How to Apply
Application may be made Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at the office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court. You must apply for a marriage license in the county in which you will have your wedding ceremony.
It is recommended that you contact the Circuit Court Clerk's Office in the county you plan to have your wedding as each county has different fees. The requirements for Queen Anne's County are as follows:
- Only one of the parties needs to appear (if not using a non-resident affidavit).
- The fee is $35.00, payable by cash, Visa/Mastercard, cashier's check or money order.
The following information is to be provided for the Parties:
- Full names (First, Middle, Last)
- Place of residence
- State of Birth (Country if born outside United States)
- Social Security Numbers (mandatory per Family Law article §2-402 (c)(1))
- Martial Status (Single, Divorced, Widow or Widower)
- If previously married:
- the day, month and year of the divorce, and the county and state in which EACH divorce was granted or death of spouse.
- Whether or not the parties are related by blood or marriage, and if so, to what degree of the relationship
The license is issued at the same time the application is taken; however, the license is not effective until 6:00 a.m. on the second calendar day after the license is issued. (Example: a license issued on Thursday, cannot be used until after 6:00 a.m. on Saturday.) The marriage must take place within six months of the effective date.
You will be given three copies of the marriage license, which the official performing the ceremony will complete. Instructions for completion and distribution are on the copies of the license.
If you would like a civil ceremony, please note that there are no justices of the peace in Maryland. Only a judge, the Clerk of the Circuit Court or an appointed, designated Deputy Clerk of the Circuit Court may perform civil ceremonies. In Queen Anne's County, the Clerk and his designated deputies perform civil ceremonies only at the courthouse and only between the hours of 2:00 p.m. and 4:00 p.m. Monday-Friday, except for State holidays. Appointments are required. The cost for a civil ceremony is $25, payable by cash, Visa/Mastercard, cashier's check or money order.
Certified Copies of Your Marriage License
Certified copies of the marriage can be obtained once the return has been received by the Clerk's Office from the official for a fee of $5.50 each, payable by cash or check. You may use the Request for Certified Copy form to request certified copies of your marriage license. There is an additional $2.00 mailing fee if certified copies are returned to requestor in the mail.
If it is not convenient to visit the Clerk's Office in the county where the marriage is to take place, you may apply for a license using a Non-Resident Marriage License Application-Affidavit (fillable PDF form). In order to view PDF files, you may need to download the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software. You can also obtain the form from your county or from the county in which you plan to have your wedding. This form must be taken to the Clerk of the Circuit Court or comparable official where you reside. A "comparable official" would be a public official in the State, County, or Province where you reside who issues marriage licenses or performs the same duties as the Clerk of the Circuit Court in Maryland. A notary public's affidavit is not sufficient, since that official, although a public officer, does not perform the same duties and is not comparable to the Clerk of Court in Maryland. Please call the Clerk's Office for more information.
Applicants Under the Age of 18
An individual 16 or 17 years old may not marry unless:
- The individual has the consent of a parent or guardian and the parent makes oath that the individual is at least 16 years old or:
- If the individual does not have the consent of a parent or guardian, either party to be married gives the clerk a certificate from a licensed physician stating that the physician has examined the woman to be married and has found that she is pregnant or has given birth to a child.
An individual 15 years old may not marry unless:
- The individual has the consent of a parent or guardian and
- Either party to be married gives the clerk a certificate from a licensed physician stating that the physician has examined the woman to be married and has found that she is pregnant or has given birth to a child.
An individual under the age of 15 may not marry.
Correction to a Marriage Record
Correction to Marriage Records may be requested in writing (along with supporting documentation, for example: birth certificate to prove your name is spelled differently than what is shown on your marriage record.) You may, for your convenience, use our Correction Request form and mail to our office.
For further information on obtaining a marriage license or questions about civil ceremonies, please call 410-758-1773.