person 
as to the distance actually traveled during the rental period. 

 

 Persons Under Influence of Alcohol or Drugs 

  TR 18-105 
MISDEMEANOR 
$520.00 

  

 ...did rent a motor vehicle to _____, knowing the said person 
was under the influence of alcohol and drugs at the time of the 
transaction. 

 

 Unauthorized Use of Rented Motor Vehicle 

  TR 18-106 
MISDEMEANOR 
$500.00 - 2 MONTHS 

  

 ...did, as a lessee, knowingly permit a person to operate a rented 
motor vehicle, having agreed not to permit any other person to 
operate that vehicle and without having the consent of the 
lessor or his agent. 

 

 

 

 



 

Rev. 10/1/2013 

457.
 

 

 Alcoholic Beverages - Consumption 

  TR 21-903 
MISDEMEANOR 
$520.00 

  

 ...did consume an alcoholic beverage while driving a motor 
vehicle on a highway of this State. 
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