Marriage License Information for Queen Anne's County

THERE ARE 24 JURISDICTIONS IN MARYLAND, YOU MUST CONTACT THE COUNTY/CITY COURT WHERE YOU PLAN TO MARRY FOR MARRIAGE LICENSE INFORMATION. THE INFORMATION BELOW PERTAINS TO MARRIAGE LICENSE INFORMATION FOR MARRIAGES TAKING PLACE IN QUEEN ANNE'S COUNTY ONLY.

How to Apply for a License

While the State of Emergency is in effect in Maryland for the Novel Coronavirus, applications for marriage licenses will be only accepted only by mail, drop box (located at courthouse during regular business hours 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday) and by email to qalicensingclerk@mdcourts.gov. You must apply for a marriage license in the county in which you will have your wedding ceremony.

The requirements for Queen Anne's County are as follows: Marriage License Instructions

  • Complete the Marriage Application.
  • The fee is $35.00; cash, check, cashier's check or money order accepted - payable to the Clerk of the Court.
    • Preferred method is by mail or dropbox due to fees required at time of applying, therefore send application and fee to:
      Circuit Court for Queen Anne's County
      Marriage License Department
      200 N. Commerce Street
      Centreville, MD 21617
  • Issued Licenses will be mailed to the person listed as “Party 1” on the Application.

The following information is to be provided for the Parties:

  • Full names (First, Middle, Last)
  • Place of residence
  • Age
  • State of Birth (Country if born outside United States)
  • Social Security Numbers (mandatory per Family Law article §2-402 (c)(1))
  • Marital Status (Single, Divorced, Widow or Widower)
  • If previously married:
    • the day, month, and year of the divorce and the state in which each divorce was granted
    • the day, month, and year of death of spouse if widowed
  • Whether or not the parties are related by blood or marriage, and if so, to what degree of the relationship

You will be given three copies of the marriage license, which the official performing the ceremony will complete. Instructions for completion and distribution are on the copies of the license. For information on who may perform a ceremony, please see the following link:  https://www.peoples-law.org/license-officiation#perform

The Clerk’s Office cannot provide any legal advice or interpret the law as to who may perform a marriage ceremony.

Civil Ceremonies

If you would like a civil ceremony, please note that there are no justices of the peace in Maryland. Only a judge, the Clerk of the Circuit Court or an appointed designated Deputy Clerk of the Circuit Court may perform civil ceremonies. In Queen Anne's County, the Clerk and her designated deputies perform civil ceremonies only in the courthouse Monday-Friday, except for State holidays.

Appointments are required for the civil ceremony, or you may request a remote virtual ceremony*, however you must be physically located within Queen Anne’s County for the ceremony. The cost for a civil ceremony is $25, payable by cash, Visa/MasterCard, cashier's check or money order. Credit card payment is not authorized to be payable over the telephone. Please contact the Clerk’s office for further information in scheduling a civil ceremony.

*Remote virtual ceremonies are only applicable during the State of Emergency for the Novel Coronavirus as stated in the Governor’s Executive Order No. 2020-05-13-02 Enabling Alternative Processes for Marriage Applications and Ceremonies.

Certified Copies of Your Marriage License

Certified copies of the marriage can be obtained once the return has been received by the Clerk's Office from the official for a fee of $5.50 each, payable by Cash, Check, Money Order or Cashier’s Check. A Request for Certified Copy form is available for your use and upon receipt and proper fee paid, the certified copy of the recorded marriage will be mailed to you.

Correction to a Marriage Record

Correction to Marriage Records may be requested in writing (along with supporting documentation, for example: birth certificate to prove your name is spelled differently than what is shown on your marriage record.) You may, for your convenience, use our Correction Request form and mail to our office with the supporting documentation.

More Information

For further information on obtaining a marriage license or scheduling civil ceremonies, please call 410-758-1773, option 2.