Committee Members

The Judicial Ethics Committee consists of thirteen members appointed by the Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals. Of the thirteen members:

  • One is a judge of the Court of Special Appeals.
  • Two are circuit court judges.
  • Two are judges of the District Court.
  • One is a judge of the Orphans’ Court.
  • Three are former judges who are approved for recall for temporary service under Maryland Constitution, Article IV, §3A.
  • One is a clerk of a circuit court.
  • One is a judicial appointee as defined in Maryland Rule 18-200.3
  • Two are not judges or other officers or employees of the Judicial Branch of the state government or a lawyer.

The term of a member is three years and begins on July 1. The terms are staggered so that the terms of not more than four members expire each year. At the end of a term, a member continues to serve until a successor is appointed. A member may not serve more than two consecutive three-year terms.

2017 Committee Members

Hon. Christopher B. Kehoe, Chair
Judge, Court of Special Appeals
Term Expires: June 30, 2018

Hon. Julie S. Solt, Vice Chair
Judge, Circuit Court for Frederick County

Hon. Kendra Y. Ausby
Judge, Circuit Court for Baltimore City

Dr. William J. Buckley
Lay Member

Hon. Wendy A. Cartwright
Judge, Orphans’ Court for Prince George’s County

Hon. H. Richard Duden, III
Judge, District Court for Anne Arundel County

Hon. James R. Eyler
Retired Judge, Court of Special Appeals

Hon. Joan Bossman Gordon
Judge, District Court for Baltimore City

Hon. James A. Kenney, III
Retired Judge, Court of Special Appeals

Hon. Kathy P. Smith
Clerk, Circuit Court for CalvertCounty

Dr. Anita J. Tarzian
Lay Member

Hon. John H. Tisdale
Retired Judge, Circuit Court for Frederick County

J. Michael Earp
Magistrate, Circuit Court

JaCina Stanton, Esq.

Committee Counsel