Circuit Courts

Circuit Courts are where jury trials are held. Circuit Courts generally handle more serious criminal cases and major civil cases. These include juvenile and other family law cases such as divorce, custody and child support. The Circuit Courts hear most cases appealed from the District Court, orphans’ courts and some administrative agencies. Circuit Courts also hear domestic violence cases. Cases may be decided by juries, but also may be decided by a judge only.

There is a Circuit Court and Clerk's Office in each of Maryland’s 23 counties and the city of Baltimore. Circuit Courts are grouped in 8 judicial circuits.

More information for each Maryland court can be found by hovering over and clicking on each county on the map below or using the links in the left menu column.


Garrrett County Allegany County Washington County Frederick County Carroll County Baltimore County Harford County Cecil County Baltimore City Baltimore City Montgomery County Howard County Prince George's County Anne Arundel County Charles County Calvert County St. Mary's County Kent County Queen Anne's County Caroline County Talbot County Dorchester County Wicomico County Somerset County Worcester County