

Divorce 8: Forms You Need to File

There is now only one type of divorce in Maryland – absolute divorce. Starting October 1, 2023, Maryland courts cannot grant a limited divorce. Maryland law on the legal reasons, or grounds, for divorce changed as well. The Maryland Courts revised all relevant court forms. This tip sheet is up to date with the law.

Complaint

- Use the Complaint for Absolute Divorce, or form CC-DR-020.
- If you're not certain about which ground for divorce you have, watch Part 2 in this series, *Determining a Legal Reason (or Grounds) for Divorce*.

Answer and Counter-Complaint

- If you were served with a complaint for divorce, you must respond in writing by filing an Answer. In the Answer, you agree with or disagree with the written statements your spouse included in his or her divorce complaint. You may use form CC-DR-050 to file your Answer.
- You may also file a Counter-Complaint for Absolute Divorce (form CC-DR-020)) if you want the court to address issues different from what your spouse requested in his or her complaint.

Other Forms

- When you submit your complaint or Answer, you must also include a completed Civil Domestic Case Information Report, or form CC-DCM-001. If you or your spouse are asking the court to divide your marital property, you must complete a Joint Statement of the Parties Concerning Marital and Non-Marital Property, or form CC-DR-033.
- If you are asking for a divorce on the grounds of mutual consent, you must complete a marital settlement agreement. A Help Center lawyer, paralegal, or law librarian may be able to point you to a template for a settlement agreement.
- At the end of your divorce hearing, submit a Division of Vital Statistics, Report of Absolute Divorce or Annulment of Marriage. This allows the court to mail to you a divorce decree or judgment. Get this form from a court clerk.

Financial Forms and Fee Waiver Forms

• Under certain circumstances, you must complete a Financial Statement, or form CC-DR-030. Use this form if your case includes provisions about child support, and you and your spouse have a combined monthly income of \$30,000 or less.



Maryland Court Help

Free. Online. In Person. By Phone.

- Use Financial Statement, form CC-DR-031, if your case addresses alimony, property distribution, or child support and your combined monthly income is more than \$30,000.
- If you cannot afford to pay the court filing fees, submit a Request for Waiver of Prepaid Costs, form CC-DC-089. You may also want to watch the *My Laws, My Courts, My Maryland* video *Can't Afford Court Filing Fees?*

Self-Help Centers

• You can speak to or chat live with lawyers at the Maryland Court Help Center Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 8 p.m. These lawyers cannot represent you in court, but they can give you brief advice on how to complete divorce forms. They may also help you determine which forms you must complete. Call at 410-260-1392. Or chat live at www.mdcourts.gov/selfhelp.