Notary Public

NOTICE: New notary laws went into effect on October 1, 2020. The new laws contain extensive changes. The updated Notary Public Handbook reflects the changes in the law. The Handbook is available online: https://sos.maryland.gov/Notary/Pages/default.aspx

Licensing Office Location- Reopening April 26th

COVID -19 occupancy limit of 8 total including staff. Masks are required. Temperatures will be taken, and a health screening is required for entrance. See https://mdcourts.gov/coronavirusupdate for more information on the closure status.

Licensing Department (across from the Circuit Courthouse, open beginning April 26, 2021.)
7 West Courtland Street
Bel Air, MD 21014
410-638-3489 or 410-638-3586
customer.inquiries.hc.lld@mdcourts.gov

Office Hours – 8:30am to 3:45pm Monday thru Friday
(Closed Weekends and State Holidays)

  • Walk-in commissioning after confirmation of commission received- 8:30am to 3:45pm
  • Late Night additional hours- First Monday of each month open until 6:00pm. Appointments are recommended.

How do I get sworn in as a Notary Public?

Notaries that have received approval letters from the Secretary of State may email customer.inquiries.hc.lld@mdcourts.gov to see if the commission has been received.

Notaries to be commissioned that have confirmed their commission is at the courthouse, may walk in to the office of the Clerk of Court for Harford County, 20 West Courtland Street, Land Record counter between 8:30am and 3pm to be sworn in. After April 26th, notary services will return to the licensing office. Late Night hours are on the first Monday of the month from 4pm to 6pm at the Licensing Office, 7 West Courtland Street. Appointments are recommended for late night. Contact 410-638-3474 to schedule an appointment until April 26. After April 26th, contact the licensing office at 410-638-3489. The $11.00 commission fee in addition to the $11 fee paid to the Secretary of State for application is payable by Visa, MasterCard, Discover, cash, check or Money Order only. Make checks payable to the Clerk of the Court.

For information on performing notarial acts with an expired expiration date during COVID please see the Secretary of State’s Order and Frequently Asked Questions concerning extension of expiration dates.

How do I apply to become a Notary Public?

Applications for Notary Public Commission can be obtained from the Secretary of State in Annapolis, Maryland or you may download the application at the Secretary of State's Website - www.sos.state.md.us.

Once the application has been submitted and approved, you will be notified to appear before the Clerk of the Circuit Court, to take the oath of office and receive your Notary Commission. There is an additional $11.00 fee due at the time you receive your commission. Cash, check, or credit cards are acceptable - checks should be made payable to the Clerk of the Circuit Court. For more information on becoming a Notary Public, please visit the Secretary of State's Website - www.sos.state.md.us.

How do I get an Authentication of a Notary Public?

Authentication(s) may be obtained by mail or in-person at office of the Clerk of Court for Harford County, 20 W. Courtland Street, Bel Air, Maryland 21014. Admittance to the Clerk’s Office is limited until April 26, 2021. After April 26th, operations resume at the Licensing Office, see address and hours above. Authentications of notarized document(s) must be taken to the county where the notary was commissioned. The Clerk of Court for Harford County can only authenticate a Harford County notary. The fee is $1.00 per authentication. Cash, check, or credit cards are acceptable - checks should be made payable to the Clerk of Court.

How do I get an Apostille or State or County Issued Document Certified?

Contact the Office of the Secretary of State, Notary Division for current procedures during the Covid-19 Emergency.

For further questions, please contact the Licensing Department at customer.inquiries.hc.lld@mdcourts.gov.